Ruth Chapter 1

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 31

Ruth 1

1 Now it came to pass in the days when the judges ruled, that there was a famine in the land. And a certain man of Bethlehemjudah went to sojourn in the country of Moab, he, and his wife, and his two sons.

2 And the name of the man was Elimelech, and the name of his wife Naomi, and the name of his two sons Mahlon and Chilion, Ephrathites of Bethlehemjudah. And they came into the country of Moab, and continued there.

3 And Elimelech Naomi’s husband died; and she was left, and her two sons.

4 And they took them wives of the women of Moab; the name of the one was Orpah, and the name of the other Ruth: and they dwelled there about ten years.

5 And Mahlon and Chilion died also both of them; and the woman was left of her two sons and her husband.

6 Then she arose with her daughters in law, that she might return from the country of Moab: for she had heard in the country of Moab how that the Lord had visited his people in giving them bread.

7 Wherefore she went forth out of the place where she was, and her two daughters in law with her; and they went on the way to return unto the land of Judah.

8 And Naomi said unto her two daughters in law, Go, return each to her mother’s house: the Lord deal kindly with you, as ye have dealt with the dead, and with me.

9 The Lord grant you that ye may find rest, each of you in the house of her husband. Then she kissed them; and they lifted up their voice, and wept.

10 And they said unto her, Surely we will return with thee unto thy people.

11 And Naomi said, Turn again, my daughters: why will ye go with me? are there yet any more sons in my womb, that they may be your husbands?

12 Turn again, my daughters, go your way; for I am too old to have an husband. If I should say, I have hope, if I should have an husband also to night, and should also bear sons;

13 Would ye tarry for them till they were grown? would ye stay for them from having husbands? nay, my daughters; for it grieveth me much for your sakes that the hand of the Lord is gone out against me.

14 And they lifted up their voice, and wept again: and Orpah kissed her mother in law; but Ruth clave unto her.

15 And she said, Behold, thy sister in law is gone back unto her people, and unto her gods: return thou after thy sister in law.

16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

18 When she saw that she was stedfastly minded to go with her, then she left speaking unto her.

19 So they two went until they came to Bethlehem. And it came to pass, when they were come to Bethlehem, that all the city was moved about them, and they said, Is this Naomi?

20 And she said unto them, Call me not Naomi, call me Mara: for the Almighty hath dealt very bitterly with me.

21 I went out full and the Lord hath brought me home again empty: why then call ye me Naomi, seeing the Lord hath testified against me, and the Almighty hath afflicted me?

22 So Naomi returned, and Ruth the Moabitess, her daughter in law, with her, which returned out of the country of Moab: and they came to Bethlehem in the beginning of barley harvest.

47 thoughts on “Ruth Chapter 1

  1. v 1 Now it came to pass in the days when the judges ruled, that there was a famine in the land. And a certain man of Bethlehem- judah went to sojourn in the country of Moab, he ,and his wife, and two sons.

    A reminder … Don’t leave your place of Praise… Judah . It will cause us to backslide and die as did Elimelelech. Even though sometimes it is difficult for a person to sing praises in the middle of their famine,sickness , and trials of life..
    The sacrifice of praise in the midst of our problems and stresses of life will lift our spirits.
    Our GOD IS ABLE TO KEEP US THROUGH ANY STORM.
    GET YOUR PRAISE ON !!!
    HE inhabitdinhabits the praises of HIS people,

  2. arose with her daughters in law, that she might return from the country of Moab: for she had heard in the country of Moab how that the Lord had visited his people in giving t

  3. Verses 16-17 MSG “But Ruth said, “Don’t force me to leave you; don’t make me go home. Where you go, I go; and where you live, I’ll live. Your people are my people, your God is my god; where you die, I’ll die, and that’s where I’ll be buried, so help me God—not even death itself is going to come between us!” In this chapter, we can see the loyalty that Ruth expressed and was determined to have towards her mother-in-law. Loyalty is giving/showing firm and constant support or allegiance to. A faithfulness or obedience to someone or something. We too must stay determined and have our mind made up, that nothing will separate us from being faithful and obedient to Jesus.

