Philippians Chapter 3

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 27

Philippians 3

1 Finally, my brethren, rejoice in the Lord. To write the same things to you, to me indeed is not grievous, but for you it is safe.

2 Beware of dogs, beware of evil workers, beware of the concision.

3 For we are the circumcision, which worship God in the spirit, and rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh.

4 Though I might also have confidence in the flesh. If any other man thinketh that he hath whereof he might trust in the flesh, I more:

5 Circumcised the eighth day, of the stock of Israel, of the tribe of Benjamin, an Hebrew of the Hebrews; as touching the law, a Pharisee;

6 Concerning zeal, persecuting the church; touching the righteousness which is in the law, blameless.

7 But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.

8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

9 And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:

10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;

11 If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.

12 Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

15 Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.

16 Nevertheless, whereto we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing.

17 Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample.

18 (For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ:

19 Whose end is destruction, whose God is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who mind earthly things.)

20 For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ:

21 Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself.

42 thoughts on “Philippians Chapter 3

  1. press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    We need to put all iniquity a side and continue to push to that finish line where our SAVIOUR will be waiting!!! Oh how sweet it would be to hear those words echo from His Lips “well done my good and faithful servant”. To look upon His Face and Praise Him ALL day long!!! In chorus with the Angels cry HOLY,HOLY,HOLY IS THE LORD GOD ALMIGHTY!!!!!!

  2. The beginning of this chapter in the MSG, is captioned “To Know Him Personally” and the end of the chapter is captioned “Focused on the Goal”. When you know Him, truly know Him, you can stay MORE focused on the goal. This chapter gives us a warning in verses 17-19 MSG “Stick with me, friends. Keep track of those you see running this same course, headed for this same goal. There are many out there taking other paths, choosing other goals, and trying to get you to go along with them. I’ve warned you of them many times; sadly, I’m having to do it again. All they want is easy street. They hate Christ’s Cross. But easy street is a dead-end street. Those who live there make their bellies their gods; belches are their praise; all they can think of is their appetites.” We must be vigilant in our walk, stay focused on Jesus and never stop reaching for MORE.

  3. 12. I’m not there yet, nor have I become perfect; but I am charging on to gain anything and everything the Anointed One, Jesus, has in store for me-and nothing will stand in my way because He has grabbed me and won’t let me go.

    13. Brothers and sisters, as I said, I know I have not arrived; but there’s one thing I am doing: I’m leaving my old life behind, putting everything on the line for this mission. The Voice

    I want everything He has for me, so I need to ‘give it all I’ve got’ and let nothing hinder me from the goal.

  4. 10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;

    11 If by any means I might attain unto the resurrection of the dead.

    12 Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus.

    13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

    14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    Paul considered his great achievement to attain to the resurrection of the dead. That we might attain this is by far the most important part of life. We must do as Paul said reach forth and apprehend the highest calling there is and press toward that mark. Everyday we must be pressing toward that mark, and how we live today will help us reach that mark. Let’s not just walk but press toward that mark of the high calling of Jesus Christ. The Resurrection of the coming of Christ, I want to be in that Resurrection of the second coming, dead or alive!

  5. Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ (‭Philippians‬ ‭3‬:‭8‬ NKJV)

    Everything is worthless if I don’t have Jesus. So you take everything from me take it all! God does on the cross for me. So live to serve him. Cause I have a reward waiting for me in heaven.

    and be found in Him, not having my own righteousness, which is from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which is from God by faith; (‭Philippians‬ ‭3‬:‭9‬ NKJV)

    It’s not a religion it’s my relationship with my savior. Only by faith.

  6. Letting my desires go, for the cause of CHRIST!

    I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

    So let’s keep focused on that goal, those of us who want everything God has for us. If any of you have something else in mind, something less than total commitment, God will clear your blurred vision—you’ll see it yet! Now that we’re on the right track, let’s stay on it. (‭Philippians‬ ‭3‬:‭12-16‬ MSG)
    I’d rather be living this life, as a Christian with Christ, then to continue in my BC life!!!! There is so much to live for, to keep pushing through the obstacles called life, a race that I must endure, and to finish my course. It hasn’t been easy. At times I just wanted to throw the towel in and “give up.” And I can honestly say…”if it wasn’t for The Lord” that sees more in me than I can ever see in myself, I would be DEAD!, not just a physical death, but spiritually.

    Today I am alive in Him, Because the GREAT I AM IS ALIVE IN ME!!!!
    “I’m forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of GOD in CHRIST JESUS!”

