Job Chapter 16

30 Days of Prayer – Day 5

PRAY For God to help His people to overcome the fear “to go to all that He shall send them and to speak all that he has commanded” (Jeremiah 1:7).

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 5

Job 16

1 Then Job answered and said,

2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.

3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.

5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

6 Though I speak, my grief is not asswaged: and though I forbear, what am I eased?

7 But now he hath made me weary: thou hast made desolate all my company.

8 And thou hast filled me with wrinkles, which is a witness against me: and my leanness rising up in me beareth witness to my face.

9 He teareth me in his wrath, who hateth me: he gnasheth upon me with his teeth; mine enemy sharpeneth his eyes upon me.

10 They have gaped upon me with their mouth; they have smitten me upon the cheek reproachfully; they have gathered themselves together against me.

11 God hath delivered me to the ungodly, and turned me over into the hands of the wicked.

12 I was at ease, but he hath broken me asunder: he hath also taken me by my neck, and shaken me to pieces, and set me up for his mark.

13 His archers compass me round about, he cleaveth my reins asunder, and doth not spare; he poureth out my gall upon the ground.

14 He breaketh me with breach upon breach, he runneth upon me like a giant.

15 I have sewed sackcloth upon my skin, and defiled my horn in the dust.

16 My face is foul with weeping, and on my eyelids is the shadow of death;

17 Not for any injustice in mine hands: also my prayer is pure.

18 O earth, cover not thou my blood, and let my cry have no place.

19 Also now, behold, my witness is in heaven, and my record is on high.

20 My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.

21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!

22 When a few years are come, then I shall go the way whence I shall not return.

57 thoughts on “Job Chapter 16

  1. 2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all..
    14 He breaketh me with breach upon breach, he runneth upon me like a giant.
    15 I have sewed sackcloth upon my skin, and defiled my horn in the dust.
    16 My face is foul with weeping, and on my eyelids is the shadow of death;
    17 Not for any injustice in mine hands: also my prayer is pure.

    Words can cut you like a knife, especially if theyre foul words about our father. Though were down and the enemy keeps bringing us down we just gotta stay faithful and keep praying. Just keep on praying.

  2. Verses 4-5 NLT “I could say the same things if you were in my place. I could spout off criticism and shake my head at you. But if it were me, I would encourage you. I would try to take away your grief.” We must encourage one another and step in the gap for someone who may be struggling. Let us be building blocks to their success in Christ; not stumbling blocks to their failure.

    Verse 21 NLT “I need someone to mediate between God and me, as a person mediates between friends.” 1 John 4:21 NLT says “And he has given us this command: Those who love God must also love their fellow believers.[a]” Let us pray for one another and GO together in Jesus name.

  3. 2. Job: All the things from you sound the same. You are all terrible as comforters! Voice

    -Those who seldom offer comfort are out of practice.

    3. Have we reached the end of your windy words, or are you sick with something that compels you to argue with me? Voice

    – A lot of words do not equal a lot of comfort, especially when spoken with condemnation.

    4. If we were to trade places, I could rattle on as you do. I could compose eloquent speeches as you do and shake my head smugly at you and your problems. Voice

    -Anyone can look down their nose and give a speech, but is that what we need friends for?

    5. But I believe I would use my words to encourage you; my lips would move only to offer you relief. Voice

    -Words can be used to hurt or to heal – let’s learn to choose ours carefully.

  4. Job 16:4-5 (AMP)
    4) I also could speak like you, if you were in my place; I could compose and join words together against you and shake my head at you.
    5) (But instead) I could strengthen and encourage you with (the words of) my mouth, and the consolation and solace of my lips would soothe your sufferings and lessen your anguish.

    When we see a brother or sister suffering, we need to encourage and strengthen them with our words. We need to speak words of life into them.

    Romans 15:1, “We then that are strong ought to bear the infimities of the weak, and not to please oursleves.”
    Galatians 6:2, “Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.”

  5. 2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.

    3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

    No matter what we go through in life, or how blessed we become there will always be someone to ridecule us when things are not as great as they once were. We will have naysayers and backbiters, there will be people who act like friends and tear us down when we fall but our righteousness is in Christ and no one else.

  6. 4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.

    5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

    We should encourage and strengthen each other in the Lord .

