2 Samuel Chapter 24

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs 28

2 Samuel 24

1 And again the anger of the Lord was kindled against Israel, and he moved David against them to say, Go, number Israel and Judah.

2 For the king said to Joab the captain of the host, which was with him, Go now through all the tribes of Israel, from Dan even to Beersheba, and number ye the people, that I may know the number of the people.

3 And Joab said unto the king, Now the Lord thy God add unto the people, how many soever they be, an hundredfold, and that the eyes of my lord the king may see it: but why doth my lord the king delight in this thing?

4 Notwithstanding the king’s word prevailed against Joab, and against the captains of the host. And Joab and the captains of the host went out from the presence of the king, to number the people of Israel.

5 And they passed over Jordan, and pitched in Aroer, on the right side of the city that lieth in the midst of the river of Gad, and toward Jazer:

6 Then they came to Gilead, and to the land of Tahtimhodshi; and they came to Danjaan, and about to Zidon,

7 And came to the strong hold of Tyre, and to all the cities of the Hivites, and of the Canaanites: and they went out to the south of Judah, even to Beersheba.

8 So when they had gone through all the land, they came to Jerusalem at the end of nine months and twenty days.

9 And Joab gave up the sum of the number of the people unto the king: and there were in Israel eight hundred thousand valiant men that drew the sword; and the men of Judah were five hundred thousand men.

10 And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the Lord, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee, O Lord, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

11 For when David was up in the morning, the word of the Lord came unto the prophet Gad, David’s seer, saying,

12 Go and say unto David, Thus saith the Lord, I offer thee three things; choose thee one of them, that I may do it unto thee.

13 So Gad came to David, and told him, and said unto him, Shall seven years of famine come unto thee in thy land? or wilt thou flee three months before thine enemies, while they pursue thee? or that there be three days’ pestilence in thy land? now advise, and see what answer I shall return to him that sent me.

14 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.

15 So the Lord sent a pestilence upon Israel from the morning even to the time appointed: and there died of the people from Dan even to Beersheba seventy thousand men.

16 And when the angel stretched out his hand upon Jerusalem to destroy it, the Lord repented him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed the people, It is enough: stay now thine hand. And the angel of the Lord was by the threshingplace of Araunah the Jebusite.

17 And David spake unto the Lord when he saw the angel that smote the people, and said, Lo, I have sinned, and I have done wickedly: but these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, be against me, and against my father’s house.

18 And Gad came that day to David, and said unto him, Go up, rear an altar unto the Lord in the threshingfloor of Araunah the Jebusite.

19 And David, according to the saying of Gad, went up as the Lord commanded.

20 And Araunah looked, and saw the king and his servants coming on toward him: and Araunah went out, and bowed himself before the king on his face upon the ground.

21 And Araunah said, Wherefore is my lord the king come to his servant? And David said, To buy the threshingfloor of thee, to build an altar unto the Lord, that the plague may be stayed from the people.

22 And Araunah said unto David, Let my lord the king take and offer up what seemeth good unto him: behold, here be oxen for burnt sacrifice, and threshing instruments and other instruments of the oxen for wood.

23 All these things did Araunah, as a king, give unto the king. And Araunah said unto the king, The Lord thy God accept thee.

24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

25 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.

43 thoughts on “2 Samuel Chapter 24

  1. When offering time comes at church we all dig into our pockets and come give it to God. Now, as Kind David has said, I think it is time to evaluate what is the cost of your offering? Is it the left over of your pocket or have you worked hard to bring it unto the Lord????

    24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

  2. 25. David built an altar there to the LORD and sacrificed burnt offerings and peace offerings. And the LORD answered his prayer for the land, and the plague on Israel was stopped. NLT

    Why do we put up with so many ‘plagues’ in our lives for so long when we know the way to stop them is to build an altar ?

  3. 23 All these things did Araunah, as a king, give unto the king. And Araunah said unto the king, The Lord thy God accept thee.

    24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

    25 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.

