Job Chapter 7

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 27

Job 7

1 Is there not an appointed time to man upon earth? are not his days also like the days of an hireling?

2 As a servant earnestly desireth the shadow, and as an hireling looketh for the reward of his work:

3 So am I made to possess months of vanity, and wearisome nights are appointed to me.

4 When I lie down, I say, When shall I arise, and the night be gone? and I am full of tossings to and fro unto the dawning of the day.

5 My flesh is clothed with worms and clods of dust; my skin is broken, and become loathsome.

6 My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle, and are spent without hope.

7 O remember that my life is wind: mine eye shall no more see good.

8 The eye of him that hath seen me shall see me no more: thine eyes are upon me, and I am not.

9 As the cloud is consumed and vanisheth away: so he that goeth down to the grave shall come up no more.

10 He shall return no more to his house, neither shall his place know him any more.

11 Therefore I will not refrain my mouth; I will speak in the anguish of my spirit; I will complain in the bitterness of my soul.

12 Am I a sea, or a whale, that thou settest a watch over me?

13 When I say, My bed shall comfort me, my couch shall ease my complaints;

14 Then thou scarest me with dreams, and terrifiest me through visions:

15 So that my soul chooseth strangling, and death rather than my life.

16 I loathe it; I would not live alway: let me alone; for my days are vanity.

17 What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

18 And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment?

19 How long wilt thou not depart from me, nor let me alone till I swallow down my spittle?

20 I have sinned; what shall I do unto thee, O thou preserver of men? why hast thou set me as a mark against thee, so that I am a burden to myself?

21 And why dost thou not pardon my transgression, and take away my iniquity? for now shall I sleep in the dust; and thou shalt seek me in the morning, but I shall not be.

33 thoughts on “Job Chapter 7

  1. Job 7:17 “What is mankind that you make so much of them, that you give them so much attention,

    Who am I?

    We are but dust, a preacher said,”We are glorified mud balls”. Yet we are made in his likeness and in his image. We are here for a moment and like a vapor are gone the next moment. Yet, when we praise, walls fall, chains break, prisoners are released.

    We are nothing yet God himself robed himself in flesh and died on a cross just for love. Job didn’t know of the coming redeemer like we do, he had more of a reason to feel how he did, and we sometimes cry for the smallest of things.

    One is for certain, you can be human with all of our “defect” and still be found blameless before God.

  2. 7 “What are people, that you should make so much of us, that you should think of us so often? (NLT)

    “Who am I that you are mindful of me? That you hear me when I call. Is it true that You are thinking of me? How you love me, it’s amazing.”

  3. Verse 17 AMP “What is man that You [should] magnify him [and think him important]? And that You are concerned about him?” Same verse NLT “What are people, that you should make so much of us, that you should think of us so often?” There are times that we may think that we are at the end of our rope or that nothing is going our way. I have done this and it always seems like the Lord lets me hear something or see something that makes me come to my senses and I have to repent. We have to remember Ephesians 2:10 NLT “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” We may not understand our current situation or why we are going through something; but, God has a plan.

  4. 20 I have sinned; what shall I do unto thee, O thou preserver of men? why hast thou set me as a mark against thee, so that I am a burden to myself?
    21 And why dost thou not pardon my transgression, and take away my iniquity? for now shall I sleep in the dust; and thou shalt seek me in the morning, but I shall not be.

  5. 17 What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

    18 And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment?
    I’m thankful for a God who cares about me. A God who looked down from heaven and thought I was worth saving so he came down to earth in the form of his son and died for me. This reminds me of the word’s of David : Who art man that thou are mindful of him? And the son of man that you visit him?

  6. Even though we were created feom dust and are born in sin, he thought I was worth saving. Pride should never be in the heart of mankind because without God we are nothing. When you understand the reason you are here because God is a merciful God, then you will be able to give God an absolute praise and thank him every day.

