Job Chapter 30

30 Days of Prayer – Day 19

Pray That God would send revival and harvest among the youth and that great works and ministries would be launched (I Samuel 16:11).

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 19

Job 30

1 But now they that are younger than I have me in derision, whose fathers I would have disdained to have set with the dogs of my flock.

2 Yea, whereto might the strength of their hands profit me, in whom old age was perished?

3 For want and famine they were solitary; fleeing into the wilderness in former time desolate and waste.

4 Who cut up mallows by the bushes, and juniper roots for their meat.

5 They were driven forth from among men, (they cried after them as after a thief;)

6 To dwell in the cliffs of the valleys, in caves of the earth, and in the rocks.

7 Among the bushes they brayed; under the nettles they were gathered together.

8 They were children of fools, yea, children of base men: they were viler than the earth.

9 And now am I their song, yea, I am their byword.

10 They abhor me, they flee far from me, and spare not to spit in my face.

11 Because he hath loosed my cord, and afflicted me, they have also let loose the bridle before me.

12 Upon my right hand rise the youth; they push away my feet, and they raise up against me the ways of their destruction.

13 They mar my path, they set forward my calamity, they have no helper.

14 They came upon me as a wide breaking in of waters: in the desolation they rolled themselves upon me.

15 Terrors are turned upon me: they pursue my soul as the wind: and my welfare passeth away as a cloud.

16 And now my soul is poured out upon me; the days of affliction have taken hold upon me.

17 My bones are pierced in me in the night season: and my sinews take no rest.

18 By the great force of my disease is my garment changed: it bindeth me about as the collar of my coat.

19 He hath cast me into the mire, and I am become like dust and ashes.

20 I cry unto thee, and thou dost not hear me: I stand up, and thou regardest me not.

21 Thou art become cruel to me: with thy strong hand thou opposest thyself against me.

22 Thou liftest me up to the wind; thou causest me to ride upon it, and dissolvest my substance.

23 For I know that thou wilt bring me to death, and to the house appointed for all living.

24 Howbeit he will not stretch out his hand to the grave, though they cry in his destruction.

25 Did not I weep for him that was in trouble? was not my soul grieved for the poor?

26 When I looked for good, then evil came unto me: and when I waited for light, there came darkness.

27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

28 I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation.

29 I am a brother to dragons, and a companion to owls.

30 My skin is black upon me, and my bones are burned with heat.

31 My harp also is turned to mourning, and my organ into the voice of them that weep.

49 thoughts on “Job Chapter 30

  1. 26 When I looked for good, then evil came unto me: and when I waited for light, there came darkness.
    Just when you thought it couldnt get any worse.
    Keep on keeping on though, God wont put you through anything he knows you cant handle.
    God has humbled me, God is good.
    I cant wait to see what he has in store for me.

  2. Verse 1 NLT “But now I am mocked by people younger than I, by young men whose fathers are not worthy to run with my sheepdogs.” Job speaks of his anguish in this chapter and as verse 1 says he is now being mocked by people younger than him. Unfortunately, this sounds like today’s society, where respect and reverence has been lost with this new generation. Stop and really listen to an elder that the Lord has placed in your life, you just might learn something.

  3. 4. They are left with the desperate foods of the famished – plucking mallow from the bushes by the salt marshes, and making the ashy broom tree root their staple. The Voice

    It’s easy to understand his frustration considering he was the richest and most respected, but now he is ridiculed by young guys who are so desperate themselves that they live off of marshmallows!

  4. 1 But now they that are younger than I have me in derision, whose fathers I would have disdained to have set with the dogs of my flock.
    2 Yea, whereto might the strength of their hands profit me, in whom old age was perished?

    I say this with all do respect; immature,lazy, and disrespectful people are a hindrance and not an asset to the kingdom of God.

    1 John 2:14
    “I have written unto you, fathers, because ye have known him that is from the beginning. I have written unto you, young men, because ye are strong, and the word of God abideth in you, and ye have overcome the wicked one.”

