1 Chronicles Chapter 17

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 30

1 Chronicles 17

1 Now it came to pass, as David sat in his house, that David said to Nathan the prophet, Lo, I dwell in an house of cedars, but the ark of the covenant of the Lord remaineth under curtains.

2 Then Nathan said unto David, Do all that is in thine heart; for God is with thee.

3 And it came to pass the same night, that the word of God came to Nathan, saying,

4 Go and tell David my servant, Thus saith the Lord, Thou shalt not build me an house to dwell in:

5 For I have not dwelt in an house since the day that I brought up Israel unto this day; but have gone from tent to tent, and from one tabernacle to another.

6 Wheresoever I have walked with all Israel, spake I a word to any of the judges of Israel, whom I commanded to feed my people, saying, Why have ye not built me an house of cedars?

7 Now therefore thus shalt thou say unto my servant David, Thus saith the Lord of hosts, I took thee from the sheepcote, even from following the sheep, that thou shouldest be ruler over my people Israel:

8 And I have been with thee whithersoever thou hast walked, and have cut off all thine enemies from before thee, and have made thee a name like the name of the great men that are in the earth.

9 Also I will ordain a place for my people Israel, and will plant them, and they shall dwell in their place, and shall be moved no more; neither shall the children of wickedness waste them any more, as at the beginning,

10 And since the time that I commanded judges to be over my people Israel. Moreover I will subdue all thine enemies. Furthermore I tell thee that the Lord will build thee an house.

11 And it shall come to pass, when thy days be expired that thou must go to be with thy fathers, that I will raise up thy seed after thee, which shall be of thy sons; and I will establish his kingdom.

12 He shall build me an house, and I will stablish his throne for ever.

13 I will be his father, and he shall be my son: and I will not take my mercy away from him, as I took it from him that was before thee:

14 But I will settle him in mine house and in my kingdom for ever: and his throne shall be established for evermore.

15 According to all these words, and according to all this vision, so did Nathan speak unto David.

16 And David the king came and sat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is mine house, that thou hast brought me hitherto?

17 And yet this was a small thing in thine eyes, O God; for thou hast also spoken of thy servant’s house for a great while to come, and hast regarded me according to the estate of a man of high degree, O Lord God.

18 What can David speak more to thee for the honour of thy servant? for thou knowest thy servant.

19 O Lord, for thy servant’s sake, and according to thine own heart, hast thou done all this greatness, in making known all these great things.

20 O Lord, there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.

21 And what one nation in the earth is like thy people Israel, whom God went to redeem to be his own people, to make thee a name of greatness and terribleness, by driving out nations from before thy people whom thou hast redeemed out of Egypt?

22 For thy people Israel didst thou make thine own people for ever; and thou, Lord, becamest their God.

23 Therefore now, Lord, let the thing that thou hast spoken concerning thy servant and concerning his house be established for ever, and do as thou hast said.

24 Let it even be established, that thy name may be magnified for ever, saying, The Lord of hosts is the God of Israel, even a God to Israel: and let the house of David thy servant be established before thee.

25 For thou, O my God, hast told thy servant that thou wilt build him an house: therefore thy servant hath found in his heart to pray before thee.

26 And now, Lord, thou art God, and hast promised this goodness unto thy servant:

27 Now therefore let it please thee to bless the house of thy servant, that it may be before thee for ever: for thou blessest, O Lord, and it shall be blessed for ever.

35 thoughts on “1 Chronicles Chapter 17

  1. The beginning of this chapter is captioned in the NLT with “The Lord’s Covenant Promise to David”. The end of the chapter shows David claiming his promise and giving thanks for it in verses 25-27 NLT ” “O my God, I have been bold enough to pray to you because you have revealed to your servant that you will build a house for him—a dynasty of kings! For you are God, O Lord. And you have promised these good things to your servant. And now, it has pleased you to bless the house of your servant, so that it will continue forever before you. For when you grant a blessing, O Lord, it is an eternal blessing!”

  2. 20 O Lord, there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.

  3. In Davids prayer it is revealed what a humble man he is. He humbles himself before God and then exalts God. It’s a beautiful example of how we must decrease ourselves so He may increase.

