1 Samuel Chapter 24

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 27

1 Samuel 24

1 And it came to pass, when Saul was returned from following the Philistines, that it was told him, saying, Behold, David is in the wilderness of Engedi.

2 Then Saul took three thousand chosen men out of all Israel, and went to seek David and his men upon the rocks of the wild goats.

3 And he came to the sheepcotes by the way, where was a cave; and Saul went in to cover his feet: and David and his men remained in the sides of the cave.

4 And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.

5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

7 So David stayed his servants with these words, and suffered them not to rise against Saul. But Saul rose up out of the cave, and went on his way.

8 David also arose afterward, and went out of the cave, and cried after Saul, saying, My lord the king. And when Saul looked behind him, David stooped with his face to the earth, and bowed himself.

9 And David said to Saul, Wherefore hearest thou men’s words, saying, Behold, David seeketh thy hurt?

10 Behold, this day thine eyes have seen how that the Lord had delivered thee to day into mine hand in the cave: and some bade me kill thee: but mine eye spared thee; and I said, I will not put forth mine hand against my lord; for he is the Lord’s anointed.

11 Moreover, my father, see, yea, see the skirt of thy robe in my hand: for in that I cut off the skirt of thy robe, and killed thee not, know thou and see that there is neither evil nor transgression in mine hand, and I have not sinned against thee; yet thou huntest my soul to take it.

12 The Lord judge between me and thee, and the Lord avenge me of thee: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

13 As saith the proverb of the ancients, Wickedness proceedeth from the wicked: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

14 After whom is the king of Israel come out? after whom dost thou pursue? after a dead dog, after a flea.

15 The Lord therefore be judge, and judge between me and thee, and see, and plead my cause, and deliver me out of thine hand.

16 And it came to pass, when David had made an end of speaking these words unto Saul, that Saul said, Is this thy voice, my son David? And Saul lifted up his voice, and wept.

17 And he said to David, Thou art more righteous than I: for thou hast rewarded me good, whereas I have rewarded thee evil.

18 And thou hast shewed this day how that thou hast dealt well with me: forasmuch as when the Lord had delivered me into thine hand, thou killedst me not.

19 For if a man find his enemy, will he let him go well away? wherefore the Lord reward thee good for that thou hast done unto me this day.

20 And now, behold, I know well that thou shalt surely be king, and that the kingdom of Israel shall be established in thine hand.

21 Swear now therefore unto me by the Lord, that thou wilt not cut off my seed after me, and that thou wilt not destroy my name out of my father’s house.

22 And David sware unto Saul. And Saul went home; but David and his men gat them up unto the hold.

43 thoughts on “1 Samuel Chapter 24

  1. Verses 5-7 MSG “Immediately, he felt guilty. He said to his men, “God forbid that I should have done this to my master, God’s anointed, that I should so much as raise a finger against him. He’s God’s anointed!” David held his men in check with these words and wouldn’t let them pounce on Saul. Saul got up, left the cave, and went on down the road.” David had the respect/reverence not to touch God’s anointed. It is so sad to see in this day and age the lack of this respect in this generation. JESUS today YOU will SAVE us.

  2. 4 And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.

    5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

  3. iLove to Grow in the Word

    4“Now’s your opportunity!” David’s men whispered to him. “Today the lord is telling you, ‘I will certainly put your enemy into your power, to do with as you wish.’” So David crept forward and cut off a piece of the hem of Saul’s robe.
    5But then David’s conscience began bothering him because he had cut Saul’s robe. 6He said to his men, “The lord forbid that I should do this to my lord the king. I shouldn’t attack the lord’s anointed one, for the lord himself has chosen him.” 7So David restrained his men and did not let them kill Saul.

    Be careful who you take advice from. This might have seemed like the Lord had set it up for David’s victory, but instead David listened to his conscience and did not kill the one who was trying to kill him.

    We must learn to listen to our conscience as well at The Pentecostals of Fort Worth. We must never touch the Lord’s anointed and never take things into our own hands. Let’s follow after David’s example and be men and women of integrity.

