1 Chronicles Chapter 21

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 4

1 Chronicles 21

1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

2 And David said to Joab and to the rulers of the people, Go, number Israel from Beersheba even to Dan; and bring the number of them to me, that I may know it.

3 And Joab answered, The Lord make his people an hundred times so many more as they be: but, my lord the king, are they not all my lord’s servants? why then doth my lord require this thing? why will he be a cause of trespass to Israel?

4 Nevertheless the king’s word prevailed against Joab. Wherefore Joab departed, and went throughout all Israel, and came to Jerusalem.

5 And Joab gave the sum of the number of the people unto David. And all they of Israel were a thousand thousand and an hundred thousand men that drew sword: and Judah was four hundred threescore and ten thousand men that drew sword.

6 But Levi and Benjamin counted he not among them: for the king’s word was abominable to Joab.

7 And God was displeased with this thing; therefore he smote Israel.

8 And David said unto God, I have sinned greatly, because I have done this thing: but now, I beseech thee, do away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

9 And the Lord spake unto Gad, David’s seer, saying,

10 Go and tell David, saying, Thus saith the Lord, I offer thee three things: choose thee one of them, that I may do it unto thee.

11 So Gad came to David, and said unto him, Thus saith the Lord, Choose thee

12 Either three years’ famine; or three months to be destroyed before thy foes, while that the sword of thine enemies overtaketh thee; or else three days the sword of the Lord, even the pestilence, in the land, and the angel of the Lord destroying throughout all the coasts of Israel. Now therefore advise thyself what word I shall bring again to him that sent me.

13 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let me fall now into the hand of the Lord; for very great are his mercies: but let me not fall into the hand of man.

14 So the Lord sent pestilence upon Israel: and there fell of Israel seventy thousand men.

15 And God sent an angel unto Jerusalem to destroy it: and as he was destroying, the Lord beheld, and he repented him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed, It is enough, stay now thine hand. And the angel of the Lord stood by the threshingfloor of Ornan the Jebusite.

16 And David lifted up his eyes, and saw the angel of the Lord stand between the earth and the heaven, having a drawn sword in his hand stretched out over Jerusalem. Then David and the elders of Israel, who were clothed in sackcloth, fell upon their faces.

17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

18 Then the angel of the Lord commanded Gad to say to David, that David should go up, and set up an altar unto the Lord in the threshingfloor of Ornan the Jebusite.

19 And David went up at the saying of Gad, which he spake in the name of the Lord.

20 And Ornan turned back, and saw the angel; and his four sons with him hid themselves. Now Ornan was threshing wheat.

21 And as David came to Ornan, Ornan looked and saw David, and went out of the threshingfloor, and bowed himself to David with his face to the ground.

22 Then David said to Ornan, Grant me the place of this threshingfloor, that I may build an altar therein unto the Lord: thou shalt grant it me for the full price: that the plague may be stayed from the people.

23 And Ornan said unto David, Take it to thee, and let my lord the king do that which is good in his eyes: lo, I give thee the oxen also for burnt offerings, and the threshing instruments for wood, and the wheat for the meat offering; I give it all.

24 And king David said to Ornan, Nay; but I will verily buy it for the full price: for I will not take that which is thine for the Lord, nor offer burnt offerings without cost.

25 So David gave to Ornan for the place six hundred shekels of gold by weight.

26 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings, and called upon the Lord; and he answered him from heaven by fire upon the altar of burnt offering.

27 And the Lord commanded the angel; and he put up his sword again into the sheath thereof.

28 At that time when David saw that the Lord had answered him in the threshingfloor of Ornan the Jebusite, then he sacrificed there.

29 For the tabernacle of the Lord, which Moses made in the wilderness, and the altar of the burnt offering, were at that season in the high place at Gibeon.

30 But David could not go before it to enquire of God: for he was afraid because of the sword of the angel of the Lord.

49 thoughts on “1 Chronicles Chapter 21

  1. 16. David looked up and saw the LORD’s messenger standing between the earth and sky with his sword drawn and in his hand, stretched out over Jerusalem. David and the leaders, covered with sackcloth, threw themselves down with their faces to the ground. NET

    Can you imagine how much more repenting would be done today if everyone looked up and saw their punishment coming? It may not be as visible, or as sudden, but it’s just as real!

