Genesis Chapter 9

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 20

Genesis 9

1 And God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth.

2 And the fear of you and the dread of you shall be upon every beast of the earth, and upon every fowl of the air, upon all that moveth upon the earth, and upon all the fishes of the sea; into your hand are they delivered.

3 Every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you; even as the green herb have I given you all things.

4 But flesh with the life thereof, which is the blood thereof, shall ye not eat.

5 And surely your blood of your lives will I require; at the hand of every beast will I require it, and at the hand of man; at the hand of every man’s brother will I require the life of man.

6 Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man.

7 And you, be ye fruitful, and multiply; bring forth abundantly in the earth, and multiply therein.

8 And God spake unto Noah, and to his sons with him, saying,

9 And I, behold, I establish my covenant with you, and with your seed after you;

10 And with every living creature that is with you, of the fowl, of the cattle, and of every beast of the earth with you; from all that go out of the ark, to every beast of the earth.

11 And I will establish my covenant with you, neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

12 And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations:

13 I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.

14 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

15 And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

16 And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.

17 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.

18 And the sons of Noah, that went forth of the ark, were Shem, and Ham, and Japheth: and Ham is the father of Canaan.

19 These are the three sons of Noah: and of them was the whole earth overspread.

20 And Noah began to be an husbandman, and he planted a vineyard:

21 And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent.

22 And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.

23 And Shem and Japheth took a garment, and laid it upon both their shoulders, and went backward, and covered the nakedness of their father; and their faces were backward, and they saw not their father’s nakedness.

24 And Noah awoke from his wine, and knew what his younger son had done unto him.

25 And he said, Cursed be Canaan; a servant of servants shall he be unto his brethren.

26 And he said, Blessed be the Lord God of Shem; and Canaan shall be his servant.

27 God shall enlarge Japheth, and he shall dwell in the tents of Shem; and Canaan shall be his servant.

28 And Noah lived after the flood three hundred and fifty years.

29 And all the days of Noah were nine hundred and fifty years: and he died.

37 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 9

  1. The end of verse 7 MSG says “…..You’re here to bear fruit, reproduce, lavish life on the Earth, live bountifully!” This made me think of not only multiplying in number; but, in every aspect of our lives (financially, spiritually, mentally, etc). Grow, grow, grow!!!!

    The rest of the chapter made me think of the most beautiful and vibrant rainbow that I was blessed to see. We were coming home from one of our many trips to Lubbock and it had been raining really, really heavy on our way home. As it was getting dark, I saw this rainbow that was like none I had ever seen….the colors were so luminous, it was breathtaking. My God is sooo awesome…..just remember next time you see a rainbow; God is thinking about the eternal covenant between Him and everything living!

  2. Yes, I am confirming my covenant with you. Never again will floodwaters kill all living creatures; never again will a flood destroy the earth.” Then God said, “I am giving you a sign of my covenant with you and with all living creatures, for all generations to come. I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth. When I send clouds over the earth, the rainbow will appear in the clouds, and I will remember my covenant with you and with all living creatures. Never again will the floodwaters destroy all life. When I see the rainbow in the clouds, I will remember the eternal covenant between God and every living creature on earth.” Then God said to Noah, “Yes, this rainbow is the sign of the covenant I am confirming with all the creatures on earth.” (‭Genesis‬ ‭9‬:‭11-17‬ NLT)

    How can any man want to change the real significance of the rainbow that GOD CREATED?!
    As it says it’s an eternal covenant that He is reminded of between God and man.

    There is real life in Him alone, why have it any other way.

  3. iLove to eat the Word

    Genesis 9:18-19 NLT The sons of Noah who came out of the boat with their father were Shem, Ham, and Japheth. (Ham is the father of Canaan.) (19) From these three sons of Noah came all the people who now populate the earth.

    Once again, the Word of God is clear that we are all related in this world. The only thing that separates one from another is the way we act. 22 And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.

    We should never be a talebearer, but we should help the other person get covered by lending a helping hand.

