Ezra Chapter 9

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 26

Ezra 9

1 Now when these things were done, the princes came to me, saying, The people of Israel, and the priests, and the Levites, have not separated themselves from the people of the lands, doing according to their abominations, even of the Canaanites, the Hittites, the Perizzites, the Jebusites, the Ammonites, the Moabites, the Egyptians, and the Amorites.

2 For they have taken of their daughters for themselves, and for their sons: so that the holy seed have mingled themselves with the people of those lands: yea, the hand of the princes and rulers hath been chief in this trespass.

3 And when I heard this thing, I rent my garment and my mantle, and plucked off the hair of my head and of my beard, and sat down astonied.

4 Then were assembled unto me every one that trembled at the words of the God of Israel, because of the transgression of those that had been carried away; and I sat astonied until the evening sacrifice.

5 And at the evening sacrifice I arose up from my heaviness; and having rent my garment and my mantle, I fell upon my knees, and spread out my hands unto the Lord my God,

6 And said, O my God, I am ashamed and blush to lift up my face to thee, my God: for our iniquities are increased over our head, and our trespass is grown up unto the heavens.

7 Since the days of our fathers have we been in a great trespass unto this day; and for our iniquities have we, our kings, and our priests, been delivered into the hand of the kings of the lands, to the sword, to captivity, and to a spoil, and to confusion of face, as it is this day.

8 And now for a little space grace hath been shewed from the Lord our God, to leave us a remnant to escape, and to give us a nail in his holy place, that our God may lighten our eyes, and give us a little reviving in our bondage.

9 For we were bondmen; yet our God hath not forsaken us in our bondage, but hath extended mercy unto us in the sight of the kings of Persia, to give us a reviving, to set up the house of our God, and to repair the desolations thereof, and to give us a wall in Judah and in Jerusalem.

10 And now, O our God, what shall we say after this? for we have forsaken thy commandments,

11 Which thou hast commanded by thy servants the prophets, saying, The land, unto which ye go to possess it, is an unclean land with the filthiness of the people of the lands, with their abominations, which have filled it from one end to another with their uncleanness.

12 Now therefore give not your daughters unto their sons, neither take their daughters unto your sons, nor seek their peace or their wealth for ever: that ye may be strong, and eat the good of the land, and leave it for an inheritance to your children for ever.

13 And after all that is come upon us for our evil deeds, and for our great trespass, seeing that thou our God hast punished us less than our iniquities deserve, and hast given us such deliverance as this;

14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

15 O Lord God of Israel, thou art righteous: for we remain yet escaped, as it is this day: behold, we are before thee in our trespasses: for we cannot stand before thee because of this.

35 thoughts on “Ezra Chapter 9

  1. Wow….our God is wonderful and powerful.

    I loved this passage. My sins are black ,dark and ugly. How dark am I??

    I have the blood of Jesus on my life. And I like this passage cause it talked about the people’s sins and how they were ashamed to be in God’s presence. I couldn’t imagine that if my sins were so ugly that it would keep me away from my God. I would have to think quick and figure out away to make my self clean . Well Lord I live thee and I pray that you will forgive me of all my sins against you and you would bring holiness back to my life.

    Without holiness you will not see the Lord……God’s WORD.

  2. Ezra 9:1-2 (MSG)
    1) After all this was done, the leaders came to me and said, “The People of Israel, priests, and Levites included, have not kept themselves separate from the neighboring people around here with all their vulgur abscenities – Canaanites, Hittites, Perizzites, Jebusites, Ammonites, Moabites, Egyptians, Amorites.
    2) They have given some of their daughters in marriage to them and have taken some of their daughters for marriage to their sons. The holy seed is now all mixed in with these other people. And our leaders have led the way in this betrayal.”

    Yes, we know what the scripture says, “Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye seperate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing…” (2 Cor. 6:17), But the bigger problem here is with the LEADERSHIP. Who LEAD these people in the direction to do wrong? The LEADERS have led the way in this betrayal.

    LEADERS LEAD AT ALL TIMES.
    LEADERS be careful in what you are doing, in where you are going, and in what you are saying. YOU are LEADING by example and others are watching and following.

  3. 15 O Lord God of Israel, thou art righteous: for we remain yet escaped, as it is this day: behold, we are before thee in our trespasses: for we cannot stand before thee because of this.

