Genesis Chapter 48

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 28

Genesis 48

1 And it came to pass after these things, that one told Joseph, Behold, thy father is sick: and he took with him his two sons, Manasseh and Ephraim.

2 And one told Jacob, and said, Behold, thy son Joseph cometh unto thee: and Israel strengthened himself, and sat upon the bed.

3 And Jacob said unto Joseph, God Almighty appeared unto me at Luz in the land of Canaan, and blessed me,

4 And said unto me, Behold, I will make thee fruitful, and multiply thee, and I will make of thee a multitude of people; and will give this land to thy seed after thee for an everlasting possession.

5 And now thy two sons, Ephraim and Manasseh, which were born unto thee in the land of Egypt before I came unto thee into Egypt, are mine; as Reuben and Simeon, they shall be mine.

6 And thy issue, which thou begettest after them, shall be thine, and shall be called after the name of their brethren in their inheritance.

7 And as for me, when I came from Padan, Rachel died by me in the land of Canaan in the way, when yet there was but a little way to come unto Ephrath: and I buried her there in the way of Ephrath; the same is Bethlehem.

8 And Israel beheld Joseph’s sons, and said, Who are these?

9 And Joseph said unto his father, They are my sons, whom God hath given me in this place. And he said, Bring them, I pray thee, unto me, and I will bless them.

10 Now the eyes of Israel were dim for age, so that he could not see. And he brought them near unto him; and he kissed them, and embraced them.

11 And Israel said unto Joseph, I had not thought to see thy face: and, lo, God hath shewed me also thy seed.

12 And Joseph brought them out from between his knees, and he bowed himself with his face to the earth.

13 And Joseph took them both, Ephraim in his right hand toward Israel’s left hand, and Manasseh in his left hand toward Israel’s right hand, and brought them near unto him.

14 And Israel stretched out his right hand, and laid it upon Ephraim’s head, who was the younger, and his left hand upon Manasseh’s head, guiding his hands wittingly; for Manasseh was the firstborn.

15 And he blessed Joseph, and said, God, before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac did walk, the God which fed me all my life long unto this day,

16 The Angel which redeemed me from all evil, bless the lads; and let my name be named on them, and the name of my fathers Abraham and Isaac; and let them grow into a multitude in the midst of the earth.

17 And when Joseph saw that his father laid his right hand upon the head of Ephraim, it displeased him: and he held up his father’s hand, to remove it from Ephraim’s head unto Manasseh’s head.

18 And Joseph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head.

19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.

20 And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Israel bless, saying, God make thee as Ephraim and as Manasseh: and he set Ephraim before Manasseh.

21 And Israel said unto Joseph, Behold, I die: but God shall be with you, and bring you again unto the land of your fathers.

22 Moreover I have given to thee one portion above thy brethren, which I took out of the hand of the Amorite with my sword and with my bow.

32 thoughts on “Genesis Chapter 48

  1. Genesis 48:8
    And Israel beheld Joseph sons and said who are these ?
    it dose not matter how’s these are because god loves them and Joseph and us More Jesus. Amen

  2. Genises 48:8
    And Israel beheld Joseph sons and said who are these ?
    It dose Matter who’s they are God loves Joseph and his sons and all of us More Jesus . Amen

  3. 19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.
    God brings the head of the lesser up always!

  4. 11 Then Jacob said to Joseph, “I never thought I would see your face again, but now God has let me see your children, too!” (NLT)

    God seems to always do more than what we ever imagined. Why don’t we just increase our faith in Him and trust the plan He has for us!

  5. iLove to eat more Word

    “But his father refused. “I know, my son; I know,” he replied. “Manasseh will also become a great people, but his younger brother will become even greater. And his descendants will become a multitude of nations.””
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭48:19‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    God knows exactly what he’s doing and even if it sometimes seems the man of God “missed it”, it could possibly just be the hand of God

  6. 19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.
    20 And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Israel bless, saying, God make thee as Ephraim and as Manasseh: and he set Ephraim before Manasseh.
    21 And Israel said unto Joseph, Behold, I die: but God shall be with you, and bring you again unto the land of your fathers.
    22 Moreover I have given to thee one portion above thy brethren, which I took out of the hand of the Amorite with my sword and with my bow.