  4. THE CURSE OF GOSSIP

    20 And Noah began to be an husbandman, and he planted a vineyard:
    21 And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent.
    22 And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.
    23 And Shem and Japheth took a garment, and laid it upon both their shoulders, and went backward, and covered the nakedness of their father; and their faces were backward, and they saw not their father’s nakedness.
    24 And Noah awoke from his wine, and knew what his younger son had done unto him.
    25 And he said, Cursed be Canaan; a servant of servants shall he be unto his brethren.

    It is very unfortunate that Noah allowed himself to fall into this backslidden condition. However we don’t read of judgement on Noah, only his son, Ham. This does not suggest that what Noah did was acceptable, however it does mean that Ham was a victim and a gossiper.

    Noah was a man of respect. He obeyed GOD to the saving of his family. According to the details we have about this unfortunate situation we should consider.

    1. It is challenging to work around sinful influences and fall into sin.
    2. If you drink alcohol, you subject yourself to ignorant acts.
    3. Noah was in his own tent.
    4. Ham should have prayed for his father.
    5. Not everything you see is to be told.
    6. Elders are wise in their approach to their authority.
    7. Love covers a multitude of sin, but you cannot retrieve gossip.

    The curse of gossip is that you cannot be trusted with authority. Ham was cursed, not by GOD, but by his father. We are wise to understand that if we see a wrong, GOD has already seen it.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  5. Animals were giving plants for food only know after the flood are living creatures were giving fiendish. With the single condition that the blood not eaten with the flesh. This is consistent with the small number of animals lived on vegetation rather than meat .

  6. The Real Meaning of the Rainbow

    11 And I will establish my covenant with you, neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

    12 And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations:

    13 I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.

    14 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

    15 And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

    16 And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.

    17 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.

    18 And the sons of Noah, that went forth of the ark, were Shem, and Ham, and Japheth: and Ham is the father of Canaan.

    Such a beautiful promise and its significance has been warped by society. God has been so good to us and it drives me crazy that there still people walking this Earth not wanting God. The same God that created the earth, made it a paradise for men, and when we disobeyed He still looked after us, clothed us, and cared for us. The same God that spoke with Noah and found grace enough to save him and his family. This same God wrapped himself in flesh, came to earth to save humanity one more time, enduring temptations, humiliations, and physical pain. Shedding every drop of blood, going to hell for 3 days, taking the keys of the gates of hell, and getting the Victory for you and me. That God is Jesus Christ, my Lord and Savior and I can only pray that people’s eyes could be open, that their stone heart could be made flesh, and that the emptiness and void in their heart can ONLY BE FILLED BY JESUS FOR HE IS THE ONLY WAY, THE TRUTH, AND THE LIGHT!!!!!!

  7. The Rainbow

    In thinking about it this morning, I come to realize that when we see a rainbow the sun is to our backs; mostly. To see the rainbow we have to have the proper alignment between the sun and the raindrops.

    How does this apply to our lives? “17 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.”

    So, again, with proper alignment we can see rainbows. When we see a rainbow, does not mean everyone can see it. There are mathematical algorithms that describe the placement of the sun, rain and viewer that I don’t understand or have to time share here. The most interesting part of the equation that I never realized is the sun is at our back when we can see a rainbow.

    What a great revelation, that we as the viewer must be in proper alignment to see the promise. Proper alignment also applies to all of the promises of God. If we are not in alignment with God through disobedience He is not bound to deliver His promises.

  8. 7: You’re here to bear fruit, reproduce,
    lavish life on the Earth, live bountifully! (msg)

    This is the same truth applied to the church, we should bear fruits of the spirit, reproduce disciples, and lavish His Truth in this world!

  9. 7 And you, be ye fruitful, and multiply; bring forth abundantly in the earth, and multiply therein.
    In verses one and seven Noah and his sons were commanded to be fruitful and multiply and replenish the earth.

    We need to give what we have been given… Be fruitful. And multiply.