  4. 15. And she said, Behold, thy sister in law is gone back unto her people, and unto her gods: return thou after thy sister in law.

    Naomi knew that if they returned to their people, they would also return to their gods, but wisdom told her that everyone must decide on their own to serve the one, true, living God.

  5. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me

    Ruth had such a commitment to her mother in law that she refused to leave but instead made a promise to stay for the rest of her life. In the same sense when it comes to our relationship with God we must make a commitment that wherever he goes we will go whenever he wants us to do we will do and we will be faithful to him for the rest of our lives until the day that we die.

  6. 15 And she said, Behold, thy sister in law is gone back unto her people, and unto her gods: return thou after thy sister in law.

    16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    We should us be determined not to leave our spiritual family that we have and stay steady in following Jesus instead of the other gods people make in today’s society. When are following in Jesus’ footsteps, we will not be disappointed on what we will find at the end of the path.

  7. 20 And she said unto them, Call me not Naomi, call me Mara: for the Almighty hath dealt very bitterly with me.

    When the LORD brings you through something does it automatically change your identity? Is that your job or His? Tragedy if used correctly will strengthen and prepare you for a more fulfilling ministry.

  8. iLove to Grow in the Word

    Ruth 1:1 NLT In the days when the judges ruled in Israel, a severe famine came upon the land. So a man from Bethlehem in Judah left his home and went to live in the country of Moab, taking his wife and two sons with him.

    The key to this chapter is found in the first verse. “So a man…left his home (from Judah) and went to live in Moab taking his wife and two sons with him.”

    There is will always come seasons in the lives of believers. Some are seasons of abundance and some are seasons of famine. Elimelech and Naomi chose to run in the time of famine and it cost them everything. Eventually Elimelech and his two sons died despite the fact that they had run from the famine and Naomi became very bitter placing the blame on God.

    Believers must be cautious in times of famine that they do not run from the place of safety. The church is the place where we should run to…(not run from) in times of famine. Our decisions affect the entire family.

  9. Can you love your mother in law this much?

    16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    Yes!!!!!! I have been blessed with the best mother in law. If you do what the bible says in Matt19:4Jesus answered, “Have you not read that from the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female’ 5and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? 6So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.”…
    As ONE you will love what he loves and his family will become yours. I learn to love my husband family as mine, respect them, love them, honor them as they were mine. Some believe they only marry their partner when in reality you marry the whole family . Long marriages last because they make room for the whole family not just their partner. Their is a blessing for both for Orpah loved her mother in law enough to obey and do as she said, but Ruth didn’t see a life without her.

  10. 16 But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God. 17 Wherever you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. NLT

  11. 16 But Ruth replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God.
    17 Wherever you die, I will die, and there I will be buried. May the Lord punish me severely if I allow anything but death to separate us!” (NLT)

    Ruth is a great example of loyalty. I thought of the song the choir sang a couple Sunday’s ago. Are we dedicated as Ruth was, but to God? “I am souled out! My mind is made up!”

  12. RETURN TO PRAISE

    6 Then she arose with her daughters in law, that she might return from the country of Moab: for she had heard in the country of Moab how that the Lord had visited his people in giving them bread.
    7 Wherefore she went forth out of the place where she was, and her two daughters in law with her; and they went on the way to return unto the land of Judah.

    Imagine the pain and devastation of Naomi. Her husband died and her 2 sons had died, she had lost her source of livelihood and her possessions. All she had left was 2 daughter in laws and Naomi had nothing to offer them. Discouraged, Devastated and feeling Defeated, Naomi made the best decision of her life. She decided to return to the land of Judah (PRAISE).

