1 Chronicles Chapter 8

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 21

1 Chronicles 8

1 Now Benjamin begat Bela his firstborn, Ashbel the second, and Aharah the third,

2 Nohah the fourth, and Rapha the fifth.

3 And the sons of Bela were, Addar, and Gera, and Abihud,

4 And Abishua, and Naaman, and Ahoah,

5 And Gera, and Shephuphan, and Huram.

6 And these are the sons of Ehud: these are the heads of the fathers of the inhabitants of Geba, and they removed them to Manahath:

7 And Naaman, and Ahiah, and Gera, he removed them, and begat Uzza, and Ahihud.

8 And Shaharaim begat children in the country of Moab, after he had sent them away; Hushim and Baara were his wives.

9 And he begat of Hodesh his wife, Jobab, and Zibia, and Mesha, and Malcham,

10 And Jeuz, and Shachia, and Mirma. These were his sons, heads of the fathers.

11 And of Hushim he begat Abitub, and Elpaal.

12 The sons of Elpaal; Eber, and Misham, and Shamed, who built Ono, and Lod, with the towns thereof:

13 Beriah also, and Shema, who were heads of the fathers of the inhabitants of Aijalon, who drove away the inhabitants of Gath:

14 And Ahio, Shashak, and Jeremoth,

15 And Zebadiah, and Arad, and Ader,

16 And Michael, and Ispah, and Joha, the sons of Beriah;

17 And Zebadiah, and Meshullam, and Hezeki, and Heber,

18 Ishmerai also, and Jezliah, and Jobab, the sons of Elpaal;

19 And Jakim, and Zichri, and Zabdi,

20 And Elienai, and Zilthai, and Eliel,

21 And Adaiah, and Beraiah, and Shimrath, the sons of Shimhi;

22 And Ishpan, and Heber, and Eliel,

23 And Abdon, and Zichri, and Hanan,

24 And Hananiah, and Elam, and Antothijah,

25 And Iphedeiah, and Penuel, the sons of Shashak;

26 And Shamsherai, and Shehariah, and Athaliah,

27 And Jaresiah, and Eliah, and Zichri, the sons of Jeroham.

28 These were heads of the fathers, by their generations, chief men. These dwelt in Jerusalem.

29 And at Gibeon dwelt the father of Gibeon; whose wife’s name was Maachah:

30 And his firstborn son Abdon, and Zur, and Kish, and Baal, and Nadab,

31 And Gedor, and Ahio, and Zacher.

32 And Mikloth begat Shimeah. And these also dwelt with their brethren in Jerusalem, over against them.

33 And Ner begat Kish, and Kish begat Saul, and Saul begat Jonathan, and Malchishua, and Abinadab, and Eshbaal.

34 And the son of Jonathan was Meribbaal; and Meribbaal begat Micah.

35 And the sons of Micah were, Pithon, and Melech, and Tarea, and Ahaz.

36 And Ahaz begat Jehoadah; and Jehoadah begat Alemeth, and Azmaveth, and Zimri; and Zimri begat Moza,

37 And Moza begat Binea: Rapha was his son, Eleasah his son, Azel his son:

38 And Azel had six sons, whose names are these, Azrikam, Bocheru, and Ishmael, and Sheariah, and Obadiah, and Hanan. All these were the sons of Azel.

39 And the sons of Eshek his brother were, Ulam his firstborn, Jehush the second, and Eliphelet the third.

40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

41 thoughts on “1 Chronicles Chapter 8

  1. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    So many generations were come and gone before there were mighty men of valour and archers!!!
    In between the generations and generations I’m sure there were customs that were lost and other customs that were added. It’s important that we make STUDYING GOD’S WORD, PRAYER, PRAISE , DISCIPLESHIP AND WORSHIP a MUST so that future generations will keep them a MUST!!! If we can say “do as I do” (IN BEING,,LIVING, BREATHING GOD’S WILL) then we are on the right road. But if we are saying ” do as I say not as I do” it’s an obvious that even a blind man can see, how much more do our children see ???

  2. It is very interesting as we read all of these descendants and we come across a name we recognize or remember their life, story and realize where they came from. It makes me think of that credit card slogan “What’s in your wallet”; but, instead “What’s in your tree”? Before my Grandparents passed away, we had up to 5 generations going. I thank the Lord for blessing me with God fearing examples, leaders and warriors that have continued the fight.

