1 Samuel Chapter 9

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 12

1 Samuel 9

1 Now there was a man of Benjamin, whose name was Kish, the son of Abiel, the son of Zeror, the son of Bechorath, the son of Aphiah, a Benjamite, a mighty man of power.

2 And he had a son, whose name was Saul, a choice young man, and a goodly: and there was not among the children of Israel a goodlier person than he: from his shoulders and upward he was higher than any of the people.

3 And the asses of Kish Saul’s father were lost. And Kish said to Saul his son, Take now one of the servants with thee, and arise, go seek the asses.

4 And he passed through mount Ephraim, and passed through the land of Shalisha, but they found them not: then they passed through the land of Shalim, and there they were not: and he passed through the land of the Benjamites, but they found them not.

5 And when they were come to the land of Zuph, Saul said to his servant that was with him, Come, and let us return; lest my father leave caring for the asses, and take thought for us.

6 And he said unto him, Behold now, there is in this city a man of God, and he is an honourable man; all that he saith cometh surely to pass: now let us go thither; peradventure he can shew us our way that we should go.

7 Then said Saul to his servant, But, behold, if we go, what shall we bring the man? for the bread is spent in our vessels, and there is not a present to bring to the man of God: what have we?

8 And the servant answered Saul again, and said, Behold, I have here at hand the fourth part of a shekel of silver: that will I give to the man of God, to tell us our way.

9 (Beforetime in Israel, when a man went to enquire of God, thus he spake, Come, and let us go to the seer: for he that is now called a Prophet was beforetime called a Seer.)

10 Then said Saul to his servant, Well said; come, let us go. So they went unto the city where the man of God was.

11 And as they went up the hill to the city, they found young maidens going out to draw water, and said unto them, Is the seer here?

12 And they answered them, and said, He is; behold, he is before you: make haste now, for he came to day to the city; for there is a sacrifice of the people to day in the high place:

13 As soon as ye be come into the city, ye shall straightway find him, before he go up to the high place to eat: for the people will not eat until he come, because he doth bless the sacrifice; and afterwards they eat that be bidden. Now therefore get you up; for about this time ye shall find him.

14 And they went up into the city: and when they were come into the city, behold, Samuel came out against them, for to go up to the high place.

15 Now the Lord had told Samuel in his ear a day before Saul came, saying,

16 To morrow about this time I will send thee a man out of the land of Benjamin, and thou shalt anoint him to be captain over my people Israel, that he may save my people out of the hand of the Philistines: for I have looked upon my people, because their cry is come unto me.

17 And when Samuel saw Saul, the Lord said unto him, Behold the man whom I spake to thee of! this same shall reign over my people.

18 Then Saul drew near to Samuel in the gate, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, where the seer’s house is.

19 And Samuel answered Saul, and said, I am the seer: go up before me unto the high place; for ye shall eat with me to day, and to morrow I will let thee go, and will tell thee all that is in thine heart.

20 And as for thine asses that were lost three days ago, set not thy mind on them; for they are found. And on whom is all the desire of Israel? Is it not on thee, and on all thy father’s house?

21 And Saul answered and said, Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? and my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? wherefore then speakest thou so to me?

22 And Samuel took Saul and his servant, and brought them into the parlour, and made them sit in the chiefest place among them that were bidden, which were about thirty persons.

23 And Samuel said unto the cook, Bring the portion which I gave thee, of which I said unto thee, Set it by thee.

24 And the cook took up the shoulder, and that which was upon it, and set it before Saul. And Samuel said, Behold that which is left! set it before thee, and eat: for unto this time hath it been kept for thee since I said, I have invited the people. So Saul did eat with Samuel that day.

25 And when they were come down from the high place into the city, Samuel communed with Saul upon the top of the house.

26 And they arose early: and it came to pass about the spring of the day, that Samuel called Saul to the top of the house, saying, Up, that I may send thee away. And Saul arose, and they went out both of them, he and Samuel, abroad.

27 And as they were going down to the end of the city, Samuel said to Saul, Bid the servant pass on before us, (and he passed on), but stand thou still a while, that I may shew thee the word of God.

40 thoughts on “1 Samuel Chapter 9

  1. Saul had an appointed destination to meet the man of God and ask his guidance and direction regarding a certain matter. However, the Lord had a different appointment for Saul in the matter, and had already prepared the man of God for Saul’s visit.

