1 Samuel Chapter 29

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 2

1 Samuel 29

1 Now the Philistines gathered together all their armies to Aphek: and the Israelites pitched by a fountain which is in Jezreel.

2 And the lords of the Philistines passed on by hundreds, and by thousands: but David and his men passed on in the rereward with Achish.

3 Then said the princes of the Philistines, What do these Hebrews here? And Achish said unto the princes of the Philistines, Is not this David, the servant of Saul the king of Israel, which hath been with me these days, or these years, and I have found no fault in him since he fell unto me unto this day?

4 And the princes of the Philistines were wroth with him; and the princes of the Philistines said unto him, Make this fellow return, that he may go again to his place which thou hast appointed him, and let him not go down with us to battle, lest in the battle he be an adversary to us: for wherewith should he reconcile himself unto his master? should it not be with the heads of these men?

5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

6 Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

7 Wherefore now return, and go in peace, that thou displease not the lords of the Philistines.

8 And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?

9 And Achish answered and said to David, I know that thou art good in my sight, as an angel of God: notwithstanding the princes of the Philistines have said, He shall not go up with us to the battle.

10 Wherefore now rise up early in the morning with thy master’s servants that are come with thee: and as soon as ye be up early in the morning, and have light, depart.

11 So David and his men rose up early to depart in the morning, to return into the land of the Philistines. And the Philistines went up to Jezreel.

31 thoughts on “1 Samuel Chapter 29

  1. Then Achish called David and said to him, As surely as the Lord lives, you have been honest and upright, and for you to go out and come in with me in the army is good in my sight; for I have found no evil in you from the day of your coming to me to this day. Yet the lords do not approve of you.

    David said to Achish, But what have I done? And what have you found in your servant as long as I have been with you to this day, that I may not go and fight against the enemies of my lord the king? And Achish said to David, I know that you are as blameless in my sight as an angel of God; nevertheless the princes of the Philistines have said, He shall not go up with us to the battle. (‭1 Samuel‬ ‭29‬:‭6, 8-9‬ AMP)

    Surely David found favor here in the eyes of Achish through out the years. David showed himself to be faithful as he was to Saul. The philistines did have every right to say what they were feeling about David’s past concerning the battles he had fought and the ‘tens of thousands’ people he had killed. These philistines felt threatened by David and his army. I guess the real question is if David would had fought in this battle, what would had been the end result for him?

    Don’t rush into anything, don’t make harsh decisions, but wait on The Lord!
    His plan and purpose for your life is always perfect and on time.

  2. David was obedient, even in what seemed a rejection. Achish said in verses 9-10 “I agree,” said Achish. “You’re a good man—as far as I’m concerned, God’s angel! But the Philistine officers were emphatic: ‘He’s not to go with us into battle.’ So get an early start, you and the men who came with you. As soon as you have light enough to travel, go.”

  3. 8. And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?

    9. And Achish answered and said to David, I know that thou art good in my sight, as an angel of God: notwithstanding the princes of the Philistines have said, He shall not go up with us to the battle.

    10. Wherefore now rise up early in the morning with thy master’s servants that are come with thee: and as soon as ye be up early in the morning, and have light, depart.

    What may seem like rejection to us could be a deliverance in disguise…if the Philistines had recognized David in the middle of a battle, they could have killed him and simply said he was a casualty of war.

  4. 5 I s not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    Your reputation proceeds you. ..
    This verse shows the importance of your reputation and what that means to you. people remember who David was and how we serve song they also remembered that he was a warrior in battle and a Victor on the battlefield. How you live, your victories, your defeats and your reputation will always go before you so we should do our best to live in a way like David where our reputation is good Godly things and not evil things.

  5. 11 So David and his men headed back into the land of the Philistines, while the Philistine army went on to Jezreel. (NLT)

    David was obedient even though he didn’t quite understand. We don’t need to know everything, often it’s for the better; trying to figure out God’s plan isn’t going to work either. Best option: be obedient and trust God.

  6. THE TEST OF SUBMISSION

    7 Wherefore now return, and go in peace, that thou displease not the lords of the Philistines.
    8 And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?
    9 And Achish answered and said to David, I know that thou art good in my sight, as an angel of God: notwithstanding the princes of the Philistines have said, He shall not go up with us to the battle.
    10 Wherefore now rise up early in the morning with thy master’s servants that are come with thee: and as soon as ye be up early in the morning, and have light, depart.
    11 So David and his men rose up early to depart in the morning, to return into the land of the Philistines. And the Philistines went up to Jezebel.

