Acts Chapter 25

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 7

Acts 25

1 Now when Festus was come into the province, after three days he ascended from Caesarea to Jerusalem.

2 Then the high priest and the chief of the Jews informed him against Paul, and besought him,

3 And desired favour against him, that he would send for him to Jerusalem, laying wait in the way to kill him.

4 But Festus answered, that Paul should be kept at Caesarea, and that he himself would depart shortly thither.

5 Let them therefore, said he, which among you are able, go down with me, and accuse this man, if there be any wickedness in him.

6 And when he had tarried among them more than ten days, he went down unto Caesarea; and the next day sitting on the judgment seat commanded Paul to be brought.

7 And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.

8 While he answered for himself, Neither against the law of the Jews, neither against the temple, nor yet against Caesar, have I offended any thing at all.

9 But Festus, willing to do the Jews a pleasure, answered Paul, and said, Wilt thou go up to Jerusalem, and there be judged of these things before me?

10 Then said Paul, I stand at Caesar’s judgment seat, where I ought to be judged: to the Jews have I done no wrong, as thou very well knowest.

11 For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die: but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar.

12 Then Festus, when he had conferred with the council, answered, Hast thou appealed unto Caesar? unto Caesar shalt thou go.

13 And after certain days king Agrippa and Bernice came unto Caesarea to salute Festus.

14 And when they had been there many days, Festus declared Paul’s cause unto the king, saying, There is a certain man left in bonds by Felix:

15 About whom, when I was at Jerusalem, the chief priests and the elders of the Jews informed me, desiring to have judgment against him.

16 To whom I answered, It is not the manner of the Romans to deliver any man to die, before that he which is accused have the accusers face to face, and have licence to answer for himself concerning the crime laid against him.

17 Therefore, when they were come hither, without any delay on the morrow I sat on the judgment seat, and commanded the man to be brought forth.

18 Against whom when the accusers stood up, they brought none accusation of such things as I supposed:

19 But had certain questions against him of their own superstition, and of one Jesus, which was dead, whom Paul affirmed to be alive.

20 And because I doubted of such manner of questions, I asked him whether he would go to Jerusalem, and there be judged of these matters.

21 But when Paul had appealed to be reserved unto the hearing of Augustus, I commanded him to be kept till I might send him to Caesar.

22 Then Agrippa said unto Festus, I would also hear the man myself. To morrow, said he, thou shalt hear him.

23 And on the morrow, when Agrippa was come, and Bernice, with great pomp, and was entered into the place of hearing, with the chief captains, and principal men of the city, at Festus’ commandment Paul was brought forth.

24 And Festus said, King Agrippa, and all men which are here present with us, ye see this man, about whom all the multitude of the Jews have dealt with me, both at Jerusalem, and also here, crying that he ought not to live any longer.

25 But when I found that he had committed nothing worthy of death, and that he himself hath appealed to Augustus, I have determined to send him.

26 Of whom I have no certain thing to write unto my lord. Wherefore I have brought him forth before you, and specially before thee, O king Agrippa, that, after examination had, I might have somewhat to write.

27 For it seemeth to me unreasonable to send a prisoner, and not withal to signify the crimes laid against him.

34 thoughts on “Acts Chapter 25

  1. Charges against us,for Jesus.

    I pray that we will not be unworthy for Jesus. That we will always make a stand for JESUS. What a good Lord. Jesus is the best friend anybody could have. When man says “NO!!!”JESUS says yes. Do I say yes Lord? YES LORD. I’ve found myself in a place where I’ve been in a situation before when this has happened to me. When religious people said No…Jesus says yes.

    Don’t mistake me I love all people but they don’t always have the right answers. Only God has the right answers because He’s perfect in all things.

    I love my brothers and sisters. I pray that there’s no war in God’s family

    But in the prayer room instead.

    Thankyou Lord. I love You…JESUS.

  2. Verses 10-11 MSG “Paul answered, “I’m standing at this moment before Caesar’s bar of justice, where I have a perfect right to stand. And I’m going to keep standing here. I’ve done nothing wrong to the Jews, and you know it as well as I do. If I’ve committed a crime and deserve death, name the day. I can face it. But if there’s nothing to their accusations—and you know there isn’t—nobody can force me to go along with their nonsense. We’ve fooled around here long enough. I appeal to Caesar.” Once again as in the previous chapter, Paul stands his ground and speaks Truth. Paul could have done a number of things to try and get out of this trouble he was in; but, he knew God (Truth) was on his side.

  3. The enemy will try to take us down b any way possible. That includes false accusation. Too many times Christians are persecuted for things they did not do. One of the enemy’s many tactics is to get us distracted from the real problem at hand, sin. We must as children of God stay focused on being about our father’s business. We cannot allow false accusations to bring us down. God will give us the strength we need to push through anything we might come up against.

