Galatians Chapter 2

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 14

Galatians 2

1 Then fourteen years after I went up again to Jerusalem with Barnabas, and took Titus with me also.

2 And I went up by revelation, and communicated unto them that gospel which I preach among the Gentiles, but privately to them which were of reputation, lest by any means I should run, or had run, in vain.

3 But neither Titus, who was with me, being a Greek, was compelled to be circumcised:

4 And that because of false brethren unawares brought in, who came in privily to spy out our liberty which we have in Christ Jesus, that they might bring us into bondage:

5 To whom we gave place by subjection, no, not for an hour; that the truth of the gospel might continue with you.

6 But of these who seemed to be somewhat, (whatsoever they were, it maketh no matter to me: God accepteth no man’s person:) for they who seemed to be somewhat in conference added nothing to me:

7 But contrariwise, when they saw that the gospel of the uncircumcision was committed unto me, as the gospel of the circumcision was unto Peter;

8 (For he that wrought effectually in Peter to the apostleship of the circumcision, the same was mighty in me toward the Gentiles:)

9 And when James, Cephas, and John, who seemed to be pillars, perceived the grace that was given unto me, they gave to me and Barnabas the right hands of fellowship; that we should go unto the heathen, and they unto the circumcision.

10 Only they would that we should remember the poor; the same which I also was forward to do.

11 But when Peter was come to Antioch, I withstood him to the face, because he was to be blamed.

12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.

13 And the other Jews dissembled likewise with him; insomuch that Barnabas also was carried away with their dissimulation.

14 But when I saw that they walked not uprightly according to the truth of the gospel, I said unto Peter before them all, If thou, being a Jew, livest after the manner of Gentiles, and not as do the Jews, why compellest thou the Gentiles to live as do the Jews?

15 We who are Jews by nature, and not sinners of the Gentiles,

16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified.

17 But if, while we seek to be justified by Christ, we ourselves also are found sinners, is therefore Christ the minister of sin? God forbid.

18 For if I build again the things which I destroyed, I make myself a transgressor.

19 For I through the law am dead to the law, that I might live unto God.

20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

21 I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.

35 thoughts on “Galatians Chapter 2

  1. Justified !!!! 16. Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Je’-sus Christ, even we have believed in Je’-sus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified. Ps. 143 : 2 17. But if, while we seek to be justified by Christ, we ourselves also are found sinners, is therefore Christ the minister of sin? God forbid. 18. For if I build again the things which I destroyed, I make myself a transgressor. 19. For I through the law am dead to the law, that I might live unto God. 20. I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. Rom. 6 : 6 21. I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain. I AM VICTORIOUS THROUGH CHRIST JESUS !!!! VICTORY, VICTORY, in JESUS !!!!

  2. 16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified.

    17 But if, while we seek to be justified by Christ, we ourselves also are found sinners, is therefore Christ the minister of sin? God forbid.

    18 For if I build again the things which I destroyed, I make myself a transgressor.

    19 For I through the law am dead to the law, that I might live unto God.

    20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

    21 I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.

    Our faith is what will set us free, that faith is not in us but in Jesus Christ. We must live life not with laws that says do this or do not do that, but love for Jesus Christ. If we do not live for God because we love him, we live our life in vain.

  3. 20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

    1 John 4: 4 Ye are of God, little children, and have overcome them: because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.

  4. True relationship!

    But suppose we seek to be made right with God through faith in Christ and then we are found guilty because we have abandoned the law. Would that mean Christ has led us into sin? Absolutely not! Rather, I am a sinner if I rebuild the old system of law I already tore down. For when I tried to keep the law, it condemned me. So I died to the law—I stopped trying to meet all its requirements—so that I might live for God. My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless. For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die. (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭17-21‬ NLT)

    It is no wonder that many fall away from the truth, there’s no root, no growth, surface relationship with The Lord only! Smh!!! Living by the “laws” of the “church”(man made rules). And not digging deeper in the word of The Lord and allowing understanding,revelation, and convictions to take place within. Those who have fallen away are so quick to play the blame game, they don’t blame themselves, but the first person they blame is… You’re right, the man of GOD then others. Saying “living for God requires to much” just like Christ was crucified, we must be as well!
    In Jesus Name!!

  5. (NLT) Galatians 2:4-5
    “Even that question came up only because of some so – called believers there – false ones, really – who were secretly brought in. They sneaked in to spy on us and take away the freedom we have in Christ Jesus. They wanted to enslave us and force us to follow their Jewish regulations. But we refused to give in to them for a single moment. We wanted to preserve the truth of the gospel message for you.”

