Luke Chapter 18

JESUS, today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 4

Luke 18

1 And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;

2 Saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man:

3 And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary.

4 And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man;

5 Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.

6 And the Lord said, Hear what the unjust judge saith.

7 And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?

8 I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?

9 And he spake this parable unto certain which trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others:

10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican.

11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.

12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.

13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.

14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted.

15 And they brought unto him also infants, that he would touch them: but when his disciples saw it, they rebuked them.

16 But Jesus called them unto him, and said, Suffer little children to come unto me, and forbid them not: for of such is the kingdom of God.

17 Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child shall in no wise enter therein.

18 And a certain ruler asked him, saying, Good Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?

19 And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou me good? none is good, save one, that is, God.

20 Thou knowest the commandments, Do not commit adultery, Do not kill, Do not steal, Do not bear false witness, Honour thy father and thy mother.

21 And he said, All these have I kept from my youth up.

22 Now when Jesus heard these things, he said unto him, Yet lackest thou one thing: sell all that thou hast, and distribute unto the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, follow me.

23 And when he heard this, he was very sorrowful: for he was very rich.

24 And when Jesus saw that he was very sorrowful, he said, How hardly shall they that have riches enter into the kingdom of God!

25 For it is easier for a camel to go through a needle’s eye, than for a rich man to enter into the kingdom of God.

26 And they that heard it said, Who then can be saved?

27 And he said, The things which are impossible with men are possible with God.

28 Then Peter said, Lo, we have left all, and followed thee.

29 And he said unto them, Verily I say unto you, There is no man that hath left house, or parents, or brethren, or wife, or children, for the kingdom of God’s sake,

30 Who shall not receive manifold more in this present time, and in the world to come life everlasting.

31 Then he took unto him the twelve, and said unto them, Behold, we go up to Jerusalem, and all things that are written by the prophets concerning the Son of man shall be accomplished.

32 For he shall be delivered unto the Gentiles, and shall be mocked, and spitefully entreated, and spitted on:

33 And they shall scourge him, and put him to death: and the third day he shall rise again.

34 And they understood none of these things: and this saying was hid from them, neither knew they the things which were spoken.

35 And it came to pass, that as he was come nigh unto Jericho, a certain blind man sat by the way side begging:

36 And hearing the multitude pass by, he asked what it meant.

37 And they told him, that Jesus of Nazareth passeth by.

38 And he cried, saying, Jesus, thou son of David, have mercy on me.

39 And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.

40 And Jesus stood, and commanded him to be brought unto him: and when he was come near, he asked him,

41 Saying, What wilt thou that I shall do unto thee? And he said, Lord, that I may receive my sight.

42 And Jesus said unto him, Receive thy sight: thy faith hath saved thee.

43 And immediately he received his sight, and followed him, glorifying God: and all the people, when they saw it, gave praise unto God.

36 thoughts on “Luke Chapter 18

  1. 14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased ; and he that humblerh himself shall be exalted.

    Pride, arrogance, and selfishness are the motives behind boasting .

    ” Pride goeth before destruction ,and an haughty spirit before a fall”
    Proverbs 16:18

    That’s why GOD hates boasting so much because of the destruction that it brings.

    iRepent
    iPray
    iPraise

  2. Vs.32/
    Jesus was mocked and rediculed and spitted on…

    Have you ever been spitted on?
    Have you ever been rediculed?
    Have you ever been made fun of?

    I think we all have at one time of our lives. I know I jave been spitted on its very low-grading. But iknow that in this life Jesus wants us to be overcommers like he was. We are VICTORIOUS!!
    Please endure to the end…this is what the Lord wants us to do be faithful in little and we will availith much.
    Thankyou Lord for teaching us to follow your example of how you want us to endure for the gospel’s sake. Bless you Lord.

  3. Holier than thou attitude!!!!!!

    10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican.
    11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.
    12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.
    13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.
    14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted.

    Roman 3:23 23 For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;
    2 Chronicles 7:14 14 If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.
    Ezekiel 3:20 Again, When a righteous man doth turn from his righteousness, and commit iniquity, and I lay a stumbling block before him, he shall die: because thou hast not given him warning, he shall die in his sin, and his righteousness which he hath done shall not be remembered; but his blood will I require at thine hand.
    Proverb 24:16 For a just man falleth seven times, and riseth up again: but the wicked shall fall into mischief.

