Acts Chapter 20

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 5

Acts 20

1 And after the uproar was ceased, Paul called unto him the disciples, and embraced them, and departed for to go into Macedonia.

2 And when he had gone over those parts, and had given them much exhortation, he came into Greece,

3 And there abode three months. And when the Jews laid wait for him, as he was about to sail into Syria, he purposed to return through Macedonia.

4 And there accompanied him into Asia Sopater of Berea; and of the Thessalonians, Aristarchus and Secundus; and Gaius of Derbe, and Timotheus; and of Asia, Tychicus and Trophimus.

5 These going before tarried for us at Troas.

6 And we sailed away from Philippi after the days of unleavened bread, and came unto them to Troas in five days; where we abode seven days.

7 And upon the first day of the week, when the disciples came together to break bread, Paul preached unto them, ready to depart on the morrow; and continued his speech until midnight.

8 And there were many lights in the upper chamber, where they were gathered together.

9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.

10 And Paul went down, and fell on him, and embracing him said, Trouble not yourselves; for his life is in him.

11 When he therefore was come up again, and had broken bread, and eaten, and talked a long while, even till break of day, so he departed.

12 And they brought the young man alive, and were not a little comforted.

13 And we went before to ship, and sailed unto Assos, there intending to take in Paul: for so had he appointed, minding himself to go afoot.

14 And when he met with us at Assos, we took him in, and came to Mitylene.

15 And we sailed thence, and came the next day over against Chios; and the next day we arrived at Samos, and tarried at Trogyllium; and the next day we came to Miletus.

16 For Paul had determined to sail by Ephesus, because he would not spend the time in Asia: for he hasted, if it were possible for him, to be at Jerusalem the day of Pentecost.

17 And from Miletus he sent to Ephesus, and called the elders of the church.

18 And when they were come to him, he said unto them, Ye know, from the first day that I came into Asia, after what manner I have been with you at all seasons,

19 Serving the Lord with all humility of mind, and with many tears, and temptations, which befell me by the lying in wait of the Jews:

20 And how I kept back nothing that was profitable unto you, but have shewed you, and have taught you publicly, and from house to house,

21 Testifying both to the Jews, and also to the Greeks, repentance toward God, and faith toward our Lord Jesus Christ.

22 And now, behold, I go bound in the spirit unto Jerusalem, not knowing the things that shall befall me there:

23 Save that the Holy Ghost witnesseth in every city, saying that bonds and afflictions abide me.

24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

25 And now, behold, I know that ye all, among whom I have gone preaching the kingdom of God, shall see my face no more.

26 Wherefore I take you to record this day, that I am pure from the blood of all men.

27 For I have not shunned to declare unto you all the counsel of God.

28 Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood.

29 For I know this, that after my departing shall grievous wolves enter in among you, not sparing the flock.

30 Also of your own selves shall men arise, speaking perverse things, to draw away disciples after them.

31 Therefore watch, and remember, that by the space of three years I ceased not to warn every one night and day with tears.

32 And now, brethren, I commend you to God, and to the word of his grace, which is able to build you up, and to give you an inheritance among all them which are sanctified.

33 I have coveted no man’s silver, or gold, or apparel.

34 Yea, ye yourselves know, that these hands have ministered unto my necessities, and to them that were with me.

35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.

36 And when he had thus spoken, he kneeled down, and prayed with them all.

37 And they all wept sore, and fell on Paul’s neck, and kissed him,

38 Sorrowing most of all for the words which he spake, that they should see his face no more. And they accompanied him unto the ship.

49 thoughts on “Acts Chapter 20

  1. 24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

    25 And now, behold, I know that ye all, among whom I have gone preaching the kingdom of God, shall see my face no more.

    26 Wherefore I take you to record this day, that I am pure from the blood of all men.

    27 For I have not shunned to declare unto you all the counsel of God.

    Paul had a message to deliver and made that the most important part of his life. We could take this message to heart and plan to do a great work for God.

  2. Verse 24 MSG “What matters most to me is to finish what God started: the job the Master Jesus gave me of letting everyone I meet know all about this incredibly extravagant generosity of God.” Same verse AMP “But none of these things move me; neither do I esteem my life dear to myself, if only I may finish my course with joy and the ministry which I have obtained from [which was entrusted to me by] the Lord Jesus, faithfully to attest to the good news (Gospel) of God’s grace (His unmerited favor, spiritual blessing, and mercy).” This is our job too today……finish our course!