  4. Yet their were sinner god still had mercy on them

    Jesus mercy cover us
    So many times god give us chance so many times we fail but the mercy of god let’s us keep going
    We are grant today to be able to stand in his presence and know that he’s here that even when sin god still heal he still gives
    “I’ am sinner. I don’t. Deserve this you may say ”
    Jesus love you. All have sin
    It’s because Jesus love and mercy that some of us are still standing. God gave me a chance

  5. 5 And at the evening sacrifice I arose up from my heaviness; and having rent my garment and my mantle, I fell upon my knees, and spread out my hands unto the Lord my God,

    This man taking on the burden of a nation on his shoulders for their wickedness. Feeling heaviness even though He had been doing his job properly and the people were mixing with other nations… He sought God for what the nation was doing.

  6. REVIVAL NOW

    8 And now for a little space grace hath been shewed from the Lord our God, to leave us a remnant to escape, and to give us a nail in his holy place, that our God may lighten our eyes, and give us a little reviving in our bondage.

    Ezra gives great example of a REVIVAL NOW prayer. The FIRST step to Revival is recognizing, identifying and accepting that we are not walking in total obedience to the LORD our GOD. There are some areas in all of our lives that we could exercise our privilege of GRACE from the LORD and turn our hearts totally and completely back to the LORD.

    GOD through JESUS has given us a NAIL in his Holy Place.

    The word “lighten” our eyes means; to be luminous:— see the break of day, glorious, kindle, (be, en-, give, show) light (-en, -ened), set on fire, shine.

    We have been granted an opportunity to return our eyes, hearts and lives to the LORD JESUS for the passion or zeal of HIS work.

    It is TIME for REVIVAL NOW. I pray this week that we will recognize and experience this eternal opportunity to be empowered for HIS Kingdoms sake.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  7. I love that even in our chaos and muck we can still be transparent before God. When I royally mess up I bite the bullet and do the same thing. I lay myself out before God and let Him get to work. I’ll make it through what He needs to teach me, but Im always amazed by His mercy and Grace that is poured out no matter the sin I’ve committed. That’s not a ticket to see what I can get away with, I’m just absolutely amazed. I love that You love such a sinner as myself, Jesus. How can I ever give up if You haven’t given up on me?

  8. 13 And after all that is come upon us for our evil deeds, and for our great trespass, seeing that thou our God hast punished us less than our iniquities deserve, and hast given us such deliverance as this;

    14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

    The mercy and grace of God is amazing that God would punish us less than we deserve. That is the story of every one of us that have been redeemed! He has shown mercy and grace toward us that we didn’t earn. But at the same time we must continue to serve God and not walk away because God’s anger could consume us. .. let’s stay on God’s good side and partake of his grace and mercy forever!

  9. 2 For they have taken of their daughters for themselves, and for their sons: so that the holy seed have mingled themselves with the people of those lands: yea, the hand of the princes and rulers hath been chief in this trespass.

    3 And when I heard this thing, I rent my garment and my mantle, and plucked off the hair of my head and of my beard, and sat down astonied.

    4 Then were assembled unto me every one that trembled at the words of the God of Israel, because of the transgression of those that had been carried away; and I sat astonied until the evening sacrifice.

    5 And at the evening sacrifice I arose up from my heaviness; and having rent my garment and my mantle, I fell upon my knees, and spread out my hands unto the Lord my God,

    We have read over and over again about the backsliding of Israelites. They get their hearts right and it’s not long until they are in these same backslidden situation again. We are weak in our own nature, and need God’s help and guidance each to stay saved. We have been granted grace and favor, pulled from this world of sin. Yet, if we don’t keep prayed up, filled up with the Word and die out to our flesh daily, we will find ourselves in the same situation as they.

    The enemy is not a respecter of persons, he wants to see each of us fall back into our sinful ways, and he will do all he can to see that happened. Yet, somewhere someone is praying that we stay strong in the Lord, become that nail in the holy place and live victoriously.

  10. iLove to Grow in the Word
    12Don’t let your daughters marry their sons! Don’t take their daughters as wives for your sons. Don’t ever promote the peace and prosperity of those nations. If you follow these instructions, you will be strong and will enjoy the good things the land produces, and you will leave this prosperity to your children forever.’14But even so, we are again breaking your commands and intermarrying with people who do these detestable things. Won’t your anger be enough to destroy us, so that even this little remnant no longer survives?