  4. 27)Now therefore let it please thee to bless the house of thy servant, that it may be before thee for ever: for thou blessest, O Lord , and it shall be blessed for ever.
    1 Chronicles 17:27 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/1ch.17.27.KJV

    GOD has just spoken all of this greatness towards David and he spoke unto GOD with an attitude of a servant. Many times people over look this part of this “position” and they proclaim their “position”, forgetting that GOD hears everything and knows the heart and intentions.

    If you always have to make your story or “knowledge” “better” than the others maybe this attitude should be practiced more often…… after all “knowledge” can make one look like a total fool……… Js hahahaha
    Thank you JESUS!!! HALELUJAH!!!

  5. 16. Then King David went in and sat before the LORD and prayed, “Who am I, O LORD God, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far? NLT

    We don’t know how God selects people to be pulled out of or put in to certain positions or situations; all we can do is trust His infinite wisdom be thankful that He died on the cross for every one of us.

    Who am I that The King would bleed and die for
    Who am I that He would pray not my will, Thine, Lord
    The answer I may never know
    Why He ever loved me so
    That to an old rugged cross He’d go
    For who am I
    – Elvis

  6. WHEN GOD SAYS “NO”

    2 Then Nathan said unto David, Do all that is in thine heart; for God is with thee.
    3 And it came to pass the same night, that the word of God came to Nathan, saying,
    4 Go and tell David my servant, Thus saith the Lord, Thou shalt not build me an house to dwell in:

    The Kingdom of GOD is a POSITIVE, PROGRESSIVE, INCREASING Kingdom. Most often GOD challenges, sends, promotes and provides. King David had seen tremendous favor and blessings. He had also endured and overcome great adversaties.

    David, I believe from a sincere heart desired to build a House for GOD. Nathan the prophet said BUILD. But GOD said NO. What is our response WHEN GOD SAYS NO? Our human nature would tempt us to murmur, complain and criticize the man of GOD. After all he said build and now he says, GOD said NO.

    Consider the eternally recorded response from a man after GODs heart:

    16 And David the king came and sat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is mine house, that thou hast brought me hitherto?
    17 And yet this was a small thing in thine eyes, O God; for thou hast also spoken of thy servant’s house for a great while to come, and hast regarded me according to the estate of a man of high degree, O Lord God.
    18 What can David speak more to thee for the honour of thy servant? for thou knowest thy servant.
    19 O Lord, for thy servant’s sake, and according to thine own heart, hast thou done all this greatness, in making known all these great things.
    20 O Lord, there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.

    From a humbled heart, David worshipped in the spirit of thanksgiving.

    JESUS help us today be Leaders after your HEART and allow you the room to say NO.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  7. 20 O Lord, there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.
    God is so great and amazing! His mercy endures forever and He loves his people.
    Thank God for the love and kindness he showed to Davis and the love and kindness he shows to us!

  8. I Chronicles 17:16-27
    David again shows himself to be a man of spiritual sensitivity , who was always ready to go to God in prayer , thanksgiving, and praise.

    I Chronicles 17:21 And what one nation in the earth is like thy people Israel , whom God went to redeem to be his own people, to make thee a name of greatness, by driving out nations from before thy people, whom thou hast redeemed out of Egypt?

    Deut.4:6-8 Keep therefore and do them; for this is your wisdom and your understanding in the sight of the nations, which shall hear all these statutes, and say, Surely this great nation is a wise and understanding people. v.7 For what nation is there so great , who hath God so nigh unto them, as the lord our God is in all things that we call upon him for? v.8 And what nation is there so great, that hath statutes and judgments so righteous as all this law, which I set before you this day?

  9. 9 Also I will ordain a place for my people Israel, and will plant them, and they shall dwell in their place, and shall be moved no more; neither shall the children of wickedness waste them any more, as at the beginning,

    Just like the people of Israel, God has ordained a place for us to be: the Pentecostals of Fort Worth. It is not by accident that we found this church, God placed us here for a reason and a purpose. So let’s purpose ourselves to do the work of God.

  10. nd David the king came and sat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is mine house, that thou hast brought me hitherto?

    17 And yet this was a small thing in thine eyes, O God; for thou hast also spoken of thy servant’s house for a great while to come, and hast regarded me according to the estate of a man of high degree, O Lord God.

    18 What can David speak more to thee for the honour of thy servant? for thou knowest thy servant.

    19 O Lord, for thy servant’s sake, and according to thine own heart, hast thou done all this greatness, in making known all these great things.

    20 O Lord, there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.

    There is none like You Lord!

