1 Samuel Chapter 26

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 29

1 Samuel 26

1 And the Ziphites came unto Saul to Gibeah, saying, Doth not David hide himself in the hill of Hachilah, which is before Jeshimon?

2 Then Saul arose, and went down to the wilderness of Ziph, having three thousand chosen men of Israel with him, to seek David in the wilderness of Ziph.

3 And Saul pitched in the hill of Hachilah, which is before Jeshimon, by the way. But David abode in the wilderness, and he saw that Saul came after him into the wilderness.

4 David therefore sent out spies, and understood that Saul was come in very deed.

5 And David arose, and came to the place where Saul had pitched: and David beheld the place where Saul lay, and Abner the son of Ner, the captain of his host: and Saul lay in the trench, and the people pitched round about him.

6 Then answered David and said to Ahimelech the Hittite, and to Abishai the son of Zeruiah, brother to Joab, saying, Who will go down with me to Saul to the camp? And Abishai said, I will go down with thee.

7 So David and Abishai came to the people by night: and, behold, Saul lay sleeping within the trench, and his spear stuck in the ground at his bolster: but Abner and the people lay round about him.

8 Then said Abishai to David, God hath delivered thine enemy into thine hand this day: now therefore let me smite him, I pray thee, with the spear even to the earth at once, and I will not smite him the second time.

9 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?

10 David said furthermore, As the Lord liveth, the Lord shall smite him; or his day shall come to die; or he shall descend into battle, and perish.

11 The Lord forbid that I should stretch forth mine hand against the Lord’s anointed: but, I pray thee, take thou now the spear that is at his bolster, and the cruse of water, and let us go.

12 So David took the spear and the cruse of water from Saul’s bolster; and they gat them away, and no man saw it, nor knew it, neither awaked: for they were all asleep; because a deep sleep from the Lord was fallen upon them.

13 Then David went over to the other side, and stood on the top of an hill afar off; a great space being between them:

14 And David cried to the people, and to Abner the son of Ner, saying, Answerest thou not, Abner? Then Abner answered and said, Who art thou that criest to the king?

15 And David said to Abner, Art not thou a valiant man? and who is like to thee in Israel? wherefore then hast thou not kept thy lord the king? for there came one of the people in to destroy the king thy lord.

16 This thing is not good that thou hast done. As the Lord liveth, ye are worthy to die, because ye have not kept your master, the Lord’s anointed. And now see where the king’s spear is, and the cruse of water that was at his bolster.

17 And Saul knew David’s voice, and said, Is this thy voice, my son David? And David said, It is my voice, my lord, O king.

18 And he said, Wherefore doth my lord thus pursue after his servant? for what have I done? or what evil is in mine hand?

19 Now therefore, I pray thee, let my lord the king hear the words of his servant. If the Lord have stirred thee up against me, let him accept an offering: but if they be the children of men, cursed be they before the Lord; for they have driven me out this day from abiding in the inheritance of the Lord, saying, Go, serve other gods.

20 Now therefore, let not my blood fall to the earth before the face of the Lord: for the king of Israel is come out to seek a flea, as when one doth hunt a partridge in the mountains.

21 Then said Saul, I have sinned: return, my son David: for I will no more do thee harm, because my soul was precious in thine eyes this day: behold, I have played the fool, and have erred exceedingly.

22 And David answered and said, Behold the king’s spear! and let one of the young men come over and fetch it.

23 The Lord render to every man his righteousness and his faithfulness; for the Lord delivered thee into my hand to day, but I would not stretch forth mine hand against the Lord’s anointed.

24 And, behold, as thy life was much set by this day in mine eyes, so let my life be much set by in the eyes of the Lord, and let him deliver me out of all tribulation.

25 Then Saul said to David, Blessed be thou, my son David: thou shalt both do great things, and also shalt still prevail. So David went on his way, and Saul returned to his place.

36 thoughts on “1 Samuel Chapter 26

  1. “No!” David said. “Don’t kill him. For who can remain innocent after attacking the LORD’s anointed one? Surely the LORD will strike Saul down someday, or he will die of old age or in battle. The LORD forbid that I should kill the one he has anointed! But take his spear and that jug of water beside his head, and then let’s get out of here!”

