Job Chapter 3

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 23

Job 3

1 After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.

2 And Job spake, and said,

3 Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived.

4 Let that day be darkness; let not God regard it from above, neither let the light shine upon it.

5 Let darkness and the shadow of death stain it; let a cloud dwell upon it; let the blackness of the day terrify it.

6 As for that night, let darkness seize upon it; let it not be joined unto the days of the year, let it not come into the number of the months.

7 Lo, let that night be solitary, let no joyful voice come therein.

8 Let them curse it that curse the day, who are ready to raise up their mourning.

9 Let the stars of the twilight thereof be dark; let it look for light, but have none; neither let it see the dawning of the day:

10 Because it shut not up the doors of my mother’s womb, nor hid sorrow from mine eyes.

11 Why died I not from the womb? why did I not give up the ghost when I came out of the belly?

12 Why did the knees prevent me? or why the breasts that I should suck?

13 For now should I have lain still and been quiet, I should have slept: then had I been at rest,

14 With kings and counsellors of the earth, which build desolate places for themselves;

15 Or with princes that had gold, who filled their houses with silver:

16 Or as an hidden untimely birth I had not been; as infants which never saw light.

17 There the wicked cease from troubling; and there the weary be at rest.

18 There the prisoners rest together; they hear not the voice of the oppressor.

19 The small and great are there; and the servant is free from his master.

20 Wherefore is light given to him that is in misery, and life unto the bitter in soul;

21 Which long for death, but it cometh not; and dig for it more than for hid treasures;

22 Which rejoice exceedingly, and are glad, when they can find the grave?

23 Why is light given to a man whose way is hid, and whom God hath hedged in?

24 For my sighing cometh before I eat, and my roarings are poured out like the waters.

25 For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.

26 I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet; yet trouble came.

34 thoughts on “Job Chapter 3

  1. Verse 26 NLT “I have no peace, no quietness. I have no rest; only trouble comes.” This reminded me of the saying “Know God, Know Peace” or “No God, No Peace”. We must speak peace into every aspect of our walk with the Lord and not allow the cares of this life to bring us down. It also reminded me of these song lyrics:

    I Can Throw My Hands Up
    Worries Down
    I Remember When He Showed Me How

    To Break Up With My Doubt
    Once I was lost but now I’m found
    No Strings Attached When He Saved My Soul
    I Want You To Know The God I Know
    Oh, You Gotta Know
    Oh, The God I Know

    What was I waiting for
    I came alive when I let go
    All I had was a broken heart
    Then He held me in His arms

  2. 25 For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.

    Fear hath torment. Until I was able to walk through some of things I greatly feared did I realize the true power of the almighty God. God allowed Satan to bring all of the feelings Job was facing. One of the greatest weapons Satan uses is fear. It is a tool that he will try to destroy you with but I know without a doubt that God through His almighty power and through His blood that fear can be defeated. When we completely submit our minds into the hands of God the things we greatly fear will submit to the authority of Jesus Christ. Not til we face the fear and look it right in the face and say you are defeated can we live in the place that God wants us to live in. Pleading the blood of Jesus and resting in His assurance that all is well in Him.

  3. Job 3:23 Why is light given to a man whose way is hid and whom God hath hedgednin? For my sighing cometh before I eat and my roaring are poured out like the waters. For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me and that which I was afraid of is cone unto me. I was not in safety neither was I quiet yet trouble came.

    I was once like Job not quite as bad as job but I had trouble on every side didn’t know what to do. Fear rule my life for a long time until I said Okay God it’s you or I die. I gave my fear to God and started trusting in the Lord. He turned it around for my good. Fear can paralyze you if you let it but once you know who you are in the Lord Jesus Christ nothing nothing can keep you from accomplishing what God wants in your life. Trust him and you will see his goodness.

  4. Job 3: 25 (NIV)
    What I feared has come upon me; What I dreaded has happened to me.

    The sincerity of how Job felt after losing everything, even his own health describes the character of who Job was. A sincere man that would not put on a face like nothing is wrong.

