Acts Chapter 22

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter

Acts 22

1 Men, brethren, and fathers, hear ye my defence which I make now unto you.

2 (And when they heard that he spake in the Hebrew tongue to them, they kept the more silence: and he saith,)

3 I am verily a man which am a Jew, born in Tarsus, a city in Cilicia, yet brought up in this city at the feet of Gamaliel, and taught according to the perfect manner of the law of the fathers, and was zealous toward God, as ye all are this day.

4 And I persecuted this way unto the death, binding and delivering into prisons both men and women.

5 As also the high priest doth bear me witness, and all the estate of the elders: from whom also I received letters unto the brethren, and went to Damascus, to bring them which were there bound unto Jerusalem, for to be punished.

6 And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

9 And they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me.

10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do.

11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

12 And one Ananias, a devout man according to the law, having a good report of all the Jews which dwelt there,

13 Came unto me, and stood, and said unto me, Brother Saul, receive thy sight. And the same hour I looked up upon him.

14 And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth.

15 For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

16 And now why tarriest thou? arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord.

17 And it came to pass, that, when I was come again to Jerusalem, even while I prayed in the temple, I was in a trance;

18 And saw him saying unto me, Make haste, and get thee quickly out of Jerusalem: for they will not receive thy testimony concerning me.

19 And I said, Lord, they know that I imprisoned and beat in every synagogue them that believed on thee:

20 And when the blood of thy martyr Stephen was shed, I also was standing by, and consenting unto his death, and kept the raiment of them that slew him.

21 And he said unto me, Depart: for I will send thee far hence unto the Gentiles.

22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.

23 And as they cried out, and cast off their clothes, and threw dust into the air,

24 The chief captain commanded him to be brought into the castle, and bade that he should be examined by scourging; that he might know wherefore they cried so against him.

25 And as they bound him with thongs, Paul said unto the centurion that stood by, Is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Roman, and uncondemned?

26 When the centurion heard that, he went and told the chief captain, saying, Take heed what thou doest: for this man is a Roman.

27 Then the chief captain came, and said unto him, Tell me, art thou a Roman? He said, Yea.

28 And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

29 Then straightway they departed from him which should have examined him: and the chief captain also was afraid, after he knew that he was a Roman, and because he had bound him.

30 On the morrow, because he would have known the certainty wherefore he was accused of the Jews, he loosed him from his bands, and commanded the chief priests and all their council to appear, and brought Paul down, and set him before them.

37 thoughts on “Acts Chapter 22

  1. iLove to eat More Word

    21And he said unto me, Depart: for I will send thee far hence unto the Gentiles.

    22And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.

    To imagine that this simple statement could bring so much controversy is incredible. Paul simply said he would take this message to the Gentiles and then there was utter chaos. it doesn’t take much sometimes to get under the skin of the enemy. Let’s live for Jesus no matter what the our situation in life is

  2. Verses 10-11 MSG says “Then I said, ‘What do I do now, Master?’ “He said, ‘Get to your feet and enter Damascus. There you’ll be told everything that’s been set out for you to do.’ And so we entered Damascus, but nothing like the entrance I had planned—I was blind as a bat and my companions had to lead me in by the hand.” Sometimes we want what we think should happen, or what we think would be best; but, once again we have to make sure that we have listened to God and asked Him what the plan is! Seek the Lord’s guidance and then listen for direction!

  3. 3 I am verily a man which am a Jew, born in Tarsus, a city in Cilicia, yet brought up in this city at the feet of Gamaliel, and taught according to the perfect manner of the law of the fathers, and was zealous toward God, as ye all are this day.

    Paul told of his conversion, how God delivered him from his other life letting these people know the power of our God. God can deliver anyone of anything if we are willing to repent and give our life to him.

  4. 28. And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.

    Jesus paid a great sum for our freedom on the cross so that when we are born into His kingdom, we can be free.

  5. MORE ACCOUNTABILITY

    25 And as they bound him with thongs, Paul said unto the centurion that stood by, Is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Roman, and uncondemned?
    26 When the centurion heard that, he went and told the chief captain, saying, Take heed what thou doest: for this man is a Roman.
    27 Then the chief captain came, and said unto him, Tell me, art thou a Roman? He said, Yea.

    The apostle knew his destiny, however he did not simply give up. Paul shared not only his testimony, but also his identity. In challenging situations we are wise to use both, our testimony and our identity. I am not ashamed of the gospel of JESUS Christ for it is the power of GOD unto salvation for me.

    During trials or trying times we must be careful not to ruin our testimony or conceal our identity.