  2. 16. David looked up and saw the LORD’s messenger standing between the earth and sky with his sword drawn and in his hand, stretched out over Jerusalem. David and the leaders, covered with sackcloth, threw themselves down with their faces to the ground. NET

    Can you imagine how much more repenting would be done today if everyone looked up and saw their punishment coming? It may not be as visible, or as sudden, but it’s just as real!

  3. 11 So Gad came to David, and said unto him, Thus saith the Lord, Choose thee

    12 Either three years’ famine; or three months to be destroyed before thy foes, while that the sword of thine enemies overtaketh thee; or else three days the sword of the Lord, even the pestilence, in the land, and the angel of the Lord destroying throughout all the coasts of Israel. Now therefore advise thyself what word I shall bring again to him that sent me.

    13 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let me fall now into the hand of the Lord; for very great are his mercies: but let me not fall into the hand of man.

  4. The beginning of this chapter, spoke to me about heeding the warnings. In verse 3 Joab tried to warn David as it says “Joab resisted: “May God multiply his people by hundreds! Don’t they all belong to my master the king? But why on earth would you do a thing like this—why risk getting Israel into trouble with God?”; but, David did not listen. In verse 8 we see where David realized what he had done…… “Then David prayed, “I have sinned badly in what I have just done, substituting statistics for trust; forgive my sin—I’ve been really stupid.” In verse 13 David has to make a punishment choice “David told Gad, “They’re all terrible! But I’d rather be punished by God whose mercy is great, than fall into human hands.” Heed your warnings and trust in the Lord.

  5. This chapter is crazy!! I can only imagine Ornans face when he sees the angel of the LORD standing there. God told David to build an altar in a barn? Doesn’t that sound familiar? Built upon this altar and sacrifice to the LORD for forgiveness of your sins. Later the LORD will come back and do the same thing when Mary and Joseph come into the stables to birth the Savior of the world. Kings and Sheppard come to worship Him and again the most unlikely place becomes an altar for the LORD. I Love how David Humbles himself and the Lord answers by fire! That can be said for us, when we are prideful we are knocked down, but when we are humble the Lord may answer with fire and fervency and passion!! Hallelujah!

  6. And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let me fall now into the hand of the Lord ; for very great are his mercies: but let me not fall into the hand of man.
    1 Chronicles 21:13 KJV
    http://bible.com/1/1ch.21.13.KJV

    DAVID IS RIGHT!!! WE ARE SO FAST TO JUDGE AS IF WE DON’T MAKE MISTAKES!!! HELP US LORD!!!

  7. 22 Then David said to Ornan, Grant me the place of this threshingfloor, that I may build an altar therein unto the Lord: thou shalt grant it me for the full price: that the plague may be stayed from the people.

    23 And Ornan said unto David, Take it to thee, and let my lord the king do that which is good in his eyes: lo, I give thee the oxen also for burnt offerings, and the threshing instruments for wood, and the wheat for the meat offering; I give it all.

    24 And king David said to Ornan, Nay; but I will verily buy it for the full price: for I will not take that which is thine for the Lord, nor offer burnt offerings without cost.

    When David built an altar to stave away the death angel, Ornan was willing to give to David without any cost at all, but David was insistent on paying him the full amount. Why? I believe it is because you cannot build an altar without it costing you something. We cannot build an altar to God in our own lives without sacrificing something in your life. If you built an altar to God and fell on your face to God there, but nothing changed in your life, what is the point of the altar? The altar needs to be a place where you lay something aside so that you can follow closer to God.

  8. 17 And David said to God, “I am the one who called for the census! I am the one who has sinned and done wrong! But these people are as innocent as sheep—what have they done? O Lord my God, let your anger fall against me and my family, but do not destroy your people.” (NLT)

    Take responsibility of your own actions and mistakes.

  9. 21-18

    Sacrifice
    David confessed his sins but it was still necessary to offer an atoning sacrifice. Ther is no forgiveness without sacrifice.

  10. iLove to Grow in the Word

    I want to start this blog by posting a scripture from yesterday’s blog. This will give insight into what was going on in the heart of David in today’s reading. (1 Chronicles 20:1 In the spring of the year, when kings normally go out to war, Joab led the Israelite army in successful attacks against the land of the Ammonites. In the process he laid siege to the city of Rabbah, attacking and destroying it. However, David stayed behind in Jerusalem.)

