1 Timothy Chapter 1

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 13

1 Timothy 1

1 Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ by the commandment of God our Saviour, and Lord Jesus Christ, which is our hope;

2 Unto Timothy, my own son in the faith: Grace, mercy, and peace, from God our Father and Jesus Christ our Lord.

3 As I besought thee to abide still at Ephesus, when I went into Macedonia, that thou mightest charge some that they teach no other doctrine,

4 Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.

5 Now the end of the commandment is charity out of a pure heart, and of a good conscience, and of faith unfeigned:

6 From which some having swerved have turned aside unto vain jangling;

7 Desiring to be teachers of the law; understanding neither what they say, nor whereof they affirm.

8 But we know that the law is good, if a man use it lawfully;

9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,

10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

11 According to the glorious gospel of the blessed God, which was committed to my trust.

12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;

13 Who was before a blasphemer, and a persecutor, and injurious: but I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.

14 And the grace of our Lord was exceeding abundant with faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.

15 This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.

16 Howbeit for this cause I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might shew forth all longsuffering, for a pattern to them which should hereafter believe on him to life everlasting.

17 Now unto the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only wise God, be honour and glory for ever and ever. Amen.

18 This charge I commit unto thee, son Timothy, according to the prophecies which went before on thee, that thou by them mightest war a good warfare;

19 Holding faith, and a good conscience; which some having put away concerning faith have made shipwreck:

20 Of whom is Hymenaeus and Alexander; whom I have delivered unto Satan, that they may learn not to blaspheme.

34 thoughts on “1 Timothy Chapter 1

  1. 13 Who was before a blasphemer, and a persecutor, and injurious: but I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.

    Testimony of Jesus Christ…
    I thankyou Lord for changing me on a daily basis. I low grade that you,Jesus are up graded or lifted up. I know before I met Jesus I had a sour attitude and know I try not to go back to the way I used to be. Bless You my savior. The devil would love for us to stay in the same way we used to be when we didnt know Jesus but I we have to be strong by remembering it but not do it.
    You, JESUS are my life and my ministry.

  2. Verses 15-17 NIV “Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life. Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory for ever and ever. Amen.” Jesus is so merciful and He is calling for all who have been separated, pulled away or gone astray…home. Thank you Lord for loving us so much that you grant us this enormous opportunity of grace.

  3. Who is our pattern?

    16 Howbeit for this cause I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might shew forth all longsuffering, for a pattern to them which should hereafter believe on him to life everlasting.

    What is a pattern? According to Webster a pattern is: “a repeated form or design especially that is used to decorate something : the regular and repeated way in which something happens or is done something that happens in a regular and repeated way”. It would seem according to verse 16 that we could be ineffective witnesses if we don’t know who we are in Christ. I am not trying to dissuade one from trying new things for Christ; musician, singer, hospitality, alter worker, etc…

    I am trying to convey that we should know our relationship with Christ before we can be a pattern for other to follow. The verse states that “in me first Jesus”. There are other scriptures that back this also. Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom… Even as I write this I can see how it might be misunderstood. First, Jesus. Know who He is and what He is to you personally. As we know things we can develop a pattern for other to follow. A freshly baptized Holy Ghost recipient would have no information on how to maintain a relationship with the Lord for 1, 5, 10 years. So, grow slowly. Ecclesiastes 9:11 “…the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong…”

  4. 9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,

    10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

    11 According to the glorious gospel of the blessed God, which was committed to my trust.

    The law was made for all of us, because we are all sinners saved by the grace of God. We need the law of God to help us and guide us in our walk with God.
    Anything that is contrary to sound doctrine covers a lot of territory, we need to read and understand the law of God everyday. We should be thankful for the law God has delivered to us through his glorious Gospel. Men of God has come to minister unto his the perfect will of God where we can be more like him and conform into God’s image.

  5. 8 But we know that the law is good, if a man use it lawfully;

    9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,

    10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

    The law brings order to chaos. It is to establish peace in the most confusing of times. Yet it has no power when the grace of God steps in. Romans chapter 8 talks about being free from the law of sin and death. Not free to take over the government and break the laws of the land for according to Romans 13:2 in disobeying these laws you disobey God. What the word is really telling us is that when the law goes against His law He frees us from that law. It is better to obey God than man. It is also telling us that when we came to Him in our sin we should have been punished and killed according to old testament law but because of Christ’s blood that covers our sins we are under His grace.

  6. MORE COMMITTED TO PROPHESIES

    18 This charge I commit unto thee, son Timothy, according to the prophecies which went before on thee, that thou by them mightest war a good warfare;
    19 Holding faith, and a good conscience; which some having put away concerning faith have made shipwreck:

    What prophesies are worth fighting for in our lives? They are identified by what we are willing to battle and work to defend and keep. We defend and protect them through FAITH by praying, studying and teaching the WORD of GOD, through praise and worship, through giving and through sharing the GOSPEL with the poor.

