Exodus Chapter 3

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 3

Exodus 3

1 Now Moses kept the flock of Jethro his father in law, the priest of Midian: and he led the flock to the backside of the desert, and came to the mountain of God, even to Horeb.

2 And the angel of the Lord appeared unto him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush: and he looked, and, behold, the bush burned with fire, and the bush was not consumed.

3 And Moses said, I will now turn aside, and see this great sight, why the bush is not burnt.

4 And when the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses. And he said, Here am I.

5 And he said, Draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.

6 Moreover he said, I am the God of thy father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob. And Moses hid his face; for he was afraid to look upon God.

7 And the Lord said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;

8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites.

9 Now therefore, behold, the cry of the children of Israel is come unto me: and I have also seen the oppression wherewith the Egyptians oppress them.

10 Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.

11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?

14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, the Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

16 Go, and gather the elders of Israel together, and say unto them, The Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, of Isaac, and of Jacob, appeared unto me, saying, I have surely visited you, and seen that which is done to you in Egypt:

17 And I have said, I will bring you up out of the affliction of Egypt unto the land of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites, unto a land flowing with milk and honey.

18 And they shall hearken to thy voice: and thou shalt come, thou and the elders of Israel, unto the king of Egypt, and ye shall say unto him, The Lord God of the Hebrews hath met with us: and now let us go, we beseech thee, three days’ journey into the wilderness, that we may sacrifice to the Lord our God.

19 And I am sure that the king of Egypt will not let you go, no, not by a mighty hand.

20 And I will stretch out my hand, and smite Egypt with all my wonders which I will do in the midst thereof: and after that he will let you go.

21 And I will give this people favour in the sight of the Egyptians: and it shall come to pass, that, when ye go, ye shall not go empty.

22 But every woman shall borrow of her neighbour, and of her that sojourneth in her house, jewels of silver, and jewels of gold, and raiment: and ye shall put them upon your sons, and upon your daughters; and ye shall spoil the Egyptians.

37 thoughts on “Exodus Chapter 3

  1. This chapter shows how God hears the cries of his people and makes a way, where there is no way. God had a plan and Moses was part of it. Moses’ reaction and response was key. The Lord can use anyone who is willing to hear His voice and do His will. This reminds of the song we sing that says “Yes, Lord, yes, to Your will and to Your way”.

  2. 13. And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?

    14. And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

    15. And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, The Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

    I AM THAT I AM…it’s hard for our minds to comprehend something that never had a beginning and will never have an ending, but just always was and always will be, but that is our God. He didn’t say I am now, but I didn’t used to be, or I am now but won’t be later…its just I AM THAT I AM…Everything else was created; everything else had a beginning and will have an ending.

    You and I were created; we had a beginning; and must have an ending (physical bodies)

    Our problems were created; they had a beginning and must have an end

    Since God was before us and our little problems, and He will be after, what have we to fear? Let’s keep in perspective the size and longevity of our problems vs our God!

  3. Exodus 3:7-10
    7) And the Lord said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;
    8) And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites.
    9) Now therefore, behold, the cry of the children of Israel is come unto me: and I have also seen the oppression wherewith the Egyptians oppress them.
    10) Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayst bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.

    God sees and hears all things. He saw the afflictions and heard the cries of his people Israel at the hands of the Egyptians. Now he has a plan to deliver them out of Egypt, and all He needs is a man, Moses, to help be a part of His plan.
    Like Bro. Scoggins said last night, “God always has a plan, and God always has a man.”

    The question is, ” Are you/ I going to be that man or woman that’s part of God’s plan to bring people out of bondage and into His Marvellous Light?”

    Remember: You’re The Man! You’re The Woman!

  4. I Am sent

    14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

    One of the elders tells a joke ” some are called, some are sent, and some just went”
    It is the first step of ministry to be called. all of us are not called out of a burning bush but God will make it evident that it is him. Gods ringtone is not like anyone else’s. The next step is to be sent. Next Moses will go ask his father in law Jethro about this call from God and Jethro will send him to do what God called him to do. Even though Jethro didn’t here the call like Moses he will be used of God to give instruction and cover Moses with authority. God just works this way. (Gods plan for man is man! Thank God for the word last night from Brother Scoggins.) We can’t get frustrated in the time between the call of God and the time when our man of God sends us. These times are crucial in the success in the ministry we are called to. Thank God for the call. I Am!

