2 Kings Chapter 6

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 25

2 Kings 6

1 And the sons of the prophets said unto Elisha, Behold now, the place where we dwell with thee is too strait for us.

2 Let us go, we pray thee, unto Jordan, and take thence every man a beam, and let us make us a place there, where we may dwell. And he answered, Go ye.

3 And one said, Be content, I pray thee, and go with thy servants. And he answered, I will go.

4 So he went with them. And when they came to Jordan, they cut down wood.

5 But as one was felling a beam, the axe head fell into the water: and he cried, and said, Alas, master! for it was borrowed.

6 And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.

7 Therefore said he, Take it up to thee. And he put out his hand, and took it.

8 Then the king of Syria warred against Israel, and took counsel with his servants, saying, In such and such a place shall be my camp.

9 And the man of God sent unto the king of Israel, saying, Beware that thou pass not such a place; for thither the Syrians are come down.

10 And the king of Israel sent to the place which the man of God told him and warned him of, and saved himself there, not once nor twice.

11 Therefore the heart of the king of Syria was sore troubled for this thing; and he called his servants, and said unto them, Will ye not shew me which of us is for the king of Israel?

12 And one of his servants said, None, my lord, O king: but Elisha, the prophet that is in Israel, telleth the king of Israel the words that thou speakest in thy bedchamber.

13 And he said, Go and spy where he is, that I may send and fetch him. And it was told him, saying, Behold, he is in Dothan.

14 Therefore sent he thither horses, and chariots, and a great host: and they came by night, and compassed the city about.

15 And when the servant of the man of God was risen early, and gone forth, behold, an host compassed the city both with horses and chariots. And his servant said unto him, Alas, my master! how shall we do?

16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

19 And Elisha said unto them, This is not the way, neither is this the city: follow me, and I will bring you to the man whom ye seek. But he led them to Samaria.

20 And it came to pass, when they were come into Samaria, that Elisha said, Lord, open the eyes of these men, that they may see. And the Lord opened their eyes, and they saw; and, behold, they were in the midst of Samaria.

21 And the king of Israel said unto Elisha, when he saw them, My father, shall I smite them? shall I smite them?

22 And he answered, Thou shalt not smite them: wouldest thou smite those whom thou hast taken captive with thy sword and with thy bow? set bread and water before them, that they may eat and drink, and go to their master.

23 And he prepared great provision for them: and when they had eaten and drunk, he sent them away, and they went to their master. So the bands of Syria came no more into the land of Israel.

24 And it came to pass after this, that Benhadad king of Syria gathered all his host, and went up, and besieged Samaria.

25 And there was a great famine in Samaria: and, behold, they besieged it, until an ass’s head was sold for fourscore pieces of silver, and the fourth part of a cab of dove’s dung for five pieces of silver.

26 And as the king of Israel was passing by upon the wall, there cried a woman unto him, saying, Help, my lord, O king.

27 And he said, If the Lord do not help thee, whence shall I help thee? out of the barnfloor, or out of the winepress?

28 And the king said unto her, What aileth thee? And she answered, This woman said unto me, Give thy son, that we may eat him to day, and we will eat my son to morrow.

29 So we boiled my son, and did eat him: and I said unto her on the next day, Give thy son, that we may eat him: and she hath hid her son.

30 And it came to pass, when the king heard the words of the woman, that he rent his clothes; and he passed by upon the wall, and the people looked, and, behold, he had sackcloth within upon his flesh.

31 Then he said, God do so and more also to me, if the head of Elisha the son of Shaphat shall stand on him this day.

32 But Elisha sat in his house, and the elders sat with him; and the king sent a man from before him: but ere the messenger came to him, he said to the elders, See ye how this son of a murderer hath sent to take away mine head? look, when the messenger cometh, shut the door, and hold him fast at the door: is not the sound of his master’s feet behind him?

33 And while he yet talked with them, behold, the messenger came down unto him: and he said, Behold, this evil is of the Lord; what should I wait for the Lord any longer?

