Job Chapter 13

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 2

Job 13

1 Lo, mine eye hath seen all this, mine ear hath heard and understood it.

2 What ye know, the same do I know also: I am not inferior unto you.

3 Surely I would speak to the Almighty, and I desire to reason with God.

4 But ye are forgers of lies, ye are all physicians of no value.

5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

6 Hear now my reasoning, and hearken to the pleadings of my lips.

7 Will ye speak wickedly for God? and talk deceitfully for him?

8 Will ye accept his person? will ye contend for God?

9 Is it good that he should search you out? or as one man mocketh another, do ye so mock him?

10 He will surely reprove you, if ye do secretly accept persons.

11 Shall not his excellency make you afraid? and his dread fall upon you?

12 Your remembrances are like unto ashes, your bodies to bodies of clay.

13 Hold your peace, let me alone, that I may speak, and let come on me what will.

14 Wherefore do I take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hand?

15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

17 Hear diligently my speech, and my declaration with your ears.

18 Behold now, I have ordered my cause; I know that I shall be justified.

19 Who is he that will plead with me? for now, if I hold my tongue, I shall give up the ghost.

20 Only do not two things unto me: then will I not hide myself from thee.

21 Withdraw thine hand far from me: and let not thy dread make me afraid.

22 Then call thou, and I will answer: or let me speak, and answer thou me.

23 How many are mine iniquities and sins? make me to know my transgression and my sin.

24 Wherefore hidest thou thy face, and holdest me for thine enemy?

25 Wilt thou break a leaf driven to and fro? and wilt thou pursue the dry stubble?

26 For thou writest bitter things against me, and makest me to possess the iniquities of my youth.

27 Thou puttest my feet also in the stocks, and lookest narrowly unto all my paths; thou settest a print upon the heels of my feet.

28 And he, as a rotten thing, consumeth, as a garment that is moth eaten.

54 thoughts on “Job Chapter 13

  1. 15. Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    It’s easy to say for us who haven’t been through what Job had, but to have everything taken away except his life, and still be able to say this…no wonder God had such confidence in him!

  2. Job 13:23, (NLT)
    “Tell me, what have I done wrong? Show me my rebellion and my sin.”

    This scripture made me think of the message preached Saturday night.
    The 13th year (the year of Rebellion) is gone. This is a New Year, and it is time to GO!

  3. 13 Hold your peace, let me alone, that I may speak, and let come on me what will.

    14 Wherefore do I take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hand?

    15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    Job ‘s Proclamation : Yet Will I Trust

    Job still had a faith in God. Job’s replies to his friends was he was not going to quit he was not going to allow their words to distract him from his love for God. I’m sure his friends meant well, I guess…..Sometimes we just have to say would you be quiet let’s see what God is going to do. Easier said than done but Job continued his trust in God.

    I will trust in You Lord. I will maintain mine ways of worship before you. Tho times I have felt I would die from the turmoils of this life You reassure me daily I will live. I live for a purpose to proclaim what You have been to me and what You have to give to others.
    Let me continually be faithful, help me to continually place my life in your hands. When I stumble I know you are there to gently guide me.
    Yet I will Trust continually in You.

  4. 11 Shall not his excellency make you afraid? and his dread fall upon you?

    12 Your remembrances are like unto ashes, your bodies to bodies of clay.

    Something that we all need is a fear of God, that we know he is the creator of all things and his power is unimaginable. That tomorrow isn’t guaranteed to us, God can take the breath from our bodies and just like that we turn back to dust. This fear of God can help keep us from going back to sinful lifestyle.

  5. 14 Wherefore do I take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hand?

    15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

    Where is your trust in God?

  6. 5 If only you could be silent!
    That’s the wisest thing you could do.
    6 Listen to my charge;
    pay attention to my arguments

    Amen!!! This is so true, many times we want to fight and argue with God. We want to fight with the one who knows it all and if we do that its just not going to work. Us fighting and resisting Him is not going to get us anywhere. I know I have tried to fight God and tell Him No No and No but that’s just me being selfish. I can’t call myself a Christian and not obey His commands. I don’t want to stand in front of God and Him question me everything I could’ve and should’ve done. I have to see things in the spiritual and trust Him COMPLETELY and let Him operate in me. I just have to let go of everything and let Him be in control. Help me daily Lord to be sensitive to your spirit, obey your commands, and love how you love.

  7. As humans we like to go our own way instead of God’s way . We like to fight and resist God .we need to stop being ankle deep. We need to say ok God have your way. It is Jesus that can make us whole

  8. 5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom

    Sometimes the best thing we can do is to shut our mouths! I really like how Job says it to his ‘friends’. We have the tendency to dig ourselves a deep hole with our mouths, and it is wisdom to listen, reflect and pray before speaking.

