Job Chapter 23

30 Days of Prayer – Day 12

Pray That God would “…send now prosperity” to the UPCI (Psalm 118:25).

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 12

Job 23

1 Then Job answered and said,

2 Even to day is my complaint bitter: my stroke is heavier than my groaning.

3 Oh that I knew where I might find him! that I might come even to his seat!

4 I would order my cause before him, and fill my mouth with arguments.

5 I would know the words which he would answer me, and understand what he would say unto me.

6 Will he plead against me with his great power? No; but he would put strength in me.

7 There the righteous might dispute with him; so should I be delivered for ever from my judge.

8 Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:

9 On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him:

10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

12 Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

13 But he is in one mind, and who can turn him? and what his soul desireth, even that he doeth.

14 For he performeth the thing that is appointed for me: and many such things are with him.

15 Therefore am I troubled at his presence: when I consider, I am afraid of him.

16 For God maketh my heart soft, and the Almighty troubleth me:

17 Because I was not cut off before the darkness, neither hath he covered the darkness from my face.

47 thoughts on “Job Chapter 23

  1. Verses 10-14 MSG “But he knows where I am and what I’ve done. He can cross-examine me all he wants, and I’ll pass the test with honors. I’ve followed him closely, my feet in his footprints, not once swerving from his way. I’ve obeyed every word he’s spoken, and not just obeyed his advice—I’ve treasured it. “But he is singular and sovereign. Who can argue with him? He does what he wants, when he wants to. He’ll complete in detail what he’s decided about me, and whatever else he determines to do.”

    Same verses AMP “But He knows the way that I take [and He pays attention to it]. When He has tried me, I will come forth as [refined] gold [pure and luminous]. “My feet have carefully followed His steps; I have kept His ways and not turned aside. “I have not departed from the commandment of His lips; I have kept the words of His mouth more than my necessary food. “But He is unique and unchangeable, and who can turn Him? And what His soul desires, that He does. “For He performs what is planned (appointed) for me, And He is mindful of many such things.”

    God knows exactly where you are in your walk with Him. Psalm 139 really brings into perspective the awesomeness of my God and the last 2 verses 23-24 MSG says “Investigate my life, O God, find out everything about me; Cross-examine and test me, get a clear picture of what I’m about; See for yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong—then guide me on the road to eternal life.”

  2. 11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

    12 Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

    16 For God maketh my heart soft, and the Almighty troubleth me:

    Troubleth: archaic third-person singular simple present indicative form of trouble:
    1. Trouble is defined as problems, misfortunes or misbehaving, or a situation that causes worries.
    2. To trouble is to cause pain, distress or worry.

    With all the trials that God has put Job through: he stayed faithful to the commandments of God. Job walked the narrow path and never strayed. I desire to not stray from the commandments of the Lord: to have the fear that Job had would be a blessing. To fear God to that point of breaking and not fail to give the glory to God. To not sin in the eyes of the Lord through trial after trial; man that would be so awesome. My prayer today is that God would soften my heart and fill me with fear of Him. What an awesome God we serve…..Thank you Jesus….Amen!!!!

  3. 3. Oh that I knew where I might find him! that I might come even to his seat!
    8. Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:
    9. On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him :

    There’ve been times when I thought my prayers

    Didn’t even reach the ceiling of the room

    Where I knelt to pray

    And a voice inside kept asking me

    Did I think God was really listening

    To anything that I had to say
    
But I just kept on a praying

    And holding on by faith
    
Knowing God is always in control

    And I waited like a rose bud in the garden

    For only God can unfold the rose
    – Timothy Spell

    Those times we can’t seem to find God, and it doesn’t feel like our prayers are working, we can’t forget what we know to be true – He is always there, He hears our prayers, and He knows exactly what He’s doing.