    We need to leave behind this HOLIER THAN THOU attitude for it is with this attitude that we offend those that come to church looking for the Salvation of our Master and Lord. It is in those moments that we need to remember our old man, how we were before our Christ came into our heart. Do not be the Pharisee in no ones life, humble yourselves and share your testimony, GIVE THEM A WAY OF ESCAPE FROM THEIR SINFUL LIFE. REMEMBER SOMEONE LOVED YOU WHEN YOU WERE UNLOVABLE.

  4. 39. And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    40. And Jesus stood, and commanded him to be brought unto him: and when he was come near, he asked him,

    41. Saying, What wilt thou that I shall do unto thee? And he said, Lord, that I may receive my sight.

    42. And Jesus said unto him, Receive thy sight: thy faith hath saved thee.

    43. And immediately he received his sight, and followed him, glorifying God: and all the people, when they saw it, gave praise unto God.

    Don’t let anyone stop you from getting God’s attention. If this man had stopped trying, not only would he not have received his sight, but the whole crowd would have missed seeing the miracle.

  5. The first story in this chapter spoke to me about persistent prayer (asking); but also in praising in advance for what’s to come. Verses 7-8 MSG say “So what makes you think God won’t step in and work justice for his chosen people, who continue to cry out for help? Won’t he stick up for them? I assure you, he will. He will not drag his feet. But how much of that kind of persistent faith will the Son of Man find on the earth when he returns?”

    The end of verses 15-17 MSG read “Let these children alone. Don’t get between them and me. These children are the kingdom’s pride and joy. Mark this: Unless you accept God’s kingdom in the simplicity of a child, you’ll never get in.” Lord bless my little Sovereign Soldiers each and every day, protect them and guide their every step.

    Verse 27 MSG “No chance at all,” Jesus said, “if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you trust God to do it.” We cannot be good enough, work enough or know the right people to get into God’s kingdom. You have to know Him (Jesus), obey Him (Repent, be Baptized in Jesus name and be filled with the Holy Ghost) and trust in Him.

    The last story in this chapter ends with Jesus asking the blind man “What do you want from me?” He said, “Master, I want to see again.” Jesus said, “Go ahead—see again! Your faith has saved and healed you!” The healing was instant: He looked up, seeing—and then followed Jesus, glorifying God. Everyone in the street joined in, shouting praise to God.” What do you want from God??? “Master, I want …………… When you receive your miracle through your faith, glorify God and shout praises to Him.

  6. 18 And a certain ruler asked him, saying, Good Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?

    19 And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou me good? none is good, save one, that is, God.

    20 Thou knowest the commandments, Do not commit adultery, Do not kill, Do not steal, Do not bear false witness, Honour thy father and thy mother.

    21 And he said, All these have I kept from my youth up.

    22 Now when Jesus heard these things, he said unto him, Yet lackest thou one thing: sell all that thou hast, and distribute unto the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, follow me.

    23 And when he heard this, he was very sorrowful: for he was very rich.

    This man loved God but loved his riches more. The word here does not teach us it is a sin to be rich, but is a sin to love your riches more than you love God. This man said he kept the commandments and Jesus never said he didn’t, but did tell him what was stopping him from following him. Jesus knows what in our hearts and will wait on us to get our heart right. Jesus spoke to this man of his real issues and left it to him to make the right move. God help us today be able to repent and get everything right with you.

  7. Prayer is the Key to Longevity

    Luke 18:1 (KJV Strong’s)
    “​1 And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;”

    Pray means (Olive Tree Enhanced Strong’s Dictionary) g4336. προσεύχομαι proseuchomai; from 4314 and 2172; to pray to God, i.e. supplicate, worship: — pray (x earnestly, for), make prayer.
    AV (87) – pray 83, make prayer 3, pray for 1;To offer prayers, to pray

    Faint means g1573. ἐκκακέω ekkakeō; from 1537 and 2556; to be (bad or) weak, i.e. (by implication) to fail (in heart): — faint, be weary.
    AV (6) – faint 4, be weary 2;
    to be utterly spiritless, to be wearied out, exhausted

    When we find ourselves worn out the answer is not to give up. The answer is pray.

    When we feel utterly spiritless and can’t go on we must pray.

    When we are exhausted after working for long amounts of time the answer is pray.