    Regardless of what we may face in life, when we come to the place and time that; we MUST return to PRAISE, we will find ourselves overcoming pain, adversity and even sorrow. Possibly life has pushed you around and pressed you down, possibly pain and sorrow have been on either side. I encourage you today to make the choice to Journey back to PRAISE. Get back to Judah. Get back to your roots. You can PRAISE your way out of discouragement and defeat.

    Today – RETURN TO PRAISE

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  13. ITS THE LEADERS FAULT – NOT ALWAYS

    1 Now it came to pass in the days when the judges ruled, that there was a famine in the land.

    We read throughout the book of Judges that there was no King in Israel and they did what was right in their own eyes. Now the book of Ruth begins with the fact of they got the King problem corrected, but now have a famine challenge.

    I believe the famine had nothing to do with the fact that there is now a King, but everything to do with the fact that there is a law reciprocity or reaping what we sow. GOD had to establish a Leader before they could ever GROW as a people and that Leader had to establish some guidelines of correction before GOD would be able to bless them for their obedience to GOD. This season or process took longer than the resources would support and the result of the famine was not the Leader, but the stubbornness of the people of Israel that did their own will for so long.

    JESUS help us to recognize the fact and purpose of the famine in our lives may not be on the Leader, but on our own stubbornness. JESUS lead us to REPENT and Return to PRAISE. Praise to you for your goodness, kindness, greatness, mercy and love toward us.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  14. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

  15. 16 and Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

    Ruth was not raised knowing the one true God. Her people worshipped many gods. It was through her relationship with Naomi and her family that Ruth was introduced to God and even through the trails and hard time she saw it was worth living for him. We represent Christ wherever we go and if we do it properly, even in the hard times, people will be drawn to His light.

  16. 22 So Naomi returned, and Ruth the Moabitess, her daughter in law, with her, which returned out of the country of Moab: and they came to Bethlehem in the beginning of barley harvest.

    Naomi is trying to survive by moving to Bethlehem. Takes Ruth with her even though she wouldn’t go with her family. I can see how Ruth’s faith is greater than Naomi’s, situations sometimes lead us to have the lack of faith but God can do anything.

  17. As I read this chapter, I realized everyone in the story had a decision/a choice to make about the situation they were in.

    1) Elimelech decided and chose to leave Beth-le-hem-judah (the house of bread and praise) and take his family elsewhere to find provision. It cost him his life.
    2) Naomi decided and chose to go back home to Judah (praise).
    3) Orpah decided and chose to return to her people and unto her gods.
    4) Ruth decided and chose to follow Naomi to Judah (praise), and Naomi’s people would be her people and Naomi’s God would be her God.

    When we are in a situation that causes us to make decisions, what choice will we make?
    Will we Trust in God or makes decisions that seem right in our own eyes? The choice is ours.

  18. 22 So Naomi returned, and Ruth the Moabitess, her daughter in law, with her, which returned out of the country of Moab: and they came to Bethlehem in the beginning of barley harvest.

  19. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

  20. 7With her two daughters-in-law she set out from the place where she had been living, and they took the road that would lead them back to Judah.

    It’s a tragic the husband and two sons past away, leaving Naomi alone. She soon had a troubled life. She decided to go to Bethlehem in search of a better life. If have problems at one place you will continue having them at the new location. Yyhave to decide to live a righteous life so your problems can go away.

  21. “And Ruth said, Entreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:”
    ‭‭Ruth‬ ‭1:16‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  22. I learn how people change whit in them self how they bear whit all the pain not only physical but in there haert. They should know who to praise the one and only God

  23. I learn that u could be heart not only physical but also your haert could also be even more heart full then anything. I learn that the only God u could praise is Jesus Christ.

  24. Positioning for a blessing.

    So the story begins of Ruth. But it first took hardship to position the woman to be used by God. When bad things happen they may just be for the good.

