Nehemiah Chapter 1

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 28

Nehemiah 1

1 The words of Nehemiah the son of Hachaliah. And it came to pass in the month Chisleu, in the twentieth year, as I was in Shushan the palace,

2 That Hanani, one of my brethren, came, he and certain men of Judah; and I asked them concerning the Jews that had escaped, which were left of the captivity, and concerning Jerusalem.

3 And they said unto me, The remnant that are left of the captivity there in the province are in great affliction and reproach: the wall of Jerusalem also is broken down, and the gates thereof are burned with fire.

4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven,

5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments:

6 Let thine ear now be attentive, and thine eyes open, that thou mayest hear the prayer of thy servant, which I pray before thee now, day and night, for the children of Israel thy servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel, which we have sinned against thee: both I and my father’s house have sinned.

7 We have dealt very corruptly against thee, and have not kept the commandments, nor the statutes, nor the judgments, which thou commandedst thy servant Moses.

8 Remember, I beseech thee, the word that thou commandedst thy servant Moses, saying, If ye transgress, I will scatter you abroad among the nations:

9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

10 Now these are thy servants and thy people, whom thou hast redeemed by thy great power, and by thy strong hand.

11 O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who desire to fear thy name: and prosper, I pray thee, thy servant this day, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. For I was the king’s cupbearer.

48 thoughts on “Nehemiah Chapter 1

  1. Verses 8-9 MSG “All the same, remember the warning you posted to your servant Moses: ‘If you betray me, I’ll scatter you to the four winds, but if you come back to me and do what I tell you, I’ll gather up all these scattered peoples from wherever they ended up and put them back in the place I chose to mark with my Name.’ As Nehemiah was grieved for the people, we too should pray for the return of those who have been scattered and help them find their way back to following the King of Kings.

  2. 11. O Lord, please hear my prayer! Listen to the prayers of those of us who delight in honoring you. Please grant me success today by making the king favorable to me. Put it into his heart to be kind to me.” In those days I was the king’s cup-bearer. NLT

    He knew that the earthly king was subject to the King of Kings. When we get that revelation and begin to take advantage of it, we will find favor in places we had never found it before.

  3. 7 We have dealt very corruptly against thee, and have not kept the commandments, nor the statutes, nor the judgments, which thou commandedst thy servant Moses.
    8 Remember, I beseech thee, the word that thou commandedst thy servant Moses, saying, If ye transgress, I will scatter you abroad among the nations:
    9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

    Do we know God’s word? Does he have to remind us, or do we remind him of his promises? Show thyself approved. Show that you have studied his word. Love the word. Eat the word.

  4. 10 Now these are thy servants and thy people, whom thou hast redeemed by thy great power, and by thy strong hand.

    11 O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who desire to fear thy name: and prosper, I pray thee, thy servant this day, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. For I was the king’s cupbearer
    A prayer of supplication
    This sincere plea before God is a perfect example of a prayer of supplication. There is a plea coming forth and a call ringing out from the people. Sometimes we have to cry and scream out to seek the face of GOD

  5. 11 O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who desire to fear thy name: and prosper, I pray thee, thy servant this day, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. For I was the king’s cupbearer.

    Lord be attentive to my prayer. I do fear your ur name and I do want to stay in yo ur perfect will and not my will. I pray that my life will be a reflection of your love and your ur ways. In Jesus name.

  6. 8 Remember, I beseech thee, the word that thou commandedst thy servant Moses, saying, If ye transgress, I will scatter you abroad among the nations:

    9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

    10 Now these are thy servants and thy people, whom thou hast redeemed by thy great power, and by thy strong hand.

    11 O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who desire to fear thy name: and prosper, I pray thee, thy servant this day, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. For I was the king’s cupbearer.

  7. 8 “Please remember what you told your servant Moses: ‘If you are unfaithful to me, I will scatter you among the nations.
    9 But if you return to me and obey my commands and live by them, then even if you are exiled to the ends of the earth, I will bring you back to the place I have chosen for my name to be honored.’ (NLT)

    It doesn’t matter how “afar off” one is. If anyone repents and chooses to turn their life to God, He will be there and He will guide them back for His own glory. That being said, God uses His people to be those guiding factors. With revival now practically here, we have already began to see people come with really the most unbeknownst reasons. The harvest is here and God is looking for field workers to bring the harvest in; be available, be sensitive, and be ready to go!

  8. THE PRAYER THAT GOD HEARS

    5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments:
    6 Let thine ear now be attentive, and thine eyes open, that thou mayest hear the prayer of thy servant, which I pray before thee now, day and night, for the children of Israel thy servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel, which we have sinned against thee: both I and my father’s house have sinned.
    7 We have dealt very corruptly against thee, and have not kept the commandments, nor the statutes, nor the judgments, which thou commandedst thy servant Moses.