    The birthright in the right place.

    Why do I say this? Remember who Jacob loved first. It was Rachael , his first love. Therefore he saw Joseph as the rightful first born. Because he first loved his mother.
    Don’t let go of the promises of our forefathers so easily. The blessings. The promises. They are all yea and amen. We just have to believe that they are still true. Be blessed.

  7. 2 And one told Jacob, and said, Behold, thy son Joseph cometh unto thee: and Israel strengthened himself, and sat upon the bed.

    When in a place of leadership you are called on by those around you. You must learn (perhaps even on your death bed) to strengthen yourself in the Lord. You never know who you are going to bless.

  8. 2. And one told Jacob, and said, Behold, thy son Joseph cometh unto thee: and Israel strengthened himself, and sat upon the bed.

    When we have to strengthen ourselves to do the task at hand, we must remember that the JOY of the Lord is our strength.

    More Joy = More Strength

  9. The story repeats itself

    Jacob being the youngest gets Esau’s blessing. Now, Manasseh gets the blessing that rightfully belonged to Ephraim. Sometimes we say to ourselves that we will never repeat the mistakes of our parents; but once we come to the moment of decision unless we take the time to view all options we end up doing the same thing our parents did. Lord help us make the right decisions according to your will and not ours. In Jesus Name I pray AMEN AND AMEN

    • He set Sephardim before Mannaseth. Sorry made a mistake in the order of names.

      20 And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Israel bless, saying, God make thee as Ephraim and as Manasseh: and he set Ephraim before Manasseh.

  10. 17 But Joseph was upset when he saw that his father placed his right hand on Ephraim’s head. So Joseph lifted it to move it from Ephraim’s head to Manasseh’s head. 18“No, my father,” he said. “This one is the firstborn. Put your right hand on his head.”

    This goes to show, the oldest is not always to receive all things. God will use anyone no matter their age. Jacob knew this, I’m sure God had spoken to him about blessing the younger of the two brothers, just as Joseph was blessed!

  11. 11 And Israel said unto Joseph, I had not thought to see thy face: and, lo, God hath shewed me also thy seed.

    All we have to do is trust in the plan God has for us, for as long as we are following His will, everything will work out according to His plan, which is greater than we could ever think of!!

    “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”
    ‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

  12. Genesis 48:11 Israel said to Joseph, I never expected to see your face again and now God has allowed me to see your children too. Then Joseph removed them from Israel’s knees and bowed down with his face to the ground. And Joseph took both of them Ephraim on his right toward Israel’s left hand and Manasseh on his left toward Israel’s right hand and brought them close to him. But Israel reached out his right hand and put it on Ephraim’s head though e was the younger and crossing his arms he put his lsft hand on Manasseh’s head even though Manasseh was the first born.

  13. Joseph’s father 17. And when Jo’-seph saw that his father laid his right hand upon the head of E’-phra-im, it displeased him: and he held up his father’s hand, to remove it from E’-phra-im’s head unto Ma-nas’-seh’s head. Gen. 48 : 14 18. And Jo’-seph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head. 19. And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations. Gen. 48 : 14 ; Deut. 33 : 17 20. And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Is’-ra-el bless, saying, God make thee as E’-phra-im and as Ma-nas’-she: and he set E’-phra-im before Ma-nas’-she. I LOVE JESUS !!!!

  14. THE GOD WHO Fed Me . This phrase is literally The God who has shepherded me . This is the first in the Bible as God as a shepherd to his people. 48:3-4. As Jacob nears the end of his life his focus remains on the future. God will keep his promise and give his descendants the promise land.