  7. Nothing we can do in the flesh will be good enough to get us to heaven. IN Paul’s day he was considered good and righteous, but without Jesus he would have not made it to heaven. The same is true today.

  8. 1 Finally, my brethren, rejoice in the Lord. To write the same things to you, to me indeed is not grievous, but for you it is safe.

    Hearing the same message or theme preached isn’t meant to be a bad thing. Repetition of the word of God builds safeguards in our lives. We need those safety nets to keep us from tumbling into sin. We should never begrudge hearing the word of God even if it’s being repeated. Thank God for the truth. Thank God for MORE of the truth.

  9. Are we sold out?
    7 But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.

    Spanish explorer Hernando Cortez, after landing at Vera Cruz, Mexico he was so intent on conquest that to assure the devotion of his men, Cortez set fire to his fleet of eleven ships! With no means of retreat Cortez’s army had only one direction to move, into the Mexican interior. Cortez understood the price of commitment—and he was willing to pay it for a temporal, earthly treasure. How much more should we be willing to give up, pay and commit to the work of the Lord?

  10. More: Knowing Him

    Philippians 3:8-9 (Amplified Bible – AMP)
    8 Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. For His sake I have lost everything and consider it all to be mere rubbish (refuse, dregs), in order that I may win (gain) Christ (the Anointed One),
    9 And that I may [actually] be found and known as in Him, not having any [self-achieved] righteousness that can be called my own, based on my obedience to the Law’s demands (ritualistic uprightness and supposed right standing with God thus acquired), but possessing that [genuine righteousness] which comes through faith in Christ (the Anointed One), the [truly] right standing with God, which comes from God by [saving] faith.

    The accolades, platitudes, accomplishments, degrees, certifications, and titles of Paul were quite inspiring. He was extraordinarily intelligent, and had the privilege of attending the finest school with the finest teacher of that day. Doctor Paul’s educational exploits were well known, and highly respected. This was the man you wanted to teach camp meeting, and general conference.

    But listen to what Paul calls these earthly accomplishments.

    (The Message) everything I once thought I had going for me is insignificant—dog dung. I’ve dumped it all in the trash so that I could embrace Christ

    Of all these remarkable human achievements of Paul only one was important and worthy to be boasted of. This was a relationship with Jesus!

    Philippians 3:8-9 (New Living Translation – NLT)
    8 Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ 9 and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ.* For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith.

    Too many people are tempted to reverse this. They think that they must put accomplishments next to their name to have kingdom value.

    There is one thing about our heritage that fascinates me. Our elders didn’t have degrees, and great titles, or accomplishments. Many were workers, or farmers. Some of our father’s of the Pentecostal faith were uneducated, and unskilled. Even some were illiterate.

    However they knew how to have revival, they knew how to pray, and they knew how to have a relationship with God.

    Our elders and Paul are right. Nothing trumps knowing Him!

  11. MORE HUNGER

    13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,
    14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    We are BLESSED! To know JESUS and him crucified for our transgressions is the greatest BLESSING we could partake of. Many are distracted in the church today by the self-serving mentality of the possession of “STUFF”.

    The ideology of thinking position, possession or people make us BLESSED. This deceptive LIE is straight from the mouth of satan. It does not impress GOD how much of HIS stuff we have. GOD is not impressed with our position, financially or professionally from the sweeper to the owner. GOD is not impressed by our friends list or who we know.

    If we fail to KNOW JESUS we have failed in all. For this reason the attitude of humility must prevail and be evident in our Quest for MORE. Regardless of what we have we have not apprehended or arrived. The greatest decision we can make is to forget how BLESSED we are in this life and pray for MORE HUNGER to be BLESSED in the LIFE to come, the eternal one.

    iRepent
    iPray
    iPraise
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  12. 7 But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.

    8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,
    Paul as educated and knowledgeable as he was choose to follow Jesus and not allow himself to be caught up in the world. He made a decision to follow Christ and even be persecuted for God. That is a testimony that we all should have to deny ourselves pick up our cross and follow Him

  13. 10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;

    To know God.

    How do we get to know God? Through a relationship with him. Through reading the word. And haveing a prayer life. Through spending time with the greatest God. The greatest friend in the universe.

  14. 1 And that’s about it, friends. Be glad in God! I don’t mind repeating what I have written in earlier letters, and I hope you don’t mind hearing it again. Better safe than sorry – so here goes.

    2 Steer clear of the barking dogs, those religious busybodies, all bark and no bite. All they’re interested in is appearances – knife-happy circumcisers, I call them.