  7. iLove to Grow in the Word
    17“What are people, that you should make so much of us,
    that you should think of us so often?
    18For you examine us every morning
    and test us every moment.

    Wow, what a Word this morning. God is always thinking of us. His eyes are always upon us. Even when we go through the hardest and toughest times of our lives God is there. I only imagine that the words of Job written in these chapters about being alone and in misery is exactly what Jesus felt when he cried, “Father, why hast thou forsaken me”. The truth of the matter is, even though we go through some things, it doesnt mean God forsook us, it simply means we are going through a test.

  8. We want to complain about someone hurting our feelings and/or we can’t go to church with so and so, we don’t have near the trouble that Job suffered.
    Reading this chapter the song,” He thought I was worth saving” kept coming to my mind, and I’m so thankful that God saw fit to look down and chose me to be his.

  9. Words like this are dangerous. It can keep a man burdened and worried. Could cause a man to see that the years of him serving God could be worthless. We have to understand that God is all mighty, and has total wisdom. We need him. He doesn’t need us.

    “What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him? And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment? How long wilt thou not depart from me, nor let me alone till I swallow down my spittle?”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭7:17-19‬

  10. Job 7:17-18
    17) What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?
    18) And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment?

    This passage of scripture brought 2 other scriptures to mind.
    Ps. 8:4, “What is man, that thou art mindful of him? And the son of man, that thou visitest him.”
    Ps. 144:3, “LORD, what is man, that thou takes knowledge of him! or the son of man, that thou makest account of him!”

  11. 19 How long wilt thou not depart from me, nor let me alone till I swallow down my spittle?
    20 I have sinned; what shall I do unto thee, O thou preserver of men? why hast thou set me as a mark against thee, so that I am a burden to myself?
    21 And why dost thou not pardon my transgression, and take away my iniquity? for now shall I sleep in the dust; and thou shalt seek me in the morning, but I shall not be.

    Image for a moment God listening to Job. Does Job deserve this treatment? Does anyone or does everyone? Consider the following verses:
    Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God;”.
    Romans 5:12 “Therefore, just as through one man sin entered into the world, and death through sin, and so death spread to all men, because all sinned”

    Is Job exempt from this list of “all”? I do not believe he is. However, consider this: Mathew 7:11 “So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him.”

    So, while Job deserves any punishment that God gives, God does not want to punish him. I can only image what might have been going through God’s thinking listening to Job and watching him struggle through this test. As a father I know how hard it is to stand by and allow your children to learn things the hard way. We would love to step in and help them avoid pain and struggle, but as a human they need to develop the ability and knowledge they are capable of so much more than they ever thought possible.

  12. I Have A God Who Listens
    11 Therefore I will not refrain my mouth; I will speak in the anguish of my spirit; I will complain in the bitterness of my soul.

    Job was in anguish over everything that had come against him. I believe his trust and his love in his Savior was so strong he knew he could speak what he was feeling. In my times of loss and repeated losses I have too called out to God and asked and spoke of the anguish I was feeling. I have ever asked God do You not know how I am feeling and of course He does.
    I am so thankful that He allows us to be real and then all of a sudden I feel Gods presence sweep in and wrapping His loving arms around me.
    Job thought he had sinned. Job was hurting so badly he was just trying to find the answers
    . (I do not understand but I do know I have a God that loves me and cares
    so much for me. He knew what Job could take andHe knows what we can take.) If we allow God to hold us and know we will get through and that with each step we take we are getting stronger and stronger in Him.