    The short amount of time in personal prayer that most people spend is typically invested in telling GOD what is wrong in our life that he already knows or telling him what we need, which he also already knows.

    I witness a concept in prayer here in Nehemiah that is inspiring me to be more thorough in my daily REPENTANCE. REPENTANCE is THE PRAYER THAT GOD HEARS.

    Nehemiah told GOD to pay attention and watch him. This is some BOLD REPENTANCE. This type of prayer will make you want to walk right, talk right and act right. Most of us that have been around church for a while know what to say and how to say it in prayer. But, how often do we tell GOD to listen and watch us? This invitation for obersvation and inspection was courageous and sincere.

    This invitation indicates to me that Nehemiah was sincere and committed in his prayer of REPENTANCE. Telling GOD to watch and listen to you means an invitation to be committed to your prayer.

    May GOD help us all to examine our hearts today and make sincere REPENTANCE in any and every area that is needed.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

    • Wow I have never looked at it like that. Reminds me of Moses when he told God to blot out his own name in the book of life if God was going to destroy the nation of Israel for their wickedness. It opened up Gods mercy to the nation and turned away His wrath.

      • I never looked it at this way Pastor and honestly I understand more why its so important to repent and let Jesus take control of what matters most in our lives. This nation is so messed up and when I come into the house of the lord honestly in my eyes I don’t even want to look what’s going on outside what matters to me is my sins washed away in Jesus blood, Knowing if I repent and fast like I’m supposed to and have faith in him I will have a stronger connection with him and the church .
        Thank you pastor Watts

  9. 4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven,

    5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments:

    I am always convicted and encouraged when I read a man in the bible who is burdened and his first step is to weep for the people God gave him watch over, to pray and fast and seek God. I believe if we had that same spirit for this city as Pastor Watts does, nothing can stop us from having the greatest revival here no one has ever seen.

  10. 4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven,

    When wanting something from the lord we need to do things to glorify him or make sacrifices to revive, and prayer is very sufficient to revive things for God.

  11. 10 They are your servants and your people, whom you have redeemed by your great power and by your strong hand.
    11 O Lord, let your ear be attentive to the prayer of your servant, and to the prayer of your servants who delight to fear your name, and give success to your servant today, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man.”Now I was cupbearer to the king. ESV

  12. 5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments:

    Teaches us to draw near to God with a holy awe of His majesty and glory.

    At times I think we get caught up in telling God everything that is wrong during our prayer time, however God already knows. Wonder how our prayer time would be impacted if we took as much time expressing what is wrong as we did glorifying God! Proclaiming His greatness!

  13. iLove to Grow in the Word
    5Then I said,“O lord, God of heaven, the great and awesome God who keeps his covenant of unfailing love with those who love him and obey his commands, 6listen to my prayer! Look down and see me praying night and day for your people Israel. I confess that we have sinned against you. Yes, even my own family and I have sinned! 7We have sinned terribly by not obeying the commands, decrees, and regulations that you gave us through your servant Moses.

    Wow, what a great prayer of intercession for the people of God. This is a great prayer for us to pray in the time that we live in. We should pray that God would use us to help bring the people back to God. Lord help us get this spirit of Nehemiah and let us intercede for great revival.

  14. Nehemiah 1:8 Remember the instructions you gave your servant Moses saying if you are unfaithful I will scatter you among the nations but if you return to me and obey my Commandments then even if your exiled people are at the farthest horizon I will gather them from there and bring them to the place I have chosen a dwelling for my Name. They are your servants and your people whom you redeemed by your great strength and your mighty hand. Lord let your ear be attentive to the prayer of this your servant and to the prayer of your servants who delight in revering your name. Give your servant success today by granting him favor in the presence of this man I was a cupbearer to the king.

  15. 4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven,

    5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments

    This is what the Lord is telling us now to prepare because the harvest is coming. Pastor has been preaching this and I believe the harvest is coming and will come but we must be ready. Just like Pastor preached we must prepare to win a race, we have to prepare for all the souls that are going to be coming hungry and desperate for a touch of God. How can we guide them to the Lord if we aren’t prepared?!?! We all want annointing but only few work for it…..Anointing is not just given to us but we must sacrifice to get the anointing by prayer and fasting. Getting ready for the harvest in Jesus Name.

  16. 11 O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who desire to fear thy name

    What is our desire? Do we desire new cars, bigger homes or more money? Do we desire to feed ourselves three times a day? Does our desire include time with the Lord? Only God and us know the true desires of our heart. Be honest with ourselves and determine what our desires are. It is okay if our desires do not line up with the most holy of people. We are a product or our past. However, we do not have to continue down this road. We can start changing our desires by changing the way interact with this world.