    If we will open our Spirit to the voice of the Lord He will do what His word says, direct our steps on a daily basis. The challenge we all face is hearing/feeling that direction. Sometimes we must clear out all the “noises” from outside sources so that we can clearly distinguish what He is speaking to our spirit so that we can be obedient and obtain our destiny.

  2. 7. “But we don’t have anything to offer him,” Saul replied. “Even our food is gone, and we don’t have a thing to give him.”

    20. And don’t worry about those donkeys that were lost three days ago, for they have been found. And I am here to tell you that you and your family are the focus of all Israel’s hopes.”

    22. Then Samuel brought Saul and his servant into the hall and placed them at the head of the table, honoring them above the thirty special guests.

    23. Samuel then instructed the cook to bring Saul the finest cut of meat, the piece that had been set aside for the guest of honor. NLT

    Obedience to his father took him from the poorest family in the smallest tribe to the town where what he was seeking had been found; and obedience to the man of God took him from wandering around with no food to the place of honor at the feast.

  3. 15 Now the Lord had told Samuel the previous day,
    16 “About this time tomorrow I will send you a man from the land of Benjamin. Anoint him to be the leader of my people, Israel. He will rescue them from the Philistines, for I have looked down on my people in mercy and have heard their cry.”
    17 When Samuel saw Saul, the Lord said, “That’s the man I told you about! He will rule my people.” (NLT)

    God had a plan, He always does! And it will always be for our good and to His glory. Jesus, Thy Will be done! Order our footsteps that we may daily walk in obedience to Your word and will.

  4. STAND STILL AND KNOW THE WORD OF GOD

    27 And as they were going down to the end of the city, Samuel said to Saul, Bid the servant pass on before us, (and he passed on), but stand thou still a while, that I may shew thee the word of God.

    The test of the LORD is to evaluate if we are willing to STAND STILL for a while and be taught or shown the WORD of GOD. We live in an anxious society and not much time is made to listen to GOD, nor much patience is exercised to wait on GOD or HIS messenger.

    The Kingdom of GOD requires great attention. May GOD help us to be on purpose about HIS work and our labor in HIS field.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  5. 21 And Saul answered and said, Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? and my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? wherefore then speakest thou so to me?
    sometimes we don’t see ourselves as God sees us. We allow our social status to intimidate us and make us feel incapable of being used ofGod. But as we find out later Saul was exactly what God wanted at that time. We must see things through God’s eyes to understand his will. Not through human flesh.

  6. “Then Saul drew near to Samuel in the gate, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, where the seer’s house is. And Samuel answered Saul, and said, I am the seer: go up before me unto the high place; for ye shall eat with me to day, and to morrow I will let thee go, and will tell thee all that is in thine heart.”
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭9:18-19‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  7. The offering to our evangelist

    7 Then said Saul to his servant, But, behold, if we go, what shall we bring the man? for the bread is spent in our vessels, and there is not a present to bring to the man of God: what have we?

    We should all have this attitude, when a men of God comes to deliver a word from God it is our responsibility to bring him a gift that he may not depart with his hands empty. If Saul the future king of Israel understood that concept so should we.

  8. God knows all, be faithful and listen to his direction and he will provide what we need and what we think we dont have to offer.

  9. 20 And as for thine asses that were lost three days ago, set not thy mind on them; for they are found. And on whom is all the desire of Israel? Is it not on thee, and on all thy father’s house?

    21 And Saul answered and said, Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? and my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? wherefore then speakest thou so to me?

    22 And Samuel took Saul and his servant, and brought them into the parlour, and made them sit in the chiefest place among them that were bidden, which were about thirty persons.

  10. 1 Samuel 9:15-17 Now the day before Saul came, the Lord had revealed this to Samuel: “About this time tomorrow I will send you a man from the land of Benjamin. Anoint him ruler over my people Israel; he will deliver them from the hand of the Philistines. I have looked on my people, for their cry has reached me.” When Samuel caught sight of Saul, the Lord said to him, “This is the man I spoke to you about; he will govern my people.”

    Don’t ever doubt that before you are called to serve in ministry that God will reveal it to the man of God before. If the man of God doesn’t hear from God, than you need to check yourself because you are probably not ready.

