Genesis Chapter 45

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 25

Genesis 45

1 Then Joseph could not refrain himself before all them that stood by him; and he cried, Cause every man to go out from me. And there stood no man with him, while Joseph made himself known unto his brethren.

2 And he wept aloud: and the Egyptians and the house of Pharaoh heard.

3 And Joseph said unto his brethren, I am Joseph; doth my father yet live? And his brethren could not answer him; for they were troubled at his presence.

4 And Joseph said unto his brethren, Come near to me, I pray you. And they came near. And he said, I am Joseph your brother, whom ye sold into Egypt.

5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

6 For these two years hath the famine been in the land: and yet there are five years, in the which there shall neither be earing nor harvest.

7 And God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance.

8 So now it was not you that sent me hither, but God: and he hath made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house, and a ruler throughout all the land of Egypt.

9 Haste ye, and go up to my father, and say unto him, Thus saith thy son Joseph, God hath made me lord of all Egypt: come down unto me, tarry not:

10 And thou shalt dwell in the land of Goshen, and thou shalt be near unto me, thou, and thy children, and thy children’s children, and thy flocks, and thy herds, and all that thou hast:

11 And there will I nourish thee; for yet there are five years of famine; lest thou, and thy household, and all that thou hast, come to poverty.

12 And, behold, your eyes see, and the eyes of my brother Benjamin, that it is my mouth that speaketh unto you.

13 And ye shall tell my father of all my glory in Egypt, and of all that ye have seen; and ye shall haste and bring down my father hither.

14 And he fell upon his brother Benjamin’s neck, and wept; and Benjamin wept upon his neck.

15 Moreover he kissed all his brethren, and wept upon them: and after that his brethren talked with him.

16 And the fame thereof was heard in Pharaoh’s house, saying, Joseph’s brethren are come: and it pleased Pharaoh well, and his servants.

17 And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, Say unto thy brethren, This do ye; lade your beasts, and go, get you unto the land of Canaan;

18 And take your father and your households, and come unto me: and I will give you the good of the land of Egypt, and ye shall eat the fat of the land.

19 Now thou art commanded, this do ye; take you wagons out of the land of Egypt for your little ones, and for your wives, and bring your father, and come.

20 Also regard not your stuff; for the good of all the land of Egypt is your’s.

21 And the children of Israel did so: and Joseph gave them wagons, according to the commandment of Pharaoh, and gave them provision for the way.

22 To all of them he gave each man changes of raiment; but to Benjamin he gave three hundred pieces of silver, and five changes of raiment.

23 And to his father he sent after this manner; ten asses laden with the good things of Egypt, and ten she asses laden with corn and bread and meat for his father by the way.

24 So he sent his brethren away, and they departed: and he said unto them, See that ye fall not out by the way.

25 And they went up out of Egypt, and came into the land of Canaan unto Jacob their father,

26 And told him, saying, Joseph is yet alive, and he is governor over all the land of Egypt. And Jacob’s heart fainted, for he believed them not.

27 And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:

28 And Israel said, It is enough; Joseph my son is yet alive: I will go and see him before I die.

33 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 45

  1. Jacob (Israel) loved his son, Joseph, so much that when he thought he died, a piece of him died too. So when his sons came back telling him that he was alive the end of verses 25-28 MSG says “….he went numb; he couldn’t believe his ears. But the more they talked, telling him everything that Joseph had told them and when he saw the wagons that Joseph had sent to carry him back, the blood started to flow again—their father Jacob’s spirit revived. Israel said, “I’ve heard enough—my son Joseph is still alive. I’ve got to go and see him before I die.” Its a sad and scary place to be when we let our love, our urgency, or devotion kinda die in a way. We have to dig deep, pray for one another, and revive our walk with the Lord. We cannot afford to be distracted, fall away or let our spirit die. We (POFW) can’t stop till the whole world knows!

