Philippians Chapter 1

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 25

Philippians 1

1 Paul and Timotheus, the servants of Jesus Christ, to all the saints in Christ Jesus which are at Philippi, with the bishops and deacons:

2 Grace be unto you, and peace, from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ.

3 I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,

4 Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy,

5 For your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now;

6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

7 Even as it is meet for me to think this of you all, because I have you in my heart; inasmuch as both in my bonds, and in the defence and confirmation of the gospel, ye all are partakers of my grace.

8 For God is my record, how greatly I long after you all in the bowels of Jesus Christ.

9 And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment;

10 That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ.

11 Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God.

12 But I would ye should understand, brethren, that the things which happened unto me have fallen out rather unto the furtherance of the gospel;

13 So that my bonds in Christ are manifest in all the palace, and in all other places;

14 And many of the brethren in the Lord, waxing confident by my bonds, are much more bold to speak the word without fear.

15 Some indeed preach Christ even of envy and strife; and some also of good will:

16 The one preach Christ of contention, not sincerely, supposing to add affliction to my bonds:

17 But the other of love, knowing that I am set for the defence of the gospel.

18 What then? notwithstanding, every way, whether in pretence, or in truth, Christ is preached; and I therein do rejoice, yea, and will rejoice.

19 For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ,

20 According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.

21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

22 But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labour: yet what I shall choose I wot not.

23 For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better:

24 Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you.

25 And having this confidence, I know that I shall abide and continue with you all for your furtherance and joy of faith;

26 That your rejoicing may be more abundant in Jesus Christ for me by my coming to you again.

27 Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ: that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel;

28 And in nothing terrified by your adversaries: which is to them an evident token of perdition, but to you of salvation, and that of God.

29 For unto you it is given in the behalf of Christ, not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for his sake;

30 Having the same conflict which ye saw in me, and now hear to be in me.

40 thoughts on “Philippians Chapter 1

  1. 15 Some indeed preach Christ even of envy and strife; and some also of good will:

    16 The one preach Christ of contention, not sincerely, supposing to add affliction to my bonds:

    17 But the other of love, knowing that I am set for the defence of the gospel.

    The preaching of Jesus Christ is what all this is about, and how do we preach Christ. Notice here what these scriptures speak of some preaching Christ for different reasons. Envy, strife,and etc. but I see here preaching NOT SINCERELY!
    How can you not be sincere about this gospel? This is life or death, heaven or hell, we need to understand and be as sincere as possible about this. Let’s preach with love in defense of the gospel, Jesus has the power and ability to do what needs to be done.

  2. Verses 12-14 MSG ” I want to report to you, friends, that my imprisonment here has had the opposite of its intended effect. Instead of being squelched, the Message has actually prospered. All the soldiers here, and everyone else, too, found out that I’m in jail because of this Messiah. That piqued their curiosity, and now they’ve learned all about him. Not only that, but most of the followers of Jesus here have become far more sure of themselves in the faith than ever, speaking out fearlessly about God, about the Messiah.” This has been my prayer, that something within my little Sovereign Soldiers pique the curiosity of their friends, their families to compel them to come to church and find out for themselves who Jesus is.

    Verses 27-30 MSG “Meanwhile, live in such a way that you are a credit to the Message of Christ. Let nothing in your conduct hang on whether I come or not. Your conduct must be the same whether I show up to see things for myself or hear of it from a distance. Stand united, singular in vision, contending for people’s trust in the Message, the good news, not flinching or dodging in the slightest before the opposition. Your courage and unity will show them what they’re up against: defeat for them, victory for you—and both because of God. There’s far more to this life than trusting in Christ. There’s also suffering for him. And the suffering is as much a gift as the trusting. You’re involved in the same kind of struggle you saw me go through, on which you are now getting an updated report in this letter.” We are all in this together….we are still standing, and we must continue to stand united……regardless of what is going on around us.

  3. iLove to eat MORE Word

    More Overflowing Love
    Philippians 1:9 (NLT) “I pray that your love will overflow ‘more and more’, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding.

    It is the will of God for us to have more and more overflowing love.
    1 Corinthians 13:4 Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud 5or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 6It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. 7Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

    As our love overflows day by day, God will see to it that we will grow in knowledge and understanding.

