2 Kings Chapter 22

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 10

2 Kings 22

1 Josiah was eight years old when he began to reign, and he reigned thirty and one years in Jerusalem. And his mother’s name was Jedidah, the daughter of Adaiah of Boscath.

2 And he did that which was right in the sight of the Lord, and walked in all the way of David his father, and turned not aside to the right hand or to the left.

3 And it came to pass in the eighteenth year of king Josiah, that the king sent Shaphan the son of Azaliah, the son of Meshullam, the scribe, to the house of the Lord, saying,

4 Go up to Hilkiah the high priest, that he may sum the silver which is brought into the house of the Lord, which the keepers of the door have gathered of the people:

5 And let them deliver it into the hand of the doers of the work, that have the oversight of the house of the Lord: and let them give it to the doers of the work which is in the house of the Lord, to repair the breaches of the house,

6 Unto carpenters, and builders, and masons, and to buy timber and hewn stone to repair the house.

7 Howbeit there was no reckoning made with them of the money that was delivered into their hand, because they dealt faithfully.

8 And Hilkiah the high priest said unto Shaphan the scribe, I have found the book of the law in the house of the Lord. And Hilkiah gave the book to Shaphan, and he read it.

9 And Shaphan the scribe came to the king, and brought the king word again, and said, Thy servants have gathered the money that was found in the house, and have delivered it into the hand of them that do the work, that have the oversight of the house of the Lord.

10 And Shaphan the scribe shewed the king, saying, Hilkiah the priest hath delivered me a book. And Shaphan read it before the king.

11 And it came to pass, when the king had heard the words of the book of the law, that he rent his clothes.

12 And the king commanded Hilkiah the priest, and Ahikam the son of Shaphan, and Achbor the son of Michaiah, and Shaphan the scribe, and Asahiah a servant of the king’s, saying,

13 Go ye, enquire of the Lord for me, and for the people, and for all Judah, concerning the words of this book that is found: for great is the wrath of the Lord that is kindled against us, because our fathers have not hearkened unto the words of this book, to do according unto all that which is written concerning us.

14 So Hilkiah the priest, and Ahikam, and Achbor, and Shaphan, and Asahiah, went unto Huldah the prophetess, the wife of Shallum the son of Tikvah, the son of Harhas, keeper of the wardrobe; (now she dwelt in Jerusalem in the college;) and they communed with her.

15 And she said unto them, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, Tell the man that sent you to me,

16 Thus saith the Lord, Behold, I will bring evil upon this place, and upon the inhabitants thereof, even all the words of the book which the king of Judah hath read:

17 Because they have forsaken me, and have burned incense unto other gods, that they might provoke me to anger with all the works of their hands; therefore my wrath shall be kindled against this place, and shall not be quenched.

18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

40 thoughts on “2 Kings Chapter 22

  1. Sometimes I have to do…and not say what I’m going to do.

    JESUS THANK YOU FOR YOUR WORD TODAY.
    I love you Jesus let be a light today to all people.

  2. 1 Josiah was eight years old when he began to reign, and he reigned thirty and one years in Jerusalem. And his mother’s name was Jedidah, the daughter of Adaiah of Boscath.

    Doesn’t matter what age you are, anyone can do the work of Jesus and work for the kingdom of God!

  3. “”The king of Judah sent you to ask the Lord for advice. Tell him, ‘The Lord is the God of Israel. He has a message for you about the things you heard. He says, “Your heart was tender. You made yourself low in my sight. You heard what I spoke against this place and its people. I said they would be under a curse. I told them they would be destroyed. You tore your royal robes and sobbed. And I have heard you,” announces the Lord.”
    ‭‭2 Kings‬ ‭22:18-19‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    The Lord is omnipresent and omnipotent! We serve a mighty God! Who knows every detail of our lives.

  4. sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. The Lord is good unto them that wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him. It is good that a man should both hope and quietly wait for the salvation of the Lord. (‭Lamentations‬ ‭3‬:‭21-26‬ KJV)

  5. iLove to grow in the Word
    “Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.”
    ‭‭2 Kings‬ ‭22:19‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    The Lord will not judge or reject true repentance and humility. This new king was the son of one of the most evil kings in the history of Israel. At eight years old, he took over the kingdom and brought about great spiritual victory for the entire kingdom through repentance and prayer…that is how powerful prayer is…so powerful an eight year old can transform a whole nation.