  7. Everyone will find out in there time of trouble or pain who their true friends are. A true friend will encourage you when you’re having a hard time. A true friend will tell you the truth even if it hurts. A true friend will be there even when it’s not convenient. When you have a friend like that, you are set to win.

  8. 4) I also could speak like you, if you were in my place; I could compose and join words together against you and shake my head at you.
    5) (But instead) I could strengthen and encourage you with (the words of) my mouth, and the consolation and solace of my lips would soothe your sufferings and lessen your anguish.
    Whenever we see someone in a bad situation we have a choice to make as to how we will respond. God shows us our character by giving us the choice. We make the choice to encourage, and bless rather than curse. We should always take the opportunity to bless and encourage people and give God the chance to bless people

  9. iLove to Go Blog
    Job 16:10-11 NLT People jeer and laugh at me. They slap my cheek in contempt. A mob gathers against me. (11) God has handed me over to sinners. He has tossed me into the hands of the wicked.

    Wow, as I read this scripture this morning, I thought “Wow, this sounds like the cross. I realize Job was thousands of years before the cross, but doesn’t this sound like a prophetic scripture of the crucifixion of Jesus on the cross? Job went through some pain and suffering but Jesus went through more. Hebrews 4:15 NLT This High Priest of ours understands our weaknesses, for He faced all of the same testings we do, yet He did not sin.

  10. Job 16:19-22 (NLT)
    19 Even now my witness is in heaven.
    My advocate is there on high.
    20 My friends scorn me,
    but I pour out my tears to God.
    21 I need someone to mediate between God and me,
    as a person mediates between friends.
    22 For soon I must go down that road
    from which I will never return.

    We have ALL sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. None are innocent. None are guiltless. We have all missed the mark and are deserving of judgment.

    1 John 2:1 (KJV Strong’s)
    1 My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous:

    Because of Christ we have a mediator, a lawyer, a defender. He pleads the blood on our behalf. He cries not guilty, he says that his punishment is sufficient for our sin. Jesus Christ is our redeemer and the propitiation, appeasement, and atonement of our sins.

    Be like Job. Turn your tears and frustrations toward heaven. Plead your case before God, and then leave it in his hands. He is fighting on our behalf.

  11. Look and recognize God’s hand

    11-12 God hath delivered me to the ungodly, and turned me over into the hands of the wicked. I was at ease, but he hath broken me asunder: he hath also taken me by my neck, and shaken me to pieces, and set me up for his mark.

    Tests and trials from God are situations that, by design, prove the quality of our character. God always tests us in comparison to His character and for a specific purpose. Sometimes, we may not want to believe that God would punish us in such a way. We cannot think like that. We have to see the situations in our life as the test and trial they really are. We have to learn to look for God’s hand in our circumstances. When we realize that no matter the situation; it is all part of God’s plan, we can then persevere to the finish.

    The word temptation comes from the Latin word tentatio, which means trial. Therefore, to tempt can also mean to test. God tests us to bring out the best in us, (not to destroy us) but like a devoted teacher, He keeps supporting us during the testing period, guiding us to learn positive lessons. The testing of our faith is similar to what we do when we work out. It may be easier to pass the time snoozing comfortably in a hammock, but only the pain of the burn can produce the strong muscles. Working out—physically or spiritually—can be painful, but the results help us build enough strength to persevere when we face adversity.

  12. 21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbor!
    22 When a few years are come, then I shall go the way whence I shall not return.

    This is what Job needs from his friends: for them to pray and plead with God to turn his situation around. We have friends right now that need us to plead for their salvation. Ps 144:7 from 30 Days of Prayer tells us to pray that God would send his hand from above to save and deliver souls from the depths of despair and destruction. We heard it preached last night that this is the sign of a true church. I pray for this region: from Witchita Falls to Denton, to Waco, to Abilene & back to Witchita Falls…for a harvest of backsliders and souls to come to this truth and be saved. In Jesus name

  13. Job is describing what it feels like to go through a trial we don’t believe is necessary. I think we are all guilty of this mindset. Job says he was at ease, he did no injustice, and his prayers were pure and then all of a sudden hell has broken loose on jobs life. He has been surrounded by death and lost many things. He feels beaten and broken down. His emotions are everywhere. Our trials, much like jobs, can seem to come from nowhere and in the midst of our pain we tend to wonder things like “why me?”, “have I done something wrong?”, “where is God?”, or “why has God forsaken me?” When in reality our trial is there for a reason

    Zechariah 13:9

    And I will bring the third part through the fire,
    and will refine them as silver is refined,
    and will try them as gold is tried:
    they shall call on my name, and I will hear them:
    I will say, It is my people:
    and they shall say, The Lord is my God.

