Acts Chapter 26

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 8

Acts 26

1 Then Agrippa said unto Paul, Thou art permitted to speak for thyself. Then Paul stretched forth the hand, and answered for himself:

2 I think myself happy, king Agrippa, because I shall answer for myself this day before thee touching all the things whereof I am accused of the Jews:

3 Especially because I know thee to be expert in all customs and questions which are among the Jews: wherefore I beseech thee to hear me patiently.

4 My manner of life from my youth, which was at the first among mine own nation at Jerusalem, know all the Jews;

5 Which knew me from the beginning, if they would testify, that after the most straitest sect of our religion I lived a Pharisee.

6 And now I stand and am judged for the hope of the promise made of God, unto our fathers:

7 Unto which promise our twelve tribes, instantly serving God day and night, hope to come. For which hope’s sake, king Agrippa, I am accused of the Jews.

8 Why should it be thought a thing incredible with you, that God should raise the dead?

9 I verily thought with myself, that I ought to do many things contrary to the name of Jesus of Nazareth.

10 Which thing I also did in Jerusalem: and many of the saints did I shut up in prison, having received authority from the chief priests; and when they were put to death, I gave my voice against them.

11 And I punished them oft in every synagogue, and compelled them to blaspheme; and being exceedingly mad against them, I persecuted them even unto strange cities.

12 Whereupon as I went to Damascus with authority and commission from the chief priests,

13 At midday, O king, I saw in the way a light from heaven, above the brightness of the sun, shining round about me and them which journeyed with me.

14 And when we were all fallen to the earth, I heard a voice speaking unto me, and saying in the Hebrew tongue, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me? it is hard for thee to kick against the pricks.

15 And I said, Who art thou, Lord? And he said, I am Jesus whom thou persecutest.

16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

19 Whereupon, O king Agrippa, I was not disobedient unto the heavenly vision:

20 But shewed first unto them of Damascus, and at Jerusalem, and throughout all the coasts of Judaea, and then to the Gentiles, that they should repent and turn to God, and do works meet for repentance.

21 For these causes the Jews caught me in the temple, and went about to kill me.

22 Having therefore obtained help of God, I continue unto this day, witnessing both to small and great, saying none other things than those which the prophets and Moses did say should come:

23 That Christ should suffer, and that he should be the first that should rise from the dead, and should shew light unto the people, and to the Gentiles.

24 And as he thus spake for himself, Festus said with a loud voice, Paul, thou art beside thyself; much learning doth make thee mad.

25 But he said, I am not mad, most noble Festus; but speak forth the words of truth and soberness.

26 For the king knoweth of these things, before whom also I speak freely: for I am persuaded that none of these things are hidden from him; for this thing was not done in a corner.

27 King Agrippa, believest thou the prophets? I know that thou believest.

28 Then Agrippa said unto Paul, Almost thou persuadest me to be a Christian.

29 And Paul said, I would to God, that not only thou, but also all that hear me this day, were both almost, and altogether such as I am, except these bonds.

30 And when he had thus spoken, the king rose up, and the governor, and Bernice, and they that sat with them:

31 And when they were gone aside, they talked between themselves, saying, This man doeth nothing worthy of death or of bonds.

32 Then said Agrippa unto Festus, This man might have been set at liberty, if he had not appealed unto Caesar.

39 thoughts on “Acts Chapter 26

  1. Paul knew clearly what his mission was, and he knew exactly the plan of God in his life. We need to know the exacts about our lives as well so we can be effective for the building of the body of Christ Jesus. So, we must endure to press on to find our place or who we are in Christ Jesus. “We need a personal Revelation”……….

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    19 Whereupon, O king Agrippa, I was not disobedient unto the heavenly vision:

    20 But shewed first unto them of Damascus, and at Jerusalem, and throughout all the coasts of Judaea, and then to the Gentiles, that they should repent and turn to God, and do works meet for repentance.

    Paul’s testimony almost persuaded the King to become a Christian, so don’t underestimate your own personal testimony. Our testimony has power, and Satan knows this so he tries everything to keep us silent. “For he is defeated by the blood of the lamb, and the word of our testimony.”

