Revelation Chapter 3

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 2

Revelation 3

1 And unto the angel of the church in Sardis write; These things saith he that hath the seven Spirits of God, and the seven stars; I know thy works, that thou hast a name that thou livest, and art dead.

2 Be watchful, and strengthen the things which remain, that are ready to die: for I have not found thy works perfect before God.

3 Remember therefore how thou hast received and heard, and hold fast, and repent. If therefore thou shalt not watch, I will come on thee as a thief, and thou shalt not know what hour I will come upon thee.

4 Thou hast a few names even in Sardis which have not defiled their garments; and they shall walk with me in white: for they are worthy.

5 He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels.

6 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

7 And to the angel of the church in Philadelphia write; These things saith he that is holy, he that is true, he that hath the key of David, he that openeth, and no man shutteth; and shutteth, and no man openeth;

8 I know thy works: behold, I have set before thee an open door, and no man can shut it: for thou hast a little strength, and hast kept my word, and hast not denied my name.

9 Behold, I will make them of the synagogue of Satan, which say they are Jews, and are not, but do lie; behold, I will make them to come and worship before thy feet, and to know that I have loved thee.

10 Because thou hast kept the word of my patience, I also will keep thee from the hour of temptation, which shall come upon all the world, to try them that dwell upon the earth.

11 Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

12 Him that overcometh will I make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he shall go no more out: and I will write upon him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, which is new Jerusalem, which cometh down out of heaven from my God: and I will write upon him my new name.

13 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

14 And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God;

15 I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.

16 So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.

17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:

18 I counsel thee to buy of me gold tried in the fire, that thou mayest be rich; and white raiment, that thou mayest be clothed, and that the shame of thy nakedness do not appear; and anoint thine eyes with eyesalve, that thou mayest see.

19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

21 To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.

22 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

40 thoughts on “Revelation Chapter 3

  1. “Look at me. I stand at the door. I knock. If you hear me call and open the door, I’ll come right in and sit down to supper with you. Conquerors will sit alongside me at the head table, just as I, having conquered, took the place of honor at the side of my Father. That’s my gift to the conquerors! (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭20-21‬ MSG)

    Two doors mentioned here, one is to protect, and the other is a door that needs to be open that will lead you to truth as you build relationship with the saviour of your soul.

  2. 20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    Can you hear the knocking at the door?

    Too many times we get distracted by the things around us that we don’t even notice that someone is knocking on our door. Their are some who hear the knock, but refuse to answer because they are afraid of the commitment they will have to make. Jesus will only come in when invited. He does not force his way into your presence, you must want him in your life. God wants to spend time with us. The question is, are you ready to spend time with him?

  3. Endurance

    10 Because thou hast kept the word of my patience, I also will keep thee from the hour of temptation, which shall come upon all the world, to try them that dwell upon the earth.

    Patience- in the NT the characteristic of a man who is not swerved from his deliberate purpose and his loyalty to faith and piety by even the greatest trials and sufferings.

    Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience. James 1:3

    Luke 21:19
    Stand firm, and you will win life.

    Know this, that the very trial your asking God to deliver you out of is the thing that is sharpening your endurance. If God rescues you too soon the trial after this could kill you. I am learning to stop asking for deliverance but “LOrd teach me to stand. Lord I praise you in and through this mess because in this “mess” there is a “message.” Open my ears and my spirit to hear what it iS.

    Be blessed and run on, fight on, and praise on until He comes!

  4. Verse 3 AMP “So call to mind the lessons you received and heard; continually lay them to heart and obey them, and repent. In case you will not rouse yourselves and keep awake and watch, I will come upon you like a thief, and you will not know or suspect at what hour I will come.” This verse reminds me of how easily one can get distracted and forget. At work, my sister makes fun of me when I ask a question that the day before I knew. She tells “Did you sleep good last night or what?” We cannot afford to “pull the covers back over your head and sleep on, oblivious to God” as the end of verse 3 says in the MSG version.

