Job Chapter 33

30 Days of Prayer – Day 22

Pray That God will send whatever means necessary to do His work. Pray for North American/Global missionaries and national ministers (Mark 11:3).

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 22

Job 33

1 Wherefore, Job, I pray thee, hear my speeches, and hearken to all my words.

2 Behold, now I have opened my mouth, my tongue hath spoken in my mouth.

3 My words shall be of the uprightness of my heart: and my lips shall utter knowledge clearly.

4 The spirit of God hath made me, and the breath of the Almighty hath given me life.

5 If thou canst answer me, set thy words in order before me, stand up.

6 Behold, I am according to thy wish in God’s stead: I also am formed out of the clay.

7 Behold, my terror shall not make thee afraid, neither shall my hand be heavy upon thee.

8 Surely thou hast spoken in mine hearing, and I have heard the voice of thy words, saying,

9 I am clean without transgression, I am innocent; neither is there iniquity in me.

10 Behold, he findeth occasions against me, he counteth me for his enemy,

11 He putteth my feet in the stocks, he marketh all my paths.

12 Behold, in this thou art not just: I will answer thee, that God is greater than man.

13 Why dost thou strive against him? for he giveth not account of any of his matters.

14 For God speaketh once, yea twice, yet man perceiveth it not.

15 In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falleth upon men, in slumberings upon the bed;

16 Then he openeth the ears of men, and sealeth their instruction,

17 That he may withdraw man from his purpose, and hide pride from man.

18 He keepeth back his soul from the pit, and his life from perishing by the sword.

19 He is chastened also with pain upon his bed, and the multitude of his bones with strong pain:

20 So that his life abhorreth bread, and his soul dainty meat.

21 His flesh is consumed away, that it cannot be seen; and his bones that were not seen stick out.

22 Yea, his soul draweth near unto the grave, and his life to the destroyers.

23 If there be a messenger with him, an interpreter, one among a thousand, to shew unto man his uprightness:

24 Then he is gracious unto him, and saith, Deliver him from going down to the pit: I have found a ransom.

25 His flesh shall be fresher than a child’s: he shall return to the days of his youth:

26 He shall pray unto God, and he will be favourable unto him: and he shall see his face with joy: for he will render unto man his righteousness.

27 He looketh upon men, and if any say, I have sinned, and perverted that which was right, and it profited me not;

28 He will deliver his soul from going into the pit, and his life shall see the light.

29 Lo, all these things worketh God oftentimes with man,

30 To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living.

31 Mark well, O Job, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I will speak.

32 If thou hast anything to say, answer me: speak, for I desire to justify thee.

33 If not, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I shall teach thee wisdom.

51 thoughts on “Job Chapter 33

  1. Speak to me Jesus.

    I love this passage of the Word. I like how job was listening to the Lord about how to keep his way silent sometimes and just hear the Word of God. Sometimes its good just to listen to God and not speak.

    I pray today iwill listen.
    I love you Jesus.

  2. 13 Why dost thou strive against him? for he giveth not account of any of his matters.
    14 For God speaketh once, yea twice, yet man perceiveth it not.
    15 In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falleth upon men, in slumberings upon the bed;
    16 Then he openeth the ears of men, and sealeth their instruction,

    So often we are asking ” God are we ever going to speak to me?” Yet, the real question should be “self are you ever going to listen to God?” Let us stop blaming others and God for our lack of attention to the voice of God.

    It is His desire to daily communicate with us. Yet our spiritual condition determines if we will hear Him.

    • So often we are asking ” God are You ever going to speak to me?”

      Forgive my typo it should be “you” not “we”

  3. 27 He looketh upon men, and if any say, I have sinned, and perverted that which was right, and it profited me not;
    28 He will deliver his soul from going into the pit, and his life shall see the light.