    1 Peter 1:7
    That the trial of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honour and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ:

    1 Peter 4:12-13
    Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you: But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.

    When the Lord tries us with fire, we may think it unnecessary but God tries the faith of his people. There are those who are destroyed by the fire, and there are those who come through the fire and God says these are my people.

  14. Shalld vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest? I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead I could heap up words against you,and shake mine head at you. O Lord Jesus Christ help me to be humble, and help me from the wolf’s. thank you Lord Jesus Christ for to day word amen.

  15. 4 I could say the same things if you were in my place.
    I could spout off criticism and shake my head at you.
    5 But if it were me, I would encourage you.
    I would try to take away your grief.

    As we walk through life, we will encounter others who are hurting and in need, and we are blessed with opportunities to show them the true love of Jesus Christ through our actions and words!
    Don’t be the salt in the wound, but rather an aid in the healing!

    John 15:12 – This is my commandment, That ye love one another, as I have loved you.

  16. 20 My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.
    21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!

    As this week passes, I often think about how many souls are crying out this same cry, in our region, for a neighbor to cry out to God for them, that they might be healed or delivered… That they might be saved…

  17. In the time of weakness we should be able to lifted our Neighbors hands and encourage in the lord

    But if it were me, I would encourage you. I would try to take away your grief. Instead, I suffer if I defend myself, and I suffer no less if I refuse to speak.
    Job 16:5‭-‬6 NLT

  18. 4 I could say the same things if you were in my place. I could spout off criticism and shake my head at you.
    5 But if it were me, I would encourage you. I would try to take away your grief. (NLT)

    Know when someone needs you to cry with them, to rejoice with them, to encourage them… it’s imperative we are sensitive to their feelings if we chose to speak with them. The best thing we can do though? Pray!

  19. Joseph- “I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭16:2‬ ‭KJV‬‬
    Job heard many things from his friends that said he was doing something bad to make God do that to you.

    Olivia-“He breaketh me with breach upon breach, he runneth upon me like a giant.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭16:14‬ ‭KJV‬‬
    Job is hurt and feels like he can’t do anything. Job is scared because he thinks someone might hurt him.

    Nicole-
    “I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭16:2‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Job’s friends were terrible comforters. They came over to help him and make him feel better but all they have done is tell him how horrible he must have been for this to happen to him. When we go to comfort or encourage someone we need to make sure that we are doing that. Words can pierce. In situations where things that we say can hurt we need to just be a quiet friend. Possibly encourage with an uplifting scripture. It is not a friend’S job to blame someone who is hurting. Build up, don’t blame. Encourage, don’t point out pain. It’s easy for a hurting person to stay hurting. It’s a friend’s job to encourage them to help them become themselves again.

  20. But my mouth would encourage you; comfort from my lips would bring you relief.
    Job 16:5 NIV

    Everybody goes through troubles, struggles or has a bad day and it seems that nothing can go right and all some people chose to do is judge and criticize but it’s up to us to use the Word of God to encourage and bring comfort to them that go through this. We must remember that we ourselves might find us in the same situation and we may also need encouragement and comfort. Our tongues can be used to kill or give life.

  21. 16 Then Job answered and said,
    2 “I have heard many such things; Wearisome and miserable comforters are you all. 3 “Is there no end to [your futile] words of wind?
    Or what plagues you [so much] that you [so boldly] answer [me like this]?
    4 “I also could speak like you, If you were in my place;
    I could compose and join words together against you
    And shake my head at you.
    5 “[But instead] I could strengthen and encourage you with [the words of] my mouth, And the consolation and solace of my lips would soothe your suffering and lessen your anguish.

    This passage should make all of us look at our friendships. What kind of friend/example/leader are we? Are we the kind that is going to speak negative to someone who is already low because of their situation? Are we the kind that is going to join their pity party and make them feel worse?
    No, we should have enough Word of God in our heart to first be honest with them and let them know that their situation is not forever, God can and will bring them through. Secondly show them that attitude is everything. If they begin to speak those things that are not as though they were, and praise God for where they are, they can praise their way-out of their situation.