    Then Saul confessed, “I have sinned. Come back home, my son, and I will no longer try to harm you, for you valued my life today. I have been a fool and very, very wrong.” “Here is your spear, O king,” David replied. “Let one of your young men come over and get it. The LORD gives his own reward for doing good and for being loyal, and I refused to kill you even when the LORD placed you in my power, for you are the LORD’s anointed one. (‭1 Samuel‬ ‭26‬:‭9-11, 21-23‬ NLT)

    David till the end respected Saul. He understood his position(Saul’s), and David understood his own. Everything David faced in his life, was because there was purpose the Lord had for his life.

    When we give over our enemies,problems, fears…The LORD has a way of taking care of His own in His timing. We don’t need to waste sleepless nights fighting a battle that has already been won. These battles are won in trusting, in prayer, in our praise and worship unto The Lord.

    Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back,” says the LORD. (‭Romans‬ ‭12‬:‭19‬ NLT)

  2. Verses 9-12 AMP “But David said to Abishai, “Do not kill him, for who can put out his hand against the Lord’s anointed [king] and be guiltless (innocent)?” David also said, “As the Lord lives, most certainly the Lord will strike him [in His own time and way], or his day will come and he will die, or he will go down into battle and be carried off [dead]. The Lord forbid that I would put out my hand against the Lord’s anointed; but now take the spear that is by his head and the jug of water, and let us go.” So David took the spear and the jug of water from beside Saul’s head, and they left, and no one saw or knew nor did anyone awaken, because they were all sound asleep, for a deep sleep from the Lord had fallen on them.” Once again David spared Saul’s life. He did not touch God’s anointed; but, rather trusted that the Lord would take care of/deal with him in God’s time and manner.

  3. iLove to Grow in the Word
    21Then Saul confessed, “I have sinned. Come back home, my son, and I will no longer try to harm you, for you valued my life today. I have been a fool and very, very wrong.”

    One thing that I’ve noticed throughout the reading of the book of Samuel is the fact that once Saul started breaking vows that he had made to the Lord, the next vow to the Lord was easier to break until the fact of him becoming a complete covenant breaker.

    The same is true with the believer today. It doesn’t take long once folks start breaking their commitments that they become complete backsliders.

  4. How quickly we forget.

    If these chapters are in chronological order, Saul sure has a short memory. It was two chapters ago that David spared Saul’s life in the cave. David only cut his skirt to prove he could have taken his life just as easy.

    Saul is not alone in this matter. I quickly forget the Lord’s blessings sometimes too. I can blessed on Monday and Tuesday evening feel the Lord has forsaken me. Upon reflection, I know that is not the case, just how my mind works. Sometimes when things are happen quickly, we cannot see the forest for the trees.

    I am trying to learn to be more patient when these times come upon me. Stop, take a breath and look for the Lord in the situation. I have found, that if I look for him in any situation, I find him. I may have to endure for a season but if I keep moving I will make my way through the trial and end up in His presence in victory on the other side.

  5. 24Now may the LORD value my life, even as I have valued yours today. May he rescue me from all my troubles.” NLT

    We have all been there when someone close to us has made a mistake or done something regrettable. We could have taken them down further, made them feel worse for it. As Christians we must lift people up, show them their value, even when they don’t see it. We must be that light that they need. Now, as far as Saul is concerned, I definitely wouldn’t turn my back to him. He cannot be trusted. Even in those extreme case, though, we still cannot be drug into fighting matches. We must uphold what the Lord would have us do. He alone can bring value to our lives.

  6. Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?

    Saul was anointed of God though he went against God. But we are still admonished to touch not the anointed ones. Not word action or attitude we need to be careful how we treat the anointed of God.

  7. David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?

    10 David said furthermore, As the Lord liveth, the Lord shall smite him; or his day shall come to die; or he shall descend into battle, and perish.

