Acts Chapter 24

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 25

Acts 24

1 And after five days Ananias the high priest descended with the elders, and with a certain orator named Tertullus, who informed the governor against Paul.

2 And when he was called forth, Tertullus began to accuse him, saying, Seeing that by thee we enjoy great quietness, and that very worthy deeds are done unto this nation by thy providence,

3 We accept it always, and in all places, most noble Felix, with all thankfulness.

4 Notwithstanding, that I be not further tedious unto thee, I pray thee that thou wouldest hear us of thy clemency a few words.

5 For we have found this man a pestilent fellow, and a mover of sedition among all the Jews throughout the world, and a ringleader of the sect of the Nazarenes:

6 Who also hath gone about to profane the temple: whom we took, and would have judged according to our law.

7 But the chief captain Lysias came upon us, and with great violence took him away out of our hands,

8 Commanding his accusers to come unto thee: by examining of whom thyself mayest take knowledge of all these things, whereof we accuse him.

9 And the Jews also assented, saying that these things were so.

10 Then Paul, after that the governor had beckoned unto him to speak, answered, Forasmuch as I know that thou hast been of many years a judge unto this nation, I do the more cheerfully answer for myself:

11 Because that thou mayest understand, that there are yet but twelve days since I went up to Jerusalem for to worship.

12 And they neither found me in the temple disputing with any man, neither raising up the people, neither in the synagogues, nor in the city:

13 Neither can they prove the things whereof they now accuse me.

14 But this I confess unto thee, that after the way which they call heresy, so worship I the God of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the law and in the prophets:

15 And have hope toward God, which they themselves also allow, that there shall be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and unjust.

16 And herein do I exercise myself, to have always a conscience void to offence toward God, and toward men.

17 Now after many years I came to bring alms to my nation, and offerings.

18 Whereupon certain Jews from Asia found me purified in the temple, neither with multitude, nor with tumult.

19 Who ought to have been here before thee, and object, if they had ought against me.

20 Or else let these same here say, if they have found any evil doing in me, while I stood before the council,

21 Except it be for this one voice, that I cried standing among them, Touching the resurrection of the dead I am called in question by you this day.

22 And when Felix heard these things, having more perfect knowledge of that way, he deferred them, and said, When Lysias the chief captain shall come down, I will know the uttermost of your matter.

23 And he commanded a centurion to keep Paul, and to let him have liberty, and that he should forbid none of his acquaintance to minister or come unto him.

24 And after certain days, when Felix came with his wife Drusilla, which was a Jewess, he sent for Paul, and heard him concerning the faith in Christ.

25 And as he reasoned of righteousness, temperance, and judgment to come, Felix trembled, and answered, Go thy way for this time; when I have a convenient season, I will call for thee.

26 He hoped also that money should have been given him of Paul, that he might loose him: wherefore he sent for him the oftener, and communed with him.

27 But after two years Porcius Festus came into Felix’ room: and Felix, willing to shew the Jews a pleasure, left Paul bound.

29 thoughts on “Acts Chapter 24

  1. 12 And they neither found me in the temple disputing with any man, neither raising up the people, neither in the synagogues, nor in the city:

    13 Neither can they prove the things whereof they now accuse me.

    14 But this I confess unto thee, that after the way which they call heresy, so worship I the God of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the law and in the prophets:

    When Paul found himself falsely accused among other men for a crime he did not commit, what did he do? He still worshipped God and he believed his word. After all, God had let Paul out of prison, why should he not believe that he would deliver him from this situation again?

    When you find yourself falsely accused by other people, whether it be strangers, family or even friends. Remember to just give worship unto God and believe his word and read it daily for God will deliver you from your situation that you are in.

  2. For we have found this man a plague, a creator of dissension among all the Jews throughout the world, and a ringleader of the sect of the Nazarenes. (‭Acts‬ ‭24‬:‭5‬ NKJV)

    We change the world that’s what we’re known as and there’s nothing they can do about it. In JESUS name.

    Nor can they prove the things of which they now accuse me. (‭Acts‬ ‭24‬:‭13‬ NKJV)

    Temperance. Paul had to have a lot patients and disapline to not want to burst out in anger because he was be lied about and falsely accused. We need to learn temperance a fruit of the spirit. Learn from Paul he had no problem of anger nor hate when his brothers came against him.

    Teach me love and patients today Jesus. To love when people come against me. To forgive if I have un forgiveness. In Jesus name.

