1 Kings Chapter 21

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 18

1 Kings 21

1 And it came to pass after these things, that Naboth the Jezreelite had a vineyard, which was in Jezreel, hard by the palace of Ahab king of Samaria.

2 And Ahab spake unto Naboth, saying, Give me thy vineyard, that I may have it for a garden of herbs, because it is near unto my house: and I will give thee for it a better vineyard than it; or, if it seem good to thee, I will give thee the worth of it in money.

3 And Naboth said to Ahab, The Lord forbid it me, that I should give the inheritance of my fathers unto thee.

4 And Ahab came into his house heavy and displeased because of the word which Naboth the Jezreelite had spoken to him: for he had said, I will not give thee the inheritance of my fathers. And he laid him down upon his bed, and turned away his face, and would eat no bread.

5 But Jezebel his wife came to him, and said unto him, Why is thy spirit so sad, that thou eatest no bread?

6 And he said unto her, Because I spake unto Naboth the Jezreelite, and said unto him, Give me thy vineyard for money; or else, if it please thee, I will give thee another vineyard for it: and he answered, I will not give thee my vineyard.

7 And Jezebel his wife said unto him, Dost thou now govern the kingdom of Israel? arise, and eat bread, and let thine heart be merry: I will give thee the vineyard of Naboth the Jezreelite.

8 So she wrote letters in Ahab’s name, and sealed them with his seal, and sent the letters unto the elders and to the nobles that were in his city, dwelling with Naboth.

9 And she wrote in the letters, saying, Proclaim a fast, and set Naboth on high among the people:

10 And set two men, sons of Belial, before him, to bear witness against him, saying, Thou didst blaspheme God and the king. And then carry him out, and stone him, that he may die.

11 And the men of his city, even the elders and the nobles who were the inhabitants in his city, did as Jezebel had sent unto them, and as it was written in the letters which she had sent unto them.

12 They proclaimed a fast, and set Naboth on high among the people.

13 And there came in two men, children of Belial, and sat before him: and the men of Belial witnessed against him, even against Naboth, in the presence of the people, saying, Naboth did blaspheme God and the king. Then they carried him forth out of the city, and stoned him with stones, that he died.

14 Then they sent to Jezebel, saying, Naboth is stoned, and is dead.

15 And it came to pass, when Jezebel heard that Naboth was stoned, and was dead, that Jezebel said to Ahab, Arise, take possession of the vineyard of Naboth the Jezreelite, which he refused to give thee for money: for Naboth is not alive, but dead.

16 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard that Naboth was dead, that Ahab rose up to go down to the vineyard of Naboth the Jezreelite, to take possession of it.

17 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

18 Arise, go down to meet Ahab king of Israel, which is in Samaria: behold, he is in the vineyard of Naboth, whither he is gone down to possess it.

19 And thou shalt speak unto him, saying, Thus saith the Lord, Hast thou killed, and also taken possession? And thou shalt speak unto him, saying, Thus saith the Lord, In the place where dogs licked the blood of Naboth shall dogs lick thy blood, even thine.

20 And Ahab said to Elijah, Hast thou found me, O mine enemy? And he answered, I have found thee: because thou hast sold thyself to work evil in the sight of the Lord.

21 Behold, I will bring evil upon thee, and will take away thy posterity, and will cut off from Ahab him that pisseth against the wall, and him that is shut up and left in Israel,

22 And will make thine house like the house of Jeroboam the son of Nebat, and like the house of Baasha the son of Ahijah, for the provocation wherewith thou hast provoked me to anger, and made Israel to sin.

23 And of Jezebel also spake the Lord, saying, The dogs shall eat Jezebel by the wall of Jezreel.

24 Him that dieth of Ahab in the city the dogs shall eat; and him that dieth in the field shall the fowls of the air eat.

25 But there was none like unto Ahab, which did sell himself to work wickedness in the sight of the Lord, whom Jezebel his wife stirred up.