52 thoughts on “2 Kings Chapter 6

  1. the servant of the man of God was risen early, and gone forth, behold, an host compassed the city both with horses and chariots. And his servant said unto him, Alas, my master! how shall we do?

    16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

  2. In this beginning of this chapter, we see how one of the men from the guild of prophets cried out to his master when trouble arose. We too need to know who we can call upon when we see no way; for my God is a way maker. Lord I pray that you open our eyes just as Elisha prayed for his servant in the beginning of verse 17 “Then Elisha prayed, “O God, open his eyes and let him see.” Sometimes we cannot see the big picture that God does, and this is where our faith in trusting the Lord comes into play. Proverbs 3:5 AMP says “Trust in and rely confidently on the Lord with all your heart And do not rely on your own insight or understanding.

  3. 6. And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.

    7. Therefore said he, Take it up to thee. And he put out his hand, and took it.

    Why did he have to tell the man to pick it up? If he had only seen the miracle, if he had not reached out and claimed it, he would have watched it swim away.

    It’s not enough to know that God can do miracles, or that they’re happening around us; we must reach out and claim them for our own. The time of miracles is NOW, let’s not miss one opportunity to see God’s power work in our lives!

  4. 16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha
    Elisha had faith that his servant just did not have. That faith allowed him to see the impossible and see the supernatural. He servant at first did not have that faith but after he prayed for him his eyes were opened. Sometimes we may not have the faith to see but if we rely on our leaders God will open our eyes and give us revelation.

  5. 16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    When God be for us, who can be against us? God works for his children even when we do not know he is there.

  6. 2 Kings 6:20-23
    20) And it came to pass, when they were come into Samaria, that Elisha said, LORD, open the eyes of these men, that they may see. And the LORD opened their eyes, and they saw; and, behold, they were in the midst of Samaria.
    21) And the king of Israel said unto Elisha, when he saw them, My father, shall I smite them? shall I smite them?
    22) And he answered, Thou shalt not smite them: wouldest thou smite those whom thou hast taken captive with thy sword and with thy bow? set bread and water before them, that they may eat and drink, and go to their master.
    23) And he prepared great provision for them: and when they had eaten and drunk, he sent them away, and they went to their master. So the bands of Syria came no more into the land of Israel.

    Proverbs 25:21-22
    21) If thine enemy be hungry, give him bread to eat; and if he be thirsty, give him water to drink:
    22) For thou shalt heap coals of fire upon his head, and the LORD shall reward thee.

    Romans 12:20-21.
    20) Therefore if thine enemy hunger, feed him; if he thirst, give him drink: for in so doing thou shalt heap coals of fire on his head.
    21) Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.

  7. iLove to Grow in the Word
    5But as one was felling a beam, the axe head fell into the water: and he cried, and said, Alas, master! for it was borrowed.

    I love the attitude of this man as he cries out to the man of God. He is sincerely sad that he has lost the thing that he borrowed. In today’s society, folks would be like, “Oh man, sorry dude it fell in the water, it wasn’t my fault, and now I gotta go home…”

    Ha, Lord deliver this generation from our careless attitude and give us miracles.

  8. 21 When the king of Israel saw them, he shouted to Elisha, “My father, should I kill them? Should I kill them?”
    22 “Of course not!” Elisha replied. “Do we kill prisoners of war? Give them food and drink and send them home again to their master.” NLT

    Ephesians 6:12
    For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

  9. 3 And one said, Be content, I pray thee, and go with thy servants. And he answered, I will go.
    Be content God has a plan for our lives!

  10. 3 And one said, Be content, I pray thee, and go with thy servants. And he answered, I will go.

    4 So he went with them. And when they came to Jordan, they cut down wood.

    5 But as one was felling a beam, the axe head fell into the water: and he cried, and said, Alas, master! for it was borrowed.

    6 And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.

    What a miracle God can do anything!

  11. THE BURDEN OF BORROWED TOOLS

    4 So he went with them. And when they came to Jordan, they cut down wood.
    5 But as one was felling a beam, the axe head fell into the water: and he cried, and said, Alas, master! for it was borrowed.
    6 And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.
    7 Therefore said he, Take it up to thee. And he put out his hand, and took it.