    23 How many are mine iniquities and sins? make me to know my transgression and my sin.

    These men could not possibly know if Job had sinned and yet they spoke volumes against him. We are to mourn with those that mourn, rejoice with them that rejoice, etc. As a friend, we can listen to and pray for others, not speak condemnation.

  9. Verses 13-18
    In God we trust, it says it on the quarter, on the 1 dollar bill, the 5 dollar bill, the 10, the 20, 50, 100
    “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” -Mathew 6:34
    Day by day, hour by hour, minute by minute, second by second…lifes a mystery but trust in God and GO. With God on our side whos against us?
    Love you all!

  10. Verse 16 NLT “But this is what will save me—I am not godless. If I were, I could not stand before him.” I have a God who loves me and who thought I was worth dying for. We too must now GO and show His love as 1 John 4:7-10 MSG says “My beloved friends, let us continue to love each other since love comes from God. Everyone who loves is born of God and experiences a relationship with God. The person who refuses to love doesn’t know the first thing about God, because God is love—so you can’t know him if you don’t love. This is how God showed his love for us: God sent his only Son into the world so we might live through him. This is the kind of love we are talking about—not that we once upon a time loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to clear away our sins and the damage they’ve done to our relationship with God.”

  11. Job 13:15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him : but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    We must believe that all shall work for good to us, even when all seems to make against us. We must cleave to God ,yea, though we cannot for the present find comfort in him. In a dying hour we must derive from him living comforts; and this is to trust in him, though he slay us.

  12. 15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    Yet job had problem he still trust in god
    Job knew that if he could talk to god that something will begin to change job lay everything aside to present his case
    Sometime time we might not understand the pain we are in but if we put our trust in the lord we will become stronger

  13. Job 13:13 Keep silent and let me speak then let it come to me what may. Why do I put myself in jeopardy and take my life in my hands? Though he slay me yet will I hope in him. I will surely defend my ways to his face. Indeed this will turn out for my deliverance for no godless person would dare come before him!

    Many times we go through trials because of our own doing but there are some trials that God allows us to go through so that he can mold and shape us according to his will. If we are never melted down in the fire how can we let God shine in us.

  14. 5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

    Sometimes the wisest thing to do is just listen. If we are always telling God this or that. How then can he speak to us? We all have that friend that just doesn’t seem to stop talking. And sometimes you just want to yell at them and say be quiet! Sometimes we just need to hold our peace and let God do his thing. His thong is to be God. I have gone through things that I tried my hardest to make good and I couldn’t. But when I stepped back and let God, WOW!. Look what God can do. So keep your peace and let GOD and let GOd. Let’s Go POFW!

  15. 11 Doesn’t his majesty terrify you? Doesn’t your fear of him overwhelm you? (NLT)

    This verse reminded me of a message Bro. Luther Sanchez preached called “A Terrible God.” If we don’t reverence God in such a manner as this verse questions, then we need to God deeper because we’re probably only splashing around in that kiddie pool like Pastor mentioned last night. Job is overwhelmed with trouble yet still understands the power of God and how much more terrible our God is compared to the troubles he faces. Search me God, know me, and let me know You as the terrible God that You are!

  16. Job held on to his trust in God. He didnt attempt to pick his situation up and try to correct it but waited on God. In situations that we face, we ( I) have tried to fix them because i thought God wasnt moving fast enough. But with trial and error i learned to leave it in Gods hand because He knows whats best for me. Trustibg in God through our situations, thats growth

  17. 15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    What an awesome statement. I have heard this statement all my Christian life and had an understanding of the meaning. However, one cannot fully understand or grasp the depth of its full meaning until we are personally in the trenches fighting the fight to maintain our faith in God. We can read how God will never forsake us. We can read how He is our strength. However, when we are faced with the worst that we can imagine it is sometimes difficult to maintain our faith.

    It is a great statement to say “though He slay me, yet I will trust Him”. It would be great to be able to say that I have had great success with this but I cannot. After some time and great counseling I can say that I have submitted to the theory. Maybe, in the future, I can adopt to this theory sooner and maybe my immediate submission to the will of the Lord will lessen the duration of my test.

  18. 3 Surely I would speak to the Almighty, and I desire to reason with God.

    4 But ye are forgers of lies, ye are all physicians of no value.

    5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

    6 Hear now my reasoning, and hearken to the pleadings of my lips.

    7 Will ye speak wickedly for God? and talk deceitfully for him?

    8 Will ye accept his person? will ye contend for God?

    How well do we represent the living God? Are we careful to speak what he speaks or do we speak what we think he should be speaking? Are we representing the true Jesus or the one we want to fit our lives? Our words and actions as christians portray Jesus to the world. Who do we show the world God is? Do we speak wickedly for God or do we speak Gods truth?