26 And he did very abominably in following idols, according to all things as did the Amorites, whom the Lord cast out before the children of Israel.

27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.

28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

47 thoughts on “1 Kings Chapter 21

  1. ILove to grow in the Word

    3 And Naboth said to Ahab, The Lord forbid it me, that I should give the inheritance of my fathers unto thee.

    Fight for what is yours and don’t give up your inheritance. Tell the devil to get behind you. Even if it costs your life, God will repay.

  2. “Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.”
    ‭‭1 Kings‬ ‭21:29‬ ‭KJV‬‬
    “Better it is to be of an humble spirit with the lowly, than to divide the spoil with the proud.”
    ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭16:19‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  3. 4. So Ahab went into his palace, bitter and angry that Naboth the Jezreelite had said, “I will not sell to you my ancestral inheritance.” He lay down on his bed, pouted, and would not eat. NET

    Ahab was a grown man, a king; but he still acted childish when he didn’t get his way. His wife saw him acting that way and committed murder so that he could have what he wanted.

    Lord, help us not be childish and selfish, lest our bad attitudes affect others and cause them to be led astray.

    1 Corinthians 13:11
    When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. KJV

  4. Spoiled

    A spoiled child keeps crying until they get what they want. When that spoiled child becomes an adult they will still cry for help but not in tears; for example they might start blaming their friends, environment or external factors. By crying for help that way the spoiled adult expects someone to respond and to bring them what they want.

    Since a spoiled child finds that all their needs are met without questions they expect life to treat him them the same way when they become an adult. I know someone who was very spoiled when they were a child and who liked a particular girl. When I asked him to approach her he told me that he don’t want to do a lot of effort. This person was expecting that I should go approach her, get to know her then bring her and introduce her to him just like his mother used to bring him things without letting him do any effort!

    A spoiled child expects the whole world to respond to his demand whenever he complains (or cries) but since he discovers the opposite when he becomes an adult he ends up feeling very disappointed.

  5. HOW TO REBOUND = REPENT

    25 But there was none like unto Ahab, which did sell himself to work wickedness in the sight of the Lord, whom Jezebel his wife stirred up.
    26 And he did very abominably in following idols, according to all things as did the Amorites, whom the Lord cast out before the children of Israel.
    27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.
    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,
    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    Men (and women) make incredible plans through plotting wickedness. However the Kingdom of GOD has incredible resources and faithful men that will hear his voice and respond willingly.

    We witness much in this example of greed, deceit, control, death, prophesy, judgement, revelation and repentance.

    The most inspiring and beautiful fact of this testimony is the fact that JESUS dropped the charges, when REPENTANCE was evident. If you have failed GOD through deception, disobedience or denial, choose today to REPENT. Turn around and submit to full obedience to the WORD and WILL of GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  6. 3 And Naboth said to Ahab, The Lord forbid it me, that I should give the inheritance of my fathers unto thee.

    Buy the truth and sell it not. The inheritance Naboth had meant so much to him he was not willing to sell it for no amount of money. I have been given a rich inheritance. Truth was bought and paid for by My Savior with His life. I am 4th generation Apostolic. I cannot afford to sell the knowledge, experience, testimonies which have been passed from one generation to another for a small season of pleasure. Nothing will/can compare to the privilege of knowing truth and having a relationship with my Jesus.

  7. 29 Se est thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house
    God honors humility. Even when he deserved judgement he was given Mercy to not see the evil in his days because of his humility to our God. Bible says if we our humble he will lift us up. even if you have done evil if you are humble God will show you Mercy.

  8. 3 And Naboth said to Ahab, The Lord forbid it me, that I should give the inheritance of my fathers unto thee.

    I find it not strange that several have chosen the same scripture this morning. When the Lord forbids it we should stand firm in His word. No matter what comes your way if it is forbidden run from it. If you are having difficulty with running then stand still and submit completely to Giod. We must put aside more and more in order to keep the commandments of God.
    If it is forbidden then don’t give in to those wanting you to participate. There will be sacrifices made and it will not be easy but there will be a great victory when you know you have stood for what God has asked of you.