  2. GIVING GOD THANKS

    8 So now it was not you that sent me hither, but God: and he hath made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house, and a ruler throughout all the land of Egypt.

    As believers we often find ourselves in positions of favor and influence. Our response and attitude in these times is imperative to our success in the Kingdom of GOD.

    We learn from Joseph to be Thankful to the Lord for all good things. We must be prayerful to give GOD glory and thanksgiving for all BLESSINGS and Promotions.

    Thank you JESUS and Happy Thanksgiving to The POFW!

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  3. 18 And take your father and your households, and come unto me: and I will give you the good of the land of Egypt, and ye shall eat the fat of the land.

    God know how to take care of his people. Sometimes we get so busy trying to make things happen that we look over the fact that God can make it a lot easier. When we try to do it ourselves, we mess up. It doesn’t mean that what we want isn’t for us, it’s when we do it ourselves the timing is off. We have to understand that God’s timing is not like ours. When we fall in line with the plan God has for us the other good things we want to happen in our life will follow.

  4. 19. Now thou art commanded, this do ye; take you wagons out of the land of Egypt for your little ones, and for your wives, and bring your father, and come.

    20. Also regard not your stuff; for the good of all the land of Egypt is your’s.

    This made me think of going to Heaven…bring everyone you can, but don’t bring any possessions; everything you need is already there and it’s so much more and better than what you already have.

  5. Joseph’s story is an.reminder for you and me . Even when we don’t no why we must know that GOD is at work in Every experience of our lives even the painful ones.

  6. 5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

    Your trial may not only be a test from God, but it could be God preparing you to help save someone. Joseph was thrown into the pit to save the lives of his brothers, you may be going through a hard time so that you can be a testimony to someone else to help them through a hard time and be a light unto them to bring them to Jesus.

  7. The blessings of the trial.

    We read here how Joseph shows himself to his brothers. And the blessings from Pharaoh. This morning when I was coming to work the song,” stand in the rain,” came on and I was thinking about how Joseph stood in the rain. Stand fast and stand strong children of God. He is coming sooner everyday.

  8. Hindsight is 20/20

    5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

    Most of us, likely have heard this cliché. Maybe another popular is we cant see the forest for the trees. The point is, when we are in the depths of the battle, turmoil – what-have-you – we cannot easily see the end result. It is only after the fire that we can then see where we came from and the going through the process is what made who we are today. Maybe we come from a broken home with lots of screaming or an abusive home. Maybe we come from a Normal Rockwell type home.

    Either way, we are the people we are today because of what we have survived.

    1 Corinthians 2:9-10 But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him. But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God.

    Isaiah 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.

  9. NLT 24 So Joseph sent his brothers off, and as they left, he called after them, “Don’t quarrel about all this along the way!

    All is good, so don’t argue or fight over what happened. All has been forgiven. So once forgiveness is offered, don’t bring up the situation again, move forward and rejoice!

  10. 8 So it was God who sent me here, not you! And he is the one who made me an adviser to Pharaoh—the manager of his entire palace and the governor of all Egypt. (NLT)

    Joseph was wise to recognize all that happened to him was according to Gods plan. He even told his brothers not to be mad at themselves; he didn’t say told you so or shame on you. Instead, he embraced them with love because he understood the process and more importantly he understood and was passionate about the one doing the planning (God).

  11. The strength to forgive.

    Joseph went through a lot. It takes a strong man to humble himself and forgive those that try to kill And get rid of you. Many people don’t have that strength.

  12. God’s Will Shall Be Done

    7 And God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance.
    8 So now it was not you that sent me hither, but God: and he hath made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house, and a ruler throughout all the land of Egypt.

    They were an instrument of God, everything they meant for bad God turn to Good. Every ill word God turned to a blessing. Let’s have Faith onto the Lord for He is Good and His Will Shall be Done no matter what comes your way.

