John Chapter 13

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 23

John 13

1 Now before the feast of the passover, when Jesus knew that his hour was come that he should depart out of this world unto the Father, having loved his own which were in the world, he loved them unto the end.

2 And supper being ended, the devil having now put into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him;

3 Jesus knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he was come from God, and went to God;

4 He riseth from supper, and laid aside his garments; and took a towel, and girded himself.

5 After that he poureth water into a bason, and began to wash the disciples’ feet, and to wipe them with the towel wherewith he was girded.

6 Then cometh he to Simon Peter: and Peter saith unto him, Lord, dost thou wash my feet?

7 Jesus answered and said unto him, What I do thou knowest not now; but thou shalt know hereafter.

8 Peter saith unto him, Thou shalt never wash my feet. Jesus answered him, If I wash thee not, thou hast no part with me.

9 Simon Peter saith unto him, Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head.

10 Jesus saith to him, He that is washed needeth not save to wash his feet, but is clean every whit: and ye are clean, but not all.

11 For he knew who should betray him; therefore said he, Ye are not all clean.

12 So after he had washed their feet, and had taken his garments, and was set down again, he said unto them, Know ye what I have done to you?

13 Ye call me Master and Lord: and ye say well; for so I am.

14 If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye also ought to wash one another’s feet.

15 For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.

16 Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.

17 If ye know these things, happy are ye if ye do them.

18 I speak not of you all: I know whom I have chosen: but that the scripture may be fulfilled, He that eateth bread with me hath lifted up his heel against me.

19 Now I tell you before it come, that, when it is come to pass, ye may believe that I am he.

20 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that receiveth whomsoever I send receiveth me; and he that receiveth me receiveth him that sent me.

21 When Jesus had thus said, he was troubled in spirit, and testified, and said, Verily, verily, I say unto you, that one of you shall betray me.

22 Then the disciples looked one on another, doubting of whom he spake.

23 Now there was leaning on Jesus’ bosom one of his disciples, whom Jesus loved.

24 Simon Peter therefore beckoned to him, that he should ask who it should be of whom he spake.

25 He then lying on Jesus’ breast saith unto him, Lord, who is it?

26 Jesus answered, He it is, to whom I shall give a sop, when I have dipped it. And when he had dipped the sop, he gave it to Judas Iscariot, the son of Simon.

27 And after the sop Satan entered into him. Then said Jesus unto him, That thou doest, do quickly.

28 Now no man at the table knew for what intent he spake this unto him.

29 For some of them thought, because Judas had the bag, that Jesus had said unto him, Buy those things that we have need of against the feast; or, that he should give something to the poor.

30 He then having received the sop went immediately out: and it was night.

31 Therefore, when he was gone out, Jesus said, Now is the Son of man glorified, and God is glorified in him.

32 If God be glorified in him, God shall also glorify him in himself, and shall straightway glorify him.

33 Little children, yet a little while I am with you. Ye shall seek me: and as I said unto the Jews, Whither I go, ye cannot come; so now I say to you.

34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

36 Simon Peter said unto him, Lord, whither goest thou? Jesus answered him, Whither I go, thou canst not follow me now; but thou shalt follow me afterwards.

37 Peter said unto him, Lord, why cannot I follow thee now? I will lay down my life for thy sake.

38 Jesus answered him, Wilt thou lay down thy life for my sake? Verily, verily, I say unto thee, The cock shall not crow, till thou hast denied me thrice.

27 thoughts on “John Chapter 13

  1. 8. Peter saith unto him, Thou shalt never wash my feet. Jesus answered him, If I wash thee not, thou hast no part with me.

    9. Simon Peter saith unto him, Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head.

    I like Peter’s enthusiasm: don’t just get my feet wet, get it all over me! That’s the way I want to be with His Spirit, I don’t want just a little bit, I want all I can get.

  2. 33 Little children, yet a little while I am with you. Ye shall seek me: and as I said unto the Jews, Whither I go, ye cannot come; so now I say to you.