    David had well accomplished the task of blending in for a season. GOD permitted the decision of David. However, in the process of time. It was time for David to move on. David revealed his attitude in the process of life. He was with people that he didn’t belong and he still practiced the law of SUBMISSION and OBEDIENCE.

    In the small picture he had done nothing wrong, in the big picture, he could not possibly be King of Israel riding among the Philistines. The decision or command may not make sense at the moment, however the attitude, lifestyle and process of SUBMISSION will guide us to greatness, to our destiny.

    Even at times and commands that do not make sense to us we must be willing to TRUST, SUBMIT and OBEY.

    THE TEST OF SUBMISSION is being obedient even when you do not want to obey or feel like you did nothing wrong.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

    i

  7. 4 But the Philistine commanders were angry. “Send him back to the town you’ve given him!” they demanded. “He can’t go into the battle with us. What if he turns against us in battle and becomes our adversary? Is there any better way for him to reconcile himself with his master than by handing our heads over to him?

    Even the commanders were not obedient to their own king. The king’s own words did not hold up. King Achish vouched for David, but still the commanders refused to accept it. I believe David would have fought for King Achish with no problem, but God had other plans.

  8. 8 And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?

    9 And Achish answered and said to David, I know that thou art good in my sight, as an angel of God: notwithstanding the princes of the Philistines have said, He shall not go up with us to the battle.

    10 Wherefore now rise up early in the morning with thy master’s servants that are come with thee: and as soon as ye be up early in the morning, and have light, depart.

    11 So David and his men rose up early to depart in the morning, to return into the land of the Philistines. And the Philistines went up to Jezebel.

    They knew in their hearts that David would not last long fighting against Israel, he would have either perished or turned on the Philistines, David, I dont believe could have split not one hair on the Israelite’s head, he was a man after Gods own heart, he knew that they are Gods chosen people. Even though Saul sought to kill him he still respected Saul as Gods anointed! I believe that, that is why the philistines didn’t want David to fight with them.

  9. 5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    6 Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

    No matter where he was, we can say of David that he was committed, faithful and of good report. We have a great cloud of witnesses which is why we should live our lives to be a preaching testimony of the power of God and the transformation of our lives.

  10. iLove to grow in the Word
    “But the Philistine commanders were angry. “Send him back to the town you’ve given him!” they demanded. “He can’t go into the battle with us. What if he turns against us in battle and becomes our adversary? Is there any better way for him to reconcile himself with his master than by handing our heads over to him?”
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭29:4‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    These philistines were wise enough to send David back… As they were right as that David would have fought for Israel as he was destined to become king.

  11. Your reputation precedes you

    5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    Everything you do positive or negative will precede you; so do right!!!

  12. 6 So Achish called David and said to him, “As surely as the Lord lives, you have been reliable, and I would be pleased to have you serve with me in the army. From the day you came to me until today, I have found no fault in you, but the rulers don’t approve of you.
    11 So David and his men got up early in the morning to go back to the land of the Philistines, and the Philistines went up to Jezreel.

    Both men didn’t know why they had to go do what they where ordered to do but they went and did them. What obedience they had when they didn’t even have full understanding of the plan the Philistines had or what the Lord had planed for them.

  13. v5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    The enemy takes notice of our praise and dance.
    So keep on singing and keep on dancing.
    KEEP on worshipping the LORD.

  14. 1 Samuel 29:8 (KJV Strong’s)
    8 And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?

    (Arch SB) It is most likely that the reference to Aphek in chapter 29 indicates that the events of this chapter actually preceded those of 28:3–25. Aphek would have been a natural staging area for the Philistine push northward to meet the Israelite forces at Jezreel. In addition to being the most logical reconstruction of Philistine troop movements, such a reading does no violence to the Biblical portrayal of events in chapters 28–31.

    If the Archaeological study bible is right then this conversation between David and Achish took place just before King Saul died. That mean that David was moments away from standing against Israel, and even his own King. God however had a different plan for David. He protected his reputation, and delivered him from the Philistines, and a horrendous mistake.