  9. 29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

  10. 3 And Naboth said to Ahab, The Lord forbid it me, that I should give the inheritance of my fathers unto thee.

    Why would someone want to sale their inheritance? As we read in this chapter there was some spoiled rotten people that think the world revolves around them.
    God help us to not get the mind set that the church can’t run without me/you/us, the church is ALL of us. I am thankful for parents that raised me in the church and taught me right from wrong. I couldn’t imagine my life any other way than church. I have not been perfect but who has, I do not want to give up what God has given me and the promises that I have from God. I want to be a light to the lost and dying world.

  11. 25-26 Ahab, pushed by his wife Jezebel and in open defiance of God, set an all-time record in making big business of evil. He indulged in outrageous obscenities in the world of idols, copying the Amorites whom God had earlier kicked out of Israelite territory. MSG

  12.  And Ahab came into his house heavy and displeased because of the word which Naboth the Jezreelite had spoken to him: for he had said, I will not give thee the inheritance of my fathers. And he laid him down upon his bed, and turned away his face, and would eat no bread.

     When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. – 1 Corinthians 13:11
    Grow up! Grow up!

  13. 27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.

    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

  14. 1 Kings 21:2-3, 20 & 25 (NLT)
    2) One day Ahab said to Naboth, “Since your vineyard is so convenient to my palace, I would like to buy it to use as a vegetable garden. I will give you a better vineyard in exchange, or if you prefer, I will pay you for it.”
    3) but Naboth replied, “The LORD forbid that I should give you the inheritance that was passed down by my ancestors.”

    20) “So, my enemy, you have found me!” Ahab exclaimed to Elijah. “Yes,” Elijah answered, “I have come because you have sold yourself to what is evil in the LORD’s sight.”
    25) No one else so completely sold himself to what was evil in the LORD’s sight as Ahab did under the influence of his wife Jezebel.

    These passages of scriptures reminded me of a song called “Not For Sale.”
    I just want to use a portion of it…

    Well, if you’re living for Jesus, Friend, They’ll come a day.
    That old devil’s going to try to get you some way.
    He’ll try you, and temp you, with his lies straight from hell.
    Just say I belong to Jesus, and devil I’m not for sale
    Not for sale, Not for sale, No way no sir.

    I belong to the Lamb of God,
    He purchased me with His precious Blood.
    I don’t need popularity, I’d rather have what he gave to me.
    I belong to the King of Kings,
    He’s my hope, He’s my joy, He’s my everything.
    I belong to the Lord God Almighty,
    I belong to the one who gave His life for me.

    I belong to the Lamb of God,
    He purchased me with His precious Blood.
    I don’t need popularity, I’d rather have what he gave to me.
    Some sold conviction’s for compromise,
    Some have sold the truth for a pack of lies,
    Some have sold Testimonies for fortune and fame.
    I just want to Glorify and Magnify His name.

    This heart belongs to Jesus, He saved my soul from hell.
    This heart belongs to Jesus, Oh this heart is not for sale.
    Not for sale, Not for sale, No way no sir.
    Not for sale, I’m not for sale,
    I’m not for sale, No way no sir, I’m not for sale,
    I’m not for sale.

    My Inheritance in JESUS is “Not For Sale!”

  15. What’s is lord is alway the lords u can’t buy the lord stuff and u can’t get away with steeing the lord stuff

    This means to me when u have the holy ghost you are the lord that means u can’t be buy u can’t be steal Because u are the lord and god will always have our back

  16. 25 (No one else so completely sold himself to what was evil in the Lord’s sight as Ahab did under the influence of his wife Jezebel. (NLT)

    Ladies, we’re infulential beings. Married or not, for good or for evil, whether we even realize it or not – we have influence. Allow God to use you for His glory and His kingdom’s purpose.

  17. 25 But there was none like unto Ahab, which did sell himself to work wickedness in the sight of the Lord, whom Jezebel his wife stirred up.