  5. learn to endure and not ask for this to be over, then what you learned will make you sail thru the next trial

  6. 6 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

    The importance of hearing and listening for God’s voice. This verse is repeated 3 times. God not only wants us to be hearers but doers of his word.

  7. iLove to eat More Word

    “Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends. (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭20‬ NLT)

    We are right in the middle of 40 Days of More Fire and it is getting Hot!🔥

    This scripture reminds me of a home Bible study teacher knocking on the door of their student. When we teach home Bible studies, we’re bringing the word of God into those lives that open their doors to receive it. As we sit down at the kitchen table, and open our Bibles, the word of God is being served to those who are hungry.

    Let us continue to serve the word of God and eat with our friends. #more🔥

  8. MORE COMMITTED

    13 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.
    14 And unto the angel of the church of the Laodiceans write; These things saith the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of the creation of God;
    15 I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot.
    16 So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.
    17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:

    The destiny of the HALF-HEARTED is clearly identified here. The attitude of complacency and contentment is offensive to GOD. Our rejection of HIS Love is met with a much greater and rejection. To spit something out of our mouth, means that it is nasty and not worthy to be in our body. This is the revelation of how GOD feels about the attitude of an individual that acts as if they don’t need GOD.

    Desperation is demonstrated by determination, and determination is expressed by commitment with passion. We are wise to serve passionately or not serve at all.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  9. The open door
    7 And to the angel of the church in Philadelphia write; These things saith he that is holy, he that is true, he that hath the key of David, he that openeth, and no man shutteth; and shutteth, and no man openeth;
    8 I know thy works: behold, I have set before thee an open door, and no man can shut it: for thou hast a little strength, and hast kept my word, and hast not denied my name.

    We frustrate ourselves as Christians when we try to open doors that are closed by God and close those that he himself has opened. When we are in the will of God we don’t have to worrie about the open or closed door, we just walk with him. Where ever he goes we follow and his hand goes before and behind us openening and shutting doors. Trusting God and walking with him! I believe this morning we will see open doors on outreach, not only the physical door but also the spiritual door of the hearts of men. Let us go in the will of God!

  10. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

    20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    21 To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.

    God loves us all and will rebuke and chasten us, the question is how we respond to correction. We should be ready to repent when instruction comes our way. God stands at the door and knocks, what a thought, God actually will not impose himself upon someone who does not want him. When God knocks on your door are you willing to open the door and let him in with the message he has for you. We may not always like what God has to say, but if we want to sup with him we must be willing to repent and overcome the things that hold us down.
    THE KEY WORD IN ALL OF THIS IS LISTEN!!

  11. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

    God almighty I come to you today, for I humble myself before you lord,for I lay down my sinful mistakes and my life at your feet,for we your children as you love, for you saith to us whom you love shall you rebuke and discipline for eternity, for you saith to us do be humorless and repent,for we your children shall repent for resulting from or showing sincere and intense conviction. In Jesus name amen!!!

  12. “‘I know your works. Behold, I have set before you an open door, which no one is able to shut. I know that you have but little power, and yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name. (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭8‬ ESV)

    The Name
    It is kind of odd that other denominations believe in just confessing in the Lord Jesus Christ as their personal savior and they’ll be saved. Yet they will not confess the name of the Lord Jesus Christ in baptism. 

    And as they went on their way, they came unto a certain water: and the eunuch said, See, here is water; what doth hinder me to be baptized? And Philip said, If thou believest with all thine heart, thou mayest. And he answered and said, I believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God. (‭Acts‬ ‭8‬:‭36-37‬ KJV)

  13. 2 “Up on your feet! Take a deep breath! Maybe there’s life in you yet. But I wouldn’t know it by looking at your busywork; nothing of God’s work has been completed. Your condition is desperate. 3 Think of the gift you once had in your hands, the Message you heard with your ears – grasp it again and turn back to God. “If you pull the covers back over your head and sleep on, oblivious to God, I’ll return when you least expect it, break into your life like a thief in the night.
    11 “I’m on my way; I’ll be there soon. Keep a tight grip on what you have so no one distracts you and steals your crown. 12 “I’ll make each conqueror a pillar in the sanctuary of my God, a permanent position of honor. Then I’ll write names on you, the pillars: the Name of my God, the Name of God’s City – the new Jerusalem coming down out of Heaven – and my new Name. 13 “Are your ears awake? Listen. Listen to the Wind Words, the Spirit blowing through the churches.”

