Numbers Chapter 22

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 27

Numbers 22

1 And the children of Israel set forward, and pitched in the plains of Moab on this side Jordan by Jericho.

2 And Balak the son of Zippor saw all that Israel had done to the Amorites.

3 And Moab was sore afraid of the people, because they were many: and Moab was distressed because of the children of Israel.

4 And Moab said unto the elders of Midian, Now shall this company lick up all that are round about us, as the ox licketh up the grass of the field. And Balak the son of Zippor was king of the Moabites at that time.

5 He sent messengers therefore unto Balaam the son of Beor to Pethor, which is by the river of the land of the children of his people, to call him, saying, Behold, there is a people come out from Egypt: behold, they cover the face of the earth, and they abide over against me:

6 Come now therefore, I pray thee, curse me this people; for they are too mighty for me: peradventure I shall prevail, that we may smite them, and that I may drive them out of the land: for I wot that he whom thou blessest is blessed, and he whom thou cursest is cursed.

7 And the elders of Moab and the elders of Midian departed with the rewards of divination in their hand; and they came unto Balaam, and spake unto him the words of Balak.

8 And he said unto them, Lodge here this night, and I will bring you word again, as the Lord shall speak unto me: and the princes of Moab abode with Balaam.

9 And God came unto Balaam, and said, What men are these with thee?

10 And Balaam said unto God, Balak the son of Zippor, king of Moab, hath sent unto me, saying,

11 Behold, there is a people come out of Egypt, which covereth the face of the earth: come now, curse me them; peradventure I shall be able to overcome them, and drive them out.

12 And God said unto Balaam, Thou shalt not go with them; thou shalt not curse the people: for they are blessed.

13 And Balaam rose up in the morning, and said unto the princes of Balak, Get you into your land: for the Lord refuseth to give me leave to go with you.

14 And the princes of Moab rose up, and they went unto Balak, and said, Balaam refuseth to come with us.

15 And Balak sent yet again princes, more, and more honourable than they.

16 And they came to Balaam, and said to him, Thus saith Balak the son of Zippor, Let nothing, I pray thee, hinder thee from coming unto me:

17 For I will promote thee unto very great honour, and I will do whatsoever thou sayest unto me: come therefore, I pray thee, curse me this people.

18 And Balaam answered and said unto the servants of Balak, If Balak would give me his house full of silver and gold, I cannot go beyond the word of the Lord my God, to do less or more.

19 Now therefore, I pray you, tarry ye also here this night, that I may know what the Lord will say unto me more.

20 And God came unto Balaam at night, and said unto him, If the men come to call thee, rise up, and go with them; but yet the word which I shall say unto thee, that shalt thou do.

21 And Balaam rose up in the morning, and saddled his ass, and went with the princes of Moab.

22 And God’s anger was kindled because he went: and the angel of the Lord stood in the way for an adversary against him. Now he was riding upon his ass, and his two servants were with him.

23 And the ass saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and the ass turned aside out of the way, and went into the field: and Balaam smote the ass, to turn her into the way.

24 But the angel of the Lord stood in a path of the vineyards, a wall being on this side, and a wall on that side.

25 And when the ass saw the angel of the Lord, she thrust herself unto the wall, and crushed Balaam’s foot against the wall: and he smote her again.

26 And the angel of the Lord went further, and stood in a narrow place, where was no way to turn either to the right hand or to the left.

27 And when the ass saw the angel of the Lord, she fell down under Balaam: and Balaam’s anger was kindled, and he smote the ass with a staff.

28 And the Lord opened the mouth of the ass, and she said unto Balaam, What have I done unto thee, that thou hast smitten me these three times?

29 And Balaam said unto the ass, Because thou hast mocked me: I would there were a sword in mine hand, for now would I kill thee.

30 And the ass said unto Balaam, Am not I thine ass, upon which thou hast ridden ever since I was thine unto this day? was I ever wont to do so unto thee? and he said, Nay.

31 Then the Lord opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and he bowed down his head, and fell flat on his face.

32 And the angel of the Lord said unto him, Wherefore hast thou smitten thine ass these three times? behold, I went out to withstand thee, because thy way is perverse before me:

33 And the ass saw me, and turned from me these three times: unless she had turned from me, surely now also I had slain thee, and saved her alive.