    So Thankful for the men and women of God who have stood through the “test of time” to PRESERVE the TRUTH of the Gospel Message for those who would follow after them. They did not allow “false ones” to come in and dissway them from the TRUTH, but they stood up for the TRUTH and have PRESERVED it.
    With so many “false ones” teaching today, we too must PRESERVE the TRUTH of the Gospel Message for those who will came after us.

    MORE Preserving the Truth of the Gospel Message!!

  6. 20 My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. (NLT)

    Thank You Jesus for the blood You shed that I might live again through You and for You!

  7. 16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified.

    Romans 12:3 For I say though the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think but to think soberly according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.

  8. 11 But when Peter was come to Antioch, I withstood him to the face, because he was to be blamed.

    12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.

    13 And the other Jews dissembled likewise with him; insomuch that Barnabas also was carried away with their dissimulation.

    Dissimulation: deceit, to conceal the truth. There was so much controversy over the law of the Jews being imposed upon the Gentiles, that they swayed Barnabas to their side. A house divided against itself falls and it’s the opposite of unity. The enemy would attack and bring factions into the body of Christ, splintering and dividing. Division destroys where unity bonds us together – Unity is living harmoniously. More unity!

  9. MORE ACCOUNTABILITY

    11 But when Peter was come to Antioch, I withstood him to the face, because he was to be blamed.
    12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.

    Accountability is a challenging word in our world today. We find a generation of people that seek to do life and even ministry their own way. We must through an attitude and spirit of humility receive instruction and correction from faithful men of GOD.

    Such as the illustration here with Peter and Paul. Peter was established as the Apostle to the Jews (circumcised) and Paul was established as Apostle to the Gentiles (uncircumcised). Peter shunned the Gentiles as result of FEAR of what the Jews would say about him ministering to the (uncircumcised) Gentiles. Paul noticed this deviation from the nature and spirit of GOD and made him ACCOUNTABLE for his actions.

    1. Peter was the Bishop of Paul, however he was yet ACCOUNTABLE.
    2. Peter could have pulled the seniority card. (Thats correct there is not one in the Kingdom of GOD.)
    3. Even wise Ministry Elders make poor decisions at times. (This reveals the importance of ACCOUNTABILITY).
    4. Peter feared the opinion of man MORE than the opinion of GOD. (Danger)
    5. Paul was bold in the WORD and SPIRIT of GOD.
    6. Paul spoke out about what he was passionate about. (The Gentiles)

    I seek MORE ACCOUNTABILITY in my life as I desire to not have my labor for and in JESUS end up in vain.

    I encourage us today to give permission to a man of GOD to speak correction and instruction into our lives.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iSubmit
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  10. But we refused to give in to them for a single moment. We wanted to preserve the truth of the gospel message for you.

    My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless. For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die. (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭5, 20-21‬ NLT)

    We must be strong in what we believe and hold our lives on the truth and don’t let anyone get in the way of it! God has done so much for us and most of the time we think of it as some story when it’s NOT. God died for us so that means God knew we were special and had the ability to spread His word. God doesn’t just make any person He makes an army, He makes preachers, teachers, singers, worshippers, soul winners and so much more. So find out what God made you for and don’t let Him down, because you were made for a reason. So stand tall on the gospel and give God the glory He deserves!

    MORE praise & worship
    MORE understanding & evaluating
    MORE word
    MORE God

  11. Galatians 2:15 we who are Jews by birth and not sinful Gentiles know that a person is not justified by works of the law but by faith in Jesus Christ. So we too have put our faith in Christ Jesus that we mat be justified by faith in Christ and not by the works of the law because by the works of the law no one will be justified. But if we seeking to be justified in Christ we Jews find ourselves also among the sinners doesn’t that mean that Christ promotes sin? Absolutely not! If I rebuild what I destroyed then I really would be a lawbreaker. For though the lkaw I died to the law sotati might live for God. I have been crucified with Christ and into longer live but Christ lives in me. Telife I now live in the body. I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave himself for me.

  12. Christ in me

    Galatians 2:20-21 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    20 I have been crucified with Christ [in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ (the Messiah) lives in me; and the life I now live in the body I live by faith in (by adherence to and reliance on and complete trust in) the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself up for me.
    21 [Therefore, I do not treat God’s gracious gift as something of minor importance and defeat its very purpose]; I do not set aside and invalidate and frustrate and nullify the grace (unmerited favor) of God. For if justification (righteousness, acquittal from guilt) comes through [observing the ritual of] the Law, then Christ (the Messiah) died groundlessly and to no purpose and in vain. [His death was then wholly superfluous.]
    Galatians 3

    It is no longer I who live but Christ lives in me. This is grace. God’s empowerment he gives us to do his will and live for him. However grace is frustrated when we try and live this life making our own choices without him.

    We frustrate his grace when we take control of our lives and remove him from the throne. We must die daily to the flesh and live crucified with Christ. True living comes the more we surrender to his control and authority over our lives.