    No Resentment

    10 And thou shalt dwell in the land of Goshen, and thou shalt be near unto me, thou, and thy children, and thy children’s children, and thy flocks, and thy herds, and all that thou hast:
    11 And there will I nourish thee; for yet there are five years of famine; lest thou, and thy household, and all that thou hast, come to poverty.

    There is no resentment in Joseph heart, that is why he gives the very best to them GOSHEN. In the same way once we come into repentance God wants the very best for us.

    True Forgiveness

    14 And he fell upon his brother Benjamin’s neck, and wept; and Benjamin wept upon his neck.
    15 Moreover he kissed all his brethren, and wept upon them: and after that his brethren talked with him.

    He forgave them before they even spoke with him. He hugged and kiss them with love, the true love that forgives all, no matter what. He did not need an explanation, he did not need to listen to what they had to say. He just forgave and loved.

    A Fathers Love

    26 And told him, saying, Joseph is yet alive, and he is governor over all the land of Egypt. And Jacob’s heart fainted, for he believed them not.
    27 And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:
    28 And Israel said, It is enough; Joseph my son is yet alive: I will go and see him before I die.

    What a miracle moment that was!!! I also lost my son, how beautiful it would be if someone will tell me guess what it was all a mistake he’s still alive. I just realize something GOD TELLS ME EVERYDAY FOR IN HIM WE HAVE ETERNAL LIFE. MY SON LIVES IN JESUS CHRIST OUR SAVIOR. ALL I HAVE TO DO IS WAIT FOR THE MOMENT WE ARE REUNITED. I can only relate to Israel how he felt, the anxiety to hurry up, pack up, and leave. Can’t you make this donkeys move faster… What a joyful moment that would be.

  13. 18 And take your father and your households, and come unto me: and I will give you the good of the land of Egypt, and ye shall eat the fat of the land.

    I have heard similar words from my God. Bring those of your household to me. I will make sure you are well provided for. You shall have the best.

  14. “You can live in the region of Goshen, where you can be near me with all your children and grandchildren, your flocks and herds, and everything you own. I will take care of you there, for there are still five years of famine ahead of us. Otherwise you, your household, and all your animals will starve.’””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭45:10-11‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Thankful for the region of Goshen. The Lord has  taken care of us and provided for us. If it had not been for the Lord on my side I don’t know where I’d be. 

  15. 27 And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:

    28 And Israel said, It is enough; Joseph my son is yet alive: I will go and see him before I die.

    Jacob was his past and Israel was his promised future. He lost hope, maybe even care for his promise when he lost Joseph. He reverted back to the old man. It wasn’t until his spirit was revived that he walked in his promise once more. We need to revive our spirit regularly to walk in the promises of the Lord. We are not who we use to be, we are who God says we are.

  16. 7 And God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance

    That is just beautiful, even though his brothers sold him, he understood that it had to happen. Just like Jesus days everything happens for a reason whether we understand it or not he is in control and nothing happens by mistake. Yes sometimes we make mistakes but Jesus will always be in control. Don’t let the devil steal weekday Belinda to us because my God is worth fighting for. Jesus is the reason why I breathe n have what I have. We have been blessed with a great Pastor, leader, friend, to not be wise and be under the anointing that Jesus has given him. Thank you Jesus for bringing me out!!!!! Glory!!!!! Harvest, Harvest, Harvest!!!!

  17. 5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

    6 For these two years hath the famine been in the land: and yet there are five years, in the which there shall neither be earing nor harvest.

    7 And God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance.

    Thank you Jesus.

  18. 3 And Joseph said unto his brethren, I am Joseph; doth my father yet live? And his brethren could not answer him; for they were troubled at his presence.

    4 And Joseph said unto his brethren, Come near to me, I pray you. And they came near. And he said, I am Joseph your brother, whom ye sold into Egypt.

    5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

    Joseph’s brothers were speechless. They understood their mistake long before they realized Joseph was alive and doing well. I’ve always wondered if they had ever prayed for Joseph to one day come home? Had they ever gotten to the point that they were just about to confess to their father but something came up? Had they ever searched for Joseph or mistaken someone for him?