  11. Who am I?

    After Nathan told what the Lord had said, David’s first response was to pray. His first words in pray – Who am I. I wish I could say I have been that kind of person. I wish I could say that in all things I have praised God. I am learning to be better though. It is easy to give thanks, praise and worship for blessings. It is a whole other thing to give thanks, praise and worship for things that do not go our way; stubbing a toe, getting a speeding ticket, being involved in an auto accident, scary health diagnosis and/or death of loved ones.

    I was going to start that last sentence with “non-blessings” but I cannot say that. We may have to endure a hard time to receive a blessing on the other side. The stubbed toe may have prevented us from stepping on a nail. The speeding ticket may have saved us from being in an auto accident. Maybe the auto accident caused a failing part of the vehicle to be replaced. Scary diagnosis may help us focus on more important things in life and deaths can sometimes cause us to rebuild relationships.

    So, to circle back around; who am I that Jesus is mindful of me? I know that is a song lyric but there is so much truth in it.

  12. 25 For thou, O my God, hast told thy servant that thou wilt build him an house: therefore thy servant hath found in his heart to pray before thee.
    26 And now, Lord, thou art God, and hast promised this goodness unto thy servant:
    27 Now therefore let it please thee to bless the house of thy servant, that it may be before thee for ever: for thou blessest, O Lord, and it shall be blessed for ever.

    BLESSINGS!

  13. David was a man after God’s own heart. You can see how didn’t take the glory he exalted the name of Jesus. He gave honor to who honor Is due. I pray that I’m always like David and give him thanks for everything he does!

    You deserve Glory, and the Honor
    So we lift our hands in worship as we magnify your name..
    You deserve the glory and the honor so we lift our hands and worship as we magnify your name…

    You are great you miracles so great, there no one else like you..
    There is no else like you
    You are great you miracles so great, there no one else like you..
    There is no else like you..

  14. AMP – 23 “Therefore now, O Lord, let the word which You have spoken concerning Your servant and his house endure forever, and do as You have said. 24 Let Your name [and the character that it denotes] endure and be magnified forever, saying, ‘The Lord of hosts is the God of Israel, yes, a God to Israel; and the house of Your servant David is established before You.’ 25 For You, O my God, have revealed to Your servant that You will build for him a house (descendants); therefore Your servant has found courage to pray before You. 26 And now, O Lord, You are God, and you have spoken and promised this good thing to Your servant. 27 Therefore may it please You to bless the house (descendants) of Your servant, that it may continue before You forever; for what You bless, O Lord, is blessed forever.”

    David’s response to what the Lord spoke to him is a response of thankfulness, appreciation, faith and trust that what the Lord promised He would fulfill.

    We must learn to take the Lord at His word and respond with faith and walk in the promises of the Lord.

  15. 16 And David the king came and sat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is mine house, that thou hast brought me hitherto?

    17 And yet this was a small thing in thine eyes, O God; for thou hast also spoken of thy servant’s house for a great while to come, and hast regarded me according to the estate of a man of high degree, O Lord God.

  16. This chapter is should a strong chapter it talk about the promises that god give David . david hear and listen and claim and declared it and his family
    David declared that his family will be bless

  17. iLove to grow in the Word
    2 Then Nathan said unto David, Do all that is in thine heart; for God is with thee.

    3 And it came to pass the same night, that the word of God came to Nathan, saying,

    4 Go and tell David my servant, Thus saith the Lord, Thou shalt not build me an house to dwell in:

    The man of God gave advise out of his own counsel at first. God quickly corrected him and the man of God went to David and corrected the first answer. This is what many of us experience, the key is to stay humble even if the man of Gods answer changes

  18. 1 Chronicles 17:26-27
    26) And now, LORD, thou art God, and hast promised this goodness unto thy servant.
    27) Now therefore let it please thee to bless the house of thy servant, that it may be before thee for ever: for thou blessest, O LORD, and it shall be blessed for ever.

  19. 24 Let it even be established, that thy name may be magnified for ever, saying, The Lord of hosts is the God of Israel, even a God to Israel: and let the house of David thy servant be established before thee.

    It is all about Jesus and exalting His name. We’re nothing but servants. A cup Jesus uses to pour out His glory.