    3 The real believers are the ones the Spirit of God leads to work away at this ministry, filling the air with Christ’s praise as we do it. We couldn’t carry this off by our own efforts, and we know it -MSG

    We wonder how come like in verse 1 Pastor keeps repeating himself for us to right, he is just making sure we are catching hold of the truth and the vision so we are not lost. I rather Pastor step on my toes instead of having God step on my toes. As stated in v. 2 you have to be careful who you are listening to and who you are letting influence you. Don’t go around being a busybody and getting into business that you/I have not business getting into. I have enough to worry about with my own business much less someone else’s. 🙂 i’m not saying don’t pray for that person that you see in need, cause we all have friends/family that need our prayers. Just keep in mind that the devil wears parda and you/I will be tempted and if we fail the test we have to retake it. I want people to see me as a true believer and that when they see me they see God and wanna know more about God. Our actions will tell someone if we are happy or sad. People can tell if you are on the up and up or if you are fake, God help us to not be fake in this time and age. You know at work yesterday I watched several people gather in a circle and pray, if they are not ashamed of praying in public why should we be? These people don’t know the truth but yet they are out talking about God with anyone. God give us the boldness that we can go out and witness to hurting people and not be ashamed. God will give us the words to say when we come across someone in need. You know sometimes just a smile helps out! so put on your smile today and let God use you to witness.

  15. 2 Beware of dogs, beware of evil workers, beware of the concision.

    Boundaries that you put up, do not compromise, and Boundaries that God puts up, Never compromise. Guard your heart. be cautious and beware of those who will pull you down.

  16. 16 Nevertheless, whereto we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing.

    17 Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample.

    18 (For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ:

    19 Whose end is destruction, whose God is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who mind earthly things.)

    Walk by the same rule, mind the same thing — sounds like Paul has been sitting at POFW hearing Pastor speak we all need to be of one mind, one accord, speaking the same thing – VISION, MISSION, PASSION, MORE!!!!

    We understand from this passage that there are many who call themselves “Christians” but they are enemies of the cross, seeking to fulfill their own vision and mission, and not being “submitted” to the Vision/Mission that God has given to the house. This causes discord and disunity, which God hates, placing them in the seat of an enemy of God because they are causing division among the body. Why? because they are minding earthly things; things that make them feel good, taking care of the flesh and the deeds of the flesh, building bigger barns to store their goods and make provisions for themselves. Life becomes all about them and what they want, instead of about God and what He wants.

    We must bring our mind under subjection to the Spirit of God and walk in the Spirit so that we will be in unity with the body and part of the greatest Revival this region has ever seen.

  17. 13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

    14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    I’m not who I was, we are not who we were so we need not dwell on things of the past but instead press forward to all things that are Christ Jesus! What’s behind us will not get us to heaven, only the things ahead

  18. iLove to eat MORE Word

    Philippians 3:8 Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, “counting it all as garbage”, so that I could gain Christ.

    Paul was counting his Jewish pedigree as mere garbage. If anyone could brag about their faithfulness to their religion it was him. Many times in Pentecost we have the opportunity to become smug in our relationship with Christ. We know who we are in the Lord and that causes spiritual pride. What we need to do is take the garbage of pride out to the curbside of the altar of repentance. As we grow in size and as our new building is constructed, there will be a greater need for more humility.

  19. 21 He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like his own, using the same power with which he will bring everything under his control.

    What a mighty God we serve! Who can take a filthy sinful life and trade it into a Child of God!

  20. 8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

    How concerned are we over the things that seem to be lost in our lives? Are we grudgingly seeking the return of “what the devil took” ? Are we vile in our search for the world and its treasure in so much that we would let our peace and happiness be caught away with it? Paul says here that if we don’t obtain Christ in our lives then all this world is junk.
    If Christ is unattainable then we live in a silver and gold lined dunghill.
    I like the way Paul puts it into real perspective for us.
    Life is crap without Jesus!

  21. 2 Beware of dogs, beware of evil workers, beware of the concision.
    3 For we are the circumcision, which worship God in the spirit, and rejoice in Christ Jesus, and have no confidence in the flesh.

    Dog Bite!

    As I began to do some digging as to why Paul would include K-9s to a list of moral choices, I found out something. It wasn’t K-9’s but improper men. According to Strong’s, it is he same dog that returns to its vomit (2 Peter 2:22), as well as eats crumbs from the master’s table (Luke 16:21), as well as by Jesus as to not give the holy things to (Matthew 7:6).

    There are many “dogs” all over, and we must continually watch to make sure that we do not allow them to have enough influence in our lives that we begin to rely on the carnal rather than the spiritual.

