Job Chapter 31

30 Days of Prayer – Day 20

Pray That the church hears and obeys God’s voice, fulfilling His great purpose, for “He doth send out his voice.” Pray for strong men, standing in the forefront. Pray for efficacious ladies (Psalm 68:33).

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 20

Job 31

1 I made a covenant with mine eyes; why then should I think upon a maid?

2 For what portion of God is there from above? and what inheritance of the Almighty from on high?

3 Is not destruction to the wicked? and a strange punishment to the workers of iniquity?

4 Doth not he see my ways, and count all my steps?

5 If I have walked with vanity, or if my foot hath hasted to deceit;

6 Let me be weighed in an even balance that God may know mine integrity.

7 If my step hath turned out of the way, and mine heart walked after mine eyes, and if any blot hath cleaved to mine hands;

8 Then let me sow, and let another eat; yea, let my offspring be rooted out.

9 If mine heart have been deceived by a woman, or if I have laid wait at my neighbour’s door;

10 Then let my wife grind unto another, and let others bow down upon her.

11 For this is an heinous crime; yea, it is an iniquity to be punished by the judges.

12 For it is a fire that consumeth to destruction, and would root out all mine increase.

13 If I did despise the cause of my manservant or of my maidservant, when they contended with me;

14 What then shall I do when God riseth up? and when he visiteth, what shall I answer him?

15 Did not he that made me in the womb make him? and did not one fashion us in the womb?

16 If I have withheld the poor from their desire, or have caused the eyes of the widow to fail;

17 Or have eaten my morsel myself alone, and the fatherless hath not eaten thereof;

18 (For from my youth he was brought up with me, as with a father, and I have guided her from my mother’s womb;)

19 If I have seen any perish for want of clothing, or any poor without covering;

20 If his loins have not blessed me, and if he were not warmed with the fleece of my sheep;

21 If I have lifted up my hand against the fatherless, when I saw my help in the gate:

22 Then let mine arm fall from my shoulder blade, and mine arm be broken from the bone.

23 For destruction from God was a terror to me, and by reason of his highness I could not endure.

24 If I have made gold my hope, or have said to the fine gold, Thou art my confidence;

25 If I rejoice because my wealth was great, and because mine hand had gotten much;

26 If I beheld the sun when it shined, or the moon walking in brightness;

27 And my heart hath been secretly enticed, or my mouth hath kissed my hand:

28 This also were an iniquity to be punished by the judge: for I should have denied the God that is above.

29 If I rejoice at the destruction of him that hated me, or lifted up myself when evil found him:

30 Neither have I suffered my mouth to sin by wishing a curse to his soul.

31 If the men of my tabernacle said not, Oh that we had of his flesh! we cannot be satisfied.

32 The stranger did not lodge in the street: but I opened my doors to the traveller.

33 If I covered my transgressions as Adam, by hiding mine iniquity in my bosom:

34 Did I fear a great multitude, or did the contempt of families terrify me, that I kept silence, and went not out of the door?

35 Oh that one would hear me! behold, my desire is, that the Almighty would answer me, and that mine adversary had written a book.

36 Surely I would take it upon my shoulder, and bind it as a crown to me.

37 I would declare unto him the number of my steps; as a prince would I go near unto him.

38 If my land cry against me, or that the furrows likewise thereof complain;

39 If I have eaten the fruits thereof without money, or have caused the owners thereof to lose their life:

40 Let thistles grow instead of wheat, and cockle instead of barley. The words of Job are ended.

50 thoughts on “Job Chapter 31

  1. Job is humbled by the things God has done for him and reiterates his promises to God. He won’t let others influence his walk with God or allow temptation to impede his path. Be careful who you let into your path to God.

  2. Job 31:23 For destruction from God was a terror to me, and by reason of his highness I could not endure.

    Isaiah13:6 Howl ye; for the day of the Lord is at hand; It shall come as a destruction from the Almighty.
    Isaiah 2:12 For the day of Lord of hosts shall be upon every one that is proud and lofty, and upon every one that is lifted up; and he shall be brought low:

  3. 4. Doth not he see my ways, and count all my steps?

    God does see our ways and knows every step we take, so it’s in our best interest to allow Him lead us in the way we should go and the steps we should take.

    Psalm 37:23 KJVS
    The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord: and he delighteth in his way.

