Genesis Chapter 27

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter

Genesis 27

1 And it came to pass, that when Isaac was old, and his eyes were dim, so that he could not see, he called Esau his eldest son, and said unto him, My son: and he said unto him, Behold, here am I.

2 And he said, Behold now, I am old, I know not the day of my death:

3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

4 And make me savoury meat, such as I love, and bring it to me, that I may eat; that my soul may bless thee before I die.

5 And Rebekah heard when Isaac spake to Esau his son. And Esau went to the field to hunt for venison, and to bring it.

6 And Rebekah spake unto Jacob her son, saying, Behold, I heard thy father speak unto Esau thy brother, saying,

7 Bring me venison, and make me savoury meat, that I may eat, and bless thee before the Lord before my death.

8 Now therefore, my son, obey my voice according to that which I command thee.

9 Go now to the flock, and fetch me from thence two good kids of the goats; and I will make them savoury meat for thy father, such as he loveth:

10 And thou shalt bring it to thy father, that he may eat, and that he may bless thee before his death.

11 And Jacob said to Rebekah his mother, Behold, Esau my brother is a hairy man, and I am a smooth man:

12 My father peradventure will feel me, and I shall seem to him as a deceiver; and I shall bring a curse upon me, and not a blessing.

13 And his mother said unto him, Upon me be thy curse, my son: only obey my voice, and go fetch me them.

14 And he went, and fetched, and brought them to his mother: and his mother made savoury meat, such as his father loved.

15 And Rebekah took goodly raiment of her eldest son Esau, which were with her in the house, and put them upon Jacob her younger son:

16 And she put the skins of the kids of the goats upon his hands, and upon the smooth of his neck:

17 And she gave the savoury meat and the bread, which she had prepared, into the hand of her son Jacob.

18 And he came unto his father, and said, My father: and he said, Here am I; who art thou, my son?

19 And Jacob said unto his father, I am Esau thy first born; I have done according as thou badest me: arise, I pray thee, sit and eat of my venison, that thy soul may bless me.

20 And Isaac said unto his son, How is it that thou hast found it so quickly, my son? And he said, Because the Lord thy God brought it to me.

21 And Isaac said unto Jacob, Come near, I pray thee, that I may feel thee, my son, whether thou be my very son Esau or not.

22 And Jacob went near unto Isaac his father; and he felt him, and said, The voice is Jacob’s voice, but the hands are the hands of Esau.

23 And he discerned him not, because his hands were hairy, as his brother Esau’s hands: so he blessed him.

24 And he said, Art thou my very son Esau? And he said, I am.

25 And he said, Bring it near to me, and I will eat of my son’s venison, that my soul may bless thee. And he brought it near to him, and he did eat: and he brought him wine and he drank.

26 And his father Isaac said unto him, Come near now, and kiss me, my son.

27 And he came near, and kissed him: and he smelled the smell of his raiment, and blessed him, and said, See, the smell of my son is as the smell of a field which the Lord hath blessed:

28 Therefore God give thee of the dew of heaven, and the fatness of the earth, and plenty of corn and wine:

29 Let people serve thee, and nations bow down to thee: be lord over thy brethren, and let thy mother’s sons bow down to thee: cursed be every one that curseth thee, and blessed be he that blesseth thee.

30 And it came to pass, as soon as Isaac had made an end of blessing Jacob, and Jacob was yet scarce gone out from the presence of Isaac his father, that Esau his brother came in from his hunting.

31 And he also had made savoury meat, and brought it unto his father, and said unto his father, Let my father arise, and eat of his son’s venison, that thy soul may bless me.

32 And Isaac his father said unto him, Who art thou? And he said, I am thy son, thy firstborn Esau.

33 And Isaac trembled very exceedingly, and said, Who? where is he that hath taken venison, and brought it me, and I have eaten of all before thou camest, and have blessed him? yea, and he shall be blessed.

34 And when Esau heard the words of his father, he cried with a great and exceeding bitter cry, and said unto his father, Bless me, even me also, O my father.

35 And he said, Thy brother came with subtilty, and hath taken away thy blessing.

36 And he said, Is not he rightly named Jacob? for he hath supplanted me these two times: he took away my birthright; and, behold, now he hath taken away my blessing. And he said, Hast thou not reserved a blessing for me?

37 And Isaac answered and said unto Esau, Behold, I have made him thy lord, and all his brethren have I given to him for servants; and with corn and wine have I sustained him: and what shall I do now unto thee, my son?