    It doesn’t make much sense because David was a mighty militaristic warrior. The Philistines shouldn’t have turned him away. Yet David would have lived in regret the rest of his life.

    God protects us, and looks out for us. We just need to trust him, and know he will work it all out.

  15. 11 So David and his men rose up early to depart in the morning, to return into the land of the Philistines. And the Philistines went up to Jezreel.

    You never go wrong trusting God. It’s when we trust in our own ability without seeking God we often fail.

  16. Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

  17. 1 Samuel 29:6, “The Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the LORD liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.”

  18. 5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    6 Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

    No matter how much you think you are accepted in the world, truth is, it’s all smoke and mirrors. The only place you truly belong is in the arms of Jesus.

  19. The Philistine commanders force Achish to send David away fearing he will tujrn on them when the battle begins. When Davids men reach home they find Amalekites have raided Ziklag and taken there familes captive.

  20. “And the princes of the Philistines were wroth with him; and the princes of the Philistines said unto him, Make this fellow return, that he may go again to his place which thou hast appointed him, and let him not go down with us to battle, lest in the battle he be an adversary to us: for wherewith should he reconcile himself unto his master? should it not be with the heads of these men?” The word of God (Jesus) clearly identifies a warning. History can often offer insight to the future, and also reveal why things were and should continue to be done a certain way. One that cannot see the similarities today, simply cannot see the warning. Dear God, thank you for those that give warning and awaken us while there is yet time to seek you, in Jesus name. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  21. “And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?” Many mothers have also heard their children say “But what have I done”. Achish was so consumed in his own personal affairs that he was unaware. God help us see and give us a burden to seek you more, in Jesus name.

  22. 8 And David said unto Achish, But what have I done? and what hast thou found in thy servant so long as I have been with thee unto this day, that I may not go fight against the enemies of my lord the king?

    9 And Achish answered and said to David, I know that thou art good in my sight, as an angel of God: notwithstanding the princes of the Philistines have said, He shall not go up with us to the battle.

    When you’re in a strange land. The people know that you don’t belong. Stay were you’re suppose to be at.

  23. Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

    The enemy is not concerned with fighting the weak yet he is concerned with those that have proven to be warriors. He knew that David would defend the people. It is our duty to defend those that are not battle ready.

  24. 5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    Your reputation precedes you.
    people will know you by what you have done. The philistines knew David from previous battles. The Christians knew Saul from his crimes against the church. Some reputations that we develop in our past can hinder us whereas the right reputation can open doors for us and grant favor. What reputation are you building?

  25. 6 Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

    This reminded me of 2 Corinthians 6:14

    Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?

  26. 4 And the princes of the Philistines were wroth with him; and the princes of the Philistines said unto him, Make this fellow return, that he may go again to his place which thou hast appointed him, and let him not go down with us to battle, lest in the battle he be an adversary to us: for wherewith should he reconcile himself unto his master? should it not be with the heads of these men?

    5 Is not this David, of whom they sang one to another in dances, saying, Saul slew his thousands, and David his ten thousands?

    6 Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

    David was more than qualified for the position that he was being refused of. He could have easily fought with the Philistines and won a great victory for them but the Lord wanted him to be somewhere else. Maybe we are not where we think we should be because God knows what that will lead us to. We just need to trust that God knows what he is doing and we are exactly where he wants us to be.

  27. 6 Then Achish called David, and said unto him, Surely, as the Lord liveth, thou hast been upright, and thy going out and thy coming in with me in the host is good in my sight: for I have not found evil in thee since the day of thy coming unto me unto this day: nevertheless the lords favour thee not.

    Where David thought he was fooling Achish; he wasn’t. Achish knew what David was doing and whom he was. I know that when I told a lie; maybe it wasn’t found out right away, but eventually it was found out. It doesn’t pay to lie as David found out. It may work for a time, but it will be found out.

    Thank you Jesus……Amen!!!

  28. It is surprising that the Phillistines lords allowed David to live. It is the hand of God that prevents them from killing him right there. If God is for us, who can be against us?

  29. “Isn’t David the one the Israelites sang about when they danced? They sang, ” ‘Saul has killed thousands of men. David has killed tens of thousands.’ “”
    ‭‭1 Samuel‬ ‭29:5‬ ‭NIRV‬‬
     Even the enemies heard the victorious report. Makes me wonder what recent reports they have heard? 

Leave a Reply

