Exodus Chapter 33

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 2

Exodus 33

1 And the Lord said unto Moses, Depart, and go up hence, thou and the people which thou hast brought up out of the land of Egypt, unto the land which I sware unto Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob, saying, Unto thy seed will I give it:

2 And I will send an angel before thee; and I will drive out the Canaanite, the Amorite, and the Hittite, and the Perizzite, the Hivite, and the Jebusite:

3 Unto a land flowing with milk and honey: for I will not go up in the midst of thee; for thou art a stiffnecked people: lest I consume thee in the way.

4 And when the people heard these evil tidings, they mourned: and no man did put on him his ornaments.

5 For the Lord had said unto Moses, Say unto the children of Israel, Ye are a stiffnecked people: I will come up into the midst of thee in a moment, and consume thee: therefore now put off thy ornaments from thee, that I may know what to do unto thee.

6 And the children of Israel stripped themselves of their ornaments by the mount Horeb.

7 And Moses took the tabernacle, and pitched it without the camp, afar off from the camp, and called it the Tabernacle of the congregation. And it came to pass, that every one which sought the Lord went out unto the tabernacle of the congregation, which was without the camp.

8 And it came to pass, when Moses went out unto the tabernacle, that all the people rose up, and stood every man at his tent door, and looked after Moses, until he was gone into the tabernacle.

9 And it came to pass, as Moses entered into the tabernacle, the cloudy pillar descended, and stood at the door of the tabernacle, and the Lord talked with Moses.

10 And all the people saw the cloudy pillar stand at the tabernacle door: and all the people rose up and worshipped, every man in his tent door.

11 And the Lord spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.

12 And Moses said unto the Lord, See, thou sayest unto me, Bring up this people: and thou hast not let me know whom thou wilt send with me. Yet thou hast said, I know thee by name, and thou hast also found grace in my sight.

13 Now therefore, I pray thee, if I have found grace in thy sight, shew me now thy way, that I may know thee, that I may find grace in thy sight: and consider that this nation is thy people.

14 And he said, My presence shall go with thee, and I will give thee rest.

15 And he said unto him, If thy presence go not with me, carry us not up hence.

16 For wherein shall it be known here that I and thy people have found grace in thy sight? is it not in that thou goest with us? so shall we be separated, I and thy people, from all the people that are upon the face of the earth.

17 And the Lord said unto Moses, I will do this thing also that thou hast spoken: for thou hast found grace in my sight, and I know thee by name.

18 And he said, I beseech thee, shew me thy glory.

19 And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the Lord before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy.

20 And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live.

21 And the Lord said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock:

22 And it shall come to pass, while my glory passeth by, that I will put thee in a clift of the rock, and will cover thee with my hand while I pass by:

23 And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts: but my face shall not be seen.

36 thoughts on “Exodus Chapter 33

  1. Ex. 33:16 (NLT)
    “How will anyone know that you look favorably on me-on me and on your people-if you don’t go with us? For your presence among us sets your people and me apart from all other people on the earth.”

    As God’s children, what sets us apart from all other people of the world? His Presence among us. His Spirit that lives inside us. His Light that shines in and through us. The Holy Ghost!

  2. In his presence there is fullness of joy.
    In his presence is strength for the journey.
    In his presence is grace.

    I need his presence to go with me.
    I need him to go with me personally.

    his presence is heaven to me.

  3. A private conversation but public revelation

    9 And it came to pass, as Moses entered into the tabernacle, the cloudy pillar descended, and stood at the door of the tabernacle, and the Lord talked with Moses.

    Can you imagine going into the tabernacle to come complete your task and go home? Then to see Moses enter in and as he enters God comes to speak with him? I believe as they saw God’s reaction to Moses they fell down to worship because reality set in.

    Moses private conversations with God were more than conversations but visitations. In these private moments God would speak to him and enjoy his company just as much as Moses enjoyed being in His presence.

    Moses love for speaking with His master would draw him to want more, he wanted to see His face and talk face to face. Moses was a natural man that was still learning spiritual things and maybe he just had to wrap his mind around the vastness of God so let’s talk face to face.

    Wow what a great example we have to strive towards. That as we pray and commune with God in our most private moments, His glory with consume these times and make us a public example of the type of relationship God desires with us all. In these private moments with God He speaks to us, corrects us, and give us the opportunity to be the mediator between Him and others.

    I want my prayer life to GROW into a life of prayer and friendship with God that I’ve never experienced before.