    The young men in Job 30:1-3 are the direct opposite of 1 John 2:14. It is my daily prayer for our youth and young adults that they exhibit the characteristics of 1 John 2:14. It is also my prayer that as their parents, leaders, and mentors we would walk in wisdom and pour into them until they “know” God in the manner we know Him. They respect Him and others like we were taught to.

  5. When I looked for good, then evil came unto me: and when I waited for light, there came darkness.

    27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

    28 I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation.

    29 I am a brother to dragons, and a companion to owls.

    30 My skin is black upon me, and my bones are burned with heat.

    31 My harp also is turned to mourning, and my organ into the voice of them that weep.

  6. 9 And now am I their song, yea, I am their byword.

    10 They abhor me, they flee far from me, and spare not to spit in my face.

    11 Because he hath loosed my cord, and afflicted me, they have also let loose the bridle before me.

    Job se sentía que era objeto de burla los jóvenes hasta lo despreciaba y escupian su cara era tal su dolor pero no cuestionaba a su Señor aún cuando todos se alejaban de El

  7. 1 But now they that are younger than I have me in derision, whose fathers I would have disdained to have set with the dogs of my flock.

    Working with children you learn quickly that respect is taught. Children do not just respect others naturally. In this day of entitlement, we cannot rely on others to teach our children. We must take on the responsibility to ensure that our children are respectful and not mockers. That they are living a holy Christ filled life as best they can.

  8. For God has cut my bowstring. He has humbled me so they have thrown off all restrains. Job:12

    Fear of the Lord is the foundation of true knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline. Proverbs 1.7

  9. 31 My harp also is turned to mourning, and my organ into the voice of them that weep.

    Weeping may endure for a season. But help and Joy comes in the morning. Behind those dark clouds of life is the Son.

  10. 28 I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation.

    30 My skin is black upon me, and my bones are burned with heat.

    Though He tries me through the fire, I will come forth as pure gold. There may be ashes scattered around me and cinders burning but the purification will be worth it all.

  11. Job 30:31 (MSG)
    31 My fiddle plays nothing but the blues;
    my mouth harp wails laments.

    Psalms 42:11 (KJV Strong’s)
    11 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me?
    hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him,
    who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

    Sometimes we need a “yet will I praise him” moment. Life is challenging. Circumstances pressing, hardships abound. Confusion seems to chase us.

    YET WILL I PRAISE HIM

    Psalms 71:12-14 (KJV Strong’s)
    12 O God, be not far from me:
    O my God, make haste for my help.
    13 Let them be confounded and consumed that are adversaries to my soul;
    let them be covered with reproach and dishonour that seek my hurt.
    14 But I will hope continually,
    and will yet praise thee more and more.

    The word praised used in this verse is the word Tahila. It means to sing a song of praise.

    Instead of singing the blues when life has you down sing a song of praise and turn your life around!

  12. 27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

    28 I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation

    There are sometimes in life were it seems like everything goes wrong. Were nothing seems to work out right and we wonder just how were going to make it! But in those times of despair in those times of trouble we must remember as Paul said His grace is sufficient for me! His strength is made perfect in weakness. God will give us the strength to go through our trials and tribulations even if he doesn’t take us out of it he will bring us THROUGH it.

  13. KEEP THE HARP

    31 My harp also is turned to mourning, and my organ into the voice of them that weep.

    The harp is an instrument of praise. The harp is like a song to us. Something we demonstrate or present to the LORD for his pleasure and goodness. When the harp is not ministering to the LORD, it is not demonstrating its intended purpose of praise to the LORD.

    Job describes the outcome of his praise has turned to mourning. I am reminded of the actions of Israel described by the psalmist.

