John Chapter 17

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 27

John 17

1 These words spake Jesus, and lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, Father, the hour is come; glorify thy Son, that thy Son also may glorify thee:

2 As thou hast given him power over all flesh, that he should give eternal life to as many as thou hast given him.

3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.

4 I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do.

5 And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.

6 I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word.

7 Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee.

8 For I have given unto them the words which thou gavest me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came out from thee, and they have believed that thou didst send me.

9 I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine.

10 And all mine are thine, and thine are mine; and I am glorified in them.

11 And now I am no more in the world, but these are in the world, and I come to thee. Holy Father, keep through thine own name those whom thou hast given me, that they may be one, as we are.

12 While I was with them in the world, I kept them in thy name: those that thou gavest me I have kept, and none of them is lost, but the son of perdition; that the scripture might be fulfilled.

13 And now come I to thee; and these things I speak in the world, that they might have my joy fulfilled in themselves.

14 I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

15 I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil.

16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.

19 And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.

20 Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word;

21 That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me.

22 And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one:

23 I in them, and thou in me, that they may be made perfect in one; and that the world may know that thou hast sent me, and hast loved them, as thou hast loved me.

24 Father, I will that they also, whom thou hast given me, be with me where I am; that they may behold my glory, which thou hast given me: for thou lovedst me before the foundation of the world.

25 O righteous Father, the world hath not known thee: but I have known thee, and these have known that thou hast sent me.

26 And I have declared unto them thy name, and will declare it: that the love wherewith thou hast loved me may be in them, and I in them.

33 thoughts on “John Chapter 17

  1. Amen
    john 17:16-17
    they are not of the world even as i am not of the world
    sanctify them through thy truth thy word is truth

  2. 14 I have given them thy word; and the world hath hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

    15 I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil.

    16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

    17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

    18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.

    19 And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.

    Jesus said I have given them thy word, how great is the word of God! Because they fell in love with the Word of God, the world hated them. The world seeing the people of God are different hated them. Jesus prayed for us that God would not remove us, but give us the ability to live for God by giving us the ability to resist evil.
    God has the power to set us free and sanctify us by his truth. We should let the truth of God be in us and cleanse us by his Word.

  3. 2, “As thou hast given him power over all flesh, that he should give eternal life to as many as thou hast given him.”
    3, “And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.”

    1 John 5:20 says, “And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know him that is true, and we are in him that is true, even in his Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God, and eternal life.”

    I am HAPPY and THANKFUL that I know who the One True God is, and His Name is JESUS.

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

  4. Jesus wants us to be saved from this world. The only way to do that is through the power of the Holy Ghost. We must be born again.

  5. THANKFUL FOR SANCTIFICATION

    17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

    Verse 17 serves as evidence to all generations and mankind that our only hope for salvation is the WORD of GOD through JESUS the Christ, not mohammed the prophet, not joseph smith, not buddha, baal or any other created idol.

    Sanctify – 1: to set apart to a sacred purpose or to religious use : consecrate
    2: to free from sin : purify
    3a : to impart or impute sacredness, inviolability, or respect to
    b : to give moral or social sanction to
    4: to make productive of holiness or piety

    Sanctify – 37. hagiazo, hag-ee-ad´-zo; to make holy, i.e. (ceremonially) purify or consecrate; (mentally) to venerate: — hallow, be holy, sanctify.

    In and of ourselves we have no hope of purity, consecration of a life free from sin. We must become ONE with the WORD of GOD through reading, studying to understanding and living through obedience the application of the WORD of GOD.

    1Corinthians 1:30 But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:

    1Peter 3:15 But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:

    He MUST be in me and I MUST be in HIM.

    Thank you JESUS that through your own BLOOD, pain, sacrifice and commitment; I can have and live life.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iThankGOD
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  6. John 17:9 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    9 I am praying for them. I am not praying (requesting) for the world, but for those You have given Me, for they belong to You.

    The adversary, and his system are this world’s normal. Throughout history everything that has produced closeness to God, revival, harvest, and outpouring was done in direct conflict with the enemy.