    “Testify”………………………………………………………………………………………..

  2. Verses 17-20 MSG “I’m sending you off to open the eyes of the outsiders so they can see the difference between dark and light, and choose light, see the difference between Satan and God, and choose God. I’m sending you off to present my offer of sins forgiven, and a place in the family, inviting them into the company of those who begin real living by believing in me.’ “What could I do, King Agrippa? I couldn’t just walk away from a vision like that! I became an obedient believer on the spot. I started preaching this life-change—this radical turn to God and everything it meant in everyday life—right there in Damascus, went on to Jerusalem and the surrounding countryside, and from there to the whole world.” Don’t walk away from your vision! Your life, your change, your real living is a testimony in itself. So many lives (without us even realizing it) are hanging in the balance of our decisions; so, choose light and choose God!

  3. 8. Why would any of you think it is absurd to have hope that God raises the dead?

    9. As you know, we’re talking specifically about Jesus of Nazareth. For a long time, I was convinced that I should work against that name. Voice

    I can just imagine the conversation going something like this:

    We have hope that God raises the dead; we’re talking about Jesus…
    I thought we were talking about God…
    We are…
    But you said Jesus….
    That’s His name, the one I persecuted…

  4. Self JOY!!!!

    2 I think myself happy, king Agrippa, because I shall answer for myself this day before thee touching all the things whereof I am accused of the Jews:

    It is so simple, to be JOYFUL!!! We all know that that it is one of the Fruits of the Spirits, so if you have the Holy Ghost it should be that simple to think yourself HAPPY!!!!

    1 Samuel 30:6 And David was greatly distressed; for the people spake of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved, every man for his sons and for his daughters: but David encouraged himself in the LORD his God.

    We all have our moments of distress but the most important thing is to encourage ourselves in the Lord. How, you may ask?? Reading His word daily, holding to His promises that are yeah and amen. John 6:63 It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

    Philippians 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

    So when you awake in the morning, pray, read the word, and pray again, make a conscious decision to be Happy, Joyful, and full of His Spirit. In Jesus Name AMEN.

  5. 19 Whereupon, O king Agrippa, I was not disobedient unto the heavenly vision:

    God has called us all to work and be a part of His kingdom. We all have a calling, it’s just up to us if we chose to be obedient and do, or not.

  6. ILove to eat more Word
    ““I am fortunate, King Agrippa, that you are the one hearing my defense today against all these accusations made by the Jewish leaders,”
    ‭‭Acts of the Apostles‬ ‭26:2‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Paul looked forward to being accountable and give his account on the situation. Accountability is the key that opens the door to a good conscience

  7. 16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    We are all called and chosen.

    To Rise and Stand To Our Feet
    Minister and Witness
    Open Eyes
    Turn Darkness into Light
    Leading Others To Jesus Christ

  8. 18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    Turning people from darkness and into the light, that is our goal when we try to bring people to Christ. We cannot make a choice for them in how they should live. But if we can show them the darkness they are bound by, (sin), then we turn them towards the light, then God can work on their hearts and he’ll do rest. We just need to bring them to a place where they can see the light

  9. 16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    We are called men and women of God, to go out and minister and witness to others, and to compel them into the house of God. But we cannot just simply stop when they walk through those doors! We have to show ourselves friendly to them, pray with them, show them the light and the pathway out of darkness, show them the spirit of forgiveness and how God died for them so they could be set free. So no just because they walk through those doors does not mean their soul is saved, it takes a church to help them get there!!

  10. 16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    He thought I was worth saving so he came and changed my life so I could tell everyone I know

  11. WHEN ON TRIAL, ASK A QUESTION

    6 And now I stand and am judged for the hope of the promise made of God, unto our fathers:
    7 Unto which promise our twelve tribes, instantly serving God day and night, hope to come. For which hope’s sake, king Agrippa, I am accused of the Jews.
    8 Why should it be thought a thing incredible with you, that God should raise the dead?