38 And Esau said unto his father, Hast thou but one blessing, my father? bless me, even me also, O my father. And Esau lifted up his voice, and wept.

39 And Isaac his father answered and said unto him, Behold, thy dwelling shall be the fatness of the earth, and of the dew of heaven from above;

40 And by thy sword shalt thou live, and shalt serve thy brother; and it shall come to pass when thou shalt have the dominion, that thou shalt break his yoke from off thy neck.

41 And Esau hated Jacob because of the blessing wherewith his father blessed him: and Esau said in his heart, The days of mourning for my father are at hand; then will I slay my brother Jacob.

42 And these words of Esau her elder son were told to Rebekah: and she sent and called Jacob her younger son, and said unto him, Behold, thy brother Esau, as touching thee, doth comfort himself, purposing to kill thee.

43 Now therefore, my son, obey my voice; arise, flee thou to Laban my brother to Haran;

44 And tarry with him a few days, until thy brother’s fury turn away;

45 Until thy brother’s anger turn away from thee, and he forget that which thou hast done to him: then I will send, and fetch thee from thence: why should I be deprived also of you both in one day?

46 And Rebekah said to Isaac, I am weary of my life because of the daughters of Heth: if Jacob take a wife of the daughters of Heth, such as these which are of the daughters of the land, what good shall my life do me?

27 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 27

  1. We must be watchful and careful that we don’t allow the blessings of the Lord to pass us by. When we are too busy focused on other things that distract us from the Lord’s work, we miss what God has in place for us. If we continue to put God first, the other things in our life will fall into place. It won’t always be easy in life, but with God on our side, we will be able to prevail against any opposition that comes our way.

  2. MORE CONSCIENCE IN TIMES OF WEARINESS

    32 And Isaac his father said unto him, Who art thou? And he said, I am thy son, thy firstborn Esau.
    33 And Isaac trembled very exceedingly, and said, Who? where is he that hath taken venison, and brought it me, and I have eaten of all before thou camest, and have blessed him? yea, and he shall be blessed.
    34 And when Esau heard the words of his father, he cried with a great and exceeding bitter cry, and said unto his father, Bless me, even me also, O my father.
    35 And he said, Thy brother came with subtilty, and hath taken away thy blessing.

    There is great opportunity for manipulation when man changes what GOD ordained. This deceptive scheme all started with a simple bowl of soup. Esau verbally surrendered the birthright to Jacob. However, GOD never BLESSED IT. The only possible way for the transfer of the birthright was to be deceptive, because the father had the birthright Blessing.

    We may say we are going to alter the plans that GOD has ordered for our lives, however until they are GOD Blessed, any change will require deceptive actions on our part. Anything gained deceptively is obviously cursed.

    We must be aware in these last days, in times of pressure and temptation that we do not surrender GOD’s will by deception, that we maintain TRUTH and the will of GOD. That we surround ourselves with faithful people that we TRUST. Lest satan steal our birthright through some subtle deceptive trick.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    IReap

  3. “Esau heard his father’s words. Then he began crying loudly and bitterly. He said to his father, “Bless me! Bless me too, my father!””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭27:34‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    Esau didn’t seem to care too much about his birthright before now. He was very careless and put the cares of the present before his birthright. Today our birthright is our Salvation. We must stay prayed up, filled with the Holy Ghost and righteous. Nothing should come in between our relationship with God. 

    “Be sure that no one misses God’s grace. See to it that a bitter plant doesn’t grow up. If it does, it will cause trouble. And it will pollute many people. See to it that no one commits sexual sins. See to it that no one is godless like Esau. He sold the rights to what he would receive as the oldest son. He sold them for a single meal. As you know, after that he wanted to receive his father’s blessing. But he was turned away. With tears he tried to get the blessing. But he couldn’t get his father to change his mind.”
    ‭‭Hebrews‬ ‭12:15-17‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

  4. iLove to eat More Word

    The power of the spoken word cannot simply be taken back.

    “Isaac began to tremble uncontrollably and said, “Then who just served me wild game? I have already eaten it, and I blessed him just before you came. And yes, that blessing must stand!””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭27:33‬ ‭NLT‬‬
    http://bible.com/116/gen.27.33.nlt

  5. 21 Jacob, Come near, I pray thee, that I may feel thee, my son, whether thou be my very son Esau or not.
    22 And Jacob went near unto Isaac his father; and he felt him, and said, The voice is Jacob’s voice, but the hands are the hands of Esau.
    23 And he discerned him not, because his hands were hairy, as his brother Esau’s hands: so he blessed him.

