Romans Chapter 9

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Day 7: PrayThat God sends out workers, laboring together in love. Pray they not only advocate God’s kingdom, but also demonstrate it in His name, power, and authority (Mark 6:7).

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 7

Romans 9

1 I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost,

2 That I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart.

3 For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh:

4 Who are Israelites; to whom pertaineth the adoption, and the glory, and the covenants, and the giving of the law, and the service of God, and the promises;

5 Whose are the fathers, and of whom as concerning the flesh Christ came, who is over all, God blessed for ever. Amen.

6 Not as though the word of God hath taken none effect. For they are not all Israel, which are of Israel:

7 Neither, because they are the seed of Abraham, are they all children: but, In Isaac shall thy seed be called.

8 That is, They which are the children of the flesh, these are not the children of God: but the children of the promise are counted for the seed.

9 For this is the word of promise, At this time will I come, and Sarah shall have a son.

10 And not only this; but when Rebecca also had conceived by one, even by our father Isaac;

11 (For the children being not yet born, neither having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of him that calleth;)

12 It was said unto her, The elder shall serve the younger.

13 As it is written, Jacob have I loved, but Esau have I hated.

14 What shall we say then? Is there unrighteousness with God? God forbid.

15 For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.

16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

17 For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might shew my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth.

18 Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

19 Thou wilt say then unto me, Why doth he yet find fault? For who hath resisted his will?

20 Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?

21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

22 What if God, willing to shew his wrath, and to make his power known, endured with much longsuffering the vessels of wrath fitted to destruction:

23 And that he might make known the riches of his glory on the vessels of mercy, which he had afore prepared unto glory,

24 Even us, whom he hath called, not of the Jews only, but also of the Gentiles?

25 As he saith also in Osee, I will call them my people, which were not my people; and her beloved, which was not beloved.

26 And it shall come to pass, that in the place where it was said unto them, Ye are not my people; there shall they be called the children of the living God.

27 Esaias also crieth concerning Israel, Though the number of the children of Israel be as the sand of the sea, a remnant shall be saved:

28 For he will finish the work, and cut it short in righteousness: because a short work will the Lord make upon the earth.

29 And as Esaias said before, Except the Lord of Sabaoth had left us a seed, we had been as Sodoma, and been made like unto Gomorrha.

30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.

31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

33 As it is written, Behold, I lay in Sion a stumblingstone and rock of offence: and whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.

57 thoughts on “Romans Chapter 9

  1. How could anyone be ashamed. At all cost I would never dani being a child of God.
    Thank You Jesus for being the beganning and ending of my life love you my Father

  2. v21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour ?

    JESUS CAN AND WILL transform us into clean vessels full of the Holy Ghost.
    Thank GOD for the Blood that washes white as snow.
    We have become sacred, set apart, and consecrated for the Master’s use, and no longer contaminated by the touch of unholy things.

  3. 15. For God said to Moses, “I will show mercy to anyone I choose, and I will show compassion to anyone I choose.”

    16. So it is God who decides to show mercy. We can neither choose it nor work for it.

    Grace is unmerited (un-earned or un-deserved) favor. There is no way we could do enough good to earn it. I don’t know why He chose to show me mercy and grace, but I am so thankful He did, and I plan to spend eternity with Him, telling Him how thankful I am.

  4. As he saith also in Osee, I will call them my people, which were not my people; and her beloved, which was not beloved. (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭25‬ KJV)

    Sin once reigned in my life and caused me to be alienated from God’s Kingdom. By the sacrifice of Christ and his atoning blood I am now not only a citizen but a son.

    Therefore remember that formerly you, the Gentiles in the flesh – who are called “uncircumcision” by the so-called “circumcision” that is performed on the body by human hands – -Ephesians 2:11
    that you were at that time without the Messiah, alienated from the citizenship of Israel and strangers to the covenants of promise, having no hope and without God in the world. -Ephesians 2:12
    But now in Christ Jesus you who used to be far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ. -Ephesians 2:13

  5. (for the children not yet being born, nor having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works but of Him who calls), (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭11‬ NKJV)

    Doesn’t matter where you are at or how low in sin you are. Or how righteous you think you are. If you are called God will pick you up from were ever you are at. And put you in your place you are called to be at. Everything he does has purpose. We live our lives on purpose with God(When we pursue his will). With out God we are off purpose which could lead us to destruction. So i decide to live my life with MORE of his purpose and less of my selfish ambitions. So that i can fulfill his calling on my life.