  5. 14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.
    15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, the Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

    HALELUJAH!!! HE IS THE GREAT I AM!!! HE ALONE IS GOD!!! NO NEED TO TRY TO TAKE OR ADD ANYTHING TO HIM, FOR ONLY HE IS PERFECT!!! HALELUJAH!!! YOU ARE FAITHFUL!!! I LOVE YOU DADDY!!!

  6. 8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites.

    The Wait

    Here we see that Jesus is telling Moses where He is joining to take the Israelites. Moses is told the location of where God is going to place His people. WOW!

    I find it intriguing that Moses will spent 40 years looking for a land that he has just told about, knowing where it is. With a single word from God Noah… With a single word from God Moses… waited for God to lead him, and did NOT run ahead of God.

  7. iLove to eat More Word

    2 And the angel of the Lord appeared unto him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush: and he looked, and, behold, the bush burned with fire, and the bush was not consumed.

    Pastor teaches an awesome message on “The Myth of Burnout.” How does one burn out as long as the Lord is speaking. God is that consuming fire and as long as the Word is alive in your heart, there will not be any burn out.

  8. 4 When the Lord saw Moses coming to take a closer look, God called to him from the middle of the bush, “Moses! Moses!” “Here I am!” Moses replied. (NLT)

    God is calling; how are we going to respond?

  9. “”I will cause the Egyptians to treat you in a kind way. Then when you leave, you will not go out with your hands empty. Every woman should ask her neighbor and any woman living in her house for articles made out of silver and gold. Ask them for clothes too. Put them on your children. In that way, you will take the wealth of Egypt along with you.””
    ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭3:21-22‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    Thankful for the Lord provision. 

  10. 11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

    12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

    Without God we are just a man.
    With God we are a man with a plan!

    If He has called you, then He is surely with you!

  11. “For I Know Their Sorrow”

    7 And the Lord said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;

    Isaiah 63:9
    In all their distress he too was distressed, and the angel of his presence saved them. In his love and mercy he redeemed them; he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old

    Hebrews 4:15
    For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feeling of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin

    We serve a God that understands our sorrow and takes notice. If we ever get to the point we are totally disconnected from understanding others sorrow and are not moved with compassion, we will miss our purpose. Most people first desires to see you care before they will ever open up and listen. Ones care for others must be genuine and not a job.

  12. Who am I?

    11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

    The forbidden tree in the Garden of Eden was not an obedience test, as in, fail the test and God will punish you. The forbidden tree was an opportunity to trust God. Tragically, we didn’t and we paid a price. But God, the good God that he is, didn’t wash his hands of us. He didn’t say, “I can’t trust them with anything. They’re no kids of mine.” Instead, he made things right, indeed, even better than before, because he still believes in us, he still thinks the best of us, and he longs for us to trust him back.

    God believes in you. And, yes, it’s because God believes in us, that at the end of the day, we have nothing to prove. When we really get this, when this becomes our internal reality… We can now step out of the rat race of a life of broken dreams and empty promises all in attempt to prove our worthiness.
    We can abandon the selfish motives of the dreams we have to prove our doubters wrong, or to be accepted by our peers. Imagine what God can do with a heart that is motivated by faith, hope, and love rather than fear, dread, and selfishness. I don’t know about you, but I really want to find out.

  13. 5 And he said, Draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.

    Amen our nee building is a Santuary, it is where the foundation is set on bibles. ….. everyone that steps into our building is going to feel Jesus because the property has been prayed for many times that Jesus will not allow the devil even try to go in and try to destroy. …. my God is victorious which makes me victorious!!!!!! The place that I step is Holy GROUND!!!!! Hallelujah

  14. Ministry training

    1 Now Moses kept the flock of Jethro his father in law, the priest of Midian: and he led the flock to the backside of the desert, and came to the mountain of God, even to Horeb.