  8. BE PATIENT AND ALLOW GOD TO BE JUDGE

    9 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?
    10 David said furthermore, As the Lord liveth, the Lord shall smite him; or his day shall come to die; or he shall descend into battle, and perish.
    11 The Lord forbid that I should stretch forth mine hand against the Lord’s anointed: but, I pray thee, take thou now the spear that is at his bolster, and the cruse of water, and let us go.

    Again David has opportunity to harm, or even execute Saul who continually pursues him for no cause. However, even though GOD has rejected Saul and is departed from him, because of the office that GOD gave Saul, David refuses to disrespect the man in the office of King or Leader.

    We learn here yet another example of how we should treat and respect those that GOD has placed in authority in HIS Kingdom. Even if we appear to have advantage or opportunity to harm them, we should refrain: BE PATIENT AND ALLOW GOD TO BE JUDGE

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  9. 8 Then said Abishai to David, God hath delivered thine enemy into thine hand this day: now therefore let me smite him, I pray thee, with the spear even to the earth at once, and I will not smite him the second time.
    9 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?

    Don’t touch God’s anointed. Even if their time is up. Even if they mess up. God is God that once he gives you something, only you can throw it away. It is always there. Thank you Jesus for being you.

  10. Cada uno por su lado Each their own way

    25 Then Saul said to David, Blessed be thou, my son David: thou shalt both do great things, and also shalt still prevail. So David went on his way, and Saul returned to his place.

    Cada uno por su lado/ Each their own way that’s what my dad use to say if we began a disagreement with a sibling. Why? Because he knew we never stayed mad for long but we need it to go separate ways to calm down. David has the opportunity to kill Saul; but he don’t. We know that if it would of been Saul most likely David would of been dead by now. No wonder David was a man after God’s own hear, for he was righteous and kind. Hep us Lord to follow your commandments and to find favor in your sight in Jesus Name Amen

  11. Be A Good Follower First

    But David said to Abishai ,”Do not destroy him; for who can stretch out his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?”
    I Samuel 26:9

    Leadership operates on the basis of trust. Before David became king,he showed respect for the king who preceded him. Saul failed to practice this law, and lost his kingdom.

  12. 12 So David took the spear and the cruse of water from Saul’s bolster; and they gat them away, and no man saw it, nor knew it, neither awaked: for they were all asleep; because a deep sleep from the Lord was fallen upon them.

    You could be in the most ridiculous situation while living for God . During which it may seem as though your destined for failure because the enemy is all around you. Yet God can dissuade the enemy from even noticing you, let alone bothering you and taking you over.

    He is the peace in the middle of the storm.

  13. 23 The Lord gives his own reward for doing good and for being loyal, and I refused to kill you even when the Lord placed you in my power, for you are the Lord’s anointed one. (NLT)

    It’s important we remember to let the Lord fight our battles; He is the one who gives and takes away, that’s not our job. We must respect and obey those over us regardless of our thoughts toward them. Like David, we should let the Lord handle our situations and remain submitted.

  14. 1 Samuel 26: 9 But David said to Abishai Don’t destroy him who can lay a hand on the Lord’s anointed and be guiltless? As surely as the Lord lives he said the Lord himself will strike him or this time will come and he will die or he will go into battle and perish. But the Lord forbid that I should lay a hand on the Lord’s anointed. Now get the spear and water jug that are near his head and let’s go. So David took the spear and water jug near Saul’s head and they left. No one saw or knew about it nor did anyone wake up. They were all sleeping because the Lord had just put them into a deep sleep.

  15. 9 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?

    David had a excellent spirit that would not allow him to put his hand on God’s anointed. He refused to take the chance of being guilty before God and ruining his walk with God.

  16. 1 Samuel 26:9 & 15-16
    9) And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can strech forth his hand against the LORD’S anointed, and be guiltless?
    15) And David said to Abner, Art not thou a valiant man? and who is like to thee in Israel? wherefore then hast thou not kept thy lord the king? for there came one of the people in to destroy the king thy lord.
    16) This thing is not good that thou hast done. As the LORD liveth, ye are worthy to die, because ye have not kept your master, the LORD’S anointed. And now see where the king’s spear is, and the cruse of water that was at his bolster.