    Let’s be leaders! Let’s do it God’s way! Let’s lead by praising our way through our situations, and their exhibiting that same advice to those in the midst of trials/tests in their lives.

  22. Job 16:19 My witness is in heaven implies an advance in Job’s faith over 9:33,where he pleaded for an impartial arbiter.He seems certain here that there is a heavenly witness who will testify on his behalf.

    Romans 1:9 For God is my witness, whom I serve with my spirit in the gospel of his Son, that without ceasing I make mention of you always in my prayers;
    Making request, if by any means now at length I might have a prosperous journey by the will of God to come unto you.

  23. 20 My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.
    There is no better friend that Jesus……..Reminds me of the song
    What a friend we have in Jesus
    All our sins and griefs to bear
    And what a privilege to carry
    Everything to God in prayer

  24. 16-2
    I have heard many such things miserable comforters are ur all
    The discussion degenerates into a series of insults and name calling . Job protests his innocence.

  25. FLIP THE SCRIPT

    2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.
    3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?
    4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.
    5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

    A wise approach to people that are hurting and or discouraged is to “TRADE PALCES” for a moment. If I were in the same situation, what would I want to hear, do or think. This is only a place to begin, not an absolute rule for approaching hurting people.

    Facts to consider:

    1. I dont know all the details of their dilemma.
    2. I dont know all the details of their dilemma.
    3. I dont know all the details of their dilemma.
    4. I dont know all the details of their dilemma.
    5. I dont know all the details of their dilemma.
    6. Be sensitive to GOD in regards to the situation.
    7. Be sensitive to the individual in regards to the situation.
    8. Speak words of TRUTH, FAITH and HOPE.
    9. Dont try to be JESUS for them.
    10. Everyone does not want to be encouraged.

    Job was seeking for a glimmer of hope in deliverance from this trial. Possibly the ill-timed words delivered by the lips of Jobs friends, delayed or detoured his diliverance. But, GOD knew the integrity of Job.

    GOD has called HIS Church in these last days to be HOPE to a hopeless world, to be help to an needy people and to be righteous in a wicked world.

    I Pray JESUS grant us wisdom to FLIP THE SCRIPT in these last days to strengthen the saint and save the sinner. In JESUS name.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  26. 5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

    This is a eloquent way to say that he’s wasting his breath. We know you cannot correct a fool. He knows he could waste his time arguing and shaking his head. Job knows that it would not bring him any relief and only more misery. Basically Job wants to agree to disagree. When someone tries to speak into our lives without God given wisdom of what we are going through they become miserable comforters.

  27. 2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.

    3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

    4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.

  28. 3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

    4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.

    5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

    There is a time to correct and a time to encourage, we must pray for the wisdom to know when to use each of them.

    Words are a powerful weapon. Just think about it with one word we can get the attention of God, with one word we can cause demons to tremble, with one word we can knock someone down or build them up. With our mouth we can bring blessings or curses upon ourselves! Choose wisely how you use your weapon!

  29. We have the power to build our brothers and sisters up or tear them down. The tongue is so powerful. Speak life and not death

  30. The battle of words and the reproach of man. The Lord can severely test you by simply removing his favor of hand of protection.

    “Be Favored”……………

  31. Job 16:5 But my mouth would encourage you comfort from my lips would bring you relief. Yet if I speak my pain is not relieved and if I refrain it does not go away. Surely God you have worn me out you have devastated my entire household.

    So God strengthens his people with strength in their souls, when he answers them with good and comfortable words. An angel strengthened Christ as a man when in an agony comforting him suggesting comfortable things to him. So one saint may strengthen and comfort another when in distress.

  32. 11 God hath delivered me to the ungodly, and turned me over into the hands of the wicked.

    12 I was at ease, but he hath broken me asunder: he hath also taken me by my neck, and shaken me to pieces, and set me up for his mark.

    Let God be God.

  33. Am I an encouraging factor or a destroyer of people. As I read this chapter: it got me to thinking about how I have put people down and built people up with my tongue. I also think about how I’ve been torn down. Words are very powerful and they can stick with you through your life. I have let things fall away due to words that were spoken against me; now its time to let the Lord build me back up. Let my tongue be used for the glory of God: let not the enemy use me for his gain. YES I CAN!!!!!!…..Thank you Jesus……Amen!!!

