John Chapter 12

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 22

John 12

1 Then Jesus six days before the passover came to Bethany, where Lazarus was, which had been dead, whom he raised from the dead.

2 There they made him a supper; and Martha served: but Lazarus was one of them that sat at the table with him.

3 Then took Mary a pound of ointment of spikenard, very costly, and anointed the feet of Jesus, and wiped his feet with her hair: and the house was filled with the odour of the ointment.

4 Then saith one of his disciples, Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, which should betray him,

5 Why was not this ointment sold for three hundred pence, and given to the poor?

6 This he said, not that he cared for the poor; but because he was a thief, and had the bag, and bare what was put therein.

7 Then said Jesus, Let her alone: against the day of my burying hath she kept this.

8 For the poor always ye have with you; but me ye have not always.

9 Much people of the Jews therefore knew that he was there: and they came not for Jesus’ sake only, but that they might see Lazarus also, whom he had raised from the dead.

10 But the chief priests consulted that they might put Lazarus also to death;

11 Because that by reason of him many of the Jews went away, and believed on Jesus.

12 On the next day much people that were come to the feast, when they heard that Jesus was coming to Jerusalem,

13 Took branches of palm trees, and went forth to meet him, and cried, Hosanna: Blessed is the King of Israel that cometh in the name of the Lord.

14 And Jesus, when he had found a young ass, sat thereon; as it is written,

15 Fear not, daughter of Sion: behold, thy King cometh, sitting on an ass’s colt.

16 These things understood not his disciples at the first: but when Jesus was glorified, then remembered they that these things were written of him, and that they had done these things unto him.

17 The people therefore that was with him when he called Lazarus out of his grave, and raised him from the dead, bare record.

18 For this cause the people also met him, for that they heard that he had done this miracle.

19 The Pharisees therefore said among themselves, Perceive ye how ye prevail nothing? behold, the world is gone after him.

20 And there were certain Greeks among them that came up to worship at the feast:

21 The same came therefore to Philip, which was of Bethsaida of Galilee, and desired him, saying, Sir, we would see Jesus.

22 Philip cometh and telleth Andrew: and again Andrew and Philip tell Jesus.

23 And Jesus answered them, saying, The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified.

24 Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.

25 He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.

26 If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.

27 Now is my soul troubled; and what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour: but for this cause came I unto this hour.

28 Father, glorify thy name. Then came there a voice from heaven, saying, I have both glorified it, and will glorify it again.

29 The people therefore, that stood by, and heard it, said that it thundered: others said, An angel spake to him.

30 Jesus answered and said, This voice came not because of me, but for your sakes.

31 Now is the judgment of this world: now shall the prince of this world be cast out.

32 And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me.

33 This he said, signifying what death he should die.

34 The people answered him, We have heard out of the law that Christ abideth for ever: and how sayest thou, The Son of man must be lifted up? who is this Son of man?

35 Then Jesus said unto them, Yet a little while is the light with you. Walk while ye have the light, lest darkness come upon you: for he that walketh in darkness knoweth not whither he goeth.

36 While ye have light, believe in the light, that ye may be the children of light. These things spake Jesus, and departed, and did hide himself from them.

37 But though he had done so many miracles before them, yet they believed not on him:

38 That the saying of Esaias the prophet might be fulfilled, which he spake, Lord, who hath believed our report? and to whom hath the arm of the Lord been revealed?

39 Therefore they could not believe, because that Esaias said again,

40 He hath blinded their eyes, and hardened their heart; that they should not see with their eyes, nor understand with their heart, and be converted, and I should heal them.

41 These things said Esaias, when he saw his glory, and spake of him.

42 Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue:

43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.

44 Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.

45 And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me.

46 I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.

47 And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.

48 He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.

49 For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.

50 And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.

35 thoughts on “John Chapter 12

  1. 46 I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.

    47 And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.

    48 He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken, the same shall judge him in the last day.

    49 For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.

    50 And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.

    Jesus said he come as a light unto the world! It is not our job to judge the world, but by their works we know them.
    Jesus made it clear that we should reach this world with the message that God gave us. Quoting Jesus from above: he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.
    Jesus let it be known that the words he spoke brought eternal life. We need to study the scriptures to find eternal life in them.
    Jesus brought truth into the world and that light did shine and reveal what was in the hearts of many including the Pharisees.
    The Word of God will reveal what is in our hearts today just as it did when Jesus was walking on the earth.

    The Pharisees even thought to put Lazarus to death because he was part of a miracle.
    10 But the chief priests consulted that they might put Lazarus also to death;

    When peoples hearts are corrupt they will do anything, to make themselves look good! God knows the hearts of people without us telling him what is in our heart.