  19. “Remove your heavy hand from me, and don’t terrify me with your awesome presence.”
    ‭‭Job 13:21

    There’s times when we want the things of God and for him to allow us to do something. But we don’t want the wrath of God….

  20. 13 Hold your peace, let me alone, that I may speak, and let come on me what will.

    14 Wherefore do I take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hand?

    15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.
    Trust in the lord will get you far, never loose faith

  21. 13-2
    What we know the same do i know also. I am not inferior unto you.
    I AM NOT INFERIOR UNTO YOU
    This shows the deep resentment that Job had towards friends

  22. BE REAL

    15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.
    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

    The friends of Job have pressed him through false accusations and prophetic declarations. However, GOD and Job alone know his innocence and only GOD knows the permission granted to satan by GOD.

    Job in his response proves GOD correct again and satan a liar. Yes, Job is hurt, wounded and rejected. We also may find ourselves in this condition at times in our life.

    BUT.

    I will maintain mine owns ways before him. (I will BE REAL and follow what I know as TRUTH.)

    Though he slay me, yet will I TRUST in HIM. (There is nothing that can be said or that can happen to dissolve my TRUST in GOD.)

    GOD through life will bring us to opportunities to BE REAL before HIM.

    KNOW the LORD our GOD through Prayer and the WORD of GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  23. AMP – 15 “Even though He kills me;
    I will hope in Him.
    Nevertheless, I will argue my ways to His face.
    16 “This also will be my salvation,
    For a godless man may not come before Him.
    17 “Listen diligently to my speech,
    And let my declaration fill your ears.
    18 “Behold now, I have prepared my case;
    I know that I will be vindicated

    Sometimes when we don’t understand why we are going through what we are going through, we plead our case of faithfulness to the Lord, our ambitions, our visions and dreams, wanting to make sure God knows what’s on our heart. I believe it’s okay to plead our cause to the Lord, we just can’t become bitter when we don’t like HIS answer, or no answer.

    Remembering all things work together for our good, is not always easy.

  24. Job 13:26-27 (MSG)
    26 You compile a long list of mean things about me,
    even hold me accountable for the sins of my youth.
    27 You hobble me so I can’t move about.
    You watch every move I make,
    and brand me as a dangerous character.

    Job goes from requesting to accusing. First he asks if God will lay off the afflictions, and speak with him face to face. Next he accuses God of punishing him for the sins of his youth, and pinning him in as a dangerous character.

    Trial reveals character. People don’t see who we truly are until we are going through something. Just as fire removes the impurities it also exposes them first.

    No job had not sinned but he was getting dangerously close because of his attitude.

  25. 5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

    The worst thing to do when someone is having trouble in their lives is tey and figure out why. We cannot figure out why God does the things he does but we know that he is just. This is why Job said this. Keeping your mouth shut and letting God do his job is wisdom.

  26. It’s sad that you see who your true friends are, when you are in the mist of a test and they choose to hate on you, your family, and your relationship with God.
    But just like Job in this Chapter we must stand our ground with God and say goodbye to those who have dirt in their mouths.
    A lot has to happen in the start of a new year. Let’s get to work!

  27. iLove to GO Blog

    “As for you, you smear me with lies. As physicians, you are worthless quacks.

    “Are Snyou defending God with lies? Do you make your dishonest arguments for his sake?”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭13:4, 7‬ ‭NLT

    Once again we see Job calling out his friends for the words they have spoken out against him. Job gives us an example of a man who is in misery that is able to call out to God and express his frustrations…but later in the book of Job, it even says that Job had to repent.
    “I take back everything I said, and I sit in dust and ashes to show my repentance.””
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭42:6‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Lesson learned:
    If we speak our frustrations to God, be ready to repent.😇

  28. 15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

    Job had a trust and confidence in God that is simply amazing. To all that he went through and keep the faith is incredible. We must trust in God just as job did and know that he’s in control!

  29. 21 Withdraw thine hand far from me: and let not thy dread make me afraid.

    22 Then call thou, and I will answer: or let me speak, and answer thou me.

    23 How many are mine iniquities and sins? make me to know my transgression and my sin.

    24 Wherefore hidest thou thy face, and holdest me for thine enemy?

    Too many times we mistake Gods silence for rejection. But if God gave us every answer right when we wanted it, our faith would never be strengthened!

  30. Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him; I will surely defend my ways to his face.
    Job 13:15 NIV

    Sometimes we are during with a little bit of rain in our lives and we can’t see our way out, but we should always look to Job for the example. No matter how bad it got for him he always believed, and trusted his God even if God did not pull him out his faith was greater.

  31. 15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    Our trust in God should exceed than the trust we put in our own flesh.