  13. Job you are still complaining. Who are you to tell god that you have the right to complain you have no right job open you eye my god is a heal the one who take all pain. All you have to do is ask

  14. 13 When I say, My bed shall comfort me, my couch shall ease my complaints;
    14 Then thou scarest me with dreams, and terrifiest me through visions:
    15 So that my soul chooseth strangling, and death rather than my life.
    16 I loathe it; I would not live alway: let me alone; for my days are vanity.
    17 What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

    Job could not understand the length or depth of his sufferings. Yet he still does not curse God nor blame him. He does speak out his anguish and suffering but puts the blame on himself. We are tested and tried and God even lets go of the ‘reins’ to see where we will go and what we will choose to do. During our test we must hold tight to him because he can speak peace into every situation when the test is done. The key is to pass the test and not have to retake it! Help us Lord to look to you through it all. Sis Fielding sang a song at church named “Through It All” where the verse says through these storms of life we learn to trust and depend on Him.

  15. LIFE

    6 My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle, and are spent without hope.
    7 O remember that my life is wind: mine eye shall no more see good.
    8 The eye of him that hath seen me shall see me no more: thine eyes are upon me, and I am not.
    9 As the cloud is consumed and vanisheth away: so he that goeth down to the grave shall come up no more.

    As we reflect on this privilege we call LIFE, I am confident we all know someone who has gone to the grave and we are able to reflect on and relate to the words of Job here is that when they are gone to the grave they come up no more. It is a reality and biblical absolute that everyone with a LIFE with pass this way.

    A brief reflection on those that have been dear to us is to celebrate and remember their goodness. But what we do not know is what dreams were buried with them. What hopes were buried with them. What good intents were buried with them.

    I am confident that every one of us will carry a dream to the grave. Why because most of us are professional procrastinators. We all have GREAT PLANS when the time is right. But our days are swift and time is short and LIFE happens.

    My prayer today is that the words of Job will inspire us to move forward with intent, bracing ourselves for the unexpected, while positioning ourselves for the DREAMS as we prepare for eternity with JESUS. LIFE is what we have now, but for all it will eventually go to the grave.

    Bless you all in JESUS name.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  16. The torment of the mind is such a real thing. The fiery darts of the enemy would try to break us and destroy our mindset thus winning over us in victory. We must gird up our minds and when thoughts that could discourage us and take us low come we are strong in the word and spirit that we don’t allow these thoughts to take root.

    We were created in His image and likeness and can totally have His mindset every day, we just must pray and read His word.

  17. 7 O remember that my life is wind: mine eye shall no more see good.

    8 The eye of him that hath seen me shall see me no more: thine eyes are upon me, and I am not.

    9 As the cloud is consumed and vanisheth away: so he that goeth down to the grave shall come up no more.

    Life is short. We need to remember why we are here and what our purpose is before life slips away. Tomorrow is not guaranteed to any of us

  18. Oh Lord thank you for loving me so much, that your not just lioking down at me but you love me so much thst your with me. This chapter is really teaching me not to complain during my trials but offer my praise unto tge Lors. For He is worthy

  19. Job 7:17 (KJV Strong’s)

    17 What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him?
    and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

    Job issues the same sentiment as David.

    Psalms 8:4 (KJV Strong’s)

    4 What is man, that thou art mindful of him?
    and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

    Why does God even bother with us? We make mistakes, we aren’t perfect, and we fall into fleshly desires. We keep trying and do good, but if you wait around we will slip up again.

    The apostle Paul said that in the flesh there dwells no good thing.

    So why no just toss us aside like yesterday’s dirty laundry?

    LOVE

    Jesus truly and genuinely loves us, and refuses to give up on us. He made a commitment on the cross and isn’t going to stop. He understands our condition but more than that he sees our potential.

    Romans 5:8 (KJV Strong’s)
    8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.

  20. 17 What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

    18 And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment?

    19 How long wilt thou not depart from me, nor let me alone till I swallow down my spittle?

    What is man….? This came to mind as I read Job’s question to God.

    Psalms 139:7-12 NLT
    I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night— but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you.

    What are we who have been given the right to be called sons of God??

    1 Peter 2:9-10
    But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light; who once were not a people but are now the people of God, who had not obtained mercy but now have obtained mercy.