  4. 19. Instead they had some points of controversy with him about their own religion or superstition and concerning one Jesus, Who had died but Whom Paul kept asserting over and over to be alive. AMP

    We need to follow Paul’s example and keep asserting over and over until everyone knows that Jesus is alive!

  5. I APPEAL

    11 For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die: but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar.

    The apostle knew his destiny was Jerusalem and refused to settle for anything less. He made appeal to a higher court. Likewise as Apostolic believers we are poised and positioned to appeal to JESUS the King of Kings and Lord of Lords. Knowing our destination is HIS Kingdom we should refuse to settle for anything less.

    Everything with prayer and supplication.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  6. iLove to eat More Word

    7And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.

    The enemy will always bring lying accusations that he cannot prove. The Bible calls him the accuser of the brothers. We must always examine ourselves to make sure we do not bring accusations against folks without proof. Then when we have proof, Paul says later in 1 Corinthians 6:7 that we should suffer the wrong of someone doing us wrong instead of taking them before the courts.

  7. 24 And Festus said, King Agrippa, and all men which are here present with us, ye see this man, about whom all the multitude of the Jews have dealt with me, both at Jerusalem, and also here, crying that he ought not to live any longer.

    25 But when I found that he had committed nothing worthy of death, and that he himself hath appealed to Augustus, I have determined to send him.

    When everyone is against us God can still give us favor in the midst of accusation

  8. Let them therefore, said he, which among you are able, go down with me, and accuse this man, if there be any wickedness in him. (‭Acts‬ ‭25‬:‭5‬ KJV)

    For it seemeth to me unreasonable to send a prisoner, and not withal to signify the crimes laid against him. (‭Acts‬ ‭25‬:‭27‬ KJV)

    Sounds to much like Kim Davis.

  9. 19 But had certain questions against him of their own superstition, and of one Jesus, which was dead, whom Paul affirmed to be alive.

    As the world claims Jesus as “dead” we need to be louder than them in claiming that our God is alive!! And never stop until the whole world knows!!

  10. 7And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.
    The Devil is a Lie!! The enemy’s job is always to lie and to falsely accuse the people of God. But no matter what the enemy says let God be true and every man a lair!! If you know the truth stand by the truth and the truth will always prevail! The truth can stand alone no matter what anyone says.

  11. 11 For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die: but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar.

    12 Then Festus, when he had conferred with the council, answered, Hast thou appealed unto Caesar? unto Caesar shalt thou go.

    Paul knew the law better than most and knew that he had not broken any laws only appealed unto higher courts to witness to Caesar. We can rest assured God has got our back and will always defend us at any cost.

  12. The Truth Will ALWAYS BE LOUDER!!!!!!

    24 And Festus said, King Agrippa, and all men which are here present with us, ye see this man, about whom all the multitude of the Jews have dealt with me, both at Jerusalem, and also here, crying that he ought not to live any longer.
    25 But when I found that he had committed nothing worthy of death, and that he himself hath appealed to Augustus, I have determined to send him.
    26 Of whom I have no certain thing to write unto my lord. Wherefore I have brought him forth before you, and specially before thee, O king Agrippa, that, after examination had, I might have somewhat to write.
    27 For it seemeth to me unreasonable to send a prisoner, and not withal to signify the crimes laid against him.

    My sweet Dad always taught me that it did not matter what people thought about you, for at the end if you were right the TRUTH WILL SPEAK LOUDER. He used to say that the Truth as the Trumpets will always sound louder than any other instrument in the band. He will tell me not to worry about what other people said or thought about me as long as I was speaking the truth all I had to do was wait. Gossip and murmuring does not take you anywhere. God is truth and only truth, that is where we stand. You can go through the fire, and not burn, through the waters and not drown as long as you hold on to HIM and HIS Truth. Proverbs 23:23 Buy the truth, and sell it not; also wisdom, and instruction, and understanding. THANK YOU JESUS FOR THEY WILL NOT FIND WITH WHAT TO ACCUSE PAUL NOTHING WORTH OF DYING FOR. IN JESUS NAME AMEN.

  13. Acts 25:10 (NLT)
    10 But Paul replied, “No! This is the official Roman court, so I ought to be tried right here. You know very well I am not guilty of harming the Jews.

    Sometimes we have to realize that the reason people are coming against us is not rational. Jesus said we would be hated of all men for his sake. We must keep in mind that it really isn’t about us like Pastor says.

  14. Acts 25:7
    “And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.”

    Like Paul, we as the children of God, are targets for false accusations, especially by the accuser of the brethren, the devil. (Rev. 12:10)
    But Jesus is our defense. He is our defender, and he will protect and save the upright in heart. (Ps. 7:10)
    Remember “No weapon formed against you shall prosper.”