    Hollywood’s purpose is to paint a picture of glamor and riches and how wonderful it would be to live in the fast lane. I know there are movies that portray doom and dismay but the actors involved in these movies do not live that way. Multi-million dollar homes, super cars and bank account overflowing with money – if only make believe were real. Of course it goes beyond Hollywood. Athletes of all flavors are rolling in the Benjamin’s as the saying goes. The music world is the same.

    How are “normal” people supposed to compare? God stands alone. There is no comparison. If our truest desire is to be the best child of God we can be there is no comparison to us. We will not strive for the fastest car, biggest house or largest bank account.

    Matthew 6:19-21 “Don’t hoard treasure down here where it gets eaten by moths and corroded by rust or—worse!—stolen by burglars. Stockpile treasure in heaven, where it’s safe from moth and rust and burglars. It’s obvious, isn’t it? The place where your treasure is, is the place you will most want to be, and end up being.

  17. “O Lord, I beseech thee, let now thine ear be attentive to the prayer of thy servant, and to the prayer of thy servants, who desire to fear thy name: and prosper, I pray thee, thy servant this day, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. For I was the king’s cupbearer.”
    ‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭1:11‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    To be use by God and to be heard by him. It starts off with humility, and be a servant. With great faith. Allow the lord to move in you and use you what ever your position is at in life

  18. 9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

    The Lord is attentive to our cry. A repentant heart/attitude makes all the difference in the world. Even though time and time again the people did evil in the sight of the Lord, with a prayer of repentance God was faithful and just to forgive and give them another opportunity.

    But for the grace of God where we be?

    I’m thankful today for an advocate with my Father, who is just to forgive and extend grace and mercy in my life.

  19. 4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven,

    5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments:

    When we are sincere and humble out to God he blesses us! Heavens open.. blessings and Gods favor is upon us! Amen

  20. Nehemiah 1:3-6 (MSG)
    3) They told me, “The exile survivors who are left there in the province are in bad shape. Conditions are appalling, the wall of Jerusalem is still rubble, and the city gates are still cinders.”
    4) When I heard this, I sat down and wept. I mourned for days, fasting and praying before the God – of – Heaven.
    5) I said, “God, God – of – Heaven the great and awesome God , loyal to his covenant and faithful to those who love him and obey his commands.
    6) Look at me, listen to me. Pay attention to this prayer of your servant that I’m praying day and night in intercession for your servants, the People of Israel, confessing the sins of the People of Israel. I’m including myself, I and my ancestors, among those who have sinned against you.

    INTERCESSION (Praying on behalf of others.)
    When Nehemiah heard what kind of shape the exiles and Jerusalem was in, he immediately wept and went to fasting and prayer. Not just for a short time or shirt prayer, but for days..He made INTERCESSORY PRAYER.

    When was the last time I/you/we went into INTERCESSORY PRAYER for someone or a situation? ( For longer than a short prayer.)
    Lord stir our hearts to be Intercessory Prayer Warriors. Help us to Pray on behalf of others.

  21. 6 Let thine ear now be attentive, and thine eyes open, that thou mayest hear the prayer of thy servant, which I pray before thee now, day and night, for the children of Israel thy servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel, which we have sinned against thee: both I and my father’s house have sinned.

  22. “Then I said, “O LORD, God of heaven, the great and awesome God who keeps his covenant of unfailing love with those who love him and obey his commands,”
    ‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭1:5‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    “listen to my prayer! Look down and see me praying night and day for your people Israel. I confess that we have sinned against you. Yes, even my own family and I have sinned!”
    ‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭1:6 NLT

    ““Please remember what you told your servant Moses: ‘If you are unfaithful to me, I will scatter you among the nations.”
    ‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭1:8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    “But if you return to me and obey my commands and live by them, then even if you are exiled to the ends of the earth, I will bring you back to the place I have chosen for my name to be honored.’”
    ‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭1:9‬ ‭NLT‬‬

  23. 9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

    You are never too far gone, for the mercy of God to be shown to you! When you turn to God he will go to where you are, pick you up and take you to His chosen place! What a mighty God we serve!!

  24. 4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven,

    5 And said, I beseech thee, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, that keepeth covenant and mercy for them that love him and observe his commandments:

    When Nehemiah saw that his city was in ruins, he wept and cried out to God for his city. Spiritually, we can see some ruins that are in our city as well, some places that need to rebuilt or brought back to God that have turned away from him.

    We need the spiritual vision to realize the state that our city and communities are in, and then we need a hunger, and a passion to want to see our cities brought back to God and to see souls turn towards God.

  25. 8 Remember, I beseech thee, the word that thou commandedst thy servant Moses, saying, If ye transgress, I will scatter you abroad among the nations:

    9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

    It is good to use the Word of God in our prayers for they are a great weapon and also remind God of the promises. Pray what has been said in the bible…pray the word

  26. Prayer gets things done. Our communication with God is essential in our walk with Christ. It’s impossible to have a good relationship without good communication. We know that as a child of God when we ask, God hears our prayers.