  4. 27. So here is what I want you to do: conduct yourselves as true and worthy citizens of the Anointed’s gospel, so that whether I make it or don’t make it to see you, I will at least hear that you continue to stand, united in one spirit, single-minded in purpose as you struggle together for the faith in the gospel. Voice

    Genesis 11:6
    And the LORD said, “Behold, they are one people, and they have all one language, and this is only the beginning of what they will do. And nothing that they propose to do will now be impossible for them. ESV

  5. 23 For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better:

    24 Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you.

    Even though in dying it is better for us because we will be with Jesus, the world needs us to show them the way to eternal salvation. Our purpose is to point others to Jesus while we wait for His coming.

  6. 9-11 And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment; That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ. Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God.

    Knowing what to do in situations requires knowledge of the situation and or desired outcome. Young children do not understand the fundamentals of driving a vehicle at highway speeds. They do not grasp the consequences of poor driving decisions while at highway speeds. First it takes knowledge and understanding of speed, braking distance and the type of damage a 2,000 pound vehicle can cause. It takes more knowledge to understand and obey traffic laws. We should then choose judgment to understand that those laws are not posted to hinder our progress; rather to aid in our safe arrival at our intended destination.

    When we chose poorly and break the posted laws we commit offense to the city/county we are driving in. The scripture above asks us to be sincere and without offence. If we chose to speed, not come to a full and complete stop or hurry through yellow lights are being sincere and without offence?

  7. The set up

    28 And in nothing terrified by your adversaries: which is to them an evident token of perdition, but to you of salvation, and that of God.

    When the world has you down and it looks like your in trouble or persecuted, God has your escape already planned. The things that the world sees as demise, the Church should see as an oppritunity. This is why the word says to rejoice in your infirmities, because you, as a believer and child of God, know that all things work together for good to them that love God and called according to his purpose. We are in faith waiting for God to show out and recieve his glory for picking us up once again! We know from our testimonies that he is going to do just that, pick us up and turn us around. This is why the word says we overcome the adversary by the blood of the lamb and the word of our testimony.

    When trouble comes our way, all we have to do is look up knowing that it is just a set up for God to show off!

  8. 27 Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ: that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel;

    Let not your good deeds be evil spoken of. We must stand on the Word of God. We must make it a point that we do right. It wavering in our decisions or our speech. You are known for what you do and say. So speak good. Speak positive. Speak life. Life and death are in the power of the tounge.

    More life
    More right
    More God.

  9. Bound for the Loosing

    Philippians 1:14 (KJV Strong’s)
    14 And many of the brethren in the Lord, waxing confident by my bonds, are much more bold to speak the word without fear.

    Paul in chains and shackles writes of the liberty granted to his brothers and sisters as a result of his bonds. Without his chains others would sit silently, or speak the gospel quietly. His bonds however produce a boldness, and passion in others to spread the gospel and see the lost saved.

    Lazarus died and remained that way for three days. When Jesus showed up he was met with doubt and unbelief. However when the words Lazarus come forth were spoken the dead walked, and Lazarus was made anew.

    John 11:45 (KJV Strong’s)
    45 Then many of the Jews which came to Mary, and had seen the things which Jesus did, believed on him.

    Revival came because one man was bound in grace clothes.

    Paul and Lazarus were bound for the loosing of others. This created Passion and belief in Jesus!

    Are we willing to suffer persecution, and chains if it means the gospel will spread and revival will erupt?

  10. MORE LOVE

    9 And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment;

    I consider this verse a commending challenge. When we are challenged we often that there is a weakness or disappointment. However in this passage the Apostle is recognizing that the Philippians exhibit: Love, Knowledge and Judgement.

    The challenging for them (us) to reject or refuse to be complacent with our status, regardless of what level we are. The challenge is; regardless of how deep, far or much we love others, there is room for MORE and I believe that the demonstration or execution of MORE LOVE will lead us to MORE KNOWLEDGE and MORE JUDGEMENT. These all produce a better, MORE efficient, MORE effective lifestyle as a witness to and for JESUS.