    Psalms 137:1 By the rivers of Babylon, there we sat down, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.
    2 We hanged our harps upon the willows in the midst thereof.
    3 For there they that carried us away captive required of us a song; and they that wasted us required of us mirth, saying, Sing us one of the songs of Zion.
    4 How shall we sing the LORD’S song in a strange land?

    Regardless of outward circumstances and physical conditions, we should never lose our praise to the LORD. Protect the harp, guard your praise, demonstrate your appreciation.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  14. Job 30: 20-21
    This is Jobs cry to the Lord. Job is wondering why all these things has happen to him. But he doesn’t know this is God’s test. Only God knows the future for Job, he doesn’t know he’s going to be filled with even more blessings than before.

    God only knows the plans he has for our lives, sometimes we have to go through difficult situations, so we can really see how great God is. When we think we have figured God out, he shows us that we don’t know all the things he can do.

  15. 15 I live in terror now. My honor has blown away in the wind, and my prosperity has vanished like a cloud. (NLT)

    Qualities that take years to build up, shape, and develop, can be blown away and vanish in an instant. What’s funny though, I’d call this some decent foreshadowing knowing how Job is delivered and blessed by God in the end. If you feel like your honor and prosperity have disappeared, keep following God. We’re the ones that stray, not God, so get up and go unto Him. Seek Him, find Him, and with Him you will be blessed and delivered as Job was.

  16. Strength in weakness – WHAT!

    20 I cry unto thee, and thou dost not hear me: I stand up, and thou regardest me not.

    There are a few things more disheartening and destructive to my faith than the feeling that God doesn’t hear my prayers, doesn’t answer or doesn’t care. Why is It so easy to come to such conclusions when God doesn’t respond when or how I want Him to?

    How do these times strengthen me?

    The Bible says my weaknesses, doubts, and insecurities are no surprise to Him. I can try to hide these feelings from others, but I can’t hide them from the God. The truth is, God created us with weaknesses. God does not make mistakes. Is it possible he created us with weaknesses in order to keep us on our knees? Would we pray as often or earnestly if the needs in our lives were under our own control?

    This also means God won’t let us use weaknesses as an excuse for not doing what He is asking us to do. If God is calling us to a monumental task, then He will give us everything we need to complete the task.
    God didn’t call other people to this task! He called me, you and/or us and in His strength we can do it.

  17. AMP – 31 “Therefore my lyre (harp) is used for [the sound of] mourning,
    And my flute for the [sound of the] voices of those who weep.

    As Job was in the night season of his trial, he couldn’t find a praise in his heart, his harp was in mourning for his current situation, we find ourselves in this situation at times. And like Job many times we find ourselves alone in this season because our friends have left us alone and no longer are encouraging us. It is then we need to praise all the more. Pick up those harps (instruments of praise) and give thanks to the Lord even for the night season because morning light is just around the corner.

    I am reminded of another time in the word of God that harps were the people of God had hung their harps, their instruments of praise on the willow tree and they were instructed to pick up their harps and rejoice in the Lord.

    Use what God has given us to give Him praise in return, our voice, our hands, our feet. We can always find something worth giving praising for even it is just our night season is coming to an end.

  18. But i as you read this you see that job. Flustrated he’s cry out to god and there’s no answer job is cry out for help
    You his friends think that job did this bad sin and that’s why he’s sick so the mock and judge
    A lot of us can relate to job we pray and pray and nothing happen . job keep praying god will answer you don’t. Doubt God but keep praying until you hear from him your blessing is coming soon

  19. v15 Terros are turned upon me;
    They pursue my honor as the wind,
    And my prosperity has passed like a cloud.

    GOD knew all about Job’s weakness, as HE knows ours.
    Too many times, we look at life through our own selfishness as we wonder what shall we get out of life.