    Wake up! Listen! Be strengthened! Overcome! This message is designed to wake us up out of our sleep. Satan lulls the church to sleep or tries to get us sidetracked…anything to keep us from the realization of his soon return. We must be on fire and not lukewarm to be pleasing to him. More Fire!

  14. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

    20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    When God stands at our door with correction, we have a choice to listen and obey, or to just hear it and walk away. God will not force himself on anybody. If we want to hear our calling and be used, we have to open our door and let him in. We have to accept the correction and grow from it, not become bitter! Lord call on me, use me, and correct me when I have done wrong!

  15. To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne. (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭21‬ KJV)
    We must overcome to receive the prize.The end of our faith. We must believe the promises of God even when life and it’s many problems try to get us down .For all the promises of God in him are yea, and in him Amen, unto the glory of God by us. (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭1‬:‭20‬ KJV)Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. (‭Psalms‬ ‭23‬:‭4‬ KJV) but we must continue in our faith to the end .
    And he that overcometh, and keepeth my works unto the end, to him will I give power over the nations: (‭Revelation‬ ‭2‬:‭26‬ KJV)

  16. Rev 3:19-20
    19 Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent. 20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.
    (ESV)

    Amen when I’m listening to His Word being preached and it begins to hurt and tug at my heart God’s Spirit is speaking and correcting me when I’m wrong or not doing what His Word says. That is proof that he loves me and he is always knocking at the door to my mind and my heart so I can let Him in and he will take care of any situation.

  17. 11 Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

    12 Him that overcometh will I make a pillar in the temple of my God, and he shall go no more out: and I will write upon him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God, which is new Jerusalem, which cometh down out of heaven from my God: and I will write upon him my new name.

    Thank you Jesus for a new name, a new life. There is none like you God

  18. Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    Open your door. Jesus is calling for you.

  19. 20, “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.”

    When I was first married back in 1985, as a wedding present, my brother bought me the picture of Jesus knocking at the door. I never really notice for years until someone pointed out to me, that in the picture, there is no doorknob. That’s because when Jesus comes knocking and calling out to us, we must be the one to open up to him and let him in. He will not force himself upon anyone. We have to make that choice to let him in our hearts or not.

    So the question is… Are you going to answer the door and let Jesus in or not? It’s your choice to make.

  20. vs-10
    It is much easier to be enthusiastic when we winning great victories. But often faith calls for a holding actionand obedience means simply to keep my command to endure patiently.

  21. 11 Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

    Don’t allow situations and people to take away the crown God has placed upon you.
    Blessed be the name of the Lord, and praise his name forever.

  22. 19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

    20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    In this chapter God is imploring the church to repent from their wicked ways and to turn. Although he was not happy with the church he did not give up hope on them or condemn them instead he extended a arm of mercy and gave them a opportunity to repent. We’re blessed to serve a God of mercy. David said his mercies endureth forever!

  23. 0 Because thou hast kept the word of my patience, I also will keep thee from the hour of temptation, which shall come upon all the world, to try them that dwell upon the earth.

    11 Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

    The promises of the Lord, if we keep His Word, His Commandments, and the principles that He has laid out for in the Bible, He will keep us from temptation. Why? Because we hid the Word of God in our heart that we might now sin against Him.

  24. All who are victorious will be clothed in white. I will never erase their names from the Book of Life, but I will announce before my Father and his angels that they are mine. (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭5‬ NLT)

    We are his and we belongs to him! There is no one that can be compared to him! He loves us enough to take the dirty clothes and make then brand new! Mine were stained but…!

