Genesis Chapter 33

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 13

Genesis 33

1 And Jacob lifted up his eyes, and looked, and, behold, Esau came, and with him four hundred men. And he divided the children unto Leah, and unto Rachel, and unto the two handmaids.

2 And he put the handmaids and their children foremost, and Leah and her children after, and Rachel and Joseph hindermost.

3 And he passed over before them, and bowed himself to the ground seven times, until he came near to his brother.

4 And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept.

5 And he lifted up his eyes, and saw the women and the children; and said, Who are those with thee? And he said, The children which God hath graciously given thy servant.

6 Then the handmaidens came near, they and their children, and they bowed themselves.

7 And Leah also with her children came near, and bowed themselves: and after came Joseph near and Rachel, and they bowed themselves.

8 And he said, What meanest thou by all this drove which I met? And he said, These are to find grace in the sight of my lord.

9 And Esau said, I have enough, my brother; keep that thou hast unto thyself.

10 And Jacob said, Nay, I pray thee, if now I have found grace in thy sight, then receive my present at my hand: for therefore I have seen thy face, as though I had seen the face of God, and thou wast pleased with me.

11 Take, I pray thee, my blessing that is brought to thee; because God hath dealt graciously with me, and because I have enough. And he urged him, and he took it.

12 And he said, Let us take our journey, and let us go, and I will go before thee.

13 And he said unto him, My lord knoweth that the children are tender, and the flocks and herds with young are with me: and if men should overdrive them one day, all the flock will die.

14 Let my lord, I pray thee, pass over before his servant: and I will lead on softly, according as the cattle that goeth before me and the children be able to endure, until I come unto my lord unto Seir.

15 And Esau said, Let me now leave with thee some of the folk that are with me. And he said, What needeth it? let me find grace in the sight of my lord.

16 So Esau returned that day on his way unto Seir.

17 And Jacob journeyed to Succoth, and built him an house, and made booths for his cattle: therefore the name of the place is called Succoth.

18 And Jacob came to Shalem, a city of Shechem, which is in the land of Canaan, when he came from Padanaram; and pitched his tent before the city.

19 And he bought a parcel of a field, where he had spread his tent, at the hand of the children of Hamor, Shechem’s father, for an hundred pieces of money.

20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

32 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 33

  1. Verse 15 MSG says “Esau said, “Let me at least lend you some of my men.” “There’s no need,” said Jacob. “Your generous welcome is all I need or want.” These verses made me think of how we sometimes try to do things ourselves (trying to figure them out on our own); when in fact the Lord is just waiting for us to get out of the way and let Him have His way. Jacob was always building, always remembering to give thanks and always giving glory as he built an altar in the last verse saying “Mighty Is the God of Israel”.

  2. 20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

    EleloheIsrael – God, the mighty God of Israel – what a fitting way to honor what God had done for him. Are we allowing God to be God in our lives, and are we giving Him the glory for what He has done?

  3. God knows how to deal with every situation. If there is someone who you just can’t seem to get along with, hand that over to Jesus and he will take care of it for you. Don’t try to force things to work in your favor. Instead let God take care of those things that are not easy to deal with. He can work it out.

  4. 20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

    God has done great and mighty things with Jacob, but making up with his brother when they were so angry at each other and Esau believed that Jacob had lied and tricked him; but never saw nor took responsibility for his own actions of not giving his birthright the value it deserved. So many years wasted because of bitterness and anger. Now, they are reunited as family because one had to humble enough to apologize for his actions. He named the altar
    EleloheIsrael – the mighty God of Israel because only God could of change his situation! Do not be fearful about your situation stand and tell your situation HOW MIGHTY IS YOU GOD!!!!
    Hebrew concordance 415. El Elohe Yisrael “the mighty God of Israel,” an altar of Jacob

  5. “But Jacob said, “My master can see that the children are frail. And the flocks and herds are nursing, making for slow going. If I push them too hard, even for a day, I’d lose them all. So, master, you go on ahead of your servant, while I take it easy at the pace of my flocks and children. I’ll catch up with you in Seir.””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭33:13-14‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    We should know our limitations and the limits of those we care for. That does not mean we should not push ourselves. How do we know our limits if we never reach for them. A good steward knows and understands the limits of the time, tallent and treasure of those in his care.

  6. Esau prosperd material as shown by the 400 retainers who came with him to meet Jacob .ESAU no longer cared if his brother had taken for spiritual blessings . The man who is satisfied with the good things this world has to offer will never realized that he has missed the most important things of all.

  7. MORE GRACE

    10 And Jacob said, Nay, I pray thee, if now I have found grace in thy sight, then receive my present at my hand: for therefore I have seen thy face, as though I had seen the face of God, and thou wast pleased with me.

    Grace is often projected as a “wild card” or “license” to do whatever an individual desires. However we learn in this verse that GRACE cost Jacob quite an offering.

    GRACE accompanied with RESPECT is a dynamic duo for VICTORY.

    Follow up with the construction of an altar to “The MIGHTY GOD of Israel” and the FAVOR of GOD will shine on us.