    It’s crazy that Ahab was considered the one who did wicked things unlike any other considering Jezebel was behind every wicked act. That’s just shows the influence we have as women. It’s also seen with Adam and eve, unlike these women we should use our influence for righteous and godly things.

  18. 26 And he did very abominably in following idols, according to all things as did the Amorites, whom the Lord cast out before the children of Israel.
    27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.
    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,
    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    Many have addressed the spoiled man Ahab was and I can see him sucking his thumb until he gets his way. But I want to focus on how evil Ahab was-it was his way…and yet when he repented and walked softly (carefully) before the Lord, He took noticed and judgement passed from him to his son. Judgement was coming, but just not to Ahab. This example of repentance is so encouraging because there are backsliders in the region of Ft. Worth who have turned to doing things that are abominable to God, yet we see that if they turn from them and truly repent, God will forgive! These sons and daughters will be coming back to God and may find themselves at our altar, will we be their judge? Or will we help them pray through and find deliverance and restoration from a loving God? I choose to look past their state and help them pray through, then help them get on their feet (so to speak) and see them start living for God. They may stumble, but the church must step up and be willing to teach in love so they can be saved.

  19. 22 I will make your house like that of Jeroboam son of Nebat and that of Baasha son of Ahijah, because you have aroused my anger and have caused Israel to sin.’
    29 “Do you see how penitently submissive Ahab has become to me? Because of his repentance I’ll not bring the doom during his lifetime; Ahab’s son, though, will get it.”

    Because the leader/king was not influenced right he wasn’t leading right and that impacted the people who looked up to him, Israel. Not only did it cause Israel to fall but now Ahab punishment will fall onto his sons. Be careful who you are surrounded by and make sure your leading with the right spirit! When your a leader it’s not just a choice that impacts you but everyone that may follow you, that’s why you need good influences to help you lead in the right spirit.

  20. 27 When Ahab heard these words, he tore his clothes and dressed in cloth made from hair, and would not eat. He lay dressed in cloth made from hair, and went about very sad. 28 Then the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying, 29 “Do you see how Ahab has got rid of his pride before Me? Because he has gotten rid of his pride, I will not bring trouble to him while he is alive. But I will bring trouble upon his house in his son’s days.”

    What we do will affect our future generation. We need to have made it in our mind that our children and grand children will be changed because of our obedience or disobedience. Don’t let another generation be bound but be that person that in the next generations they will be talking about and thanking you for your obedience to the gospel. I am the first one to have been baptized in Jesus Name and I am making that difference in my children lives and grandchildren and so forth. I have broken that chain that had me bound and setting generations free. Be the difference for the now and the future.

  21. “7 And Jezebel his wife said unto him, Dost thou now govern the kingdom of Israel? arise, and eat bread, and let thine heart be merry: I will give thee the vineyard of Naboth the Jezreelite.
    8 So she wrote letters in Ahab’s name, and sealed them with his seal, and sent the letters unto the elders and to the nobles that were in his city, dwelling with Naboth.
    9 And she wrote in the letters, saying, Proclaim a fast, and set Naboth on high among the people:
    10 And set two men, sons of Belial, before him, to bear witness against him, saying, Thou didst blaspheme God and the king. And then carry him out, and stone him, that he may die.”

    I rebuke that spirit of Jezebel! That spirit that causes the children of God to take other matters that they have no business in to attack one another! That spirit walks in many church’s today , causing rumors to be spread and causing division between youth and families! It’s time for God’s people stand against that spirit , and fight in UNITY so that we can overcome together and IMPACT our cities! In Jesus Name! #UnityIsPower

  22. 26 And he did very abominably in following idols, according to all things as did the Amorites, whom the Lord cast out before the children of Israel.

    27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.

    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    Our decisions now do affect the future generations! Ahab humbled himself before God and earned forgiveness, but his mistakes still caused darkness on his future generations. So next time you think what you are doing is only going to affect you, remember that wether the desision is good or bad it will affect those that come after you!