    JESUS answered in Matthew 19:27-28
    ” As suredly I say unto you, that in the regeneration, when the Son of Man sits on the throne of His glory, you who have followed Me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel.
    “And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or wife or children or lands, for My name’s sake, shall receive a hundredfold, and inherit everlasting life.
    We are to Give GLORY unto HIS NAME!!!
    HIS GRACE is to be chosen than glory,because HIS GRACE is sufficient to sustain us when GOD permits trouble
    Circumstances into our lives.

  20. iLove to Go Blog
    ““But now I am mocked by people younger than I, by young men whose fathers are not worthy to run with my sheepdogs.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭30:1‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Wow, Job held back no punches. You can feel his indignation as he addresses the lack of respect from the younger disrespectful generation.

  21. 1 But now they that are younger than I have me in derision, whose fathers I would have disdained to have set with the dogs of my flock.

    How do we today react when when we see a brother or sister fall? Do we tear them apart with our words or gossip about what happened to them? Job is wishing for a little respect in his trial and can’t find it. What we need to provide to those we see falling or fallen, is to keep them in prayer. They still need to make heaven their home and stomping on them when they are down isn’t God’s will- it’s what satan is already doing to them. Lift up the hands of those who are downcast to the one who raise them up again.

  22. Job gets kicked to the curb after all his humility and love for the people and God. He’s still in one piece. I’m not a bit surprised how people were then as they are still now. It’s not what you know but who you know. Gotta have Silver and gold to make friends and others happy. No silver no gold no friends no clicky clicks to cheer you. Job here is little people and insignificant why would anyone care.

    Truth is society and it’s people no matter who you are your no good if you don’t fit in. Your not accepted you gotta be perfect like you can’t see your own tail. Look in the mirror and ask God to search your heart because he’s your only judge don’t let people so called friends judge you and condemn you when they are sinners themselves let the first perfect one throw the first stone. Your victorious your heart will heal God is your converter.

  23. 28 I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation.

    30 My skin is black upon me, and my bones are burned with heat

    What we go through is only for a season it will be all worth it when we reach the other side.

  24. Vs 15
    I live in terror now . They hold me in contempt and my prosperity has vanished as a cloud before a strong wind .Vs 16 My heart is broken depression haunts my days .

  25. Job 30:20 (NLT)
    “I cry to you, O God, but you don’t answer. I stand before you, but you don’t even look.”

    As a child of God, it’s hard when you feel like God doesn’t hear you and answer you when you pray, or that he won’t even look at or acknowledge you.

    So what do we/I need to do when we feel this way?
    Quit,Give up and say “God doesn’t care about me anymore.” Quit going to church or Quit reading His Word. Quit praying? NO!!
    It’s a time to…
    1) Examine ourselves. See if there is sin in our life. If so, Repent.
    2) Keep reading His Word. He will speak to you through His Word. “I will never leave thee nor forsake thee.”
    3) Keep praying and trusting Him.
    4) Acknowledge the Sovereignty of God. All things are under God’s rule and control, and that nothing happens without God’s direction or His permission. And Remember: Romans 8:28, “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.”

    Don’t Quit. Keep Pressing On.

  26. 25Have I not wept for those in trouble? Has not my soul grieved for the poor?

    Job has been turned on by those who once looked up to him even young men. He recalls the intercession he’s made for those in trouble and the poor. His grief is not only that God has allowed affliction upon him but that those who he ministered to and with have even regard him as helpless. This is where you find out who your true friends and family are. Every blow Job is taking is only going to strengthen him because he is turning his sorrow into praise. We should praise God when we are blessed and on top of the world and down in the dumps. Praising God displays our faith that we know He will deliver us out of our situation. One our worse days we should learn from Job and praise God in advance. Those young men and friends will see his faith and when God restores him will only have to eat their words.

  27. 1 But now I am mocked by people younger than I,
    by young men whose fathers are not worthy to run with my sheepdogs.

    Sounds like teenagers and young adults of today, that show no respect for those older than them. You hear the disrespect while at the store, at work or school. They are not taught to respect, honor and serve those who are senior to them. The parents are responsible for teaching their children proper manners from a young age.