  4. A man after God’s own heart

    5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

    David is called a man after God’s own heart. One of David great quality was the ability to admit his sin and fall on his face before God. His heart was able to show him what he has done incorrectly and when the man of God would come to his correction, again David all fall at God’s feet and cry with a repented heart. Lord make our heart the same way so we may repent as soon as our heart and the Holy Ghost convict us. In Jesus Name Amen

  5. 4 “Now’s your opportunity!” David’s men whispered to him. “Today the Lord is telling you, ‘I will certainly put your enemy into your power, to do with as you wish.’” So David crept forward and cut off a piece of the hem of Saul’s robe.
    5 But then David’s conscience began bothering him because he had cut Saul’s robe. (NLT)

    Be careful who you choose to listen to. David’s men said, “Today the Lord is telling you…” Yet when David went to act on their advice, he was bothered and realized it was not the Lord saying that. Verse 6 goes on, “He [David] said to his men, ‘The Lord forbid that I should do this to my lord the king. I shouldn’t attack the Lord’s anointed one, for the Lord himself has chosen him.'” If the words you receive are not from a spiritual authority that God has placed over you, be weary of the words spoken especially before deciding to act on them.

  6. DECEPTION VS CONVICTION

    4 And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.
    5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.
    6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    The spirit of deception is as prevalent today, we have multitudes ready to cheer us on in the revenge of a wrong. Often they can even twist a scripture to violate a valuable spiritual principal. David faces this temptation here, the crowd is cheering him on to violate his own conviction, not against Saul, but against GOD.

    The common response in life would be vengeance for David. Finally David has the advantage over Saul. But as David chooses to spare Sauls life, he makes a statement with his action. Saul deserved to be punished for his antics toward David, however that punishment should belong to and come from GOD.

    David taught that group of followers a lesson they would never forget about mercy and righteousness. David learned again the value of conviction. David’s heart smote him. We are wise and profitable when we too allow GOD to smote our hearts with conviction over a wrong attitude or action. Conviction is the evidence of Spiritual Maturity. We should pray daily that GOD will allow his WORD and SPIRIT to work in our hearts to convict us of wrong, even before we partake in it.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  7. 4. And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.

    The skirt of Saul’s robe could be repaired or replaced, but Saul’s life could not. We too must be sure to think twice before we act, lest we make a move that can’t be undone. What looks to be a chance for revenge against an enemy could simply be a test for ourselves.

  8. Consider the results

    David had every right to kill Saul. God had delivered him to his doorstep. David’s counsel encouraged him to kill Saul. However, David decided to leave the matter in the hand of God and only took a token to show Saul that he could have killed him. Saul was then able to realize that David was honorable and worthy to live.

    How does this apply to our lives?

    We may find ourselves in a situation that warrants a certain response. We may have biblical and legal right to such a decision. However, we do not necessarily have to take the full action. Maybe mercy is needed. Maybe grace is given. Neither may be warranted but if offered they might save a life or even better a soul.

    Proverbs 18:21 Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.
    Luke 6:43-45 “You don’t get wormy apples off a healthy tree, nor good apples off a diseased tree. The health of the apple tells the health of the tree. You must begin with your own life-giving lives. It’s who you are, not what you say and do, that counts. Your true being brims over into true words and deeds.

  9. 5 But then David’s conscience began bothering him because he had cut Saul’s robe. 6 He said to his men, “The Lord forbid that I should do this to my lord the king. I shouldn’t attack the Lord’s anointed one, for the Lord himself has chosen him.” 7 So David restrained his men and did not let them kill Saul. (NLT)

  10. 4 And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.

    5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

    6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    7 So David stayed his servants with these words, and suffered them not to rise against Saul. But Saul rose up out of the cave, and went on his way.

    8 David also arose afterward, and went out of the cave, and cried after Saul, saying, My lord the king. And when Saul looked behind him, David stooped with his face to the earth, and bowed himself.

    Immediately after David sinned his heart convicted him. What he did afterwards was new admired though. He reopened and humbled himself before the man he sinned against. Too many Christians nowadays would rather move on from repentance and not make it right with the people they sinned against, especially when the person doesn’t know. David set a great example of we should handle conviction

  11. 12 The Lord judge between me and thee, and the Lord avenge me of thee: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.
    I love his attitude and how that he left all his problems in the hand of God. He didn’t allow anyone to kill Saul and he didn’t put a hand on him himself. That’s the sign of spiritual maturity and respect for authority.