    Believe in GOD and Keep HIS Commandments, stay on the course or path of the WORD of GOD and through the SPIRIT, GOD will navigate us through troubled times and stormy seas.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  7. 3, “As I besought thee to abide still at Ephesus, when I went into Macedonia, that thou mightest charge some that they teach no other doctrine.”
    4, “Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.”

    Timothy is asked to stay in Ephesus, so that, he might command certain people not to teach other doctrines, nor give heed to myths and endless genealogies. Timothy is to put an end to the teachings of false doctrines.

    This brought the scriptures in Galatians 1: 6-9 to mind. 6) I marvel that ye are so soon removed from him that called you into the grace of Christ unto another gospel. 7) Which is not another; but there be some that trouble you, and would pervert the gospel of Christ. 8) But though we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed. 9) As we said before, so say I now again. If any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed.

    There is only ONE Doctrine, ONE Gospel, ONE Truth!

  8. 15 This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I am the worst of them all.
    16 But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners. Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life.
    17 All honor and glory to God forever and ever! He is the eternal King, the unseen one who never dies; he alone is God. Amen.

    Amen!!

  9. 3 As I besought thee to abide still at Ephesus, when I went into Macedonia, that thou mightest charge some that they teach no other doctrine,

    4 Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.

    10 …and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

    Heed should be taken to the words of Paul that sound doctrine is all that should be preached and all that should be listened to. If it does not line up with the Boble then it is not sound doctrine.

  10. 12 I’m so grateful to Christ Jesus for making me adequate to do this work. He went out on a limb, you know, in trusting me with this ministry. MSG

    Reading this verse took me back to when we started the Fusion Class. My 1st thought was what are we doing we can’t do this. Bryan and I talked about it and then went to Pastor and at first when we discussed it I thought he (bryan) had done went crazy. But as I have studied along with the class and listening to others i see the need for the Married Couples need fellowship one with another. The devil would like nothing more than to tear down and break up the marriages of the church. You never know when you are going to witness to someone about your ministry. Yesterday at work a lady at work was asking questions and i was able to witness to her not only what she was asking (about marriage) but about the church. People are hungry for what we have. Be sensitive and let God use you!

  11. 3 As I besought thee to abide still at Ephesus, when I went into Macedonia, that thou mightest charge some that they teach no other doctrine,

    4 Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.

    There is only one gospel and it is our duty to live it and know it. Everyday His Word edifies, guides, and feeds our spirit and as we have the truth, we must be strong and immovable in it. We must be committed to stand on this Word, and also stand against any false teachings that go against His Word, and be willing to teach His truth to them.

  12. iLove to eat MORE Word

    1 Tim. 1:15 NLT “This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I am the worst of them all. 16But God had mercy on me so that Christ Jesus could use me as a prime example of his great patience with even the worst sinners. Then others will realize that they, too, can believe in him and receive eternal life.”

    Wow. This is my testimony as well. I feel like the reason God saved me is to show the others in the world that there is hope for them too. No matter how bad the circumstances are or how bad the person is, there is always hope. Thank-You Jesus for your grace and mercy.

  13. 1Timothy 1:13 Even though I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent man I was shown mercy because I acted in ignorance and unbelief. The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly along with the faith and love that are in christ Jesus.

  14. 17 Now unto the King eternal, immortal, invisible, the only wise God, be honour and glory for ever and ever. Amen.

    He is my all. My everything. He is my God.

  15. 13 Who was before a blasphemer, and a persecutor, and injurious: but I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.
    14 And the grace of our Lord was exceeding abundant with faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.

    And so were many of us… In that way, we should never look upon anyone below our noses; or have we forgotten where He picked us up from. I can only speak for myself, but He brought me out of the gutter, filthy, not worthy of any love. He cleaned me up, healed me, washed me, and made me shine. His light glowed upon me and His Grace and Love is and always be abundant in my life. He is my friend, my beloved, my SAVIOR, HIS NAME IS JESUS.

  16. Oh, how generous and gracious our Lord was! He filled me with the faith and love that come from Christ Jesus. This is a trustworthy saying, and everyone should accept it: “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners”—and I am the worst of them all. (‭1 Timothy‬ ‭1‬:‭14-15‬ NLT)

    God knows I was nothing he knew that I was dead in sin. That I didn’t want nothing to do with him. But he gave me one MORE chance and saved me raised me. CLEANSED ME Now I have dedicated my life to his works. Cause he is full of mercy and so willingly to save at their worst.