    GOD is revealing through these testimonies that he WORKS as we WORK. It is obvious that GOD is not a magician, although he could be. GOD is a very present HELP in time of need. The servants recognized a the need for a larger building and went to WORK to do something about it. Cutting trees, measuring wood, building a building. However as with most opportunities to labor in the Kingdom of GOD something went wrong. The BORROWED ax broke and the heavy steel ax head flew into the water.

    Man saw an opportunity to fret and GOD saw an opportunity to shine. For most men, BORROWED TOOLS are more valuable than our own. We should seek and desire to return them in better condition than we found them. I believe this burden is represented here. Why else would there be burden over ax head?

    The principal being that we should honor and respect what is lent to us, or what is made available for us to use. Most importantly the TOOLS of the Kingdom of GOD, the INSTRUMENTS of the Kingdom of GOD, the PROPERTY of the Kingdom of GOD, the RESOURCES (finances) of the Kingdom of GOD.

    Everything that belongs to the LORD we should be BURDENED for, to keep, protect and restore. Good Leaders take care of what they have been BORROWED. GOD will miraculously restore and provide to protect our INTEGRITY.

    Thank you JESUS!

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  12. 5 But as one was felling a beam, the axe head fell into the water: and he cried, and said, Alas, master! for it was borrowed.

    6 And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.

    Have you ever looked at someone and thought they were too far off to save??? This verse spoke to me because something as hard and as dense as iron to be able to float.

    Ezekiel 36:26 A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.

    Who are we to decide how far is someone gone or not? God can reach to the pits of the Jordan and raise the axe head to float to the top; the same God in the promise of Ezekiel will restore our heart and spirit!!! Thank you Jesus for not iron nor stone is a match for your never ending love !!!!!

  13. 9 But immediately Elisha, the man of God, would warn the king of Israel, “Do not go near that place, for the Arameans are planning to mobilize their troops there.”
    2 Kings 6:9 NLT
    http://bible.com/116/2ki.6.9.NLT
    WE ARE BLESSED!!! THE WORDS THAT THE MAN OF GOD SAYS AREN’T TO BE TAKEN LIGHTLY, GOD SPEAKS THROUGH HIM TO US. HEARKEN, WE WILL BE BLESSED, IF WE HEARKEN.

  14. 16 “Don’t be afraid!” Elisha told him. “For there are more on our side than on theirs!”
    17 Then Elisha prayed, “O Lord, open his eyes and let him see!” The Lord opened the young man’s eyes, and when he looked up, he saw that the hillside around Elisha was filled with horses and chariots of fire. (NLT)

    Open our eyes God to see we are never alone, even in the midst of what seems will be a devastating battle.

    Psalm 3:
    1 Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me.
    2 Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.
    3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.
    5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.
    6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.
    7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.
    8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

  15. The Borrowed Axe Head

    How this spoke to me was our relationship to things that are loaned to us. Some may think of a lawn mower, garden tool or cup of sugar. However, my thoughts settled on money; the root of all evil. It has been preached, mentioned and talked about many times. How do we think of our money?

    When we get paid, do we think: I need to “pay” tithes? I pray not.

    We need to get the mind-set that all of our increase is a direct blessing from God. Whether we are earning minimum wage, commission or receive a healthy salary, we need to have the correct perception of our blessings. Through the years, my understanding of wages has changed as my relationship with God has grown. I used to only trust “my” ability to earn money and supply the needs of my family. God proved to me, that I have no control over this. I cannot force an employer to interview me, hire me and maintain my employment through economic downturns.

    I have released this area of my life to God’s control. He continues to bless me. I do not think of the wages I receive as “mine”. I have learned to think of this money as “borrowed”. I do not pay my tithes, I simply return the portion that God trusted me with.