    34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

    35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

    The new commandment, That we love one another: the greatest part of all is having love toward each other. Being able to forgive each other. it is not always easy to forgive someone when they do you wrong. Let’s face it we are all human and make mistakes and need forgiveness.
    This is the thing that will set us apart from the rest of the world is that we have love toward each other.
    1 Cor 13:4
    4 Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,

    There is nothing that will take the place of charity!
    People will always be able to see love in our hearts and we must display that love for the world to see.

  3. Jesus today you will save me.

    Jesus answered, “Die for me? I tell you the truth, Peter—before the rooster crows tomorrow morning, you will deny three times that you even know me. (‭John‬ ‭13‬:‭38‬ NLT)

    When times get tough it’s a test of faithfulness. He already knows of what will happen. Stay faithful in him.

    I tell you the truth, slaves are not greater than their master. Nor is the messenger more important than the one who sends the message. Now that you know these things, God will bless you for doing them. (‭John‬ ‭13‬:‭16-17‬ NLT)

    Learn to serve others and you will be blessed.

  4. I have given you an example to follow. Do as I have done to you. (‭John‬ ‭13‬:‭15‬ NLT)

    We wash as for unity and our love to one and other.

  5. All for one and one for all

    (The body of Christ for Jesus and each individual for the body)

    John 13:34-35 (Wuest – The New Testament: An Expanded Translation)
    34 A commandment, a new one, I am giving you, that you should be constantly loving one another with a divine and self-sacrificial love; even as I loved you, you also be loving one another. 35 In this all shall know that you are my disciples, if you constantly have love among one another.

    John 13:34-35 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    34 I give you a new commandment: that you should love one another. Just as I have loved you, so you too should love one another.
    35 By this shall all [men] know that you are My disciples, if you love one another [if you keep on showing love among yourselves].

    We are the body of Christ. We cannot be separated except through painful amputation. We are grafter together. The blood flows through the body. When one hurts we all hurt. When one has joy we all have joy. However if we do not love we cut ourselves off from the flow.

    Jesus said in John 15:5 (Wuest – The New Testament: An Expanded Translation)
    5 As for myself, I am the vine. As for you, you are the branches. He who maintains a living communion with me and I with him, this one is bearing much fruit, because apart from me you are not able to be doing anything.

    Our connection to the body is through the blood. In the natural if we lose blood flow to a part of the body it will begin to necrotize. The cells will die, and the body part will turn black. If this isn’t removed it will spread to and effect the rest of the body.

    The blood supplies nutrients, or life to the other parts of the body. We must stay connected with the flow. When we refuse to love because of unforgiveness it cuts us off from the blood flow.

    Jesus told us he will forgive us as we forgive. We can only live in a spirit of forgiveness when we exhibit a self-sacrificial, selfless love for one another.

    We all need each other.

    1 Corinthians 10:16-17 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    16 The cup of blessing [of wine at the Lord’s Supper] upon which we ask [God’s] blessing, does it not mean [that in drinking it] we participate in and share a fellowship (a communion) in the blood of Christ (the Messiah)? The bread which we break, does it not mean [that in eating it] we participate in and share a fellowship (a communion) in the body of Christ?
    17 For we [no matter how] numerous we are, are one body, because we all partake of the one Bread [the One Whom the communion bread represents].

  6. “Now no man at the table knew for what intent he spake this unto him.” Although people may not know what ones true intent is, or what is in one’s heart, the Creator (Jesus) knows. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  7. THE KEY TO HAPPINESS

    14 If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye also ought to wash one another’s feet.
    15 For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.
    16 Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.
    17 If ye know these things, happy are ye if ye do them.

    Often the BLESSINGS and FAVOR of the LORD gives us great confidence and rightly so. If we are walking with the LORD in OBEDIENCE to his WORD and WILL we should expect HIS FAVOR on our lives. However, challenge is discipling our hearts to remain humble and submitted to delegated authority.