    Pray is like the chargeable battery dock. When we feel depleted and used up we find our energy, source, resources, refreshment, reinvigoration, and restoration in prayer.

    The devil attacks, and our flesh attacks when we are worn down and tired. They scream that we are too tired to pray, and too tired to do anything else for God.

    This is a lie. The enemy knows if we can just get plugged back into prayer he won’t be able to keep going.

    Like pastor says the devil can’t last long in a fight.

    Pray without ceasing and the energy won’t be depleted.

  8. The man replied, “I have wholeheartedly obeyed all these laws since my youth.” When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “One thing you still lack. Sell all that you have and give the money to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” But when the man heard this he became very sad, for he was extremely wealthy. (‭Luke‬ ‭18‬:‭21-23‬ NET)
    Though this man “obeyed” the word of God since his Youth, this man’s love for riches were greater than his love for The Lord and His kingdom!

    You cannot be the slave of two masters. You will like one more than the other or be more loyal to one than to the other. You cannot serve God and money. (‭Luke‬ ‭16‬:‭13‬ CEVDCUS06)
    Obedience truly shows the matter of the heart.

    And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. (‭Joshua‬ ‭24‬:‭15‬ KJV)

  9. 11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.

    12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.

    13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.

    Lord please forgive me for what I have done wrong and things I didn’t know was wrong.😉

  10. But He said, “The things which are impossible with men are possible with God.” (‭Luke‬ ‭18‬:‭27‬ NKJV)

    A God that can do all things. He can heal the sick make heaven and earth. He can do anything for us. All things are possible with him.

  11. 38 And he cried, saying, Jesus, thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    39 And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    40 And Jesus stood, and commanded him to be brought unto him: and when he was come near, he asked him,

    41 Saying, What wilt thou that I shall do unto thee? And he said, Lord, that I may receive my sight.

    42 And Jesus said unto him, Receive thy sight: thy faith hath saved thee.

    43 And immediately he received his sight, and followed him, glorifying God: and all the people, when they saw it, gave praise unto God.

    Don’t let anybody stop you from receiving your miricle! Don’t listen to the doubters around you, just listen to God. But after you receive your miricle you can’t just walk away from God, you have to continue to follow him!

  12. 17 Verily I say unto you, Whosoever shall not receive the kingdom of God as a little child shall in no wise enter therein.

    Our faith and trust in God must be as a child trusts his parent to protect, and provide for his good.

  13. THE FRUIT OF A DESPERATE CRY

    37 And they told him, that Jesus of Nazareth passeth by.
    38 And he cried, saying, Jesus, thou son of David, have mercy on me.
    39 And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.
    40 And Jesus stood, and commanded him to be brought unto him: and when he was come near, he asked him,
    41 Saying, What wilt thou that I shall do unto thee? And he said, Lord, that I may receive my sight.
    42 And Jesus said unto him, Receive thy sight: thy faith hath saved thee.
    43 And immediately he received his sight, and followed him, glorifying God: and all the people, when they saw it, gave praise unto God.

    Many have heard the phrase: “the squeaky wheel gets the oil”. The testimony recorded in this passage reminds me of that phrase, along with the pesky widow mentioned in verses 2 – 8 we find PASSION and PERSISTENCE wins most battles.

    What I found most compelling today is that the unwillingness of the the blind beggar to quited or rejected. Regardless of public or popular opinion, he cried. This is why the Church must not squelch or silence our PRAISE. We need not to quite down but yet to declare, proclaim and cry out to our GOD.

    THE FRUIT is that when other people saw it they were compelled to give PRAISE unto GOD. I am curious as to what kind of Revival we will witness, once we are willing to SHOUT unto the LORD instead of pout over setbacks and challenges. May GOD Bless us today with tenacity, desire and empowerment to lift our voice to HIM in desperate times of NEED.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap
    iShout

  14. 7 And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?

    Sometimes it is hard to remember when in the heat of the battle that the Lord is on our side. We are surrounded by our circumstances and cannot see the light at the end of the tunnel; so to speak. However, experience teaches us that the Lord is on our side and has everything in control. If we can keep prayer in mind through the entire day is a key to keeping a mind of Christ and being prepared for whatever comes our way.

  15. 10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican.
    11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.
    12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.
    13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.

    How greatful are we that Jesus died for us and gave us the Holy Ghost? That we may live again.

  16. 42 And Jesus said unto him, Receive thy sight: thy faith hath saved thee.