  3. iLove to eat the word

    “More Are Ready for the Club ”
    Paul was a Pharisee of Pharisees, a Jew of the Jews he knew the Word of God and he had a great perception of the situation around him. God saved him and gave him the truth by knocking him off his high horse… How many other denominal preachers are out there just waiting for the club upside the head?

  4. 27 But after two years Porcius Festus came into Felix’ room: and Felix, willing to shew the Jews a pleasure, left Paul bound.

    Too many times we want to do things that please others. We spend so much time trying to keep others happy and keep them from talking bad about us that we forget about the one who truly matters. We must put our focus on God and keep it there. God is the only one who can bring us perfect peace.

  5. 25 And as he reasoned of righteousness, temperance, and judgment to come, Felix trembled, and answered, Go thy way for this time; when I have a convenient season, I will call for thee.

    26 He hoped also that money should have been given him of Paul, that he might loose him: wherefore he sent for him the oftener, and communed with him.
    27 But after two years Porcius Festus came into Felix’ room: and Felix, willing to shew the Jews a pleasure, left Paul bound.

    Politics of that day was like today. Paul did nothing wrong concerning their law, but

  6. 21 Except it be for this one voice, that I cried standing among them, Touching the resurrection of the dead I am called in question by you this day.

    Stand for Truth

    It is important for us to stand for what is right. It does’t matter if your defending your testimony as Paul or the Word of God as every believer should. IT is important for us not to argue and cast our pearls among swine but make it know and allow God to lead us through the rest. In the end the true reason behind anyones rage against the truth will be revealed.

  7. Falsely accused!!!!

    10 Then Paul, after that the governor had beckoned unto him to speak, answered, Forasmuch as I know that thou hast been of many years a judge unto this nation, I do the more cheerfully answer for myself:

    11 Because that thou mayest understand, that there are yet but twelve days since I went up to Jerusalem for to worship.

    12 And they neither found me in the temple disputing with any man, neither raising up the people, neither in the synagogues, nor in the city:

    13 Neither can they prove the things whereof they now accuse me.

    14 But this I confess unto thee, that after the way which they call heresy, so worship I the God of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the law and in the prophets:

    Could you remain calm when falsely accused? Could you hold your peace until given permission to speak?? Seems impossible but ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE THROUGH CHRIST!!! What a lesson of leadership, of integrity, and of patience Paul gives to us. My father in His great wisdom used to tell me that to ignorant words deafs ears at the end the Truth will sound LOUDER THAN ANY TRUMPET!!! Which means the truth ALWAYS COMES OUT all you have to do is wait for it!!!

  8. MORE CHEERFULLY

    10 Then Paul, after that the governor had beckoned unto him to speak, answered, Forasmuch as I know that thou hast been of many years a judge unto this nation, I do the more cheerfully answer for myself:

    I often wonder how certain situations may have turned out for the positive had there been a MORE cheerful response. Paul had every reason and justification to be critical, angry, resentful or mad. However he CHOSE to be MORE cheerfully responsive to the situation.

    May GOD help me to chose to BE MORE CHEERFUL in the unfair situations that he permits to test me and strengthen my FAITH in HIM.

    iRepent
    iPriase
    iPray
    iWork
    iGIve
    iReap

  9. Paul planted a seed in Felix heart and later in time Felix again called for Paul to hear the way of salvation again. Unfortunately, it wasn’t convenient for Felix to surrender his will to walk in the way of the Lord.

    We are responsible to plant the seed every where we go. We are not responsible for what happens to the seed once it is planted. Some sow, some water, but God gives the increase. Soil hearts are ready for the seed, some allow the cares of life to choke out the seed, some of the seed falls by the way side, and like Felix, some seed falls on stony ground.

    We will be judged for our part, and they will be judged for what they do with what they have heard.

  10. Uncircumised hearts.

    Acts 24:25-26
    But as he was discussing righteousness, self-control and the judgment to come, Felix became frightened and said, “Go away for the present, and when I find time I will summon you.” At the same time too, he was hoping that money would be given him by Paul; therefore he also used to send for him quite often and converse with him.

    Felix was interested in salvation until righteousness was talked about. This was the oppisite of the life he lived. His character is further shown in that he was willing to take a bribe from paul. Monry was more important than doing ehat is right. Let us never reach that point.

  11. 27 But after two years Porcius Festus came into Felix’ room: and Felix, willing to shew the Jews a pleasure, left Paul bound.

    BREAKOUT SAINTS…
    sometimes when people try to tell us what to do we rebel against them.
    For one,I listen but unless its cimming from God(Jesus), its hard or very illiterate to me.
    I have to brakeout when it gets too commanding. I live the Lord and I will listen to the man of God and wife, and if they are living for God…its ok.
    Thankyou Jesus for giving me a way to escape when I think there’s no way out.
    Love you my family in Christ may the Lord bless yall, in Jesus Name.