  6. 20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    God heard Josiah’s cry he knew the intention of his heart. God decided to let Josiah die in peace and not die like the rest of the people for worshipping idols.

  7. THE ATTITUDE TO GROW

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    GOD grants us the privilege to respond however we desire. Occasionally we find ourselves in a position of offense or conviction. We are not privileged to choose our test only our response.

    We learn in this verse the kind of response that pleases JESUS.

    1. A tender heart. Not hardened and demanding
    2. Humility before GOD. Respectfully responding to the LORD
    3. Repentance toward GOD. He rent his clothes or changed garments.
    4. Fervent Prayer to GOD. We wept before GOD.

    When we REPENT and WEEP privately before GOD we are empowered to PRAISE and WORSHIP openly before men.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  8. 18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    Praise comes through once again! Praise with a right heart/attitude will cause us to humble ourselves in the presence of the Lord and be tenderhearted. It will cause us to desire to minister unto our creator, to sit quietly at His feet. To honor, glorify and worship Him unashamedly. In return He will hear our cry, attend unto our call and will grant us grace and favor!

  9. Verse 2 CEV “Josiah always obeyed the Lord, just as his ancestor David had done.” Same verse NLT “He did what was pleasing in the Lord’s sight and followed the example of his ancestor David. He did not turn away from doing what was right.” Lord I pray that you help us to always obey; not only when we feel like it or when its convenient and to never turn away.

    Psalm 119:133 AMP says “Establish my footsteps in [the way of] Your word; Do not let any human weakness have power over me [causing me to be separated from You].”

  10. 19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.
    This proves that God looks at our heart and our attitude to determine our judgment. He does care about how we respond to his word and how we receive it. We must be humble and have a good attitude towards the word of God so that we can be changed by it.

  11. 18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    Because thy heart was tender. Lord help nothing to harden my heart so that I may always be close to You. In Jeus name.

  12. 13 “Go to the Temple and speak to the Lord for me and for the people and for all Judah. Inquire about the words written in this scroll that has been found. For the Lord’s great anger is burning against us because our ancestors have not obeyed the words in this scroll. We have not been doing everything it says we must do.” (NLT)

    Once Josiah realized they weren’t doing everything they should have been, he didn’t give up and say “forget the word, let’s just keep doing what we’re doing,” he immediately repented before the Lord. I think this was a very wise action to take and it’s one we should follow. God blesses us with new revelations and convictions when we read His Word to mold us and shape us to become more like Him. Continue to reveal Your Word to me Lord in new light and bless me with new convictions – I want to be like You Jesus!

  13. 18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

  14. 13. Josiah: Go and speak to the Eternal One on my behalf, and also on behalf of the people and all of Judah. Speak to Him about this book and all that it commands. There is a wrathful fire on its way to us from Him, all because our ancestors before us did not obey the instructions of this book or do all that is written concerning us. The Voice

    What are we leaving to our future generations: blessings, or wrathful fire because of disobedience?

  15. 17 Because they have forsaken me, and have burned incense unto other gods, that they might provoke me to anger with all the works of their hands; therefore my wrath shall be kindled against this place, and shall not be quenched.

    18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    Even through the people of Israel did worng god still had mercy because they humble thyself and repent.
    🎶🎤Your kindness lead us to repentance you goodness draw me to your side 🎶🎤 your mercy calls me to be like you. Your favor is my delight everyday i awaken my praise and pour out a song from my heart you are good you are good and your mercy is forever

  16. “Because they have forsaken me, and have burned incense unto other gods, that they might provoke me to anger with all the works of their hands; therefore my wrath shall be kindled against this place, and shall not be quenched.” The word of Jesus (Creator) recorded ‘because’. One should seriously consider what God (only one) stated he would do, and too his chosen people. Then one should also consider what God (Judge) will do to any other Nation that turns their back on him. Dear God, forgive us and remove any that do not fear you. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  17. “Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.” The Lord’s word shall always come to pass; however we may not see it, even still our children may. We must therefore consider the cost of seeking the Lord, as well as the cost of not; whereas at the same time we should give thought too our children’s future. God help us seek you all the more as your return draws closer, in Jesus name.