  4. CHOOSING HIS GLORY

    17 And the Lord said unto Moses, I will do this thing also that thou hast spoken: for thou hast found grace in my sight, and I know thee by name.
    18 And he said, I beseech thee, shew me thy glory.

    Moses id a 1 on 1 conversation with GOD finds the key to GOD moving on our behalf.

    F A V O R – Finding Grace in the eyes of GOD.

    Moses accepted the challenge and call from GOD with 1 choice

    Show me your GLORY!

    Today iPray GOD show me YOUR GLORY!

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  5. Verse 11 MSG “And God spoke with Moses face-to-face, as neighbors speak to one another. When he would return to the camp, his attendant, the young man Joshua, stayed—he didn’t leave the Tent.” Same verse AMP “And so the Lord used to speak to Moses face to face, just as a man speaks to his friend. When Moses returned to the camp, his attendant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, would not depart from the tent.” This reminds me of the song “I am a friend of God”:

    Who am I that you are mindful of me
    That you hear me, when I call
    Is it true that you are thinking of me
    How you love me, it’s amazing (Who am I Lord)

    I am a friend of God
    I am a friend of God
    I am a friend of God
    He calls me friend

    God Almighty
    Lord of Glory
    You have called me friend

  6. Exodus 33:12 And Moses said unto the Lord, See , thou sayest unto me, Bring up this people: and thou hast not let me whom thou wilt send with me. Yet thou hast said, I know thee by name, and thou hast also found grace in my sight.

    II Timothy 2:19. Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal , The Lord knoweth them that are his. And, Let every one that nameth the name of Christ depart from iniquity.

  7. He knows us by name.

    And the Lord said unto Moses, I will do this thing also that thou hast spoken: for thou hast found grace in my sight, and I know thee by name.

    We are his children. He knows us. He knows what we go through. How we feel. He is our father that loves us and corrects us. He is my God.

  8. What an example Moses is. He would daily commune with God and experienced Him in the most personal ways – God allowed Moses to see Him! (minus His face of course) I mean talk about goals, experiencing god like Moses did is definitely at the top of my “list.”

  9. Exodus 33:11

    11 And the Lord spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.

    The people stood in the door way of their tents and bowed before the Lord as Moses went into tabernacle. Moses talked with God face to face. The people stood far off.

    At first look it seems as though the people were made to have a stand off relationship. By looking at the town folk you would think that a relationship with God was only for the privileged. However there was Joshua.

    Sure he worked and assisted with Moses. But Joshua wasn’t the main leader of the camp. He chose to serve Moses but would seem to sneak away to spend time with the Lord.

    Joshua revealed something about the Lord. He didn’t only want to spend time with Moses but with his other people to. However their sin was separating them from him.

    Jesus is the same yesterday today and forever. He has always wanted a code relationship with his people. Thank God for the Joshua’s that show anyone can come to Jesus.

  10. 17 And the Lord said unto Moses, I will do this thing also that thou hast spoken: for thou hast found grace in my sight, and I know thee by name.

    Moses found favor in the eyes of God and knows him by name. What an awesome God we serve.

  11. 12-13 Moses said to God, “Look, you tell me, ‘Lead this people,’ but you don’t let me know whom you’re going to send with me. You tell me, ‘I know you well and you are special to me.’ If I am so special to you, let me in on your plans. That way, I will continue being special to you. Don’t forget, this is your people, your responsibility.”

    God is fed up with this group. Moses is trying his best to keep God calm so the people will be a blessed people in the end. I love the part of verse 13 where Moses states: “this is your people, your responsibility.” Sometimes we as saints may feel responsible for whether new converts remain faithful or not. If we have done our due diligence to encourage our new converts then it is between them and God to maintain and grow their relationship.

  12. 13 If it is true that you look favorably on me, let me know your ways so I may understand you more fully and continue to enjoy your favor. And remember that this nation is your very own people.”

    14 The Lord replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest—everything will be fine for you.”

  13. 23 And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts: but my face shall not be seen.

    I can only imagine his previous glory that I will see when I see him. I believe it’s something that I can’t even imagine because God is just so amazing and awesome! Can’t wait till I see u face to face. Glory!!!! Let’s not dismay but keep fighting the battle.

  14. 3 Unto a land flowing with milk and honey: for I will not go up in the midst of thee; for thou art a stiffnecked people: lest I consume thee in the way.