    Verse 28 MSG “Now it’s up to you. Be on your toes—both for yourselves and your congregation of sheep. The Holy Spirit has put you in charge of these people—God’s people they are—to guard and protect them. God himself thought they were worth dying for.” Same verse AMP “Take care and be on guard for yourselves and the whole flock over which the Holy Spirit has appointed you bishops and guardians, to shepherd (tend and feed and guide) the church of the Lord or [d]of God which He obtained for Himself [buying it and saving it for Himself] with His own blood.” This reminds me of a text my sister sent me the other day that said “God created it. Jesus died for it. The Spirit lives in it. I’d better take care of it.” It (the quote) was talking about our physical bodies; but, we are all important to God and have to watch out for one another.

  3. 24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

    If we too fought this hard to teach and preach Jesus Christ, how many more souls would be reached?

  4. 28 take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers,to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood.
    29. For I know this, that after my departing shall grievous wolves enter in among you, not sparring the flock.
    30. Also of your own selves shall men arise, speaking perverse things, to draw away disciples after them.

    Lord God, I pray we hide your WORD in our hearts, to unsheath this spiritual sword when we must defend sound doctrine. This is just as much a real threat now as it was then. So many are dying spiritually because the doctrine that they receive is false. Others are being led to slaughter by warlocks and wolves that twist the TRUTH and feed off their weak spirits. God is calling all the messengers!! He is calling us to arise to the occasion! The time to fight for this city is now! We have to fight for the Word of God with the Word of God! Know Benedictine! Save the lost! Bring those who have been LIED to into the light!!! In JESUS name!!!

  5. Passion.

    7 And upon the first day of the week, when the disciples came together to break bread, Paul preached unto them, ready to depart on the morrow; and continued his speech until midnight.
    &
    11 When he therefore was come up again, and had broken bread, and eaten, and talked a long while, even till break of day, so he departed.

    When is the last time we were so excited about anything that we could not stop talking about it? When was the last time we were so excited about what God is doing we could not stop talking about it?

  6. Warning NEVER fall asleep while Pastor is Preaching. Nah just kidding. I am so happy that the same God, the same Power of the Holy Ghost that was on Paul, it is on us TODAY!!!!! The very same God that made the miracle of this young man being brought back to life, still alive and well today for if Jesus did it for him He will do it for you and me. 9 and there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.
    10 And Paul went down, and fell on him, and embracing him said, Trouble not yourselves; for his life is in him.
    11 When he therefore was come up again, and had broken bread, and eaten, and talked a long while, even till break of day, so he departed.
    12 And they brought the young man alive, and were not a little comforted.
    This is something that reminded me of my very favorite song from Sunday School:
    My God is so big

    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do
    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do

    In the beginning GOD made everything
    GOD simply spoke and the world came to be
    He sent a flood and made everything new
    He parted the sea and let His people walk through
    He helped a boy bring a giant right down
    Joshua marched the walls fell to the ground
    These acts of power are worthy of praise
    But if you want to question my GOD and His ways
    I’ll look you in the eye and say

    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do
    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do

    Though we are sinners He still gave us worth
    GOD sent His Son to live here on the earth
    He healed the sick, He made blind men see
    He let the lame walk and He set the world free
    He died on a cross and He rose from the grave
    He conquered sin, He is mighty to save
    He went to heaven and He’s coming back
    GOD’s Word is true but if it is attacked
    I’ll look you in the eye and say

    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do
    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do

    I want the world to know about my GOD
    I want to live so the whole world can see
    That my heart is changed, I’m forgiven and new
    If people need proof may they see it in me
    Let’s look the world in the eye, Let’s look ‘em in the eye and say

    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do
    My GOD is so big and so strong and so mighty
    There’s nothing my GOD cannot do

    I remember we used to finish with and HE WILL DO IT FOR YOU!!!!! SCREAMING THE YOU WITH ALL OUR BREATH.

  7. 24 But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God. (NLT)

    It’s our job to spread the Good News of Jesus!! Use me Lord.