  4. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    Father thank you for knowing every step I take.
    The path is ever so unfamiliar many times. Obstacles appear as giants that would force me from continuing along the path. Darkness hovers closely trying to diminish even one little flicker of light. BUT HE KNOWETH THE WAY, HA,HA,HA, I SHALL COME FORTH AS GOLD,

    HE HAS ALREADY BEEN RIGHT DOWN THE PATH we do not have to fall into the path of self pity, defeat, despair ,fear,HE Is THE LIGHT,HE IS THE GUIDE HE IS THE BEGGINNING AND HE IS THE ENDING

    HE KNOWS THE WAY all I have to do is stay right next to Him as He leads.
    Thank you Lord.

  5. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

    12 Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

    Say what you will, job didn’t have a Book of Job refer to during his hard times. He didn’t have the entire Bible to stand on all he had what’s his relationship with God. And for him to say that has a lot more meaning. He said that through all of his adversity, despite what was going on in his life.

  6. 11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

    It’s like Job is stuck between two realities. His feet endured the “place” God had him yet his heart was on a roller coaster.

    Luke 6:45
    A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh.

    If we could all take a moment and really think about the book of Job; it IS a very unique book. You see Job is like the best Boxing matches of all time. It’s better than the Muhammad Ali vs. Joe Frazier III fight.

    The devil is trying his best to knock Job off his feet. He gets some good hits in but job will not let his feet fall. Everyone that should be in his corner cheering him on call a time out and try to discourage him from getting back in the fight. Now we wait to see what the end will be for job.

    As believers we fight just as hard sometimes in trails. We may not have lost our children and as much possessions as he did but the fight internally and spiritually is just as real as this chapter. Job knew he would not allow his feet to be uprooted and we must do the same.

    Yet we have such a great amount of examples throughout the Word of God that we know that our speech cannot fail us but we must think ourselves happy and prophesy to our situation. For the weapon of the Word and praise will defeat the devil.

  7. ““But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold. For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭23:10-11‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    He already knows!

  8. iLove to Go Blog

    Job 23:6 KJV  Will he plead against me with his great power? No; but he would put strength in me.

    It is a good thing that God does not plead against us with His great power. But instead of the judgement that we deserved, He has given us the strength of the Holy Ghost.

    Here we find Job pleading his cause with his friends telling them of his innocence. Once we’ve received the Holy Ghost and been baptized in Jesus name, we should have the same faith in God that we too are clean. We must refuse to hear the lies of the enemy or even the lies of friends.

  9. 10 “But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold. (NLT)

    I am so grateful for a God who holds my future, to know that I can trust He has my life all figured out in ways I don’t even understand yet. I guess that’s why we endure the tests though to not only be made pure but to gain wisdom. So hallelujah, my faith, hope, and trust is in You Lord!

  10. 12 I have not departed from his commands,
    but have treasured his words more than daily food.

    No matter what the devil wanted to throw at Job he didn’t depart from God. So many things come to our lives but this is why its so important to be rooted and not let any little wave knock us of our feet. We must run towards God always!!! We must never let go of the basics (pray, fast, Word) because without these we are allowing the devil to take over. We must not let things distract us and keep pushing. Keep praying, keep fasting (even if we just finished a 7 day fast), keep reading His Word, keep coming to church, and keep looking for Him. You are everything to me Lord and I need you daily Lord!!!!

  11. “But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold. For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside. I have not departed from his commands, but have treasured his words more than daily food. But once he has made his decision, who can change his mind? Whatever he wants to do, he does. So he will do to me whatever he has planned. He controls my destiny.
    Job 23:10‭-‬14 NLT

    God hold everything in his hands and job knew that. But i got to say job has a lot of patience to be dealing with his friends you read the book of job. And u see his friends judges him. Saying you did this i knew you did that just because he sick. Then you read today job talkind about him being tested. So this made me think about job friends and job being tested god put job friends in his life of a part of his test you see that in job