    God takes it very seriously when believers form relationships (such as engagement) to unbelievers. For those who are single and are looking for your future husband or wife and you bring an unbeliever (an unbeliever is anyone who rejects the Apostolic doctrine) to pastor to get his blessing, don’t be surprised if you are boycotted…lol. Pastor is only following the verses written in this chapter. The scripture is clear, you will not be blessed marrying a pagan.

  11. 8 And now for a little space grace hath been shewed from the Lord our God, to leave us a remnant to escape, and to give us a nail in his holy place, that our God may lighten our eyes, and give us a little reviving in our bondage.
    9 For we were bondmen; yet our God hath not forsaken us in our bondage, but hath extended mercy unto us in the sight of the kings of Persia, to give us a reviving, to set up the house of our God, and to repair the desolations thereof, and to give us a wall in Judah and in Jerusalem.
    10 And now, O our God, what shall we say after this? for we have forsaken thy commandments,

    Many people have gone through these ups and downs of living for God-meaning that they have been of fire yet have fallen back into carnal living. They surely must have been exasperated with themselves, yet need to fall back on God’s mercy and grace. In revival, we will no doubt find people who need to come back to God, yet may think he will not receive them. We must encourage them to humble themselves before God and receive his love and restoration. Revival now for all: saints, backsliders and sinners.

  12. No one deserves to be forgiven.

    It is a bit of a cliché but the first step to changing our sinful ways is to realize we are sinners and come before God guilty – not justified – and ask for His help to change us. God will forgive us if only we ask. The word “forgive” means to wipe the slate clean, to pardon, to cancel a debt. When we wrong someone, we seek their forgiveness in order for the relationship to be restored. Forgiveness is not granted because a person deserves to be forgiven. Forgiveness is an act of love, mercy, and grace. Forgiveness is a decision to not hold something against another person, despite what they have done to you.

    God is loving and merciful – eager to forgive us of our sins! 2 Peter 3:9 tells us, “…He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.” God desires to forgive us. We can’t earn forgiveness from God. We can’t pay for our forgiveness from God. We can only receive it, by faith, through the grace and mercy of God.

  13. 2 For they have taken of their daughters for themselves, and for their sons: so that the holy seed have mingled themselves with the people of those lands: yea, the hand of the princes and rulers hath been chief in this trespass.

    3 And when I heard this thing, I rent my garment and my mantle, and plucked off the hair of my head and of my beard, and sat down astonied.

    4 Then were assembled unto me every one that trembled at the words of the God of Israel, because of the transgression of those that had been carried away; and I sat astonied until the evening sacrifice.

    5 And at the evening sacrifice I arose up from my heaviness; and having rent my garment and my mantle, I fell upon my knees, and spread out my hands unto the Lord my God,

    6 And said, O my God, I am ashamed and blush to lift up my face to thee, my God: for our iniquities are increased over our head, and our trespass is grown up unto the heavens.

    In these verses it shows what the Israelites did that was against God and sinful. Our life is filled with decisions and choices, but when we make the wrong ones we must ask for forgiveness and work on what we did wrong because in these verses when the act was carried out Ezra lifted his voice and hands up unto God for forgiveness.

  14. 1 Now when these things were done, the princes came to me, saying, The people of Israel, and the priests, and the Levites, have not separated themselves from the people of the lands, doing according to their abominations, even of the Canaanites, the Hittites, the Perizzites, the Jebusites, the Ammonites, the Moabites, the Egyptians, and the Amorites.

    Have not seperated themselves from the people of the lands.
    Last week in motion we talked about taking a “break” from the people we use to roll with before we were saved. We dont have to exit them from our lives completely but its good to take a break.

    Being a “baby christian” i can tell you that you find out who your true friends was, who they are, and who they will be. Being blessed with the gift of the Holy Ghost i dont see how anyone can go back on a gift so beautiful. God is GOOD-ALL the time!

  15. Amplified version makes this chapter very clear.

    9 When these things were completed, the officials came to me and said, “The people of Israel and the priests and Levites have not separated themselves from the peoples of the lands

    Throughout the entire chapter Ezra is feeling guilt. He is repenting for the people he was leading. The first verse here gives the answer the people had not separated themselves. They were seeking companionship among people who did not believe in the one true God. They were forsaking the commandments God had given. God was gracious to allow them to escape just as He brings us out of sin He has made a way of escape. If we do not separate ourselves from this world in how we live we too can get tangled up in the affairs of the world. The life style, their traditions , their way of life. The word says we are to be separate to come out of the world. This is why leadership cautions repeatedly to guard everything we do. Even down to who we choose to marry. Don’t ever think you are being controlled be thankful their are leaders who watch out for your soul. If we don’t listen we may find ourself in a relationship that is against Gods will and not know how to get out of it. Patience and a passion for righteous living will help sustain you in every aspect of life. Be separate from this world don’t seek their wealth,don’t seek their fame don’t break Gods commandments.