  15. 19 But had certain questions against him of their own superstition, and of one Jesus, which was dead, whom Paul affirmed to be alive.

    I am he that liveth, and was dead; and, behold, I am alive for evermore, Amen; and have the keys of hell and of death. (Rev1:18)

    You know God died for us that we may live and he bore all of are sins and on the 3rd day he arose let me tell yall something my gods not dead he is “DEFINITALY ” alive

  16. 26 Of whom I have no certain thing to write unto my lord. Wherefore I have brought him forth before you, and specially before thee, O king Agrippa, that, after examination had, I might have somewhat to write.
    27 For it seemeth to me unreasonable to send a prisoner, and not withal to signify the crimes laid against him.

  17. 3 And desired favour against him, that he would send for him to Jerusalem, laying wait in the way to kill him.

    4 But Festus answered, that Paul should be kept at Caesarea, and that he himself would depart shortly thither.

    When the devil tried to twist the course of things to make it go in his favor, he ran into a big stumbling block: God’s favor. God was with Paul and he gave him favor against the people plotting to kill him, the King kept him at Caesarea when he could have easily been brought right into the hands of the enemy. But God didn’t allow it, because he was on his side and he is on our side too!

  18. 6 And when he had tarried among them more than ten days, he went down unto Caesarea; and the next day sitting on the judgment seat commanded Paul to be brought.

    The judgment seat is to explain a person’s life and see if they are guilty of what they are accused of. The person sitting in this seat is hailed in high regards because of there position. Yet the seat of judgement here on earth cannot over power the judgment seat we will all face when Christ returns.

    People will try their best to sit themselves on the seat of judgement and convict us of things that go against our life in Christ. These people hold their own selves in high regards. It is important that we maintain our integrity and allow our lives, to show we are not guilty of anything but worshipping God.

  19. 14 And when they had been there many days, Festus declared Paul’s cause unto the king, saying, There is a certain man left in bonds by Felix:

    15 About whom, when I was at Jerusalem, the chief priests and the elders of the Jews informed me, desiring to have judgment against him……..

    22Then Agripa said unto Festus, I would also hear the man myself. To morrow, said he, thou shalt hear him.

    23 And on the morrow, when Agrippa was come, and Bernice, with great pomp, and was entered into the place of hearing, with the chief captains, and principal men of the city, at Festus’ commandment Paul was brought forth.

    We see here that despite all the accusations there is nothing they can prove against Paul. Even the Romans who have Paul detained find nothing worthy of death or bonds for Paul… Why then isn’t Paul released? Is it because Festus is a people pleaser and is feeding his pride with the accusing Jews? Or is it simply God’s word and prophesy being fulfilled..?

    The Lord had said on chapter 9 of the book of Acts, as he convinced Ananias to go and pray for Paul that he may receive his sight and be filled with the Holy Ghost, that he was a chosen vessel and would bear the name of the Lord Jesus before kings. Even kings get to hear the gospel and message of salvation of our Lord Jesus Christ. Paul went before Rulers of people, rulers of tribes, high priests and those in authority, Gentiles, Greeks and now kings… We can rest assure that whatever promise, word or prophesy from the Lord will be fulfilled. Perhaps we might not understand the process of we get there, but in the end God’s word will stand and be fulfilled.

    “But the Lord said unto him, Go thy way: for he is a chosen vessel unto me, to bear my name before the Gentiles, and kings, and the children of Israel: For I will shew him how great things he must suffer for my name’s sake.”

    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭9:15-16‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    http://bible.com/1/act.9.15-16.kjv

  20. 11 For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die: but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar.

    Paul spoke boldly to authority figures and rulers. He had no shame in what he said not to whom he was speaking. He was confident in his walk with God and his actions. He was willing to die, but he knew he was innocent of the claims against him. We need to have the confidence of Paul. As the world spins wildly out of control Gods people need to be rooted and confident in His truth.

  21. this passage of scripture is teaching us how to really pray. Pastor touched on it the other night in saying that we must appeal to the high court of Jesus. The highest court is at the throne of Jesus. Paul was going through hell at this point in his life. He was being accused of those that he used to be called brother to. He was being beaten and inprisined for something that was undeniably true, especially to him after having experienced such a miracle at Demascus. Now he’s finding himself up against the wall. Paul realizes and makes the declaration to be heard by Ceasar because no one in this setting could over rule his judgement. Paul knows that once Ceasar speaks, wheat he rut be good or bad for him, it is it. Paul is getting himself ready for what he knows is coming regardless. We find ourselves in this situation sometimes in our lives. the place where your backed up against a wall, no where to turn, all your options have been extenquished, and there is only one thing left to do.take it before the one that sits on the throne high above all others and let him have the final say. God puts us in and sometimes lets us get into positions that we cannot figure our way out of. There is a song that has these lyrics” will you let me drown.” The answer is NO, he will not! My life has been one of these kinds of hell lately, but I choose to put it into the hands of the only one that can really make a difference at this point and trust that he is the only just God. I am appealing to Jesus! My rock in unstable ground, my help when there is no help, my answer when there is no answer, my hope when there is no hope, my reward when there is no reward, my salvation when all is lost. Times like this is what lets you see how much you truly need Jesus.