    The LORD reveals a powerful principal here in regards to how to be on trial.

    1. Acknowledge the charges.
    (Judged for the HOPE of the promise made of GOD.)

    2. Share the history.
    (Unto which promise our twelve tribes, instantly serving God day and night.)

    3. Ask a heart convicting question.
    (Why should it be thought a thing incredible with you, that God should raise the dead?)

    Paul knew that he was to die for the cause of Christ, however he refused to die with attempting to convert at least one more soul.

    iPray the LORD JESUS baptize us with this unwavering commitment to GOD to reach the lost of our world for the name of JESUS.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGIve
    iReap

  12. Acts 26:21-22
    21) For these causes the Jews caught me in the temple, and went about to kill me.
    22) Having therefore obtained help of God, I continue unto this day, witnessing both to small and great, saying none other things than those which the prophets and Moses did say should come.”

    Because God helped Paul (protected and delivered him from the hands of his enemies), he was able to continue to be a witness for Him.
    When we are doing the will of God, he will help us too.

    Heb 13:6, “So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”
    Ps. 121:2, “My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.”
    Ps. 124:8, “Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.”

    Our help comes from JESUS!

  13. Acts 26: 19 So then Agrippa I was not disobedient to the vision for heaven. First to those in Damascus then to those in Jerusalem and in all Judea and then to the Gentiles, I preached that they should repent and turn to God and demonstrate their repentance by their deeds. That is why some Jews seized me in the temple courts and tried to kill me. But God has helped me to this very day so I stand here and testify to small and great alike.

  14. 24Suddenly, Festus shouted, “Paul, you are insane. Too much study has made you crazy!”

    By studying, we should get smarter, more wisdom and receive understanding of the word. But now Paul is being told he is crazy for studying. The unrighteousness will say ‘you only read the bible’ and not science books. I wound be glad and accept being called crazy for studying the bible.

  15. 13 At midday, O king, I saw in the way a light from heaven, above the brightness of the sun, shining round about me and them which journeyed with me.

    14 And when we were all fallen to the earth, I heard a voice speaking unto me, and saying in the Hebrew tongue, Saul, Saul, why persecutest thou me? it is hard for thee to kick against the pricks.

    15 And I said, Who art thou, Lord? And he said, I am Jesus whom thou persecutest.

    16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    19 Whereupon, O king Agrippa, I was not disobedient unto the heavenly vision:

    20 But shewed first unto them of Damascus, and at Jerusalem, and throughout all the coasts of Judaea, and then to the Gentiles, that they should repent and turn to God, and do works meet for repentance.
    Paul was given a vision from God to be a witness go out to the highways and byways and save the lost. Paul finally realized that persecuting the saints of the most high was wrong, so he went and obeyed God. Im pretty sure they were one’s trying to figure out what God is doing why is God using them, look at their pass, Or Im more capable to do that well if you were God would of pleced you there. Stay in Gods plan his plans are always better than our plans!!

  16. 8. Why should it be thought a thing incredible with you, that God should raise the dead?

    Why does it seems so far fetched that God should raise the dead? Many people struggle with having faith that God can bring about even a small change in circumstance, let alone such a dynamic one. I urge you, if you struggle with this, then to pray and ask God to help you strengthen your faith. You’ll need it in the times to come.

  17. Speak for yourself

    “Then Agrippa said unto Paul, Thou art permitted to speak for thyself. Then Paul stretched forth the hand, and answered for himself: I think myself happy, king Agrippa, because I shall answer for myself this day before thee touching all the things whereof I am accused of the Jews:”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭26:1-2‬

    What is the importance of the same phrase being spoken three times in two verses? Some people become very annoyed, and perhaps even offended, when they are questioned about thier motives for speaking their minds. Likely, Agrippa had heard many testimonies in his time as King. Also just as likley many people wind up telling on themselves through this testimony and the inability to keep various lies from over lapping and revealing the truth. It could be Agrippa was applying this same technique with Paul.