    MORE Purpose. MORE of his Will.

  6. Merciful GOD.

    For God said to Moses, “I will show mercy to anyone I choose, and I will show compassion to anyone I choose.” So it is God who decides to show mercy. We can neither choose it nor work for it.

    So you see, God chooses to show mercy to some, and he chooses to harden the hearts of others so they refuse to listen.

    In the same way, even though God has the right to show his anger and his power, he is very patient with those on whom his anger falls, who are destined for destruction. (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭15-16, 18, 22‬ NLT)

    WHERE WOULD I be today without your loving kindness, and your mercy upon my life?!
    Blinded by sin, you’ve had compassion on me.
    It’s your grace that I need, a sinner like me.
    Thank you JESUS again for showing me love, and for the blood that gas been shed on Calvary!
    Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. (‭John‬ ‭15‬:‭13‬ KJV)

    I’m reminded of an old song from back in the day. One of Gabriela’s favorite song she would sing with so much passion as a four year old little girl.

    ” Mercy said No.” -Cece Winans

  7. Is God on your way or In your way???

    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;
    33 As it is written, Behold, I lay in Sion a stumblingstone and rock of offence: and whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.

    The Stumblingstone of Zion is Christ. He will always be right there, BIG, OBVIOUS, STEADY, STRONG, AND RIGHTEOUS!!! For those that are so caught up in law and religion, that dare question God’s way of doing things, they will always find Him in their way. They are too busy, too caught up to need Him. They believe they can take full control of their lives by self-righteousness, to realize that GRACE is undeserving, you don’t get it by works. For those who are undeserving, we find HIM on our way. He is our Rock, our salvation, our Redeemer!!! He will never be in the way and if we were to stumble by all recognition of HIS GRACE, that we don’t deserve HE BECOMES OUR RESTORER. I say all this just to say, I FOUND HIM ON MY WAY, HE WILL NEVER BE IN MY WAY. HE IS MY ROCK!!!! THANK YOU JESUS!!!!!!

  8. 29 And as Esaias said before, Except the Lord of Sabaoth had left us a seed, we had been as Sodoma, and been made like unto Gomorrha.

    30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.

    31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    We would all be like Sodom had not it been for God. The Word said the Gentiles were unrighteous and the Jews should be righteous, but today we find the Gentiles righteous and the Jews unrighteous.
    The part that matters is, it is left up to us what we become, we can allow the potter to mold us and make us what we should be. If we can keep our spirit right and allow God to be our king and Lord of our lives, we can be a new creature in Christ.

  9. 30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.

    Praise the Lord that he has allowed us the opportunity to become his children through faith in Jesus Christ and the infilling of the Holy Ghost.

  10. Children of God

    Who are Israelites; to whom pertaineth the adoption, and the glory, and the covenants, and the giving of the law, and the service of God, and the promises; Whose are the fathers, and of whom as concerning the flesh Christ came, who is over all, God blessed for ever. Amen. Not as though the word of God hath taken none effect. For they are not all Israel, which are of Israel: Neither, because they are the seed of Abraham, are they all children: but, In Isaac shall thy seed be called. That is, They which are the children of the flesh, these are not the children of God: but the children of the promise are counted for the seed. (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭4-8‬ KJV)

    This is what we learned about last night in leadership. Not everyone who claims to be are. In that sme manner, not everyone who is in a church is a Child of God. It takes more than just words. It takes action/deeds. We have to be sertian that we put ourselves into practice and show that we really are the children of God.

  11. More mercy.

    For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might shew my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth. Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth. (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭17-18‬ KJV)

    God can choose who he wants to bestow mercy on. We have learned reciently how to get and give more mercy. God resists the proud. We must humble ourselves and seek after him.