  18. 2 Kings 22: 15 She said to them this is what the Lord the god of Israel says. Tell the man who sent you to me this is what the Lord says I am going to bring disaster on a place and it’s people according to everything written in the book of the king of Judah has read. Because they have forsaken me and burnt instant to other gods and arouse my anger by all the idols their hands have made my anger will burn against this place and will not be quenched. Tell the king of Judah who sent you to inquire of the Lord. This is what the Lord the god of Israel says concerning the words you heard. Because your heart was responsive and you humble yourself before the Lord when you heard what I have spoken against this place and it’s people that they would become a curse and be laid waste and because you torer your robes and wept in my presence. I will also have heard you declares the Lord. Therefore I will gather you to your ancestors and you will be buried in peace. Your eyes will not see all the disaster I’m going to bring on this place. So they took her and her back to the king.

    God always keeps his promises but if you humble yourself before the Lord and ask for forgiveness and do his Commandments he will not allow curses that will destroy you come upon your life.

  19. 2 And he did that which was right in the sight of the Lord, and walked in all the way of David his father, and turned not aside to the right hand or to the left.

  20. 11 And it came to pass, when the king had heard the words of the book of the law, that he rent his clothes.

    12 And the king commanded Hilkiah the priest, and Ahikam the son of Shaphan, and Achbor the son of Michaiah, and Shaphan the scribe, and Asahiah a servant of the king’s, saying,

    13 Go ye, enquire of the Lord for me, and for the people, and for all Judah, concerning the words of this book that is found: for great is the wrath of the Lord that is kindled against us, because our fathers have not hearkened unto the words of this book, to do according unto all that which is written concerning us.

    True repentance! When the word of God pricks ones heart, we are to show repentance (rent of clothes), seek a word from God to rectify our way, and do right from then on!! We must be sensitive to His word so He can search our hearts.

  21. 2 Kings 22
    In this chapter, we read that king Josiah, when the Book of the Law was read to him, rent his clothes, Humbled himself before God, and Repented. He did this because the LORD’s anger was kindled against them because their ancestors had not obeyed the Words of the Law, and they weren’t doing everything the Word of the Law said that they should be doing.

    When the Word of God is read, taught, and preached to us, and we find we are not living according to the Word, it should Prick (convict) us, Humble us, and cause us to Repent before God.

    Keep a tender heart before God so that His Word may always Minister to you.
    “All scripture is given by the inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness.” 2 Timothy 3:16

  22. 18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;
    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.
    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    This speaks volumes about repentance and humbling yourself before God. He knows us better than we sometimes know ourselves and sees what is in our hearts too. It is always wise to repent first and then if you have to ask God to show you what he sees in us, you will realize you did need to repent and will be glad you did!

  23. 2 Kings 22:18-20 (KJV Strong’s)
    18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard; 19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord. 20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    Because you humbled yourself…

    Here is tragedy. Josiah fell contrite before the Lord hearing of such judgment. God said it wouldn’t happen in his time however nothing was done to prevent, or pass to the next generation the need to humble themselves and stay the hand of judgment another generation.

    We must never forget all that we do has an effect on those looking up to us: those who we lead, and the children we teach.

  24. 17 Because they have forsaken me, and have burned incense unto other gods, that they might provoke me to anger with all the works of their hands; therefore my wrath shall be kindled against this place, and shall not be quenched

    God I don’t ever want to drive you to this point ever. God is the only one that can save us!

  25. Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    Humility is a sure way to get the attention and eat if God

  26. 19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    Don’t harden your heart when Jesus speaks to you.

  27. “And Shaphan the scribe shewed the king, saying, Hilkiah the priest hath delivered me a book. And Shaphan read it before the king. And it came to pass, when the king had heard the words of the book of the law, that he rent his clothes. And the king commanded Hilkiah the priest, and Ahikam the son of Shaphan, and Achbor the son of Michaiah, and Shaphan the scribe, and Asaiah a servant of the king’s, saying, Go ye, enquire of the Lord for me, and for the people, and for all Judah, concerning the words of this book that is found: for great is the wrath of the Lord that is kindled against us, because our fathers have not hearkened unto the words of this book, to do according unto all that which is written concerning us.”
    ‭‭2 Kings‬ ‭22:10-13‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    More like the king
    If we could grow to be more like this King then the Lord would get more glory. We would have more guidance as we would be seeking in prayer about what to do. It would lead us to be more like the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords.