  10. 13 I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth. (NLT)

    What a beautiful promise God has made with man and every living thing! Let it be a reminder to us also; we have been blessed to go and replenish the earth with the gospel, let’s do so, so that all may hear of His goodness!

  11. 9 And I, behold, I establish my covenant with you, and with your seed after you;

    The promise of God fulfilling His covenant with Noah after Noah obedience and following what God told him to do, inspire of the mocking from and of the people.

    If God tells us something, we can be assured that HE doesn’t forget it and it will come to pass. Sometimes He is waiting on us to get in the right place for that promise/covenant to be poured out. There is blessing in obedience and if we will just be obedient and wait on the fulfillment of those promises, and not try to accomplish our own end, God will bless and bring the provision HE has promised in His due season. We can always be remind that God has our back when we view the beauty of the rainbow.

  12. Gen. 9:12-14 (NLT)
    12) Then God said, I am giving you a sign of my covenant with you and with all living creatures, for all generations to come.
    13) I have placed my rainbow in the clouds. It is a the sign of my covenant with you and with all the earth.
    14) When I send clouds over the earth, the rainbow will appear in the Cloud’s.

    These verses reminded me of a time when Timothy and I went through a storm in our lives. We decided to go to Illinois to see my family. It had been raining, and of course the rain moved on. As we were traveling down the road, we began to talk about the promises of God and His goodness. We looked out the window to the right, and there was a rainbow. Timothy and I thought it was amazing because we were just talking about Gods promises. As we traveled a little further, we saw a double rainbow. As we traveled a little further, we saw another double rainbow. As we traveled a little further, we saw another rainbow. As we traveled further, we saw another rainbow. That’s right, within a few short miles, Timothy and I saw 7 rainbows.
    We were so Thankful for God’s promises and His goodness to us.

    So remember, when you go through a storm in your life, after is passes over, there will be a rainbow.

  13. 21 And he drank of the wine, and was drunken; and he was uncovered within his tent.
    22 And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.
    23 And Shem and Japheth took a garment, and laid it upon both their shoulders, and went backward, and covered the nakedness of their father; and their faces were backward, and they saw not their father’s nakedness.

    I’ve got your six.

    This term was coined during WW1. It’s a airplane pilots term. Meaning I have your back. I’m watching out for you.

    Shem and Japheth had the dads six. Literally! They not only wanted to keep a good name for their father for themselves but also knew about what happened in the garden. Of covering Adam and Eve’s nakedness. In this sense nakedness is a representation of uncovered. As a leader I am grateful for my leaders covering me. And I too have covered some. Not in the literal sense. But when we are vulnerable and show a side of us that many do not see. We must watch out for our brothers and sisters. And help each other out.

  14. 22 And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.

    Ham saw his father was uncovered and instead of serving his father he ran and told his brothers. His brothers went in and cared for their father in respect. When we see those given authority above us slipping away from their spiritual covering, we shoudn’t run and tell our church sisters and brothers instead we should behave like Shem and Japheth did and humbly and respectfully help them.

  15. Genesis 9:8 Then God said to Noah and to hissons you and with your descendants after you and with every living creature that was with you the birds the livestock and all the wild animals, all those that came out of the ark with you every living creature on earth.I establish my covenant with you. Never again will all life be destroyed by the waters of a flood, never again will there be a flood to destroy the earth.

  16. 5 And surely your blood of your lives will I require; at the hand of every beast will I require it, and at the hand of man; at the hand of every man’s brother will I require the life of man.

    6 Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man.
    God has placed great importance in peoples’ lives. We should never allow them to be treated as meaningless.

  17. Shame not

    Genesis 9:22

    And Ham, the father of Canaan, saw the nakedness of his father, and told his two brethren without.

    Exodus 32:25

    And when Moses saw that the people were naked; (for Aaron had made them naked unto their shame among their enemies:)

    Shame – H8103. שִׁמְצָה šimṣāh: A feminine noun indicating derision; a laughingstock. It refers to an object of humor and ridicule or disrespect.

    Nakedness is associated with shame. In the garden Adam and Eve his themselves because they were ashamed.