    I think all the time ” what if I was still in the pit?” It moves me to tears when I think about how He has saved me. Jesus, You delivered my soul from going into the it and my life has seen the light! You are so amazing! “

  4. As a child, sometimes even as an adult we have this thing called “selective hearing” meaning we pick and choose what we want hear. We listen to what we wanna listen to. If God has spoke to you not only once but twice and you still havent listened then maybe you should reconsider what you’re selectively listening to. Open your ears and recieve whats meant to be recieved and to me theres no sweeter sound or feeling other than the word. Whether if its 15 In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falleth upon men, in slumberings upon the bed;
    Pray about it, be about it
    God bless you all

  5. WHEN GOD DOES NOT MAKE SENSE

    4 The spirit of God hath made me, and the breath of the Almighty hath given me life.
    5 If thou canst answer me, set thy words in order before me, stand up.

    The petitions are continuous, the accusations relentless, the questions unending, however there is no answer to the hardships. GOD is GOD and everyone in Jobs circle knows and understands the ways of the LORD our GOD. There is no dispute in regard to the way GOD works.

    However, knowing the innocence of Job and the testing of GOD, we understand from the past tense. However in real time GOD DOES NOT MAKE SENSE to any of these.

    Possibly we occasionally find ourselves in similar situations and circumstances. We do not recall any iniquity, folly or sin, however we are in the fire of purification, the trial of faith. We must choose to keep the course and maintain our integrity before GOD.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  6. 17. He makes them turn from doing wrong; he keeps them from pride.

    18. He protects them from the grave, from crossing over the river of death.

    29. Yes, God does these things again and again for people.

    30. He rescues them from the grave so they may enjoy the light of life. NLT

    God could just let us go and let us wreck our lives with no concern for our future, but He loves us enough to correct us and warn us of the dangers along the paths we choose, and direct us back onto the path towards Him and eternal life.

  7. 16 Then he openeth the ears of men, and sealeth their instruction,

    When our ears are opened by God… we better listen to him for he is the almighty and he has all power and WISDOM. We can’t do anything on our own.Our decisions we make need to made to glorify God. Amen!!!

  8. Job 33:29-30 (MSG)
    This is the way God works.
    Over and over again
    He pulls our souls back from certain destruction
    So we’ll see the light – and live in the light.

    GOD IS SO MERCIFUL!!
    How many times like a sheep have I/you gone astray, and God has been MERCIFUL and pulled us back from certain destruction. He has caused us to See The Light (JESUS CHRIST), and because we have Seen The Light, we can LIVE In The LIGHT (JESUS CHRIST).

    “For we were as sheep going astray; but are now returned unto the Shepherd and Bishop of your souls.” 1 Peter 2:25

  9. For God speaks again and again, though people do not recognize it. (‭Job‬ ‭33‬:‭14‬ NLT)

    To many times we get so caught up in our dilemmas in life, that we become so blinded to the hand of GOD and deaf to His voice. We drown ourselves in weeping, complaining instead of praying, pointing the finger towards God, ect!! When the trial should’ve been temporarily we’ve taken and dragged it out for years singing the same old song. What a terrible place to be in life. These are the times that we need to remember the word of GOD. that has been hidden in our hearts, and remember that He has always given us the victory over our self righteousness and over the enemy!

  10. Job 33:27-28 (MSG)
    27 You’ll sing God’s praises to everyone you meet,
    testifying, ‘I messed up my life—
    and let me tell you, it wasn’t worth it.
    28 But God stepped in and saved me from certain death.
    I’m alive again! Once more I see the light!’

    I do not wish that anyone have the testimony of a backslider. The road is rough and not worth it. There were nights of pain, fear, and deep regret.

    That being said as a former backslider I have the privilege to speak of God’s restorative power. To tell of the deliverance from the lies of the enemy, and the clouds of dark unbelief and doubt. I can speak emphatically that the way and path of the Lord is one well worth traveling every day.

    To backslide is to flirt with death. It is to court destruction, and to serenade hell. It is never a wise choice but the most foolish of all decisions.

    But it is never too late as long as the backslider is still alive. We can never become unborn again. Whether living in obedience or disobedience Jesus loves us deeply and will stop at nothing to see your return.

