Judges Chapter 16

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 26

Judges 16

1 Then went Samson to Gaza, and saw there an harlot, and went in unto her.

2 And it was told the Gazites, saying, Samson is come hither. And they compassed him in, and laid wait for him all night in the gate of the city, and were quiet all the night, saying, In the morning, when it is day, we shall kill him.

3 And Samson lay till midnight, and arose at midnight, and took the doors of the gate of the city, and the two posts, and went away with them, bar and all, and put them upon his shoulders, and carried them up to the top of an hill that is before Hebron.

4 And it came to pass afterward, that he loved a woman in the valley of Sorek, whose name was Delilah.

5 And the lords of the Philistines came up unto her, and said unto her, Entice him, and see wherein his great strength lieth, and by what means we may prevail against him, that we may bind him to afflict him; and we will give thee every one of us eleven hundred pieces of silver.

6 And Delilah said to Samson, Tell me, I pray thee, wherein thy great strength lieth, and wherewith thou mightest be bound to afflict thee.

7 And Samson said unto her, If they bind me with seven green withs that were never dried, then shall I be weak, and be as another man.

8 Then the lords of the Philistines brought up to her seven green withs which had not been dried, and she bound him with them.

9 Now there were men lying in wait, abiding with her in the chamber. And she said unto him, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And he brake the withs, as a thread of tow is broken when it toucheth the fire. So his strength was not known.

10 And Delilah said unto Samson, Behold, thou hast mocked me, and told me lies: now tell me, I pray thee, wherewith thou mightest be bound.

11 And he said unto her, If they bind me fast with new ropes that never were occupied, then shall I be weak, and be as another man.

12 Delilah therefore took new ropes, and bound him therewith, and said unto him, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And there were liers in wait abiding in the chamber. And he brake them from off his arms like a thread.

13 And Delilah said unto Samson, Hitherto thou hast mocked me, and told me lies: tell me wherewith thou mightest be bound. And he said unto her, If thou weavest the seven locks of my head with the web.

14 And she fastened it with the pin, and said unto him, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And he awaked out of his sleep, and went away with the pin of the beam, and with the web.

15 And she said unto him, How canst thou say, I love thee, when thine heart is not with me? thou hast mocked me these three times, and hast not told me wherein thy great strength lieth.

16 And it came to pass, when she pressed him daily with her words, and urged him, so that his soul was vexed unto death;

17 That he told her all his heart, and said unto her, There hath not come a razor upon mine head; for I have been a Nazarite unto God from my mother’s womb: if I be shaven, then my strength will go from me, and I shall become weak, and be like any other man.

18 And when Delilah saw that he had told her all his heart, she sent and called for the lords of the Philistines, saying, Come up this once, for he hath shewed me all his heart. Then the lords of the Philistines came up unto her, and brought money in their hand.

19 And she made him sleep upon her knees; and she called for a man, and she caused him to shave off the seven locks of his head; and she began to afflict him, and his strength went from him.

20 And she said, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And he awoke out of his sleep, and said, I will go out as at other times before, and shake myself. And he wist not that the Lord was departed from him.

21 But the Philistines took him, and put out his eyes, and brought him down to Gaza, and bound him with fetters of brass; and he did grind in the prison house.

22 Howbeit the hair of his head began to grow again after he was shaven.

23 Then the lords of the Philistines gathered them together for to offer a great sacrifice unto Dagon their god, and to rejoice: for they said, Our god hath delivered Samson our enemy into our hand.

24 And when the people saw him, they praised their god: for they said, Our god hath delivered into our hands our enemy, and the destroyer of our country, which slew many of us.

25 And it came to pass, when their hearts were merry, that they said, Call for Samson, that he may make us sport. And they called for Samson out of the prison house; and he made them sport: and they set him between the pillars.

26 And Samson said unto the lad that held him by the hand, Suffer me that I may feel the pillars whereupon the house standeth, that I may lean upon them.

27 Now the house was full of men and women; and all the lords of the Philistines were there; and there were upon the roof about three thousand men and women, that beheld while Samson made sport.

28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars upon which the house stood, and on which it was borne up, of the one with his right hand, and of the other with his left.

30 And Samson said, Let me die with the Philistines. And he bowed himself with all his might; and the house fell upon the lords, and upon all the people that were therein. So the dead which he slew at his death were more than they which he slew in his life.

31 Then his brethren and all the house of his father came down, and took him, and brought him up, and buried him between Zorah and Eshtaol in the buryingplace of Manoah his father. And he judged Israel twenty years.