  28. In a difficult situation, Job felt like everything was coming against him and nothing was going right in his life. In his mind it was like God was against him. But God is not against him and he is not against any of us. We know the end of the story and we know what happened with Job. But you don’t know the end or next chapter of your story, but God does know. Don’t despair when everything seems hopeless, God has it in control.

  29. 8 They were children of fools, yea, children of base men: they were viler than the earth.

    9 And now am I their song, yea, I am their byword.

    10 They abhor me, they flee far from me, and spare not to spit in my face.

    The lowest of the low have no respect for job now. His name has become like a curse word to them. Despised, disdained, humiliated. Job has been brought low physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually. It wasn’t little by little, and it wasn’t behind closed doors. Job was abased for all the world to see. His pain was public. Those he loved and helped saw, and those that were his enemies. Jobs pain was real, and the publicity of it all was as salt in an open wound. Sometimes our pain is great, and it’s not our fault. Circumstances out of control. Job had done nothing wrong but now he is suffering and has been publicly humiliated. Hold on friend, it’s not over yet. Be thankful for what you have left. Restoration is at the end of this trial.

  30. 27 The churning inside me never stops;
    days of suffering confront me.

    What a powerful preaching from today….many of us don’t want to experience or go through pain but we don’t know what pain brings us. I will not see pain the same ever again. I will see it as a victory and as an opportunity to save many souls. Thank you Jesus!!! I know you never leave my side Lord!!!

  31. I live in terror now. My honor has blown away in the wind, and my prosperity has vanished like a cloud. “And now my life seeps away. Depression haunts my days. (‭Job‬ ‭30‬:‭15-16‬ NLT)

    What a terrible place to be at!!! The adversary knows how to make you feel worst, lost, and lonely. It is important not to allow the devil to play with your mind. But remember who your GOD is despite of the trials. You will be okay, and come out stronger than what you expected.

    Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way. (‭James‬ ‭1‬:‭2-4‬ MSG)

  32. 12-13 They come at me from my blind side, trip me up, then jump on me while I’m down They throw every kind of obstacle in my path, determined to ruin me— and no one lifts a finger to help me! (NIV)

    This reminds me of a preaching we heard at NTYC, he said the enemy wants nothing more to take you down and he only has that chance when you have blindspots and you don’t see him coming. When you find your way back to God he will be your protector and can see all those blind spots. God has your back so don’t try to run away from it because the enemy comes when you have your blindspots!

  33. In his great power God becomes like clothing to me ; he binds me like the neck of my garment.
    Job 30:18 NIV

    In the toughest times, in times of struggle, even when we think God is not there and has abandon us. God in His great power still covers us and is in control.

  34. This is the voice of someone being extremely desperate and feeling abandoned by God. Now, Job felt the iniquity and became very abandoned. He felt God wasn’t hearing his prayer!

    So, we don’t have it this rough but persecution does exist

    “Be Safe’………………..

  35. Job 30 -25 today English amp Bible says. Did not I weep for him who was in trouble? Was not my heart grieved for the poor and needy? Jesus I will cry out for those who need your help.

  36. 27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

    Sometimes the Holy Ghost will drop a word in you and you cannot get away from it. I have had it be so song that I was almost sick because I was allowing my own flesh dictate what I was going to do, because I would not quit beating myself up over sin. That’s just one way affliction can hinder you, and one more reason to make sure you are praying before church…

  37. “They come at me from all directions. They jump on me when I am down.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭30:14‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    Many times we all have something to say about a situation especially if its not about us. Many like to throw in their 2 cents of advice or share their mind. In those cases it is wie to consider what is said. We could be found kicking someone when they are down. Build up in love and correct speaking truth and life.