  12. In Caesarea the Jewish leaders charge Paul with crimes against their religion charges with Paul disputes . The astute governor Felix delays judgment. He keeps Paul in jail in part to please the Jews in part hoping for a bribe yet also curious about Pauls teachings.

  13. Acts 24:29 or these who are here should state what crime they found in me when I stood before the Sanhedrin unless it was this one thing I shouted as I stood in their presence. It is concerning the resurrection of the dead that I am on trail before you today.

  14. 20 Or else let these same here say, if they have found any evil doing in me, while I stood before the council,

    Jesus calls us to be Holy, perfect; something that we believe is unattainable but it is not. We should be blameless able to stand in front of multitudes with no evil found in us.

  15. v26 He hoped also that money should have been given him of Paul, that he might loose him : eherfire he sent for him the oftener , and communed with him.

    Sounds like bribery ….. But Paul’s talk was about self- control, justice , and future judgment.

    Discipline means ” training that develops self control, character, strict control to enforce obedience.
    ( i ) we must be self- disiciplined and with HIS PRESENCE AND Strength. They go hand in hand
    HIS POWER and will power.

    GOD requires separation from the world and sin to be called HIS CHILD.

    AS GOD’s children one must learn to be discipline in body, mind, and spirit so that one may be able to have control over every situation that may try us.
    LORD JESUS help us to remember to set our values on eternal things which is our soul and others.

    Matthew 6 19-20
    Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through aand steal:
    But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal:

  16. Amen
    Acts 2:38
    Then peter said unto them repent and be babtized in the name of Jesus Christ and he
    Shall receive the gift of the holy gost

  17. 27 But after two years Porcius Festus came into Felix’ room: and Felix, willing to shew the Jews a pleasure, left Paul bound.

    The sacrifice of ministry.

    I have had my share of people trying to make a spectical of me. Making fun of me for what I believe. I can’t imagine what Paul was feeling. To be put on display for what you believe in. We cry because someone doesn’t agree with us. Or that they turn away the truth. But what would we do if we were in Paul’s shoes. Would we survive of coward away? Be strong and of good courage. God has given us a sound mind.

  18. 24, “And after certain days, when Felix came with his wife Drusilla, which was a Jewess, he sent for Paul, and heard him concerning the faith in Christ.”
    25, “And as he reasoned of righteousness, temperance, and judgment to come, Felix trembled, and answered, Go thy way for this time; when I have a convenient season, I will call for thee.”

    This is such a sad story, but describes many people today. When we witness and invite people to church, it is amazing how many excuses come out of their mouths. I remember when I first was saved. I was witnessing to my oldest brother. I remember him telling me, I’m not going to serve God until I’m 60. But when tragidy hits our country like 911, who’s the first person he called, me. He wanted to know if the world was coming to an end. I said no, but God is trying to wake you up.

    The scripture says in 2 Cor. 6:2b, “… behold, now is the accepted time; behold, now is the day of salvation.”

  19. 24, “And after certain days, when Felix came with his wife Drusilla, which was a Jewess, he sent for Paul, and heard him concerning the faith in Christ.”
    25, “And as he reasoned of righteousness, temperance, and judgment to come, Felix trembled, and answered, Go thy way for this time; when I have a convenient season, I will call for thee.”
    I am so thankful for Paul’s boldness to teach the Truth. Even though he and the Word were rejected, it didn’t slow Paul down one bit! Praise God!

  20. 24 And after certain days, when Felix came with his wife Drusilla, which was a Jewess, he sent for Paul, and heard him concerning the faith in Christ.

    A man’s gift maketh room for him, and bringeth him before great men. -Proverbs 18:16

    Be ready God is going to bring you before greasy men to testify of this great faith.

  21. Acts 24:25 (New Living Translation – NLT)
    25 As he reasoned with them about righteousness and self-control and the coming day of judgment, Felix became frightened. “Go away for now,” he replied. “When it is more convenient, I’ll call for you again.”

    Acts 24:25 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    25 But as he continued to argue about uprightness, purity of life (the control of the passions), and the judgment to come, Felix became alarmed and terrified and said, Go away for the present; when I have a convenient opportunity, I will send for you.

    Acts 24:25 (Weymouth New Testament)
    25 But when he dealt with the subjects of justice, self-control, and the judgement which was soon to come, Felix became alarmed and said, “For the present leave me, and when I can find a convenient opportunity I will send for you.”