39 thoughts on “Judges Chapter 16

  1. In this chapter we learn about betrayal by the women Samson loved, and her persistent inquirlies of the secret of his strength. But, we also learned of Gods love & mercy toward Samson. As Samson requested his strength back just one more time. It all came tumblin down, and God avenged him. But, remember the New Covenant has better promises and not by Man’s hair but by the blood of the Lamb Jesus Christ.

    “Be blessed”……………

  2. 28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

    29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars upon which the house stood, and on which it was borne up, of the one with his right hand, and of the other with his left.

    30 And Samson said, Let me die with the Philistines. And he bowed himself with all his might; and the house fell upon the lords, and upon all the people that were therein. So the dead which he slew at his death were more than they which he slew in his life.

  3. When we play around with the enemy, eventually he will overpower us. Staying true to the Lord and his will for our lives is the only way.

  4. And she said, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And he awoke out of his sleep, and said, I will go out as at other times before, and shake myself. And he wist not that the Lord was departed from him. (‭Judges‬ ‭16‬:‭20‬ KJV)

    “When The Lord departs from you”

    It’s the worst place anyone can be in his or her life! I thank God for his mercy, grace,LOVE and his word! Thank you Jesus for bringing us to a place of repentance. Thank you Jesus for your blood that you shied on Calvary.

  5. iLove to Grow in the Word

    12 Delilah therefore took new ropes, and bound him therewith, and said unto him, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And there were liers in wait abiding in the chamber. And he brake them from off his arms like a thread.

    Samson had to know what Delilah was up to just as young men today know that the young beautiful pagan girls are up to. It’s all a game for the pagan girls. The enemy is after the strength and soul of our young people. When we play games, the book of Job describes exactly what happens. Leviathan (the enemy) is a beast and will devour anything that tries to play that game.

    Job 41:5 KJV Wilt thou play with him as with a bird? or wilt thou bind him for thy maidens?

  6. Samson had to have known that she would have his hair cut when he went to sleep. We must be careful not to let the enemy rock us to sleep spiritually when we know it could be the death of us.

  7. 27 Now the house was full of men and women; and all the lords of the Philistines were there; and there were upon the roof about three thousand men and women, that beheld while Samson made sport.

    28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

    God allows things to happen for a reason!

  8. 18 And when Delilah saw that he had told her all his heart, she sent and called for the lords of the Philistines, saying, Come up this once, for he hath shewed me all his heart. Then the lords of the Philistines came up unto her, and brought money in their hand.

    So many things that I saw from this chapter… Be careful youth in who you “like” all that person gonna do is distract you and be bound. Your mind is gonna be so wrapped on that boy/girl that your not gonna praise the Lord the same. In order to be in good stand your gonna be saying things or doing things got not suppose to. Keep your mind focused on the Lord and don’t date unless your ready to get married with them!!!! Keeping a holy mind

  9. IS THIS THE WAY YOU WANT IT TO END

    28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.
    29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars upon which the house stood, and on which it was borne up, of the one with his right hand, and of the other with his left.
    30 And Samson said, Let me die with the Philistines. And he bowed himself with all his might; and the house fell upon the lords, and upon all the people that were therein. So the dead which he slew at his death were more than they which he slew in his life.

    Every occasion that I read this testimony in the WORD of GOD, I find my emotions torn. Samson is often touted as a hero because he slew more at his death than he did in his life. However:

    1. Good decisions means he didn’t have to die to slay that many.
    2. Living longer with GOD, no doubt would change those numbers.
    3. Is he a hero because GOD used him in a humiliating fashion or did he make the best of his terrible life choices.

    I celebrate the fact that GOD used Samson at the end of his life, however I wonder what could have been if Samson had continued to walk with the LORD.

    Prior to every decision we should consider the ending. Is this how we want it to end? Could we do more for JESUS by continuing to WALK with the LORD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  10. 28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

  11. Do you have a price?

    I have heard it said most of my life that everything is for sale for the right price. Delilah was offered 1100 pieces of silver from each of the lords of the Philistines; it does state how many lords. Jesus was betrayed for only 30 pieces of silver. What is your relationship with Jesus worth? Would you sell out for $100 thousand or would it take $1 million?

    Have you thought about it? If so, we are not alone. David thought about it. “But as for me, my feet came close to stumbling, my steps had almost slipped. For I was envious of the arrogant as I saw the prosperity of the wicked…surely in vain I have kept myself pure” Psalm 73:2-3, 13.