    Colossians 1:27 (KJV Strong’s)
    27 To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory:

    It is only the hope of glory if we access and utilize what God has given us for his purpose.

  13. 18. For if I build again the things which I destroyed, I make myself a transgressor.

    We cannot go back to the things we have been delivered from; our old selves, old habits, and anything else we left behind.

    2 Corinthians 5:17 KJV
    Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

  14. More Life

    20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

    I am reminded of the song, “My life is not my own, To You I belong, I give myself, Give myself to You…” Our life and liberty in Christ is not unto sin but unto righteousness. We cannot live as our own because we are blood-bought as children of God; in our life, we are to reveal Him.

    John 10:10
    The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

  15. 20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

    Greater is the one living inside of me than he who is living in the world!

  16. Whose life do you want?

    Galatians 2:20
    I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself up for me.

    When we die, nothing remains, but Christ lives through us. Do we want Christ to be the ruler of our lives, or are we content with being our own master? Paul’s mentality was one of submission to the King of kings. When we are no longer content to living a pseudo Christian life, we can fully sell out to the gospel and die to self. Then, Jesus becomes Lord over all. How can a man dead to self make a decision by himself. When Christ reigns, every decision is submitted to the Holy Spirit, even a decision as trivial as buying a Dr Pepper.

  17. 21 I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness come by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.

    Let’s not make his death and resurrection in vain.

  18. 12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.

    13 And the other Jews dissembled likewise with him; insomuch that Barnabas also was carried away with their dissimulation.

    It is important to eat, breath, and live the truth. When we know the truth we know who God is and what he expects from us. He expects from us to live a holy life according to his word and to live it everywhere we are and go. Whether we are at work, home, school or even pumping gas we should be like Christ so the world can see Christ in us and that there is something different about us. The moment we stir away from that and try to be someone we are not meaning, we live two lives or we are one person at church and another out in the world because we want to be accepted by people everywhere we go and we are seeking the approval of man and not of God, that can also lead someone else astray because of our testimony. It is important to be a Godly example because we will be accountable to God in the end.

  19. MSG – 2 1-5 Fourteen years after that first visit, Barnabas and I went up to Jerusalem and took Titus with us. I went to clarify with them what had been revealed to me. At that time I placed before them exactly what I was preaching to the non-Jews. I did this in private with the leaders, those held in esteem by the church, so that our concern would not become a controversial public issue, marred by ethnic tensions, exposing my years of work to denigration and endangering my present ministry. Significantly, Titus, non-Jewish though he was, was not required to be circumcised. While we were in conference we were infiltrated by spies pretending to be Christians, who slipped in to find out just how free true Christians are. Their ulterior motive was to reduce us to their brand of servitude. We didn’t give them the time of day. We were determined to preserve the truth of the Message for you.

    Here in our chapter Paul took the leaders and shared with them what had been revealed. Even then some slipped in among them, and they were not given the time of day.

    It is important that we know those who labor among us. Leadership has privileges, but Leadership also surrenders privileges. Something that new believers do (because they don’t know any better) is not something that a seasoned Leader should be doing.

    We must evaluate continually to be sure that we are of the faith!

  20. iLove to eat MORE Word

    Galatians 2:11 “But when Peter was come to Antioch, I withstood him to the face, because he was to be blamed.”

    I thank the Lord that the Word of God is filled with practical information that we all can relate to. Once again, we see the carnal side of the Apostle of Peter. We see that the Apostles were not perfect and yet they were accountable to each other.

    The whole reason Paul went was to get confirmation from Peter that his doctrine was sound. While there, Paul helped Peter to overcome some inner struggles as well. This is Accountability 101.

  21. I do not treat the grace of God as meaningless. For if keeping the law could make us right with God, then there was no need for Christ to die. (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭21‬ NLT)

    Gods grace is not given to us as a restart button. turn away from your wicked ways and focus on what is important. We need to have a vision for our lives, a goal, that God has placed in front of us to glorify Him and His kingdom. Nothing on this earth is worth going to hell over. Honor His grace by keeping His commandments

  22. 16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified.

    Thank you Jesus for taking me out of where I was! I thank God for being part of this movement at the POFW because He has put my family and me here at the right time and the right place. We might say we wish we couldve known of POFW alot sooner, but maybe we wouldnt be thankful for the place that we are at right now. Many people have told us that the church you go to does not matter but since we have been part of POFW our whole lives have changed. We are not spiritually dead anymore. Ive always believed everything starts from the top. If I am spiritually dead…what am I going to give my children. I wanted MORE because I was so HUNGRY of GOD!!! I knew there had to MORE to Him than just church on Wednesday and Sunday! I am still HUNGRY for God because I just cant get enough of Him!!! before you can say I didnt really have faith….I knew of what could happen but just never believed. The devil had me chained thinking that there was no more, but there is a LIVING GOD that can MOVE mountains and that has made me be MORE than a conquer!!!! thank you Jesus!!! 🙂

  23. 12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.