    Circumstances dont make a man’s character, it reveals it.

  5. “…What’s the point of life when it doesn’t make sense…”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭3:23 MSG‬‬

    It would seem like the most unanswerable question there is, a question that nags our existence from start to finish. We must strive to convert our belief to knowing.

    Saying, “I believe”, is never an adequate substitute for being able to say, “I know”.

    Consider the following:
    I believe God will answer my prayer.
    I know God will answer my prayer.

    There has to be clarification between what you believe and what you know. When you say ‘I believe’, you indicate that you don’t know about this thing, because, in your personal experience, it has not yet occurred.

    So, what is the difference between believing and knowing? When do we know when we believe and do we know when believing becomes knowing? Every new challenge/opportunity has its obstacles and when we take on these challenges, we may either doubt our ability to cope or believe that we will be able to accomplish our task. However, it is not until the challenge has been attempted and won or lost that we know.

    Believing is where we can choose whether or not to accept something.
    Knowing is where we have personally experienced something.

  6. Complain complain do you not know this a test sometime god let the devil test us to see what we will do
    Job how can you curse the day of your birth do you not know this pain in your body is only for a season
    The pain in our body the storm in our life is only a season. Joy come in the morning

    Job you could have pray and worship you told your wife early in the last chapter should we only accept good things

    But Job replied, “You talk like a foolish woman. Should we accept only good things from the hand of God and never anything bad?” So in all this, Job said nothing wrong.
    Job 2:10 NLT

    IN THE GOOD OR BAD WORSHIP AND PRAISE FOR A STROM IS ONLY JUST A SESSION

    EVERYONE GOES through some type of Strom. And test

  7. 1 After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.

    2 And Job spake, and said,

    3 Let the day perish wherein 

    I like how Job even with terrible things that were happening in his life he never cursed God but instead he cursed his day. I’ll never fully understand the struggle of Job and the hurt it must have caused . I’m just thankful he was a faithful dedicated man to go through everything he did and not curse God.

  8. Job 3:1, “After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.”

    We are reminded of Job 1:11 & 2:5
    1:11, “But put forth thine hand now, and touch all that he hath, and he will curse thee to thy face.”
    2:5, “But put forth thine hand now, and touch his bone and his flesh, and he will curse thee to thy face.”

    Satan was confident that if Job lost everything, his animals, his servants, his children, and his health, that he could push Job so far as to curse God. BUT instead of cursing God, he cursed the day in which he was born.

    No matter what you go through in life, don’t curse and blame God, BUT find strength in God to help you see you through your time off trials and testing.

  9. Fear can stop us in our tracks, if we allow it. We must push pass fear, so that we can have the fruits of God. Praising, praying and worshiping God is how we push through.

  10. Not once in this chapter, as painful as it is to read, not once does Job curse or blame God. He speaks the thoughts going through his mind. We all do it, we all have wondered the same questions Job has just spoken. Job was wise enough though to not blame God; he only became angry at his own life, at his own trouble. Who do we blame for our frustration in times like this? I pray it’s not God. If God is so good, why would He allow any trouble into our lives that He can’t receive glory from in the end? He wouldn’t if we were faithful and obedient to Him as Job was – trust God, don’t curse Him.

  11. 1 After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.
    2 And Job spake, and said,
    3 Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived.

    Now Job tells of the depth of his sorrows and while he doesn’t curse God, he shows that he has nothing to be happy for. When my mom died, rejecting the truth that we know (as far as I know), I fell into this type of despair, feeling that my prayers, witnessing and fasting for her just didn’t work. I went to the Lord for an answer and what His response to me was is found in Romans 15:13 “Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.” God let me know that my joy and peace does NOT come from this world, but comes through him.

  12. PAINFUL SEASONS REVEAL THE HEART

    1 After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.

    We have celebrated Job and his FAITH in GOD, through his painful worship, impeccable integrity and strong leadership. Now, Job speaks and everyone listens with great intent. Will he curse GOD? Will he lose his integrity? Will he fall to the pain and pressure of life?