    There are videos on YouTube of adults putting a chocolate-chip cookie in front of a 3-year old and asking her not to eat it. Do you think she could resist? Recently some researchers did exactly this to study the human will. Children were given a single cookie with the promise that if they didn’t eat it for five minutes they would be given a second. While some of the children resisted the temptation others simply could not. The researchers found that the children who resisted the cookie at 3-years old were far more likely to succeed in school, relationships, financially, and in their future careers. Why? The simple answer is that success requires delaying present desires for later gratification.

    We do not have to sell out. We are children of God and have an eternal promise that is beyond measure.

  12. 20 And she said, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And he awoke out of his sleep, and said, I will go out as at other times before, and shake myself. And he wist not that the Lord was departed from him.
    We must be careful to keep our relationship with God intact because the enemy can fool us into thinking that we are were we should be but when we shake ourselves God may not be with us. we must keep a close enough walk with God that we are in tune with the spirit and that we know where we are spiritually and what changes we may need to make in our daily lives.

  13. 15 And she said unto him, How canst thou say, I love thee, when thine heart is not with me? thou hast mocked me these three times, and hast not told me wherein thy great strength lieth.

    16 And it came to pass, when she pressed him daily with her words, and urged him, so that his soul was vexed unto death

    Here we are given two more ways to identify when Delilah has walked into our lives.

    1. Guilt
    2. Persistent

    The key to Delilah is she won his heart. We must understand that we will open our mouth about our deepest secrets when we are speaking to the people that we love. We must be careful that we do not Allow the one we love passionately to compermise what God has called us to do.

    Regardless of the guilt or their persistence when God has set us on a mission we cannot allow the lion that is roaring against us to make us reveal our weakness. Stand strong be of courage because in our weakness He is made strong!

    Delilah you can’t have it!

  14. 20 Then she cried out, “Samson! The Philistines have come to capture you!” When he woke up, he thought, “I will do as before and shake myself free.” But he didn’t realize the Lord had left him. (NLT)

    It’s a sad day when the Lord decides to leave an individual alone, what’s worse is that Samson didn’t even realize the Lord had left him. I pray we would all keep God first, especially our youth because there is no relationship more important than the one we have with God; our salvation and even the salvation of others depends on it.

  15. 28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

    29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars upon which the house stood, and on which it was borne up, of the one with his right hand, and of the other with his left.

    30 And Samson said, Let me die with the Philistines. And he bowed himself with all his might; and the house fell upon the lords, and upon all the people that were therein. So the dead which he slew at his death were more than they which he slew in his life.

    Samson prayed to God for help! He knew the Lord could help him get his strength back. Samson was willing to die as long as he was avenged of the Philistines. God heard his prayer. How many times do we make prayer request and don’t see it come to pass. It’s by the will of God and his mercy and grace that we receive his glory and see it come to pass.

  16. The Revenge of Sampson.

    Sampson prayer that God would give him strength to do one last thing. How many times have we told God. If you’ll grant this one request I won’t do….,but then we go and do it after God graciously granted us the request. For Sampson it was a life altering request literally. This is how we must look at requests. They should be life altering. But we take for granted what God has already done for us. Given us life everlasting.

    Let’s Grow in our understanding.

  17. 1 Then went Samson to Gaza, and saw there an harlot, and went in unto her.

    2 And it was told the Gazites, saying, Samson is come hither. And they compassed him in, and laid wait for him all night in the gate of the city, and were quiet all the night, saying, In the morning, when it is day, we shall kill him.

    3 And Samson lay till midnight, and arose at midnight, and took the doors of the gate of the city, and the two posts, and went away with them, bar and all, and put them upon his shoulders, and carried them up to the top of an hill that is before Hebron.

    4 And it came to pass afterward, that he loved a woman in the valley of Sorek, whose name was Delilah.

    It appears in the first few verses of this chapter that Samson has some pride in him. He went into a harlot (sin) and then had to prove to himself and others that although he had done wrong, he still had the power and strength that God had given him.

    This spirit of pride opened him up to the spirit of deception which entered with Delilah. He appears to be so full of pride that when deception came he wasn’t aware of it, or because he had already sinned with a harlot and had “strength” to destroy the gates, he thought he could do it again and again.

    We must be careful to not allow the spirit of pride and deception destroy us.

  18. Judges 16:19-20
    19) And she made him sleep upon her knees; and she called for a man, and caused him to shave off the seven locks of his head; and she began to afflict him, and his strength went from him.
    20) And she said, The Philistines be upon you thee, Samson. And he awoke out of his sleep, and said, I will go out as at other times before, and shake myself. And he wist not that the LORD was departed from him.