    Notice that David stayed behind in Jerusalem. Those familiar with this story understand that when David stayed behind is when he fell into sin with Bathsheba.

    So today we see the result of that one bad backslidden decision with Bathsheba led to more backslidden decisions in calling Joab to take a census.

    1 Chronicles 21:6 NLT But Joab did not include the tribes of Levi and Benjamin in the census because he was so distressed at what the king had made him do.

    Sin might be fun for a moment, but sin opens the door for satan to wreak havoc on our families, loved ones, and church.

    1 Chronicles 21:1 NLT Satan rose up against Israel and caused David to take a census of the people of Israel.

    • Pretty powerful there Bro. That is exactly how I feel sometimes. I know what God can do in my life, but I still hesitate sometimes in letting God be the head of my home and my life.

  11. “David said to God, “I ordered the fighting men to be counted. I’m the one who has sinned. I’m the one who has done what is wrong. These people are like sheep. What have they done? Lord my God, let your powerful hand punish me and my family. But don’t let this plague continue to strike your people.””
    ‭‭1 Chronicles‬ ‭21:17‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    Lord, renew in us a heart of the shepherd. That we would be reminded that everything rises and falls on leadership. The decision of one leader affects all who are under their leadership. The decision of a leader brings A curse or a blessing to the group. I pray We have a heart of a good shepherd to lead and grow our new disciples. I pray we stay focused on The Kingdom.

  12. ACCOUNTABILITY = ACCEPTING RESPONSIBILITY

    17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

    Understand that David was not simply taking attendance of Israel. David was numbering to compare armies. David in his fleshy, carnal mind was attempting to see if he thought there were enough manpower to win the battle. This should never be a concern to believers, with GOD the Creator on our side we are always poised to be Victorious regardless of the odds or numbers against us.

    However, since David offended GOD by trying to see if he had enough meant to obey GOD. The LORD GOD of Mercy and Grace decided it was time for judgement. The LORD offered David 3 options. He chose one and then seeing how mighty and powerful GOD is, and the pain that as a Leader he had caused others, he REPENTED and ACCEPTED RESPONSIBILITY for his faithless, carnal actions.

    The carnal mind would say “I don’t see anything wrong with what David did.”

    However, for the LEADER this absence of FAITH is a grave transgression, because of the POSITION. LEADERS surrender privileges and are by GOD held to a higher level of accountability because of how many of HIS people we influence. If you seek to be a Church Leader, please ask yourself this question.

    “Am I seeking a Position (Title) among men”

    or

    “Am I seeking Place in The Kingdom of GOD”

    David found his Place in the Kingdom of GOD to be more valuable than his position on earth. Dont lose your PLACE in HIS Kingdom. Accept responsibility for sins and REPENT before GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  13. 14 So the Lord sent a plague upon Israel, and 70,000 people died as a result. 15 And God sent an angel to destroy Jerusalem. But just as the angel was preparing to destroy it, the Lord relented and said to the death angel, “Stop! That is enough!” At that moment the angel of the Lord was standing by the threshing floor of Araunah[a] the Jebusite.

  14. 23 And Ornan said unto David, Take it to thee, and let my lord the king do that which is good in his eyes: lo, I give thee the oxen also for burnt offerings, and the threshing instruments for wood, and the wheat for the meat offering; I give it all.

    Build your alter at the place where you get your increase. So that you can give to God what the increase is.

  15. 30 But David could not go before it to enquire of God: for he was afraid because of the sword of the angel of the Lord.

    David was afraid to enquired of God! What a sad state to get into as a leader. Having an accountability to someone is so important lest you fall and have fear eve to go before God. There has always got to be someone you can tell the truth to and not be afraid. We are human ,we do make mistakes but we can not hide from the mistakes we make we must learn andrew from them. Never being afraid to enquire of God. David knew he had sinned but God also already knew. Run to Him in the midst of every trial and battle seek guidance and the Bible says in the multitude of council there is wisdom.

  16. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

    God never called us to be in competition with one another. Because David took the bait of satan he did something that displeased the Lord because he got his focus on his enemy not on the Kingdom.