  32. 2 What ye know, the same do I know also: I am not inferior unto you.

    Jobs boldness and confidence when faces with trouble gives me strength. To know that he went through so much and grew through it to a deeper place of trust in God. I pray that in times of trouble I have more confidence in God than in the trouble that surrounds me.

  33. 15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

  34. 15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

    True trust of faith is allowing God to bring calamity in your life and still choosing to trust in Him

  35. 5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

    Sometimes its best to just be quiet, we dont always have the answers, we cant figure out God and we cant understand why he does what he does. Its hard to be quiet when you have so many things to say, I have to ask my self, is the abundance of words and questions PRIDE, lack of response and lack of words is sometimes the wisest decision. How can I hear the answer if im always asking a question, without a pause?

  36. 14 Wherefore do I take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hand?

    15 Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.

    16 He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him.

    17 Hear diligently my speech, and my declaration with your ears.

    Take my flesh in my teeth, and put my life in mine hands. After reading this chapter; it reminded me that I need to bring not just my mind, but my whole body into sudjection. This is where I have difficulty. There are times: more than others that I have to remind myself that I’m not in control. I fight against my flesh daily. Sometimes I want God to slay me spiritually; so that I can completely subject myself to Him. I know that I can trust in the Lord to be my strength, my foundation; but then my flesh gets in the way. I need to just fall back into the water and let God do His work in me. I need to move deeper into the water, GO deeper into the glory of God and let Him raise me up. Thank you Jesus….Amen!!!

  37. 5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom.

    Unfortunately, many times man will speak out of ignorance, showing his foolishness, just to try to sound holy or wise…

  38. How many are mine iniquities and sins? make me to know my transgression and my sin.
    Job 13:23 KJV

    Many are mine inquities and sins!!! Thank you JESUS for your GREAT MERCY!!! Although you allow me to know mine iniquities and sins, I will never fully comprehend your love for me. I love you DADDY

  39. “Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭13:15‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Trusting God means trusting all the time, not just when things are easy.

  40. Job 13: 9 Would it turn out well if he examined you? Could you deceive him as you might deceive a mortal? NLT

    If you were to be examined, would you pass or fail? You can’t deceive God. You can hide your sins from people for so long.
    Luke 8:17 For nothing is secret, that shall not be made manifest; neither any thing hid, that shall not be known and come abroad.

  41. ““Oh, that you would be completely silent, And that silence would be your wisdom!”
    ‭‭JOB‬ ‭13:5‬ ‭AMP‬‬

    Lord, that you would bridle my tongue. And that I would choose my words wisely.

    “He who has knowledge restrains and is careful with his words, And a man of understanding and wisdom has a cool spirit (self-control, an even temper).”
    ‭‭PROVERBS‬ ‭17:27‬ ‭AMP‬‬

  42. Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain mine own ways before him. He also shall be my salvation: for an hypocrite shall not come before him. (‭Job‬ ‭13‬:‭15-16‬ KJV)

    I need to remember that no matter the season that I am in my life, I must truly TRUST IN THE LORD with all of my heart…..He has already written out His plan for my life, meaning….no matter what the weapon is, devil….I WIN through JESUS CHRIST!!!!!!!!

  43. 5 O that ye would altogether hold your peace! and it should be your wisdom

    It is wise to listen and to study a matter than jump to conclusions and assume things.

    Proverbs 10:14Living Bible (TLB)

    14 A wise man holds his tongue. Only a fool blurts out everything he knows; that only leads to sorrow and trouble.

    Even a fool is counted wise when he holds his peace; When he shuts his lips, he is considered perceptive.

    Proverbs 17:28 NKJV

  44. 5 Oh, that you would be silent, And it would be your wisdom! NKJV
    Sometimes we have to keep our mouth shut so that we can hear God speaking.

  45. 4 But ye are forgers of lies, ye are all physicians of no value.

    Prob the best way to say, “you guys are completely worthless”. I think at this point Job was so troubled by his friends that he prob forgot how much pain he was in.

  46. 18 Behold now, I have ordered my cause; I know that I shall be justified.

    Job has given his case over to the judge. He is putting all his trust that God will avenge him and restore him. When we put our trust in God and stop listening to the accusations of those around us that we know are false we focus on God’s will and not our own. We allow God to work in our lives, creating a way when there seems no way out.

  47. 3 As for me, I would speak directly to the Almighty. I want to argue my case with God himself. 4 As for you, you smear me with lies. As physicians, you are worthless quacks.

    I never would have guessed in any bible translation “quack” would be used. Yes, we like to disagree with others from time to time. Especially with doctors who tell us there is no hope for a cure, when a family member is ailing. We take our case to God himself, and many times he has healed and blessed us, and shown his miracles for all to see.

Leave a Reply