    To me, Samson was full of self-confidence and trusting in his own abilities. (Thinking he could do what he had done before). He was “thinking of himself more highly” than he should have.
    1 Cor. 10:12 says, “Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.”

    We need to remember that God is our Strength. Our help only comes from Him and not in our own abilities. For without Him, we are nothing.

  19. Keep the fences up

    Judges 16:15-16 (NLT)
    15 Then Delilah pouted, “How can you tell me, ‘I love you,’ when you don’t share your secrets with me? You’ve made fun of me three times now, and you still haven’t told me what makes you so strong!” 16 She tormented him with her nagging day after day until he was sick to death of it.

    Judges 16:20 (NLT)
    20 Then she cried out, “Samson! The Philistines have come to capture you!”
    When he woke up, he thought, “I will do as before and shake myself free.” But he didn’t realize the Lord had left him.

    The pretty girl tempted Samson to reveal the secret of his power. Bowstring, new ropes, and weaving his hair were steps toward an ultimate downfall but not the downfall itself.

    Pastor establishes standards of separation as boundaries. Although these boundaries themselves may not be a sin they are in place to prevent us from going around the forbidden tree which produces the forbidden fruit.

    As Proverbs declares we should get wisdom, and with all our getting get understanding. Samson exhibited that he had not gotten wisdom. He played with fire. As my momma always told me when you play with fire you are gonna get burned.

    It is never worth flirting with disaster. Samson lost his life. It didn’t happen overnight. It was as the song says a “slow fade.” Wisdom says to keep the fences up. If you do you won’t ever lose your vision, strength, and the Lord will be with you.

  20. 15 And she said unto him, How canst thou say, I love thee, when thine heart is not with me? thou hast mocked me these three times, and hast not told me wherein thy great strength lieth.

    16 And it came to pass, when she pressed him daily with her words, and urged him, so that his soul was vexed unto death;

  21. 28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

    29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars upon which the house stood, and on which it was borne up, of the one with his right hand, and of the other with his left.

    30 And Samson said, Let me die with the Philistines. And he bowed himself with all his might; and the house fell upon the lords, and upon all the people that were therein. So the dead which he slew at his death were more than they which he slew in his life.

    Even when you feel weak and the enemy has you down, God still has some strength left for you! All you have to do is pray to God for strength and he will give it to you through the tough time and he’ll allow you the strength to overcome any situation that you may face in your life right now.

  22. “And Samson said, Let me die with the Philistines. And he bowed himself with all his might; and the house fell upon the lords, and upon all the people that were therein. So the dead which he slew at his death were more than they which he slew in his life.” The word of God (Jesus) showed the heart of courage. Samson was real in that he was willing to give his life for what he believed. One should always remember and give thanks to Jesus (the only God); as one has hope, because of his blood. One should also thank God and remember, those that gave all, on this Memorial Day, which is the true meaning of the day that many see as simply a holiday. Dear God, let us never forget your courageous sacrifice that affords us life; if we so choose. May God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  23. “And when Delilah saw that he had told her all his heart, she sent and called for the lords of the Philistines, saying, Come up this once, for he hath shewed me all his heart. Then the lords of the Philistines came up unto her, and brought money in their hand.” The Lord made our hearts with the ability to; help, heal, worship, and freely give. Unfortunately deceptive actions (Delilah’s) can and have been cause for much suffering, and therefore walls to be erected. Fortunately there is one whose name is Jesus that will never be as Delilah; however we must first allow him in. God protect our hearts as we freely give them too you, in Jesus name.

  24. 27 Now the house was full of men and women; and all the lords of the Philistines were there; and there were upon the roof about three thousand men and women, that beheld while Samson made sport.

    28 And Samson called unto the Lord, and said, O Lord God, remember me, I pray thee, and strengthen me, I pray thee, only this once, O God, that I may be at once avenged of the Philistines for my two eyes.

    29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars upon which the house stood, and on which it was borne up, of the one with his right hand, and of the other with his left.

  25. 4 And it came to pass afterward, that he loved a woman in the valley of Sorek, whose name was Delilah.

    5 And the lords of the Philistines came up unto her, and said unto her, Entice him, and see wherein his great strength lieth, and by what means we may prevail against him, that we may bind him to afflict him; and we will give thee every one of us eleven hundred pieces of silver.