    It is good that Araunah showed the king honor by offering his property for an altar at no charge. However, David put forth a great standard for all of us in that if what we “sacrifice” to the Lord does not cost us anything then it is not a really sacrifice.

  4. Verses 24-25 MSG “But the king said to Araunah, “No. I’ve got to buy it from you for a good price; I’m not going to offer God, my God, sacrifices that are no sacrifice.” So David bought the threshing floor and the ox, paying out fifty shekels of silver. He built an altar to God there and sacrificed burnt offerings and peace offerings. God was moved by the prayers and that was the end of the disaster.” This reminded me of our IFT prayer, as we continue to pray for a heart of sacrifice and a desire to give. We must continue to pray, pray and pray. 1 John 5:14 AMP says “This is the [remarkable degree of] confidence which we [as believers are entitled to] have before Him: that [a]if we ask anything according to His will, [that is, consistent with His plan and purpose] He hears us.”

  5. “And Joab said unto the king, Now the Lord thy God add unto the people, how many soever they be, an hundredfold, and that the eyes of my lord the king may see it: but why doth my lord the king delight in this thing? Notwithstanding the king’s word prevailed against Joab, and against the captains of the host. And Joab and the captains of the host went out from the presence of the king, to number the people of Israel.”
    ‭‭2 Samuel‬ ‭24:3-4‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  6. iLove to Grow in the Word

    I found the following on the internet and will paste it here. I couldn’t find a more better way to answer the many questions this chapter presents.

    Question: “Who incited David to take the census in 2 Samuel 24, God or Satan? Why was God so angry at David for taking the census? Why did God punish the Israelite people when it was David who ordered the census?”

    Answer: The parallel account of the incident surrounding the census reveals it was Satan who incited David to take the census: “Satan rose up against Israel and incited David to take a census of Israel” (1 Chronicles 21:1). However, the wording of 2 Samuel 24:1 says that it was God who “moved David” to take the census. This discrepancy can be explained by the understanding that sometimes God sovereignly permits Satan to act in order to achieve His purposes. God uses Satan in various ways, among them the refining, disciplining and purification of disobedient believers (Luke 22:31-32; 1 Corinthians 5:1-5; 2 Corinthians 12:7-10). Such is the case with David. God allowed Satan to tempt him, and David sinned, revealing his pride and allowing God to deal with him for it.

    As to why God was angry at David, in those times, a man only had the right to count or number what belonged to him. Israel did not belong to David; Israel belonged to God. In Exodus 30:12 God told Moses, “When you take a census of the Israelites to count them, each one must pay the LORD a ransom for his life at the time he is counted. Then no plague will come on them when you number them.” It was up to God to command a census, and if David counted he should only do it at God’s command, receiving a ransom to “atone” for the counting. This is why God was angry again with Israel and is also why David was “conscience-stricken” after he counted Israel. David knew it was wrong and begged God to take away the guilt of his sin (2 Samuel 24:10).

  7. 10 But when it was all done, David was overwhelmed with guilt because he had counted the people, replacing trust with statistics. And David prayed to God, “I have sinned badly in what I have just done. But now God forgive my guilt – I’ve been really stupid.” MSG
    How many times if we are all honest with ourselves have done something and let others get blamed and punished for it?
    When we sin and do something wrong we need to ask God for forgiveness and not do the same sin again.
    I feel its time for me/us to get real with God and search our hearts daily for any sin or un forgiveness that is weighing us down. We have all been quilty to lay something or someone on the altar for God to handle and we being human pick it up again cause we don’t think God is moving fast enough, God help us to leave our sin/sins at the altar and God will move in his time not our time. God is an on time God.

  8. The threshing floor
    The land David purchased became the site of the temple to be built by Solomon . This is also the very spot where Abraham came to offer up his son Isaac. Thus the temple mount links Abraham David and ultimately Jesus.

  9. 14 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.