    20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

    iRepent
    iPriase
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  8. Gen 33:1
    ” AND Jacob lifted up his eyes, and looked, and, behold, Esau came, and with him four hundred men. And he divided the children unto Leah, and unto Rachel, and unto the two handmaids.”

    Jacob is still living in the fear that Esau wants to harm him. Jacob only lifts up his eyes to see his problem coming straight at him, instead of lifting them up high enough to see God who told him, ” I will be with thee.”
    Gen. 31:3, “And the Lord said unto Jacob, Return unto the land of your fathers, and to thy kindred; and I will be with thee.”

    Sometimes, we too are like Jacob. When we are faced with a problem, we only lift our eyes up high enough to see the problem, instead of lifting them up to see God who said, ” I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”
    Heb. 13:5a-6, “… For he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

    So remember to lift up your eyes higher to see the only One, God, who can help you.
    Ps. 121:1-2, ” I WILL lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.

    Keep Your Eyes Upon JESUS!

  9. Genesis 33:20 (KJV Strong’s)

    20 And he erected there an altar, and called it Elelohe-Israel.

    Proverbs 16:7 (KJV Strong’s)

    When a man’s ways please the Lord,he maketh even his enemies to be at peace with him.

    Esau was the haunting fear in the back of Jacob’s mind for many years. The last memory was a threat of execution if his brother saw him again. Yet somewhere along the way Jacob surrendered to the Lord, humbled himself, and trusted in him.

    Jacob’s ways pleased the Lord and now Esau, the man who has every right to go against him, is now at peace with him.

    As a loving Father Jesus wants us to trust him no matter the possible outcome. Father knows best.

  10. And Esau said, Let me now leave with thee some of the folk that are with me. And he said, What needeth it? let me find grace in the sight of my lord.

  11. If you remember from the previous chapter, Jacob was very worried about reuniting with his brother. Often times though, we worry too much about little things like this of how others might react to us. When really that should be the least of our worries because as long as we are following and obeying God, He will always be there with us and keep us.

  12. 4 And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept.

    Reminds me of the story of the Father and Prodigal Son. Just as the father RAN to meet his son, so did Esau!

    Luke 15:20 And he arose, and came to his father. But when he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him.

    We too should RUN to our guests, the ones on their way home.
    RUN to the prodigal Sons and Daughters.
    And above all else, we should RUN to our forgiving Father who is patiently waiting on us!

  13. Forgiveness.

    4 And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept.
    9 And Esau said, I have enough, my brother; keep that thou hast unto thyself.

    Wow. True forgiveness is a powerful and humbling experience. There have been times in my life were I knew I was wrong about a situation or my attitude and I can say that there is a release that comes when you truly forgive or are forgiven. Our world dose not understand in most cases what it means to forgive. Let’s show them by our actions.

  14. 8 And he said, What meanest thou by all this drove which I met? And he said, These are to find grace in the sight of my lord.

    9 And Esau said, I have enough, my brother; keep that thou hast unto thyself.

    10 And Jacob said, Nay, I pray thee, if now I have found grace in thy sight, then receive my present at my hand: for therefore I have seen thy face, as though I had seen the face of God, and thou wast pleased with me.

  15. Genesis 33:1 Jacob looked up and there was Esau coming with four hundred men so he divided the children among Leah, Rachel and the two female servants. He put the female servants and their children in front Leah and her children next, and Rachel and Joseph in the rear. He himself went on ahead and bowed down to the ground seven times as he approached his brother. But Esau ran to meet Jacob and embraced him he threw his arms around his neck and kissed him. And they wept.

  16. 20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

    In time of need and in time of happiness, we must create an altar before the Lord!

  17. 14 Let my lord, I pray thee, pass over before his servant: and I will lead on softly, according as the cattle that goeth before me and the children be able to endure, until I come unto my lord unto Seir.

    AMEN!!!! Jesus will lead me all the way yet its my decision to backslide, but my God is greater than anything. If you backslide is not because God want there for you is because you rejected his help. Jesus is always there by our side in the good, bad, sorrows, happiness, everyday 24/7. My God never stops giving me air, food, water, clothing. My God is so amazing and will always lead me!!! Let’s not be stubborn but let God mold us to his image.

  18. 11 Please take this gift I have brought you, for God has been very gracious to me. I have more than enough.” And because Jacob insisted, Esau finally accepted the gift.

    By giving these gifts, Jacob is saying “Im sorry for what I did in the past”, and by accepting the gifts, Esau is saying “I forgive you”. Even though many years had past, they found peace between the two. So many friends and even relatives hold grudges against one another. Neither side is willing to make the first move and ask for forgiveness. As Christians, we should always be willing to say “I’m sorry” to anyone we may have hurt or offended.

  19. v4 And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept.

    By these brothers making things right they resolved their greatest conflict
    conflict with GOD.

    ” Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and forth it not, to him it is sin”
    James 4:17

    Resolving conflict with GOD and others is essential.

  20. 20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

    Mighty God

    There are some blessings in life that become a great testimony of the power of God. It is in these times we should take out the time to build an altar. In doing so we strength our character and our faith. Take a moment to reflect on what God has done. Is there a testimony that has gone untold? If so it’s time to build an altar as a sign of gratitude and tell what Gid has done.