  28. Attitude is everything

    18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

    The situation can be terrible but if you humble yourself it is a lot easier to get a favorable answer.
    A soft answer turns away wrath. God is teaching us that not everything will always go right but you have to know how to repent humbly and God will help you

  29. Josiah Humbles Himself

    II Kings 22:11 And it came to pass, when the king had heard the words of the book of the law, that he rent his clothes.

    The king’s reaction was one of genuine repentance for himself and his people. The entrance of God’s Word brings correction and guidance to a man of godliness and true wisdom.
    Psalm 119:9-11 Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word. With my whole heart have I sought thee :
    O let me not wander from thy commandments. Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

  30. Under the 55 year reign of Josiahs grandfather the evil king Manasseh, the people of Judah worshiped idols rather than the true God. Not many people remember God’s laws and even fewer still obey them. Under these conditions the law was essentially lost forgotten by all but the oldest, these old documents come to Hilkiahs attention while in the temple repairs process under Josiah. Josiah cleaned house and repaired the ways that had turned so far away from God. It’s time to get right.

  31. Serious reform took place during the 18th year of Josiah’s rule (ca. 622 BC). During his reign, the world power shifted from Assyria to Babylon. The author writes favorably for the young king and contributes the lack of assault from foreigners to his uprightness before God. When the people lived according to God’s law, blessings followed. It is wise to note that how the people lived was correlated to how the king lived. We have the ability to influence those around us.

  32. There is a right way and a wrong way to get the attention of God. Be humble and abide by His commandments; this will bring you closer to His heart, whereas someone who consistently belittles His commandments.

  33. 10 And Shaphan the scribe shewed the king, saying, Hilkiah the priest hath delivered me a book. And Shaphan read it before the king.

    11 And it came to pass, when the king had heard the words of the book of the law, that he rent his clothes.

    12 And the king commanded Hilkiah the priest, and Ahikam the son of Shaphan, and Achbor the son of Michaiah, and Shaphan the scribe, and Asahiah a servant of the king’s, saying,

    13 Go ye, enquire of the Lord for me, and for the people, and for all Judah, concerning the words of this book that is found: for great is the wrath of the Lord that is kindled against us, because our fathers have not hearkened unto the words of this book, to do according unto all that which is written concerning us.

    We will all one day have to give an account for the words written to us in Gods Word. We should all be diligent to study the Word of God and find life, and even ever lasting life.

  34. 18 But to the king of Judah which sent you to enquire of the Lord, thus shall ye say to him, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, As touching the words which thou hast heard;

    19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    20 Behold therefore, I will gather thee unto thy fathers, and thou shalt be gathered into thy grave in peace; and thine eyes shall not see all the evil which I will bring upon this place. And they brought the king word again.

  35. 2 Kings 22:13 Go ye, enquire of the Lord for me, and for the people, and for all Judah, concerning the words of this book that is found: for great is the wrath of the Lord that is kindled against us, because our fathers have not hearkened unto the words of this book, to do according unto all that which is written concerning us.

    2 Kings 22:19 Because thine heart was tender, and thou hast humbled thyself before the Lord, when thou heardest what I spake against this place, and against the inhabitants thereof, that they should become a desolation and a curse, and hast rent thy clothes, and wept before me; I also have heard thee, saith the Lord.

    Read the Book!

    Why am I have so much trouble in my life? Because you have not read the book! The book will give you instruction, that of you follow it, it can turn your situation around. You’ve been walking all this time in your mess because of your own doing. It is a lack of that life giving power that producing and attracting all your mishaps.

    No, I’m not saying you will be mishap free, but what I am saying Gods got your back, because he is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. Heb. 11:6

  36. 13 Go ye, enquire of the Lord for me, and for the people, and for all Judah, concerning the words of this book that is found: for great is the wrath of the Lord that is kindled against us, because our fathers have not hearkened unto the words of this book, to do according unto all that which is written concerning us.

Leave a Reply