  12. It’s from Him

    Romans 9:16 (KJV Strong’s)
    16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

    Romans 9:16 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    16 So then [God’s gift] is not a question of human will and human effort, but of God’s mercy. [It depends not on one’s own willingness nor on his strenuous exertion as in running a race, but on God’s having mercy on him.]

    This scripture is humbling. It lets us know that no matter how hard we work, or how much we do, nor how good our intentions, or will, our salvation cannot be obtained through our own selves. His mercy on us is the only reason we have hope for salvation.

    MERCY. 1 a : compassion or forbearance shown especially to an offender or to one subject to one’s power; also : lenient or compassionate treatment

    Mercy says when we deserved to die, to burn, to suffer for the sins we committed against a holy, righteous God, He looked down from heaven and chose to give us hope, a chance, and an opportunity to make it write.

    It is not of ourselves lest we boast…

    Ephesians 2:8-9 (KJV Strong’s)
    8 For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9 Not of works, lest any man should boast.

    Ephesians 2:8 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    8 For it is by free grace (God’s unmerited favor) that you are saved (delivered from judgment and made partakers of Christ’s salvation) through [your] faith. And this [salvation] is not of yourselves [of your own doing, it came not through your own striving], but it is the gift of God;

  13. What does all this mean? Even though the Gentiles were not trying to follow God’s standards, they were made right with God. And it was by faith that this took place. But the people of Israel, who tried so hard to get right with God by keeping the law, never succeeded. Why not? Because they were trying to get right with God by keeping the law instead of by trusting in him. They stumbled over the great rock in their path. God warned them of this in the Scriptures when he said, “I am placing a stone in Jerusalem that makes people stumble, a rock that makes them fall. But anyone who trusts in him will never be disgraced.” (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭30-33‬ NLT)

    I’ve heard the statement no trust means no relationship. God desires to have a relationship with us. The Bible states that he came to seek that which was lost. That fellowship and relationship in the garden of Eden was lost. And because of Calvary we can have that same fellowship with our Lord and Savior every day. I’m thankful for salvation and the ability to have a relationship with my Father, Lord Jesus Christ.

    Rules – Relationship= Rebellion 

    “If you love me, obey my commandments. (‭John‬ ‭14‬:‭15‬ NLT)

    MORE trust
    MORE relationship
    #MORE2015

  14. Who are we to question God?

    20 Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?
    21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

    I have at times in my life wondered “why”. I have at times in my life wondered why would a loving and just Lord allow such things to take place. Who am I to question God? How could these feelings of disservice and disfavor rise up in me to question Him? I can say today, it was from an unknowing heart. I was not where I was intended to be in my relationship with Him. God was positioning me for a closer relationship with him. As mentioned above, a vessel with an imperfection, does the potter leave the imperfection to weaken the finished product? Or does the potter purge the vessel of the imperfection and continue with the molding and forming process?

  15. 20 But who are you, a human being, to talk back to God? “Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this? (NIV)

    Amen! Who am I? God is in control of EVERYTHIG and will give mercy and compassion on who he wants to give mercy and compassion to(v15)! But not only that when things go wrong only he knows why he’s doing it for? I’ve always been told when in trials don’t ask God why me God? But rather for what God? Maybe he’s just building up our faith, maybe he wants to bless us more, or maybe just be a witness to somebody. God doesn’t give us more than what we can handle (ITS A PROMISE) By questioning God were doubting in Him which equals to unbelief as Pastor preached on Sunday! When doubt moves in Faith moves out!
    “Trust in the Lord with all your heart;
    do not depend on your own understanding.
    Seek his will in all you do,
    and he will show you which path to take.”
    Proverbs 3:5-6
    In you I trust Jesus everything is in your hands for which I am greatful for and even when I don’t understand I will let your will be done and follow your will!

  16. 25 As he saith also in Osee, I will call them my people, which were not my people; and her beloved, which was not beloved.

    Osee is the same as Hosea meaning salvation. The promise here is referencing the salvation to the Gentiles. Thank God for the promise! Standing on His promises today!

  17. 30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.
    31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.
    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    As we remember the covenants we sign, we must keep these forethoughts; that we obey, not because we HAVE TO obey, but rather because we want to be pleasing to Jesus.