    We learn from the testimony of Job that every individual reaches their limit. The tipping point, we have taken all we can emotionally or physically can handle. How we respond at those times is imperative to our future victories.

    Job finally opened his mouth to respond. He did not respond by blaming GOD or questioning GOD, he asked GOD a question to which he already knew the answer. He cursed his birthday, not his life nor his GOD.

    JESUS proclaimed:
    Matthew 12:34 O generation of vipers, how can ye, being evil, speak good things? for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.

    PAINFUL SEASONS REVEAL THE HEART

    Multitudes confess that they love GOD, however, the response in PAINFUL SEASONS REVEAL THE HEART. Offended, angered, bitter, resentful all reveal the seed of pride in the heart. I pray JESUS help me guard my heart and humble myself before GOD this and every day.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  13. 1 After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.

    Job cursed his day for the get go. We never need to just throw in the towel, with the spirit of the lord we will overcome. Never quit before you start the fight.

  14. iLove to Grow in the Word
    Job 3:1 KJV  After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day.
    Job is not cursing in the way that you might think of cursing in today’s society. The word “cursed” is qalal in the Hebrew and means the following:

    qâlal
    kaw-lal’
    A primitive root; to be (causatively make) light, literally (swift, small, sharp, etc.) or figuratively (easy, trifling, vile, etc.): – abate, make bright, bring into contempt, (ac-) curse, despise, (be) ease (-y, -ier), (be a, make, make somewhat, move, seem a, set) light (-en, -er, ly, -ly afflict, -ly esteem, thing), X slight [-ly], be swift (-er), (be, be more, make, re-) vile, whet.
    Total KJV occurrences: 82

    Job 3:3 KJV  Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived.

    Basically, to have low self esteem and to despise one’s birth is the Biblical example of cursing oneself. Hum…Let’s rise above the curse and understand our purpose and live the blessed life.

  15. 25 For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.

    26 I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet; yet trouble came.

    In a time of pain its easy to just give up, I know for me thats my go to defense; isolation, running away! But I have to stand and face my fears, but I can only do it with God. 2 Timothy…God has not given us the spirit of fear, but of power, and love, and of a sound mind.

  16. 3 Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived.

    4 Let that day be darkness; let not God regard it from above, neither let the light shine upon it.

    No matter what situation you may be in right now, don’t be discouraged. God is on your side and he’s willing to fight your battles, if your trust him and look to him both in times of need and in times of plenty.

  17. Fear can make you act psychotic. You don’t make rational decisions, you are in a state of panic and torment. It’s interesting that Job didn’t start cursing until his friends come around and point out his situation all the more to him. Whether we are going through a valley or over a mountain it’s very important the company you keep. Surround yourselves with people who will lift you up instead of bring you down. And keep your mindset toward Christ when you are around those going through tough times. You may be the only word of encouragement they get. Don’t help people slip further. Let’s lift up those around us..

  18. Joseph- Job was cursing his birthday. When he was cursing his birthday he wanted bad things to happen.

    Olivia-

    Michael- Job cursed the day he was born because all these bad things were happening. He basically wanted to die on his birthday.

    Nicole- frustrations come to us all. Sometimes things seem overwhelming,
    “From the end of the earth will I cry unto thee, when my heart is overwhelmed: lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭61:2‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Leaning on God can help you get through anything.

  19. Job instead of cursing god,cursed his own birth. He refused to blame god for the hardship that he was going through.

  20. 25 For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.

    26 I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet; yet trouble came.

    I’m trying times we must Pray for Peace that passeth all understanding. We always have to trust in God even though when cant conmpletly understand what he is doing in us and thru us.

  21. Job 3:25-26 (KJV Strong’s)

    25 For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me,
    and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.
    26 I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet;
    yet trouble came.

    Job shows us two things. No matter how terrible it may be God is right there. And no matter how terrible it may be it will probably never be as bad as job had it.

  22. 4 Let that day be darkness; let not God regard it from above, neither let the light shine upon it.