    I choose to believe they where speechless because finally their father would no longer be in inner pain. Finally he could rest in peace. The greatest feeling of pain and joy all at the same time, wow what a moment.

    Joseph went through all he did to “preserve life”

  19. iLove to eat More Word

    26“Joseph is still alive!” they told him. “And he is governor of all the land of Egypt!” Jacob was stunned at the news—he couldn’t believe it. 27But when they repeated to Jacob everything Joseph had told them, and when he saw the wagons Joseph had sent to carry him, their father’s spirits revived. 28Then Jacob exclaimed, “It must be true! My son Joseph is alive! I must go and see him before I die.”

    Verse:27 tells us how Jacob entered into revival. He heard over and over what Joseph told them and he finally accepted it as truth. This is what causes true revival in the hearts and minds of God’s people as well. When we hear and start believing what the Word of God says about us. Sometimes God has to bring evidence like the evidence that Joseph sent to Jacob. When God sends us these blessings, it is for the purpose that we will believe his Word and we will enter into revival.

  20. Gen. 45:26-28
    26) And told him saying, Joseph is yet alive, and he is governor over all the land of Egypt. And Jacob’s heart fainted, for he believed them not.
    27) And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:
    28) And Israel said, It is enough; Joseph my son is yet alive: I will go and see him before I die.

    This reminds me of “doubting” Thomas. Jacob did not believe his sons when they told him that Joseph was alive, until he saw the wagons Joseph had sent. Thomas did not believe the other disciples when they told him that they had seen the Lord, until he had reached hither his finger and beheld His hands and reached hither his hand and thrust it into His side. JESUS told him “not to be faithless but believe.” JESUS told Thomas, “Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that gave not seen, and yet have believed.” St. John 20:29

    Thank You Jesus that one day someone told me and showed me who you were. Thank You Jesus for Faith in Believing that You are God.
    We need to tell and show people who Jesus is, so that they too can have Faith and Believed in God.

    MORE Telling
    MORE Showing
    MORE Faith
    MORE Believing

  21. v5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for GOD did send me before you to preseservr life .

    GOD IS IN CONTROL OF ALL THINGS.
    Joseph could have been bitter and full of strife but he was a wise man.
    His focus was outward instead of inward . He was patient and waited on the LORD and HIS timing.
    We as Christians should continually examine our lives to make sure that we produce genuine peace. God’s WORD says we are the salt and light , that the world cannnot corrupt.

    James 3:17 But the wisdom that is from a bove is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, and easy to be intreated, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality, and without hypocrisy.

  22. Genesis 45:26-27 (KJV Strong’s)

    26 And told him, saying, Joseph is yet alive, and he is governor over all the land of Egypt. And Jacob’s heart fainted, for he believed them not.

    27 And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:

    John 20:29 (KJV Strong’s)

    29 Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.

    Our world adage is seeing is believing. Jacob was so far from God he was cursed with the same curse as his father Isaac. Isaac believed what he felt over what he heard. Now jacob believes what he sees instead of the good report.

    Our faith is not based on visual evidence but in reliance on the word of God. Faith is the substance of things hoped for the evidence of things NOT SEEN.

    God isn’t a feeling and his word is not either. Faith isn’t about flesh. If we rely too much on our five senses we will be deceived and may miss the promise coming down that dusty road.

  23. 7 And God sent me before you to preserve you a posterity in the earth, and to save your lives by a great deliverance.

    God knows what he is doing we are always trying to figure out God’s next move. Let God do his work.

  24. “And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived”. The news of his son made a difficult time a joyous time. Difficult seasons come too all, yet the Lord (Jesus) knows what will make one see beyond them. A thankful person will be thankful, whereas one that is not will not. Dear God, let us (me) never forget to be thankful to you, family, and those that sacrificed for us (me); “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  25. Genesis 45:5 Now therefore be not grieved, nor angry with yourselves, that ye sold me hither: for God did send me before you to preserve life.

