Genesis Chapter 20

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 31

Genesis 20

1 And Abraham journeyed from thence toward the south country, and dwelled between Kadesh and Shur, and sojourned in Gerar.

2 And Abraham said of Sarah his wife, She is my sister: and Abimelech king of Gerar sent, and took Sarah.

3 But God came to Abimelech in a dream by night, and said to him, Behold, thou art but a dead man, for the woman which thou hast taken; for she is a man’s wife.

4 But Abimelech had not come near her: and he said, Lord, wilt thou slay also a righteous nation?

5 Said he not unto me, She is my sister? and she, even she herself said, He is my brother: in the integrity of my heart and innocency of my hands have I done this.

6 And God said unto him in a dream, Yea, I know that thou didst this in the integrity of thy heart; for I also withheld thee from sinning against me: therefore suffered I thee not to touch her.

7 Now therefore restore the man his wife; for he is a prophet, and he shall pray for thee, and thou shalt live: and if thou restore her not, know thou that thou shalt surely die, thou, and all that are thine.

8 Therefore Abimelech rose early in the morning, and called all his servants, and told all these things in their ears: and the men were sore afraid.

9 Then Abimelech called Abraham, and said unto him, What hast thou done unto us? and what have I offended thee, that thou hast brought on me and on my kingdom a great sin? thou hast done deeds unto me that ought not to be done.

10 And Abimelech said unto Abraham, What sawest thou, that thou hast done this thing?

11 And Abraham said, Because I thought, Surely the fear of God is not in this place; and they will slay me for my wife’s sake.

12 And yet indeed she is my sister; she is the daughter of my father, but not the daughter of my mother; and she became my wife.

13 And it came to pass, when God caused me to wander from my father’s house, that I said unto her, This is thy kindness which thou shalt shew unto me; at every place whither we shall come, say of me, He is my brother.

14 And Abimelech took sheep, and oxen, and menservants, and womenservants, and gave them unto Abraham, and restored him Sarah his wife.

15 And Abimelech said, Behold, my land is before thee: dwell where it pleaseth thee.

16 And unto Sarah he said, Behold, I have given thy brother a thousand pieces of silver: behold, he is to thee a covering of the eyes, unto all that are with thee, and with all other: thus she was reproved.

17 So Abraham prayed unto God: and God healed Abimelech, and his wife, and his maidservants; and they bare children.

18 For the Lord had fast closed up all the wombs of the house of Abimelech, because of Sarah Abraham’s wife.

17 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 20

  1. As 1-18. Abraham’s faith wanes and he again lies about his relationship with Sarah and again is protected by God. Even giants of faith like Abraham stumbled at times. This is Saturday morning . I have been praying for the best Western Day. Yet. I really have a very good filling that a lot of visitors are going to be touched by the Lord.

  2. iLove to eat More Word

    17Then Abraham prayed to God, and God healed Abimelech, his wife, and his female servants, so they could have children. 18For the lord had caused all the women to be infertile because of what happened with Abraham’s wife, Sarah.

    This is an amazing example of how God will fight for his people and make those who sin against him and his people pay the price.

  3. THE DANGERS IN “I THOUGHT”

    11 And Abraham said, Because I thought, Surely the fear of God is not in this place; and they will slay me for my wife’s sake.
    12 And yet indeed she is my sister; she is the daughter of my father, but not the daughter of my mother; and she became my wife.

    Abraham allowed fear to override his FAITH and took his life in his own hands, by straying from the TRUTH. We are protected by the hand of GOD as we walk in TRUTH.

    1. GOD’s promise to Abraham is what protected him from danger.
    2. The LORD GOD revealed his power and authority in speaking to Abimelech, establishing that GOD can speak to anybody, anywhere anytime.

    Don’t risk your future by taking it in your own hands. Consider how many “I THOUGHT” actions didn’t work out.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  4. Abraham prays for Abimelech
    Gen.20:17 So Abraham prayed unto God: and God healed Abimelech, and his wife, and his maidservants; and they bare children.

    James 5:16 Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervant prayer of a righteous man availeth much.

  5. 17 So Abraham prayed unto God: and God healed Abimelech, and his wife, and his maidservants; and they bare children.
    18 For the Lord had fast closed up all the wombs of the house of Abimelech, because of Sarah Abraham’s wife.

    The reaches of sin. Who are you fooling? Only yourself.
    Lying. Not only is it deception. But it hurts others. We are the church of the living God. We must be like him.

  6. Fear a bad advisor but Reverence and Respect will save you

    4 But Abimelech had not come near her: and he said, Lord, wilt thou slay also a righteous nation?

    5 Said he not unto me, She is my sister? and she, even she herself said, He is my brother: in the integrity of my heart and innocency of my hands have I done this.

    6 And God said unto him in a dream, Yea, I know that thou didst this in the integrity of thy heart; for I also withheld thee from sinning against me: therefore suffered I thee not to touch her.

    7 Now therefore restore the man his wife; for he is a prophet, and he shall pray for thee, and thou shalt live: and if thou restore her not, know thou that thou shalt surely die, thou, and all that are thine.

    8 Therefore Abimelech rose early in the morning, and called all his servants, and told all these things in their ears: and the men were sore afraid.

    9 Then Abimelech called Abraham, and said unto him, What hast thou done unto us? and what have I offended thee, that thou hast brought on me and on my kingdom a great sin? thou hast done deeds unto me that ought not to be done.

    10 And Abimelech said unto Abraham, What sawest thou, that thou hast done this thing?

    11 And Abraham said, Because I thought, Surely the fear of God is not in this place; and they will slay me for my wife’s sake.