  16. We have all heard that the biggest room is the room for improvement. Not one of us is perfect as Romans 3:23 AMP says “since all have sinned and continually fall short of the glory of God”. One of the first things is realizing and recognizing that you cannot do this alone. God knows exactly where you are and what your going through and it is by His grace that we have the opportunity to call upon His name. John 1:16 AMP says “For out of His fullness [the superabundance of His grace and truth] we have all received grace upon grace [spiritual blessing upon spiritual blessing, favor upon favor, and gift heaped upon gift].” JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

  17. 15 O Lord, God of Israel, you are just. We come before you in our guilt as nothing but an escaped remnant, though in such a condition none of us can stand in your presence.” (NLT)

    Without Him, we are nothing and that is the first step of coming to Christ; realize that He is all that’s good in this world and within us. Realize that God alone is the reason we are who we are, and have achieved what we have. It’s all in Him and we need Him.

  18. 8 “But now, for a brief moment, the Lord our God has been gracious in leaving us a remnant and giving us a firm place[a] in his sanctuary, and so our God gives light to our eyes and a little relief in our bondage.

    It’s that moment when people realize their sins and see who God is. It’s that moment when we get to have Gods mercy and love come on us and forgive us of our sins. It’s that moment where the sinners become the found and our chance to see God move in our lives. We need to have these moments with God everyday to ask for forgiveness and Gods mercy upon us! Thank you God for being so merciful and graces to us!

  19. 13 And after all that is come upon us for our evil deeds, and for our great trespass, seeing that thou our God hast punished us less than our iniquities deserve, and hast given us such deliverance as this;

    14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

    15 O Lord God of Israel, thou art righteous: for we remain yet escaped, as it is this day: behold, we are before thee in our trespasses: for we cannot stand before thee because of this

    We ought to have a repented heart when we do wrong. God is a merciful God but we cannot go around sinning everyday because we know God will forgive us.

  20. 13 And after all that is come upon us for our evil deeds, and for our great trespass, seeing that thou our God hast punished us less than our iniquities deserve, and hast given us such deliverance as this;

    14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

    Our God is very merciful towards us. His grace never ends. Yet, at some point there’s a limit. One cannot repent of their sins and keep living the same way. Each day we should follow the commandments of God, keep them in our hearts, and never look back.

  21. 15 O Lord God of Israel, thou art righteous: for we remain yet escaped, as it is this day: behold, we are before thee in our trespasses: for we cannot stand before thee because of this.

  22. 5 At the time of the sacrifice, I stood up from where I had sat in mourning with my clothes torn. I fell to my knees and lifted my hands to the LORD my God.

    We too should lift our hands and fall to our knees. We have so much to thank God for. Even if its just to say thanks for given me another day of life, keeping us safe and providing for us.

  23. 8 And now for a little space grace hath been shewed from the Lord our God, to leave us a remnant to escape, and to give us a nail in his holy place, that our God may lighten our eyes, and give us a little reviving in our bondage.

    9 For we were bondmen; yet our God hath not forsaken us in our bondage, but hath extended mercy unto us in the sight of the kings of Persia, to give us a reviving, to set up the house of our God, and to repair the desolations thereof, and to give us a wall in Judah and in Jerusalem.

    We have all at sometime in our lives forsaken Godly council or the ways of God. Yet, we must strive not to forsake His mercy. God grants us mercy in times we really should not have it and it is up to us to go to Him in repentance and not forsake His mercy. In the mist of our bondage He extends His hand that we can experience Revival! REVIVAL NOW is coming and I feel it is important that we get in unity with Him and allow ourselves to receive mercy and Revival! Lets allow Him to revive our passion for the people of our region and ministries He has called us to.