    Beware of who you fall in “love” with, you might be getting entangled with a “Amorous, delight, languishing, temptress” and not even know it. This is why it’s important to get your parents and pastors approval on any person you are wanting to court. There is wisdom in the multitude of council.

  26. 19 And she made him sleep upon her knees; and she called for a man, and she caused him to shave off the seven locks of his head; and she began to afflict him, and his strength went from him.

    20 And she said, The Philistines be upon thee, Samson. And he awoke out of his sleep, and said, I will go out as at other times before, and shake myself. And he wist not that the Lord was departed from him.
    We need to be careful because the devil can slip right in like this situation. Because how you trust.

  27. 17 That he told her all his heart, and said unto her, There hath not come a razor upon mine head; for I have been a Nazarite unto God from my mother’s womb: if I be shaven, then my strength will go from me, and I shall become weak, and be like any other man.

    18 And when Delilah saw that he had told her all his heart, she sent and called for the lords of the Philistines, saying, Come up this once, for he hath shewed me all his heart. Then the lords of the Philistines came up unto her, and brought money in their hand.

    19 And she made him sleep upon her knees; and she called for a man, and she caused him to shave off the seven locks of his head; and she began to afflict him, and his strength went from him.

    We must be mindful of the things that we say to people. You never know when someone can turn and betray you to others. Delilah showed that; in how she kept turning to the Philistines when Samson told her. I know that there were times that I was betrayed by revealing certain things to others. I have since been very careful about whom I tell what. In that respect also we have to be mindful about what we take in from others as to not betray them. As long as our sight is on God; there is nothing formed by man that can come against us. lose the world and gain the kingdom. God is good all the time………Thank you Jesus……Amen!!!!

  28. But the Philistines took him, and put out his eyes, and brought him down to Gaza, and bound him with fetters of brass; and he did grind in the prison house.

    He had already lost his eyes before he lost his physical eyes. Samson was not lookint to the things of God but looked at “his strength” yet he forgot that it was God given. And went around and sinned with a harlot. Already blinded by sin he “fell in love” with what the world had to offer, yet the world only wanted his distruction. It is not us but the anoiting of the Lord that empowers is to do great things. We should keep our fixed on the One who is glorious. Pride is what looks at self and says look what I can do.. We must keep our spirits in check and be humble that we dont looae our eyes…

  29. 16 And it came to pass, when she pressed him daily with her words, and urged him, so that his soul was vexed unto death;

    17 That he told her all his heart, and said unto her, There hath not come a razor upon mine head; for I have been a Nazarite unto God from my mother’s womb: if I be shaven, then my strength will go from me, and I shall become weak, and be like any other man.

    Because of his pride and rebellion, Samson
    Never saw that he was being led by the hand to his demise. Today we do the very same thing when we allow pride to raise up in our lives, as when we begin to rebel, we step out of our covering, and into the line of fire from the enemy.

  30. This chapter illustrates the grace of God. Samson allowed himself to be dupped and his eyes were gouged out. In his repentance, God allowed him to have the strength to bring down the pillars in the temple. Thus, Samson killed many Philistines and God showed his power over Dagon.

  31. Samson should have known by the fourth questioning that Delilah was up to no good. Sometimes the things of this world may try to blind you from what you know is sin. Stay focused on Jesus and if you really have to question the thought/action/place/person then you probably shouldn’t have anything to do with it. If it isn’t going to bring you and your relationship with God any closer, then don’t.

  32. “She said, The Philistines are upon you, Samson! And he awoke out of his sleep and said, I will go out as I have time after time and shake myself free. For Samson did not know that the Lord had departed from him.”
    ‭‭Judges‬ ‭16:20‬ ‭AMP‬‬

    Samson was completely deceived to think that he could continue to play with sin and get away with it. His mental blindness lead to physical blindness. 

  33. 4 Some time later Samson fell in love with a woman named Delilah, who lived in the valley of Sorek. 5 The rulers of the Philistines went to her and said, “Entice Samson to tell you what makes him so strong and how he can be overpowered and tied up securely. Then each of us will give you 1,100 pieces of silver.”

    By reading these verses, Delilah was more interested in the money than in Samson. Maybe the term “gold digger” can be applied here. In a sense, know your partner very well, in all areas, before making a long term commitment of marriage.

  34. Too many times people are like Sampson. People walk with God and know his ways and then when the Lord departs, they are unaware. The when they try to do works for the Lord they are broken or tormented because the Lord is gone. Jesus help us to know when you are with us!

Leave a Reply