  23. 29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    We need to repent for our sins everyday because we never know when God is coming for his people!!

  24. 27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.

    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

  25. 1 Kings 21:29 (KJV Strong’s)
    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    When I lived a backslidden life I believed the lie that I had done too much and gone too far. I truly believed that God wouldn’t want anything to do with me. But God lifted me up and restored me as his own.

    If wicked Ahab can stand in repentance and humility before God and touch the heart of God than I reckon anyone can be saved.

  26. 20 And Ahab said to Elijah, Hast thou found me, O mine enemy? And he answered, I have found thee: because thou hast sold thyself to work evil in the sight of the Lord.

    I am sold out to Jesus. My heart is fixed my mind is made up. No room. No vacancies I’m all filled up. He then reason I’m sold out.

  27. So it said in chapter 20 that because he had not taken care of Ben-hadad like he was supposed to he would receive consequences from it. He left heavy and displeased. And again we see that Ahab became heavy and displeased when Naboth told him no in Chapter 21.
    Stop trying to do things your own way and then getting upset when they don’t work out. If the instruction God gives wasn’t important than He wouldn’t give it in the first place.

  28. 27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.

    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    Wow…. How great is God’s mercy. And how powerful true relentance can be that God will drop the charges against an individual. If there is mercy for whom the bible calls a wicked man that did eveil more than others causing israel to sin….there is definitely mercy for a lost and hurting world today. Humbling yourself and repenting os a wise choice.

  29. “And the men of his city, even the elders and the nobles who were the inhabitants in his city, did as Jezebel had sent unto them, and as it was written in the letters which she had sent unto them.” The word of Jesus (God) recorded her wickedness for a reason. The elders and the nobles were afraid for their very lives; therefore they did not inquire, they simply acted upon Jezebel’s lies. There have been others in power that have done similar since; unfortunately those that could have spoken up were simply fearful. Dear God, remove far from us any with a Jezebel spirit. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  30. “Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.” What Ahab did, and did not do would have future consequences. We must all look at our own lives for what we do, or do not do can also have future consequences. God help us see the significance of our actions and the lack there of as well as living a life that is in alignment with your word, in Jesus name.

  31. 29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    Partial obedience is judged the same as disobedience just not as quick. Humility always brings a softer answer.

    A soft answer turneth away wrath

  32. 29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

    It pays to be humble well maybe not. The evil was passed on to his sons house. This is not a win just a delayed punishment.

  33. 1 Kings 21:27 When Ahab heard these words, he tore his clothes, put on sackcloth and fasted. He lay in sackcloth and went around meekly.

    2 Chronicles 7:14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

    There is something that happens when we humble ourselves, it gets Gods attention. It is the sin that God hates, a prideful heart. When we are full of ourselves, it is repulsive to God.
    It amazes me how such a wicked man that attracted God in the wrong way as a murderer and idolator, not just himself but being the cause of God people to turn and sin before God, a man deserving of punishment and death, God could simply forgive because he truthfully repented from his ways. WOW! Isn’t this a picture of us? That in the condition that we were in hell bound sinner, worthy of eternal punishment, THE SON, took the punishment for his sins.

    Thank you Jesus for forgiving me!

  34. Ahab is known as the most wicked of all kings of Israel and Judah (1Ki 16:30-33) wielding the power of wickedness in many ways. At times his depravity is obvious as in the establishment of Baal worship (1Ki 16:31-32) and in his pursuit of Elijah (1Ki 18:10). At other times his evil ways are more subtle as in attempt to gain Naboth’s land here. Both subtle as well as obvious crimes are used by those in power to manipulate the weak and the vulnerable. But those who practice practice evil are infinitely weaker than God. Like Ahab those who follow his lead will eventually pay the ultimate price for their choices. We all have a choice of who we will follow after it will either be the things of this world of things for the kingdom and staying up for what is right like Naboth did.