  16. The common denominator in this chapter is “they enquired of the Lord”. Our lives always go better we seek direction from the Lord. Praying everyday “Thy kingdom come, thy will be done….” will put our feet on a path uncommon to most but a sure path that will lead us to a place where we are building God’s kingdom everyday. It can’t just be words, it must be action as well.

  17. “17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.”

    I feel the need to encourage young people to stay satisfied with their spiritual level even if it’s the best it can be . I pray that the young who are lost open their eyes spiritually and see the IMPORTANCE of salvation! I pray those who know truth open THER eyes spiritually to persevere for purpose! Does not matter what level you are spiritually . There is no limit to how much one can grow! Although the this world can give and offer certain things even happiness , or a cure from a doctor, or money . This world is limited to what it can offer or give! BUT I know a GOD who has no limits! Who can heal, save, deliver, love , and so much more! Don’t let your praise and worship have its limits ! The time is near! #NoLimits

  18. 15 And when the servant of the man of God was risen early, and gone forth, behold, an host compassed the city both with horses and chariots. And his servant said unto him, Alas, my master! how shall we do?
    16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.
    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    In the middle of our greatest troubles, God is with us. What the enemy means as harm to us, God designed it to be for our good and is with us and helps as we go through the storms of life. The fiery trials of life are to ‘burn out’ the impurities in our hearts/lives so we can come out it in better shape than we went in. So pray in the Spirit as Pastor taught last night from Romans 8:26 “Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”

  19. 18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

    We have authority and dominion over all things.

  20. 6 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

    I just love that Elisha pray before he did anything
    And i aslo love that god is always on our side

  21. 16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

    Fear not, for we serve a faithful God! He is always there and hears our prayers! Lord I pray that you would open the eyes of your people to see how faithful you are!!

  22. 16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha

    We all have power within us to overcome any obstacle with God and the holy ghost! We ought to have so much faith after all what God has brought us thru. We fail God be our faith and our trust in God isn’t where it needs to be.

  23. Waiting on the Lord to punish….
    In this scripture it sounds like Elijah had problems. And God still spoke to him even during his problems with the people who were going to kill him.

    The moral if the story is don’t be afraid of what man is going to do to us just worry about what Jesus is up too and that will change our focus on him and not us.
    What a lively GOD we have.
    Bless HIS HOLY NAME!!
    I LO VE YOU JESUS.

  24. 6 And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.

    7 Therefore said he, Take it up to thee. And he put out his hand, and took it.

  25. 5 But as one was felling a beam, the axe head fell into the water: and he cried, and said, Alas, master! for it was borrowed.

    6 And the man of God said, Where fell it? And he shewed him the place. And he cut down a stick, and cast it in thither; and the iron did swim.

    7 Therefore said he, Take it up to thee. And he put out his hand, and took it.

    The question that appeared in my mind after reading these verses, why does care for something such as the head of an axe? After all it’s just a material thing. But I believe there was a different motive behind this miracle. The man borrowing the axe and all the other people that were nearby got to witness a miracle, something that they all probably thought was impossible: for a heavy axe head to float. They got to see God do the miraculous and when people get to see that, lives change.

  26. 17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

  27. The floating ax head: After doing some research for the story, I’ve realized how truly God cares for us. A miracle seemingly trivial like this one shows that God is concerned for our personal woes and worries, along with the church’s, as a whole, woes and worries. The little things are important, too. Don’t shy away from taking them to the throne just because you may feel that they are too petty for God to handle.

  28. 17 And Elisha prayed, “Open his eyes, Lord, so that he may see.” Then the Lord opened the servant’s eyes, and he looked and saw the hills full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.

    Greater is He!

    We tend to be very carnal. We see things through our human perspective and react to things according to that perspective. You may be like the servant of Elisha who enemies forces are surrounding you, which causes you to feel fearful and defeated. Lift up your eyes, there is a mighty heavenly host waiting for your eyes to open and see that the battle is the Lord’s. Open your spiritual eyes!

  29. 16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    We serve a God that will fight for us.