    We are overcomes by the BLOOD of the LAMB and the WORD of our TESTIMONY.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  6. vs 15 What are you waiting for . Get up and be baptised have your sins washed away by calling on the name of JESUS. I’m sure our pastor has felt that way many of times

  7. I Got a Testimony !!!!!!!! Revelation 12:11 11 And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony; and they loved not their lives unto the death.
    Know your Testimony, write it down, say it at loud to everyone you know. For God picked you up, stood you up, and put your feet on solid ground. He saved us when we did not deserve to be saved. He shed every single drop of His Precious Blood so we can have eternal life in Him. Paul stood here and gave them a Testimony of Truth. Then, told them who he was, a Roman Citizen. He had every ones attention as he spoke his testimony why???? Because he spoke their tongues, Hebrew. Sometimes we need to speak their language for them to listen and pay attention. We need to go that extra mile to keep their attention and then it does not stop there. Show them the way to His feet, show them the way to our Christ, teach them to follow and go make disciples of everyone at their home and neighborhood. We need to go be a friend, makes friend, and teach them to do the same. May the Lord bring all of our friends and bring them home on Sept. 13, may the Lord Bless each and every one of those who come and bless us with more friends and family members to our church in Jesus Name AMEN.

  8. Acts 22:21,22
    The Jews listen with some restraint to Paul’s account of God’s dealing in his life. But when Paul speaks one word, Gentiles, these Jews break into a frenzy. They cannot believe that God would send him to the Gentiles. Compare the similar reaction of the Jews in Rome (28:25-29)

    II Timothy 1:11 Whereunto I am appointed a preacher, and an apostle, and a teacher of the Gentiles.

    The Jews listen with some restraint to Paul’s account of God’s dealing in his life. But when Paul speaks one word, Gentiles, these Jews break into a frenzy. They cannot believe that God would send him to the Gentiles. Compare the similar reaction of the Jews in Rome (28:25-29)

  9. 13 Came unto me, and stood, and said unto me, Brother Saul, receive thy sight. And the same hour I looked up upon him.

    We recieve sight when we recieve the HG, because we will receive POWER when speaking in tongues. Jesus has really opened my eyes that the devil was fogging because I had stopped dreaming, stopped being passionate, didn’t love God with all my heart, and didn’t put Jesus first in nothing, did my own stuff on my own. Pure rebellion but with Jesus everything is different I am refreshed, full of life and peace. He has given me that restoration that no one can give me, and that is why I testify to others of the GREAT things that He has done in my life. In my whole Apostolic life I have never invited more people to church than now since I came to POFW 🙂 Blessed to have Pastor and Sis Wattts truly care about my salvation, my family salvation, and this regions salvation. 🙂 🎧🎤🎹There no God like Our God!!!! 🎧🎹🎼

  10. 15 For you are to be his witness, telling everyone what you have seen and heard. (NLT)

    Reminds me of a song that says, “God’s been good to me, oh God’s always been good. Tell everybody, tell everybody about Him, everybody ought to know!” We all have a testimony of how God’s saved us and beyond that there are the great testimonies of others that have been taking place at POFW, all kinds of healing and deliverances, wow! Let’s tell everybody!

  11. Acts 22: 14-15 (MSG)
    Then he said, “The God of our ancestors has handpicked you to be briefed on his plan of action. You’ve actually seen the Righteous Innocent and heard him speak. You are to be a key witness to everyone you meet of what you’ve seen and heard.”

    How blessed we are, to know that, we have been handpicked by God to be His witnesses. We all have a testimony to share of what God has done in our lives, and what He is doing in the lives of others.

    MORE Witnessing!

  12. 13 Came unto me, and stood, and said unto me, Brother Saul, receive thy sight. And the same hour I looked up upon him.

    14 And he said, The God of our fathers hath chosen thee, that thou shouldest know his will, and see that Just One, and shouldest hear the voice of his mouth.

    15 For thou shalt be his witness unto all men of what thou hast seen and heard.

    When we receive the Holy Ghost, God opens our eyes to the world around us and the darkness that surrounds us, but he also gives us the power to change it!! Lord awaken us to our surroundings, open our eyes to the hungry people, and open ears to hear your word and to listen to where your voice leads us!!

  13. 16 And now why tarriest thou? arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord.
    Paul was told that God had chosen him to be a prophet to the world to proclaim the testimony of Jesus Christ. But before he could do any of the work of God he had to be baptized! If baptism didn’t matter he would have not been told to do so. Baptism is not a suggestion it is a requirement for salvation.

  14. 10 And I said, What shall I do, Lord? And the Lord said unto me, Arise, and go into Damascus; and there it shall be told thee of all things which are appointed for thee to do.