  4. 26 If I beheld the sun when it shined, or the moon walking in brightness;

    27 And my heart hath been secretly enticed, or my mouth hath kissed my hand:

    28 This also were an iniquity to be punished by the judge: for I should have denied the God that is above.

    29 If I rejoice at the destruction of him that hated me, or lifted up myself when evil found him:

    30 Neither have I suffered my mouth to sin by wishing a curse to his soul.

    31 If the men of my tabernacle said not, Oh that we had of his flesh! we cannot be satisfied.

    32 The stranger did not lodge in the street: but I opened my doors to the traveller.

    33 If I covered my transgressions as Adam, by hiding mine iniquity in my bosom:

    34 Did I fear a great multitude, or did the contempt of families terrify me, that I kept silence, and went not out of the door?

    35 Oh that one would hear me! behold, my desire is, that the Almighty would answer me, and that mine adversary had written a book

    El se estaba auto examinando viendo que no encontrará algo en que le ubiera fallado a Dios talves con sus ojos o en su corazón o si alguna vez no fue compacivo con la viuda el huérfano o hasta con los criados pero sabía que era Dios quien conosia y juzgarla su vida

  5. This is a GREAT example of how our relationship with GOD should be, that our heart would be humble and contrite not wanting to disobey GOD or cause hardship unto our relationship unto GOD THE ALMIGHTY!!!

  6. 4 Doth not he see my ways, and count all my steps?

    5 If I have walked with vanity, or if my foot hath hasted to deceit;

    6 Let me be weighed in an even balance that God may know mine integrity.

    7 If my step hath turned out of the way, and mine heart walked after mine eyes, and if any blot hath cleaved to mine hands;

  7. 4. Doth not he see my ways , and count all my steps?
    we can be sure that no matter where we find ourselves in life that God Is Watching Over Us. he knows the steps that we take he knows where we are in life and he cares about us. He will come through for us

  8. A New President – How Should we Pray?

    4 Doth not he see my ways, and count all my steps?

    This is a historic day for the United States of America. First, I believe we should pray for unity. Pray the new administration will allow the Lord to guide them in their efforts to unify this great nation. Not only to unify the leaders of our nation but to unify the population. Pray for a focus on God’s plan for our country. Pray that President Trump will seek the Lord for guidance in every decision. Pray that our country will receive favor with other world leaders.

  9. ” Have I put my trust in money or felt secure because of my gold ?
    Job 30: 24

    Job’s trust did not come from his wealth, it came from God. In my short Journey in the apostolic faith, the Lord is teaching me that is not in my own strength, abilities or how much money I have in the bank in order to feel secure. I’m learning to rely on his provision.

  10. 1 I made a covenant with mine eyes; why then should I think upon a maid?

    2 For what portion of God is there from above? and what inheritance of the Almighty from on high?

    3 Is not destruction to the wicked? and a strange punishment to the workers of iniquity?

    Sin leads to destruction. There are consequences for our disobedience to God. Remember the commitment you made with Him and give your all to follow His commandments and His will for you.

  11. v31 ( indeed I have not allowed my mouth to sin
    By asking for a curse on his soul ) ;

    One of the best ways to avoid personal conflict is to abstain from talking negatively about others . Spreading rumors and gossip about others will stir up a hornet’s nest of contention and conflict.

    Job spoke no evil ….. ” And that ye study to be quiet, and do your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you” 1Thessalonians 4:11

    The Word of GOD described Job as perfect JESUS told HIS disciples, “Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect” Matthew 5:48

    *Following JESUS whose way is perfect will lead us in the way of true perfection, and we can work toward perfection by controlling our speech.

  12. Job is setting high standards for himself to protect his integrity. Covenants were not made to restrict and confine people, but to protect and separate them. Sin is the of child of death and when you see it then you should be repelled not drawn in. The eyes can be full of lust and cause the mind and heart to wander. Obtaining from certain behaviors will keep Job from going in the wrong direction. He is careful because he knows his relationship is at stake and his future. When we focus on our future and not the distractions nothing can stop us.

  13. ob 31

    1 I made a covenant with mine eyes; why then should I think upon a maid?

    2 For what portion of God is there from above? and what inheritance of the Almighty from on high?

    3 Is not destruction to the wicked? and a strange punishment to the workers of iniquity?

    Job made a covenant with God
    He was a righteous man and valued his promises he made with God so he kept his word. We should all strive for perfection like the perfect example..Job was

  14. 13 If I did despise the cause of my manservant or of my maidservant, when they contended with me;