    As a result seventy thousand men were lost to pestilence. David took responsibility and repented before the Lord but it was too late for those who had suffered loss.

    Keep focused – don’t get caught up in everyone else’s mess and distractions. Everyone is not given the same giftings and talents therefore others will succeed in areas I don’t and I will succeed in areas they don’t. Celebrate their victories, celebrate your own victories but don’t be in competition.

  17. 16 And David lifted up his eyes, and saw the angel of the Lord stand between the earth and the heaven, having a drawn sword in his hand stretched out over Jerusalem. Then David and the elders of Israel, who were clothed in sackcloth, fell upon their faces.
    17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

    Be a LEADER, and step up. When you make a mistake admit it. Fix it. Don’t blame others for your wrong doing. EVERYONE makes mistakes. It’s what you you do afterwards that counts!

  18. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.
    David allowed Satan to vex him and pressure him to do something that brought the judgment of God upon the people. He gave in to the temptation of the enemy. We must not allow the enemy to win against us because we may hurt not only ourselves but many others in the process.

  19. 13 And David said unto Gad, I am in a great strait: let me fall now into the hand of the Lord; for very great are his mercies: but let me not fall into the hand of man.

    This vs spoke to me the most out this whole chapter
    So many Christians and church. Are try to please the world they are make things ok that god Hate .
    But i don’t what to be of this world but i want to be the light
    i don’t Want to fall in man temptation. But i want to fall in to you god.

  20. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

    Don’t let the enemy provoke or distract you in any way. If you give in to the devil….you are putting many souls at risk because of our own disobedience. Life itself is not easy, but that is why we have a savior that knows it all that is by our side to guide us. We all have problems but doesn’t mean the Lord is not with us. Don’t be the one that falls into the devils trap and cause many else to fall….Jesus help us!!!!!!

  21. 1 Chronicles 21:16 David look up and saw the angel of the Lord standing between Heaven and Earth with a drawn sword in his hand extended over Jerusalem. Then David and the elders clothed in sackcloth fell face-down. David said to God was it not I who ordered the fighting men to be counted? I the shepherd have said and done wrong. These are but sheep. What have they done? Lord my God let your hand fall on me and my family but do not let this plague remain on your people. Then the angel of the Lord order Gad to to tell David to go up and build an altar to the Lord on the threshing floor. of Araunah the Jebusite. So David went up in obedience to the word that Gad had spoken in the name of the Lord. ehile Araunah was thresin wheat he turned and saw the angel his four sons who were with him hit themselves. Then David approach and when Araunah looked and saw him he left the threshing floor and bowed down before David with his face to the ground.

    When we decided to take matters into our own hands whether it be good or bad and do not pray about it the outcome affects not only you but the whole family.

  22. 16 And David lifted up his eyes, and saw the angel of the Lord stand between the earth and the heaven, having a drawn sword in his hand stretched out over Jerusalem. Then David and the elders of Israel, who were clothed in sackcloth, fell upon their faces.

    Would there be less backsliders in the church today if you or I could see our sins and what they do to us?
    Would we pray more if we see how it displeases the Lord when we don’t?
    God help us to want to be more Christ like in the last days.

  23. 30 But David could not go before it to enquire of God: for he was afraid because of the sword of the angel of the Lord.

  24. And king David said to Ornan, Nay; but I will verily buy it for the full price: for I will not take that which is thine for the Lord, nor offer burnt offerings without cost.

    A sacrifice by definition should cost us something. It does not even take a wise person to understand this principle. How often do we come to church with a chip on our shoulder; maybe against another saint, family member or just life in general. Then stand in Gods presence and declare here I am. Why are you not blessing me?

    Shame on me for having experience with this. I have stood and made these declarations. Gods mercy is more than I deserve.

  25. 16 And David lifted up his eyes, and saw the angel of the Lord stand between the earth and the heaven, having a drawn sword in his hand stretched out over Jerusalem. Then David and the elders of Israel, who were clothed in sackcloth, fell upon their faces.

    17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

  26. 15 And God sent an angel unto Jerusalem to destroy it: and as he was destroying, the Lord beheld, and he repented him of the evil, and said to the angel that destroyed, It is enough, stay now thine hand. And the angel of the Lord stood by the threshingfloor of Ornan the Jebusite.