    Genesis 2:25

    And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.

    Ham exposed his Father and put him to an open shame. This was probably done to make him look good while make Noah look bad. However this political move cost an entire people. The descendants of Ham are still suffering to this day because of his foolishness.

    Noah was God’s representative. To shame Noah was to shame God himself. We must take great care that we never expose or put to shame those in spiritual leadership. To do so disrespects the man of God and God himself.

  18. And God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be blessed and multiply and replenish the earth.

    What a blessing and great command! Enjoy your life, honor God, sow seeds and watch them grow. Birthing nations, birthing ministries!

  19. 1 And God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth.

    2 And the fear of you and the dread of you shall be upon every beast of the earth, and upon every fowl of the air, upon all that moveth upon the earth, and upon all the fishes of the sea; into your hand are they delivered.
    The favor of the was upon noah and family, obedience is better than sacrifice! We want the favour of God upon our lives.

  20. “These are the three sons of Noah: and of them was the whole earth overspread.” This leaves no room for prejudice. One would be wise to recognize division is a tactic of the deceiver (satan). Dear God, open our eyes and ears so that we may not be deceived; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  21. Noah, a farmer, was the first person to plant a vineyard. He drank some wine, got drunk, and lay naked inside his tent.
    Genesis 9:20-21 GW

    This is what can happen when we begin to admire what we have accomplished and drink our own cool aid, and think more highly of ourselves than we ought to think. We can get drunk and it will lead us to go through embarrassing situations and leave us uncovered.

  22. The Rainbow
    Genesis 9:11 And I will establish my covenant with you; neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

    Isaiah 54:9 For this is as the waters of Noah unto me: for as I have sworn that the waters of Noah should no more go over the earth; so I have sworn that I would not be wroth with thee, nor rebuke thee.

  23. 14 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

    15 And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

    16 And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.

    17 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth.

    The faithfulness of God. We should not dubt any of the promises God has given us. God is faithful and will remember. Just like the bow in the heavens, the rainbow that all men can see and stand in awe and wonder, the same way is he going to fulfill all his words and promises. If you have seen a real rainbow in your life, and most of us probably have, this should encourage you that you know for a fact the Lord Jesus remembers. He is faithful. To God be all the glory.

  24. And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

    The devil loves to see all these beautiful meanings turn into debolic symbols. The Rainbow is a beautiful promise that God has given us to see and remember Him. The devil uses it as the symbol of the gays and lesbians. The devil only wants to be just like God but that will never happen jesus name is above all names an will forever reign. Looking at your promises Jesus!!!! I know nothing is impossible for you!!! Hallelujah!!!!Glory!!!!

  25. 6 Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man.

    This is talking of murder but we can also use this for other things. We are all made in the image of God, we wouldn’t kill God, what about talk about him? Ignore? Fight with him? Hate? We sometimes think it’s ok to do these things to each other and don’t consider that God made each of us.

  26. “Noah, a farmer, was the first to plant a vineyard. He drank from its wine, got drunk and passed out, naked in his tent. Ham, the father of Canaan, saw that his father was naked and told his two brothers who were outside the tent. Shem and Japheth took a cloak, held it between them from their shoulders, walked backward and covered their father’s nakedness, keeping their faces turned away so they did not see their father’s exposed body.”
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭9:20-23‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    We should show compassion for those who may fall or make mistakes. One day you may fall into the same category and would want the same compassion bestowed upon you. We need to remember that it’s better to show Gods love rather than our own judgements.

  27. The rainbow

    The Hebrew word קֶשֶׁת (qeshet) normally refers to a warrior’s bow. Some understand this to mean that God the warrior hangs up his battle bow at the end of the flood, indicating he is now at peace with humankind, but others question the legitimacy of this proposal. See C. Westermann, Genesis, 1:473, and G. J. Wenham, Genesis (WBC), 1:196.