  3. Generation to generation. I also thought about seeing a name I recognized while reading this passage. There is importance in a name. I too am so thankful for the truth that was passed to me ,each generation leaving a legacy and knowing the Name!

  4. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

  5. 40. Ulam’s sons were heroic warriors and archers who had 150 sons and grandsons. All of these were of the tribe of Benjamin. The Voice

    In spiritual battles we don’t send out physical archers as these were, but I’m thankful for the heroic spiritual warriors that have fought many battles on our behalf and set an example for us to follow.

    I’ve had my trials, fought many battles
    But prayer is the only thing
    I’ve found to win the war.
    When the enemy approaches
    On the battle ground
    I use faith as my shield
    And God’s word as my sword.

    I go to war on my knees.
    It’s not flesh and blood I battle, but principalities.
    I’m fighting for my loved ones and my family.
    With my face before God,
    I go to war on my knees.
    – Madonna Massey

  6. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    Even the youngest has a mighty army. Our youngest of saints, be it Bella at almost 2 years old, or the person baptized last week, is a might army, they just might not have matured into their roles as that yet.

    The enemy knows that as soon as we repent, are baptized in Jesus name for the remission of sins, and are filled with the Holy Ghost (evidenced by speaking in other tongues), that that is all we need, and that we already have the victory over him. Unfortunately too many times, people loose sight of that, and walk away from their salvation, just as the whole first generation of Israelites did when they left Egypt.

  7. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.
    God always has men of Valor and men of war in the kingdom. God always needs those who are not afraid to get dirty and will fight in the army of the lord.

  8. This list exspands that of 7; 6=12 listing B enjamites in various localities. And closing with the mention of the family with Saul.

  9. iLove to Grow in the Word of God
    1 Chronicles 8:8 NLT After Shaharaim divorced his wives Hushim and Baara, he had children in the land of Moab.

    As we read this verse we realize a couple things right off the bat. One thing we realize is Shaharaim divorced his 2 wives which lets us know that more than likely the issue was him rather than the wives. This reminds me of my uncle. Yep, it was no secret that he was married 7 times. The joke (and the truth) was that he was no longer able by state law to get married in Texas.

    The truth of the matter is, men we must take responsibility for our homes and get them in order and not be like Shaharim…the first mistake was marrying two wives and then divorcing the both of them only to move to Moab to have some more babies with some other lady…whew…this sounds like the 21 century

  10. how far back does your generation go? I wish I could say my generation went far back to great grandma, but I can’t. What kind of generation are we raising up in the world today?

  11. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin

    I pray everyday that my children will grow up in the fear of the Lord. I praise God because they’ve come up to me and told me we need to pray because of a pain they have. I want them to know that there is power in the name of Jesus. Our own actions determines how our generations are going to be. Are we going to be those people that are content with attending 1 service a week or show our children that we make our lives around church. I always teach my children why we do cookie visits, revisits, HBS, outreach, prayer, praise, worship, study, run, and go to church. Let’s teach our generations why we love God and do what we do for HIS kingdom. I can o

  12. So many names, I’m all tongue tied again! I’ve always found it interesting to see a family tree and find who I recognize and learn the new names I don’t. Going through these last few chapters has been like that: every now and then you’ll catch a name you recognize. Names are important because when I see or hear a name, I immediately see their face and think of all they’ve done, whether it be with me, to me, for me… Whatever. Let’s be sure to have a Christ-like association with our names.

  13. THE 2ND BIRTH IS HOPE FOR HUMANITY

    1 Now Benjamin begat Bela his firstborn, Ashbel the second, and Aharah the third,

    If we consider the names of Benjamin’s sons we can easily relate their names to life and its process. Consider the contrast of the first 2 sons of Benjamin.

    1. Bela – destruction
    2. Asbel – a man in GOD: I will make a path

    These 2 names reveal to us the HOPE of the 2nd Birth.

    We are all born with eternal destruction as our destination:
    Psalms 51:5 Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me.

    We must choose the path of New Birth to become children of GOD.

    John 1:13 Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.

    John 3:3 Jesus answered and said unto him, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.

    John 3:5 Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.

    1Peter 1:23 Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever.

    1John 3:9 Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot sin, because he is born of God.