  8. iLove to eat More Word

    7 And upon the first day of the week, when the disciples came together to break bread, Paul preached unto them, ready to depart on the morrow; and continued his speech until midnight.

    Wow, after reading this verse over and over time and time again, finally this morning it jumped off the page and hit me upside the head.

    There is a denomination out there that are called the Seventh-day Adventist . This organization has church on Saturday because the Sabbath day is actually on Saturday. While there is no argument on the actual day of the Sabbath, the discrepancy comes in the Christian faith. They argue that since the seventh day is on Saturday, the church should also come together on Saturday. However as we read in this verse, we find out they were all gathered together as their custom was to break bread on the first day of the week. The first day of the week is Sunday. That’s why when you look on your calendar you’ll see you Sunday first. Notice the verse says Paul preached. Wow, this is a great verse to challenge Seventh-day Adventist. 😃

  9. 7 And upon the first day of the week, when the disciples came together to break bread, Paul preached unto them, ready to depart on the morrow; and continued his speech until midnight.

    He continued to preach until midnight! As Pastor has said you know its good revival church when no one wants to leave!

  10. MORE CHURCH

    8 And there were many lights in the upper chamber, where they were gathered together.
    9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.

    Church is MORE than a building, however in some extent it is a building. CHURCH is a place we meet to worship JESUS. CHURCH is a place we are spiritually strengthened, CHURCH is a place where we are taught, CHURCH is a place where JESUS is preached to save the lost.

    I noticed 2 pincipals about church that I have practiced for years in this passage.

    1. Turn ON the LIGHTS! There were many lights in the place they were gathered togwther; CHURCH. I don’t want a church where it is dark and we cannot see clearly what the LORD is doing.

    2. Don’t sit in the window or close to an exit! Falling out of CHURCH is dangerous. Sit as close to the front as you can get. Falling out of CHURCH is deadly.

    Lets GO “Be CHURCH” and when we gather at a place lets have MORE CHURCH

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  11. 29 For I know this, that after my departing shall grievous wolves enter in among you, not sparing the flock.

    30 Also of your own selves shall men arise, speaking perverse things, to draw away disciples after them.

    Beware of the people that creep into the church and ty to teach you false doctrine and try to turn you away from the things of God and try to get you to disobey the Man of God over you in your life. For you will have the people that will try to test you and bring you down.

    So with everythng and everyone, test them with the word of God and if it doesnt match up with it then stay well away from it.

  12. Acts 20:12
    And they brought the young man alive and were not comfored

    We have to understand that we will be alive forever with Jesus in heaven no matter what always have joy, peace, and Jesus. More Jesus. Amen

  13. 23 Save that the Holy Ghost witnesseth in every city, saying that bonds and afflictions abide me.

    24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

    Let’s do the work of God’s kingdom with joy and happiness, not with mumbling and complaining!!

  14. 24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

    Paul got it. He did not value his life over Christ. We have a problem with this in western civilization. Our culture thinks we are to do what feels right or what we want. We also have a misconception about human rights. Science would have us believe evolution is how life started. There are no rights according to evolution. Anything goes. The world’s frame of mind is so messed up there is no hope for it outside of Christ. This is Paul’s passion-to testify the gospel of the grace of God through Christ to a dying world.

  15. Acts 20:9 (KJV Strong’s)
    9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.

    Eutychus- lucky, fortunate, well-fated

    Fortunate – adjective. having good fortune; receiving good from uncertain or unexpected sources; lucky: a fortunate young actor who got the lead in the play. 2. bringing or indicating good fortune; resulting favorably; auspicious:

    Eutychus’ luck ran out. As Paul preached he very unluckily slipped out the window, and unfortunately fell to the ground. As luck would have it he was immediately killed from the impact of this ill-fated demise.

    Paul’s long winded preaching interrupted, ran down to Eutychus’ body which was probably feeling the suffering of bones broken, or cracked, blood perhaps coming from his head, and breathing deeply. He laid on him in similar fashion to the prophet Elijah and life came to Eutychus.

    Luck had nothing to do with it. Luck couldn’t save him. Fortune couldn’t help. It was the power of almighty God that raised him back to life.

    When luck fails God prevails.

  16. 27 For I have not shunned to declare unto you all the counsel of God.

    28 Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood.