    Try the spirits out. If it don’t sound right, and something seems to be off. More than likely it is. Even the demons were angels at one time. We must know the voice of God.

  6. 35 And he said, Thy brother came with subtilty, and hath taken away thy blessing.

    Satan is the father of all lies. Don’t let him deceive and take your blessings away.
    Any alteration of truth is a lie.

  7. “Now therefore, my son, obey my voice according to what I command you.”
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭27:8‬ ‭NKJV‬‬)

    We as children of Christ need to Hearken our hearts to what our father commands us and do according to that which our father commands us,
    When Isaac had grown old, and his eyes were dim, so that he could no longer see he wished in the consciousness of approaching death, to give his blessing to his elder son. Isaac was then in his 137th year, at which age his half-brother Ishmael had died fourteen years before.

  8. This chapter takes me back to Genesis 25:28 which says, ” And Isaac loved Esau, because he did eat of his venison: but Rebekah loved Jacob.”
    We might say in today’s term, “What a dysfunctional family.” (One not operating normally or properly.). It is a family filled with deception, secrecy, lies, and trickery.

    It makes me think of the scripture found in St. Mark 3:25. ” And if a house be divided against itself, that house cannot stand.”

    The devil is out to kill, steal, and destroy the family unit.
    So, let’s PRAY for our families and lift each other up. The old saying goes, “The family that prays together, stays together.”

    MORE Praying for Families.

  9. 39 Finally, his father, Isaac, said to him,

    “You will live away from the richness of the earth,
    and away from the dew of the heaven above.
    40 You will live by your sword,
    and you will serve your brother.
    But when you decide to break free,
    you will shake his yoke from your neck.”

    In truth, this is exactly what you get when you are being deceived. You are cut off from the joy of the Lord, from the sweetness that he bestows. You are a servant to deception and are quick to raise your sword when someone shines light on your situation, but it is your decision whether you break free.

  10. Genesis 27:36

    And he said, Is not he rightly named Jacob? for he hath supplanted me these two times: he took away my birthright; and, behold, now he hath taken away my blessing. And he said, Hast thou not reserved a blessing for me?

    Matthew 13:44-46

    Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto treasure hid in a field; the which when a man hath found, he hideth, and for joy thereof goeth and selleth all that he hath, and buyeth that field.

    Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls:

    Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it.

    It is certain that Jacob went about this the wrong way and because of his deceit and treachery he paid a high price. However it is also certain that his willingness to do whatever it takes for the things of God was viewed highly in the sight of the Lord. Although it was wrong he wanted the promise no matter what and was willing to do anything to obtain it.

    Just as Jesus pointed out we too must be willing to do whatever it takes to have eternal life and further the kingdom of God. Our price is self sacrifice and putting him first. God honors this level of commitment.

  11. deception is never acceptable because it is a false message , stay close to God and he will keep you from being tempted to do things such as deceive

  12. We all sin. We all were born in sin. It is by God’s grace that we are changed into righteous, how we were supposed to live!

  13. Genesis 27:41 Esau held a grudge against Jacob because of the blessing his father had given him. He said to himself. The days of mourning for my Father are near then I will kill my brother Jacob. When Rebekah was told what her older son Esau had said she sent for her younger son Jacob and said to him. Your brother Esau is planning to avenge himself by killing you. Now then my son do what I say. Flee at once to my brother Laban in Harran. Stay with him for a while until your brothers fury subsides.When your brother is no longer angry with you and forgets what you did to him.

  14. 5 And Rebekah heard when Isaac spake to Esau his son. And Esau went to the field to hunt for venison, and to bring it.

    6 And Rebekah spake unto Jacob her son, saying, Behold, I heard thy father speak unto Esau thy brother, saying,

    It is so challenging when parents don’t work together in raising their children for the Lord. If one is committed and one is not, then there will be confusion and division sown into the children by the uncommitted parent. Jacob loved Esau and Rebekah loved Jacob. Therefore she played a major role in deceiving her husband.

    It pays to walk together with the Lord so that bot parents are on the same page when it comes to raising the children and instilling Godly values.

  15. Genesis tells of Jacob’s deceitful theft of the parental blessing Isaac intended to go to Esau . This act makes Esau so furious he determines to murder Jacob when there father dies so Jacob is forced to flee to the distant home of his uncle Laban.