    What Adam was in the garden the enemy is now. He has power, dominion, and authority over all of the world.

    Jesus, and the church is an invasion force, and a rescue mission. He came to seek and to save that which was lost. He came to destroy the works of the devil. He came to die that we may live.

    The only ones that are the Lord’s are the ones who give themselves to him. People can say they believe in God all day, but until they surrender their will, and submit to God they are only mentally affirming a fact.

    True life comes from us dying.

    Today is thanksgiving. We celebrate the goodness, and provision of God.

    1 Timothy 4:4 (KJV Strong’s)
    4 For every creature of God is good, and nothing to be refused, if it be received with thanksgiving:

    The word thanksgiving comes from the root word charis. This is also the word for grace. Grace is God’s empowerment to give us the ability to do his will.

    Without him we can do nothing.

  7. NLT 2 For you have given him authority over everyone. He gives eternal life to each one you have given him. 3 And this is the way to have eternal life—to know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, the one you sent to earth.

    Once you repent, get baptized and receive the holy ghost, your giving Jesus the authority to reign over your life. Jesus will guide, protect, heal, give eternal life and bless you. With authority it requires your obedience to follow his will.

  8. iLove to eat the Word (and turkey)

    John 17:26 And I have declared unto them thy name, and will declare it: that the love wherewith thou hast loved me may be in them, and I in them.

    This Thanksgiving we are going to share the Love of the Father. We are thankful for the Lord’s provision and the turkey that sacrificed his life that we might roast him. Thank You Jesus for a great church and a great pastor. In Jesus name.

    Let’s declare the name of the Lord and love one another.

  9. Happy thanksgiving 🐓🍂🎉🍛🍴🎂

    3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.

    Who wouldn’t want to live eternal with everything is going great. But there’s only one way to have that. 1 repent 2 baptize 3 holy sprit.

  10. 4. I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do.

    I pray that my life is glorifying Him here on Earth and that I finish the work that He gives me to do.

    2 Timothy 4:7-8 KJV
    7. I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
    8. Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

  11. Jesus prayed ….

    “My prayer is not for the world, but for those you have given me, because they belong to you. All who are mine belong to you, and you have given them to me, so they bring me glory. Now I am departing from the world; they are staying in this world, but I am coming to you. Holy Father, you have given me your name; now protect them by the power of your name so that they will be united just as we are. During my time here, I protected them by the power of the name you gave me. I guarded them so that not one was lost, except the one headed for destruction, as the Scriptures foretold.

    Make them holy by your truth; teach them your word, which is truth.

    “I am praying not only for these disciples but also for all who will ever believe in me through their message. (‭John‬ ‭17‬:‭9-12, 17, 20‬ NLT)

    It was never intended for mam kind to be spiritually lost!!

    It’s by choice, self willed, rebellion, and pride that gets an individual far from the saviour JESUS.
    I embrace and comforted by reading the prayer that JESUS himself prayed for us all. Moving forward in Christ, that His name may be glorified!!

  12. 16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

    17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

    18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.

    19 And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.

    God has sent his word to teach us the truth that we might spread it to the rest of the world!! For we are not of this world we are just in it to be a light to others!!

  13. And I have declared to them Your name, and will declare it, that the love with which You loved Me may be in them, and I in them.” (‭John‬ ‭17‬:‭26‬ NKJV)

    You first loved me so I could love others. I pray others feel Gods love when they are around me. In JESUS name. For your glory

  14. Exegetical study.

    John 17:15
    I do not ask You to take them out of the world, but to keep them from the evil one. (NASB)

    John 17:15
    I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil. (KJV)

    Notice the difference in the ending of the text. The same is seen in the Lord’s Prayer. “Delivers us from evil.” (Matt 6:13)

    The evil one or the evil in the Greek SBL is εκ του προνηρου. This is a genitive inflection of the word προνηρος, evil, which in the genitive means of the evil. Ek is the genitive preposition “from,” and in translation literally means from the evil one.