  18. God Shows Mercy as He Wills
    Romans 9:14 what shall we say then? Is there unrighteousness with God? God forbid.

    Deut. 32:4 A Just and Right God
    He is the The Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways from judgement: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.

  19. SOVEREIGNTY
    We need not to hesitate to affirm Gods sovereign power. He is the only one who can be trusted to use the power wisely. And he has proved in Christ that he uses it to choose the course of love and grace.

  20. 16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

    17 For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might shew my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth.

    18 Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

    I thank God that he had mercy in me! I thank God he raised you up!! For we know that it was all done with purpose to glorify him. He has showed us mercy in our low places so that he could glorify himself and show himself mighty and powerful! In us, for us, and through us! We can’t choose if or when we ate shown mercy we just have to praise, trust and have faith that our God is a faithful, merciful God!!

    24 Even us, whom he hath called, not of the Jews only, but also of the Gentiles?

    25 As he saith also in Osee, I will call them my people, which were not my people; and her beloved, which was not beloved.

    We are so undeserving of all that he has done for us and all that he has in mind for our future. I thank God that he has had mercy on me and decided to love me because it was his choice to extend his love to the gentiles. I thank God that he loved me when nobody else loved me and that he wanted me when nobody else wanted me. But more than that i thank God that he has extended that’s same love to you.. to all of us! Thank you Jesus.

  21. iLove to eat more Word

    This chapter is amazing because Paul begins with the fact that he really loves his people Israel. He loves them so much that he would take their curse of unbelief so that they might be saved. Then he breaks down thier history and proves through old testament history that God gave the Jews the first chance to receive salvation. Then he breaks down, through the old testament, that it was always the will of God to save the Gentiles. Thank-You Jesus for the wisdom and revelation that you gave Paul.

  22. THE MYSTERY OF GODS MERCY

    18 Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.
    19 Thou wilt say then unto me, Why doth he yet find fault? For who hath resisted his will?
    20 Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?
    21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

    As each individual responds to GOD, so GOD responds to each individual. There is no reason or understanding behind the actions of GOD. GOD is FATHER and CREATOR of all people and things. He has made us and not we ourselves.

    Revealed in our lives is the Mercy of GOD.Many of us do not deserve the Mercy, Grace and Forgiveness that has been granted us. We may think that others are not worthy of the Mercy, Grace and Forgiveness that has been granted to them.

    The question is “Who are we to question GOD?”

    It is wise to ask GOD a question of revelation or direction or understanding, however it is foolish to question GOD as if he is on trial for a decision that he made, seeing he is our maker and could at any moment judge us as we are guilty of.

    As we encourage one another let it be of the Merciful heart and knowing that each of us are a picture of the MYSTERY OF GODS MERCY.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGIve
    iReap

  23. 33 Careful! I’ve put a huge stone on the road to Mount Zion, a stone you can’t get around. But the stone is me! If you’re looking for me, you’ll find me on the way, not in the way. (MSG)

    We must remember to trust God in all situations, good or bad. Obeying His commandments are great but without trust there is no true relationship with Him and in trying to find Him we become blindsided. God is in plain sight for us to run to; I’m obeying, trusting, and chasing after You God because I need you more and more!

  24. 16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

    17 For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might shew my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth.

    18 Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

    Thank you God for your everlasting mercy!

  25. MORE FAITH:
    31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    This chapter tells us that the Jews were trying to follow God by keeping the Law. We read in scriptures that they did follow the letter of the Law but could never see that their hearts were not right. Their hearts were far from God & Jesus said they were hypocrites, -clean on the outside but dead inside. One commentator says the Gentiles attained the righteousness of faith, which the Jews rejected. Give us Lord, more faith for 2015! More faith for miracles, revival and we declare 2015 to be the year for our families to be saved and sons & daughters to come home! In Jesus Name.

  26. 31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    We can’t be acceptable to God without Faith. We are not born with faith, Israel wasn’t acceptable to God because they were trying to obey the law instead of having faith in him.

    God accepts us when a sincere heart loves and has faith in him.

    Lord I need more of you more and more.