    11 And when I could not see for the glory of that light, being led by the hand of them that were with me, I came into Damascus.

    When we get direction from God he doesn’t always give us the whole plan at once. We have to trust the hand that is leading us to get to where God has called us to be so that he can impart to us more in depth direction

  15. 16 and now why tarriest thou? Arise, and be baptized, and wash away thy sins, calling on the name of the Lord.
    What are you waiting for? Get up and be cleansed! You have been redeemed, Paul, he has claimed you as his! Go do mighty works in Jesus name.

  16. 21 And he said unto me, Depart: for I will send thee far hence unto the Gentiles.

    22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.

    Not only did were against those that followed Jesus, they were also against hearing that the Gentiles should be preferred over them by these Christians. They didn’t like that this doctrine had already been spread all over their region and to the Gentiles, so in condemning the ringleader, they thought they could stamp out this sect. But God is greater!

  17. 21 And he said unto me, Depart: for I will send thee far hence unto the Gentiles.

    22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.

    When you preach the word of God and try to lead people to Christ, we will get persecuted for it, we’re seeing that more and more in our culture today. Sinners do not wanna hear the truth and don’t wanna follow after God’s will and purpose for thier life, but that doesn’t mean we can’t tell it to them, but we have to be prepared what opposition will come with it.

  18. 2 (And when they heard that he spake in the Hebrew tongue to them, they kept the more silence: and he saith,)

    Paul had influence with them because he spoke their native tongue. God has given each of us influence in those we associate with daily, all we have to do is use it. God equips us with the tools necessary to reach our world, we just have to step out and just do it!!!

  19. Act 22:1 — Act 22:2
    22 “Brothers and fathers, hear the defense that I now make before you.”And when they heard that he was addressing them in the Hebrew language, they became even more quiet. And he said:

    It is always important to speak the correct language when you want to get your point across or you want want to make sure that they understand and are attentive. Which is why we must be in tune with the Spirit because the Spirit will always speak correctly for us.

  20. Paul addresses the crowd in their language saying “Men, brethren, and fathers” In his defense to the Jews, and Paul commenced it with an expression of sincere respect for them. Stephen began his defense with the same form of address in Acts 7:2. Those charges were, that he was in in violation against the Jews, the Law, and the temple, Acts 21:28. Paul speaks against the charges brought against himself and advises the people of who he was and who he is now. Paul had great bravery to stand up from himself and still reach out to people in the middle of a riot. The principle here is how he did it with a humble spirit.

  21. King James Version
    25 And as they bound him with thongs, Paul said unto the centurion that stood by, Is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Roman, and uncondemned?
    26 When the centurion heard that, he went and told the chief captain, saying, Take heed what thou doest: for this man is a Roman.
    27 Then the chief captain came, and said unto him, Tell me, art thou a Roman? He said, Yea.
    28 And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.
    29 Then straightway they departed from him which should have examined him: and the chief captain also was afraid, after he knew that he was a Roman, and because he had bound him.

    Bryan Linton Version
    25 Demon, is it lawful for you to scourge a man that is a Christian and uncondemned?
    26 When the demon heard that, he went to Satan, saying, Take heed what thou doest: for this man is a Christian.
    27 Then satan came, and said unto me, Tell me, art thou a Christian? I said, Yea.
    28 And satan answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And I said, Jesus paid my price!
    29 Then straightway they departed from me which should have examined: and satan also was afraid, after he knew that I was a Christian, and because he had bound me.

  22. Acts 22:21 (NLT)
    21 “But the Lord said to me, ‘Go, for I will send you far away to the Gentiles!’”

    The people listened until the Gentiles. I am thankful we serve a God who isn’t racist, or prejudice!

    Yet the people were very angry about this. They wanted to hold to their hate. It was part of who they were as a people to hate the Gentiles, or view them as a lesser people.

    The Jews were God’s trophies so to speak. They were his chosen people and wore that as a badge of pride. According to the NKJV commentary they became offended at the thought of the Gentiles being on the same level as them, and that they now had the same access to God as the Hebrews.

    God is not a God of hate toward skin, or race, but hate toward sin. He loves all of us and has one qualification. Whosoever will…

  23. 6 And it came to pass, that, as I made my journey, and was come nigh unto Damascus about noon, suddenly there shone from heaven a great light round about me.

    7 And I fell unto the ground, and heard a voice saying unto me, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me?

    8 And I answered, Who art thou, Lord? And he said unto me, I am Jesus of Nazareth, whom thou persecutest.

    9 And they that were with me saw indeed the light, and were afraid; but they heard not the voice of him that spake to me.

    we must always have a open ear to the lord !!