  17. 18 Timothy, my son, I am giving you this command in keeping with the prophecies once made about you, so that by recalling them you may fight the battle well, 19 holding on to faith and a good conscience, which some have rejected and so have suffered shipwreck with regard to the faith. 20 Among them are Hymenaeus and Alexander, whom I have handed over to Satan to be taught not to blaspheme.

    What prophecies have been made over you? Hold to them. Ask the Lord to increase your faith regarding them. They are for an appointed time. If you have not yet had a prophecy specifically spoken to you, you have the entire Bible full of promises to you that we must cling to. All of his promises are Yea and Amen to us who believe!

  18. 12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;

    Paul is giving thanks here for the Lord enabling him and putting him into the ministry because of his faithfulness.

    Proverbs 18:16 A man’s gift maketh room for him, and bringeth him before great men.

    The way to be enabled and put into the ministry by the Lord, is to be found faithful in the small things (serving His Kingdom and your Pastor) and He will make us ruler over larger things (Ministry outside the walls of the Church and our congregation.)

  19. From the pit to the ministry

    12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;

    13 Who was before a blasphemer, and a persecutor, and injurious: but I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.

    Paul thanks Jesus for enabling him to have faith and putting him into the ministry. Paul’s past was something he never forgot. He always thanked God for the grace that was shown to him. He went from killing Christians to winning souls and planting churches. Never under estimate what someone can do for the kingdom of God. You might see a shepherd boy or a thug but God may see a king or a minister.

  20. 12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;

    13 Who was before a blasphemer, and a persecutor, and injurious: but I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.

    14 And the grace of our Lord was exceeding abundant with faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.

    Amen! Thank God for his endless mercy, for I find not deserve it, still do not deserve it and never will I deserve his mercy. Thank you Jesus

  21. Check Yourself Before You Wreck Yourself

    20 Of whom is Hymenaeus and Alexander; whom I have delivered unto Satan, that they may learn not to blaspheme.

    Vs 20 has sobering words of seperation. Though “delivered over to Satan” (the persecutor of those outside the Church, Ac 26:18, and the executor of wrath, when allowed by God, on the disobedient, 1Co 5:5; 2Co 12:7). The sentence operated not only spiritually, but also physically, falling on the person excommunicated, in order to bring him to repentance and salvation. I can’t help but wonder who are these men, and what could they done in blaspheme. Hymenaeus here could be the Hymenæus of 2Ti 2:17, a false doctrine teacher whose “teaching will spread like gangrene.” Alexander “the coppersmith” who did Paul “much evil” when the latter visited Ephesus.It is possible that he is the Alexander, then a Jew, put forward by the Jews, doubtless against Paul, at the riot in Ephesus (Ac 19:33). This seperation is consequence of his withstanding the apostle (2Ti 4:14, 15); as the same sentence on Hymenæus was the consequence of “saying that the resurrection is past already” (2Ti 2:18; his putting away good conscience, naturally producing shipwreck concerning FAITH, 1Ti 1:19.

    If one’s faith doesn’t build up his morals, his lack of moral will corrupt his faith. The rain which falls pure from heaven will not continue pure if it be received in an unclean vessel.The design of the church is to reclaim the sinner, to extend grace as God has given grace to us like Paul- who claims himself to be the chief sinner. May all who are tempted to put away a good conscience, and to abuse the gospel, remember that this it is the shipwreck of faith also. This makes me look at my own actions to make sure they line up with the gospel, Hymenaeus and Alexander may have been big and bad like the Titanic but didn’t heed the warnings of wise men and wrecked and sunk. We gotta check ourselves before wreck ourselves.

  22. Charity from a pure heart, and a good conscience….

    5 Now the end of the commandment is charity out of a pure heart, and of a good conscience, and of faith unfeigned

    “Be a blessing”…………………………

  23. 9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,

    10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

    11 According to the glorious gospel of the blessed God, which was committed to my trust.

    12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;

    God is a God of love. Not a God of tolerance. He is a God of peace but not with sin. He is a God of grace but not allowance of inquity.

    The Lord is good, righteous, and just he doesn’t want anyone to fall into hell, and be destroyed in everlasting Fire. Yet he will never compromise his word.

    I am thankful for the Love and righteousness of God. He loves us so much he would rather tell us the truth and us be angry at him than for him to tell us what we want to hear and be lost.

  24. 16 Howbeit for this cause I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might shew forth all longsuffering, for a pattern to them which should hereafter believe on him to life everlasting.

    Me first.

    We so often see faults of others and are blinded to our own. We are quick to pass a judgment, the mote in our brothers eye. But it’s in ourselves we must first look before casting the stone. Is my life showing Jesus? Cleanse me Jesus. I need to take care of me first before I can properly help others. If I don’t take care of me first I’ll likely hurt instead of help.