    We MUST be Born Again

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  14. What else can be said concerning begats and generations? I am running low on witting things to say. I am running low on insight; the names begin to blur after so many days.

    Here is what I have for today:
    Bad fathers begat bad sons.
    Bad fathers begat good sons.
    Good fathers begat good sons.
    Good fathers begat bad sons.

    It is not the parents who are responsible for actions of the children. We may train them and bring them up to the best of our ability but ultimately it is their choice to live holy or not.

  15. 2 Chronicles 8: 39 The sons of his brother Eshek Ulam his firstborn Jeush the second son and Eliphelet the third. The sons of Ulam were brave warriors who could handle the bow. They had many sons and grandsons 150 in all. These were the descendants of Benjamin.

    I thank God everyday that I am in the bloodline of Jesus Christ and I pray everyday that someone will carry on the torch of the truth of God. That his truth and his holiness will be carried out in my family line.

  16. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    105 mighty men wow
    This made me think of the song break every chain. There’s army rising up.

    That made me think about us we are the mighty men we have Already got the victory the battle has already be fought for us.
    Get this the more soul we reach out to the bigger our army gets the more mighty men we have.
    There is army rising up and it’s us And Our generation

  17. 1 Chronicles 8
    From verse 1 through verse 40 – the last sentence in this chapter says, “All these are of the sons of Benjamin.”

    What I’m thankful for today is that I’m a child of God. I have been adopted into the family of God.
    Romans 8:15-16
    15) For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.
    16) The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God.
    Ephesians 1:5) Having predestinated us unto the adoption of children by Jesus Christ to himself, according to the good pleasure of his will.

  18. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

  19. Generation after generation we see changes happen. Some that were once mighty men begin to forget where they came from and their heritage starts to fade away. POFW we come from the kingdom of God and we mustn’t lose that heritage, we cannot forget who we were called to be!

  20. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    Some of this Generations had a very important task and it fallow their generation. It would awesome that our generation follow our ministries in the church. WARRIORS had a important task and that was to defend their king, country, land just as we should fight for the souls of the church, fight for their freedom of sin.

    Someone ask me why we called or bus WARRIOR, I said cause we are fighting to save as many kids of we can for the kingdom of God. We are MIGHTY WARRIORS!!!

  21. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

  22. FROM GENERATION TO GENERATION

    I am very greatful to have known my great grandmother and great grandfather who was pentecostal believe in 1 God baptize in Jesus name! My grandparents would take me and my sister to church in Brooklyn New York, sometimes my dad went but my mom went most of the time. I never seen my grandparents smoke or did anything ungodly. When my grandparents passed away of course it was very sad but I was very greatful that they were full of the Holy Ghost and how they taught us that it’s not just good to go to church but also to make sure our lives are pleasing to God. I’m thankful to say as 3rd generation bringing my kids up into truth has been the best decision that I have made. I’m so thankful for my grandparents and my parents for serving God and raising me up in truth! Thank you Jesus for choosing me to serve you!

  23. 1 Chronicles 8:33 (KJV Strong’s)
    33 And Ner begat Kish, and Kish begat Saul, and Saul begat Jonathan, and Malchishua, and Abinadab, and Eshbaal.

    King Saul’s children tell the story of his backsliding.

    Johnathan, Jehovah has given, was named because Saul in his humility recognized that God was the only reason he was where he was and he had all he had.

    Malchisua, my King is wealth, is a name that can go either way. It can mean that to King Saul, his King was God and therefore his wealth came from him. However it could also have meant that wealth had become his God.

    Abinadab, my father is willing, also means, giving and liberal. It’s here that Saul begins to believe he has a special privilege above others and that God allows us to be liberal in our beliefs. It could also mean that King Saul had not turned to worship his self. Everytime the said Abinadab people thought of King Saul.

    Meribaal, or Baal is my advocate. Saul is now completely into idol worship yet to everyone looking on he seems to be still honoring God. He even got rid of the witches and sorcerers.

    The moral: our choices in life affect the identity of our children.