    Amen doing everything for the Lord and not for man. When you have that concept in mind you will do everything with gladness, without complaining, and without doubting that what we do were doing it for the Lord of Lords.

  10. Why did David want to know the number of the people? 1 Chronicles 21 states there satan seduced David into the counting. Thus, David was tempted and failed. Pride is one of the seven deadly sins; pride is the only one with a virtuous side. It is certainly a good thing to have pride in one’s country, in one’s community, in oneself. But when taken too far, these virtues become deadly sins.

    I believe it to be pride due to the harsh response from God. This act of pride on David’s part killed 70,000 people – almost of a tenth of the 800,000 accounted for. 1 Chronicles 21 states there were more than 1 million people counted in the census. What has pride cost me? What has pride cost you?

  11. 17 When David saw the angel, he said to the Lord, “I am the one who has sinned and done wrong! But these people are as innocent as sheep—what have they done? Let your anger fall against me and my family.” (NLT)

    In this chapter we see David sin, be punished, accept responsibility, then pray and make sacrifices. One who truly knows how to take responsibility knows that it goes beyond taking the blame. David knew he had to “clean up his mess.” Our sins are not for others to fall apart on and die for like the Isrealites. God is gracious and merciful, so we have nothing to fear when coming to the Lord. We all make mistakes and we all endure suffering, but like last nights sermon, we must learn to look past all that and figure out how to bring God glory from it all.

  12. CHOOSE YOUR OWN PUNISHMENT 1, 2 or 3

    11 For when David was up in the morning, the word of the Lord came unto the prophet Gad, David’s seer, saying,
    12 Go and say unto David, Thus saith the Lord, I offer thee three things; choose thee one of them, that I may do it unto thee.
    13 So Gad came to David, and told him, and said unto him, Shall seven years of famine come unto thee in thy land? or wilt thou flee three months before thine enemies, while they pursue thee? or that there be three days’ pestilence in thy land? now advise, and see what answer I shall return to him that sent me.
    14 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.

    Decisions, Decisions, Decisions. So much of our life is formed by our Decisions. Daily Decisions form our habits, Lifestyle Decisions form our character. Character Decisions form our Legacy.

    Davids Decision to number or count Israel provoked GOD to offer him another opportunity to make a Decision to CHOOSE YOUR OWN PUNISHMENT 1, 2 or 3. As we make Daily Decisions in our walk with GOD, we may also face an opportunity to choose our own “switch” for correction.

    However, the consequences of correction are much more tolerable than the consequences of sin.

    Romans 6:23 For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. KJV

    Make the ETERNAL decision of LIFE today. Follow JESUS and turn away from sin.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  13. 24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

    25 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.

    David was a pure hearted man who did not want to offer a sacrifice unto God that was really not a sacrifice to him. Instead he kept his heart pure and purchased the threshing floor and built a altar. Building the altar changed the whole future of the land and God stopped the plague. We must build altars in our own life that will change the outcome of our lives as it did for David.

  14. 10 And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the Lord, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee, O Lord, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

  15. I got a praise I got a praise and I gotta let it out………
    I just received an email at work telling me I am getting an end of fiscal year check for $400.00 on August 2nd, and then with me going to college my job does college reimbursement and when I took my summer class of math, I got the check for the whole amount that I had paid to take the class, cause you see I was told I would get a portion of that payment back but God seen fit and I got the whole amount…..So don’t tell me my God don’t answer prayers…..

  16. 10 And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the Lord, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee, O Lord, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

    Although David made the choice to sin, we find in the chapters that follow that he truly had a repented heart. Many times people just repent because they got caught and not because they are convicted and feel that it’s the thing to do. His attitude and action shows that he had a true attitude of repentance for his sin.

    Search me oh Lord and know my heart….. see if there be any wicked thing in me.

  17. 24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

    A 9 month distraction of counting the people cost them 70,000 men. As Pastor Watts profoundly preached a couple months ago it is time to put away distractions and “Focus.” David’s focus was on his own desire instead of God’s desire. Yes he finally had to repent, choose a punishment, and build an alter. Yet, what if he had stayed focus? Lord, keep me focused!