    2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.

    3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

    20 My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.

    21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!

  34. 1 Then Job answered and said,

    2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.

    3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

    4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.

    5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

    Not everyone has compassion, a lot of times we extend ourselves, give of ourselves to others in so many different ways, a listening ear, help when you need it, a shoulder to cry on! In doing so we have to remember that when we do it, we cant expect the same in return! Sometimes when your crying out for help you wont get the same response as you gave, or the help you need when your down, we may even get the same treatment as Job, and worse! That’s why we should always trust in God he will be that help, comforter, shoulder, that listening ear! And if he feels its necessary he will send the right person with the right word of encouragement! I use to say ” I know I can talk to God, but right now I need a person to talk to”, lesson learned! Prayer gets results! People don’t! Trusting in God in my season of restoration!

  35. 6 Though I speak, my grief is not asswaged: and though I forbear, what am I eased?

    7 But now he hath made me weary: thou hast made desolate all my company.

    Make sure your words strengthen and build. And not be a stumbling block. Let your words be upright and true.

  36. 1-5 Then Job defended himself: “I’ve had all I can take of your talk. What a bunch of miserable comforters! Is there no end to your windbag speeches? What’s your problem that you go on and on like this? If you were in my shoes, I could talk just like you. I could put together a terrific harangue and really let you have it. But I’d never do that. I’d console and comfort, make things better, not worse!

    What would people see if they were in your shoes? Would they see how you put God first in everything or see that every chance you get you talk about God? Or would they see what everyone else is like, another person in this world filled with sin and with out God? We need to be carful of what we do and how we need to present God in ourself because we never know when someone will want to see what’s like to be in our shoes or when the enemy with try to come against us!

  37. 6 Though I speak, my grief is not asswaged: and though I forbear, what am I eased?

    7 But now he hath made me weary: thou hast made desolate all my company.
    You’ll be surprise what words can do even when you joking we say things that are really true and add ” were just joking”. Think before you act! Will this year down my brother or sister.

  38. Where are the Intercessors

    20 My intercessor is my friend as my eyes pour out tears to God;

    Thanks be to God that Jesus is our intercessor and friend.

    “Therefore He is able also to save forever those who draw near to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them” (Hebrews 7:25)

    Yet, there is still a call for the church to make intercession for each other. When a friend is in need of the savior to provide for them it is our responsibility to follow Jesus example and intercede for them.

    In the mist of their tears we become the strength they need to lift up their head. Not by our own power but through the power of the Holy Ghost. The same Holy Ghost that make intercession for us through groaning and moaning.

    Romans 8:26
    Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.

  39. Job 16:19 Also now,behold,my witness is in heaven,and my record is on high.

    Job is saying that God is his judge and witness and that his book of life is clean and that his friends will turn their backs but his eyes will only cry out to God and his eyes focus on God.

  40. 21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!

    Could we cry for the lost? Can we put the lost world in the same prayer as our children? Can we feel the heart beat of our city and plead for them like our own neighbor, Like our friend?

  41. 20 My friends scorn me,
    but I pour out my tears to God.
    21 I need someone to mediate between God and me,
    as a person mediates between friends. NLT

    Pray for one another. Be a helping hand for one another. You are not in this alone. Satan wants you to feel weak, alone, as if no one cares.

    For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them. Matthew 18:20.
    We must embrace this and be strong for one another.

  42. v11 God has delivered me to the ungodly, And turned me over to the hands of the wicked.
    I was at ease, but He has shattered me;
    He also has taken me by my neck, and shaken me to pieces;
    He has set me up for His target,

    GOD has a divine plan for every life.We must obey and submit to HIS divine plan. JESUS modeled submission to GOD’S WILL.
    As we walk through this life we cannot escape or avoid conflicts and satan is our number one enemy….” Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil,as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:
    1 Peter 5:8-9…”. Neither give place to the devil” Ephesians 4:27
    By choosing to do right things, we resolve our greatest conflict——
    Conflict with GOD.

  43. 9 Also now, behold, my witness is in heaven, and my record is on high.

    20 My friends scorn me: but mine eye poureth out tears unto God.

    21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!