  24. 13 And after all that is come upon us for our evil deeds, and for our great trespass, seeing that thou our God hast punished us less than our iniquities deserve, and hast given us such deliverance as this;

    14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

    For all the things that we have done, God has punished us way less than we deserve with the sins we have commited. But God’s mercy and grace delivers us from the punishment of sin. It’s something that can be easy to forget, but it’s something that we always keep fresh on our minds to prevent pride from coming in and taking over our thinking, and to keep us from joining other sinners who don’t care about their actions. As verse 14 says, shall we break again God’s commandaments and join in affinity with the people? No we should not.

  25. “Since the days of our fathers have we been in a great trespass unto this day; and for our iniquities have we, our kings, and our priests, been delivered into the hand of the kings of the lands, to the sword, to captivity, and to a spoil, and to confusion of face, as it is this day.” The word of God (Jesus) declares the reason. One that cannot see the true reason for all that is taking place does not want too. However one that does should be mindful too seek God for those that do not see the necessity. Dear God, awaken us all to the truth, and bless us with a desire to seek your will. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  26. “O Lord God of Israel, thou art righteous: for we remain yet escaped, as it is this day: behold, we are before thee in our trespasses: for we cannot stand before thee because of this.” It was clearly declared where they came from and who made everything possible. We cannot afford to forget that none are, or ever will be worthy; however we have hope, because of the Lord’s grace and mercy. God bless us with a heart of remembrance and thankfulness, in Jesus name.

  27. 9 For we were bondmen; yet our God hath not forsaken us in our bondage, but hath extended mercy unto us in the sight of the kings of Persia, to give us a reviving, to set up the house of our God, and to repair the desolations thereof, and to give us a wall in Judah and in Jerusalem.

    We were once bound, but have now been made free by the blood of the Lamb.

  28. 9 For we were bondmen; yet our God hath not forsaken us in our bondage, but hath extended mercy unto us in the sight of the kings of Persia, to give us a reviving, to set up the house of our God, and to repair the desolations thereof, and to give us a wall in Judah and in Jerusalem.

    Its time for revival.. The dead will arise, the weak will renew strength…. Blessed be the Lord for his mercy endureth forever.

  29. Ezra 9:3 (NLT)
    3 When I heard this, I tore my cloak and my shirt, pulled hair from my head and beard, and sat down utterly shocked.

    There is a right way and a wrong way to deal with our sin. When we offer a quick sorry and don’t think much of it we do not truly repent. Repentance comes when we acknowledge our sin, acknowledge our guilt, ask for forgiveness AND YIELD ourselves to God so that he can work in us to make better choices.

  30. 13 And after all that is come upon us for our evil deeds, and for our great trespass, seeing that thou our God hast punished us less than our iniquities deserve, and hast given us such deliverance as this;

    14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

    Thank You Jesus for your great love and mercy that we dont deserve. Being a mother helps me see a bit of the type of love Jesus has for us. Even when my children misbehave they are my children and will never stop being my children, I will never stop loving them whether they do good or bad. Thank you Lord for this love that you have for us. Many might not want Jesus but doesn’t stop Him from being their father. NO ONE LIKE YOU LORD!!!!

  31. 5 And at the evening sacrifice I arose up from my heaviness; and having rent my garment and my mantle, I fell upon my knees, and spread out my hands unto the Lord my God,

    Postured for victory!

    My father would always say that, “A man is taller on his knees”. The heaviness upon the prophet for the people of God showed his love for Gods people. I now understand better why he felt the way he did. There a certain heaviness that we feel over Gods people when they back slide and live outside of God.

    Ezra, thee man of God, torn to pieces because of the sin of the people. He postured himself as humbled as he could to intercede for God people. That is a true heart of a servant. Fighting on his knees for the lost, interceding for the ones that even though they are not repented and have not shown conviction to change, he stands in the gap, with the purpose to reconcile Gods people back to him.

    We should all hurt for the lost and be torn by the fact that they are on there way to hell and the only thing that will stop them is someone willing to stand in the gap and pray.

    Help us Lord!

  32. Intermarriage was against Deut 7:3, and we find it rampant, even in the leaders, after the exile. Ezra finds a place of repentance before God in an attempt to restore Israel.

  33. 14 Should we again break thy commandments, and join in affinity with the people of these abominations? wouldest not thou be angry with us till thou hadst consumed us, so that there should be no remnant nor escaping?

    15 O Lord God of Israel, thou art righteous: for we remain yet escaped, as it is this day: behold, we are before thee in our trespasses: for we cannot stand before thee because of this.

    We all have fallen short of tr glory of God.

Leave a Reply