    We can learn two valuable lessons from this chapter today.
    1) Like David, we must realize that we must not destroy or stretch forth our hand against the LORD”S anointed, Pastor & Sis. Watts, or we will be found guilty in the eyes of God.
    2) Unlike Abner (the captain of the host) and the other 2,999 men, they did not protect king Saul when he could have been destroyed. We must protect Pastor & Sis. Watts from anyone or anything that tries to come against them to destroy them.

    Cover Pastor & Sis. Watts in Prayer. Stop the mouth of the lions who try to destroy them. Protect them at all cost.

    We Love and Appreciate you Pastor & Sis. Watts!!

  17. Look At The Bigger Picture..
    If you get caught up in the present you will forget about the future….stay focus!

    12 So David took the spear and the cruse of water from Saul’s bolster; and they gat them away, and no man saw it, nor knew it, neither awaked: for they were all asleep; because a deep sleep from the Lord was fallen upon them.

    You know God allows us to go thru some situations just to see what our responses
    are. David had a opportunity to destroy God’s anointed but he didn’t. David knew God had a plan. I need to make sure to ask God what he is trying to show me thru any sitution. When we have our doubts about motives and intentions don’t worry cause God will always reveal. God never leaves us hanging he always comes right on time, no matter whats the situation.

  18. 21 Then said Saul, I have sinned: return, my son David: for I will no more do thee harm, because my soul was precious in thine eyes this day: behold, I have played the fool, and have erred exceedingly.

  19. 8 Then said Abishai to David, God hath delivered thine enemy into thine hand this day: now therefore let me smite him, I pray thee, with the spear even to the earth at once, and I will not smite him the second time.

    9 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?

    10 David said furthermore, As the Lord liveth, the Lord shall smite him; or his day shall come to die; or he shall descend into battle, and perish.

    11 The Lord forbid that I should stretch forth mine hand against the Lord’s anointed: but, I pray thee, take thou now the spear that is at his bolster, and the cruse of water, and let us go.

    David had a chance to kill saul. But he didn’t because he honor and respect the saul because he was anointed there always going to be people over us in life rather it’s in church or in or at work .sad to say but u not always going to agree people say but it doesn’t matter we should still respect them because they are over and your. Probably want some one to respect to just saying

  20. “And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless?” The word of God (Jesus) recorded once again an example, and a warning. David was wise in that he would not touch God’s (Creator) anointed, and wiser still in giving it to God (Judge). Dear God, let none touch “the Lord’s anointed”. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  21. “And, behold, as thy life was much set by this day in mine eyes, so let my life be much set by in the eyes of the Lord, and let him deliver me out of all tribulation.” David was well aware that he would need the Lord’s help in his situation. Likewise we can accomplish far more if we would simply learn to give things to the Lord, as David did. God help us learn to seek you in all situations, in Jesus name.

  22. 17Saul recognized David’s voice and called out, “Is that you, my son David?” And David replied, “Yes, my lord the king.

    David continued to show his kindness to Saul. He had the opportunity to kill Saul but didnt. David show his humility time after time, by speaking to Saul in a courteous and respectful manner.

  23. 23 The Lord render to every man his righteousness and his faithfulness; for the Lord delivered thee into my hand to day, but I would not stretch forth mine hand against the Lord’s anointed.
    24 And, behold, as thy life was much set by this day in mine eyes, so let my life be much set by in the eyes of the Lord, and let him deliver me out of all tribulation.
    25 Then Saul said to David, Blessed be thou, my son David: thou shalt both do great things, and also shalt still prevail. So David went on his way, and Saul returned to his place.

    Twice now David had the opportunity to kill Saul; twice now he has refused to put his hand upon GOD’S anointed. I wonder if David knew that GOD had removed the anointing from Saul. Even still he refused to bring his hand against the anointed Saul. As I was reading this chapter; it came to me how many people will rise up against anointed leaders of the church. I am very careful, because I love the man and woman that has been placed before me. Who am I, but a servant and follower of a great man of GOD. David was a great man of GOD, Saul turned to his own understanding and lost the anointing of GOD. I don’t want to be turned to myself. I love GOD and all the leaders of POFW. Thank you JESUS for each and every one of them.