  12. “As saith the proverb of the ancients, Wickedness proceedeth from the wicked: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.” The word of God (Jesus) identified wisdom. David was wise in that he put space between Saul and himself, and refrained from doing him harm; however he did tell Saul why. Dear God, let us be as David. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  13. “And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.” The flesh of David could have done more; however David was obedient to the Lord in that he listened with his heart. The Lord was not full of hate he was full love, even unto the cross. David demonstrated Christianity, well before Christ’s example. God let us hear you over self in all things, in Jesus name.

  14. 1Samuel 24:8 Then David went out of the cave and call out to Saul my lord the king! When Saul look behind him David bow down and prostrate himself with his face to the ground. He said to Saul why do you listen when men say. David is bent on harming you this day you have seen with your own eyes how the Lord delivered you into my hands in the cave. Some urged me to kill you but my spirit but I spared you I said I will not lay my hand on my lord because he is the Lord’s anointed. See my father look at this piece of your rope in my hand! I cut off the corner of your robe but did not kill you. See there is nothing in my hand to indicate that I am guilty of wrongdoing rebellion. I have not wronged you but you are hunting me down to take my life. May the lord judge between you and me. And may the Lord avenge the wrongs you have done to me but my hand will not touch you. As the old saying goes from evildoers come evil deeds so my hand will not touch you.

  15. David did nothing against Saul but Saul still hunted and tried to kill him.

    So many of us deal with the situation everyday.

  16. 1 Samuel 24:12 & 17-19 (NLT)
    12) May the LORD judge between us. Perhaps the LORD will punish you for what you are trying to do to me, but I will never harm you.
    17) And he said to David, “You are a better man than I am, for you have repaid me good for evil.
    18) Yes, you have been amazingly kind to me today, for when the LORD put me in a place where you could have killed me, you didn’t do it.
    19) Who else would let his enemy get away when he had him in his power? May the LORD reward you well for the kindness you have shown me today.”

    These scriptures made me think of Romans 12:17-21
    17) Recompense to no man evil for evil. Provide things honest in the sight of all men. 18) If it be possible, as much as lieth in you, live peaceably with all men. 19) Dearly beloved, avenge not yourselves, but rather give place unto wrath: for it is written, Vengeance is mine: I will repay, saith the LORD. 20) Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him: if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head. 21) Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.

    As a child of God, we have to be “the better man, and overcome evil with good.”

  17. 1 Samuel 24:16-17 When David finished saying this, Saul asked, ‘Is that your voice, David my son?’ And he wept aloud. ‘You are more righteous than I,’ he said. ‘You have treated me well, but I have treated you badly.

    Never get weary of well-doing

    70 times 7 is 490. This a principle that Jesus taught. So you mean I have to forgive that many times? I believe Jesus was trying to teach us to have forgiving hearts. If you really set your heart to forgive that many time, your will realize that you’ve grown a forgiving heart.

    Daivds willingness to not sin against God, allowed a passage for his accuser, enemy to break down, and have a heart check. In the battle revenge vs forgiveness, forgiveness will prevail if our heart is right with God.

  18. 12 The Lord judge between me and thee, and the Lord avenge me of thee: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

    13 As saith the proverb of the ancients, Wickedness proceedeth from the wicked: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.

  19. 4 And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily.

    5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

    6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    Although Saul was seeking to kill David, David still was smote in his heart because he cut the piece of clothing from Saul’s cloak. There are times when we may not agree with decisions the leader makes in various ministries, but we do not have the right to kill with our tongue that leader or bring any harm to his/her influence in ministries. Vengeance is the Lord’s. Instead of using your efforts to malign the leader, use those efforts to pray about it, take it to the Lord in prayer. God can far outweigh correction than we could ever with damage we do to character and influence by rising up against the leader.

  20. 5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

    6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    God bless,

    A lot of the times the natural instinct of a person is to have revenge for someone that has offended or attacked them in some way or form, BUT fail to realize the moment we allow that to sink in our minds we let flesh take over. It is time to have authority over our own flesh and discipline ourselves to humble our hearts and walk in spirit as GOD would want us to — so that he will uplift us to a level of invincibility in spirit.

  21. Not an eye for an eye.

    17 And he said to David, Thou art more righteous than I: for thou hast rewarded me good, whereas I have rewarded thee evil.
    18 And thou hast shewed this day how that thou hast dealt well with me: forasmuch as when the Lord had delivered me into thine hand, thou killedst me not.
    19 For if a man find his enemy, will he let him go well away? wherefore the Lord reward thee good for that thou hast done unto me this day.