  25. Ruth 1:20
    The name Naomi carries with it the ideas of pleasantness and delight. Her great loss seemed to belie her name. Rather, her situation appeared to merit the name Mara, “Bitter”. Naomi calls God by the well-known name Shaddai, “The Almighty One” (Gen.17:1 And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the Lord appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me, and be thou perfect.).

    There is Restoration for you
    Therefore if you havent exactly been a “Super person” spiritually, you are not precluded from receiving restoration Jeremiah 29:11 says; “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you , says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” God is always for you, always working for your success and restoration. He cares about what happens to you. There is nothing that has already happened to you that he cannot redeem. NOTHING!

  26. Ruth 1:20-21 (Modern English Version)
    20 But she said to them, “Do not call me Naomi. Call me Mara, because the Almighty has brought great bitterness to me. 21 I was full when I left, but the Lord has caused me to return empty. Why should you call me Naomi when the Lord has opposed me? The Almighty has brought misfortune upon me!”

    Today in the book “Surviving in Babylon” it said that one thing that we need to ensure we have in this crazy world is perspective.

    With true perspective our set backs do not seem like fiery trials, and people’s meanness doesn’t seem like persecution.

    Naomi thought all was lost and did not want to be called “my joy” but instead bitterness. She saw he plight as a curse and mark of abandonment by God.

    However this was a setup for the miraculous. Ruth was being positioned to affect eternity.

    True perspective: who God is, who we are in him, and where we are going when this is over will keep us from thinking all is lost. In the end we win. We would save ourselves a lot of trouble if we lived that way.

  27. 15 And she said, Behold, thy sister in law is gone back unto her people, and unto her gods: return thou after thy sister in law.

    16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

  28. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

    We should have our minds made up to stay committed to God no matter who or what comes our way. We must follow God in all we do!

  29. 18 When she saw that she was stedfastly minded to go with her, then she left speaking unto her.

    Naomi could tell by Ruth’s action, as well as her speech, that she had made up her mind and intended to return to Ruth’s homeland with her.

    Many people say one thing with there words, but their actions entirely something different. As Christians this challenges our integrity when our words and our actions don’t line up.

  30. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:
    Ruth is a perfect example of how we should be with God! We should never leave him when devastation hit us, and as hard as it will be God is the only one that can help you thru it.

  31. “And Naomi said unto her two daughters in law, Go, return each to her mother’s house: the Lord deal kindly with you, as ye have dealt with the dead, and with me.” The word of God (Jesus) identified treatment (personal behavior). There was obviously respect and kindness towards each other, as they did not want too separate. Dear God, help us to see our own actions as you do. May God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  32. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: 17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

    There was more than a relationship between them, which Ruth was not willing to let go of. There has to be something there for a person to forsake all and follow another, such as we see with the disciples following Jesus. God help us to be as you were so that others might be drawn unto you, in Jesus name.

  33. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:

    17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

    18 When she saw that she was stedfastly minded to go with her, then she left speaking unto her.

    I beleive ruths love for Naomi was so strong, she had tasted the goodness of God and didnt want to leave, she was comitted!
    Lord help me to stay comitted!

  34. 20 And she said unto them, Call me not Naomi, call me Mara: for the Almighty hath dealt very bitterly with me.

    21 I went out full and the Lord hath brought me home again empty: why then call ye me Naomi, seeing the Lord hath testified against me, and the Almighty hath afflicted me?

    Naomi came back defeated and bitter. I’ve noticed this has happened with me a few times, even today. There are things that happen and it could be a test from God. I know that He has tested my faith and in some cases I have had that defeated mindset. Where I thought God had left me; wasn’t so, He was testing me to see what direction I would take and yes I had taken different paths in the past. I know now that my focus needs to be on the path that God has set before and remove the defeated mindset. Get that poverty mentality out of my head and heart. The enemy is defeated; not me. I am a child of God and there is nothing that I can’t do with God on my side……Thank you Jesus…..Amen!!!