  20. 9 Also I will ordain a place for my people Israel, and will plant them, and they shall dwell in their place, and shall be moved no more; neither shall the children of wickedness waste them any more, as at the beginning,

    Just like the many people in the bible we have a purpose for being plugged into ministry and serving at The Pentecostals Of Fort Worth! We have a purpose for being in this church! We are servants whom JESUS uses for his glory!

  21. 20 O Lord, there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears.

    There is still only onw true God. He reigns on the throne eternally. There is no God like our God.

  22. 1 Chronicles 17:4 (GNT with Deuterocanon)
    4 “Go and tell my servant David that I say to him, ‘You are not the one to build a temple for me to live in.

    1 Chronicles 28:2-3 (GNT with Deuterocanon)
    2 David stood before them and addressed them: “My friends, listen to me. I wanted to build a permanent home for the Covenant Box, the footstool of the Lord our God. I have made preparations for building a temple to honor him, 3 but he has forbidden me to do it, because I am a soldier and have shed too much blood.

    God will raise someone up to do what he commanded to be done. Joshua, and his descendants were commanded to destroy and rid the land of the heathens. Yet judge after judge all the way to King Saul this had not happened.

    Now God raises up David who destroyed all the enemies that should have been taken out. What blessings were forfeited due to the disobedience of the few? God sometimes has big plans for our small obedience.

  23. 12 He shall build me an house, and I will stablish his throne for ever.

    What house are we building? It should be solid that we shall forever be established with Him forever.

  24. 10 And since the time that I commanded judges to be over my people Israel. Moreover I will subdue all thine enemies. Furthermore I tell thee that the Lord will build thee an house.

    11 And it shall come to pass, when thy days be expired that thou must go to be with thy fathers, that I will raise up thy seed after thee, which shall be of thy sons; and I will establish his kingdom.

    David wanted to build a house for the Lord however his desire eventhough not met but was greatly blessed as the Lord will build him a house. Put God first and he will greatly bless you.

  25. “And David the king came and sat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is mine house, that thou hast brought me hitherto?” The word of Jesus (God) identifies gratitude. The difference between David and many others is simply the fact that he was sincerely thankful. Dear God, let us always be mindful as well as grateful of you, before anything else. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  26. “Now therefore let it please thee to bless the house of thy servant, that it may be before thee for ever: for thou blessest, O Lord, and it shall be blessed for ever.” David had problems just like all have; however he acknowledged that he had been blessed. The blessings of the Lord are not always in what we have or in where we live. The blessings of the Lord are however the state of mind in which we find ourselves. If we have breath than we are blessed, for with breath we have possibilities of more blessings from the Lord. God let us be mindful and thankful for all your blessings, in Jesus name.

  27. 16 And David the king came and sat before the Lord, and said, Who am I, O Lord God, and what is mine house, that thou hast brought me hitherto?

    Let God use us nd obey His commands 🙂 Jesus plans are much better than our own plans….He has given us the victory for that we shall not fear. He died at the cross so we could realize how it is possible to resist temptation. Jesus lead me and guide me Lord everyday…….

  28. “And it shall come to pass, when thy days be expired that thou must go to be with thy fathers, that I will raise up thy seed after thee, which shall be of thy sons; and I will establish his kingdom.”
    ‭‭1 Chronicles‬ ‭17:11‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    The Lord kept his word. He established he house of David forever through Jesus.

  29. 7 Now therefore thus shalt thou say unto my servant David, Thus saith the Lord of hosts, I took thee from the sheepcote, even from following the sheep, that thou shouldest be ruler over my people Israel:

    8 And I have been with thee whithersoever thou hast walked, and have cut off all thine enemies from before thee, and have made thee a name like the name of the great men that are in the earth.
    If it wasn’t for God, david would have stayed a sheppard and not much more.

  30. “Nathan replied to David, “Do whatever you have in mind, for God is with you.””
    ‭‭1 Chronicles‬ ‭17:2‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    What an assurance to have the Lord with you. Thank you Lord for being the Prince of Peace.

  31. 26 And now, Lord, thou art God, and hast promised this goodness unto thy servant:

    27 Now therefore let it please thee to bless the house of thy servant, that it may be before thee for ever: for thou blessest, O Lord, and it shall be blessed for ever.

    The blessings from God are eternal.

  32. 9 Also I will ordain a place for my people Israel, and will plant them, and they shall dwell in their place, and shall be moved no more; neither shall the children of wickedness waste them any more, as at the beginning,

Leave a Reply