    How many of us cou l d day that we would do what David did here? I honestly don’t think many of us would. The old saying an eye for an eye. What does that show? Vengeance? Anger? Strife? Many would say that David had a right to kill Saul. But he understood something. Don’t touch God’s anointed. Even if they’re wrong. Pray for them. Help them. And do what is right in God’s sight. Our world is full of revenge hungry people. But if we were to change that thinking in our own lives. When someone does us wrong. To bless them. What if someone were to say something behind our back. Speak well of them. A tree that GROW on the Cliffside does not do things the easy way. So why should we take the road of least resistance and talk about others. Be no conformed to this world. But we must be renewed in our minds. So let’s GROW by do8ng what’s right.

  22. 17 And he said to David, Thou art more righteous than I: for thou hast rewarded me good, whereas I have rewarded thee evil.
    18 And thou hast shewed this day how that thou hast dealt well with me: forasmuch as when the Lord had delivered me into thine hand, thou killedst me not.
    19 For if a man find his enemy, will he let him go well away? wherefore the Lord reward thee good for that thou hast done unto me this day.

    Saul, in all his hatred of David, was able to hear his reasonings. Through the Lord, David is again helped to escape. Saul knew the inevitable and asked for David to show mercy on his family. Jesus taught to turn the other cheek, to not seek revenge and let God avenge you of your enemy, which is what David does.

  23. 12 The Lord judge between me and thee, and the Lord avenge me of thee: but mine hand shall not be upon thee.
    Davids thought process was amazing! He knew that God was in control. He knew Saul didn’t like him, and tried to kill him him. David also had an opportunity to kill Saul but he didn’t do it.

  24. 1 Samuel 24:4-6 (KJV Strong’s)
    4 And the men of David said unto him, Behold the day of which the Lord said unto thee, Behold, I will deliver thine enemy into thine hand, that thou mayest do to him as it shall seem good unto thee. Then David arose, and cut off the skirt of Saul’s robe privily. 5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt. 6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    This word tells me that I need to be careful who I let be a mouth piece for the Lord in my life. David trusted his men and tested the waters. Yet even cutting the fabric in saul’s garment was enough for the Lord to smite his heart.

  25. 4“Now’s your opportunity!” David’s men whispered to him. “Today the LORD is telling you, ‘I will certainly put your enemy into your power, to do with as you wish.’” So David crept forward and cut off a piece of the hem of Saul’s robe.

    Anyone else would have killed Saul on the spot. Fortunately for Saul, David did not have a bear mentality, for a bear in a cave would have attacked Saul. He should be very thankful that David was gracious and let him live.

  26. 15 The Lord therefore be judge, and judge between me and thee, and see, and plead my cause, and deliver me out of thine hand.

  27. When God chooses someone, they are anointed by him. Even if that person is doing wrong, it is not our place to talk about them or take matters into our own hands. God will deal with every leader he has put into place, that does not follow his direction. Believe me, God can do much worse to them then you ever could. Trust God and he will work everything out.

  28. 5 And it came to pass afterward, that David’s heart smote him, because he had cut off Saul’s skirt.

    6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    We are all human and God never said we will never disagree. Yet, “true submission is revealed when agreement ends.” David showed that He was truly submitted to God more than man by not agreeing with the crowd but allowing his conviction to stop him from doing something he would regret.

    I believe David was “a man after God’s own heart” because he understood the principle of the relationship of a Shepard and his sheep. God is wanting each of our hearts to chase after Him and in searching and running for Jesus we allow the convictions of God to gently lead us to righteous living.

  29. 17 And he said to David, Thou art more righteous than I: for thou hast rewarded me good, whereas I have rewarded thee evil.

    Bless those that curse thee

    Repay no one evil for evil. Have regard for good things in the sight of all men. If it is possible, as much as depends on you, live peaceably with all men. Beloved, do not avenge yourselves, but rather give place to wrath; for it is written, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,” says the Lord. Therefore “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; If he is thirsty, give him a drink; For in so doing you will heap coals of fire on his head.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.
    Romans 12:17‭-‬21 NKJV

  30. 10 Behold, this day thine eyes have seen how that the Lord had delivered thee to day into mine hand in the cave: and some bade me kill thee: but mine eye spared thee; and I said, I will not put forth mine hand against my lord; for he is the Lord’s anointed.