  25. 22 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

    We all have ears, but we don’t always want to hear what is being said. We would be wise to listen to the preached word.

  26. Revelation 3
    This chapter closes the messages to the seven churches.

    Sardis was a city noted for immorality. The effect was that “only a few people in Sardis…have not soiled their garments.” (4) It is important to not adopt the immorality of our culture and Hollywood.

    Philadelphia suffered many earthquakes, which caused the population to be small. This small church is not criticized at all. Pretribulationists cite verse 10 for one of their proof texts (a texts used to validate a believe of theology).

    Laodicea was a city that was prosperous as a center of banking and clothing manufacturing. It was also a place for training medical students. The city was known for its wealth. In A.D. 60 there was an earthquake and Laodicea did not need government assistance to repair the damages. While they were rich on the outside, they were spiritually bankrupts. The luke-warm water reference is a direct reference to a nearby spring which after flowing through an aqueduct became lukewarm and nauseating.

  27. Knocking

    20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    The door of our hearts will be sometimes “knocked upon” by the Lord. It is good to learn His voice and recognize His visitation. Our responsiveness to His knocking can mean the difference between life and death, fulfilling our God-given dreams, serving in our place in ministry, etc.

    21 To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.

    22 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

  28. 20 Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.

    Keep on knocking. Every time we give the message of salvation God knocks at the heart of people. You may just be the one that God uses to deliver the good news. He knocks and waits for people to invite Him in to their hearts and lives. Let us be a vessel of honor for God and continue to share this gospel. You never know who the Spirit of God may be touching while using you to talk to some one. This is that one scripture that touched me when I heard it preached by some one and I decided to give my life to God, repent and be baptized in the name of Jesus. He knocked, and I answered the call and opened the door to my heart.

  29. v22 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

    If the enemy can continually engage us in the things and troubles of life, he can rest satisfied that we will miss GOD’S voice.
    ( Funny that there’s a series on television called The Voice, but that’s not GOD’S voice.)

    LORD give us ears to hear to what your SPIRIT is speaking . To hear YOUR VOICE which comes when we shut out the world around us and focus on YOU and YOUR purpose for our lives, through prayer , personal devotion,and meditation of HIS WORD.

    MORE WORD

  30. Thou hast a few names even in Sardis which have not defiled their garments; and they shall walk with me in white: for they are worthy. He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels. (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭4-5‬ KJV)

    An overcoming life is a phrase that pastor talks about often. It tells us here the overcoming life is what qualifies you to walk in heaven. Wow. I want to be an overcomer!

  31. “I know all the things you do, that you are neither hot nor cold. I wish that you were one or the other! But since you are like lukewarm water, neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth! (‭Revelation‬ ‭3‬:‭15-16‬ NLT)

    You have to pick a side. God spits out those who play on both sides, remain lukewarm. You either choose heaven and to follow the commandments of God or you choose hell and to ignore everything that is commanded of you. What will you choose?

  32. 11. Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

    We must not let this world and it’s desires and distractions steal away what we have – it’s worth more than anything this temporary life can offer.

    Proverbs 23:23 KJV
    Buy the truth, and sell it not; also wisdom, and instruction, and understanding.

  33. 5 He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels.

    What a wonderful blessing. Instead of having your name blotted out of the book Jesus doesn’t just write your name in the book of life but he also confesses you before his father and his angels.

    God always has a way of going above and beyond for his people.

  34. 5 He that overcometh, the same shall be clothed in white raiment; and I will not blot out his name out of the book of life, but I will confess his name before my Father, and before his angels.

    It mentions in this scripture the people that “overcometh”, the question this presents, what exactly are we overcoming? That we may have the cloth of pure white that God gives when he plots out all of our sin.

    I believe the answer is given in the previous scripture in Verse 4

    4 Thou hast a few names even in Sardis which have not defiled their garments; and they shall walk with me in white: for they are worthy.