  12. “But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold. For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside. I have not departed from his commands, but have treasured his words more than daily food. But once he has made his decision, who can change his mind? Whatever he wants to do, he does. So he will do to me whatever he has planned. He controls my destiny.
    Job 23:10‭-‬14 NLT

    God hold everything in his hands and job knew that. But i got to say job has a lot of patience to be dealing with his friends you read the book of job. And u see his friends judges him. Saying you did this i knew you did that just because he sick. Then you read today job talkind about him being tested. So this made me think about job friends and job being tested god put job friends in his life of a part of his test you see that in job 42:10 When Job prayed for his friends, the Lord restored his fortunes. In fact, the Lord gave him twice as much as before!
    Job 42:10 NLT

    God put ignorant people in your life to test you to see what you will do

  13. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    We are secure in the arms of God, not because we are perfect and not because we keep every promise we make to Him. But because he keeps his every promise to us, that promise that if we trust in Him enough to place our life in His hands he will take care of our every worry! What a mighty God we served that he knows every step we’ll take and shows us more kindness than we deserve!

    “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”
    ‭‭Jeremiah‬ ‭29:11‬ ‭NLT‬‬

  14. 8 Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:

    9 On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him:

    10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    Oh there have been a time that I have related to job in this certain situiation
    There called DRIED SPELLS. When you just dont feel him like your use to feeling him. I feel like those are test from God to see if we will trust in God during these worse trials or will we be turn to the world. Sometimes I feel like God what’s too show the Devil what we are made of!! We are mighty with Jesus! He know that way that I take let them judge you, man see the outward appearance but God sees the heart!

  15. 6 Will he plead against me with his great power? No; but he would put strength in me.
    Thank God for the strength that he puts in his people. When we should have been destroyed when he should have not forgiven us when we should have received judgments instead he put strength in us. Thank God that even when he was angry with us he showed us Mercy.

  16. 8 Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:

    9 On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him:

    10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    Many times I have found myself asking this question, God where are you in this situation? But if we can see beyond “the situation” we can see the hand of the Lord at work. These are the times that we have to trust His heart and not the hand we cannot see.

    Though we don’t like to admit it, we are just like Job and at the first sight of a trial that we don’t want to be in, we start questioning and complaining why we must go through this. Lord help all of us to change our through process and evaluate our relationship with the Lord to know He’s got this, and He is not going to put more on us than we can bear.

  17. God knows the ebd before the fight begins. Peace be still. I will encourage myself when everyone in my life, seems to think i should just give up. I will continue to praise God, give Him the honor because He is worthy. Father God even if things dont go the way my heart desires, i will still praise your name

  18. 13 But he is in one mind, and who can turn him? and what his soul desireth, even that he doeth.

    14 For he performeth the thing that is appointed for me: and many such things are with him.

    As a newborn in Christ we seek God with all of our heart and soul our hearts are so fired up that people look at you like you’re crazy. In other cases you get taken advantage because your willing to go above and beyond for saints but little did you know that your loved ones would turn on you and judge you once they realize your human and life happens we’re not perfect.

    Lord may your will be done. Use me to do your will and not mine. Let me shine for you through the good and the bad for you are my judge and you know my heart. Deliver me from the fake pretending saints and allow me to shine for you.

  19. SURE FOOTED

    10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.
    11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

    The infinite wisdom of GOD transcends time and space. We cannot hide from HIM, but he is able to transcend to places that we know not of in our future, while never missing a move that we make. GOD is so AWESOME.

    GOD leads us into the unknown; places that we have never been before. The purpose for this venture is to reveal to us the LOVE that HE has for us and to reveal the LOVE we have for HIM.

    Our FAITH will keep us SURE FOOTED even though we do not know or understand the path we take. GOD KNOWS. When we are TRIED do we remain on HIS PATH. In HIS WORD.

    Psalms 119:133 Order my steps in thy word: and let not any iniquity have dominion over me.