  27. 6. Let thine ear now be attentive, and thine eyes open, that thou mayest hear the prayer of thy servant, which I pray before thee now, day and night, for the children of Israel thy servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel, which we have sinned against thee: both I and my father’s house have sinned.

    Nehemiah realized the condition around him and understood that repentance was needed. He was driven to prayer. We should allow the condition of our World to drive us to prayer too. This world is fillled with sin and it should drive us to intercessory prayer

  28. When Nehemiah’s brother comes from Judah and visits him, he asks,about the condition Jerusalem is in and how the remnant are doing. After Nehemiah hears that the walls of Jerusalem have been broken down and the people are in great trouble and disgrace, he weeps bitterly. Nehemiah was born in captivity and has never had the opportunity to see Jerusalem flourish. He so badly desires to do something to restore the people’s dignity and repair the crushed walls. A city without walls is open to attack and is considered insignificant. He prays for weeks until God open a door. In doing so God ignites a flame, sparking revival in his servant Nehemiah. Which Nehemiah stokes the fire with prayer and a willing heart. Then God’s power works through him to spread the revival fire over 500 miles to Jerusalem. Just imagine what would happen if we got set on that kind of fire, sparking revival.

  29. “Let thine ear now be attentive, and thine eyes open, that thou mayest hear the prayer of thy servant, which I pray before thee now, day and night, for the children of Israel thy servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel, which we have sinned against thee: both I and my father’s house have sinned.” The word of God (Judge) records a servant’s heart. Nehemiah did not exclude self or put self above another; however instead he fasted, prayed, and mourned for the people. Dear God, let your ways become our ways, and never the other way around. God Bless America, Israel, Jerusalem, and you all in Jesus name, Amen!

  30. “Now these are thy servants and thy people, whom thou hast redeemed by thy great power, and by thy strong hand.” The Lord was given the credit and glory, which should always be the case. We should focus first on the Lord, and then on helping others discover the goodness of the Lord. God help us to see and treat others as you have, in Jesus name.

  31. Nehemiah 1:3 (NLT)
    3 They said to me, “Things are not going well for those who returned to the province of Judah. They are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem has been torn down, and the gates have been destroyed by fire.”

    With no walls they are open to enemy attack. With no gate anyone and anything can come in.

    Both of these are dangerous.

    We can apply these principles to the believer. Jesus is the door, and when he is out of the way anything can come in. The spirits that can influence can destroy us, and those around us if we are not careful.

    The walls keep the enemy out. The attacks of the enemy are steal, kill, and destroy. We can find ourselves enslaved by him.

    The Bible says that God’s angels encampment round about us.

    All this is relationship. Prayer, and the presence of God keep the gate, and keep the hedge around us.

  32. Nehemiah 1:4 When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the God of heaven.

    I believe that Christ had to show us how to pray again. The people in the past knew how to get into the presence of God in prayer. If we knew how to stay connected to the source of all, we would truly make a lasting impact on this world.

  33. “They said to me, “Things are not going well for those who returned to the province of Judah. They are in great trouble and disgrace. The wall of Jerusalem has been torn down, and the gates have been destroyed by fire.” When I heard this, I sat down and wept. In fact, for days I mourned, fasted, and prayed to the God of heaven.”
    ‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭1:3-4‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Lord break my heart for what breaks yours. Let our hearts be as one.

  34. 7 We have dealt very corruptly against thee, and have not kept the commandments, nor the statutes, nor the judgments, which thou commandedst thy servant Moses.
    8 Remember, I beseech thee, the word that thou commandedst thy servant Moses, saying, If ye transgress, I will scatter you abroad among the nations:
    9 But if ye turn unto me, and keep my commandments, and do them; though there were of you cast out unto the uttermost part of the heaven, yet will I gather them from thence, and will bring them unto the place that I have chosen to set my name there.

    God has always made a way for our wrong choices through repentance and turning back to him. The path may not be easy in that returning, but it is THE path that brings the promises of God back into our lives.

  35. 11 O Lord, please hear my prayer! Listen to the prayers of those of us who delight in honoring you. Please grant me success today by making the king favorable to me.

    Yes the Lord hears your prayers at all times. We should always pray for what we feel is needed. A simple conversation with God goes a long way.

  36. 4 And it came to pass, when I heard these words, that I sat down and wept, and mourned certain days, and fasted, and prayed before the God of heaven.

    Nehemiah wept, mourned and fasted for a land and a people he had never seen before. It wasn’t about the things that had been broken but who they belonged to. This city of Jerusalem was the place where the people of God worshiped freely. He is literally broken longing for the dry bones that remains to be revived. Nehemiah displays that even in the middle of bandage to the Babylonian king he will stand for a crumbled kingdom that belongs to God.

Leave a Reply