  16. I always wondered who was to blame in this event?

    Was it Jacob, who knowingly decieved his father? But then I see his mother telling him to do it so he could of been being obedient to her. Then that leads me to say that it was Rebbekas fault. What made her decieved her own husband? But there is something even stronger that I feel is really the answer. When I look at my own boys I find something undeniable, I know them. If I close my eyes and listen I can tell you which one of them is talking. When they cry at night when they have had a bad dream I can tell you which one is crying just by their own particular brand of cry. If one of them hugs me from the back I can tell which one it is just by the impression of their face on my back. Being a father of three boys I can say that beyond the shadow of a doubt I would have known that it was Jacob acting like Esau. It looks like Isaac was playing the part and allowed this to happen. Maybe that is why he sent Esau hunting, to give Jacob the chance to do what he had to do. Just like Pharez and Zarah, Gods plan sometimes doesn’t make since. God doesn’t honor deceit but he is just and he does allow us to deal with our own decisions. Esau is now dealing with his bowl of beans for his blessing. It is amazing what people will sell out for. We have to guard our blessing and remind our father of his promises.

  17. 5 And Rebekah heard when Isaac spake to Esau his son. And Esau went to the field to hunt for venison, and to bring it.

    6 And Rebekah spake unto Jacob her son, saying, Behold, I heard thy father speak unto Esau thy brother, saying,

    7 Bring me venison, and make me savoury meat, that I may eat, and bless thee before the Lord before my death.
    Sometimes we feel like we should help God out and speed up the process. The process allow you to go thru somethings, that will help you thruout your life. God knows what he is doing.

  18. Isaac made his decision based on his feelings rather than what he heard. Many of us fault in a similar fashion. We make decisions on what feels right rather then the word of the lord.

  19. ““If it comes to that,” said his mother, “I’ll take the curse on myself. Now, just do what I say. Go and get the goats.”

    When these words of her older son Esau were reported to Rebekah, she called her younger son Jacob and said, “Your brother Esau is plotting vengeance against you. He’s going to kill you. Son, listen to me. Get out of here. Run for your life to Haran, to my brother Laban. Live with him for a while until your brother cools down, until his anger subsides and he forgets what you did to him. I’ll then send for you and bring you back. Why should I lose both of you the same day?””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭27:13, 42-45‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    Because of her selfish desires Rebekah cursed herself with never seeing her son again. Be careful on plotting against people for selfish reasons, you may lose more than you gain

  20. Broken Identity

    Genesis 27:5-10 NLT
    5 But Rebekah overheard what Isaac had said to his son Esau. So when Esau left to hunt for the wild game,

    6 she said to her son Jacob, “Listen. I overheard your father say to Esau,

    7 ‘Bring me some wild game and prepare me a delicious meal. Then I will bless you in the Lord’s presence before I die.’

    8 Now, my son, listen to me. Do exactly as I tell you.

    9 Go out to the flocks, and bring me two fine young goats. I’ll use them to prepare your father’s favorite dish.

    10 Then take the food to your father so he can eat it and bless you before he dies.”

    Rebekah pushed Jacob to take the blessing intended for his brother, pushed him to flee Esau’s wrath and even to go her brother’s house to find a wife there. She manipulated her husband multiple times for the benefit of Jacob, even at the expense of Esau, and encouraged a wrathful relationship between her sons instead of fostering peace. She shaped many of the very important, defining aspects of Jacob’s life and identity in the beginning. Unfortunately, while her pressing may have pushed Jacob to appear blessed on the outside, it left him with a broken identity and a life lacking true integrity before God.

    Proverbs 14:1 NLT
    A wise woman builds her home, but a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands.

    Psalm 127:1
    Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

    So, before God could really do with Jacob as He pleased, He had to lead Jacob to a low point where he finally confronted himself. When Jacob recognized who he was and no longer tried to be the deceiver and supplanter, God called him Israel. However, God had to reveal the brokenness to Jacob, and show him how not only was his birth family divided but that he brought division into the family he had sought for himself in marriage. Laban was as an enemy, the sisters Leah and Rachel were at odds, and when he went to meet Esau again for the first time after Jacob left home, Jacob even found himself physically dividing his family for fear of their future.

    The division and brokenness ran deep, and Jacob kept tearing his house apart the harder he tried to build it. His identity was founded in trying to get his way even if it meant denying loved ones and stepping over family as if they were dead and cheating individuals out of their future in order to feed his own desires.