  30. 17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

  31. “And while he yet talked with them, behold, the messenger came down unto him: and he said, Behold, this evil is of the Lord; what should I wait for the Lord any longer?” The word of God (Creator) illustrates frustration. One can read that the king was upset, and even sought to place blame; however it was not written that he sought God. When one finds oneself in a time of frustration, one would be wise to seek Jesus (God) all the more. Dear God, forgive us and help us draw closer to you, and especially the more in times of frustration. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  32. 17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    20 And it came to pass, when they were come into Samaria, that Elisha said, Lord, open the eyes of these men, that they may see. And the Lord opened their eyes, and they saw; and, behold, they were in the midst of Samaria.

    Both times Elisha asked the Lord to open eyes, which one was glad at what they could; whereas the others were not. The eyes both spiritual and natural affords sight, which can be good if we are right with the Lord; however the opposite is true if we are not. God let us be right in your sight so that are sight might be pleasant, in Jesus name.

  33. 15 And when the servant of the man of God was risen early, and gone forth, behold, an host compassed the city both with horses and chariots. And his servant said unto him, Alas, my master! how shall we do?

    16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

    19 And Elisha said unto them, This is not the way, neither is this the city: follow me, and I will bring you to the man whom ye seek. But he led them to Samaria.

    I pray that God would open our eyes to see there are more with us then there are against us

  34. 22 And he answered, Thou shalt not smite them: wouldest thou smite those whom thou hast taken captive with thy sword and with thy bow? set bread and water before them, that they may eat and drink, and go to their master.

    Even when we might have the upper hand, we must still practice mercy, because we will need it one day.

  35. 16 He said, “Don’t worry about it—there are more on our side than on their side.” 17 Then Elisha prayed, “O God, open his eyes and let him see.” The eyes of the young man were opened and he saw. A wonder! The whole mountainside full of horses and chariots of fire surrounding Elisha!

    We have the victory because God is on our side! God himself out numbers any enemy so when he is there with us and he comes with back up there is nothing that can stop us or take away our victory! What a mighty God we serve! I pray that I pray Elisha’s prayer, that Lord open the eyes to everyone that thinks that their alone when really your right there waiting for them to be ready to fight the enemy and take back the victory you gave them!

  36. 16“Don’t be afraid,” the prophet answered. “Those who are with us are more than those who are with them.”

    Vision is a very powerful thing when lined up with perception. The messenger was afraid but if he understood the armies of God behind Elisha he wouldn’t have panicked. Hosea 4:6 says my people perish for lack of knowledge and why it’s so dangerous not to see what the Lord is revealing to us. Spiritual and physical blindness show up in an incomplete person. To one man the opening of his eyes shown beautiful encouragement and the other men are blinded to be revealed something they didn’t want to see. God will not always give a pretty picture but He will reveal what needs to be seen according to his will. The mind is a battle field for understanding and perception of the enemy can conquer our mind we have lost the battle. If we have the faith to trust that God is by our side and will never leave us then we can have the faith that they who are with us are more than who are with the enemy. Greater is he who lives within us than he who is in the world. We can cast off the defeated mindset of fear the messenger had for he doesn’t give us a spirit of fear but of power, love and of a sound mind.

    2 Cor 10:5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

  37. The enemy just thought he had you trapped. He wanted you to believe that there was no way out. God had other plans in store for you. God will lead us out of the hands of our enemies. When we allow God to first, our outcome is victorious.

  38. The prayers of a leader

    16And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    18 And when they came down to him, Elisha prayed unto the Lord, and said, Smite this people, I pray thee, with blindness. And he smote them with blindness according to the word of Elisha.

    19 And Elisha said unto them, This is not the way, neither is this the city: follow me, and I will bring you to the man whom ye seek. But he led them to Samaria.

    Here we see Elisha pray for some to have sight and some to be in blindness. As leaders we must lead in prayer. He recognized that those that needed to follow could not see the provision, so he prayed for sight.

    20 And it came to pass, when they were come into Samaria, that Elisha said, Lord, open the eyes of these men, that they may see. And the Lord opened their eyes, and they saw; and, behold, they were in the midst of Samaria.