    16 And David lifted up his eyes, and saw the angel of the Lord stand between the earth and the heaven, having a drawn sword in his hand stretched out over Jerusalem. Then David and the elders of Israel, who were clothed in sackcloth, fell upon their faces.

    17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

    What an awesome chapter. David had to chose the punishment for the people of Israel. There have been times that I felt that I had to chose how I was to be punished for not leading my home according to God’s word. I know that I have given the enemy a foothold in my life at times, but I’m still here and he will not have dominion over me or my home. I am a child of God and am still learning to trust in Him. It is a daily battle to not let the enemy or my flesh to come between my relationship with God. I thank Him everyday that I wake up. Thank you Jesus for becoming my Lord and Savior!!!!………Amen!!!!

  27. 1 Chronicles 21:13-15 (MSG)
    13) David told Gad, “They’re all terrible! But I’d rather be punished by God whose mercy is great, than fall into human hands.”
    14) So God unleashed an epidemic in Israel – seventy thousand Israelites died.
    15) God then sent the angel to Jerusalem but when he saw the destruction about to begin, he compassionately changed his mind and ordered the death angel, “Enough’s enough! Pull Back!” The angel of God had just reached the threshing floor of Araunah the Jebusite.

    Lamentations 3:22 came to mind as I read this passage of scripture today.
    “It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.”

    David knew God was Merciful, and I know too that God is Merciful.
    Thank You JESUS for your MERCY and COMPASSION – for “They are new every morning, great is thy faithfulness.” (Lam.3:23)

  28. “8 And David said unto God, I have sinned greatly, because I have done this thing: but now, I beseech thee, do away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.”

    Be aware of your mistakes and repent! Just because God has mercy , does not mean one does not have to be held accountable for there mistakes. In order to fulfill HIS will , you must accept the responsibility of your mistakes instead of brushing them off like dust on your shoulder. You can try to do anything to forget about your mistakes , but if you do not own up to them … God will not forget . There has to be an action of humility so that God can continue to guide you to your purpose. Remember that mistakes do not determine your future … an action to make it right for God is what will determine what destiny God has set in your life.

  29. 8 And David said unto God, I have sinned greatly, because I have done this thing: but now, I beseech thee, do away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

    17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

    Humble yourself before God, admit your fault, and take responsibility for your own mistakes, yes, you have to still be held accountable for your sin but He will show you mercy!

  30. 3But Joab replied, “May the Lord increase the number of his people a hundred times over! But why, my lord the king, do you want to do this? Are they not all your servants? Why must you cause Israel to sin?”

    Why did David want to take a census count? was because he lost faith in God? Did he want to show how strong Israel was as a nation? He ordered the census anyway, that was due to his spiritual pride. God only wants us to be his servants. If we serve him, God will provide for us, bless us and protect us. David started feeling unsure about his kingdom, and had little faith at the time.

  31. 1 Chronicles 21:26-27 (KJV Strong’s)
    26 And David built there an altar unto the Lord, and offered burnt offerings and peace offerings, and called upon the Lord; and he answered him from heaven by fire upon the altar of burnt offering. 27 And the Lord commanded the angel; and he put up his sword again into the sheath thereof.

    Sometimes life needs to repeat itself. Elijah stood before the prophets of Baal. The people of God needed to repent. Elijah offered sacrifice and the fire fell.

    Now David has sinned. He needs to repent so he offers sacrifice and the fire fell.

    If we want the fire to fall we need only to follow the same principle. Repent, sacrifice, and then the fire will fall.

  32. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

    God allowed satan to provoke David. Taking a census isn’t what was sinful because the Lord has called for them before. It was the spirit behind it of pride. When we aren’t focused on God’s agenda we are either doing it for ourselves or the enemy.

  33. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

    But while men slept, his enemy came and sowed tares among the wheat, and went his way.- Matthew 13:25

    David is called a man after Gods heart yet while he was unaware or spiritual sleeping Satan came and sowed a seed of pride in his heart. We see here where God has to deal with the spirit of pride in the leader and the people suffer.

    In Matthew 13 the servant asks if they should pull up the tares and the answer is found in Matthew 13:29

    But he said, Nay; lest while ye gather up the tares, ye root up also the wheat with them. Matthew 13:29

    If we allow ourselves to sleep and the enemy sows tares in our lives it will affect the whole harvest aka the whole church. It is important for us to keep our hearts pure and our lives producing fruit. This will ensure their is more wheat in the field than tares.