34 And Balaam said unto the angel of the Lord, I have sinned; for I knew not that thou stoodest in the way against me: now therefore, if it displease thee, I will get me back again.

35 And the angel of the Lord said unto Balaam, Go with the men: but only the word that I shall speak unto thee, that thou shalt speak. So Balaam went with the princes of Balak.

36 And when Balak heard that Balaam was come, he went out to meet him unto a city of Moab, which is in the border of Arnon, which is in the utmost coast.

37 And Balak said unto Balaam, Did I not earnestly send unto thee to call thee? wherefore camest thou not unto me? am I not able indeed to promote thee to honour?

38 And Balaam said unto Balak, Lo, I am come unto thee: have I now any power at all to say any thing? the word that God putteth in my mouth, that shall I speak.

39 And Balaam went with Balak, and they came unto Kirjathhuzoth.

40 And Balak offered oxen and sheep, and sent to Balaam, and to the princes that were with him.

41 And it came to pass on the morrow, that Balak took Balaam, and brought him up into the high places of Baal, that thence he might see the utmost part of the people.

34 thoughts on “Numbers Chapter 22

  1. Verse 38 NLT says “Balaam replied, “Look, now I have come, but I have no power to say whatever I want. I will speak only the message that God puts in my mouth.” Same verse in the NIV “Well, I have come to you now,” Balaam replied. “But I can’t say whatever I please. I must speak only what God puts in my mouth.” As Balaam, we should seek what God wants us to say and do, as this could save us a whole lot of time and trouble.

    Luke 21:15 CEV “I will give you the wisdom to know what to say. None of your enemies will be able to oppose you or to say that you are wrong.”

    Luke 12:12 NLT “for the Holy Spirit will teach you at that time what needs to be said.”

    Exodus 4:11-12 MSG “God said, “And who do you think made the human mouth? And who makes some mute, some deaf, some sighted, some blind? Isn’t it I, God? So, get going. I’ll be right there with you—with your mouth! I’ll be right there to teach you what to say.”

  2. From verse 34 to the end of chapter 22, Balaam is finally surrendering his own will. Like him we must recognize that God not only has greater in store through His will for us, but that it’s important for us to willingly listen and obey the Lord. Do not get mad and blame others when a situation doesn’t go as planned, chances are it’s God keeping us when we don’t even realize what we’re headed for. Thank You Jesus for all the countless times You kept me, for all the times You extended Your grace and mercy, that I didn’t even recognize until the moment was over.

  3. WHAT IS GOD USING TO GUIDE YOU

    31 Then the Lord opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and he bowed down his head, and fell flat on his face.
    32 And the angel of the Lord said unto him, Wherefore hast thou smitten thine ass these three times? behold, I went out to withstand thee, because thy way is perverse before me:
    33 And the ass saw me, and turned from me these three times: unless she had turned from me, surely now also I had slain thee, and saved her alive.
    34 And Balaam said unto the angel of the Lord, I have sinned; for I knew not that thou stoodest in the way against me: now therefore, if it displease thee, I will get me back again.

    People often find themselves in position of frustration at the lack of performance of an ordinarily faithful resource. We learn that there was nothing wrong with the animal of Balaam. The problem was with Balaam and his carnal thinking.

    To walk in the SPIRIT means to walk always sensitive to the guidance of GOD, through HIS WORD, HIS SPIRIT and HIS SERVANTS. GOD chose to use the animal because the animal was the only hope of saving Balaam.

    We must be cautious to not despise what GOD is using to guide us. It may be your Pastor, it may be your friend and it may be your animal.

    Pray always!

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  4. 38 And Balaam said unto Balak, Lo, I am come unto thee: have I now any power at all to say any thing? the word that God putteth in my mouth, that shall I speak.
    Baal had specific instructions from God to speak God’s Word to say what God wanted him to say how God wanted him to say it. That is the job of every teacher and Minister today to declare the Word of God without fear or favor by obeying God and speaking the words that he puts into Our mouth. Lord let me be sensitive to be able to speak your words How you want them to be spoken.

  5. You can not please everyone

    5 And Balaam said unto Balak, Lo, I am come unto thee: have I now any power at all to say any thing? the word that God putteth in my mouth, that shall I speak.