  38. “Many people attack me on my right side. They lay traps for my feet. They come at me from every direction. They tear up the road I walk on. They succeed in destroying me. They do it without any help.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭30:12-13‬ ‭NIRV‬‬

    Don’t ask why but ask how will God get the glory in this situation…. Lord help me to always ask How

  39. 26 When I looked for good, then evil came unto me: and when I waited for light, there came darkness.

    Theres a reason to going through what we go through day by day good or bad regardless the situation God always comes first!! Hes helped us out of things worser then what we could possibly be facing now reasons why we praise him in any storm we could be going through now or what we went through then.We serve an amazing God an Almighty God a never ending God a always on time God and a sheltering God. Through every darkness is light and through every struggle is a belief of strength if you just lift your head up pray and know God is always!!
    Pain/struggle/ etc. Doesnt last forever but hes also not gonna hand it out. Nows a time were we need to fight for what was tooken from us!!

    Believe that. #the_enemy_has_been_defeated

  40. 25 Did not I weep for him that was in trouble? was not my soul grieved for the poor?

    26 When I looked for good, then evil came unto me: and when I waited for light, there came darkness.

    27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

    28 I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation.

  41. The revival after the fire

    19 He hath cast me into the mire, and I am become like dust and ashes.

    We can look at this verse 2 ways:

    1. It is all over because the fire has Burt up all that we know and trust

    Or

    2. God is getting ready to do a new thing so he had to burn up the old thing to make room for it.

    I have learned this week to not try to figure out everything God is doing. Real trust in the lord doesn’t need qualification or justification. We just know that he loves us and we believe.

    The more God burns the more room you have for something new. I’m ready for something new!

  42. Job 30:21 You turn on me ruthlessly; with the might of your hand you attack me.

    The straightest path to the will of God for our lives thru adversity and pain. We would not be who are now had it not been for it. So don’t give in, the storm is but for a night, joy comes in the morning!

  43. “I went mourning without the sun: I stood up, and I cried in the congregation. I am a brother to dragons, and a companion to owls.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭30:28-29‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Companions to owls

    Owls are creatures of the night. They sit in ambush and wait. When the time is right they swoop down on remiged wings of silence and kill their prey. They consume their prey whole. Their talons and sharp beak are used to kill its prey before swallowing it. Later little fragments of its prey are found. Shells of the thing that once was stripped down until all that is left is it’s bones.

    This sounds a lot like the enemy. He waits in darkness. In silence he sneaks in to kill. He swoops in to scoop up victims. His sharp talons of pain, regret, and mistakes are used to rip apart saints before he devours them. When he is finished with them there is little left but bones.

    These night hunters of stealth are what he called his companions. Friends to consumers who leave nothing more than fragmented bones. In night he cried broken and in pain. He could see no hope of morning. Darkness surrounded him. Job seemed to identify with these animals because he felt like his like was in waste. Ruined and crushed he tried to make sense of things only to see that there was no sense in things. He became a friend of pain.

    Through learning this week we have realized that those who influence you tell your future. Was the owl, a quiet killer that consumes things around it, really his friend? If it was his friend then it had the influence to change the future in his life. Be careful who you call your friends.

  44. 12 Upon my right hand rise the youth; they push away my feet, and they raise up against me the ways of their destruction.

    We cannot allow the childish ways of our past influence our future. God’s plan is the only path we should follow. Job followed God’s plan and didn’t listen to the grumblings of those around him.

  45. 19 He hath cast me into the mire, and I am become like dust and ashes.

    20 I cry unto thee, and thou dost not hear me: I stand up, and thou regardest me not.

    So easily I have forgotten who GOD is in my life; there are things that are going on that I have no explanation for. The enemy has attacked and I let him take hold. No more will I BE THE ONE THAT THINKS THAT GOD HAS CAST ME ASIDE. I know that I am a child of GOD and that unanswered prayers, can be GODS way of answering me. Sometimes I need GOD to knock me back; so that HE can shine through my storm…….Thank you Jesus…….Amen!!!

Leave a Reply