    Acts 24:25 (The Message)
    25 As Paul continued to insist on right relations with God and his people, about a life of moral discipline and the coming Judgment, Felix felt things getting a little too close for comfort and dismissed him. “That’s enough for today. I’ll call you back when it’s convenient.”

    Conviction is never convenient. When we become convicted it is us recognizing that we have allowed the flesh to rule in our lives.

  22. New Living Translation( NLT)
    15 I have the same hope in God that these men have, that he will raise both the righteous and the unrighteous.
    16 Because of this, I always try to maintain a clear conscience before God and all people.

    Good News (GNT)
    15 I have the same hope in God that these themselves have, namely, that all people, both the good and the bad, will rise from death.
    16 And so I do my best always to have a clear conscience before God and people.

    God died for ALL the good and the bad. We sometimes as Christians forget the sacrifice that Jesus made for us it wasn’t just for those living by his word but for those who are lost too. If we could all stop judging everyone else and start looking in the mirror first at what we could do to change people’s ways of thinking even if they don’t want to hear what we have to say. ALL God says to do is to spread his word, we are the teachers.
    1 Thessalonians 1: 2-8 King James Version (KJV)
    2 We give thanks to God always for you all, making mention of you in our prayers;
    3 Remembering without ceasing your work of faith, and labour of love, and patience of hope in our Lord Jesus Christ, in the sight of God and our Father;
    4 Knowing, brethren beloved, your election of God.
    5 For our gospel came not unto you in word only, but also in power, and in the Holy Ghost, and in much assurance; as ye know what manner of men we were among you for your sake.
    6 And ye became followers of us, and of the Lord, having received the word in much affliction, with joy of the Holy Ghost.
    7 So that ye were ensamples to all that believe in Macedonia and Achaia.
    8 For from you sounded out the word of the Lord not only in Macedonia and Achaia, but also in every place your faith to God-ward is spread abroad; so that we need not to speak any thing.

    Let us see especially today as we celebrate your Beautiful and Wonderful and Glorious birth, Christ’s Day to spread the wonderful joyous words to anyone and everyone that we should come in contact with.
    Thank you Jesus for designating us to spread the news to all who will listen!!!! I love you Jesus! Thank you for your birth, Thank you for your burial and your resurrection!! You are amazing!!

  23. “And as he reasoned of righteousness, temperance, and judgment to come, Felix trembled, and answered, Go thy way for this time; when I have a convenient season, I will call for thee.” Talk of Jesus (God) will have an effect on people, which they will either receive it or reject it. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

    More;
    22 And when Felix heard these things, having more perfect knowledge of that way, he deferred them, and said, When Lysias the chief captain shall come down, I will know the uttermost of your matter.

  24. In reading this chapter, it reminds me that the Lord will fight my battles and He will give me the response (not my own opinion) that I need to give . Luke 12:12 AMP says “For the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour and [a]moment what [you] ought to say.” Also, Luke 21:15 AMP says “For I [Myself] will give you a mouth and such utterance and wisdom that all of your foes combined will be unable to stand against or refute.” Thank you Lord!

  25. 10 Then Paul, after that the governor had beckoned unto him to speak, answered, Forasmuch as I know that thou hast been of many years a judge unto this nation, I do the more cheerfully answer for myself:

    More cheerfully… In the midst of false accusation and trial Paul chooses to be posive and cheerful. When we finally really understand and receive that revelation that God IS with us, how can we not be cheerful. I pray that I may maybe this attitude maybe with me in all walks of life

  26. 14 But this I confess unto thee, that after the way which they call heresy, so worship I the God of my fathers, believing all things which are written in the law and in the prophets:

    I worship you Jesus because of who you are and everything you’ve done. You have no exceptions for anybody and you move in the midst of those who believe and don’t believe because even the ones that don’t believe in you, you wake then up every single day and you don’t give up on them. Without you I am lost Jesus!!! I want MORE & MORE of you…..believing and knowing who you really are and the power you have is something so amazing to witness…I will follow you always!!!

  27. How long do you have to wait?
    27 But after two years Porcius Festus came into Felix’ room: and Felix, willing to shew the Jews a pleasure, left Paul bound.
    After 2 years time he was still bound. Sometimes it’s hard for us to stand and prove our beliefs for a couple of hours, days, weeks, or even months. Paul went years and did not sway in his beliefs. It is my prayer that we can stand as firm in our belief as he did in his to say that JESUS is God. He did rise from the dead. He is alive!

Leave a Reply