    This enlightens us in that we, as Christians, are not delivered from evil or even always protected from it. Rather we are delivered from the evil one, Satan. In truth, we give Satan too much credit. He has been defeated, and Christ has prayed for us to be delivered from Satan. Therefore, when Satan comes in, we have nothing to fear because his role in our lives is nil unless ordained by God, I. E. The messenger of Satan to Paul.

    We can expect evil to be in our lives because we live in an evil world, but as for Satans role, his power is limited. He has no authority over the life of a born again believer.

  15. 17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.
    18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.
    19 And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.

    The truth makes us free so that we are not in bondage like the world because he has sent us with purpose. For his sake do we sanctify ourselves

  16. Jesus had me in mind the whole time.

    20 Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word;

    There are many debates about what was for them in the bible and what is for us today, but this is one of those scriptures that should settle it.
    Everything that was for them
    Is for us. I am thankful today that Jesus had us in mind when he prayed. We didn’t see Jesus in the flesh so we are the ones he is praying for here. We believe through the words of the bible taught and preached by a linage of deciples handed down through these years. The prayers and mercy of Jesus Christ reach back to the beginning all the way to the end. Thank God that his promises and salvation didn’t stop when the last author wrote the last word of the bible.

    I am thankful

    Michael-
    The deciples had a desire to see who made them and when they found out they started rejoicing to Thr Lord.
    Joseph-
    The Lord is saving us
    Olivia-
    I pray for Madison and Shy that they would know Jesus

  17. The world

    9 I pray for them: I pray not for the world, but for them which thou hast given me; for they are thine.

    The world is not what we should be concerned with. We are to seek to be like JESUS daily. If we are seeking to be like him then we will be concerned with the people who seek after him. We should pray for the people in our church and for those who attend other churches who believe on JESUS. Yes we should pray for new believers, but our focus should not be on the crisis and events in the world, it should be on the children of God! Pray for salvation, pray for forgiveness, pray for others to stay in the will of God, pray for the church body, and pray that we would all seek to be more like Christ!

  18. 25 O righteous Father, the world hath not known thee: but I have known thee, and these have known that thou hast sent me.

    26 And I have declared unto them thy name, and will declare it: that the love wherewith thou hast loved me may be in them, and I in them.

    Thank you Jesus for giving us your love so that we may love others with it.

  19. 4 I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do.

    5 And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.

    6 I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word.

    7 Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee.

    8 For I have given unto them the words which thou gavest me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came out from thee, and they have believed that thou didst send me.

    A great example is given in this portion of chapter describing how we should share the truth with individuals: Glorify God in the earth, finish the work of sharing truth, manifest the name of Jesus to all men so that they can grow in God, keep the word, and come out of the world.

  20. 17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth
    Thy word is truth… such powerful four words that have stood the test of time for over 2000 years. No matter what comes no matter what goes the word of God stands and will never change!

  21. “That they all may be one”. God did not come to cause confusion or divide, but came he to unite all that are his. One that is unwilling to abide by the word (whole) of God, and heed what sayeth the Holy Ghost (God) filled called man of God, is not united with God. “And I have declared unto them thy name, and will declare it: that the love wherewith thou hast loved me may be in them, and I in them.” There is only one name for God, which those that know him know it is Jesus. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  22. Verses 13-19 NLT “Now I am coming to you. I told them many things while I was with them in this world so they would be filled with my joy. I have given them your word. And the world hates them because they do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. I’m not asking you to take them out of the world, but to keep them safe from the evil one. They do not belong to this world any more than I do. Make them holy by your truth; teach them your word, which is truth. Just as you sent me into the world, I am sending them into the world. And I give myself as a holy sacrifice for them so they can be made holy by your truth.”

    Same verses MSG “Now I’m returning to you. I’m saying these things in the world’s hearing So my people can experience My joy completed in them. I gave them your word; The godless world hated them because of it, Because they didn’t join the world’s ways, Just as I didn’t join the world’s ways. I’m not asking that you take them out of the world But that you guard them from the Evil One. Than I am defined by the world. Make them holy—consecrated—with the truth; Your word is consecrating truth. In the same way that you gave me a mission in the world,
    I give them a mission in the world. I’m consecrating myself for their sakes
    So they’ll be truth-consecrated in their mission.”