    Matt 12:37
    37 For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy words thou shalt be condemned.

    What we say is important!!

  2. WHAT ARE YOU SPREADING????

    18 For this cause the people also met him, for that they heard that he had done this miracle.
    21 The same came therefore to Philip, which was of Bethsaida of Galilee, and desired him, saying, Sir, we would see Jesus.
    22 Philip cometh and telleth Andrew: and again Andrew and Philip tell Jesus.
    23 And Jesus answered them, saying, The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified.
    42 Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue:
    43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.

    GO SPREAD THE NEWS!!!! SALVATION IS HERE!!!!! MIRACLES, SIGNS, AND WONDERS!!!!
    Are you too concern with what others will say about you??? Is the praises of men more important in your life??? Is the schools, clubs, neighborhood, soccer practice, opinions in your life more important than your Praise to God?? Only you can answer those questions and you will in His presence!!!! We need to be sharing the GOOD NEWS everywhere we go. You should be telling ABOUT HIS GREAT WORKS!!!! Luke 14:23 And the lord said unto the servant, Go out into the highways and hedges, and compel them to come in, that my house may be filled.

    LET THEM KNOW WHAT A GREAT CHURCH IS POFW. SHARE THE MIRACLES, SIGNS, AND WONDERS. COMPEL THEM TO COME!!!!

  3. 42 Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue:

    43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.

    we must more concerned with serving Jesus and doing his will, than what position we may or may not have in the church. Position is more man’s doing than God’s although He will raise up whom he will.

  4. Amen
    Acts 2 : 38 then peter said unto them repent and be baptized in the name of jesuschrist and ye shall receive the gift of the holy Ghost

  5. THE UNBEIIEF OF THE PEOPLE
    with all the miraculous sighns Jesus had done most of the people did not believe in him.
    The prophet Isaiah also said
    The Lord has blinded their eyes
    hardened their hearts
    so their eyes cannot see
    their hearts cannot understan
    they cannot turn to me and have me heal them.

  6. Self Forsaken or Forsake Self

    24 Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone:but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit. 25 He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal. 26 If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be:if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.
    (John 12:24-26 KJVStrongs)

    The Greeks were asking about Jesus. They approached the disciples asking where they could find him. They said “We have desire to see Jesus!”

    The disciples knowing these were Gentiles ran to Jesus, and spoke to him. They told him exactly what was said. Jesus observed the situation and drew the conclusion.

    Unless a seed falls into the ground and dies it lays there barren. If it does die then it will produce abundant fruit.

    fall means to descend from a higher place to a lower
    ( STRONG)

    to prostrate, worship
    ( CWSDict)

    This would indicate humility as well. Falling into the ground is akin to burial. This is breaking the surface lower than the ground.

    Alone means alone (without a companion), forsaken, destitute of help, alone, only, merely
    ( STRONG)

    Ministry is not as effective unless there is death. There must be a denial of self, self will, self control, and selfishness. Humility is not beating yourself up, or tearing yourself down. Humility is not thinking of self at all.

    Death means according to Thayer’s so as to be no more

    He promised he would never leave us or forsake us. However we forsake ourselves when we refuse to die. God wants us to produce abundant fruit!

    When we abide alone we are the only one, the only entity in the class
    (LOUW-NIDA)

    We must choose to forsake ourselves, or we will be self forsaken.

  7. DECEIVED BY PRIDE

    42 Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue:
    43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.
    44 Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.
    45 And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me.
    46 I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.

    No doubt this DECEPTIVE PRIDE has kept many men and women from confessing the name of JESUS and completing the New Birth experience of salvation. Believing is the assurance of a truth. What a sad encounter to KNOW the TRUTH and do nothing about it.

    The LORD our GOD has been lifted up and HIS SPIRIT is drawing and attracting multitudes, the question is what kind of savior do we represent and what type of response will those being drawn offer to HIM.

    We should pray daily for the harvest of souls that the LORD is drawing. GOD is working through every available source in these last days. Pray, Study the WORD and believe to obedience. Thats what went wrong with these chief rulers, they believed but their own pride would not permit them to believe to obedience. They feared what others would say or think.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iBelieve
    iObey
    iWork
    iGIve
    iReap

  8. “Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue: 43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.” Their want of this world kept them. One is unwise to choose as they did, and even more unwise to allow the pride of life, too rob one of eternity with the Lord (Jesus). What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  9. 44 Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.