    God will not trust anyone with their own flock until they can effectively keep the flock of their father.

    Moses wasn’t trusted with the people of God until he learned to care for those that were not his. In Egypt he tried to lead but didn’t know how to care for or keep them.

    11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

    Moses lost the hero attitude he had in Egypt and became humble. Who am I to do this great work? To go before great men? Before he was as a prince. He had position and power. He also knew he was going to free the Jews. His perspective had to change. His call of God never left but how high he stood in his own eyes did. God will not send a minister who is full of themselves. He will send those who are humble and give the glory to God. A willing vessel that God can use.

  15. 1 Now Moses kept the flock of Jethro his father in law, the priest of Midian: and he led the flock to the backside of the desert, and came to the mountain of God, even to Horeb.

    Zechariah 4:10 – 10 For who hath despised the day of small things…….

    Moses learned many a things from keeping the flock of his father-in-law. This is where he learned many leadership skills. Sometimes God has to place in situations that we don’t really want to be in, in order to teach us what God desires for us to learn.

  16. “And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.”
    ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭3:14‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  17. SPEAK FIRE

    2 And the angel of the Lord appeared unto him in a flame of fire out of the midst of a bush: and he looked, and, behold, the bush burned with fire, and the bush was not consumed.
    3 And Moses said, I will now turn aside, and see this great sight, why the bush is not burnt.
    4 And when the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses. And he said, Here am I.

    In the midst of loneliness, labor and lamenting GOD spoke through a BUSH as he speaks today in the FIRE.

    We must respond to the FIRE (Holy Ghost) by turning aside and making ourselves available.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  18. 11But Moses protested to God, “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh? Who am I to lead the people of Israel out of Egypt?”

    When we are asked to be in a position of ministry, we ask ourselves “who am I or why me”. Who am I to lead a group of people? Can’t someone else be asked or elected? God has chosen each one of us and placed us in a position, he feels we can handle and make a difference. Once God calls you, you won’t be able to run from your calling.

  19. 13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?

    14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

    He said I am that I am, there is none other like Him, for He is higher than any other!!

  20. 19 And I am sure that the king of Egypt will not let you go, no, not by a mighty hand.
    20 And I will stretch out my hand, and smite Egypt with all my wonders which I will do in the midst thereof: and after that he will let you go.

  21. God appears to Moses in a burning bush to tell him to go to Pharaoh to bring.my.people put of Egypt. God tells Moses his name YA H W E H. God promises Moses success and plunder .
    God’s redemptive name is ours forever .

  22. The Lord’s call-

    I appreciate the Lord for calling and talking to me everyday. I pray that all the noise will cease and I will hear him more clearer.

    Bless you Lord.

  23. “And when the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses. And he said, Here am I.” Moses was aware, of where he was; “and he led the flock to the backside of the desert, and came to the mountain of God, even to Horeb”. One should never doubt that the Lord (Jesus) is looking; if and where one turns. Dear God, help me too be observant of you; “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done”. “In GOD we trust”. “One Nation under GOD, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. What a mighty GOD we serve! Thank GOD for his word. GOD bless America, Jerusalem, and you all in JESUS name, Amen!

  24. v14 And GOD SAID unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

    So thankful to know JESUS CHRIST is to know the eternal I AM.
    The I AM of Israel validated Moses’ ministry , likewise validating HIS own ministry even more powerfully.
    HE IS THE I AM and we can have everlasting life through HIS NAME
    JESUS!!!!

  25. 5 And he said, Draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.

    6 Moreover he said, I am the God of thy father, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob. And Moses hid his face; for he was afraid to look upon God.

    7 And the Lord said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;

    8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites.

    9 Now therefore, behold, the cry of the children of Israel is come unto me: and I have also seen the oppression wherewith the Egyptians oppress them.

    10 Come now therefore, and I will send thee unto Pharaoh, that thou mayest bring forth my people the children of Israel out of Egypt.
    God sees what your going through, he has a plan for each of us. Are we going to answer the call like moses did? He was was humbled at the fact that God wanted him to confront king pharaoh about lettng God’s people go. Moses had faith in God, he had a relationship with God and he knew that nothing is impossible for God to do.