    Lets be encouraged today to pray for one another, to abound (overtake or leap over) MORE (unlimited) that our WISDOM may be not only that of man but also the WISDOM, LOVE, KNOWLEDGE and JUDGEMENT of GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iLove
    iGive
    iWork
    iReap

  11. 27 Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ: that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel;

    Again we are admonished to be careful of our conversation. The power of life and death is in the tongue. What we say determines our destiny. We must all speak the same thing. We must be steadfast, unmovable, unshakeable, having unity of mind and spirit, with one vision and purpose, striving together to finish this race and hear well done thou good and faithful servant.

  12. (NLT) Phil. 1:27
    “Above all, you must live as citizens of heaven, conducting yourselves in a manner worthy of the Good News about Christ. Then, whether I come and see you again or only hear about you, I will know that you are standing together with one spirit and one purpose, fighting together for the faith, which is the Good News.”

    As a body of believers, we must be with one spirit and one purpose, and that is to Stand Together and Fight Together for the Good News which is the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

  13. 9 I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. 10 For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return.
    11 May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation—the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ—for this will bring much glory and praise to God. (NLT)

    More!! All for the glory of God!

  14. Philippians 1:3 I thank my God every time I remember yo. In all my prayers for all of you. I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now being confident of this that he who began a good work in you will carry it on completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

  15. IN HIM ALL IS A GAIN…

    20 According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.
    21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

    In Him ALL is a gain, to live is a gain if you live for Him, to die is a gain if you die in HIM. As long as we stay in HIM, WE WIN.

  16. NLT 22 But if I live, I can do more fruitful work for Christ. So I really don’t know which is better. 23 I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me.

    As long as we live on this earth, we should live for Christ, and do his works. We all know as Christians, God has a place for us in heaven. We all have faith, we will go to heaven. Our carnal side tells us to stay on this earth as long as possible, our spiritual side tells us you are ready to go meet the Lord. Either way, live for God now and be prepared to meet God when your time is up.

  17. Exegetical study

    Phil 1:2 Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

    And the Lord Jesus Christ. The presence of the article “the” shows us that these are two different persons, BUT such an article is not found in the Greek.

    The Greek ends like this: ἀπὸ θεοῦ πατρὸς ἡμῶν καὶ κυρίου Ἰησοῦ Χριστοῦ.
    from God father our and Lord Jesus Christ.

    More appropriately, from God our Father and Lord Jesus Christ. The addition of the “the” in English appears to be from a trinitarian presupposition the translators hold. This isn’t a one time occurrence; it happens often.

    Thank God for a revelation of who He is.

  18. Flesh !!!! 22. But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labour: yet what I shall choose I wot not. 23. For I am in a strait betwixttwo, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better: 24. Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you. I Love you Jesus !!!! I EXTOL YOU !!!! I EXALT YOU !!!! I HONOR YOU TOO !!!!

  19. 8 For God is my record, how greatly I long after you all in the bowels of Jesus Christ.

    9 And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment;

    10 That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ.

    11 Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God

    Lord I long for more of you, more of your love and more of your grace!

  20. 18 But what does it matter? The important thing is that in every way, whether from false motives or true, Christ is preached. And because of this I rejoice.
    Rejoice! Gods word is being spread and known. Why shouldn’t we rejoice? People are getting saved because of this preaching! Rejoice for God still lives! 🙂

  21. 19 For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ,

    When we pray for, or intercede for someone, not only can the Spirit of God supply the need but it also increases faith and expectation. The more you pray, the more faith, the more expectation and more hunger we will obtain and all is give by the Spirit of God. MORE GOD!

  22. 21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

    To live in Christ means when its time to go, there are no worries, no regrets just peace.

    But to live in Christ one must work.

  23. 6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

    He put it in you and He will develop it in you and then out of you. “it” is ministry

  24. Perfected

    6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

    What has been begun in us is bigger than us and is in the hands of God to be perfected. We can labor with Him but it is dependent upon the Lord. As we continue moving forward in the process of constructing the new building, we can rest upon the promise of the Lord to be with us, as well as realize we must not let slip our focus on relationship with Him and doing His will in the process.

    Psalm 127:1
    Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

  25. And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns. (‭Philippians‬ ‭1‬:‭6‬ NLT)

    Not done yet… We are all a work in progress.  God wants us to continue to grow in knowledge of Him. 
    We are challenged to work and constantly go forward.  Why then do we sometimes settle at a set back?  We are not done being made.  Maturity doesn’t mean we reach completion but rather the opportunity to learn even more details we are forever students of a great master.  We will never be complete utill we are with Jesus.  Come Lord come Jesus.