    45 And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me.

    Jesus also says he & his Father are one. Jesus is the living word of God and his word will judge us: vs 46-48. Through the Holy Ghost, we are led into all truth…one of which is who Jesus is! Tradition and pride blinded the eyes of the Pharisees and today tradition & false doctrine blind religious leaders. Without a revival of knowing who he is along with rightly dividing the word, many will be lost. But if we reach & teach, we will find that we are able help others and start a region wide revival. Open hearts & minds -being hungry and thirsty-will help them receive the truth.

  10. John 12:44 Then Jesus cried out. Whoever believes in me does not believe in me only but in the one who sent me. The one who looks at me is seeing the one who sent me. I have come into the world as al light so that no one who believes in me should stay in darkness. If anyone hears my words but doesn’t keep them. I don’t judge that person. For I didn’t come to judge the world but Roy save the world. There is a judge for the one who rejects me and doesn’t accept my words the very words I have spoken will condemn them at the last day.

  11. 46 I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.
    47 And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.

    Hallelujah, He is here to bring salvation and pull us out of darkness and into His marvelous light!

  12. Then Jesus said to them, “A little while longer the light is with you. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you; he who walks in darkness does not know where he is going. (‭John‬ ‭12‬:‭35‬ NKJV)

  13. 46 I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.

    Scripture is the light, Jesus knows many are in the dark because of so much unbelief in the world. The word is true but misunderstood by man.

    Lord I pray for the lost souls and back sliders that they may see the light.

  14. Those who love their life in this world will lose it. Those who care nothing for their life in this world will keep it for eternity. (‭John‬ ‭12‬:‭25‬ NLT)

    You shouldn’t love the things in this world.

  15. 46 I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide in darkness.

    47 And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.

    God is the light to this world and through the Holy Ghost and his word , he can use us to be a light for the lost!

  16. iLove to eat the Word

    “The People Who Cannot Believe”
    John 12:39 Therefore they could not believe, because that Esaias said again,
    40 He hath blinded their eyes, and hardened their heart; that they should not see with their eyes, nor understand with their heart, and be converted, and I should heal them.

    There are people who cannot believe. They are the ones who are blind. The Word says that God blinded their eyes and has hardened their hearts. What sometimes frustrates us humans is that we think we are able to somehow (in our own power) argue and convince someone of the truth. It won’t happen. The heart has to come to true repentance first.

  17. 24 Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.
    25 He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.

    We must die to ourselves and the things that we want out of life. Everything we loose for Christs sake we gain 10x more just for being willing to sacrifice for him. God knows what we truley need

  18. 47 And if any man hear my words, and believe not, I judge him not: for I came not to judge the world, but to save the world.

    Wow! This is why Jesus came for to SAVE us!!!! Yet so many people have the bad conception that we take church to “serious” but in reality why wouldn’t anybody want to live for Jesus and have eternal life with him. It’s not time be playing church or go through the motion because at the end we will all get judged at the final judgment. Thank you Jesus for saving me and washing away my sins 🙂

  19. 46, “For I am come a light into the world, that whosoever believeth on me should not abide (remain; go on being; to stay; reside; to submit to; put up with) in darkness.”

    St. John 8:12 says, “Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.”

    What exciting promises we have in God’s Word.
    When Jesus shined His Light into our lives, the darkness had to flee. When Jesus shined His Light into our lives, we no longer remain, go on being, stay, reside, submit to, or put up with, darkness. We now have the Light of Life living inside of us to light up our pathway and guide our every step.

    JESUS, You Light Up My Life!!

  20. 42 Nevertheless among the chief rulers also many believed on him ; but because of the Pharisees they did not confess him, lest they should be put out of the synagogue : 43 For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God .

    I know that there are church leaders out there that the truth has been revealed to them, but because of fame and fortune many have turned the hearts from the true doctrine if God, and the revelation of his name. Little do they know they lead there flocks to the slaughter.
    People think we’re stealing people from other churches, I believe they Spirit is guiding the hungry and lost to his true church.

  21. 17 The people therefore that was with him when he called Lazarus out of his grave, and raised him from the dead, bare record.

    18 For this cause the people also met him, for that they heard that he had done

    Raise me up!Lord.

    I thankyou Lord for raising me awake out of my sleep. Which was dead to sin and now alive with the Spirit. What a glorious Lord we have. He’s just a prayer and a praise away…. I thank you Lord for rising me up to serving you. You woke me up 8 years ago when I recieved the Holy Ghost.. and now I see…you healed my blind eyes. He can do this to anyone who asks Him. Love you Lord.