    Always seek your pastors direction when you feel God leading you any where!

  11. 27 And as they were going down to the end of the city, Samuel said to Saul, Bid the servant pass on before us, (and he passed on), but stand thou still a while, that I may shew thee the word of God.

  12. 21 And Saul answered and said, Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? and my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? wherefore then speakest thou so to me?

    This scripture reminded me of Psalms 118:22 KJV
    “The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.”

  13. 1 Samuel 9:21 (Modern English Version)
    21 And Saul answered and said, “Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? And my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? Why do you speak to me this way?”

    The word tells us that when we are faithful over the small things God will make us ruler over the big things. Yet many fall into a trap of neglecting the small things once they get their position, or title.

    We need to remember what got us to where we are and not stop doing those things but add to those things. We will never be too big or too important for prayer, outreach, bible reading, and soul winning. We will never arrive at a point where we can hang our hat and quit worshipping, praising, and giving God the glory.

    Who we are and what we have done is the reason why God brought us to this point. Let’s not forget what got us here but do those things with excellence.

  14. ““Well,” the servant said, “I have one small silver piece. We can at least offer it to the man of God and see what happens!”

    “All right,” Saul agreed, “let’s try it!” So they started into the town where the man of God lived.”
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭9:8, 10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Flip your “what if” !

  15. In reading this chapter, we find that Saul’s father is a wealthy and influential man, and Saul is the most handsome man in Israel. Yet, Saul is obedient to his father and has a humble spirit about him.
    Then Samuel tells Saul that he has a message for him from God.

    This made me think of 1 Peter 5:6, “Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due season.”

  16. vss24 & 27 And the cook took up the shoulder, and that which was upon it, and set it before Saul. And Samuel said, Behold that which is left!
    set it before thee, and eat: for unto this time hath it been kept for thee since I said, I have invited the people. So Saul did eat with Samuel that day.

    v27″ but stand thou still a while, that I may shew thee the word of God.

    As His people it’s our responsibility to make time for fellowship with HIM.
    GOD desires fellowship with us.

    ” Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of GOD”. Deuteronomy 8:3

    As the song goes yesterday gone today I’m in need ….
    If we want to live today.. we cannot live on yesterday’s bread ,but today s bread

  17. 7 Then said Saul to his servant, But, behold, if we go, what shall we bring the man? for the bread is spent in our vessels, and there is not a present to bring to the man of God: what have we?

    8 And the servant answered Saul again, and said, Behold, I have here at hand the fourth part of a shekel of silver: that will I give to the man of God, to tell us our way.

    Two things I see here, one is when you go to the house of God, bring something to give to God! But the second I believe is even more important: don’t make excuses for going to the house of God. You may feel like there is some reason why you shouldn’t go to church on a day, like you feel like you have sinned too much that day or that you have nothing to give. Come to the house of God anyway! When you come into his house, your life can change for the better, but that can’t happen if you don’t come!

  18. iLove to Grow in the Word

    15Now the lord had told Samuel the previous day, 16“About this time tomorrow I will send you a man from the land of Benjamin.

    Wow, this leads me to believe that God orchestrated the whole missing donkey situation. God does indeed have a way to get people to be at the right place at the right time. Everything in life is not a coincidence.

  19. 5 Now the Lord had told Samuel in his ear a day before Saul came, saying,

    16 To morrow about this time I will send thee a man out of the land of Benjamin, and thou shalt anoint him to be captain over my people Israel, that he may save my people out of the hand of the Philistines: for I have looked upon my people, because their cry is come unto me.

  20. God already had a plan. He already had direction. We must keep our eyes and our hearts focused on God and allow him to direct us each and every day. We may feel lost we may feel abandoned but if we keep our eyes o the eternal God He will direct us and lead us.

  21. 27 As they were going down to the edge of the town, Samuel said to Saul, “Tell the servant to go on ahead of us”—and the servant did so—“but you stay here for a while, so that I may give you a message from God.”

    God has a plan for us! Many things will happen in our life that we may not know why it happens a but God has a plan for you!

  22. 15 Now the Lord had told Samuel in his ear a day before Saul came, saying,

    16 To morrow about this time I will send thee a man out of the land of Benjamin, and thou shalt anoint him to be captain over my people Israel, that he may save my people out of the hand of the Philistines: for I have looked upon my people, because their cry is come unto me.