    11 Moreover, my father, see, yea, see the skirt of thy robe in my hand: for in that I cut off the skirt of thy robe, and killed thee not, know thou and see that there is neither evil nor transgression in mine hand, and I have not sinned against thee; yet thou huntest my soul to take it.

    I Love David, he knew he wanted to kill Saul, but out of reverence, and respect for his king, he didnt, David i imagine was passionate about everything concerning God! He is an example of what a true man of God is, he trusted in God, he lived by faith, he talked with God! He was willing to do anything God wanted, did he stumble, did he sin, yes, did he pay the consequenses yes, but when push came to shove he was a man who loved God, who respected the leadership in his life, even though he was trying to kill him, he was so honest and vocal about his belief, he wasnt afraid to tell them no, were not touching him!

  31. 17 And he said to David, Thou art more righteous than I: for thou hast rewarded me good, whereas I have rewarded thee evil.
    18 And thou hast shewed this day how that thou hast dealt well with me: forasmuch as when the Lord had delivered me into thine hand, thou killedst me not.
    19 For if a man find his enemy, will he let him go well away? wherefore the Lord reward thee good for that thou hast done unto me this day.

    David had every right to take the life of Saul, but his conviction laid heavily upon him. Instead David spared the life of Saul; to prove anything. No, just that David was loyal GOD and Saul; David saw the good in Saul. That is what I must consider; not to seek the bad in a person, but to help them bring out the good in themselves. David showed Saul by cutting his robe; how close he was to losing his life, but then David saw the anointing from GOD. How close am I to losing my spiritual battle. As long as I never give up and seek GOD in all things I do. That battle will never be won by the enemy. I have my sword everywhere I go; it is attached to me and ready for battle. I may not know it verbatim, but I do know how to read it and call upon Jesus to guide me through.

    Thank you Jesus…..Amen!!!

  32. Just because you have the opportunity to destroy someone doesn’t mean you have to take it. David had an opportunity, but he was a better man by respecting Saul. Be the better person

  33. Vengence is mine saith the Lord.
    Saul was wrong in many of his attitudes and his pursuit after Davud.
    David felt shame even with just a small touch of unfaithfulness. We have to leave even the most difficult situations entirely in Gods hands, even when we would like to scream out all the wrong that we have had done to us and we feel we have a right to take vengeance , but it is not ours to to do. Leaving it in Gods hands will always be the best answer to any situation you find yourself in. Step back and watch what God does. David’s army encouraged him to take Sauls life yet David’s heart stayed close enough to God so that he made the right decision. We must always keep a heart close to God so that we too feel that convicting voice when we step out of his will.

  34. “But then David’s conscience began bothering him because he had cut Saul’s robe. He said to his men, “The LORD forbid that I should do this to my lord the king. I shouldn’t attack the LORD’s anointed one, for the LORD himself has chosen him.” So David restrained his men and did not let them kill Saul. After Saul had left the cave and gone on his way, David came out and shouted after him, “My lord the king!” And when Saul looked around, David bowed low before him.”
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭24:5-8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    I pray that my conscience would be as David’s. David had the upper hand to take over but to trusted in the Lord and respected the anointed man of God. 

  35. David is a mighty man of war whose slain ten of thousands under his command. Here where his adversary Saul is helpless, he is conscience stricken merely because he cuts off a corner of the king’s robe. David knows the symbolic nature of holding onto someone’s robe is loyalty and cutting off someone’s robe was rebellion. Here we see the difference between an self centered person and a God-centered person because while one strives for power, another takes the place of humility filled with remorse for the smallest act of disrespect.

  36. 6 And he said unto his men, The Lord forbid that I should do this thing unto my master, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch forth mine hand against him, seeing he is the anointed of the Lord.

    Be careful of the actions you do against the people that God has placed in authority over you life.

  37. 16. NIV When David finished saying this, Saul asked, ” Is that your voice, David my son? ” And he wept aloud. 17. ” You are more righteous than I,” he said. ” You have treated me well, but I have treated you badly. 18. You have just now told me of the good you did to me; the LORD delivered me into your hands, but you did not kill me. David spared Saul’s life !!!!

Leave a Reply