  15. Gen. 48:5-6
    5) And now thy two sons, Ephraim and Manasseh, which were born unto thee in the land of Egypt before I came unto thee into Egypt, are mine; as Reuben and Simeon, they shall be mine.
    6) And thy issue, which thou begettest after them, shall be thine, and shall be called after the name of their brethren in their inheritance.

    Jacob “adopts” the two sons of Joseph as his own sons.
    We have been adopted into the family of God too.
    Rom. 8:15-16, “For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father. The Spirit itself bearerth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God.”
    Gal. 4:4-7, “But when the fulness of time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law, To redeem them that were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons. And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father. Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.”
    Eph. 1:5 & 11, “Having predestinated us unto the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will.”

    Thank You JESUS!

  16. PASSING THE MANTLE

    21 And Israel said unto Joseph, Behold, I die: but God shall be with you, and bring you again unto the land of your fathers.

    We witness here the passing of the mantle of the LORD from Israel to Joseph. While Joseph perceives that Israel is making a mistake with his sons. The ELDER is very clear in communicating that he knows what he is doing.

    16 The Angel which redeemed me from all evil, bless the lads; and let my name be named on them, and the name of my fathers Abraham and Isaac; and let them grow into a multitude in the midst of the earth.
    17 And when Joseph saw that his father laid his right hand upon the head of Ephraim, it displeased him: and he held up his father’s hand, to remove it from Ephraim’s head unto Manasseh’s head.
    18 And Joseph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head.
    19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.
    20 And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Israel bless, saying, God make thee as Ephraim and as Manasseh: and he set Ephraim before Manasseh.

    We are WISE to trust our ELDERS and SPIRITUAL Fathers. We should have confidence in their decisions and TRUST their judgement.

    As we follow the LORD as our Elders followed the LORD we are poised to witness a successful PASSING THE MANTLE.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  17. Double for your trouble

    5 And now thy two sons, Ephraim and Manasseh, which were born unto thee in the land of Egypt before I came unto thee into Egypt, are mine; as Reuben and Simeon, they shall be mine.

    19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.

    The life that Joseph had lead was far greater of a trial than what he could have dreamed as a kid. All the things he went through just set him up for what he is blessed with this day. As I look at my trials I believe that God has a plan and it is just setting me up for the victory!

  18. Gen.48:15-22 When Jacob blessed Ephraim as the firstborn in verse 18, he startled Joseph.Jacob assured Joseph that Manasseh would be great, and the blessing of Jacob on Ephraim became evident during the time of the judges.

  19. Genesis 48:22 (KJV Strong’s)

    22 Moreover I have given to thee one portion above thy brethren, which I took out of the hand of the Amorite with my sword and with my bow.

    Reuben was supposed to receive the inheritance. However his lust for his father’s wife led to his downfall.

    Genesis 35:22 (AMP)

    22 When Israel dwelt there, Reuben [his eldest son] went and lay with Bilhah his father’s concubine; and Israel heard about it. Now Jacob’s sons were twelve.

    The law soon to be revealed spoke against this immorality.

    Deuteronomy 27:20 (KJV Strong’s)

    20 Cursed be he that lieth with his father’s wife; because he uncovereth his father’s skirt. And all the people shall say, Amen.

    Genesis 49:3-4 (KJV Strong’s)

    3 Reuben, thou art my firstborn,
    my might, and the beginning of my strength,
    the excellency of dignity, and the excellency of power:

    4 Unstable as water, thou shalt not excel;
    because thou wentest up to thy father’s bed;
    then defiledst thou it: he went up to my couch.

    Joseph chose to remain true to God and refused to give in to temptation. As a result he inherited the promise of Abraham. Although it may not show right now it pays huge dividends to remain faithful and pure before God. Reuben’s decisions affected an entire tribe and ruined his progeny. Joseph set his children up for success and he was double blessed for it.