  22. “And desired favour against him, that he would send for him to Jerusalem, laying wait in the way to kill him.” They were deceptive and were being used by the deceiver (satan), which was doing all he could to stop the word of God (Jesus) from being spread. One should be cautious of anyone or anything that would stand in the way of spreading or hearing the word of God. Dear God, reveal deceptiveness so that I may not fall in the snares of the deceiver; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In God we trust”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  23. “For it makes no sense to send a prisoner to the emperor without specifying the charges against him!””
    ‭‭Acts of the Apostles‬ ‭25:27‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    We have an incredible God!!!! Just like in this chapter…in this verse Festus is trying to find something guilty about Paul, BUT when God steps in the situation….they can’t find anything. Just like we have had miracles in The Pentecostals of Fort Worth and the doctors replying back, “we can’t seem to find out what’s wrong, we can’t find anything.” When God steps in you better watch and see because you just might miss the amazing work of God! Stay on board with God!!!

  24. “When Paul came in, the Jews who had come down from Jerusalem stood around him. They brought many serious charges against him, but they could not prove them.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭25:7‬ ‭NIV

    If you’re doing the will of the Lord and following his commandments then you have nothing to worry about when your enemy circles you. With God you’re victorious and there is nothing they can do to keep you down

  25. Claudette:
    7And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.

    The devil is a liar!!!! People that envy you will try to do anything to crush your dreams. The devil will do anything to make you go thru a storm a storm so you can get distracted and be down and look down, but my Jesus is great and might. Don’t let the storm cause you to leave your dreams behind because we can do ALL things through Christ who strengths me! Jesus is my Rock and NOTHING is going to stop me from serving my Lord Jesus!!! I can’t do anything without you Jesus!!!

    Valentin:
    7 And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.

    We try to be politically correct in a lot of things that we speak to be careful and not offend anyone around us. But we also try to do this when we preach the gospel to others. The bible is very explicit about what is sin and what is the penalty about it. Many times we bite our tongue and not speak the whole truth because we are concerned about other people feelings. Allegations against Paul were brought before the rulers for his demonstrative devotion to preaching the Word. When we speak the Word of God we must not be afraid to be spoken evil of when preaching the truth of the Word because the Word will stand for itself. Nothing could be held against Paul because he spoke nothing else but the truth.

  26. In other words, “Not Guilty”………..but Paul’s request to be heard by Ceasar had pushed him for further judgement.

    25 But when I found that he had committed nothing worthy of death, and that he himself hath appealed to Augustus, I have determined to send him.

    “Stay Safe”……………………………………………………………………………

  27. 11 For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die: but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar.

    Paul was submitted and obedient. He stated “I refuse not to die” He was accepting of the punishment, IF he deserved it. Paul was a great example of submission, even though he didn’t agree with his imprisonment, he was respectful and obedient of what he was asked.

    Submission begins when Obedience ends.

    Ephesians 6:6-8 (KJV) Servants, be obedient to them that are your masters according to the flesh, with fear and trembling, in singleness of your heart, as unto Christ; Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart; With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men: Knowing that whatsoever good thing any man doeth, the same shall he receive of the Lord, whether he be bond or free.

  28. Acts 25:23 The next day Agrippa and Bernice came with free pomp and entered the audience room with the high ranking military officers and the prominent men of the city. At the command of Festus, Paul was brought in . Festus said King Agrippa and all who are present with us you see this man! The whole Jewish community has petitioned me about him in Jerusalem and here in Caesarea shouting that he ought not to live any longer. I found that he done nothing deserving of death but because he has appeal to the Emperor I decided to sent him to Rome.

  29. Paul did not live in ignorance in his rights as a Roman citizen. God made him a smart man that allowed him some protection againist the angry Jews who most likely would have accussed him for many more trival things. God gives us protection in His gifts. Use them wisely.

  30. 11 For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die: but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar paul was submitted

  31. “And when he had tarried among them more than ten days, he went down unto Caesarea; and the next day sitting on the judgment seat commanded Paul to be brought. And when he was come, the Jews which came down from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭25:6-7‬ ‭KJV‬‬
    http://bible.com/1/act.25.6-7.kjv

    All because he witnessed to others. I wonder how many of the church today would be willing to sit in prison for days just because the witness to others. I know in other countries this happens, but in America we are relaxed in our position and don’t worry about that. I wonder if there is a day coming where all over he world we might get thrown in jail/prison just for telling people about Jesus.

Leave a Reply