  21. “Therefore I will not keep silent; I will speak out in the anguish of my spirit, I will complain in the bitterness of my soul.

    Speaking out is not the problem here. On the other hand complaining out of buttress doesn’t glorify God but instead questions the Maker. Doing this insults God who deems Job worthy of this trial. When we go through trails it’s best best we don’t complain but seek God in our darkest times.

  22. 13 When I say, My bed shall comfort me, my couch shall ease my complaints;
    14 Then thou scarest me with dreams, and terrifiest me through visions:

    There is a place where we find ourselves in a very similar mindset. Sometimes these mindsets are self induced. I found that the best way to combat the negative mindset that I placed myself in was to praise and pray my way out.

    Now when Jesus gives you these dreams and visions, you have to ask him for your answers..

  23. My husband and I are teaching the kids how to ride a bike. They have fallen, gotten frustrated and angry yet we had to allow them to fall and fight through their anger in an effort to learn a skill they had not learned.
    So my husband tells my daughter “if you learn how to do it by Friday I will give you $20.00” and my mom says “I will double it” so Josiah gets in on the action and wants the same deal.

    The next day they are both outside eager to learn and have not mastered the skill but they are able to ride down the street.

    I said al this to say it is important that we keep our minds on heaven! Regardless of life’s trouble and hurts. We will fall and get hurt, we will get frustrated, and angry as we learn to walk the road of faith yet remember the reward is greater then the pain.

  24. 17 What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

    18 And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment?

    We are his children and Lord disciplines those He loves.

  25. 1 Is there not an appointed time to man upon earth? are not his days also like the days of an hireling?

    We all have a time appointed to us! Even if you dont want it, your time is your time, what we do with our time is important, we could abuse it, do meaningless things, talk about people, be in pity parties, live in un-forgiveness, be angry! Or we can treat it like precious commodity, we can build a relationship with God, pray, read, fast! We can do meaningful things for others and loved ones. Its our choice we all have a choice! I CHOOSE LIFE!

  26. 8 The eye of him that hath seen me shall see me no more: thine eyes are upon me, and I am not.

    I am not:

    I am not perfect, nor am I completely free of sin. When God looks upon me does He see me or does He see the things that I have done. He is an awesome God that no matter my iniquities; He is there to stand me back up. I am not a child of the Devil, but rather a child of the Almighty. The enemy gets no glory in my life. When God sets His eyes upon me: I am not faultless. To be perfect would mean that I wouldn’t need God’s guidance, but I need Him every day. Thank you Jesus for coming into my life and guiding me. To see that I am not condemned by man or by the enemy. God gets the glory for my life……..Amen!!!!

  27. “When I say, My bed shall comfort me, my couch shall ease my complaint; Then thou scarest me with dreams, and terrifiest me through visions: So that my soul chooseth strangling, and death rather than my life.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭7:13-15‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    I have heard from people that are in the depths of depression say that they want to sleep all the time. This would be the way the Lord is telling them to get up! When you don’t have rest when you lay down, find out why. The Lord can give you sweet rest, but if you are always terrified when you lay down or
    Rest then you need to find out why. Read the Word. Encourage yourself in the Lord. Things will change and sweet rest will return again.

  28. 17. What is man, that thou shouldest magnify him? and that thou shouldest set thine heart upon him?

    18. And that thou shouldest visit him every morning, and try him every moment?

    Who am I that The King would bleed and die for
    Who am I that He would pray not my will, Thine Lord
    The answer I may never know
    Why He ever loved me so
    But to that old rugged cross He’d go
    For who am I?

  29. 20 If I have sinned, what have I done to you, O watcher of all humanity? Why make me your target? Am I a burden to you?

    Job seems to think that God is the tormentor here. He doesn’t understand why God is allowing such terrible things to happen. We too will start to blame God when things dont go our way. We question God, ask these same questions as Job did. We must continue to pray unto God, until we see results and blessings.

Leave a Reply