    4 And when the people heard these evil tidings, they mourned: and no man did put on him his ornaments.

    God has given us at POFW a promised land as well with our new church being built so we can reach even more people. But we must remember to be obediant to God’s word and his will for us in our lives, if we become stubborn like the people of Israel were under Moses, God will give the promised land to someone else and someone else will receive the blessing. So let’s take the blessings that God has blessed us with and continue to follow his voice and stay under his wing.

  15. 3Go up to this land that flows with milk and honey. But I will not travel among you, for you are a stubborn and rebellious people. If I did, I would surely destroy you along the way.”

    God answers prayer. Even though God told Moses I will not travel with you. Moses insisted, prayed and asked God to travel with them. All we have to do is asked, and God will answer our prayers.

  16. 9 And it came to pass, as Moses entered into the tabernacle, the cloudy pillar descended, and stood at the door of the tabernacle, and the Lord talked with Moses.

    10 And all the people saw the cloudy pillar stand at the tabernacle door: and all the people rose up and worshipped, every man in his tent door.

    We find a reference for the presence of the Lord in these verses. All the people arose and worshipped the Lord. Believing that one day soon there will be complete unity in worshipping the Lord, that a pillar of cloud mighty fill the house as a testimony to all.

  17. iLove to grow in the Word
    Exodus 33:14-15 NLT The LORD replied, “I will personally go with you, Moses, and I will give you rest—everything will be fine for you.” (15) Then Moses said, “If You don’t personally go with us, don’t make us leave this place.

    The Lord desires to give us rest and desires to lead us into the Promised Land. The decisions in life when we rebel against the Lord determine the level of peace that we can receive. If we want to be in his presence then we should strive to be in his will.

  18. 13 Now therefore, I pray thee, if I have found grace in thy sight, shew me now thy way, that I may know thee, that I may find grace in thy sight: and consider that this nation is thy people.

    14 And he said, My presence shall go with thee, and I will give thee rest.

    15 And he said unto him, If thy presence go not with me, carry us not up hence.

    Moses enjoyed a friendship with God that was like 2 friends having a conversation-God spoke directly to him. So why would he want to embark on a journey that God would not take with him? He knew the miracles and provision of the Lord and without him, Moses knew subduing the land would not be possible; at best, it would cost them in many lives.
    Besides that, he would lose his best friend! Moses chose the best part-to be with God.

  19. And the Lord said behold there is a place by me and thought shalt stand upon a rock exodus 33:21

  20. How will anyone know that you look favorably on me—on me and on your people—if you don’t go with us? For your presence among us sets your people and me apart from all other people on the earth.”
    Exodus 33:16 NLT

    This is why we need to walk in the Spirit because with out His presence we are ordinary and just like the world. With His presence we are set apart and different and it shows in our walk, talk, and attitude, and the way we live our lives. We are his chosen people and are privalaged to be His people.

  21. God knows the number of hairs we have on our head and the amount of tears we’ve cried. He is a loving God and will fight our fights so long as we give them to him. Its not our fight to fight! My gloves are off Lord.

  22. 11 And the Lord spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.

    Joshua was blessed by this moment. If he had followed the children of Isreal and worshiped the golden idol then the would not have been so collar to Moses add to Eben into the tabernacle with him. Instead he stayed faithful to God and to the man of God in his life and was in turn blessed because is this decision. It pays to have a true mean of God in your life and we can choose to follow him and remain in the glory of God or go our own path and lose such an opportunity. .

  23. 14 And he said, My presence shall go with thee, and I will give thee rest.

    15 And he said unto him, If thy presence go not with me, carry us not up hence.

    16 For wherein shall it be known here that I and thy people have found grace in thy sight? is it not in that thou goest with us? so shall we be separated, I and thy people, from all the people that are upon the face of the earth.

    17 And the Lord said unto Moses, I will do this thing also that thou hast spoken: for thou hast found grace in my sight, and I know thee by name.

  24. Moses is very earnest with God. Thus, by the intercession of Christ, we are not only saved from ruin, but become entitled to everlasting happiness.

  25. 10 And all the people saw the cloudy pillar stand at the tabernacle door: and all the people rose up and worshipped, every man in his tent door.

    People are drawn to the effects of God. The children of Israel saw the cloud from God, they didn’t see God, and they worshipped. As long as they saw a sign of God their attention was toward God. When they couldn’t see signs, and Moses, they turned away from God. People are drawn to God by what he does but people will not stay without knowing God. People are attracted even now to God by what he does. They are drawn by the pillar of cloud at the door of the tabernacle, but we are the ones who can help them not just worship in the distance but come face to face with Jesus.