  27. 1 I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost, 2 That I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart.
    3 For I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh:

    A true burden for those that have not heard, or will not hear the gospel when expounded unto them. How do we look at our world? Our heart should be continually heavy for those that don’t know Jesus, and we should make it our responsibility to introduce them to GOD. We must speak the truth in love, what they do with it after they hear it up to them, but it’s our responsibility to speak it.

  28. Romans 9:15 For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.

    16) So then it is not of him that willith, nor of him that runneth, but of God that showeth mercy.

    17) For the scripture saith unto Pharaoh, Even for this same purpose have I raised thee up, that I might show my power in thee, and that my name might be declared throughout all the earth.

    God shows mercy to those He choses to show mercy and we are not meant to understand it but to accept it. Even when our personal Pharaoh’s where risen up in our life to enslave us, oppress us and rule over us, when our problems, addictions, sicknesses and sinful nature ruled us, it was so that we could see God’s power and His mercy in our lives. To remember how great and powerful HE is and to declare his mercy to every one we encounter. Thank You Lord for Your mercy!!!
    MORE MERCY!

  29. 15, “For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.”

    Titus 3:4-6 says, “But after that the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appeared. Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost. Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ or Saviour.”

    Thank You Jesus for your Mercy!
    Thank You Jesus for your Compassion, Kindness, and Love!!
    Thank You Jesus for the Holy Ghost!!!

  30. 16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

    Sometimes we caught in the mindset that things happen because of my strengh, because I worked hard for it, or because of me me me, just completely selfish and bypass the mercy of the Almighty.
    We should never forget that is all about Jesus, it has stopped being about Jesus, it will never stop being about Jesus, His mercy is sufficient, His power is ever present in our lives wether we acknowledge it or not. Jesus is Enough!
    More MERCY!

  31. Romans 9:30 what then shall we say? That the gentiles who don’t pursue righteousness have obtained it a righteousness that is by faith but the people of Israel who pursue the law as the way of righteousness have not attained their goial.why not? Because they persued not by faith but as if it were by works. They stumble over the stumbling stone.

  32. “Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone”. God himself robed in flesh was before them, yet they could not see him. One that puts Jesus first will see, whereas one that puts self first will always stumble. As such the wise answer is more of Jesus. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  33. Predestination? Part 2

    Romans 9:14-24

    15 For He says to Moses, “ I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.”
    (Romans 9:15 NASBStr)

    Paul shows God’s sovereignty in v 15. God will have mercy on only those who repent and conform to his will. He will save those who conform and damn those who don’t. It is His way or no way.

    V17 God is showed to have raised up Pharaoh for destruction. It is interesting to see that before God ever hardened Pharaoh’s heart, Pharaoh harden his first. For this very reason it is important for us to continually submit to the Spirit of Christ. In our rebellion to Him, he may decide to harden our hearts for us in future instances. It is time for this world to stop abusing His lovingkindness with their persistent disdain for His ways.

    The truth, as it is in Jesus, abases man as nothing, as less than nothing, and advances God as sovereign Lord of all
    (Romans 9:14 MHC)

    We should allow God the sovereign right to rule the universe He created. Those who label God as evil are blinded by pride and in danger of everlasting judgement. They call God a liar by projecting their own wickedness onto Him.

    12 So then, my beloved, just as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling; 13 for it is God who is at work in you, both to will and to work for His good pleasure.
    (Philippians 2:12-13 NASBStr)

    Paul reminds us that our salvation is a joint effort that begins with Christ in that He gives us the will and ability to obtain salvation. If God is at work for our sanctification in order to bring us to heaven, will he continue to do so if we decide to disobey?

    Predestination says that no matter what I do my destiny remains unchanged. We have no free will. The Bible makes it clear that we were slaves to sin; (Roman 5:6) however, Christ has died to free us from that. I personally believe, and I may write on this in the future, that free will died after the rebellion of Adam and Eve. Afterwords, we were all predestined for judgement. Christ, in all of His love, decided to give His life for us and predestine us for heaven. His grace calls us by giving us the ability and desire to live for Him. When we are filled with His Spirit, we are restored to our intended state and we have free will again. Now, we can exercise our right to continue to live for Christ in the Spirit or abandon the hope of salvation to live for the body and sin. It is now our choice.