  22. 8 Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ 9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith—10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead. (ESV)
    Genesis 15:6 And he [Abram] believed in the LORD; and he counted it to him for righteousness.
    Isaiah 64:6 But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.
    On our own, we are nothing. Everything that we become is because of Christ.

  23. Philippians 3:10 I want to know Christ yes to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings becoming like him in his death and so somehow attaining to the resurrection from dead. Not that I have already obtained all of this or have already arrived at my goal but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead. I press on towards the goal to win the prize for which god has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

  24. (AMP) Phil. 3:10
    (For my determined purpose is) that I may know Him (that I may progressively become MORE deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person MORE strongly and MORE clearly). And that I may come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection (which it exerts over believers), and that I may share His suffering as to be continually transformed ( in Spirit into His likeness even) to His death.

    In order to Know Him, JESUS, we must become MORE deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, and the way to do this is by MORE Prayer and MORE Bible Reading. And when we do this, we can then understand MORE stongly and MORE clearly of who He is.

  25. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. Let all who are spiritually mature agree on these things. If you disagree on some point, I believe God will make it plain to you. But we must hold on to the progress we have already made. (‭Philippians‬ ‭3‬:‭13-16‬ NLT)

    We must press on to recieve more from God. We shouldn’t focus on our past nor other peoples past. We need to focus on moving forward and growing strong in God

  26. 14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    15 Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.

    All of us have a high calling given to us from God, so many don’t reach their calling in lives. For a number of reasons things get in the way of our calling to God, but one big reason can be we limit ourselves and we give up on our dream because at one point it seemed hopeless to accomplish.

    It can be easy to go back to our rational minded thinking, it’s easy for our dreams to seem like an impossiblity, but keep our faith inside us and press towards the goals God has placed before us, God will prove faithful to us in our lives and he deliver to us what he has promised us.

  27. 13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

    14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    Being saved means we have been renewed, reconciled, saved from sin and how we used to please our flesh and our desires. Our past has a way of coming back to haunt us as we work in His kingdom. We must keep our eyes on the prize always wanting more and being hungry for God, because it is God that will make us forget about our past.

  28. Lord Jesus they father my heart follows you, I fear my lord Jesus christ for he is mighty and powerful, for that I Seeketh my gods presence of his mighty glory and grace!!! In jesus name Amen!!!!

    Ephesians 6:24 Grace be with all them that love our Lord Jesus Christ in sincerity. Amen.

    2 Corinthians 11:18 Seeing that many glory after the flesh, I will glory also.

  29. “Finally, my brethren, rejoice in the Lord. To write the same things to you, to me indeed is not grievous, but for you it is safe.” Paul was humble enough to repeat himself, and selfless enough to explain. One should be thankful if one is fortunate enough to hear something more than once. The fact just may be it is what God (Jesus) had purposed for one originally. Dear God, help me to hear you; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  30. 8 What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ

    Amen!!! Everythig in this world is worthless compared to having Jesus Christ! I have let go of many things because I have gained somethig else much better that doesn’t even come close to Jesus! Were not going to take nothing in this world materialistic wise but what matters is all the actions that we do and with what purpose we do them! Guide me Jesus in all the decisions I make! I don’t want to do nothing that is not under your will! Let me see how you see Jesus!

  31. 14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    15 Let us therefore, as many as be perfect, be thus minded: and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded, God shall reveal even this unto you.

    Press towards the mark. It requires action and determination. Pressing towards a mark i see it as something that will require work and strength. The object is to finish the race. It doesn’t necessarily mean it will be easy but we can do it. Crucifying the flesh daily, keeping the word, praying, living righteous, loving others and serving them…. We’re pressing. The goal is to finish and see Jesus hearing the words, well done, good and faithful servant.

  32. Who We Are

    20 For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Jesus Christ:

    That word “conversation” in the Greek refers to citizenship. However, in it’s context, we see Paul draws a connection between whose we are and how we live our lives. To be a citizen of heaven is more than just a title or an identity, it is a lifestyle.

    Romans 8:4
    That the righteousness of the law might be fulfilled in us, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

  33. Stick with me, friends. Keep track of those you see running this same course, headed for this same goal. There are many out there taking other paths, choosing other goals, and trying to get you to go along with them. I’ve warned you of them many times; sadly, I’m having to do it again. All they want is easy street. They hate Christ’s Cross. But easy street is a dead-end street. Those who live there make their bellies their gods; belches are their praise; all they can think of is their appetites.