    There are churches out there where the men of God are telling the congregation what they want to hear in fear that they will lose the place of honor. I prefer to offend someone into heaven than to flatter them into hell. BE BOLD when it comes to what God has said. I can live without friends but I can’t live without God.
    May the Lord give us the courage to always be bold with His word and not to worry about the worlds opinion of ourselves. In Jesus Name Amen

  6. 5 He sent messengers therefore unto Balaam the son of Beor to Pethor, which is by the river of the land of the children of his people, to call him, saying, Behold, there is a people come out from Egypt: behold, they cover the face of the earth, and they abide over against me:

    When we pass our tests, when the storms have passed we don’t have to say a word, the enemy already knows and is spreading the word for us. All we have to do is praise God and testify what He has done for us.
    I am here because of God! I made it this far because of God! Praise God!

  7. Poor Donkey

    We’ve all taken our anger out on the wrong person, not to say that there is ever a right party who is deserving of our wrath. It’s not uncommon to be upset with one person and misdirect it at someone or something else. Your boss has been irritable all day and continually comments on every aspect of your work. You arrived home only to be confronted by your spouse who mentions that you forgot to wipe the mud off your shoes before walking across the newly mopped floor. You blow up at your spouse, then storm off. Sound familiar?

    The primary reason we misdirect anger is that few of us live in a state of constant awareness. We’re distracted by our day-to-day responsibilities and the mundane activities that take place around us. Next time we feel the world is against us, maybe we should take a few moments and ensure the Lord is still on our side and directing our path.

  8. Balaam refused to go against the word of the Lord, and he explained even riches could not satisfy. Then he smote his ass, and his ass spoke! This proves God can do anything and use whom or what ever he wills. If God, could use an ass to speak, he can certainly use you or me to witness this Gospel.

    “Be Inspired”………………..

    18 And Balaam answered and said unto the servants of Balak, If Balak would give me his house full of silver and gold, I cannot go beyond the word of the Lord my God, to do less or more.

    28 And the Lord opened the mouth of the ass, and she said unto Balaam, What have I done unto thee, that thou hast smitten me these three times?

    “Be the inspiration”…………………

  9. 12 And God said unto Balaam, Thou shalt not go with them; thou shalt not curse the people: for they are blessed.

    Be careful not to curse what God blesses, and not to bless what God curses. Whatever we say we stand for should be reflected in everything we say and do. The principles we live by, or say we live by should be reflected in our actions and reactions to those things around us. We should not give our approval or disapproval to anything that God approves or disapproves of. It doesn’t matter how cute or how it makes us feel, if God says its wrong don’t let our actions agree with the adversary to make them feel God. Sin is sin, theres no little sin or big sin, no sin will be tolerated in heaven.

  10. 6Please come and curse these people for me because they are too powerful for me. Then perhaps I will be able to conquer them and drive them from the land. I know that blessings fall on any people you bless, and curses fall on people you curse.”

    In today’s society there are so many who want someone to do their dirty work for them. Not only that but even hard work, complete a project, or organize something and then take credit for it. With God on our side, there is nothing we can’t complete. Let’s give our problems and fear over to God.

  11. 12 And God said unto Balaam, Thou shalt not go with them; thou shalt not curse the people: for they are blessed

    We mustn’t curse that which God has blessed or bless that which God has cursed. God has blessed the man of God, we must be careful to never curse him. God has cursed the darkness of this world and we mustn’t entertain it, but be separated from it!!

  12. God said unto Balaam, Thou shalt not go with them; thou shalt not curse the people: for they are blessed.

    Gods blessings are for you.

  13. 18 And Balaam answered and said unto the servants of Balak, If Balak would give me his house full of silver and gold, I cannot go beyond the word of the Lord my God, to do less or more.

    It can be easy to be persuaded to do things when money gets thrown in the picture. As an example, God may want you to do one job, because it is the one he has sent you to and it’s the one that allows you flexibility so you can help you out at the church. But then there may be another job that God hasn’t called you to, but it pays more and it would allow you to live more nicely… but it also takes you from family, friend and church.

    Point being, listen to the voice of God more than the voice of men and the riches of this world. It may not make sense naturally to do it, but we need to strive not to go beyond the word of God for our lives.