    We are not of this world, for this world is not my home. Help us oh Lord and let your Truth be revealed to us.

  23. Make them holy by your truth; teach them your word, which is truth. Just as you sent me into the world, I am sending them into the world. And I give myself as a holy sacrifice for them so they can be made holy by your truth. (‭John‬ ‭17‬:‭17-19‬ NLT)

    I’m so thankful for the Truth! This Book cuts out the things that do not belong in our lives,  if we apply what we read to our hearts.

  24. v20 Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word

    Knowing that JESUS prayed for me brings me much comfort. HE was about to walk into HIS final hour of suffferig, JESUS took time to make HIS final requests for those HE loved so much, that’s you and me .
    Thank you FATHER……

  25. v20 Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word

    Knowing that JESUS prayed for me brings me much comfort. HE was about to walk into HIS final hour of suffferig, JESUS took time to make HIS final requests for those HE loved so much, that’s you and me .

    Thank you FATHER……

  26. Multiplication Of Ministry

    18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.

    19 And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth.

    20 Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word;

    21 That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me.

    Jesus’ prayer reveals His plan for ministry: that it would be multiplied through His followers to those coming after them. Our Apostolic heritage is a precious gift that is literal: Apostolic, or “of the Apostles.” To be Apostolic is proof of Jesus’ prayer in Gethsemane is still in motion, generations later. Paul speaks of this in another way:

    1 Corinthians 11:1
    Be ye followers of me, even as I also am of Christ.

  27. 3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.

    Out of so many things that people try to make and have a life out of: collecting riches, building network of friends, becoming famous, having vacations, travels and pleasures…yet it’s all empty or hollow. Solomon calls it vanity. Life, eternal life is only found in Jesus knowing our Lord. Nothing else fulfills than being in His presence. In order to get to know God we need to be one with God. God in us through His Holy Spirit will be the way to get to know God, Jesus.

    John 17:22-23 NET
    The glory you gave to me I have given to them, that they may be one just as we are one— I in them and you in me—that they may be completely one, so that the world will know that you sent me, and you have loved them just as you have loved me.

    God is the Way, the Truth and the Life. In Him is eternal life.

    John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come so that they may have life, and may have it abundantly.

  28. 16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

    Amen! Just passing by….were working for his kingdom and being a testimony to others. Everywhere we go were making a difference wether we believe it or not. Follow Christ and we shall be followers of men. 🙂

  29. What a altruistic prayer this is. His only concern was the well being of his own. Never asked for the things that we ask, give me strength, let this pass quickly, or don’t let me pass through this tribulation, etc.

    He knew his reward, his eye were set on the mark. He agonized so much that he even sweated blood. Yet having all power and author endured the punishment and pain.
    Thank you Jesus

  30. 15 I pray not that thou shouldest take them out of the world, but that thou shouldest keep them from the evil.

    16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of the world.

    17 Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth.

    18 As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world.

    As we are sent out into this world, we have an advocate – even Jesus Christ – to protect us we witness and share his word. I am thankful that Jesus made provision for us to keep us from evil while we labor for him. His word is forever settled in heaven and only needs us to proclaim it to those who will hear, to those seeking his truth, to those who are hungry & thirsty, even to those who are bound by false doctrines & unbelief. His word is powerful and will accomplish what he set it to do if we will carry it to this world.

  31. Sanctify!!!! 16. They are not of the world, even as I am not of this world. 17. Sanctify them through thy truth: thy word is truth. 2 Sam.7 : 28 18. As thou hast sent me into the world, even so have I also sent them into the world. 19. And for their sakes I sanctify myself, that they also might be sanctified through the truth. I Love You Jesus !!!! I Lift You Up Jesus !!!! I Praise Your Name !!!! You Are Awesome !!!!

Leave a Reply