    You cannot keep your garment white, if you have defiled it, then it becomes dirty again and it is not clean in God’s eye. So we are trying to overcome being one of those who have defiled their garment, but then how do we do that? We know only Jesus can cleanse us from our sins, this is not something we could do ourselves, but yet if it were left up to him, that would mean everyone would go to heaven because he does not wanna leave a man behind to suffer.

    And all of us cannot keep our garment from getting dirty because we are all imperfect and fall short of the glory of God, so how do we accomplish this? I believe this is is found in another scripture.

    Ecclesiastes 9:8 Let your garments be always white. Let not oil be lacking on your head.

    We need the oil on our heads, and that oil is the Holy spirit and the anointing of God in our lives. We need to make sure we do not do things that keep the anointing off of our lives and we need to make sure we are around places (like Church) where we get a refreshing of the anointing. When we do, God will keep our garments as white as snow.

  35. 6 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.

    13 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.

    22 “Anyone with ears to hear must listen to the Spirit and understand what he is saying to the churches.”

    Some people believe that the number 3 is the sign of completeness. This verse was used 3 times in the same chapter. Beginning, Middle, and End. To me it seems that it is very important for us to LISTEN and UNDERSTAND. We not only have to listen but also understand and apply it to our lives.

  36. Repent !!!! 19. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent. Job. 5 : 17; Heb. 12 : 5 20. Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me. SS. 5 : 2 21. To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne. 22. He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spir’-it saith unto the churches. Rev. 2 : 7 Thank you for Repentance !!!! I Worship you Jesus !!!!

  37. Revelations 3: 1-22

    In this chapter John describes 3 different types of churches

    The DEAD Church
    Sardis felt asleep on the job if you ask me, but John writes to them:
    Rev 3:3
    Remember therefore how you have received and heard; hold fast and repent. Therefore if you do not WATCH, I will come upon you as a thief, and you will not know what hour I will come upon you

    Some of us are probably in this condition DEAD or SLEEP same thing… we MUST WAKE UP and REPENT

    The FAITHFUL Church
    Philadelphia little power but big opportunity and also John writes to them
    He tell them in Rev. 3:8
    I know your works. See, I have set before you and OPEN DOOR, and no one can shut it; for you have a little strength…

    If we don’t read the word and don’t fast and pray we don’t have the strength to do run the race and someone else takes first place from our hands.
    John tell us to not give up to HOLD FAST what we have, that no one may take our crown.

    The LUKEWARM Church
    Laodicea, deceived, blind to their condition.
    John also writes to them telling them to change their priorities
    Rev. 3:15-16
    I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot. I could wish you were cold or hot.
    verse 16
    So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I WILL VOMIT YOU OUT OF MY MOUTH.

    I can see how God is speaking to all of us, whether we are like any of this churches or not, we must watch that we don’t fall into any of this categories. We must wake up and repent, never give up and change our priorities.

  38. 13 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches.

    Lord let me hear what you want me to hear.
    Lead me where you want me to go. Let me see what you want me to see. May your will be done.

  39. 17 Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:

    Through the eyes of God

    We have the tendency to forget about Gods provision, blessings, and favor. We live in a world that is full of self promotion, self encouragement, and self building. Everything is made to take the glory from God and give it to man.

    In the eyes of God, we are but a pile of glorified dirt. What is man? It’s not by our own strength or wisdom. We need to rebuke the spirit of self anything and in everything give God glory. The reality is without Him, we are nothing! He is the glue that keeps everything from not existing.

    We are poor and miserable to think we have anything without Him.

  40. 11 Behold, I come quickly: hold that fast which thou hast, that no man take thy crown.

    I grew up listening to this verse all my life, you would read it before we would eat on a daily basis. The ground that we will receive it worse I have always been taught that it is symbolic of what we have done on earth. Some will have small simple crowds and others will have elaborate, elegant, and beautiful crowns. I believe these will be The sole winners of our time.

    I want to be one of those with the most beautiful and elegant crowns in heaven. Teach me oh Lord to be a soul- winner.

Leave a Reply