    22 When a few years are come, then I shall go the way whence I shall not return.

  44. Seasons Change…

    “O God, you have ground me down and devastated my family. (‭Job‬ ‭16‬:‭7‬ NLT)

    We all have been at a place where GOD and everything else seems to be against you. The pain and wounds can be so deep, you feel just as Job did here. You seem to lose faith as if there is nowhere else to go. But you must be reminded that the devil is a liar. he would love to see you give in. ‘Hell was never intended for me!’ So I continue in this walk and endure until the end. I am not walking alone for The LORD is with me until I breathe my last breath.

    Be on guard; stand firm in your faith [in God, respecting His precepts and keeping your doctrine sound]. Act like [mature] men and be courageous; be strong. (‭1 CORINTHIANS‬ ‭16‬:‭13‬ AMP)

  45. 21 O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!

    This reminded me of Abraham pleading for Lot. We can see that God was willing to listen to Abrahms request or plea for his nephew Lot. It is God’s will for us to pray for our neighboor and for lost souls. It is an extension of the commandment if can put it that, love your neighboor as yourself. Pray for your neighboor as you would pray for you. Plea with God for their salvation and lets watch God move in their lives and be blessed as well.

  46. 5 But I would strengthen you with my mouth, and the moving of my lips should asswage your grief.

    This brought my attention because do we strengthen others when their in need.Help me Lord be the strength that people need when in time of need. Help me show them your love. Help me speak how you speak everyday Lord!!!! Your the only one that can give us the strength we need.

  47. It’s hard to not complain when your entire world has been ripped from you. It’s hard to keep our mouths shut when we are deep in the valley, when we are so broken… but that usually where God does his best work. That’s usually where some of the greatest blessings can come from. If you’re hurting and struggling just hold on to Him and He will continue to guide and se you through.

  48. O that one might plead for a man with God, as a man pleadeth for his neighbour!
    (Job 16:21 KJV)

    We should intercede for our neighbor more fervently than rebuke him for the situation he is in. When we approach people with kindness and compassion they will be more receptive to the Word we share with them.

  49. 1 Then Job answered and said,

    2 I have heard many such things: miserable comforters are ye all.

    3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?

    4 I also could speak as ye do: if your soul were in my soul’s stead, I could heap up words against you, and shake mine head at you.

    If you give total authority to those you love over your life then you assume they’ll pray and speak faith into your life instead of being condemned and judged by them. Job is completely torn up by how the people he loves have abused and walked over his good name.

  50. “Then Job spoke again: “I have heard all this before. What miserable comforters you are! Won’t you ever stop blowing hot air? What makes you keep on talking? I could say the same things if you were in my place. I could spout off criticism and shake my head at you. But if it were me, I would encourage you. I would try to take away your grief. Instead, I suffer if I defend myself, and I suffer no less if I refuse to speak.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭16:1-6‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Lord that I would have words fitly spoken for those around me.

    “The right word at the right time is like a custom-made piece of jewelry, And a wise friend’s timely reprimand is like a gold ring slipped on your finger.

    Reliable friends who do what they say are like cool drinks in sweltering heat—refreshing!”
    ‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭25:11-13‬ ‭MSG‬‬

  51. 3 Shall vain words have an end? or what emboldeneth thee that thou answerest?
    What words are we using to elevate our brothers and sisters and what words are we using to tear them down? We are supposed to hold our tongue when there isn’t anything good to say. We must study the Word and live it. We shouldn’t embody the world, it’s movies, music, and memes. They will destroy our prayer, purpose, and passion. Don’t allow vain words to destroy your relationship with God or man. We are called to teach His Word. Let us teach!

  52. Job 15:17-18 “Listen to me and I will explain to you; let me tell you what I have seen, what the wise have declared, hiding nothing received from their ancestors

    Jeremiah 17:5 Thus says the Lord, “Cursed is the man who trusts in and relies on mankind, Making weak, faulty human flesh his strength, And whose mind and heart turn away from the Lord.

    Looks like Jeremiah hit this one on the spot. Eliphaz sounds like someone that is too smart for there own good. Someone that relays on reason more than God. More of common sense than Gods almighty power.

    Job was wise to call his empty words out!

  53. 2“I have heard all this before. What miserable comforters you are!

    Real and true friends will encourage and comfort you during times of trials. Thats what Job expected from his friends, but instead it was no the case. Speak positive at all times!

Leave a Reply