    Just have faith, be persistent and passionate in your life of prayer. He knows all we desire and all we need, He is just waiting for us to elevate our faith and put some works with our faith.

  17. “Two men went to the Temple to pray. One was a Pharisee, and the other was a despised tax collector. The Pharisee stood by himself and prayed this prayer: ‘I thank you, God, that I am not a sinner like everyone else. For I don’t cheat, I don’t sin, and I don’t commit adultery. I’m certainly not like that tax collector! I fast twice a week, and I give you a tenth of my income.’ “But the tax collector stood at a distance and dared not even lift his eyes to heaven as he prayed. Instead, he beat his chest in sorrow, saying, ‘O God, be merciful to me, for I am a sinner.’ I tell you, this sinner, not the Pharisee, returned home justified before God. For those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.” (‭Luke‬ ‭18‬:‭10-14‬ NLT)
    God is looking for the humble, not the proud. Through this parable He shows us exactly the attitude He is attracted to. It doesn’t take a perfect prayer, a perfect outfit, or a perfect song, it takes a humble heart. Without God i would be nothing and I never want to forget that or what He brought me out of.
    My God is good!

  18. This chapter from beginning to ending just reminds us that it is important for us to pray persistently (refusing to relent; continuing; especially in the face of opposition: continuing to endure; lasting without change: constantly repeated; continued) and never quit. When we pray, we need to cry out to God in faith and let our voice be heard. Don’t let anyone or anything stand in your way from receiving what you want from God.

    Pray Persistently – Pray in Faith Believing – Pray Out Loud = and Ye Shall Receive.

  19. 11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.

    12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.

    13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.

    14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted.

    How easy is it to forget where the found us and what he saved us from.

    Don’t ever forget!

    Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind, -1 Corinthians 6:9
    Nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God. -1 Corinthians 6:10
    And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus, and by the Spirit of our God. -1 Corinthians 6:11

  20. And Jesus said, “All right, receive your sight! Your faith has healed you.” (‭Luke‬ ‭18‬:‭42‬ NLT)

    It’s time to stop playing games. You have to have faith for it can happen

  21. 18 vs 1
    The living Bible paraphrased
    One day Jesus told his disciples a story to illustrate their need for constant prayer and to show them that they must keep praying to the answer comes.

    I really like this first verse. It says many things It is really confirmation in my life i have been praying for many days for the same situations i need answers for. PRAISE GOD

  22. “And he said, The things which are impossible with men are possible with God.” The Judge, the Pharisee and the rich man thought they were right. However the widow, the publican, the children and the poor man really were the ones on the right path. It is not ones position, wealth or self, it is however ones attitude, humbleness and most of all Jesus (God). What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  23. iLove to eat the Word

    “Are you burnt out?”
    1 And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;

    “Pray and not faint,” this is a very interesting statement. The word “faint” is defined as follows: faint#1573
    TDNT 3:486,*
    ἐκκακέω ekkakéō
    Verb ek-kak-eh’-o
    from (1537) and (2556)
    from and ; to be (bad or) weak, i.e. (by implication) to fail (in heart):–faint, be weary.
    to be utterly spiritless, to be wearied out, exhausted

    Prayer keeps us from fainting. If we feel exhausted, it simply means we need to pray more. More Prayer, More Power!

  24. 7 And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?

    The power of a consistent prayer relationship with the Lord is evident in this chapter today. She cried unto the unjust judge repeatedly until her daughter was avenged of the adversary. Building a memorial before the Lord of prayer that are important to us and then continually speaking in faith the results we desire to see until the answer comes is so very important. The power of life and death is in the tongue and we must guard our words to not give place to the enemy. There are some things that can only be pondered in the heart and spirit.

  25. 1 And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;

    2 Saying, There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man:

    3 And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary.

    4 And he would not for a while: but afterward he said within himself, Though I fear not God, nor regard man;

    5 Yet because this widow troubleth me, I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me.
    Don’t grow weary in well doing. Keep on praying keep on trusting God. This widow in the bible maybe prayed a little harder than the last time I don’t know. I do know that this widow continue to ask God for whatever it was. Its all in Gods timing. There’s a blessing coming. How bad do you want it? How and what are you going to do differently when you pray? How are you going to show God you really want was in stored for you?