    Anything and everything that JESUS has exampled for us, we should be willing to do. We the SERVANT cannot be greater than HE the CREATOR. If we reject, refuse or rebel the LORD’s command we find ourselves assuming this predicament.

    HAPPINESS is the FRUIT of a RIGHT spirit and attitude; which is servanthood. Regardless of position, title or tenure; we are all SERVANTS of the LORD. The KEY to HAPPINESS is “BE a SERVANT”

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iServe
    iWork
    iGIve
    iReap

  8. 34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

    35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

    We must love one another and come together in unity. Because if we are always fighting and arguing and never together in unity will the lost people who come really believe that we are a church that really loves Jesus? When people come to church they look for unity, so we must come together as one!

  9. 10 Jesus saith to him, He that is washed needeth not save to wash his feet, but is clean every whit: and ye are clean, but not all.

    I praise God for He had Mercy on me and I have been washed. All I need is the occasional feet wash ( REPENTANCE ) to continue my path in Him in JESUS NAME!!!!

  10. John 13:14 now that I your Lord and Teacher have washed your feet you also should wash one another’s feet. I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you. Very truly I tell you no servant is greater than his master nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. Now that you know these things you will be blessed if u do them.

  11. 14 If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye also ought to wash one another’s feet.

    15 For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.

    16 Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.

    In the kingdom, we are called to be servants of God and to one another. We are not called to hold a position and title over people, we are commanded to serve people as Jesus showed exaple of to the disciples by washing their feet.

  12. 16-17
    THE LIVING BIBLE PARAPHRASED
    How true it is that a servant is not greater than his master. Nor is the messenger more greater than the one who sends him. You know these things now do them. That is the path of a blessing.

  13. 2 And supper being ended, the devil having now put into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him;

    I don’t believe the devil has straight access to our hearts. He shoots his fiery darts at us, whispers in our ears, putting thoughts in our mind. But those thoughts do not enter into our hearts unless we dwell on them. The thoughts we entertain are the ones that enter into our hearts. It could be possible that the devil attempted to use other disciples besides judas, but he others dismissed the thought, deflected the darts, and carried on their merry way. The thought came to judas and instead of dismissing it he dwelt on it and it planted itself in his heart. The thought entering his heart happened before satan could enter him. Satan got a foothold through a thought and eased himself in completely. We must guard our hearts by guarding our minds.

  14. 34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.
    35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

    Have love one for another! It is our job to love now another no matter what the circumstances are with you or the other individual. You never know when someone is going through a rough time and something as little as a loving smile could change their attitude. Especially if it’s a lost soul searching for a true love from God, we can be that love to them!

  15. 14 If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye also ought to wash one another’s feet.

    15 For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.

    16 Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.

    17 If ye know these things, happy are ye if ye do them.

    A sign of humble servanthood and love. There was the new commandment given to have love one to another. Washing eachother’s feet is a great sing of humbleness and serving and also of love. When you love you don’t mind serving in anything. This kind of mentality takes away the pride and says im with you. United we can do great things.

  16. Trust

    7 Jesus answered and said unto him, What I do thou knowest not now; but thou shalt know hereafter.

    We don’t always understand the plan of God at the point of time we are walking through it, but we must not remove ourselves from it just because we can’t make sense of it. Just as Jesus told Peter he must allow Him to wash his feet to have part in Him, we must submit to the ways of God to have part in His will. How tragic if Peter, like Judas, chose to step out of God’s plan after spending so much time walking in it. There are basic tenets of our faith that we quickly recognize as being matters of leaning not to our own understanding but when we get to the deeper waters of the unknown, that’s where we become truly faced with tests of faith. What we think we understand can seem tossed upside down during our storm, but our trust in God will allow His will to be done.

    Proverbs 3:5-6
    5 Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.

    6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.

  17. iLove to eat the Word

    2 And supper being ended, the devil having now put into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him;

    As I read this, it really hit me that Judas was a son…Yeah I know that is deep, but really can you imagine imagine being his parents…It must have not only been painful, but very shameful .