    29 For I know this, that after my departing shall grievous wolves enter in among you, not sparing the flock.

    The man of God knew the enemy would attack before he heaven left. The devil has the same old tricks and we must not fall for them

  17. 9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.
    From this I can conclude that he preached so long that they man fell asleep and because of that he died. Yet God is so good that he raised him up.

  18. We should follow plans similar to Paul. We should be excited to go out and spread the word of Jesus! Let’s not mumble and complain about it (I have to remember this sometimes myself), but we should be glad and excited to do it.

  19. And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.
    10 And Paul went down, and fell on him, and embracing him said, Trouble not yourselves; for his life is in him.

    There’s still life….

    Do you have a situation that you think is dead? There’s still life. When all hope is lost. There’s still life. Many people have said that there is no chance for Fort Worth to have a revival. There’s still life there. If we have the faith the size of a mustard seed we can move mountains. The problem isn’t that it’s dead. It’s that we don’t “fall over” our situation and pray. We have to deal g deep and not move back. In war , sometimes, it’s better to just hold ground that to try to advance. Yet there will still be life in those soldiers.

    There is still life there.

  20. 22 And now, behold, I go bound in the spirit unto Jerusalem, not knowing the things that shall befall me there:

    When your bound in sin the chains are week but they feel strong. But when your bound in the spirit it’s strong like the God that protects us!

  21. 9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.

    10 And Paul went down, and fell on him, and embracing him said, Trouble not yourselves; for his life is in him.

    11 When he therefore was come up again, and had broken bread, and eaten, and talked a long while, even till break of day, so he departed.

    Notice Paul says he’s not dead but “life is in him. ” I wonder how many people do we mistakenly assume is dead but all they need is someone to embrace them and give them the bread of life to revive them. It is important we intercede for lives and nurse them back to health when they seem spiritualy dead because God has not given up so we shouldn’t either.

  22. 21 Testifying both to the Jews, and also to the Greeks, repentance toward God, and faith toward our Lord Jesus Chris
    Lets go and testify to people in fort worth about the king of kings let’s impact the world together one person at a time in Jesus name

  23. 21 I have declared to both Jews and Greeks that they must turn to God in repentance and have faith in our Lord Jesus.

    We have to have faith in God that he’ll make everything okay we can’t make it in this world without him!!

  24. 35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.
    While working in the kingdom we ought to be sensitive to other people needs, lift one another up in prayer, be a friend, give until you cant give anymore.

  25. Many people believe that being saved by grace is enough. But its not theres some that never hear about the holy ghost. So when they think their saved there really not. We need to be disciples and spread the good news and let them hear about the holy ghost.

  26. 35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.

    Many people understand this verse and try to live by it, but what some people do not understand is that if you give hoping to receive something back in return, you are giving in vain. You should give because the lord has told you to. I will admit that I have done this while I was younger, but quickly realized that nothing good comes from it. Trust in the lord and do his will.

  27. 23 Save that the Holy Ghost witnesseth in every city, saying that bonds and afflictions abide me.

    Everywhere we go the spirit of the Holy Ghost abide in us and be able to witness and testify the Spirit of The Lord Jesus Christ. People are crying out to God and are looking for an answer. We must be that light in the world and testify the great joy and peace that Jesus gives. No one can give us what He gives….the love He has is not only for us is not only for us but the whole world.

  28. 7 On the first day of the week we came together to break bread. Paul spoke to the people and, because he intended to leave the next day, kept on talking until midnight.
    24 However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.

    There is no stoping the will of God! Listen and obey God ,great miracles and
    blessing will happen!! Don’t be worth nothing when you can be something! 🙂

  29. 24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

    This is perfect display of conviction and attitude of a true minister of God. That we count into all joy everything God bring to our ministerial life. That thru tribulations, pain or sorrow we can keep our mark which being with our Maker Jesus one day soon! That is we are tried, that we endure and prevail even into death.

  30. 18 And when they were come to him, he said unto them, Ye know, from the first day that I came into Asia, after what manner I have been with you at all seasons, 19 Serving the Lord with all humility of mind, and with many tears, and temptations, which befell me by the lying in wait of the Jews:

    That thru every time of the year he was their and no matter he would worship with a kindness of heart and just show care with tears and would just stay with GOD thru all temptation

  31. 24However, I consider my life worth nothing to me; my only aim is to finish the race and complete the task the Lord Jesus has given me—the task of testifying to the good news of God’s grace.