  26. “The Lord would speak to Moses face to face. It was like a man speaking to his friend. Then Moses would return to the camp. But Joshua, his young helper, didn’t leave the tent. Joshua was the son of Nun.”
    ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭33:11‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    There’s something about the presence of the Lord that I desire to linger and soak it all in. 

  27. Here God is contemplating a judgment that is just as devastating as in Exodus 32. Got threatens to leave the Israelites to journey alone, sending in his place an Angel to go before them (vs 2-5). Moses knows the absolute blessing of friendship with God (vs 11) so he begged God to stay near to him and to the people (vs 12-16). He recognizes that unless God is personally present, Israel is no different from other nations. And that vulnerable condition, they would easily be destroyed. He also knows that unless God’s presence is actively with them, they will not experience God’s favor. God graciously give Moses more than he asks. He will go with them, and he will give them rest (vs 14), a confidence in the future that only God’s presence can supply. We desperately need Gods presence in our lives to guide, bless and protect us. Without the Holy Spirit dwelling within us we would also be just as vulnerable and lost as the Israelites would be had God taken his presence from them. Lord I need you every hour.

  28. 3 Unto a land flowing with milk and honey: for I will not go up in the midst of thee; for thou art a stiffnecked people: lest I consume thee in the way.

    Hard conviction comes to your heart when it’s the Lord rebuking you. The equivalent to stiff neck is hard head. That was actually the words that I hated my after telling the most. “Your so hard headed!”

    I see myself in my son every time that he’s hard headed. I can put into perspective how God sees me when I act up. That I get frustrated with him and punish him at times but always love him.

    The word of my father resonate in my ears, “I punish you because I love you”

  29. “And the Lord spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.”
    ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭33:11‬ ‭KJV

    Face to face with God. Time spent with the Lord is never without gain. Often we speak or God or we seek after his hand. Oh for us to see God gave to face like Moses. Looking into the eyes of God, wow!

  30. In this chapter, it is clear that Moses was a friend of God’s, and he was highly esteemed and approved by God. They spoke face to face, but it later indicates that he never saw his face. So, it seems to be some kind of contradiction, but I know it’s not. Maybe in appearance, it appeared that they were face to face, but God can do anything probably either blocked it out or there was no image of his face seen.

    11 And the Lord spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.

    23 And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts: but my face shall not be seen.
    ________________________________________________________
    You see the time we spend in his presence or prayer can bring great reward of refreshing or rest……….but Moses made a request to God. If God, don’t go we don’t go! Moses knew who his strength was and who was his God!…..

    14 And he said, My presence shall go with thee, and I will give thee rest.

    15 And he said unto him, If thy presence go not with me, carry us not up hence.
    ________________________________________________________
    How would like to see something like this? Wow………………and it’s true he does show mercy upon whom he wills.

    19 And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the Lord before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy.

    “Lord have MERCY upon us”…………………………………………………..

  31. “For I will not go up in the midst of thee; for thou art a stiffnecked people: lest I consume thee in the way”. The Creator (Jesus) was very clear on how he felt about stubbornness. One is wise to consider ones ways, and also the fact that God (Jesus) made this statement about people he had chosen. Dear God, forgive us (me) and help me to not be stiffnecked but obedient; “In God we (I) trust”. “One Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all”. May God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  32. “Moses said, “Please. Let me see your Glory.””
    ‭‭Exodus‬ ‭33:18‬ ‭MSG‬‬
    http://bible.com/97/exo.33.18.msg

    The shikinah glory of God in the OT is a typology of Christ in the NT. They are both visible manifestations of an invisible Be-ing, God. May we really see Christ for who He is, and may He transform us into His image.

  33. v21 ” Behold, there is a place by me and you shalt stand on a rock”

    Prayer is a place, intimacy with GOD.

  34. 11 And the Lord spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the tabernacle.

    It is all about relationship. Can you think of a friend that you truely trust? Imagine that relationship at a deeper level. The love and passion is showed is different when it comes to God. The one that knows everything about you. I would imagine it will feeling Moses got for the Lord to tell him he knows him by name.

  35. What I learned about the promise of Gods Presence, is that people would be out of there mind to separate there selves from the Almighty God. The bible is filled with stories that describe the blessings that come from the Almighty God with his presence and the horrors that accompany His rejection. The Almighty’s presence with people is a central theme of the Scriptures.God made covenants to show that he wanted to be present with humanity. He gave the Law to show people how to conduct themselves in His presence. And He established sacrifices when sin separated people from His presence. In Jesus Name !!!

Leave a Reply