  14. iLove to grow in the Word

    31 Then the Lord opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and he bowed down his head, and fell flat on his face.

    This scripture makes me wonder how in the world are we scared of people when the angel of the Lord encampeth around those that fear him. The good angels of the Lord out number the fallen angels 2 to 1. There are more for us than against us.

  15. Numbers 22:12-13

    12 But God told Balaam, “Do not go with them. You are not to curse these people, for they have been blessed!”

    13 The next morning Balaam got up and told Balak’s officials, “Go on home! The Lord will not let me go with you.”

    The first mistake.
    Balaam knew the voice of the Lord and had successfully prophesied before. He was known because of the Lord working through him. Now a shiny wealthy group of people asked for his help. He did what he always did and asked God.

    However his first mistake was how he answered the King. The Lord did tell him he could not go with them. Yet the reason was because these people were blessed by God.

    By leaving out the “why” he implanted a seed in the mind of the king that God could perhaps be persuaded to allow Balaam to go with them.

    We should give no place to the devil. Balaam left a small door open and because of this it painted a picture of God in the King’s mind that was not the truth.

  16. Numbers 22:8, 12, & 19
    8) And he said unto them, Lodge here this night, and I will bring you word again, as the LORD shall speak unto me: and the princes of Moan abide with Balaam.

    12) And God said unto Balaam, Thou shalt not go with them; thou shalt not curse the people; for they are blessed.

    19) Now therefore, I pray you, tarry ye also here this night, that I may know what the LORD will say unto me more.

    Balsam was told by God, Thou Shall Not go with them and Thou Shall Not curse the people. Maybe Balaam needed to see the saying, “What part of Thou Shalt Not… do you not understand.”

    Warning: Don’t ask God for something twice when He’s already told you NO once.

  17. “God is not a man, that He should lie, nor a son of man, that he should repent, has He said , and He will He not do?’
    Or has He spoken , and will He not make it good?
    This week as I was sharing my testimony I quote this verse, God is faithful and mighty!

  18. Keep in keeping on….

    I love this story in the Bible. Just cause things sound good doesn’t mean it is. Keep the Word of God always in hand and in mind….so I can show them where is says to do or not to do. I was reading in Romans where it says the thing about doing the things that I can’t and doing the things that I can and the things I do i don’t want to..ect. All this is sin.

    I’ve done things that I don’t enjoy but that’s when I have to ask God’s forgiveness and try try again.
    I got to keep getting up and stand tall but I refuse to argue God’s word. I’ll tell someone then I will drop it. And walk away. Hopefully sees will b planted.

    God bless you in Jesus name. Amen.

  19. 31) then the lord opened the eyes of Balaam and he saw the Angel of the Lord standing in the way and his sword drawn in his hand and he bowed down his head and fell flat on his face 34) and balaam said unto the Angel of the lord I have sinned for i knew not that thou stoodest in the way against me now therefore if it displease thee I will get me back again 38) and balaam said unto balaam)) lo I am come unto thee have I now any power at all to say any thing the word that god putteth in my mouth that shall I speak

  20. “And the angel of the Lord said unto him, Wherefore hast thou smitten thine ass these three times? behold, I went out to withstand thee, because thy way is perverse before me.” The angel of God (Jesus) blocked the way. One would be wise to seek God, if the road has obstacles; as it may just be him (Judge) trying to get ones attention. Dear God, thank you for angels, road blocks, and obstacles that you place in our way; for our good. May God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  21. “And Balaam answered and said unto the servants of Balak, If Balak would give me his house full of silver and gold, I cannot go beyond the word of the Lord my God, to do less or more.” Balaam was well aware that he could become wealthy, if he would do one little thing. We should first remember the Lord owns everything, and allows us to use what belongs to him. As such the question should be, how did we obtained it. God help us so that our ways may be pleasing too you, in Jesus name.

  22. Nay.

    31 Then the Lord opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and he bowed down his head, and fell flat on his face.

    32 And the angel of the Lord said unto him, Wherefore hast thou smitten thine ass these three times? behold, I went out to withstand thee, because thy way is perverse before me:

    33 And the ass saw me, and turned from me these three times: unless she had turned from me, surely now also I had slain thee, and saved her alive.