    But there’s far more to life for us. We’re citizens of high heaven! We’re waiting the arrival of the Savior, the Master, Jesus Christ, who will transform our earthy bodies into glorious bodies like his own. He’ll make us beautiful and whole with the same powerful skill by which he is putting everything as it should be, under and around him. (‭Philippians‬ ‭3‬:‭17-21‬ MSG)

    In this day there are so many “christian” religions. And all have different doctrines what will not lead us to the same place. So many religious beliefs have blended with this world and have made it so easy and without sacrifice. Since the beginning there has always been a requirement of sacrifice. We are not of this world. I pray that any ounce of this world would be burned out of us.

  34. v14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

    Spiritual maturity should be our goal. Faithfully growing even in the midst of trails and troubles .
    This will prepare our mortal bodies to put on immortality . Bless The LORD what a day that will be .
    MORE FAITHFULNESS
    MORE GROWING
    MORE PERFECTION

  35. Throughout history Christians followers have chosen to make sacrifices. This should not surprise us. Jesus himself said that “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.” (Mt 16:24). The apostle Paul certainly learned his lesson. As a Jewish rabbi, a second-generation Pharisee and a leader in the Jewish community, he gave up everything when he followed Jesus. In the book of Acts we have a record of the staggering shift that occured in Paul’s life. Saul, the Jewish zealot, was a percecutor of the Christians and a leader in the effort to crush it (Acts 8:3). After being commissioned by God, we see the same man, now named Paul, being chased out of town, his life in danger for preaching the gospel of Jesus (Acts 9:23-25). When Paul says that he has lost all things and counts them like yesterdays trash (vs8), he meants it. He is willing to give up everything if that is the price for his salvation, the mission of the gospel, the will of God. The less ties that we have to this world the easier it will be to leave it all behind. It can be seen as a sacrifice or seperation, or just preparing for heaven. Our prize with him is eternity.

  36. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. (‭Philippians‬ ‭3‬:‭13-14‬ NLT)

    Let the past be the past. Tomorrow is a new day and I will not let my past taunt me nor define me. In Christ we are made new! Let’s not be complacent with what we were but rejoice in what we are becoming

  37. Carnal things are nothing compared to knowing Christ.

    “But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ.”
    (Phil 3:7 ESV)

    “The last words supply the motive and reason for this dramatic revaluation. Because of all that Christ has become to him Paul is willing to collect all his former privileges, described in verses 5–6, to put them, as it were, in one parcel, and write that off as loss. He is not content simply to dismiss them and become indifferent to them. Rather, as Barth suggests, he rejects them with horror, and treats them as liabilities.” Tyndale Commentary Vol 11, Phil p. 153

    “circumcised on the eighth day, of the people of Israel, of the tribe of Benjamin, a Hebrew of Hebrews; as to the law, a Pharisee; as to zeal, a persecutor of the church; as to righteousness under the law, blameless” (Phil 3:4–6 ESV)

    The things that the world and religious people view as a privilege or blessing, Paul abhors them. It is an interesting choice of words. Paul counts these privileges as loss. The word counted is translated from ἥγημαι, which is in the Perfect Middle Indicative. Their is no English equivalent for the Perfect tense in Greek, and it is often sued to describe an action that was brought to completion and whose effects are felt in the present. Therefore, Paul is saying I have already counted everything (my religious pedigree, my heritage, my status as a Pharisee) as nothing when it comes to the knowing Christ Jesus.

    When one thinks about this, we can see that the things that led Paul to murder Christians are the same things he is abhorring. His past and upbringing, though a privilege, brought him great pain and it disgusted him when he became to know the truth.

    Oh, if only, we as Christians could feel the same way about some of the vices, and even “blessings” that we may have after becoming saints. Let us renounce the notions of this age and embrace Jesus for who he truly is.

  38. 13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

    14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus

    Pressing forward, forgetting the past and reaching our goal of Heaven is the path we walk. On this journey we have mountain tops and valleys and we learn to keep pressing forward because his word encourages us, gives us correction & direction. No matter what the weapon is that comes against us, as long as we keep going forward, we win!

  39. Walk !!!! 17. Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample. 18. (For many walk, of whom I have told you often, and now tell you even weeping, that they are the enemies of the cross of Christ: Gal. 1 : 7 19. Whose end is destruction, whose God is their belly, and whose glory is in their shame, who mind earthly things.) Hos. 4 : 7 20. For our conversation is in heaven; from whence also we look for the Saviour, the Lord Je’-sus Christ: 21. Who shall change our vile body, that it may be fashioned like unto his glorious body, according to the working whereby he is able even to subdue all things unto himself. YOU REIGN JESUS !!!!

Leave a Reply