  21. 3 And he passed over before them, and bowed himself to the ground seven times, until he came near to his brother.

    4 And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept.

    What an amazing encounter between brothers . Little did Jacob know that His brother would receive him with open arms.
    Jacob bowed to his brother seven times to show respect and to find favor, he was brave and knew that God had his back in case something went wrong. Jacob’s intention was to reconcile with his bro. Because he had a past that divided them and he wanted to seek peace and unity between them. Lord I pray unity amongst church family and families who need to get right with God.

  22. 6 Then the handmaidens came near, they and their children, and they bowed themselves.

    7 And Leah also with her children came near, and bowed themselves: and after came Joseph near and Rachel, and they bowed themselves.

    Lol, haha I had a crazy visual as the family was reading this tonight. I can imagine when Leah came and bowed before Esau that Jacob might have been a little embarrassed. Esau, might have been, oh is this your wife…😬

  23. The Lord notices everything. And when our lives please God he will make our enemies at peace with us. 

    “When people’s lives please the LORD, even their enemies are at peace with them.”
    ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭16:7‬ ‭NLT‬‬

  24. 18 And Jacob came to Shalem, a city of Shechem, which is in the land of Canaan, when he came from Padanaram; and pitched his tent before the city.

    19 And he bought a parcel of a field, where he had spread his tent, at the hand of the children of Hamor, Shechem’s father, for an hundred pieces of money.

    20 And he erected there an altar, and called it EleloheIsrael.

    No matter where you go we must make sure we have an altar unto the Lord (prayer, praise, and worship) the Lord is with you where ever you go we must make sure we aware of his presence and worship Him for who he is. An altar is also a place a place of connection where can come and repent and be renewed.

  25. Reconciliation

    33:4 But Esau ran to meet him, embraced him, hugged his neck, and kissed him. Then they both wept

    It is refreshing to see the restored relationship of the brothers. Many families hold onto to grudges and spite. Here we see a restoration that is desired among all family feuds.

  26. “And he said unto him, My lord knoweth that the children are tender, and the flocks and herds with young are with me: and if men should overdrive them one day, all the flock will die.” Jacob was more concerned with all arriving safely, than with little, or none at all. God (Jesus) places a man of God in one’s life that is responsible too God in doing likewise, therefore one should heed and follow. Dear God, help us (me) and lead us (me) according to your will; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  27. 4 And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him:
    wow what mercy was shown by I saw that even though he had issues at one time with his brother he was willing to forgive him and give him another chance to move on with his life it sounds a lot like God to me. God’s mercy is so great that he forgives us even when we don’t deserve it and not only does he forgive us but he comes running to us embraces us and let us know that we have another chance thank God for mercy!

  28. Lead Softly

    12 And he said, Let us take our journey, and let us go, and I will go before thee

    13 And he said unto him, My lord knoweth that the children are tender, and the flocks and herds with young are with me: and if men should overdrive them one day, all the flock will die.

    14 Let my lord, I pray thee, pass over before his servant: and I will lead on softly, according as the cattle that goeth before me and the children be able to endure, until I come unto my lord unto Seir.

    Jacob spoke to Esau requesting the opportunity to lead his flocks and family according to the needs of the young and weak. He stated that to overdrive them and be hard would kill them, but to lead them on softly would allow them to live. It has been said, a goat herder drives his flock but a shepherd leads his, or his sheep will die; we as the church must be careful in nurturing our new believers so that they receive the nurturing they need without being overdriven. We must be attentive to their needs and sensitive to how God would have them to grow. It is not up to us to dictate how quickly they are to grow and how soon they should be fed spiritual meat. Our great Shepherd knows how to lead His sheep with the softness required for their needs. He was touched with the feeling of our infirmity, to know not only where we experience the weaknesses of life in a sinful world but also to know the frailty of the flesh He made for us. Sheep are not wrong for needing gentleness, and neither are spiritual sheep.

    Hebrews 4:14-16
    14 Seeing then that we have a great high priest, that is passed into the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our profession.

    15 For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.

    16 Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.

  29. 18 And Jacob came to Shalem, a city of Shechem, which is in the land of Canaan, when he came from Padanaram; and pitched his tent before the city.

  30. Pitched his tent 18. And Ja’-cob came to Sha’-lem, a city of She’-chem, which is in the land of Ca’-na-an, when he came from Pa’-dan-a’-ram; and pitched his tent before the city. Acts 7 : 16 19. And he bought a parcel of a field, where he had spread his tent, at the hand of the children of Ha’-mor, She’-chem’s father, for an hundred pieces of money. 20. And he erected there an altar, and called it El-el’-o-he- Is’-ra-el. Thank you Jesus for shelter !!!!

  31. 15 And Esau said, Let me now leave with thee some of the folk that are with me. And he said, What needeth it? let me find grace in the sight of my lord.

    We all need to pray for grace in the sight of God, for we all sin and come short of his glory, but through faith we can find grace.

Leave a Reply