    Thank you Jesus…….Amen!!!

  24. “But David said to Abishai, “Don’t destroy him! No one can lay a hand on the Lord’s anointed king and not be guilty. You can be sure that the Lord lives,” he said. “And you can be just as sure that the Lord himself will strike Saul down. Perhaps he’ll die a natural death. Or perhaps he’ll go into battle and be killed. May the Lord keep me from laying a hand on his anointed king. Now get the spear and water jug that are near his head. Then let’s leave.””
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭26:9-11‬ ‭NIRV‬‬
    No matter what type of leader you might be under he is still God’s anointed and appointed. Submit to authority and you will have authority and respect. 

  25. 12 So David took the spear and the cruse of water from Saul’s bolster; and they gat them away, and no man saw it, nor knew it, neither awaked: for they were all asleep; because a deep sleep from the Lord was fallen upon them.

    The Lord caused the deep sleep to fall upon Saul to test David’s loyalty. He had the perfect opportunity to bring harm to the king, but because he knew the principle of honoring and not touching the anointed of the Lord, he knew he could not do harm and be right with the Lord.

    The Lord does send test into our lives to see how deep we believe what we say we believe. We can’t just talk the talk, we must walk the walk as well.

  26. 25 Then Saul said to David, Blessed be thou, my son David: thou shalt both do great things, and also shalt still prevail. So David went on his way, and Saul returned to his place.

    Again Saul comes to his senses and sees the error of seeking David’s life – who has not done any harm to the king. Saul is trying to keep him from becoming King so his son Jonathan will inherit the throne, but he is fighting against God and even says in this passage that David will prevail and do great things. When God has a purpose for your life, (and he does), he will be your help to achieve what he wants you to do or become.

  27. Respect God’s anointed at all times regardless of decisions made by him/her, that you may or may not agree with , there anointed for a reason 👍🏽

  28. 12 So David took the spear and the cruse of water from Saul’s bolster; and they gat them away, and no man saw it, nor knew it, neither awaked: for they were all asleep; because a deep sleep from the Lord was fallen upon them.

    The Lord is always in control even in the smallest things he will protect you.

  29. 1 Samuel 26:9-10 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not: for who can stretch forth his hand against the Lord’s anointed, and be guiltless? David said furthermore, As the Lord liveth, the Lord shall smite him; or his day shall come to die; or he shall descend into battle, and perish.

    Who will believe the report of the Lord?

    The prophet Samuel had already prophisied and anointed David to be king. In most people’s eyes the problem is he didn’t start reigning until God had developed him, molded him, promoted him, and raised him up before he was fit to reign.

    If you have a calling in your life, don’t let time kill your patience, but use time to let God develop you, mold you, promote you and raise you up to be the man of God that is right to exercise your calling at Gods perfect time.

  30. v9 And David said to Abishai, Destroy him not; for who can stretch forth his hand against the LORD’s anointed, and be guiltless?

    As David did we need to look at the future before we stretch forth our hand against GOD’S anointed.( Even though Saul was in the wrong ).
    Look at the cause that GOD has called us to. It will conduct us in a different way presently in that which seems to be a present storm.
    We’ll have the courage to go through it because HIS CAUSE IS GREATER than man and the work of GOD IS GREATER than any individual.

  31. 10 David said furthermore, As the Lord liveth, the Lord shall smite him; or his day shall come to die; or he shall descend into battle, and perish.

    11 The Lord forbid that I should stretch forth mine hand against the Lord’s anointed: but, I pray thee, take thou now the spear that is at his bolster, and the cruse of water, and let us go.

    Don’t do a job that was meant for God! It may have seemed like the right thing to do, because Saul had been chasing him and David was in fear of his life. But by killing Saul, he would made himself judge over an anointed one of God. And that is God’s job

Leave a Reply