  35. In this chapter the King won’t take no for an answer. He gets what he wants when he wants it regardless of what it is. It’s authority he has over the people to get his way.

    If there is something you desire and can’t have it but want it spite of your circumstances then it’s probably not the will of God. Lord help us to understand that the flesh is who we deal with when we come to matters that are out of our control . Lord it’s you who is in Control I give you the glory.

  36. “And Ahab said to Elijah, Hast thou found me, O mine enemy? And he answered, I have found thee: because thou hast sold thyself to work evil in the sight of the Lord.”(1 Kings‬ ‭21:20‬ ‭KJV‬‬)

    Dost thou pursue me from place to place? Wilt thou never let me rest? Art thou come after me hither with thy unwelcome messages? Thou art always disturbing, threatening, and opposing me. I have found thee — The hand of God hath found and overtaken thee.

    This reminds me of the evil spirit that spoke to Jesus in Matthew 8:29 saying “Why are you interfering with us, Son of God? Have you come here to torture us before God’s appointed time?” Elijah found Ahab because he did evil in the sight of the Lord. The things that seem like sins well hidden will come to light. For Ahab it was to be judged himself, upon his children and his wicked wife. If we feel that we need to hide something then their is a good chance that sin is involved and needs to be repented of before God judges for it.

  37. In reading this chapter, it brings to my mind how important it is to protect what you believe in, have and the promises that the Lord has given you. Do not let anything or anyone come trying to buy you out by compromising anything. Ephesians 6:10 CEV says “Finally, let the mighty strength of the Lord make you strong.” 1 Corinthians 16:13 CEV says “Keep alert. Be firm in your faith. Stay brave and strong.” Same verse in the AMP “Be on guard; stand firm in your faith [in God, respecting His precepts and keeping your doctrine sound]. Act like [mature] men and be courageous; be strong.”

  38. 27 And it came to pass, when Ahab heard those words, that he rent his clothes, and put sackcloth upon his flesh, and fasted, and lay in sackcloth, and went softly.

    28 And the word of the Lord came to Elijah the Tishbite, saying,

    29 Seest thou how Ahab humbleth himself before me? because he humbleth himself before me, I will not bring the evil in his days: but in his son’s days will I bring the evil upon his house.

  39. There are consequences for every sin that is committed no matter what your position is. You can’t just do what you want and expect to continue to get away with it. Do good and God will bless.

  40. This chapter illustrates the power of repentance. The word of the Lord and His judgement was postponed because of his repentance.

    If we are really in the last days, may the judgement of God be postponed by the repentance of the world and an outpouring of God’s spirit.

  41. “But Naboth told Ahab, “Not on your life! So help me GOD, I’d never sell the family farm to you!” Ahab went home in a black mood, sulking over Naboth the Jezreelite’s words, “I’ll never turn over my family inheritance to you.” He went to bed, stuffed his face in his pillow, and refused to eat.

    Jezebel said, “Is this any way for a king of Israel to act? Aren’t you the boss? On your feet! Eat! Cheer up! I’ll take care of this; I’ll get the vineyard of this Naboth the Jezreelite for you.” She wrote letters over Ahab’s signature, stamped them with his official seal, and sent them to the elders in Naboth’s city and to the civic leaders. She wrote “Call for a fast day and put Naboth at the head table. Then seat a couple of stool pigeons across from him who, in front of everybody will say, ‘You! You blasphemed God and the king!’ Then they’ll throw him out and stone him to death.””
    ‭‭1 Kings‬ ‭21:3-4, 7-10‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    Our sour attitude can cause other people to react with extreme behavior. If we are going to really reach people we are going to have to monitor our negative behaviors.

  42. 7“Are you the king of Israel or not?” Jezebel demanded. “Get up and eat something, and don’t worry about it. I’ll get you Naboth’s vineyard!

    Sounds like Jezebel is in control and has authority over the household. This household does not follow God’s steps of authority. Ahab was weak, and would not stand up to Jezebel. A household is divided and broken if the woman is in charge.

Leave a Reply