    • He also realized those that were not for the vision needed to not see the provision God had for them so he prayed for blindness.

      As leaders our lack of prayer for those we lead will hinder progress. Unity comes when we are walking in discernment and can recognize where those around us are. Are they with us or against us and are they walking in faith and not by sight. Let us also understand its up to us to make sure that we walk in unity and we do not magnify the problem greater than His purpose. Problem or Purpose which is magnified in your situation. If it’s the troubled, it’s time to pray for spiritual sight because your walking in blindness.

  39. 2 Kings 6:15 (KJV Strong’s)
    15 And when the servant of the man of God was risen early, and gone forth, behold, an host compassed the city both with horses and chariots. And his servant said unto him, Alas, my master! how shall we do?

    The servant did not look up to see angels idle and strumming harps. He didn’t see them having a praise dance.
    The man of God saw the armies of the Lord. Specifically horses and chariots of Fire. Not only were there many more with Elisha but they were active and ready to charge into battle. Horses are for running, and chariots are for attacking from. God knows what he is doing and when the battle rages he brings victory quickly and assuredly.

  40. 17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    Amen! Lord I pray that you would let me see how you see Lord. That I may be able to see every soul how you see them, to be able to see trials how you see my future. This is why its so important to fast, pray, and read the bible to be able to be sensitive to the Lord. If we don’t do any of these things how do we expect to feel his sensitivity!!! When I see a soul I might see them as backslider or weak, but my God sees them being an evangelist, soul winner, preacher, missionary, church planter, etc. Every soul we must see them how the Lord sees them so we can not give up on the new believers we must guide them, lead them, push them, motivate them, persuade them, warn them, love them, listen to them, teach them, etc. Let us be just like Christ for He is Holy for we must be Holy just like Him!!!!

  41. If only our eyes would be open to see what is going on around us. This world would know the reality of the supernatural. We too would be reassured that the host of God’s armies outnumber its opposition. We are victorious.

  42. This chapter shows me that we can be the difference in a persons life on whether they see the truth or remain blind. We need to make ourselves available to reach God on others behalf.

  43. “Elisha prayed, “Lord, open my servant’s eyes so he can see.” Then the Lord opened his eyes. He looked up and saw the hills. He saw that Elisha was surrounded by horses and chariots. Fire was all around them.”
    ‭‭2 Kings‬ ‭6:17‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    Lord, open the eyes of your people today! Thank you Lord for being our provider. 

  44. 33 And while he yet talked with them, behold, the messenger came down unto him: and he said, Behold, this evil is of the Lord; what should I wait for the Lord any longer?

    Elisha new he was going to be followed . Not everybody gets their way. We are blessed to know God is on our side .

  45. 15 And when the servant of the man of God was risen early, and gone forth, behold, an host compassed the city both with horses and chariots. And his servant said unto him, Alas, my master! how shall we do?

    16 And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.

    17 And Elisha prayed, and said, Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.

    There is a realm can only be seen with spiritual eyes. May the Lord baptise us with His Spirit that we may see and enter into the kingdom of God.

  46. “And he answered, Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.”(‭‭2 Kings‬ ‭6:16‬ ‭KJV)

    Elisha was concerned to remove the fears of his servant, (2 Timonthy 1:7)and impart to him the same peace of mind he possessed himself in this time of danger. Men of God don’t seek peace just for themselves, but to make those around them less anxious. Anxiety and confusion is not of the Lord but a foot hold for the enemy. Sometimes we can become afraid when situations are uncertain. When we trust in the Lord we can see him on our side ready to protect us like he reveals to his servant here. He will never leave not forsake us for greater is he who is in us than who is in the world.

  47. 6“Where did it fall?” the man of God asked. When he showed him the place, Elisha cut a stick and threw it into the water at that spot. Then the ax head floated to the surface. 7“Grab it,” Elisha said. And the man reached out and grabbed it.

    God wants you to participate in his miracles. Elisha had the man reach out and grab the axe, so he could partake in the miracle. If you want something, you have to be willing to reach out and grab it.

Leave a Reply