    So it is within that context that I say this.
    Thank God I was backslidden. Because I have the opportunity to warn others of its dangerous course, and that Jesus is truly the loving Father the word says he is. May my regret inspire others to never walk that path.
    It is NEVER worth it.

  11. Sometimes we may not understand why we are going through something but that is when we must trust that the Lord is with us and we need to search ourselves to see what we can glean from whatever we are going through.

  12. 33 If not, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I shall teach thee wisdom.

    If I hold my peace let the Lord fight my battles,Victory,Victory shall be mine.
    Through much sorrow comes wisdom. Job was obtaining a wisdom that would keep him in a life of victory. We can be overcomers we can live victoriously don’t let anything or anyone tell you any different. It is through the blood that was shed for us and His love will forever reign!

  13. v33 If not, listen to me;
    Hold your peace, and I will teach you wisdom.”

    As GOD’S children ,we would do well to prayerfully apply HIS WORDS .

  14. 29 Lo, all these things worketh God oftentimes with man,

    30 To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living.

  15. 33 But if not, then listen to me;
    be silent, and I will teach you wisdom.”

    Lord help me to listen and obey your commands. I know I can learn wisdom by elders surrounding me because they have already seen, lived, and done many of the things were going to be going through. Yet help me listen to you Lord, give me the wisdom that I need to be able to follow you always. Help me have the wisdom to be able to do better learn from mistakes and keep moving forward.

  16. 28 He will deliver his soul from going into the pit, and his life shall see the light.

    29 Lo, all these things worketh God oftentimes with man,

    30 To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living.

    Our God is a God of Salvation and Restoration.

  17. 29 Lo, all these things worketh God oftentimes with man,
    30 To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living.

  18. God does not have to answer to man but he does reveal himself through dreams and visions pain and suffering and angelic beings . When a man responds favorably to his suffering God resores him

  19. Job33 25 amplified (English verse says) there the man’s flesh shall be restored; it becomes fresher and more tender than a child’s he returns to the days of his youth. Lord I pray that backsliding families will come to our Church and be restored in the holy ghost.

  20. ““For God watches how people live; he sees everything they do. No darkness is thick enough to hide the wicked from his eyes. We don’t set the time when we will come before God in judgment.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭34:21-23‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    iLove to Go Blog
    This is completely crazy. Job’s friends continue to give him a hard and continue tk try to pressure him into confessing that he is guilty of some hideous crime. I wish they would just leave him alone, but Job will finally get the last laugh at last.

  21. 4 For the Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life. (NLT)

    Thank you Jesus for life today!

  22. 11 He putteth my feet in the stocks, he marketh all my paths.

    12 Behold, in this thou art not just: I will answer thee, that God is greater than man.

    God knows our every move. Trust in him he’ll strengthen you seek him.

  23. 33 If not, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I shall teach thee wisdom.
    sometimes in order to hear from God we must simply hold our peace. We must keep our ears and our hearts open to him. That means that even when we don’t understand we must be willing to listen to his voice give us Direction. If we do this he will teach us wisdom, he will give us Direction, and he will lead us

  24. 10 Behold, he findeth occasions against me, he counteth me for his enemy,

    11 He putteth my feet in the stocks, he marketh all my paths.

    12 Behold, in this thou art not just: I will answer thee, that God is greater than man.

  25. 29-30 “This is the way God works. Over and over again He pulls our souls back from certain destruction so we’ll see the light—and live in the light!

    Thank you God for your mercy that falls on us daily! From pulling us out of sin of this world and letting us see the light of You and being able to be a light that shines for you!

  26. Job 33 :2 – Behold now I have opened my mouth, my tongue hath spoken in my mouth. My words shall be of the uprightness of my heart: and My lips shall utter knowledge clearly. The Spirit of God hath made me and the breath of the Almighty hath given me life. If thou canst answer me, set thy words in order before me, Stand up. Behold, I am according to thy wish in God’s stead I also am formed out of thr clay.

    Job had not accused God of malice or injustice of course, he had complained bitterly that things that happened to him were undeserved and unjust, but his mention of such things as coming from God should always be understood as meaning, merely, that God had allowed them to happen.