    Whenever people want you to think a certain way, it’s because it benefits them in some way. But that benefit is not always obvious or direct.
    Sometimes people want you to adopt their perspective because it makes them feel more comfortable and secure. Paul knew of Agrippas knowledge of Jewish laws and theories. He used this knowledge to his benefit. Can we be more productive in our conversations if we utilize knowledge of a situation; of course.

    The differnce is the way we communicate. If we stand before someone and boast of mass amounts of knowledge and poke fun at the listeners lack of knowledge; likely our words (whether good or bad) will fall on deaf ears. However, if we present ourselves humbly and honestly we might be ablt to impact someones life.

  18. 26 For the king knoweth of these things, before whom also I speak freely: for I am persuaded that none of these things are hidden from him; for this thing was not done in a corner.

    When Gods work isn’t hidden it is taken not of by others around us including those in authority. We can’t be accused of something we didn’t do when we do things openly. When we hide things We raise suspicion of our actions. Let this light shine!

  19. 17 “‘I’m sending you off 18 to open the eyes of the outsiders so they can see the difference between dark and light, and choose light, see the difference between Satan and God, and choose God. I’m sending you off to present my offer of sins forgiven, and a place in the family, inviting them into the company of those who begin real living by believing in me. MSG

    It’s time for us a whole to be a light to the world, there are hungry people out there that want we have. Sometimes all you gotta do is just live the life for Jesus and people will notice that you are different. I had a co worker come up to me and ask me when our church services were and I told them and ask you going to come visit us? We work with hungry souls that are watching us. Be positive and spread the world of the Lord don’t be a hindered be a helper.

  20. 22 Having therefore obtained help of God, I continue unto this day, witnessing both to small and great, saying none other things than those which the prophets and Moses did say should come:

    If we will ask the Lord to guide us and make us sensitive to Him, He will place us in situations to witness to both great and small needs and minister in those situations.

  21. Prepared For Promise

    6 And now I stand and am judged for the hope of the promise made of God, unto our fathers:

    7 Unto which promise our twelve tribes, instantly serving God day and night, hope to come. For which hope’s sake, king Agrippa, I am accused of the Jews.

    Preparing for the promises of God means more than simply believing that He is both faithful and able to fulfill those promise; we must add works to our faith so that we are ready when the time comes. It’s like praying for rain but planting no crops to receive it. We may believe our harvest is coming but what have we done to prepare for when God blesses us? Just as rain will come and go and cannot be kept away for a better day, there are opportunities and resources we will miss if we do not prepare and make ourselves ready for when God visits us to fulfill His promises.

    Matthew 25:1-3
    1Then shall the kingdom of heaven be likened unto ten virgins, which took their lamps, and went forth to meet the bridegroom.

    2 And five of them were wise, and five were foolish.

    3 They that were foolish took their lamps, and took no oil with them:

  22. 22 Having therefore obtained help of God, I continue unto this day, witnessing both to small and great, saying none other things than those which the prophets and Moses did say should come:
    23 That Christ should suffer, and that he should be the first that should rise from the dead, and should shew light unto the people, and to the Gentiles.
    my bible has a reference to Isaiah 52:13-53:12. This passage is a prophecy of Jesus and how very few would accept Him as the Messiah. He was disfigured, abused, and rejected. Paul knew what he was talking about.

  23. Acts 26:8
    Why is it thought incredible by any of you that God raises the dead?

    Living in a world where society has to see with there own eyes to believe whether God has power to deal with their situation. It is our duty to share our testimonies of how great and powerful our God is and that whatever situation they are going through it’s nothing for God.

  24. Acts 26:18 (NLT)
    18 to open their eyes, so they may turn from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God. Then they will receive forgiveness for their sins and be given a place among God’s people, who are set apart by faith in me.’

    Before anyone can have the opportunity to have their sins forgiven they must have their eyes opened.

    When we tell a blind person something we are looking at it doesn’t matter how well we describe the details it still won’t be like seeing.

    God wants to forgive others but first the scales have to be removed. God miraculously removed the scales from Paul’s eyes. He can do the same thing today.

    We need to pray against the god of this world and bind the one who has blinded the people. Then the scales will fall off.