    We are not called to follow the path we know and understand, but like Job, at times we are called to follow the path that only GOD knows. We con only accomplish this as we follow HIS WORD and walk in HIM.

    As we GO in 2017 may the GOD of Glory order our steps in HIS WORD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  20. Job 23:10-12 (NLT)
    10) But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold.
    11) For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside.
    12) I have not departed from his commandments but have treasured his words more than daily food.

    When going through a test, there are times I feel like God is not there, but the best thing I can do is keep on following Jesus and living according to His Word. When going through a test, I need to treasure His Words as food for my soul that tells me, “He will never leave me nor forsake me, the Joy of the Lord is my strength, etc…” because really He’s Right There watching to see what I will do.
    I want to come out of this test as pure as gold!

  21. Ephesians 5:15
    See then that you walk circumspectly,not
    as fool’s but as wise ,. 16, redeeming the time,because
    the days are evil
    God will put the past in a way that we may not understand but we must have faith we must Go !!!!!!!praising and Glorify the Lord on the way

  22. 3 If only I knew where to find God, I would go to his court. 4 I would lay out my case and present my arguments.

    We should never have to ask “where is God”, for he is always with us, only a prayer away. When you pray, God is with you. We can present our problems, issues and cares to God. When things arent going your way, yes you’ll want to argue with God about it, and he is there ready to listen to you. In a sense, we are always in court, because God is watching over you.

  23. 2 Even to day is my complaint bitter: my stroke is heavier than my groaning.
    I cannot let bitterness proceed from my lips to tear down my brother or sister. I must lift them up and honor them as I do any elder. I must exalt Him before I can GO today, or all my other works and words today are of no consequence to Him.

  24. 15 Therefore am I troubled at his presence: when I consider, I am afraid of him.

    16 For God maketh my heart soft, and the Almighty troubleth me:

  25. Where is God?

    3 Oh that I knew where I might find him! that I might come even to his seat!

    Sometimes we fall into the trap of thinking the only place to find God is at church. If we’re not looking for God everywhere, likely we will miss opportunities for help, healing, and spiritual growth. Try and see if you can find God at your place of business. The relationships we have, the results we achieve, the quality of work we provide can all be considered holiness; not to mention the money we earn. Being honest with our coworkers and supervision, providing a day’s work for a day’s wages, doing the best we can in all that we do is being holy. Is God in our relationships?

    It’s easy to love other people when everything’s going well. When there are hurt feelings and mistrust; relationships don’t feel very much as though they are of God. These are the moments that we can witness the movement of God in our lives, leading us to healing, trust, and cooperation. Maybe we do not have many if any relationships. Rather than trying to fill the emptiness with mindless entertainment or indulging our cravings, sit still and find God in the emptiness. Listen for the “still small voice” of God in the midst of your emptiness.

  26. 8 Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:

    9 On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him:

    10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

  27. But he knows the way that I take; when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold.
    Job 23:10 NIV

    God will always know what we do there is no hiding from Him. It’s up to us whether we chose to follow him and keep his ways or we don’t.

  28. Considering how difficult it is to remain confident in the face of criticism, Jobs view of himself is remarkable. Becoming defensive when someone judges us is natural, and Job has expressed a defensive tone in previous responses. Here, however, he highlights his righteousness track record with absolute confidence. His friends see him as extremely arrogant, but we know that he is speaking the truth about the way God sees him. While no one is truly sinless, the person justified and forgiven by a merciful God is graciously welcomed into his heavenly presence. (Ro 3:10-12, 22-26). We have confidence in ourselves because he is the one who lifts us up.

  29. Job 23: 2-4 Even today is my complaint bitter my stroke is heavier than my groanings. Oh that I know where I might find Him! That I might come event hisseat! I would order my cause before Him, and fill my mouth wit arguments.

    His seat; A place of judgment, it appears that Job had sought the Lord and He had been nowhere to be found. Had he been able to find the Lord , this trail would have not been complete. I am sure God’s heart was breaking to see such great pain suffered by so faithful a servant as Job. All christians are looking forward to the time when we can be with Him. Never , never give up on your christian walk.