  27. 14 For God speaketh once, yea twice, yet man perceiveth it not.
    15 In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falleth upon men, in slumberings upon the bed;

    GOD CAN DO ALL THINGS AND man can do NOTHING WITHOUT GOD!!!
    When man does not perceive GOD’S will, it’s cause he is soooo caught up doing his own will!!!

  28. Even when you dont understand the struggle your facing, just sit tight and let the Lord speak to you. He knows where we are and He is willing to direct our every step but we havecto be in a place to hear him and then folliw. Oh God please forgive me for the times that i didnt set still andcwait in you. Im listening now

  29. 14For God does speak—now one way, now another—though no one perceives it.

    When God can speaks to us in different ways to grab our attention. His friend makes a valuable point that when we stray away from God that he will find ways to redirect our paths. We may not see any sin but still put to the fire because it’s the trial of faith. When it all doesn’t make sense if we hold on he will bring everything to light.

  30. 8 Surely thou hast spoken in mine hearing, and I have heard the voice of thy words, saying,

    9 I am clean without transgression, I am innocent; neither is there iniquity in me.

    10 Behold, he findeth occasions against me, he counteth me for his enemy,

    11 He putteth my feet in the stocks, he marketh all my paths.

    12 Behold, in this thou art not just: I will answer thee, that God is greater than man.

    Job tried to justify himself, speaking of his innocence and what sounds like accusing God. God doesn’t make mistakes. He is a just and righteous God. When we defend ourselves we are saying we know better than God. We can’t understand Gods reasonings because we aren’t him and he exists outside of time and our understanding.

  31. Behold, he findeth occasions against me, he counteth me for his enemy,
    Job 33:10 KJV

    God disciplines his children when they do wrong and allows trials to grow us. It doesn’t mean he is counting us his enemy but rather his clay to mold, a lump of coal in pressure to become a diamond. Purification pleases God it gives him a vessel to work with and being used of God means their will come trials.

  32. We may not know what God is doing in our lives and we just trust that God is in control even when we feel like your doing all that you can do. God knows! The very thing that God uses to get you on your knees can be the very same things that helps save you if you keep your spirit right and not give up on God. We cannot allow doubt creep in our lives doubting that he is going to work in our favor. The devil is a liar and we overcomers!

  33. * We cannot allow doubt to creep in our lives. We cant start doubting that he isnt going to work in our favor. The devil is a liar and we overcomers! God is in control!

  34. 29 Lo, all these things worketh God oftentimes with man,

    30 To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living.

    We should dispose the hard times so much. God uses these times to direct us in his plan. It is more important to God for us to get to the afterlife then to be comfortable in this life.

  35. God has delivered me from going down to the pit, and I shall live to enjoy the light of life.’
    Job 33:28 NIV

    So many times I have failed and gone the wrong way in life. There was even times that I should of bin dead or in jail but thanks to His Blood that has delivered me from going to the pits of hell and He has given me life to enjoy and a second opportunity by His Grace and Mercy to serve His wonderful name. I thank Him because He has saved me and never left me even though at time I deserve it. Thank you Jesus.

  36. 4 The spirit of God hath made me, and the breath of the Almighty hath given me life.

    5 If thou canst answer me, set thy words in order before me, stand up.

    6 Behold, I am according to thy wish in God’s stead: I also am formed out of the clay.

    GOD made me in HIS image; HE breathed life into my body. So I should always stand up to defend the word of GOD. I don’t know what to say sometimes, but GOD always knows. I am a child of HIS; never will I turn my back on GOD again. there have been three times that I turned from the FATHER; all of which were with no excuse: except that I didn’t fully understand the power of GOD’S word. This has been a wake up call for me. DON’T LET THE ENEMY STEAL MY JOY!! You can’t have my family; you can’t have my joy; AND you most assuredly can’t have my life….Thank you Jesus……Amen!!!!

  37. 7 Behold, my terror shall not make thee afraid, neither shall my hand be heavy upon thee.