    Second Point

    16 And when the angel stretched out his hand upon Jerusalem to destroy it, the Lord repented him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed the people, It is enough: stay now thine hand. And the angel of the Lord was by the threshingplace of Araunah the Jebusite.

    David knew he had to build a altar to make things right with God. Yet, I find it very interesting that he goes to the place that the “angel of the Lord” is to build that alter. This angel brought judgement.

    When we are going through a situation because God is punishing our wrong doing it is important that we follow this example. Meet God at the place of your judgement with a sacrificial offering. David was King yet he would not just take the threshing floor but he bought it. I could go on and on about the purpose or significance of the threshing floor but just know remember this… it is a place of judgement but it is also a place of blessings.

    My mom use to tell me there’s a blessing on the other side of that beating. lol she meant this situation hurts right now but its sole purpose is to separate the wheat in your life from the tares. Then you are able to take the wheat and feed others. If you try to feed others without the separation they may bite into wheat or they may bit into chaff or tares.

    Wheat= Biblically sound Doctrine, Godly Character, Humble Attitude, yielding spirit

    Chaff & Tares= bad attitude, doubt, fear, bad advise, etc,

  18. 22 And Araunah said unto David, Let my lord the king take and offer up what seemeth good unto him: behold, here be oxen for burnt sacrifice, and threshing instruments and other instruments of the oxen for wood.
    23 All these things did Araunah, as a king, give unto the king. And Araunah said unto the king, The Lord thy God accept thee.

    No doubt that the pestilence on the land and people was so great that Araunah was willing to give his threshing floor, his oxen that tread the grain for a burnt offering and all his instruments to be chopped up as wood to the King for free…his whole livelihood. David recognized this man’s sacrifice to stop this plague and said no, he would pay for it all. It was his sin and he must pay the price for it, not someone else. Again, David was quick to repent when he realized his sin and made it right with God. He did this openly before all the people to see. Many times in church we are encouraged to go make things right with someone or with a family, yet we let pride hinder us. But we must look at David’s choices: endure the punishment from man or God. God is merciful and corrects in love and mankind can be cruel and revengeful. I want to be quick to repent and endure God’s correction and not let pride get in my way.

  19. 2 Samuel 2:24:10, 12, & 14 (NLT)
    10) But after he had taken the census, David’s conscience began to bother him. And he said to the LORD, “I have sinned greatly by taking the census. Please forgive my guilt, LORD, for doing this foolish thing.
    12) “Go and say to David, This is what the LORD says: I will give you three choices. Choose one of these punishments, and I will inflict it on you.”
    14) “I’m in a desperate situation!” David replied to God. “But let us fall into the hands of the LORD, for his mercy is great. Do not let me fall into human hands.”

    God is Merciful!

    Hebrews 12:5-6, 9-11
    5) …”My son, despise not thou the chastening of the Lord, nor faint when thou art rebuked of him.
    6) For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.
    9) Furthermore we have had fathers of our flesh which corrected us, and we gave them reverence: shall we not much rather be in subjection unto the Father of spirits, and live?
    10) For they verily for a few days chastened us after their own pleasure; but he for our profit, that we might be partakers of his holiness.
    11) Now no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are excercised thereby.

    Thank You JESUS that You’re the Heavenly Father that LOVES Us!

  20. 12 Go and say unto David, Thus saith the Lord, I offer thee three things; choose thee one of them, that I may do it unto thee.

    13 So Gad came to David, and told him, and said unto him, Shall seven years of famine come unto thee in thy land? or wilt thou flee three months before thine enemies, while they pursue thee? or that there be three days’ pestilence in thy land? now advise, and see what answer I shall return to him that sent me.

    14 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.

  21. 15-16 So God let loose an epidemic from morning until suppertime. From Dan to Beersheba seventy thousand people died. But when the angel reached out over Jerusalem to destroy it, God felt the pain of the terror and told the angel who was spreading death among the people, “Enough’s enough! Pull back!”