    14 What then shall I do when God riseth up? and when he visiteth, what shall I answer him?

    15 Did not he that made me in the womb make him? and did not one fashion us in the womb?

    Money and stature do not elevate us, nor do the lack thereof abase us, in Gods eyes. Job understood this and believes that God made each person and we should treat each other as Gods creation. Today our world is split in several ways. We hear terms like upper, middle, and lower class, third and first world countries, homeless, and well off, blue and white collar workers. These terms tend to label social stature and when we hear them we already have an idea of the persons financial situation. Another prevailing way our world is split today is by race. We live in a world where the color of your skin can determine how you are treated. People make assumptions about who you are as an individual based on the tone of your skin. Our beliefs is another way we are split. Beliefs range from religious, political, pro life or choice, choice of life style- they are all beliefs. And with each belief we split ourselves up as the human race. Even more detrimental, we have allowed it into our churches and we have split up the body of Christ because of these carnal attributes. The media, world, and society has done a tremendous job of telling us how we should view others. But what say God? In genesis God said let’s make man in our image, in 1 John God says that if you say you love God and hate your brother you are a liar… you cannot hate your brother and love God, God also says to love thy neighbour as thyself. God made each of us and commands us to love each other. We may disagree but we can disagree in love. The body of Christ needs unity, and this world needs the body of Christ if it is to have any hope of salvation. Job understood that he was not made any differently than anyone else, he was formed in his mothers womb just like everyone else. We are formed and made the same, and we will all die the same, returning to dust with nothing but our souls to leave this earth. The choice we have is how will we treat each other between birth and death? Will we treat them like the humans they are, created by God, our neighbor and brother? Or will we let this world, ruled by Satan determine how we treat and ostracize each other?

  15. 36 I would face the accusation proudly.
    I would wear it like a crown.

    Natural instinct is to lie to our wrong doings – to not admit them.
    Let’s not be the norm, we are a peculiar people, let us face our wrongdoings, take the consequences and GrOw from them!

  16. New International Version
    12 It is a fire that burns to Destruction; it would have uprooted my harvest.

    Sin will eventually uproot the harvest you’ve worked so hard to plant. For as we know, sin sperates us from God so it also separates us from His increase.

    God takes a angry bitter person and uproots the anger and bitterness and plants the seeds of love and mercy. That person begins to nurture the fruit of love and mercy and it grows. Yet when they allow sin into their lives over and over again eventually the fires of sin will burn out the love and mercy and the devil will plant seeds of bitterness and anger again.

    We must be careful to not allow the harvest that is within us to be uprooted by giving no place to the enemy.

  17. 2 For what has God above chosen for us? What is our inheritance from the Almighty on high? (NLT)

    We are given the opportunity of choice and most use it to their own selfish advantage. I think if we all stopped and considered Job’s questions though we’d probably end up making better decisions. God what are Your plans for me? Lead me and I will follow!

  18. We will all experience tough times. God gives us strength to make it out of them. We don’t have time to dwell in pity parties. We must encourage ourselves in the Lord and continue to move forward.

  19. ^^Amen Crockett, i agree we dont have to wear those tough times on our face. I know God is gonna get me through this so smile awhile and give your face a rest.

  20. iLove to Go Blog
    ““I made a covenant with my eyes not to look with lust at a young woman.

    For lust is a shameful sin, a crime that should be punished.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭31:1, 11‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    WOW, look at these scriptures in the NLT. The Bible declares that lust is a shameful sin, a crime that should be punished.

    The worlds thought process of lust is dramatically different than the biblical view. Many think it’s OK just to look and even some call it eye candy, but when I hear that phrase I let folks know that just as candy rots the teeth; so eye candy rots the soul. We must take this covenant seriously and refuse to lust after the things of this world.

  21. Job 31:4 (NLT)
    “Doesn’t he see everything I do and every step I take?”
    Yes He Does!

    Prov. 5:21 (NLT)
    “For the LORD sees clearly what a man does, examines every path he takes.”

  22. THE PLEA OF DESPERATION

    35 Oh that one would hear me! behold, my desire is, that the Almighty would answer me, and that mine adversary had written a book.

    We find in the soul searching, heart wrenching pleas of Job the very real and relatable requests of a wounded, hurting individual. In extended seasons of pain, we cry out simply for the LORD our GOD to simply reply, respond or reveal to us our infractions. Our approach to GOD should be one of humble guilt not arrogant innocence.

    Philippians 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

    The spirit of our approach is monumentous. Thanking JESUS for all he has done, instead of complaining for what he has not done.

    THE PLEA OF DESPERATION should be the plea of THANKSGIVING to GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  23. Eye is mentioned numerous times in this chapter. The eye is the gateway into the soul – what we see (physically or spiritually) effects everything we do.

    What are we putting in front of our eyes determines the path we walk. Is it holy? Is it righteous? Does it lead us to God or away from God? We must be careful because what we “see” we either allow in or block.