  24. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    Again we see the mighty army that can be built with faithful mighty men

  25. “All these are of the sons of Benjamin.” The word of God (Creator) records for a reason. There were many names; however there was not much else. Although one may know a name, the real question is how much else is known. Whereas an even greater question is how well is self-known. Dear God, help me to know self like you do, and change whatever may be displeasing to you. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  26. “And at Gibeon dwelt the father of Gibeon; whose wife’s name was Maachah”. There were not many wife’s names provided, which the reason is not the point. The point however is if the Lord knows our name and how. Additionally important is whom do we serve; Jesus, self, or another. God let our names be favorable in your sight, in Jesus name.

  27. The patriarchs families were large in number. The were kinda like their own little villages. The concept of family is so different today. We are so connected. It yet so far.

  28. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

  29. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    Now we see all thos generations and people but what would be said of our generation and our children…

  30. The sons of Ehud, leaders of the clans living at Geba, were exiled to Manahath.
    1 Chronicles 8:6 NLT
    http://bible.com/116/1ch.8.6.NLT

    Ehud means unity. When there is unity anything can be accomplished because they are all striving for the same goal.
    Judges 3:12-30 shoes what unity can accomplish.

  31. 40 And the sons of Ulam were mighty men of valour, archers, and had many sons, and sons’ sons, an hundred and fifty. All these are of the sons of Benjamin.

    There were mighty men of valor then and many more to come in Jesus name.

  32. Are our actions being recorded as righteous works, honoring God, or sinful selfish actions, crucifying Christ again? It makes one ponder.

  33. Old Testament law allowed a man to divorce his wife if she became displeasing to him because he found something indecent about her (Dt 24:1). It sounds too easy really because it makes commitment such a flimsy thing. This law was actually enacted to protect women, since husbands would abandon their wives without explantion. A husband would have to think about his decision as he prepared a certificate of divorce and gave it to his wife. Jesus says the reason why divorce is allowed here is because those involved have hard hearts (Mt 19:8). The religious leaders tried to debate with Jesus the definition of ” something indecent”. He refused to join their argument in Mt 19:3-6 and quotes God’s original intent for marriage: A man and a women are to leave their parent ans come together as one (Gen 2:24). The fall of the first couple Adam and Eve has blighted the beauty of the relationship, but God’s exquisite design for marriage can still be fulfilled, and couples can still enjoy a mutually joyful and permanent relationship.

  34. 30 And his firstborn son Abdon, and Zur, and Kish, and Baal, and Nadab,

    So I saw this and it stuck me why some one would call a child Baal. So I dug a little deeper and this is what I found. NOBSE Study Bible Name List translates the name Baal with Lord, Possessor, Husband. BDB Theological Dictionary lists an enormous amount of meanings but sticks with Possessor where translating the many specific Baal names (such as Baal Peor, Baal Zebub). Jones’ Dictionary of Old Testament Proper Names grimly states Lord.

    There are many names that used the word ba’al but it doesn’t necessarily have to do with the idol named Baal. In the same way we call Jesus Lord, so called the worshipers of Baal call their god Lord. The most striking Baal-name that I saw was Bealiah, meaning Yahweh Is Lord.

  35. Ono is also found in the scriptures here:

    Nehemiah 6:2 (KJV) 2 That Sanballat and Geshem sent unto me, saying, Come, let us meet together in some one of the villages in the plain of Ono. But they thought to do me mischief.

    Ono = “vigorous”
    1. city in Benjamin
    2. a valley (of craftsman)
    Strong’s Definitions: אוֹנוֹ ʼÔwnôw, o-no’; or (shortened) אֹנוֹ ʼÔnôw; prolonged from H202; strong; Ono, a place in Palestine:—Ono.

    h202–
    Outline of Biblical Usage:
    vigour, generative power
    wealth
    physical strength (of men and behemoth)
    KJV Translation Count:
    12 Total strength 7, might 2, force 1, goods 1, substance 1
    Strong’s Definitions: אוֹן ʼôwn, one; probably from the same as H205 (in the sense of effort, but successful); ability, power, (figuratively) wealth:—force, goods, might, strength, substance.

    Outline of Biblical Usage:
    Lod = “travail”
    1. a city approx 11 miles (17 km) southeast of Joppa in the plain of Sharon in the territory of Benjamin
    2. head of a family of returning exiles

    Every time the scriptures say Lod they are also talking about Ono.
    Ono is vigorous. Lid is travail. It’s interesting how we can have vigorous without travail, but Thor travail without vigorous.

Leave a Reply