  34. 17 And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.

    A leader must take resposibility for his actions and be accoubtable. We see how David recognize his mistake and how it had cost the lives of inocent sheep. As leaders we should be really careful in our actions because that could be innocent souls being lost.

  35. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.
    No one is exempt from temptation. What makes a difference is our actions in regards to the temptation.

  36. “And David said unto God, Is it not I that commanded the people to be numbered? even I it is that have sinned and done evil indeed; but as for these sheep, what have they done? let thine hand, I pray thee, O Lord my God, be on me, and on my father’s house; but not on thy people, that they should be plagued.” The word of God (Jesus) identified ownership. David’s actions were the reason others paid, and with their lives. Thankfully he woke up and took ownership; however not before it had cost many people (souls). Dear God, help us too hear and regard the Joab’s in our lives. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  37. “And king David said to Ornan, Nay; but I will verily buy it for the full price: for I will not take that which is thine for the Lord, nor offer burnt offerings without cost.” Although David had done wrong, he also understood that a sacrifice is not a true sacrifice unless it cost self. We must be willing to sacrifice for ourselves, for we will only accomplish so much off of another’s. God help us to see what is required of self, in Jesus name.

  38. 10Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.

    Doesn’t matter what your position may be in you must still take responsibility over your actions.

  39. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

    Who’s Counting on Whom?

    What was so wrong with David taking a census? Nothing! If we look at the book of Numbers, that’s what it was, a book of numbers, a census. In everything we do, we can do in evil. If we pray, we can do in evil. If we go up to the alter and worship we can do in evil.

    Example, if a young man goes up to the alter and falls out, praises exuberantly, and affirms all of the preachers words with a loud AMEN. None of those things are evil. They are awesome and great. But if the intention of that young man was to persuade a young lady he is interested in impressing because he heard she is looking for a “God fearing” man, it was all done with ill intent and to a point of even blaspheme before God.

    When the act of numbering the people from David was sent out, it was done with the influence of Satan. It was done with evil intention. It was not done with the intent to give God glory but self. Anything you do for his kingdom, do it with the intention to give him glory, if your not, then expect God to not be pleased.

  40. 6 But Levi and Benjamin counted he not among them: for the king’s word was abominable to Joab.

    7 And God was displeased with this thing; therefore he smote Israel.

    Obey your man of God.

  41. 22 Then David said to Ornan, Grant me the place of this threshingfloor, that I may build an altar therein unto the Lord: thou shalt grant it me for the full price: that the plague may be stayed from the people.

    God punished David for sinning. He didn’t seek the Lord before he acted onthe census. The choices that we make have consequences.

  42. If there is going to be a sacrifice, there is going to be a cost. People say verbally that they want to give there life to God, but are not willing to pay the cost of what it takes to give you life over to God. There must be a willingness to flee from sin and do what God wants you to do. The cost only seems high when carnality is present.

  43. 8 And David said unto God, I have sinned greatly, because I have done this thing: but now, I beseech thee, do away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

    Just like David we must recognize when we do work.g and feel.t before the Lord.

  44. 8 And David said unto God, I have sinned greatly, because I have done this thing: but now, I beseech thee, do away the iniquity of thy servant; for I have done very foolishly.

    After David had sinned he asked God for forgiveness because he realized that he did wrong, we should confesss our sins to God so we can be forgiven!

  45. 1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.
    7 And God was displeased with this thing; therefore he smote Israel.

    God will always be displeased with those that fall for satans provocations. The main problem that causes this are not consulting God, not spending enough time with God to learn His voice, therefore you can notfiscern if it is from God or the enemy. Lord help us to always speak to you daily, teach us to know the voice of our Pastor for your word says it, John 10:27 “My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:” let us always remember who we are and whom we belong to. In Jesus Name Amen

  46. “And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.”
    ‭‭1 Chronicles‬ ‭21:1‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    This is like the fiery darts. It is not that he devil made him do this, but rather it was just put before him. These darts can distract us and cause us to think of ourselves instead of God’s work/word. We need to stay focused and ASK God if we are to go after the thought behind the day or not.

Leave a Reply