    17 And when Samuel saw Saul, the Lord said unto him, Behold the man whom I spake to thee of! this same shall reign over my people.

    THE LORD BLESS THEE

    GOD KNOWS THE PLANS HE HAS FOR US! HE HAD SAUL IN MIND THE DAY THEY ASKED FOR A KING!

  23. Like Saul, God knows what He is doing in us and how to get our attention. I know for me it is a matter of standing still long enough; to hear God’s voice. I get so caught up in things that I don’t hear HIM a lot of the time. This is my struggle; to hear the word of GOD when it is right in my ear. Like Samuel when he arose three times as a young boy. I know GOD’s voice, but I don’t fully hear HIM. This is my prayer; to hear the voice of GOD when HE calls me, be faithful, obedient, and understand what HE has for me.

    Thank you Jesus…….Amen!!!!

  24. 3 And the asses of Kish Saul’s father were lost. And Kish said to Saul his son, Take now one of the servants with thee, and arise, go seek the asses.

    4 And he passed through mount Ephraim, and passed through the land of Shalisha, but they found them not: then they passed through the land of Shalim, and there they were not: and he passed through the land of the Benjamites, but they found them not.

    5 And when they were come to the land of Zuph, Saul said to his servant that was with him, Come, and let us return; lest my father leave caring for the asses, and take thought for us.

    6 And he said unto him, Behold now, there is in this city a man of God, and he is an honourable man; all that he saith cometh surely to pass: now let us go thither; peradventure he can shew us our way that we should go.

    Small obedience positioned Saul on the path that God had planned for him. God has plans for us all but how we respond will determine if God will entrust us with great things.

  25. “And Saul answered and said, Am not I a Benjamite, of the smallest of the tribes of Israel? and my family the least of all the families of the tribe of Benjamin? wherefore then speakest thou so to me?” The word of God (Jesus) identified Saul’s, initial humility. Power and position, can and has unfortunately consumed the humility of many; as we will soon read. Dear God, help us to pursue humility over power and position. May God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  26. 10 Then said Saul to his servant, Well said; come, let us go. So they went unto the city where the man of God was.
    11 And as they went up the hill to the city, they found young maidens going out to draw water, and said unto them, Is the seer here?
    18 Then Saul drew near to Samuel in the gate, and said, Tell me, I pray thee, where the seer’s house is.

    All of Saul’s conversations appeared to be respectful and courteous of others; almost as if the Lord would hear. God help us treat others as you would, and be mindful that you really do hear all; including our hearts, in Jesus name.

  27. We cannot afford to miss our appointed time and place. How we approach things, how well we listen and react/respond to different situations can and will determine our outcome.

  28. 27 And as they were going down to the end of the city, Samuel said to Saul, Bid the servant pass on before us, (and he passed on), but stand thou still a while, that I may shew thee the word of God.

    We must take the time to be still and hear a word from the Lord. We live in a hustle and bustle world, but time spent hearing from God is well worth it. His word is eternal and never stops helping. Sacrifice your time and hear a word form the Lord!

  29. 21 Saul replied, “But I’m only from the tribe of Benjamin, the smallest tribe in Israel, and my family is the least important of all the families of that tribe! Why are you talking like this to me?

    This shows, God will use anyone. Even though Saul came from the smallest tribe, God saw fit to use him. We too can be used by God, even if we don’t come from a family with long history of being Christians.

  30. In one sentence Samuel prophetically identifies the future king. Samuel must have tried to hide his amusement. Sure this man is impressive on stature but aside from that he is an ordinary man doing ordinary work. He is from the smallest of the tribes and clans and at this moment tired and filthy from trying to find the lost donkeys. Despite Sauls doubts God knows him and has a plan for him. Just like God has plans for us today (Jer 29:11).

  31. 1. There was a Benjamite, a man of standing, whose name was Kish son of Abel, the son of Zeror, the son of Becorath, the son of Aphiah of Benjamin. 2. He had a son named Saul, an impressive young man without equal among the Israelites- a head taller than any of the others. 3. Now the donkeys belongings to Saul’s father Kish were lost, and Kish said to his son Saul, ” Take one of the servants with you and go and look for the donkeys.” Saul obeyed his Father !!!

Leave a Reply