  26. Luke 18:43 After physical and spiritual healing, the man follows Jesus, which perhaps implies and he became a committed discilpe. He and the people give praise to God, the cheese is approaching a time when his first full rather be just fine

  27. It takes a cry out loud.

    39 And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    Jesus is passing by all the time but it’s up to us if we cry out or not

  28. 14 I tell you, this man went to his house justified rather than the other; for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, but he who humbles himself will be exalted.”
    (Luke 18:14 NASBStr)

    The paradox of the kingdom of God. The spiritual principles are inverse of what we would expect. Gods ways are not our ways; they are much higher. Isaiah 55.

  29. Never Give Up

    7 And shall not God avenge his own elect, which cry day and night unto him, though he bear long with them?

    8 I tell you that he will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless when the Son of man cometh, shall he find faith on the earth?

    38 And he cried, saying, Jesus, thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    39 And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    Winston Churchill is famously quoted as saying, “Never, never, never give up.” We will face difficult times that will test our resolve, but we must have purposed the end goal clearly before us with the vision fresh in our minds. Through Christ we can press through to endure whatever comes our way. We were born for adversity, we were born to be victorious.

    Matthew 10:22
    And ye shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake: but he that endureth to the end shall be saved.

  30. 14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted.

    This is why it’s best and not judge anybody because at the end our judgment is not going to count but only Gods judgment. All we can do is spread the gospel and help each other in the hard times with Gods Word & Prayer!

  31. And they understood none of these things: and this saying was hid from them, neither knew they the things which were spoken. (‭Luke‬ ‭18‬:‭34‬ KJV)

    The mysteries of the scriptures are revealed to those who seek. God knows your thoughts. When we pray he knows our motives. He can examine our dedication better than we can. In the end the best thing to do , is seek.

  32. 1 And he spake a parable unto them to this end, that men ought always to pray, and not to faint;

    The bible tell us in Job 14 that man is of few days and full of trouble. And trouble will come from all areas…however the solution is always the same. To talk to the one who created all, knows all, and is at all places, and can do it all…simply pray. We are to pray and not faint. It is in prayer that we get direction, strength and healing. Keep the line open with God he always has time and is never too busy to answer. The thing is do we have time to call? More prayer = more strength for the days to come.

  33. The Temple !!! 9. And he spake this parable unto certain which trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others: 10. Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Phar’-I-see, and the other a publican. 11. The Phar’-I-see stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican. Ps. 135 : 2 12. I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess. 13. And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner. 14. I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted. JESUS YOU ARE THE LIFTER OF MY HEAD !!! I BOW TO YOU JESUS !!!! I RAISE MY HANDS TO YOU !!!!

  34. 37 And they told him, that Jesus of Nazareth passeth by.

    38 And he cried, saying, Jesus, thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    39 And they which went before rebuked him, that he should hold his peace: but he cried so much the more, Thou son of David, have mercy on me.

    40 And Jesus stood, and commanded him to be brought unto him: and when he was come near, he asked him,

    41 Saying, What wilt thou that I shall do unto thee? And he said, Lord, that I may receive my sight.

    42 And Jesus said unto him, Receive thy sight: thy faith hath saved thee.

    We should be as this blind man was…crying out until Jesus stopped and addressed his need! Even when he was shushed or admonished to be quiet, he persisted all the more. If we would keep crying out, The Lord will answer in his time-which is always right on time. Lord, increase our faith!

  35. 18 And a certain ruler asked him, saying, Good Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?

    19 And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou me good? none is good, save one, that is, God.

    20 Thou knowest the commandments, Do not commit adultery, Do not kill, Do not steal, Do not bear false witness, Honour thy father and thy mother.

    21 And he said, All these have I kept from my youth up.

    22 Now when Jesus heard these things, he said unto him, Yet lackest thou one thing: sell all that thou hast, and distribute unto the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, follow me.

    23 And when he heard this, he was very sorrowful: for he was very rich.

    What a picture of us sometimes, always trying to justify ourselves. I used to have the same mentality and think that because I was “born at church”, grew up at church, fell asleep under the chairs at church, have known nothing else in my life growing up but being at church, that that will be good enough to help me make it to heaven.
    I wanted God to change my status from Hell bound sinner to Heaven bound saint but wanted nothing with change of commitment because I thought I was good. Wow

  36. This chapter spoke to me about giving tithes and praising Jesus in advance for your blessings and miracles, and not being greedy with your money.

Leave a Reply