    Since there was no rain prior to the flood, the rainbow wasn’t needed. Afterwards, it represents a metaphor that God has hung his bow up in the clouds-to never again war with mankind. In the near east, it was common for peace treaties to be singed after war. God now establishes a covenant with Noah and, as a token of peace, uses the rainbow as a sign. The fact that a rainbow is bad by the reflection of light shinning through water is irrelevant to the validity that this is a sign. It is not out of the norm that God would use a naturally occurring phenomenon to do this. Likewise, since he knows the end from the beginning, it is perfectly acceptable that he had already plan this to happen.

  28. 11 And I will establish my covenant with you, neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

    Making a difference for our children

    Your actions can help those that come behind you. Because of this covent God made with Noah, we can be sure that we are safe from the worldwide destruction of a flood. Even today, thousands of years later we are still benefitting from the righteousness of one man.

    We need to be encouraged by Noah’s life. To not be afraid to stand alone like he did. No one encouraged him to follow God, he stood for him even thou everyone in the world wouldn’t. Can you imagine how crazy Noah felt, building boat in the middle of no where? Especially when it had never rained before then, Noah was more concerned about obeying God then looking like a lunatic. When the enemy at tacks you with the the words, “it’s never been done”, stomp on that ignorants head and do what God has ordained and anointed you to do.

  29. 8 And God spake unto Noah, and to his sons with him, saying,

    9 And I, behold, I establish my covenant with you, and with your seed after you;

    10 And with every living creature that is with you, of the fowl, of the cattle, and of every beast of the earth with you; from all that go out of the ark, to every beast of the earth.

    11 And I will establish my covenant with you, neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

  30. v15 And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

    The LORD’S words are always yes and amen!

  31. 13 I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.

    14 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

    God has promised us he would not destroy the Earth with a flood again and he used the rainbow as a symbol as his promise. And for rainbows in nature there is one interesting thing that pops out to me about. Here is an explanition of how a rainbow is seen:

    Wikipedia: Thus, a rainbow is not an object and cannot be physically approached. Indeed, it is impossible for an observer to see a rainbow from water droplets at any angle other than the customary one of 42 degrees from the direction opposite the light source.

    So basically what it is saying, you can only see a rainbow when there is a light source. Since God calls us the light of the world and he created light before the sun was even created, that means his promise cannot be seen without God’s presence being there.

    If you cannot see God in your life, you can’t see his promises he has for you. But when you look towards Jesus, our light source, his promises become beautifully evident.

  32. 6 Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man.

    I recently read a question about capital punishment and the answer from an apostolic minister, Rev David Gray, was that “God made a covenant that is still effect when God authorized the institution of human government. Here God gave man the right to set up governmental procedures and laws, and punish violators… Keep in mind that God never nullified this law” found in verse 6.

  33. Genesis 9:25

    Noah’s curse
    The verb tenses of this curse suggested an appeal to God. The cursing of Canaan, Ham ‘s son in plies an early understanding of the principle that the iniquities of the fathers would be visited on the Children. Ex. 34:7
    The curse apparently is restricted to this single branch of Hams descendants.

    That’s why is so important for us to be godly man and woman, and live life according to God’s word so that are inequities and curses don’t reach our descendants.

  34. Multiply 1. AND God blessed No’-ah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth. Gen. 1 : 7 2. And the fear of you and the dread of you shall be upon every beast of the earth, and upon every fowl of the air, upon all that moveth upon the earth, and upon all the fishes of the sea; into your hand are they delivered. Gen. 1 : 28 3. Every moving thing that liveth shall be meat for you; even as the green herb have I given you all things. Gen. 1 : 29; Acts 10 : 12 4. But flesh with the life thereof, which is the blood thereof, shall ye not eat. Lev. 17 : 10

  35. No longer will he flood the land to destroy life.

    11 And I will establish my covenant with you, neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth.

    “Covenant”…..,,,,,,,,!!

  36. Wow…keeping record aof genealogy is important to show order if things. A mention of Nimrods special hunting talent was mentioned.

    “Got to eat”………….

  37. 12. And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations:

    For perpetual generations…God’s promises are forever!

Leave a Reply