  18. Everything is given to us from God.

    Vs.3/
    Jesus knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands and that he was come from God, and went to God;
    4/ He ruseth from supper, and laid aside his garments; and took a towel, and girded himself.

    Be prepared!!! What we do goes to God and we need to gird us with the towel of serving. What we do do it unto Jesus(God). Being oreoared with teuth and faith will carry us through. When we go out to witness Jesus’ Name we have to be all the way girded with the Word of God with love and peace with this generation that we live in.

    Bless You…Jesus!

  19. v33 Little children, yet a little while I am with you. Ye shall seek me: and as I said unto the Jews, Whither I go, ye cannot come; so now I say to you.

    What the disciples thought was the end was just the beginning. This same JESUS THAT HUMBLED HIMSELF to was their feet would soon shed HIS precious blood to wash their souls and set them free from sin.
    Thank you JESUS for YOUR PRECIOUS BLOOD and YOUR GREAT LOVE FOR HUMANITY.

    iRepent
    iPray
    iPraise
    iRejoice

  20. 14 If I then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet; ye also ought to wash one another’s feet.

    15 For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.

    16 Verily, verily, I say unto you, The servant is not greater than his lord; neither he that is sent greater than he that sent him.

    17 If ye know these things, happy are ye if ye do them.

    To wash someones’s feet is humbling and it’s also an honor to prefer that person over yourself. To serve the least is just as important as serving the greatest among us because it’s about a humble attitude. Jesus asked his disciples who would be greatest among them & then answered to let that person be servant of all.

  21. I tell you the truth, slaves are not greater than their master. Nor is the messenger more important than the one who sends the message. (‭John‬ ‭13‬:‭16‬ NLT)

    We are all a part of the body. It doesn’t matter what color skin you have, what language you speak or what country you’re from. We all need to come together as one.
    Unity is power!

  22. 38 Jesus answered him, Wilt thou lay down thy life for my sake? Verily, verily, I say unto thee, The cock shall not crow, till thou hast denied me thrice.

    Even thou Jesus is omniscient as God, still knew he would do like Judas Iscariot did. Just like us when confronted by trouble and through our actions deny Christ, he still willing and able to raise us up, like he did Peter to be even the chiefest of apostols.

  23. 37 Peter said unto him, Lord, why cannot I follow thee now? I will lay down my life for thy sake.
    38 Jesus answered him, Wilt thou lay down thy life for my sake? Verily, verily, I say unto thee, The cock shall not crow, till thou hast denied me thrice.

  24. John 13:34
    A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another.

    Christ gave his life and it is a model for us today. We should love one another enough to die for each other.

  25. How do people know you follow JESUS?

    By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another. (‭John‬ ‭13‬:‭35‬ KJV)

    Stopping to change a tire. Helping a stalled car or someone who us out of gas. Folding laundry for a friend. Washing your friend’s dishes. Going to talk to someone who can’t leave their home. Calling a friend who you miss. All these things and many more are ways to show that you have love. This scripture is SOOO open as to how we are to fulfill it.
    Let’s go out abs show someone we follow Chrust today.

  26. 34 A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.

    35 By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another.

    Jesus wants us to love one another just as he loves us.

    We are to love everybody no matter what. Jesus strengthen and give every heart the ability to see past a hardened heart.

  27. Simon Peter !!! 34. A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. Eph. 5 : 2 35. By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another. 1 John 2 : 5 36. Si’-mon Pe’-ter said unto him, Lord, whither goest thou? Je’-sus answered him, Whither I go, thou canst not follow me now; but thou shalt follow me afterwards. John 21 : 18 37. Pe’-ter said unto him, Lord, why cannot I follow thee now? I will lay down my life for thy sake. 38. Je’-sus answered him, Wilt thou lay down thy life for my sake? Verily, verily, I say unto thee, The cock shall not crow, till thou hast denied me thrice. God is Love !!!! We need to Love and forgive everyone !!!!

Leave a Reply