  25. 16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.
    We are called to be ministers and witness unto the Lord!!!!!

  26. “First to those in Damascus, then to those in Jerusalem and in all Judea, and then to the Gentiles, I preached that they should repent and turn to God and demonstrate their repentance by their deeds.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭26:20‬ ‭NIV‬‬

    Repenting requires action. It’s more than just an “I’m sorry”, you change your life to be more like Christ.

  27. 6 And now I stand and am judged for the hope of the promise made of God, unto our fathers:

    God has given us the promise, and will never break it.

  28. Lord, I need and want the mind of Christ.
    “And as he thus spake for himself, Festus said with a loud voice, Paul, thou art beside thyself; much learning doth make thee mad.”

    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭26:24‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    “But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.”
    ‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭2:14‬ ‭KJV

  29. With Gods help

    21 For these causes the Jews caught me in the temple, and went about to kill me.

    22 Having therefore obtained help of God, I continue unto this day, witnessing both to small and great, saying none other things than those which the prophets and Moses did say should come:

    When our strength runs out we need Gods help. When our words fail to convince we need Gods help. When we are at our wits end we need Gods help. When our backs are up against the wall we need Gods help. So many circumstances in our lives do not have to defeat us. The issue is not the problem, it is the answer that is the problem. With God as the answer it doesn’t matter what question or trial the world has for us, we can just say Jesus! He is the answer

  30. “Then said Agrippa unto Festus, This man might have been set at liberty, if he had not appealed unto Caesar”. All three men Paul (the man of God), Agrippa and Festus demonstrated honor. They (Agrippa and Festus) could have merely tickled ears, been deceptive and did what they wanted, as they had the power; yet they would send Paul to Caesar, as they said they would. One can rest assured God (Jesus) is even more honorable, and shall do all he said he would. Dear God, help me to be honorable; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In God we trust”. What a mighty God we serve! Thank God for his word. God bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  31. 18. To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    This is the very duty of every Christian believer. We are called to take this gospel to every creature and make disciples. We are the light of the world. We need to shine Jesus reflecting from our lives that others may be lead to Him and receive forgiveness of sins.

  32. Invade the enemies camp!

    5 And I said, Who art thou, Lord? And he said, I am Jesus whom thou persecutest.

    16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

    18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.

    Paul is giving an account of how God transformed him and then sent him to invade enemy lines. He took Saul, transformed him, put him back into the enemies camp and told him tp “turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins.”

    Do you see it???

    God brought us out of darkness to invade the darkness around us and destroy the power of Satan from their lives that they may receive forgiveness of sins. Just imagine all the people around you that if you look close enough that was you before Christ came and saved you. Well that is your harvest field tell your testimony and watch the darkness fade and their wickedness fall to the side. In JESUS NAME! Interceed fro them, testify to them, and most of all let your actions lead them to the greatest source of light there ever was, JESUS CHRIST!

  33. 16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

    Paul was a faithful servant of God. He witnessed in Jesus name as time went on the Lird would not

  34. “My manner of life from my youth, which was at the first among mine own nation at Jerusalem, know all the Jews; Which knew me from the beginning, if they would testify, that after the most straitest sect of our religion I lived a Pharisee.”
    ‭‭Acts‬ ‭26:4-5‬ ‭KJV‬‬
    http://bible.com/1/act.26.4-5.kjv
    Paul/Saul grew up in the church. He as taught all about what was going to happen he was so well taught about the church that he as even sent to correct other people’s behaviors. He had a drastic situation caused his life that change. I wonder how many others are out there seeking to do right by God and then he shows them the way? How many more are there that God tells us, “go teach.” ?

  35. “But God has protected me right up to this present time so I can testify to everyone, from the least to the greatest. I teach nothing except what the prophets and Moses said would happen—”
    ‭‭Acts of the Apostles‬ ‭26:22‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    God protected Paul through his walk, we need to continue that relationship with God. Because if He sends us somewhere we know He will protect us, but we must be sensitive to Him and His voice so our flesh doesn’t get in the way.

Leave a Reply