  24. 4 And I persecuted this way unto the death, binding and delivering into prisons both men and women.
    Paul always remembered who he use to be yet was faithful to who Got transformed him to become. He was totally changed and it was the driving force that pushed him to reach many lives.

  25. 13 Came unto me, and stood, and said unto me, Brother Saul, receive thy sight. And the same hour I looked up upon him.

    There is still healing in the name of Jesus. No matter what you need, God can do it for you.

  26. thee far hence unto the Gentiles.

    22 And they gave him audience unto this word, and then lifted up their voices, and said, Away with such a fellow from the earth: for it is not fit that he should live.

    People are fine with the message of Jesus… Until it contradicts their belief. The problem is that most people will fight without an open heart. They have shut up their ears from hearing. We must pray and war for everyone before we can harvest them! Pray eyes, ears, and hearts will be open!

  27. “And the chief captain answered, With a great sum obtained I this freedom. And Paul said, But I was free born.” The chief captain had fought for his freedom, therefore he held it very high. Dear God, let me never forget or take lightly the price you paid for my salvation, nor the price others have paid for my freedom; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In God we trust”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  28. ““When I returned to Jerusalem and was praying at the temple, I fell into a trance and saw the Lord speaking to me. ‘Quick!’ he said. ‘Leave Jerusalem immediately, because the people here will not accept your testimony about me.’”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭22:17-18‬ ‭NIV‬‬

    How often when we pray do we literally fall into a trance were the Lord speaks to us? It’s time to grow deeper in prayer. We can’t live on the same petty simple prayers. We need more of Him

  29. “For you are to be his witness, telling everyone what you have seen and heard.”
    ‭‭Acts of the Apostles‬ ‭22:15‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    This is what we are to do!

  30. ““I was blinded by the intense light and had to be led by the hand to Damascus by my companions.”
    ‭‭Acts of the Apostles‬ ‭22:11‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    We all need companions in our walk to help guide us in the right direction towards God….it can be a friend, mentor, pastor, parent and especially God. It’s better to have all of them that way you have a strong group of people to help you in hard times. We need to be rooted down more towards God and in the church. So have companions that are in the church to help you. Once your rooted down, reach out to someone else to pull them out of the world. It’s better to give than receive. What will you give(say) to a person you see?

  31. “Men, brethren, and fathers, hear ye my defence which I make now unto you.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭22:1‬ ‭

    This again show the power of speech. Like “brother Saul” was spoken in faith to Paul when he was blind, now Paul is standing before those who want to kill him with a boldness upon him and he begins by calling them “men, brethern, and fathers.” He is speaking to them in the faith God gave him. These people are not acting like men but murderers, which is why the caption of the guards was called. Paul calls them brethern because he wants their hearts to be changed like his. Paul also addresses them as fathers because they are the men of the city, and spiritual fathers to their families. What respect! He is trying to draw them with love, even when they are going to kill him he is still drawing them with love. The power of his words caused a hush for his testimony to be heard. We need to use the power of our speech to draw others, not drive them away.

  32. 3 I am verily a man which am a Jew, born in Tarsus, a city in Cilicia, yet brought up in this city at the feet of Gamaliel, and taught according to the perfect manner of the law of the fathers, and was zealous toward God, as ye all are this day.

    4 And I persecuted this way unto the death, binding and delivering into prisons both men and women.

    Paul starts telling the people his story. As he spoke in this chapter I couldn’t help to think on that song; ” look what the Lord has done” I may have been this type of person or in bondage by sin or sickness….but look what the Lord has done!? The Lord continues to write our stories and like Paul, we too should allow that light of Jesus to transform us in build us up till we reach our destiny.

  33. In this scripture many things occurred here, like the following verses, but Saul was converted by experience with the Lord. He was blinded by the shear brightness of Jesus’s Glory. But, noticed how he was commanded by the Lord, to be led to the city. A Good Man, a Godly Man, with a great reputation laid hands on him to give him his sight. See the correlation here, it took a Man of God to help him to his vision. Then Paul was in a trance, and a vision of the Lord had occurred. “Vision”……………………..

    17 And it came to pass, that, when I was come again to Jerusalem, even while I prayed in the temple, I was in a trance;

    18 And saw him saying unto me, Make haste, and get thee quickly out of Jerusalem: for they will not receive thy testimony concerning me.

    “Keep your vision”……………………………………………………..

  34. 16 “now why delay? Get up and be baptized, and wah away your sins by calling on His name.”
    Who is this “His” that Paul is recounting of? It’s Jesus!!

Leave a Reply