  26. It’s crazy how God can send us, with a word of security and power, and thenHe can also lay out a plan for us to follow in detail, explain everything that we should expect in the process and we still stand there and argue with Him like if he doesn’t know what he’s talking about!
    Our insecurity comes from a lack of knowledge in the Word of God, lack of prayer and lack of Works of the Spirit. We are simply defeated because we are in a spiritual battle without any armor and weapons.
    Thank you God for your Word!

  27. You know God is awesome. He spoke to Moses and told him to go to his people and let them know who he is I AM WHO I AM. Doesn’t get much better than that. Tell the people the I AM is going to set them free.
    en I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?

    14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

    15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, the Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

    Man what an awesome book we have. So are you that man that God has called you to be or woman that God has called you to be. How many souls can we save in the up coming years. God bless us as we go out each day to the world and serve. Man what an awesome Scripture and what an awesome God. Cant say that enough…. God bless!!!!!!

    • 13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?

      14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

      15 And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, the Lord God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.

      Sorry it cut off the first half of verse 13.

  28. 11 And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

    12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.
    We are not worthless. We are worthy because God is with us.

  29. The ministry of the conduit

    Exodus 3:11-12 (KJV Strong’s)

    And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?

    And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

    Moses asked “Who am I?” And the Lord responded with “I will be with you.”

    He didn’t even answer the question. It wasn’t about who Moses was. He was a vessel, a conduit, someone that God would use to speak the word of the Lord through to Pharaoh to accomplish his perfect will and divine plan.

    The question isn’t who am I. The question we need to ask ourselves is How can I better keep my eyes and ears tuned into Jesus?

    Ephesians 3:16-17 (KJV Strong’s)

    That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;

    That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,

    When we focus on us we tend to try and figure the situation out. We see what we can do and though we may not admit it we try and keep a little control over what is going on. To be a conduit we must be free of hidden motives and a desire to be in control.

    Psalms 32:2 (KJV Strong’s)

    Blessed is the man unto whom the Lord imputeth not iniquity,
    and in whose spirit there is no guile.

    The hose doesn’t tell the fireman where to spray or get praised for putting out a fire. The hose is simply a conduit for the flow of water. The one who controls the conduit gets all the glory.

  30. God gave a sign to Moses in the burning bush. It wasn’t until Moses stopped and look that God spoke. Let us take notice of the signs God gives us. Additionally, let us recognize when God is using us as a sign to others. When they stop and look at us, may we be used of God to speak to them.

  31. “And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.”
    ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭3:14‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Who is God to you?
    God is I am. He is everything. He is the first, the last, the answer, the only. If there is a question about who God is the answer starts and ends with “I Am.”

  32. 7 And the Lord said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;

    The Lord knows what condition we are in. He knows our sorrows and our hurts and needs. He hears our prayers and every time we call out to him. We should not be discouraged but continue to pray. He knows our needs even before we ask Him.

  33. 12 And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

    After the Exodus from Egypt Moses “smite the rock, and there shall come water out of it, that the people may drink.” (Ex 17:6). Also traslated as Mount Sinai is the location the Lord gave Mose the ten commandments (Ex 34:4). God affirmed his plan with a token to prove it. Like Moses we may not understand why God is using us for a work, but He will be with us and affirm his promise.

  34. 4 And when the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses. And he said, Here am I.

    5 And he said, Draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.

    When the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called….

    Sometime God is waiting on us for true repentance a turning and the seeking first the kingdom before he speaks.

  35. 7 And the Lord said, I have surely seen the affliction of my people which are in Egypt, and have heard their cry by reason of their taskmasters; for I know their sorrows;

    8 And I am come down to deliver them out of the hand of the Egyptians, and to bring them up out of that land unto a good land and a large, unto a land flowing with milk and honey; unto the place of the Canaanites, and the Hittites, and the Amorites, and the Perizzites, and the Hivites, and the Jebusites.

Leave a Reply