    Paul new very well that every journey he made to preach the gospel would be accompanied by trails. Imprisonment, riots, shipwrecks and stonings were all real possibilities. He sees his ministry to be a race to testify of the good news of God’s grace. God gave Paul and us grace in the middle of it all undeserved. We should feel the same ammount of debt to the gospel, a fervent burden to ministry that we don’t sweat the trails that will come. In order to run the race victoriously like Paul we need his endurace. Cowards never start, the weak never finish and winners never quit. I want Paul’s can’t quit attitude.

  32. You can not be fake and try to use the power of god and try to cast out demons without the anointing of the holy ghost

  33. 19 Serving the Lord with all humility of mind, and with many tears, and temptations, which befell me by the lying in wait of the Jews:

    20 And how I kept back nothing that was profitable unto you, but have shewed you, and have taught you publicly, and from house to house

    Amen

  34. “Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood. For I know this, that after my departing shall grievous wolves enter in among you, not sparing the flock.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭20:28-29‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    It is all of our jobs to ensure that wolves don’t come into take the flock. We need to be ever vigilant in lookin for those I the flick who might be hurting or I the outskirts that they might be taken care of and brought back instead of being picked off by situations, people, or ciucumstances (wolves) of life.

  35. ““Now I commit you to God and to the word of his grace, which can build you up and give you an inheritance among all those who are sanctified.”(‭‭Acts‬ ‭20:32‬ ‭NIV‬‬)

    I commit myself to my God and the word of his grace ,Paul gave himself completely to the Christians and Ephesus for three years he also commen the people to God and the word of his grace he scened trouble up ahead for himself, but the word of his grace would make Paul see them through,for only God and the word of his grace can build us up and give us an inheritance in heaven!!!

  36. NLT of Acts 20:33-35
    33, I have never coveted anyone’s silver or gold or fine clothes.
    34, You know that these hands of mine have worked to supply my own needs and even the needs of those who were with me.
    35, And I have been a constant example of how you can help those in need by working hard. You should remember the words of the Lord Jesus: “It is MORE blessed to give then to receive.”

    Paul wasn’t in the ministry for himself, but he was a hard worker and servant for the kingdom of God. He was in it to help build up God’s people. He considered himself “MORE Blessed” because he served others.
    We too will be “MORE Blessed” when we work hard and serve in the kingdom of God to help others.

  37. 35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.

    36 And when he had thus spoken, he kneeled down, and prayed with them all.

    Paul lived by example the things he taught, so now as he is departing from them, they have a greater chance of surviving the wolves entering in because they remember both what he taught and did. Whether we are Sunday schools teachers or not, we are still examples & teachers to all those watching us.

  38. 20 And how I kept back nothing that was profitable unto you, but have shewed you, and have taught you publicly, and from house to house,

    21 Testifying both to the Jews, and also to the Greeks, repentance toward God, and faith toward our Lord Jesus Christ

    From house to house.. It’s not just enough to hear the word on Sunday or maybe when one picks up the bible here and there. We see here an example of the apostle himself going from house to house preaching Jesus and repentance of sins. Home bible studies should be part of our daily lives in every home.

  39. “And Paul went down, and fell on him, and embracing him said, Trouble not yourselves; for his life is in him.” Thankfully Paul the man of God (Jesus) was there. One should be mindful for it is also possible to fall asleep spiritually, which is all the more why one should not forsake assembling together. Dear God, let me not fall asleep, neglect church, and lose my ability to heed the man of God; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In God we trust”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  40. ““I know that as soon as I’m gone, vicious wolves are going to show up and rip into this flock, men from your very own ranks twisting words so as to seduce disciples into following them instead of Jesus. So stay awake and keep up your guard. Remember those three years I kept at it with you, never letting up, pouring my heart out with you, one after another.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭20:29-31‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    If the head of the church is gone that doesn’t mean we should let our guards down. We need to be careful what type of counseling we are permitting ourselves to be acquainted with. Just as Pastor preached, we should always compare what is told to us with the word of God. Better safe than sorry!