    5 Let darkness and the shadow of death stain it; let a cloud dwell upon it; let the blackness of the day terrify it.

    6 As for that night, let darkness seize upon it; let it not be joined unto the days of the year, let it not come into the number of the months.

    7 Lo, let that night be solitary, let no joyful voice come therein.

    Fear: an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.
    be afraid of (someone or something) as likely to be dangerous, painful, or threatening.

    This comes to us naturally. As people we fear things that we don’t understand; We need to fear the things that we do understand more. God is one that should be feared at all times. He can love us or chose to forsake us. For me; it has been a hard road, but I am learning that there is only one path and when I stray there are consequences. This past year has been very challenging in that I still have a lot to learn about the love and fear of God. I can now testify to the fact; that I have learned first hand of the consequences of not trusting in God. No matter what I’m going through: I know that I can trust in Him to hold me up. I thank you Jesus for all that you are doing in my life.

  23. 1 After this opened Job his mouth, and cursed his day

    It is so easy to get caught up in whats going around us that we lose site of whats in the long run of our walk with God. We all know how the story for Job ends but Job didnt have a book of Job to refer to encourage him. He just lived the experience and we now have his testimony to help us when we journey. when we are going through a storm, its helpful to keep in mind that it could be used to help someone in their journey with God.

  24. ““For the thing which I greatly fear comes upon me, And that of which I am afraid has come upon me.”
    ‭‭JOB‬ ‭3:25‬ ‭AMP‬‬
    Reading this verse the word fear stood out. I’ve heard it said that fear is faith in reverse. I pray that fear be removed from our hearts.

    “There is no fear in love [dread does not exist]. But perfect (complete, full-grown) love drives out fear, because fear involves [the expectation of divine] punishment, so the one who is afraid [of God’s judgment] is not perfected in love [has not grown into a sufficient understanding of God’s love]. We love, because He first loved us. If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates (works against) his [Christian] brother he is a liar; for the one who does not love his brother whom he has seen, cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from Him, that the one who loves God should also [unselfishly] love his brother and seek the best for him.”
    ‭‭1 JOHN‬ ‭4:18-21‬ ‭AMP‬‬

  25. 3 Let the day perish wherein I was born, and the night in which it was said, There is a man child conceived.

    Job did not deserve the targeted attack on him and his family. He was a blessed man because of his relationship with God. No matter how devastated Job is he doesn’t curse God. He regrets the day he was born. He knows that he hasn’t done anything against God but that whatever is going on God is in control. Even when everything is going wrong it doesn’t mean we have behaved unrighteous but that God sees us fit for a trial. Each trial will purify us to come out as gold.

  26. 26 I was not in safety, neither had I rest, neither was I quiet; yet trouble came.

    All throughout the chapter Job cries out for one thing, rest. It is only in God that we get real rest.

  27. 13 For now should I have lain still and been quiet, I should have slept: then had I been at rest,

    Many times when disaster strikes people either stand up or sit down. It’s a flight or flight reaction. Job is in such a large amount of sorrow from loss that he would rather crawl into a ball and never wake up again. The enemy wants nothing more than for us to give up or lash out. When we wait on the Lord then it allows God to deliver us and restore us as he will Job.

  28. 25 For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.

    God will test you so that you will grow in deeper in a relationship with Him and increase in faith.

  29. 2. After all of this, Job opened his mouth and broke the silence. He spoke a curse, not upon God but upon his day of birth. The Voice

    When he did speak, it still was not to curse God…it’s best to not speak at all than to speak that which could destroy you.

  30. Despite everything Job didn’t curse God. Many times we try to blame others for our own decisions that WE make. That is the beauty of God he let’s us choose what we want. Yes the enemy will try to tempt us but he can’t do it without Gods permission. We are standing on His promises, promises that the enemy wants to take away but we must fight and push for what is ours.

  31. 3“Let the day of my birth be erased, and the night I was conceived.

    We all will eventually reach a point that we will give in and give up. A problem may be so difficult to overcome, we just throw our hands up and quit. But Job, never cursed God. No matter how bad the situation continue to pray to God.

Leave a Reply