    The legacy of deceit was found first in Abraham when he denied Sarah as his wife (called her his sister when it was more convenient than claiming her as his wife) and later in Isaac when he did the same with Rebekah. It passed right down to Jacob who learned to deny family and lie and cheat and steal to get his way.

    Rebekah passed on this broken identity and taught her son that the “title” and appearance of being blessed was more important than integrity and truly loving those around him. But Jacob found another way. Jesus confronted him about his brokenness and called him to a godly life. Jacob had to come away from the methods of his earthly family and look instead to a Heavenly Father who spoke of things that required a change of identity. The brokenness was traded for a God-given identity and healing was passed on to his family. Jacob’s son Joseph could have harbored bitterness over the betrayal of his brothers but instead he embraced them and truly forgave (unlike Esau who never fully got over Jacob’s treachery.) Through Joseph, the family of Israel became a nation and grew towards the promise God spoke of.

    Jacob would struggle from time to time with his past and God would sometimes switch from calling him Israel to calling him Jacob in reference to which identity he was living in. Getting past a broken beginning doesn’t happen overnight and it is foolish to expect there to never be any challenges or relapses when it comes to blazing a new trail with God, but we see God’s steady hand and faithful love available when we stumble or are weak or find ourselves feeling unsure about our path. He is the ultimate source of rehabilitation for humanity, the ultimate agent of change through which broken identities and broken lives can become whole and heirs of His kingdom. It is only in Him that a house will be built and trying any other way will only end up making things worse.

  21. 27 And he came near, and kissed him: and he smelled the smell of his raiment, and blessed him, and said, See, the smell of my son is as the smell of a field which the Lord hath blessed:

    The word of God fulfilled..all of this was already told by God that the younger will rule over the older. God has plans for every one.

  22. 21 And Isaac said unto Jacob, Come near, I pray thee, that I may feel thee, my son, whether thou be my very son Esau or not.

    22 And Jacob went near unto Isaac his father; and he felt him, and said, The voice is Jacob’s voice, but the hands are the hands of Esau.

    Feelings are deceptive! There was doubt in Jacob because he heard one sons voice but felt what he thought was his other sons body. We need to rely on the voice of God not how or what we feel.

  23. “Let people serve thee, and nations bow down to thee: be lord over thy brethren, and let thy mother’s sons bow down to thee: cursed be every one that curseth thee, and blessed be he that blesseth thee.” Although it was not Isaac’s intentions to bless Jacob, we know today he was blessed. One would be very wise to be observant, and bless whomever the Lord (Jesus) blesses. Dear God, let me be ever mindful; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  24. 13 And his mother said unto him, Upon me be thy curse, my son: only obey my voice, and go fetch me them.

    Rebekah knew who the inheritance was to be given to even if Isaac her husband didn’t accept it. She was a mother who would go above and beyond for her son if it was done all wrong and decptively. Their was no time to waste she overheard the plan to give the blessing and needed to act quickly. She tells Jacob listen to my voice and do as I say and let your curse be upon me. Rebekah was willing to accept the punishment so the right son got the blessing.

  25. vss. And tarry with him a few days until thy brother’s fury turn away;
    Until thy brother’s anger turn away from the, and he forget that which thou hast done to him: then I will send, and fetch thee from thence:
    why should I be deprived also of you both in one day ?

    Rebekah’s fear came to pass . It would have been better for Rebekah to have had faith in GOD over the matter than to be deceitful .

    MORE FAITH
    MORE TRUTH

  26. 34 And when Esau heard the words of his father, he cried with a great and exceeding bitter cry, and said unto his father, Bless me, even me also, O my father.

    35 And he said, Thy brother came with subtilty, and hath taken away thy blessing.

    Don’t come with subtilty trying to take someone else’s blessing, born the right to be blessed by your doing and your own means.

  27. 12 My father peradventure will feel me, and I shall seem to him as a deceiver; and I shall bring a curse upon me, and not a blessing.

    13 And his mother said unto him, Upon me be thy curse, my son: only obey my voice, and go fetch me them.

    I’ve always been the family to since there is a favorite. Unfortunately in mine I am not. Im not say I’m not loved but it’s very distinctive In the treatment between me and my brother. I can see now that this nothing new. Jacobs mother was even willing to take the curse for his son if he were to be found cheating.

    Family problems at its finest!

Leave a Reply