    8 Surely thou hast spoken in mine hearing, and I have heard the voice of thy words, saying,

    9 I am clean without transgression, I am innocent; neither is there iniquity in me.

    10 Behold, he findeth occasions against me, he counteth me for his enemy,

    11 He putteth my feet in the stocks, he marketh all my paths.

    12 Behold, in this thou art not just: I will answer thee, that God is greater than man.

  38. 31 Mark well, O Job, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I will speak.

    32 If thou hast anything to say, answer me: speak, for I desire to justify thee.

    33 If not, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I shall teach thee wisdom.

  39. Babbling or communicating?

    3. What I’m about to say has been carefully thought out.

    Running off at the mouth is a bad habit that can get us into trouble and hurt us in the most important areas of our life. Relationships will suffer or end, our career will be affected and most importantly, we will have little confidence in ourselves. Our speech shapes our life. Time and again we find ourselves in situations where the outcome depends on what we say and how we say it.

    We have all done it. We are all guilty.

    The wonderful part is, we don’t have to continue. An acronym I remember from years back is THINK.
    T – is it True? H – is it Helpful? I – is it Inspiring? N – is it Necessary? K – is it Kind?

    Today’s technology and social-media platforms enable us to express ourselves far too quickly and to too many people at one time. Sometimes our comments are unfiltered thoughts and often with disastrous results. Let’s remember, just because we can say something doesn’t mean we should.

  40. 33 If not, hearken unto me: hold thy peace, and I shall teach thee wisdom.

    These last words of the youngest of Job’s friends were the worst. Immediately it came to my mind from I Timothy 5 “Rebuke not an elder, but intreat him as a father; and the younger men as brethren;” You can give your opinion but to rebuke someone older (and hopefully wiser) just isn’t wise. With that being said, our Pastor is to be held in the highest esteem, above elders. There is a way that seems right to man but we need to look at things the way God looks at it.

  41. For God speaks again and again, though people do not recognize it. He speaks in dreams, in visions of the night, when deep sleep falls on people as they lie in their beds. He whispers in their ears and terrifies them with warnings. He makes them turn from doing wrong; he keeps them from pride. He protects them from the grave, from crossing over the river of death.
    Job 33:14‭-‬18 NLT

    Some claim that God doesnt talk to then. Others want a “special word” from a known man of God or prophet. The reality is that God speaks to us all the time but we are not tuning in to listen. The scripture says that when the Spirit of the Lord comes He will lead us to all truth. God , Jesus is Truth. How can a God that desires intimate relationship with His creation, sons and daughters, not speak to them? You cannot have a relationship without communication. Most of the problem is that we pray/spaek and dont spend enough time in communiom wiht God and wait to hear Him talk to our hearts. He may ne speaking through the message preached but we might say “oh thats not for me” we must be sensitive to His Spirit and spend time getting to know God.

  42. 29 Lo, all these things worketh God oftentimes with man,

    30 To bring back his soul from the pit, to be enlightened with the light of the living.

    While s is what Jesus does, show us mercy, and save our souls, He does want is to seek him with our whole hearts, and obey him, following his commands. We get to join the living when we repent, are baptized in Jesus name for the remission of sins, and are filled with the holy ghost evidenced by speaking with other tongues.

  43. Job 33:15-18 In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls on people as they slumber in their beds, he may speak in their ears and terrify them with warnings, to turn them from wrongdoing and keep them from pride, to preserve them from the pit, their lives from perishing by the sword.

    Even in the days of Job, people understood how God would work in the spirit. They hungered and seeked after God like we do now. Yes there world was much different, and Jobs circumstance was different. But it is the same God.

    Even though it might seem that God and the devil teamed up to pick on Job, God always has a purpose. And for you to get to the destination that God has for you, there is route that can not be avoided. There is always a calm after every storm, if we can endure thru that darkness, we will see joy in the morning.

  44. 31 Mark this well, Job. Listen to me, for I have more to say.

    As parents, how many times have we said this to our children? We give advice and direction to our children hoping they are comprehending what we tell them. We too should listen our Father, Jesus who is telling us the same thing. Listen for my voice, I have more to say to you.

Leave a Reply