    13 And the other Jews dissembled likewise with him; insomuch that Barnabas also was carried away with their dissimulation.

    It important to understand that others watch what we do and how we treat others in the faith. When we pull away from others for things other than sin it causes unnecessary divisions.

    Unity is the only way.

  24. 20 I am crucified withChrist: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.
    We are crucified with christ we ashouldn’t desire the things of the world. IA

  25. 14 But when I saw that they walked not uprightly according to the truth of the gospel, I said unto Peter before them all, If thou, being a Jew, livest after the manner of Gentiles, and not as do the Jews, why compellest thou the Gentiles to live as do the Jews?

    Does our walk match our talk..? We know that where ever we might go we should stand out; by the way we talk, and react and live our life. We should be separated living a life that reflects and points others to Jesus. We should not be moved by the world and men to fear what they may think or say but rather bold in the truth of God’s ways. We have a great cloud of witnesses. Sometimes by fear of rejection people don’t want to show the light of who their are in Christ not knowing that itight just be what people are waiting to see. True genuine love, truth, hope, integrity…Christ in us.

  26. “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” Paul was not trying to build up self (boost), he was however giving honor unto the King (Jesus). While it is true that one can do all things through Christ Jesus, it is also true it should never be all about self. Dear God, help me to examine self; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  27. 16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified.

    17 But if, while we seek to be justified by Christ, we ourselves also are found sinners, is therefore Christ the minister of sin? God forbid.

    God knows everything, he wants us to seek him with all of our hearts and soul. To live righteous lives and stay away from sin.

  28. 20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.
    One of my favorite verses. We are not our selves but The Spirit of God animates our flesh to not do the will of the flesh but the perfect will of God. Then he says, the life that I NOW live, something that we can apply even till now and in our future, that every now in our future can be governed and control by the Spirit of God.
    Praise God!

  29. WhenI saw that they were not acting in line with the truth of the gospel, I said to Cephas in front of them all, “You are a Jew, yet you live like a Gentile and not like a Jew. How is it, then, that you force Gentiles to follow Jewish customs (verse 14 ASV)

    We cannot call ourselves Holy when we do not live our lives in themail ways of Holiness. We cannot say our hearts are circumcised when we live our lives as those that have not received His Spirit. This not only destroys us but it also destroys those that are around us.

  30. Verses 15-16 NLT “But even before I was born, God chose me and called me by his marvelous grace. Then it pleased him to reveal his Son to me[e] so that I would proclaim the Good News about Jesus to the Gentiles.” Same verses MSG “Why, when I was still in my mother’s womb he chose and called me out of sheer generosity! Now he has intervened and revealed his Son to me so that I might joyfully tell non-Jews about him.” Even before we were born, God knew our name and our needs. Thank you Jesus for your revelation in my life.

  31. Sorry, the above was a 2nd thought from yesterday’s blog!

    Verse 20 AMP “I have been crucified with Christ [in Him I have shared His crucifixion]; it is no longer I who live, but Christ (the Messiah) lives in me; and the life I now live in the body I live by faith in (by adherence to and reliance on and complete trust in) the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself up for me. Thank you Lord for loving me and and giving the opportunity to really “live”.

  32. My old self has been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. So I live in this earthly body by trusting in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Gal 2:20 (NLT)

    Not my will but His!

  33. 11 But when Peter was come to Antioch, I withstood him to the face, because he was to be blamed.
    12 For before that certain came from James, he did eat with the Gentiles: but when they were come, he withdrew and separated himself, fearing them which were of the circumcision.
    13 And the other Jews dissembled likewise with him; insomuch that Barnabas also was carried away with their dissimulation.
    14 But when I saw that they walked not uprightly according to the truth of the gospel, I said unto Peter before them all, If thou, being a Jew, livest after the manner of Gentiles, and not as do the Jews, why compellest thou the Gentiles to live as do the Jews?

    All people are equal in God’s eyes. We should treat no one differently; all should be treated in the love that Christ gave us.

  34. But when I saw that they walked not uprightly according to the truth of the gospel, I said unto Peter before them all, If thou, being a Jew, livest after the manner of Gentiles, and not as do the Jews, why compellest thou the Gentiles to live as do the Jews? We who are Jews by nature, and not sinners of the Gentiles, Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified. (‭Galatians‬ ‭2‬:‭14-16‬ KJV)

    We have to be a living testament of what Christians should look like. We are read by all every day. If we don’t like like christ how can we win people to him?

Leave a Reply