  25. 5 Now the end of the commandment is charity out of a pure heart, and of a good conscience, and of faith unfeigned:

    When we love each other, we shouldn’t because we have to or because we feel like we’re made. Love isn’t true when it isn’t done honestly, and if you don’t feel like you’re being honest, step back and re-evaluate yourself and let God work through you. For only from God can you find true love and find strength to love other people.

    When you love honestly, it comes from the heart and not only does it show love to the other person but it takes a burden off yourself, a burden of not being honest and the fact that you know you are truly loved enough that you can give some to other people. For we are not here for ourselves in this life but we are here to serve others.

    Romans 12:9-13 Let love be without dissimulation, abhor that which is evil, cleave to that which is good. Be kindly affectioned one to another in brotherly love, in honour perferring one another. Not slothful in business, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord. Rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing instant in prayer. Distributing to the necessity of saints, given to hospitality.

  26. Godly Edification

     4 Neither give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which minister questions, rather than godly edifying which is in faith: so do.

    1 Corinthians 14:33
    For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.

    Godly edification does not bring confusion but unity in Christ. There will be some whose desires cause them to confuse the faith with things that seem “flavored with faith” but do not point to Christ and rather lead away from Him, causing division and confusion. If it doesn’t influence one to bring about a closer walk with God, it does not edify in a godly manner, even if it seems “church-y.”

    Matthew 7:22-23
    22 Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?

    23 And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.

  27. 8 But we know that the law is good, if a man use it lawfully;

    9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,

    10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

    The law is good. If you think about it. All the laws made by any type of government are there to protect and give boundaries and safety. Why do people then think that commandments from the Lord are bad? The will only do a good for us. For the righteous it should be no struggle to abide by the law and commandments of God. We need a man of God in our life to speak to us from God. And us to listen and obey. Eternity is to much to play with and put at risk. We can be blessed here and be even more blessed in heaven. Obey the word of God, and love Him.

  28. 6 From which some having swerved have turned aside unto vain jangling; 7 Desiring to be teachers of the law; understanding neither what they say, nor whereof they affirm. Many have heard the word of God (Jesus), which the deceiver (satan) is one. However pride and self, consumed him (deceiver).

    20 Of whom is Hymenaeus and Alexander; whom I have delivered unto Satan, that they may learn not to blaspheme.

    Dear God, search me an wash me, so that I be not a hindrance to your work; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  29. 8 But we know that the law is good, if a man use it lawfully

    My Dad would tell me growing up that a lock just keeps the good man honest and slows a thief down. This is the same way in The Doctrine. We have standards and laws that we live by and they keep us straight and going the right direction. If we keep the law and do what is right then we stay blessed. If someone that is not in relationship with Jesus Christ tries to live our lives it will feel like bars to them because they have lock keeping them from doing what they want to do. But we in the other side of the bars realize that we are on the outside looking in but they that are in the inside have no idea they are on the wrong side.
    The lock or law still keeps a good man honest and it detours the wicked.

  30. 12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry

    This is why any person is any ministry. JESUS enables people to to do a job in the kingdom and to do it well. It is because he has given knowledge and patients in a specific area that anyone can minister there. God really does provide all that we need before he gives us the reson to need it.

  31. 15 This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.

    You can take this verse and make it personal. Having that kinda of perspective about Jesus sacrifice for us. This needs to be a personal statement. Many a times when people are asked if they are saved and they give a generic answer. When we all must saved or Christ died for all of our sins, yes but did he die for your sins. Christ dies for MY sins, he is not just the savior but my personal savior.
    We need a personal relationship with God and not a get generic one.

  32. 9 Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,
    10 For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine;

    Help us reach the region of Fort Worth Jesus! Help us be able to minister to those who are lost and are bound with sin. Help us be vessels and find all those who are crying out for you. Everywhere you go there are people that are bound to all these different type of sins. There are so many churches out there that are claiming to be “Christians” and going to church but go back home and go back in doing the same sin over and over again! My God did not make us to fail but to be MORE than an overcomer 🙂 I praise you Jesus for taking me out of the pit I was!!!!

  33. We all have sinned. We are not perfect, so that means we have a continuous work to do. Sin is not prejudiced. It seeks to bring all mankind into its grasp. Only way to escape the clutches of sin is through the power of the Holy Ghost.

  34. Law !!!! 7. Desiring to be teachers of the law; understanding neither what they say, nor whereof they affirm. 8. But we know that the law is good, if a man use it lawfully; 9. Knowing this, that the law is not made for a righteous man, but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and for sinners, for unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers, Gal. 3 : 19 10. For whoremongers, for them that defile themselves with mankind, for menstealers, for liars, for perjured persons, and if there be any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine; We shall obey the law for Jesus !!!! We have to obey the law for this is good!!!!

Leave a Reply