  30. My foot has held fast to His steps; His ways have I kept and not turned aside. I have not gone back from the commandment of His lips; I have esteemed and treasured the words of His mouth more than my necessary food.
    Job 23:11‭-‬12 AMPC

    In God’s words we find life. Man seek to find books on how to live a succesful life and attain wealth. There is no more wealth than what we find in the bible. True riches and treasure that bless your life. Keeping His word will keep one from heart ache, curses and trouble. Jesus is the way, the truth and the life.

  31. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.

    12 Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

    13 But he is in one mind, and who can turn him? and what his soul desireth, even

    14 For he performeth the thing that is appointed for me: and many such things are with him.

    Job en medio de tanto dolor haceptaba la voluntad de Dios y el sabia que Dios conosia que el era recto y sabía que estaba siendo probado y no esperaba cambiar su voluntad

  32. Job 23:15-16 (KJV Strong’s)
    15 Therefore am I troubled at his presence:
    when I consider, I am afraid of him.
    16 For God maketh my heart soft,
    and the Almighty troubleth me:

    The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. God knows all, sees all, and has all power. There is nothing too hard for him and he knows every thing about us. It is healthy to have a fear of the Lord and keep it.

  33. Job 23:10-12 But he knows the way that I take; when he has tested me, I will come forth as gold. My feet have closely followed his steps; I have kept to his way without turning aside. I have not departed from the commands of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.

    David’s said:
    Psalm 119:5 Oh, that my ways were steadfast in obeying your decrees!

    Oh that I could be like Job and say these words and they be true. The ones that have had the amazing privilege of being born in an apostolic home, what a amazing testimony to be able to tell. A rare testimony, I undervalued my upbringing, losing myself in the world to sin. If I could go back to give myself advise, i would have staying with Jesus thru it all.

  34. 8 Behold, I go forward, but he is not there; and backward, but I cannot perceive him:

    9 On the left hand, where he doth work, but I cannot behold him: he hideth himself on the right hand, that I cannot see him:

  35. “I go east, but he is not there. I go west, but I cannot find him. I do not see him in the north, for he is hidden. I look to the south, but he is concealed. “But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold. For I have stayed on God’s paths; I have followed his ways and not turned aside.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭23:8-11‬ ‭NLT‬‬
    It’s only a test …. just hold on! Sometimes the test is very uncomfortable and seems unfair but it will soon be over.

  36. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold
    I got the VICTORY, the Devils tried me but he cant have me.

  37. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    God knows what’s best for us. Trust Him in the middle of your storm. In the end, we will be stronger.

  38. 5 I would know the words which he would answer me, and understand what he would say unto me.

    6 Will he plead against me with his great power? No; but he would put strength in me.

  39. Job 23:10 But he knoweth the way that take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

    His friends maintained that Job was full of dross, but Job is confident that no dross, or sin, would be revealed in the fires of refinement.

  40. 10 But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.
    11 My foot hath held his steps, his way have I kept, and not declined.
    12 Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

    Ephesians 16:13-18 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and, as shoes for your feet, having put on the readiness given by the gospel of peace. In all circumstances take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming darts of the evil one; and take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God,

  41. v3 Oh, that I knew where I might find Him,
    That I might come to His seat!

    It’s GOD’S WILL that we surrender and seek HIM .
    Surrender to HIS Providence.
    ” Though he be not far from every one of us” Acts 17:27

  42. “Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭23:12‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Truly Job doesn’t not live by bread alone. He is living on every word that proceeds out of the mouth.

  43. ““But he knows where I am going. And when he tests me, I will come out as pure as gold.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭23:10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    I want to come to him as pure as gold. I desire to stay righteous. But I have failed you time and again. Thank you for your grace.

Leave a Reply