    It was the fruit of the tree that of the knowledge of good and evil that caught the eye of Eve, and then she was lured in by the enemy.
    We may think something “looks good” or looks like it can’t hurt us, even though we know it’s forbidden, but rest assured not everything that looks good is good. The enemy knows how to dress something up to make us think it’s okay to partake of, when really sin lieth at the door and is just waiting for us to partake.

    Pray for protection of your eyes both physically and spiritually and guard what you allow to pass through them.

  24. 13-21
    Here the Bible teaches that those with resources are responsible for meeting the basic needs of the helpless and protecting them from legal oppression
    There truly is a biblical social gospel The good news means that person’s who love God are to demonstrate it by showing active compassion for the needy

  25. Amen! Let our hearts be ever faithful to you God and you alone. For if we are faithful to you then there should be no deceitful ways in our lives. Keep me ever close to You and following after your ways. Nothing else can satisfy!

  26. 33 If I covered my transgressions as Adam, by hiding mine iniquity in my bosom:

    In this chapter Job lists a host of attitudes he possesses and states he did not do these things. If we read these attitudes he declares, we can glean proper attitude of being blessed, of helping others, of integrity and more. Wisdom can be gleaned from these verses.

  27. ““If I’ve ever used my strength and influence to take advantage of the unfortunate, Go ahead, break both my arms, cut off all my fingers! The fear of God has kept me from these things— how else could I ever face him?”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭31:21-23‬ ‭MSG‬‬

    The fear of God has kept me….Lord I need you!

  28. 38 If my land cry against me, or that the furrows likewise thereof complain;
    39 If I have eaten the fruits thereof without money, or have caused the owners thereof to lose their life:
    40 Let thistles grow instead of wheat, and cockle instead of barley. The words of Job are ended.

    ALWAYS the best thing we can do is STOP speaking, and listen to what Jesus has to say… Many times I fail to do this and so I have to humble myself and repent not only to Jesus, but to others too and then heed the word I was given, but to stubborn to listen to the first time.

  29. 2 For what portion of God is there from above? and what inheritance of the Almighty from on high?

    3 Is not destruction to the wicked? and a strange punishment to the workers of iniquity?

    4 Doth not he see my ways, and count all my steps?

    Instead of trying to control our on life, why not put in the hands of the one who knows where we’re going? Let’s let God take control and see how much further we can go with Him then on our own!

  30. Job is working it out….

    Sometimes its good to look at myself in my heart and do a check to see if i have any bad things that need to get rid of.
    Job was realizing the things that he need to change before God…and he was working it out all the way.
    Thankyou Lord for helping us purifying our hearts for You and Your business.

  31. For what has God above chosen for us? What is our inheritance from the Almighty on high? (‭Job‬ ‭31‬:‭2‬ NLT)

    Many times this same question has entered our minds. We all know the answer to this. The question truly is ‘What is in the heart of man?’ What are we truly made of when no man is watching? Choices, choices, choices, isn’t this what people think of? It’s what ever pleases the desires of the flesh, or so you think! Playing with fire will eventually kill you. It’s time to have the mind of Christ, Obey His word, be a light that shines in darkness, lead the lost to Him, drink from the rivers of living water. And you’ll see that you have the answer to your life and know without a shadow of a doubt EXACTLY what has GOD chosen for you!!!!

  32. “I made a covenant with my eyes not to look lustfully at a young woman. For what is our lot from God above, our heritage from the Almighty on high?
    Job 31:1‭-‬2 NIV

    Our mind receives everything we put in front of our eyes whether it be good or bad. Which is why we must be careful with what we see because our mind will also work against us if we are not disciplined or have self control.

  33. 35 (“Oh, that I had someone to hear me!
    I sign now my defense—let the Almighty answer me;
    let my accuser put his indictment in writing.

    I always have someone who hears me!!! I always have someone who is there that is willing to listen to me, someone who is always there, someone who knows exactly what I need and His name is Jesus. I need you daily Lord!!! My heart cries out to you because I know I serve a BIG ALL MIGHTY ALL POWERFUL GOD!!! The Lord is the only one who has the answers to my cries!!!! Not worthy of nothing but thankful because you saved me.

  34. 32 The stranger did not lodge in the street: but I opened my doors to the traveller.

    As a church we need to have our doors open to the unbelievers and bring them into our house and give them a spiritual nourishment of the word of God!

  35. Job 31:12 (AMPC)
    12 For [uncontrolled passion] is a fire which consumes to Abaddon (to destruction, ruin, and the place of final torment); [that fire once lighted would rage until all is consumed] and would burn to the root all my [life’s] increase.