    12 And yet indeed she is my sister; she is the daughter of my father, but not the daughter of my mother; and she became my wife.

    13 And it came to pass, when God caused me to wander from my father’s house, that I said unto her, This is thy kindness which thou shalt shew unto me; at every place whither we shall come, say of me, He is my brother.

    14 And Abimelech took sheep, and oxen, and menservants, and womenservants, and gave them unto Abraham, and restored him Sarah his wife.

    15 And Abimelech said, Behold, my land is before thee: dwell where it pleaseth thee.

    Because of fear for his life Abraham said Sarah was his sister. God gives Abimelech a warning. The reverence and respect that Abimelech Has for God that saved his life. Abimelech is also obedient to the word of God and not only gives the wife back but restore all riches to Abraham and allows him to pick his de welling place. God teach us to not fear and always have reverence and respect for you and may we obey your word and bless those that we unintentionally harmed in Jesus Name Amen

  7. Genesis 20: 1 Now Abraham moved on from there into the region of the Negev and lived etwee Kadesh and Shur. For a while he stayed in Gerar and there Abraham said of his wife Sarah. She is my sister. The Abimelek King of Gerar sent from Sarah and took her. But God came to Abimelek in a dream one night and said to him. You are as good as dead because of the woman you have take she us a married woman.

  8. 1 And Abraham journeyed from thence toward the south country, and dwelled between Kadesh and Shur, and sojourned in Gerar.

    2 And Abraham said of Sarah his wife, She is my sister: and Abimelech king of Gerar sent, and took Sarah.

    3 But God came to Abimelech in a dream by night, and said to him, Behold, thou art but a dead man, for the woman which thou hast taken; for she is a man’s wife.

    4 But Abimelech had not come near her: and he said, Lord, wilt thou slay also a righteous nation?

    Abraham made a decision that put his wife into danger emotionally and physically, for selfish reasons. God intervened and protected Sarah in spite of Abraham’s decision. I’m thankful that God sees all and knows all and is able to keep us when decisions are made that effect us adversely.

  9. Abimelech took a thousand didrachmas, sheep and calves, and servants and maidens and gave them to Abraham and returned to him Sarah his wife. (LXX)

    That was an expensive peace offering. This shows the wealth of Abimelech. In order to apologize he offers Abraham a lot of capital.

    May the same spirit of generosity be on some of those who are not in the church to be given to the kingdom of God.

  10. Genesis 20:2

    And Abraham said of Sarah his wife, She is my sister: and Abimelech king of Gerar sent, and took Sarah.

    Genesis 12:13

    Say, I pray thee, thou art my sister: that it may be well with me for thy sake; and my soul shall live because of thee.

    Abraham is taking the same test again and fails. He lied to Abimelech the King. The first time he lied to Pharaoh and got Hagar out of the deal. This time he lies and is given money, and almost destroys the ability for Abimelech to have any more children.

    Sadly Abraham’s test isn’t forgotten. His son will take the same test.

    We must fight the battles and pass the tests or our children could face those things.

  11. “Abimelech went on to Abraham, “Whatever were you thinking of when you did this thing?” Abraham said, “I just assumed that there was no fear of God in this place and that they’d kill me to get my wife. Besides, the truth is that she is my half sister; she’s my father’s daughter but not my mother’s. When God sent me out as a wanderer from my father’s home, I told her, ‘Do me a favor; wherever we go, tell people that I’m your brother.’””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭20:10-13‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    It’s always better to tell the truth than to lie. This whole mess could have been avoided. Save your sanity by speaking the truth.

  12. “So Abraham prayed unto God: and God healed Abimelech, and his wife, and his maidservants; and they bare children.” The Lord called Abraham a prophet, and also said what would, or would not happen; the choice was Abimelech’s (7 Now therefore restore the man his wife; for he is a prophet, and he shall pray for thee, and thou shalt live: and if thou restore her not, know thou that thou shalt surely die, thou, and all that are thine.). One will have choices in life to make, one that is wise will seek God before choosing. Dear God, help me to make right choices; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  13. v11 And Abraham said, Because I thought, Surely the fear of God is not in this place e; and they will slay me for my wife’s sake.

    Faith is not only believing in the word of God but also acting upon it.

  14. 14 And Abimelech took sheep, and oxen, and menservants, and womenservants, and gave them unto Abraham, and restored him Sarah his wife.

    15 And Abimelech said, Behold, my land is before thee: dwell where it pleaseth thee.

    16 And unto Sarah he said, Behold, I have given thy brother a thousand pieces of silver: behold, he is to thee a covering of the eyes, unto all that are with thee, and with all other: thus she was reproved.

    17 So Abraham prayed unto God: and God healed Abimelech, and his wife, and his maidservants; and they bare children.

    18 For the Lord had fast closed up all the wombs of the house of Abimelech, because of Sarah Abraham’s wife.

    Even though Abraham still was afraid and lied about his wife saying the she was his sister, God still took care of him and protected all that was Abrahams

  15. Don’t be afraid of what the enemy is gonna take away from you, for if God promised those things unto you then they are yours. So claim what is yours in Jesus name and don’t allow your own thoughts or the lies of the devil to deceive you into thinking otherwise.

  16. “And God said unto him in a dream, Yea, I know that thou didst this in the integrity of thy heart; for I also withheld thee from sinning against me: therefore suffered I thee not to touch her.”
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭20:6‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Proof that God knows our intentions. This is also proof that God desires for us to do well. If God wanted failure things would have gone much differently for the king.

Leave a Reply