  41. The responsibility of the man of God

    20 And how I kept back nothing that was profitable unto you, but have shewed you, and have taught you publicly, and from house to house,

    You know that God has given our Pastor many words in his studies. He has had all these years of revelation in the study of the word of God. Paul in this setting was well studied. He was perhaps the most well studied man of his time. He was not only brilliant but he heard from the Lord continually. What Paul had to do and what a Pastor or man of God has to do is to know and listen to the voice of God as to the timing and profitability of his followers to the specific word they need. They have to be sensitive to the Holy Ghost to preach what the spirit says to preach or even to give that personal word in Gods timing. Often times holding on to an anointed word for a more than comfortable time to release it. Trust you man of God and the Lord in these things. It would not be profitable word out of time

  42. 7 And upon the first day of the week, when the disciples came together to break bread, Paul preached unto them, ready to depart on the morrow; and continued his speech until midnight.

    8 And there were many lights in the upper chamber, where they were gathered together.

    9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.

    10 And Paul went down, and fell on him, and embracing him said, Trouble not yourselves; for his life is in him.

    11 When he therefore was come up again, and had broken bread, and eaten, and talked a long while, even till break of day, so he departed.

    It appears that it was nothing for Paul to stop teaching, go down and perform a miracle and return to teaching, just like nothing happened out of the ordinary. Prayerfully it should become “common” to POFW as well that miracles happen everyday. It should become our second nature to be in a store, pray for someone and they be healed.

    God has been building our faith over the past few weeks with miracles happening, let’s not take them for granted but use to them to encourage us to not be intimidated. If someone needs prayer, pray for them no matter where you are. Let God begin to use us everyday in a supernatural way.

  43. 27 For I have not shunned to declare unto you all the counsel of God.

    Paul wasn’t afraid to tell people the truth. There will be times in our life where were going to have to face a decision. Do we tell the truth or come up with a lie to get out of the situation? The truth will make you free. We must stand on the truth, God’s word, no matter what is before us. One lie usually leads to another and another, until you’ve forgotten the first lie you told. This is why it’s important to tell the truth from the beginning because it’s a whole lot easier to remember the truth than a lie.

  44. Aren’t you glad, that Pastor Watt’s sermons aren’t boring. You won’t be able to fall asleep during his sermons. We are Pentecostal and we can get loud………..

    9 And there sat in a window a certain young man named Eutychus, being fallen into a deep sleep: and as Paul was long preaching, he sunk down with sleep, and fell down from the third loft, and was taken up dead.
    _____________________________________________________________
    Paul’s most concern wasn’t with the things of this world, but to spread the gospel of Christ Jesus and the grace of God. He didn’t give care to gold, silver, money, nor did he consider his very own life dear. He only wanted to complete the course that was given to him by our Lord Jesus Christ. “To Save the Lost”……………………..

    24 But none of these things move me, neither count I my life dear unto myself, so that I might finish my course with joy, and the ministry, which I have received of the Lord Jesus, to testify the gospel of the grace of God.

    “We need Revival”…………………………………………………………………..

  45. 35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.

    36 And when he had thus spoken, he kneeled down, and prayed with them all.

    37 And they all wept sore, and fell on Paul’s neck, and kissed him,

    38 Sorrowing most of all for the words which he spake, that they should see his face no more. And they accompanied him unto the ship.
    I allways want to give and I don’t want to lose that

  46. Acts 20:18-20

    As Paul spoke to the Ephesians, he described the ingredients of an effective leader. Paul led from his soul. He made tough calls, yet shed tears in front of his people.
    Leadership begins with the heart.
    Who you are before hat you do.
    leadership is “being” before “doing”.

    MORE Consistent
    MORE Contrite
    MORE Courageous
    MORE Convitional
    MORE Commuted
    MORE Captivated

  47. Act 20:9 — Act 20:10
    And a young man named Eutychus, sitting at the window, sank into a deep sleep as Paul talked still longer. And being overcome by sleep, he fell down from the third story and was taken up dead.
    But Paul went down and bent over him, and taking him in his arms, said, “Do not be alarmed, for his life is in him.”

    This is the reason we should all have a good man of God watching over us, because at times during our spiritual walk we may fall asleep and harm can come to us, but if we have the man of God watching over us and praying for us we will be protected

Leave a Reply