    God Knows!

  22. 2 Samuel 24:17 And David spoke unto the Lord when he saw the angel who smote the people, and said, “Lo, I have sinned, and I have done wickedly. But these sheep, what have they done? Let Thine hand, I pray Thee, be against me and against my father’s house.”

    The good Shepard!

    God has appointed Shepards over his people, they are our overseer, the ones that intercede for them. Much of there lives is devoted in caring for his fold. Just as Gods will is for everyone to be saved, they are torn to see destruction, famine,affliction, or distress.

    Be mindful of your overseers, they need your prayer too.

  23. 24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

    25 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.

  24. “10 And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the Lord, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee, O Lord, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have”

    Humility makes you aware of the decisions you make . Notice that David was aware of his mistake and almost immediately repented before God. A lot of the times young people would rather wait until the “next service” to humble themselves and ask for forgiveness or wait until they feel more comfortable to do it …. But don’t wait until the next service , don’t wait until the time is more pleasing , don’t wait until the trumpet sounds ! The time is now for forgiveness! #MyGodForgives

  25. 23 All these things did Araunah, as a king, give unto the king. And Araunah said unto the king, The Lord thy God accept thee.

    24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

    25 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.

  26. “But the king replied to Araunah, “No. I want to pay you for it. I won’t sacrifice to the Lord my God burnt offerings that haven’t cost me anything.” So David bought the threshing floor and the oxen. He paid 20 ounces of silver for them. David built an altar there to honor the Lord. He sacrificed burnt offerings and friendship offerings. Then the Lord answered prayer and blessed the land. The plague on Israel was stopped.”
    ‭‭2 Samuel‬ ‭24:24-25‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    So many want to be used but don’t want to sacrifice “self”. Many want to grow but only those how get out of the “comfort zone” will grow. #GO #GROW2016 #REMEMBERTHEBODY 

  27. 17 And David spake unto the Lord when he saw the angel that smote the people, and said, Lo, I have sinned, and I have done wickedly: but these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, be against me, and against my father’s house.

    One day all humanity will say I have sinned, when we are face to face with Jesus.

  28. 24 And the king said unto Araunah, Nay; but I will surely buy it of thee at a price: neither will I offer burnt offerings unto the Lord my God of that which doth cost me nothing. So David bought the threshingfloor and the oxen for fifty shekels of silver.

    What is the worth of our offering? Wow…comparwd to all the daily benefits that the Lord fills us with what are we offering in return? It should cost us or have some sort of value for it is a sacrifice an offering to the Lord. Know that what we shall reap what we sow.

  29. 10 And David’s heart smote him after that he had numbered the people. And David said unto the Lord, I have sinned greatly in that I have done: and now, I beseech thee, O Lord, take away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

    2 Chronicles 7:14 if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

  30. 14 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.

  31. “But when it was all done, David was overwhelmed with guilt because he had counted the people, replacing trust with statistics. And David prayed to GOD, “I have sinned badly in what I have just done. But now GOD forgive my guilt—I’ve been really stupid.””
    ‭‭2 Samuel‬ ‭24:10‬ ‭MSG

    Do you have faith?

    It’s easy for our natural mind to do away with faith and seek after math or science. Things in achool at easily proved with statistics and numbers. With God we have to trust the unknown. Things can go from impossible to complete in the blink of an eye, we just have to have faith and trust Him.