  35. 7 Wherefore she went forth out of the place where she was, and her two daughters in law with her; and they went on the way to return unto the land of Judah.

    No matter the situations and or circumstances we can know that God will always be there. If it all seems to have been taken away, return to praise, return to your praise for God.

  36. 20 And she said unto them, Call me not Naomi, call me Mara: for the Almighty hath dealt very bitterly with me
    21 I went out full and the Lord hath brought me home again empty: why then call ye me Naomi, seeing the Lord hath testified against me, and the Almighty hath afflicted me?

    22 So Naomi returned, and Ruth the Moabitess, her daughter in law, with her, which returned out of the country of Moab: and they came to Bethlehem in the beginning of barley harvest.

    Naomi means pleasant favored
    Mara means bitterness

    We see her leave Judah on a high note. Her husband is alive and able to produce children and the children she has are well.

    Yet when she returns she hast lost all means of producing for herself so she’s bitter. Yet even in her bitterness her daughter n law stays with her. Even in her bitterness she had means of producing she just needs the opportunity to present itself.

    She is able to produce because her life’s experiences has given her the wisdom that’s needed to lead her daughter to great blessings.

    She believes she in a drought but she’s really living on top of a spring that is waiting for her to put forth the effort.

  37. 16 But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God.

    Wow so deep….when you feel like you have nowhere to go the church will always be there. The church will mourn and rejoice when you mourn and rejoice. They will lead you to the Lord and help you. Don’t run away from the church but run to the Lord!!! Keep your eyes on Him for He will give you what you need! Things that only He can give…. Thank you Jesus for your mercy and Love!!!!

  38. 16 And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God:
    17 Where thou diest, will I die, and there will I be buried: the Lord do so to me, and more also, if ought but death part thee and me.

    Somewhere along the way, Naomi impacted Ruth’s life with the ways of God. So much so, that Ruth refused to go back to her family & gods of Moab. This is what our duty is too-impact the lives of our guests so that they want to continue coming to POFW…For them to hear and receive the scriptures of the new birth salvation!

  39. 16. And Ruth said, Intreat me not to leave thee, or to return from following after thee: for whither thou goest, I will go; and where thou lodgest, I will lodge: thy people shall be my people, and thy God my God: Thank you Jesus !!!!

  40. This story begins with loss and disappointment in relationships and then takes a radical turn with a renewed commitment to relationships. Ruths vow to devotion in these verses seems even more radical when you consider the object of her commitment. Naomi is not the most winsome friend at the time. It is after Naomis harsh words Ruth makes her declaration. It doesn’t matter to her that her mother-in-law is now a bitter and scorned because she can see past the wall of defeat Naomi is staring at. Its all about perception for Naomi and commitment. Its Ruths commitment to Naomi that will impact not only the two of them but the generations to come.

  41. “I went out full, and the Lord hath brought me home again empty: why then call ye me Naomi, seeing the Lord hath testified against me, and the Almighty hath afflicted me?”(Ruth‬ ‭1:21 KJV)

    Naomi and Ruth came to Bethlehem. Afflictions will make great and surprising changes in a little time. May God, by his grace, fit us for all such changes, especially the great change!, Naomi signifies pleasant, or amiable; Mara, bitter, or bitterness. She was now a woman of a sorrowful spirit. She had come home empty, poor, a widow and childless.

  42. What do you surround yourself with?

    Niomi surrounded herself with any people. Some were good influences, others were not. Even when she was surrounded by her husband who reminded her that the Lord is her Get d and King, he left.

    But the she had sick and pining. They were married to gazelle and friendship. Where sick and pining died, gazelle jumped ship. Never the less friendship suck in there and refused to leave. (Jesus is the friend that is closet that a brother.

    Elimelech=”my God is king”
    Mahlon = “sick”
    Chilion = “pining”
    Orpah = “gazelle”
    Ruth = “friendship”

Leave a Reply