  26. Our Promise Keeper

    Unfinished projects. Unkept promises. Unfulfilled dreams. We all know the disappointment that comes with starting down a road with excitement and never seeming to reach the end. Our intentions are good at the start, but with time we may run out of steam. Our promises involve commitment, a term so loosely used today. Commitment means staying loyal to what you said you were going to do long after the mood/feeling left you. Here comes the good news: when it comes to our spiritual life and God’s plans for us, we will not end in failure. The masterpiece will be completed. The promise will be kept. The dream will come to life. Why? How? What is so different about this project? Paul is confident that the work will come to completion for one reason only. It is God’s work, God’s project, and he will do it! A promise is only as reliable as the one who makes it. This promise in Philippians 1:6 is made by the heavenly promise keeper, Jesus himself. He always keeps His promises! This is why we must strive to keep our promises/covenants/commitments because we are to be like our Creator who is working on us. When we display faithfulness, obedience and endurance we become the moldable clay he can transform for His glory. We don’t have to wallow in the pain of those unfinished, unkept, unfulfilled promises of our past, because Jesus is making us into a brand new masterpieces. Each of us individual in our own way, but completed by the same promise keeper.

  27. 27 Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ: that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel;

    Be in unity. Have the same purpose- being like minded. Preach this gospel for one purpose only-for the saving of the lost and for the saints to endure until the end.

  28. We are under construction……..

    6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

    “Be Blessed”……………….

  29. 4 Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy,

    What I learned about this scripture is that in my gods prayers he prays for all of his children for that they obey his word and his commands and for that he wants his children to serve him and obey his word of truth,and for that he always prays for his children to have joy inside themselves and not let anyone take away there joy away from them!!!! In Jesus Name !!!!!

    Acts 2:39 For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off even as many as the lord our God shall call.

  30. 6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ: God isn’t thru with you. Hold on God has a plan!

  31. 23 I’m torn between two desires: I long to go and be with Christ, which would be far better for me. (NIV)

    Amen! Jesus is always the best choice because He is the one that gives us life. Many live like if their the ones in control of their own lives. Jesus is the only one that gives us everything we have! When you put your trust in Him he blesses you with MORE than enough!!!!
    But if you remain in me and my words remain in you, you may ask for anything you want, and it will be granted! (John 15:7)
    Jesus is the only way to eternal life! I wil worship you always Jesus 🙂

  32. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

    Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you. (‭Philippians‬ ‭1‬:‭21, 24‬ KJV)
    It is beneficial for us to be here on earth to help our fellow man. We can sharpen each other like iron. We can help each other up when someone falls. We can give an encouraging word to a friend.

  33. I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep on growing in knowledge and understanding. For I want you to understand what really matters, so that you may live pure and blameless lives until the day of Christ’s return. May you always be filled with the fruit of your salvation—the righteous character produced in your life by Jesus Christ —for this will bring much glory and praise to God. (‭Philippians‬ ‭1‬:‭9-11‬ NLT)

    We should all have this prayer for every brother and sister we meet. We should want them to grow more in God and receive as much love as they can including many other important things. This prayer should not just be for the church but for the lost and broken. We should pray that God would show His love to them and draw them closer. Just like Pastor preached, prayer is important!

  34. 3 I thank my God upon every remembrance of you,
    4 Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy,
    5 For your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now;
    6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

    WOW!! The evangelist, the prophet, the Man of God, telling you I can’t wait to get to see and hang out with you again. That I pray for you every day, and whenever I think of what God is doing with and through you I can’t help but get all giddy inside with joy just thinking about the bible studies we do together. And I know that He is not finished, that Jesus wants to do so much more though you and will. KBV

    So many times we miss the joy that comes to the man of God in our lives, because we allow our pasts to haunt us. The very thing that should propel us, drags us back.

    All too often sin obscures our vision, and distorts our hearing, so we don’t see, and don’t hear when God is speaking to us, of even when the man of God is wanting to encourage us.

  35. v6 Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

    Victory is ours when we have confidence in the LORD JESUS CHRIST.
    MORE FAITH
    MORE VICTORY

  36. 20 According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.

Leave a Reply