    16 Do you not know that when you present yourselves to someone as slaves for obedience, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin resulting in death, or of obedience resulting in righteousness?
    (Romans 6:16 NASBStr)

    Slave – δοῦλος doúlos; gen. doúlou, masc. noun. A slave, one who is in a permanent relation of servitude to another, his will being altogether consumed in the will of the other.
    ( CWSDict)

    A life of sin is predestined to hell. A life for Christ is predestined for righteousness. God does not foreordain us to eternal torment.

    9 The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.
    (2 Peter 3:9 NASBStr)

  34. 15 For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.

    16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.

    Dont worry about What God says.

    I thank you God(Jesus)…FOR TELLING ME NOT TO WORRY ABOUT WHAT YOU DO. You will have mercy to whomever You choose. Thank you Jesus. I pray that I will have Your mercy on my life and they tell someone else how merciful You are to me.
    Your an ontime God(JESUS)!

  35. 20 Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?

    21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

    We are made in the image, we may feel like when we look in the mirror that we are not the best, that other people are better are better than this. But noone can be better at being you than you, God made each of us for a purpose and he didn’t make a mistake in doing so. God made us perfectly in just the way he imagined us.

    Genesis 1:26 And God said, Let us make man in our own image after our likeness and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air and over the cattle and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.

  36. Romans 9:20 But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” 21 Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? (ESV)
    thank you Lord for having a perfect design for us! I am thankful that we can trust in You to guide us through our life, since you already know the path.

  37. 18 Therefore hath he mercy on whom he will have mercy, and whom he will he hardeneth.

    Thank you for mercy,thank you for grace, thank you for your hand leading my way.
    I can’t make it without you, not for one day, thank you for mercy, thank you for grace.

  38. 14 What shall we say then? Is there unrighteousness with God? God forbid.

    Our God is righteous, our God is holy. There is truly nothing or no one that can compare to God. The enemy will have you to believe that his power is equal to God. He was a liar back then and he is still a liar today. Our God is AWESOME!!!!!

  39. NLT 2 My heart is filled with bitter sorrow and unending grief 3 for my people, my Jewish brothers and sisters.a I would be willing to be forever cursed—cut off from Christ!—if that would save them.

    What a deep burden is shown here, the love for lost souls. Paul seems to be willing to sacrifice himself, to save many other souls. Just like a parent who is willing to sacrifice their life to save their child. And just like Jesus who did sacrifice himself to be our savior. We all should have the same burden to reach the lost.

  40. 16 So then it is not of him that willeth, nor of him that runneth, but of God that sheweth mercy.
    This scripture shows us that God’s mercy is undeserved and we are blessed to serve a God who loves us so much. In gratitude we should live lives that honor God and strive for perfection.

  41. In reading this chapter, I am thankful for His everlasting love and mercy. Thank you Lord for loving me. We must allow our Creator to mold, form and change us. We have to chase after his will and his way and not let anything stop us from getting closer to Him. We need MORE of Him every day.

  42. I thought I wrote this morning, I read and I try twice to wrote it. lol
    20. But indeed. O man, who are you to reply against God? Will the thing formed say to him who formed it, “why have you made me like this?

  43. 21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?
    22 What if God, willing to shew his wrath, and to make his power known, endured with much longsuffering the vessels of wrath fitted to destruction:

    We serve a just God. Just as the balance , God does not show favortisium. Sin is sin. None greater than the other. We all have sinned and come short or the glory of God. Yet he will forgive if we ask. So he is.

  44. Adopted and engrafted

    4 Who are Israelites; to whom pertaineth the adoption, and the glory, and the covenants, and the giving of the law, and the service of God, and the promises;

    When we are adapted by Jesus Christ he not only gives us his name to be called by as in carnal adoption but he gives is his spirit which cannot be given by man. We are not only the adopted sons of God but we become the sons of God in engraftment.