    We cannot blame God for uncontrolled passion. We cannot pin our fleshly lusts on the devil. We can’t even accuse the world. Uncontrolled immoral passion is the fault of one and one alone. The self.

    The Bible gives no process, plan, or procedure for countering sexual lust. There is no special spiritual weapon that we can attack it with. There is no armor that will help us to withstand its onslaught. The Bible is clear. There is only one thing we can do when confronted with sexual lust.

    2 Timothy 2:22 (KJV Strong’s)
    22 Flee also youthful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord out of a pure heart.

    1 Corinthians 6:18 (KJV Strong’s)
    18 Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.

    RUN AWAY!!!

    Don’t allow yourself to be serenaded by the enemy’s lies. You nor I will never be spiritual enough, or mature enough in God to play around with unbridled passions, and lusts of the flesh and not get burned.

    It’s just not worth it.

    Proverbs 7:24-27 (KJV Strong’s)

    24 Hearken unto me now therefore, O ye children,
    and attend to the words of my mouth.
    25 Let not thine heart decline to her ways,
    go not astray in her paths.
    26 For she hath cast down many wounded:
    yea, many strong men have been slain by her.
    27 Her house is the way to hell,
    going down to the chambers of death.

  36. 1 I made a covenant with mine eyes; why then should I think upon a maid?

    Perhaps one of the most assured ways to keep ourselves safe to make a covenant with the parts that can lead us to send if we are not careful

  37. Job is hard on himself , he will not allow anything to get in the way. He would receive punishment if he failed short of the glory of God. He knows that following the commands that God placed wasn’t easy. He’s letting God be in control of his life. He’s not allowing the enemy to get in his way he’s standing up for righteousness no matter the circumstances.

  38. For what has God above chosen for us? What is our inheritance from the Almighty on high? Isn’t it calamity for the wicked and misfortune for those who do evil?
    Job 31:2‭-‬3 NLT

    The bible clearly tells us that the wage of sin is death. Pray for protection for yourself. Pray that you may not be tempted. Dont try and go through life on your own attempting to tough it out and take whatever ia thrown at you. The enemy is constantly trying to trip you nad cause you to fall into sin that you may be dead. Can the dead praise God? No. Can the dead lead others to God? No. The Lord teaches us to pray for our protection “lead me not into temptation but deliver me from evil…” guard your eyes and mind. Filter the content and flee sin. What you put in will come out.

  39. Job 31:5-6 “If I have walked with falsehood or my foot has hurried after deceit— let God weigh me in honest scales and he will know that I am blameless—

    The direct route to the place God wants us is through some of the hardest most excruciating, painful situation of life. There is no other way we can get equipped for it, it is that path that if we endure, the journey will produce a reward.

  40. Let me be weighed in an even balance, that God may know mine integrity.(Job 31:6 KJV)

    Job holds himself to high moral standards to keep his covenant. He also has the fear of the Lord keeping him from unrighteousness. God already knows Job is blameless and when the time is right all will see that Jobs suffering was to glorify Him.

  41. 6Let God weigh me on the scales of justice,
    for he knows my integrity.

    How many of us would be willing to be put on the scales of justice? Physically scales can detect small amounts like ounces and milligrams. But God will weigh our good works vs bad works. Imagine how easy it is to tip the scale one way or the other. We must be careful what we ask for, stay focused on God.

  42. Job 31-4 today’s amp English Bible says does not ( God) see my ways and count all my steps? Yes it everything that do for him. For his glory and honor.

  43. What would you say?

    14 What then shall I do when God riseth up? and when he visiteth, what shall I answer him?

    Sometimes life will slip from your fingers and things and time get away from you. You find yourself caught up in the grind of every day life. You get up each morning and go to work, do what the world requires of you, come home to go to bed and the same thing tomorrow. The trap has been laid. Your not out sinning but your also not giving God and his kingdom any time. It seems to be ok because you are providing for your family and doing what you are suppose to be doing, but what are you going to say when He showed up? What can you say now?

  44. God knows your heart and the desires you have. He gives us all the opportunity to make a choice to serve and worship Him, the Almighty. Thank you Jesus for all the blessings and trials that you have brought me through.

  45. I realized that here lately I have been complaining to GOD about the things that HE hasn’t done in my life. Instead I should have been thanking HIM for the things that HE has provided. No I’m not wealthy in this world, but everything I have is because GOD provides. I serve an awesome GOD and I thank you for all that you are doing in my life………Thank you Jesus….Amen!!!!

  46. “Let thistles grow instead of wheat, and cockle instead of barley. The words of Job are ended.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭31:40‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Sometimes you just can’t say anyhing was. Sometimes you just have to be quiet.

Leave a Reply