  22. 3 Then Mary took about a pint[a] of pure nard, an expensive perfume; she poured it on Jesus’ feet and wiped his feet with her hair. And the house was filled with the fragrance of the perfume.
    Lord I give my all to you! I give my life to you and will follow the path you have for me!
    36 Believe in the light while you have the light, so that you may become children of light.” When he had finished speaking, Jesus left and hid himself from them.
    Lord I will trust in you! I will take hold of all you have for me and believe in you with my whole heart! 🙂

  23. v44 Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me , believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.
    And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me .

    Our duty is to embrace with faith everything HE has said about HIMSELF in HIS HOLY WORD.

  24. 30 Jesus answered and said, This voice came not because of me, but for your sakes.

    This verse means to me that my father in Christ is always trying to feed his word to us for that are lives and souls are not here to have fun and play games were here to feed are selves with the word of God and to save people and tell them about how great God is and what he can do in there lives . Because for are sakes we are here to save are selves and be strong with God and be ready for judgement day !! In Jesus name amen !!!

  25. When Lazarus was raised from the dead, it made the people angry because it was proving that Jesus was the Messiah, the one who had all power to even raise the dead, so much so that they considered putting Lazarus to death again. When we get ourselves in the position that God can use us, there will be some people that won’t understand the sacrifices we make, the way we worship, the way we choose to live and they may make fun, or even cut us off from their lives. The most important thing is to please the Lord, and if he is happy with the sacrifices we offer Him, then we don’t have to worry about please others.

  26. Jesus replied, “My light will shine for you just a little longer. Walk in the light while you can, so the darkness will not overtake you. Those who walk in the darkness cannot see where they are going. Put your trust in the light while there is still time; then you will become children of the light.” After saying these things, Jesus went away and was hidden from them. (‭John‬ ‭12‬:‭35-36‬ NLT)

    We can’t waste time playing with darkness. We must stand firm in the light of God and reach out to the ones who are lost and blinded by the darkness of this world and pull them into victory.

  27. 8 He that rejecteth me, and receiveth not my words, hath one that judgeth him: the word that I have spoken same shall judge him in the last day.
    There are so many people today that rejects God. What they don’t know is that God will be recording every rejection you had give him

  28. This Hour

    27 Now is my soul troubled; and what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour: but for this cause came I unto this hour.

    There are seasons of life that are so troubling and distressing that we would rather jump ship if we could than hold on through it. But there is a reason for the season and destiny can be found often lurking in the most dark of places. Where there appears at first to be only pain and death, true life is ready to spring forth. When our season seems too hard, the solution is not to get caught up in the future or linger in the past or look around at others’ circumstances, but to look to Jesus, the Savior of our “now” hour. He endured the hour of reckoning so that during our darkest hour we can experience true victory. We must trust in Him, worshipping in spirit and in truth, and allow Him to show Himself as Savior, no matter what we face.

    John 10:10
    The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

  29. 32 And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me.

    It’s time to whole heartedly worship in spirit and in truth. To lift up Jesus that he draws all people to Him. People need to Hear about this wonderful name, Jesus. The savior that is come and will come again. There is no one higher, no one greater, no one like our God, Jesus!

  30. 3 Then took Mary a pound of ointment of spikenard, very costly, and anointed the feet of Jesus, and wiped his feet with her hair: and the house was filled with the odour of the ointment.

    4 Then saith one of his disciples, Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, which should betray him,

    5 Why was not this ointment sold for three hundred pence, and given to the poor?

    6 This he said, not that he cared for the poor; but because he was a thief, and had the bag, and bare what was put therein.

    7 Then said Jesus, Let her alone: against the day of my burying hath she kept this.

    8 For the poor always ye have with you; but me ye have not always.

    Sometimes when you do something for God, other people will make fun of you or scold you for it. Saying how you could have given that money to poor, or asking why it’s so important to you to help in God’s kingdom. But stay strong.

    God sees what you are doing for his work and God sees your heart and he will reward for the sacrifices you’ll make for his kingdom.

  31. Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit. (‭John‬ ‭12‬:‭24‬ KJV)

    JESUS is telling them that if he doesn’t die on the cross then he will never have a large harvest. It doesn’t matter what people did to follow him when he was alive, if he didn’t die we wouldn’t have brought forth much fruit.

  32. 49 For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.
    50 And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.

    The unction of the Holy One.

    As we heard last night we must follow the spirit of God. To have greater understanding of his spirit. To have MORE of Him.

  33. The Miracle of Lazarus !! 17. The people therefore that was with him when he called Laz’-a-rus out of his grave, and raised him from the dead, bare record. 18. For this cause the people also met him, for that they heard that he had done this miracle. Thank you for miracles Jesus !!! Thank you for being a healing God !!!!

Leave a Reply