  45. But the people of Israel, who tried so hard to get right with God by keeping the law, never succeeded. Why not? Because they were trying to get right with God by keeping the law instead of by trusting in him. They stumbled over the great rock in their path. God warned them of this in the Scriptures when he said, “I am placing a stone in Jerusalem that makes people stumble, a rock that makes them fall. But anyone who trusts in him will never be disgraced.” (‭Romans‬ ‭9‬:‭31-33‬ NLT)

    There is no such thing as a perfect Christian. We will stumble and fall repeatedly but by Gods mercy and grace He looks towards our hearts rather than looking for a perfect person. There will be good times and bad but if we keep our hearts right with God and trust in Him everything else will fall into place.

  46. Who are we to deny God? He made us and gave us everything we need. Who would be ashamed of a man who died for our sins. I thank God for all that He has done in my life and what He is going to do for POFW in the year of our favor.

    MORE Faith!

  47. Rock Of Offense

    30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.

    31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    33 As it is written, Behold, I lay in Sion a stumblingstone and rock of offence: and whosoever believeth on him shall not be ashamed.

    How do we overcome the rock of offense? The answer is faith: to believe God. If we believe Him, His truth will bring to us freedom from shame and we will stand by faith in His righteousness. The flesh naturally defaults to shame but God love floods in in the absence of shame:

    Joel 2:25-28
    25 And I will restore to you the years that the locust hath eaten, the cankerworm, and the caterpiller, and the palmerworm, my great army which I sent among you.

    26 And ye shall eat in plenty, and be satisfied, and praise the name of the Lord your God, that hath dealt wondrously with you: and my people shall never be ashamed.

    27 And ye shall know that I am in the midst of Israel, and that I am the Lord your God, and none else: and my people shall never be ashamed.

    28 And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions:

    Acts 2:14-16
    14 But Peter, standing up with the eleven, lifted up his voice, and said unto them, Ye men of Judaea, and all ye that dwell at Jerusalem, be this known unto you, and hearken to my words:

    15 For these are not drunken, as ye suppose, seeing it is but the third hour of the day.

    16 But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel;

    Romans 5:5
    And hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.

  48. 30 What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.

    31 But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

    32 Wherefore? Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    why did the Gentiles have faith but not the Isrealites? the Gentiles have righteousness because of their faith, but the Isrealites not? one followed faith, the other law…

  49. Romans 9:30-32 What does all this mean? Even though the Gentiles were not trying to follow God’s standards, they were made right with God. And it was by faith that this took place. But the people of Israel, who tried so hard to get right with God by keeping the law, never succeeded. Why not? Because they were trying to get right with God by keeping the law instead of by trusting in him. They stumbled over the great rock in their path.

    Relationship that’s what The Lord is and has been seeking from his people. When you trust someone you automatically obey because you know that they mean good to you. The Israelites saw it more like a job and a boss that told then to do things.

  50. 25) And he saith also in Osee,I will call them my people, which were not many people;and her beloved, which was not beloved.

    26) And it shall come to pass, that in the place where it was said unto them, Ye are not my people; there shall they be called the children of the living God.

    Thank you Jesus

  51. Romans 9:21
    Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purpose and some for common use?

    I used to think that the way I was living my christian walk with God the right way, boy was I wrong!
    Because God’s purpose for my life it was different than my thoughts, my ideas of “Christian” ways.
    As God (Potter) have use this lump of clay (me) to make a vessel for his honor and glory.

    Jeremiah 18:3-5
    Then I went to the potter’s house, and, behold, he wrought a work on the wheels.
    4) and the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter: so he made it again another vessel, as seemed good to the potter to make it.
    5) then the word of the Lord came to me , saying
    6) O house of Israel (Edith) , cannot I do with you as this potter? Said the Lord. Behold, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are ye in mine hand, Oh house of Israel.

    Thank you Jesus for I know you will do with me as you wish, I’m in your hands Jesus.

  52. 11 (For the children being not yet born, neither having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of him that calleth;) 12 It was said unto her, The elder shall serve the younger.

    It’s comforting to know God already had a plan for us, while we were yet still in the womb. To know He already planned on using us before we ever did anything good or bad! That we didn’t have to qualify or met a certain standard! That He loved us enough to plan to use us while still in the womb!

Leave a Reply