  26. Gen.45:27 And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:
    v.28 And Israel said, It is enough; Joseph my son is yet alive : I will go and see him before I die.

    Isaiah 40:29 He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength.

  27. 1 Then Joseph could not refrain himself before all them that stood by him; and he cried, Cause every man to go out from me. And there stood no man with him, while Joseph made himself known unto his brethren.

    2 And he wept aloud: and the Egyptians and the house of Pharaoh heard.

    Remedy for a hurting soul!

    Matt 5:4 Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

    Who would have know not being so manly and crying, Jesus would call you blessed. When the Joseph broke down before his brother, when he forgave the ones that hurt him and gave him up for dead, he couldn’t hold himself back. He knew God was in the middle of all that happen and he had an obligation to release them from the guilt.
    What a powerful thing!

  28. ““Come closer to me,” Joseph said to his brothers. They came closer. “I am Joseph your brother whom you sold into Egypt. But don’t feel badly, don’t blame yourselves for selling me. God was behind it. God sent me here ahead of you to save lives. There has been a famine in the land now for two years; the famine will continue for five more years—neither plowing nor harvesting. God sent me on ahead to pave the way and make sure there was a remnant in the land, to save your lives in an amazing act of deliverance. So you see, it wasn’t you who sent me here but God. He set me in place as a father to Pharaoh, put me in charge of his personal affairs, and made me ruler of all Egypt.”
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭45:4-8‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    Joseph realized that his promise came through his trials and tribulations. God never left his side or forgot him.

    God hasn’t left you. God hasn’t forgotten you. Your promise will come.

  29. Reconciliation.

    Joseph and his family are brought together again. It had been close to 15 years since their desperation. God placed Joseph in the position to be a savior. In this he is a type of Christ.

  30. 1 Then Joseph could not refrain himself before all them that stood by him; and he cried, Cause every man to go out from me. And there stood no man with him, while Joseph made himself known unto his brethren.

    2 And he wept aloud: and the Egyptians and the house of Pharaoh heard.

    3 And Joseph said unto his brethren, I am Joseph; doth my father yet live? And his brethren could not answer him; for they were troubled at his presence.

    The emotions that Joseph felt when it cam time to reveal himself to his brothers were deep. It was his desire to be kind to his family, but he had to test them to see if they had changed, had they repented for the evil they had done. It’s not always easy being the one in charge at times.

    It’s like us with God, we ask of him things, and when they don’t happen like we want, we get an attitude, or get made at Jesus.

    Luke 11:11 – If a son shall ask bread of any of you that is a father, will he give him a stone? or if he ask a fish, will he for a fish give him a serpent?

    God knows what He is doing and gives us when He knows we need or can handle in His perfect timing.

  31. 27 And they told him all the words of Joseph, which he had said unto them: and when he saw the wagons which Joseph had sent to carry him, the spirit of Jacob their father revived:

    28 And Israel said, It is enough; Joseph my son is yet alive: I will go and see him before I die.

    The mentality of the deciver will always say that its over and there is no hope but that is nothing more than a lie. There is life and thus still hope. Se must sometimes say to ourselves; it is enough and stand on then words and promises of God

  32. Sometimes the things that we think are so hard in our lives are actually propelling us into the vision that God has for us. We just have to hold on to God and stay faithful to get the blessings that come with it.

  33. What I learned about Joseph revealed to his brothers, They didn’t even recognize Joseph after all their years apart, but Joseph certainly recognized them. We heard last week that he gave them grain and demanded that they return to Egypt with their youngest brother Benjamin. In the meantime, Joseph had his brother Simeon put in prison.Jacob refused to send Benjamin to Egypt, fearing that he would lose yet another son. In Jesus Name Amen!!!

    i Repent
    i Praise
    i Pray
    i Work
    i Give
    i Reap

Leave a Reply