    34 And Balaam said unto the angel of the Lord, I have sinned; for I knew not that thou stoodest in the way against me: now therefore, if it displease thee, I will get me back again.
    Are we in tune with God voice? How many warning signs will we ignore? Thank you Jesus for your mercy!

  23. v38 And Balaam said unto Balak, Lo, I am come unto thee: have I now any power at all to say any thing the word that GOD puttteth in my mouth, that shall I speak.

    GO’S WORD IS SURE! That any of it should fail is not possible.
    To risk violating what HIS WORD teach is the height of foolishness.

  24. Balaam is a false prophet who became such by his love for money. False prophets are not just prophets who speak wrong prophesies. It is really a condition of the hear. As the Baker encyclopedia says it, “We may therefore say that false prophecy is self-centered, wrongly motivated, and detached from reality.
    The concept of the false prophet is carried over into the NT. Our Lord warns against those who disguise themselves as harmless sheep but are in fact wolves ready for the kill. Jesus cautions his disciples saying, “Not every one who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven”—the way to identify a person is by the kind of fruit he produces; only a good tree produces good fruit (Mt 7:15–21). The warning is repeated in Matthew 24:11. False Christs will also arise trying to deceive God’s elect (v 24).”

    False prophets please the ears of man while ignore the mouth of God.

  25. 31 Then the Lord opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and he bowed down his head, and fell flat on his face.

    We should pray that the Lord would open our spiritual eyes to see that we are going in the right direction and not against.

  26. GOD ’s angel blocked the way yet again—a very narrow passage this time; there was no getting through on the right or left. Seeing the angel, Balaam’s donkey sat down under him. Balaam lost his temper; he beat the donkey with his stick. (‭Numbers‬ ‭22‬:‭26-27‬ MSG)

    When The Lord says ‘No’ why is it that we still want to do what we desire? When will we realize that He is protecting us from what is wrong? Why live with the consequences of rebellion(sin)?
    Stop throwing your attitude around, and grow up. The Lord knows what is always best for you. All it takes is for us to be obedient.

    This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh: and these are contrary the one to the other: so that ye cannot do the things that ye would. (‭Galatians‬ ‭5‬:‭16-17‬ KJV)

  27. What does that say for us that a stubborn donkey can somethimes see and hear better than a man. People are often distracted by so many things around them. Animals have much simpler thought. They don’t have so many hints to distract them. In today’s world there are so many other things that can distract people from the Lord. I pray there would be clear vision and clear thoughts that donkeys would not surpass us in our seeking of the Lord.

  28. 31 Then the Lord opened the eyes of Balaam, and he saw the angel of the Lord standing in the way, and his sword drawn in his hand: and he bowed down his head, and fell flat on his face.

    32 And the angel of the Lord said unto him, Wherefore hast thou smitten thine ass these three times? behold, I went out to withstand thee, because thy way is perverse before me:

    33 And the ass saw me, and turned from me these three times: unless she had turned from me, surely now also I had slain thee, and saved her alive.

  29. King Balak believes military might cannot cannot save his onslaught. He turns instead to witchcraft and summons Balaam, a magician and soothsayer with a widespread reputation for success (Vs 6). Though Balaam claims loyalty to the Lord (Vs 18), he more likely worships numerous pagan gods and conveniently includes the one true God among them.

    Balaam obeys when God tells him not to go with the Kings escorts (Vs 13). However when they return a second time with the same request, God gives his permission (vs 20). But now that Balaam is on his way, God is “very angry” (vs 22). It appears as though Balaam outwardly obeys Gods commands (vs 20-21), yet has evil intentions. God, who sees the heart, knows the truth and takes extreme measures to get Balaam’s attention.

  30. 37 And Balak said unto Balaam, Did I not earnestly send unto thee to call thee? wherefore camest thou not unto me? am I not able indeed to promote thee to honour?

    38 And Balaam said unto Balak, Lo, I am come unto thee: have I now any power at all to say any thing? the word that God putteth in my mouth, that shall I speak.

    Balak is trying to convince Balaam to curse the Israelite’s. It’s not the will of God for Balaam to curse them. Thank God for your power.

Leave a Reply