  20. There is a common theme in Genesis: “The older shall serve the younger.” This was the opposite of the customs of culture. God has a way of doing things that seems to be the opposite of the world. Let us not get caught up on reason and logic, but rather allow God to work in us through our faith. This does not mean we abandon reason, but rather we trust the Lord in his bidding. In the mouth of 2 or 3 witnesses, the word will be established. When it comes from multiple sources, it is probably God. Walk in faith and please him.

  21. We must be ready for what God is wanting to bring us into. If we are focused on the task at hand, we want be easily distracted by the tricks of the enemy. Our goal is to do the will of the Lord. Lay aside our fleshly desires so that God can increase in us.

  22. 4 And said unto me, Behold, I will make thee fruitful, and multiply thee, and I will make of thee a multitude of people; and will give this land to thy seed after thee for an everlasting possession.

    God has given us the region of Fort Worth and we hold this promise; that He will cause us to be fruitful and multiply us in this region. I believe that even though we do not see it with our natural eyes it is so in the spirit. He is drawing us to a place of great influence with the people of this region.

  23. 22 Moreover I have given to thee one portion above thy brethren, which I took out of the hand of the Amorite with my sword and with my bow.
    God blessed them him one portion above what his brothers received that was a special love that God had for him to receive. Because sometimes God blesses his people with favor that is undeserved for no other reason other than God loves us and he sometimes blesses us more then we could ever imagine.

  24. 18 And Joseph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head.

    19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.

  25. 19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.

    20 And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Israel bless, saying, God make thee as Ephraim and as Manasseh: and he set Ephraim before Manasseh.

    We should be wise and desire this blessing from the father and spiritual father as there are God given blessings in it.

  26. 18 And Joseph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head. 19 And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.

    Although one may be first in man’s eyes, one may not be in God’s (Jesus) eyes. Dear God, let me be more concerned with pleasing you; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  27. Oh What A Blind Man Can See

    “And Israel stretched out his right hand, and laid it upon Ephraim’s head, who was the younger, and his left hand upon Manasseh’s head, guiding his hands wittingly; for Manasseh was the firstborn.

    And when Joseph saw that his father laid his right hand upon the head of Ephraim, it displeased him: and he held up his father’s hand, to remove it from Ephraim’s head unto Manasseh’s head. And Joseph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head. And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.”
    ‭‭Genesis‬ ‭48:14, 17-19‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Israel, the man of the promise, stretched out his hand in his old age and blessed the younger child with the right hand of power. Joseph tried to “help” his father with the blessings that he knew were being given and he even put the children by Israel’s correct hands. It caused Joseph to be upset because he thought the older son should have gotten the mighty right handed blessing (the custom). Sometimes when people lose one of their five senses they rely more on God. Israel did not go by his natural sight because it was gone. He had to rely on what the Lord was telling him about the situation. It’s not always easy. It doesn’t always follow the norm. BUT sometimes we just have to rely on what God tells us and look for his outcome.

  28. But his father refused and said, “I know, my son, I know. He too will become a people, and he too will become great. Nevertheless, his younger brother will be greater than he, and his descendants will become a group of nations.

    Isreal doesn’t explain why Ephraim the youngest son is to receive the inheritance over the oldest son Manessah. Joseph is one of the youngest sons and was second in all Egypt . We cannot always explain the way God blesses his children and we cannot count on age alone.

  29. Verse 11 MSG “Old Israel kissed and embraced them and then said to Joseph, “I never expected to see your face again, and now God has let me see your children as well!” My God is so good. He not only gives or fulfills our needs; but, goes way beyond what we expect and gives us some wants! What a blessing God gave him to not only see his son again; but, even his grandsons.

  30. v 22 Moreover I have given to thee one portion above thy brethren, which I took out of the hand of the Amorite with my sword and my bow.

    The source of all our blessings is from OUR GREAT GOD!!!
    We give HIM glory in all things .
    Thank you JESUS !!!

Leave a Reply