  32. A true sacrifice cost you something

    David said that he wouldn’t offer another mans things to the Lord. He bought them so that he was offering his own. I grew up in a poor home. My Dad always made us work for what we had. He told me if I didn’t work for it that I wouldn’t respect it. He made me work for him in the summer times when o was growing up and with that money I bought my first car. When I wrecked that first car I felt sick in my stomach that I had wasted all that work. I would ask him when we could get new equipment for work or when he would buy is new tools and he would answer ” It’s real easy to spend another mans money” your sacrifice has to cost you something. Time is the most valuable thing that a human possesses. You cannot buy more of it so it makes it priceless. You cannot recreate or find more of it. This makes time the most valuable thing that humans have to spend. I hear people say all the time that they just don’t have any money to be giving to the church. If not then why not just give up some time. I believe God smiles greater in the sacrifice that cannot be regenerated. I’ve often thought that this was the difference in Cain and Ables sacrifices. The Shepard lives with his sheep, he spends all his time with them, much more time than a farmer tilling and sewing. You cannot offer a sacrifice that costs you nothing. God requires time talent and treasure. I believe it is in that order of importance as well. Give God some of your time and see if he doesn’t bless you!

  33. In this chapter today it reminded me to be thankful for all you do have! Someone is always going through a worse time than you!

  34. David is given three options as a punishment for taking a census: three years of famine, three months of fleeing form his enemies or three days of a plague. Each of these is chosen to humble David and to diminish his confidence in human might and power and resources. Of the three, David realizes that human vengeance knows no limits, while our wise Father is able to give mercy and grace to repentant sinners. Still, it doesn’t seem fair 70,000 have to die? Even David is upset by the consequences of his sin on innocent people. Yet we must remember that the Lord is already angry before David takes the census in vs 1. For this reason, we could also see this plague is not so much as a punishment for Davids personal son as it is punishment of a nation of people for their sin.

  35. David knew he had done wrong in trusting in something he shouldn’t have. Instead of leaning on the Lord for guidance, David created a mess for himself and the people.
    Take responsibility for your actions by first trusting God to lead you in the right direction.

  36. 25 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings. So the Lord was intreated for the land, and the plague was stayed from Israel.

    The Lord knows the intententions of the heart. David knew he had to repent and offer a sacrifice to the Lord.

  37. “And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let us fall now into the hand of the Lord; for his mercies are great: and let me not fall into the hand of man.”(‭2 Samuel‬ ‭24:14‬ ‭KJV)

    David was given the choice of three punishments for ordering the census. He could’ve chose by famine and pestilence, or through the sword of his enemies, or a plague. The plague and the famine would come from God’s hand, but the sword of his enemies was the hand of man. Davids choice was wise but he chose the mercy of Gods hand than the ruthless hand of man!!

  38. 2 Samuel 24:18 (KJV Strong’s)

    18 And Gad came that day to David, and said unto him, Go up, rear an altar unto the Lord in the threshingfloor of Araunah the Jebusite.

    Araunah means “I shall shout for joy”

    The Lord stopped the plague at the threshing floor of Araunah. This was the same place that Abraham tried to sacrifice his son Isaac, and the place where Jesus would one day be crucified.
    The threshing floor of I shall shout for joy.

    What a tremendous encouragement to know that Jesus gave his life so we could live.

    I shall shout for joy.

  39. 23 All these things did Araunah, as a king, give unto the king. And Araunah said unto the king, The Lord thy God accept thee.

  40. 17 And David spake unto the Lord when he saw the angel that smote the people, and said, Lo, I have sinned, and I have done wickedly: but these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, be against me, and against my father’s house.

    18 And Gad came that day to David, and said unto him, Go up, rear an altar unto the Lord in the threshingfloor of Araunah the Jebusite.

    19 And David, according to the saying of Gad, went up as the Lord commanded.

    Obedience to God is key, David knew this. It was one major fact why he become King of israel

  41. 2So the king said to Joab and the commanders of the army, “Take a census of all the tribes of Israel—from Dan in the north to Beersheba in the south—so I may know how many people there are.”

    By taken a census it seems like David wanted to take matter into his own hands, and receive credit. He wanted to know if he had enough manpower to overtake his enemies and go at it alone without God. Did he not trust God? He wanted to be sure he had enough men to conquer his enemies. We have to learn and trust God, even when it looks hopeless. God will not leave nor forsake you.

Leave a Reply

