Job Chapter 38

30 Days of Prayer – Day 27

Pray For God to send out chosen workers to rebuild and restore that which has been broken in all facets of life. Pray for the restoration of prodigals and backsliders (Nehemiah 2:5).

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 27

Job 38

1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.

5 Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it?

6 Whereupon are the foundations thereof fastened? or who laid the corner stone thereof;

7 When the morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy?

8 Or who shut up the sea with doors, when it brake forth, as if it had issued out of the womb?

9 When I made the cloud the garment thereof, and thick darkness a swaddlingband for it,

10 And brake up for it my decreed place, and set bars and doors,

11 And said, Hitherto shalt thou come, but no further: and here shall thy proud waves be stayed?

12 Hast thou commanded the morning since thy days; and caused the dayspring to know his place;

13 That it might take hold of the ends of the earth, that the wicked might be shaken out of it?

14 It is turned as clay to the seal; and they stand as a garment.

15 And from the wicked their light is withholden, and the high arm shall be broken.

16 Hast thou entered into the springs of the sea? or hast thou walked in the search of the depth?

17 Have the gates of death been opened unto thee? or hast thou seen the doors of the shadow of death?

18 Hast thou perceived the breadth of the earth? declare if thou knowest it all.

19 Where is the way where light dwelleth? and as for darkness, where is the place thereof,

20 That thou shouldest take it to the bound thereof, and that thou shouldest know the paths to the house thereof?

21 Knowest thou it, because thou wast then born? or because the number of thy days is great?

22 Hast thou entered into the treasures of the snow? or hast thou seen the treasures of the hail,

23 Which I have reserved against the time of trouble, against the day of battle and war?

24 By what way is the light parted, which scattereth the east wind upon the earth?

25 Who hath divided a watercourse for the overflowing of waters, or a way for the lightning of thunder;

26 To cause it to rain on the earth, where no man is; on the wilderness, wherein there is no man;

27 To satisfy the desolate and waste ground; and to cause the bud of the tender herb to spring forth?

28 Hath the rain a father? or who hath begotten the drops of dew?

29 Out of whose womb came the ice? and the hoary frost of heaven, who hath gendered it?

30 The waters are hid as with a stone, and the face of the deep is frozen.

31 Canst thou bind the sweet influences of Pleiades, or loose the bands of Orion?

32 Canst thou bring forth Mazzaroth in his season? or canst thou guide Arcturus with his sons?

33 Knowest thou the ordinances of heaven? canst thou set the dominion thereof in the earth?

34 Canst thou lift up thy voice to the clouds, that abundance of waters may cover thee?

35 Canst thou send lightnings, that they may go and say unto thee, Here we are?

36 Who hath put wisdom in the inward parts? or who hath given understanding to the heart?

37 Who can number the clouds in wisdom? or who can stay the bottles of heaven,

38 When the dust groweth into hardness, and the clods cleave fast together?

39 Wilt thou hunt the prey for the lion? or fill the appetite of the young lions,

40 When they couch in their dens, and abide in the covert to lie in wait?

41 Who provideth for the raven his food? when his young ones cry unto God, they wander for lack of meat.

48 thoughts on “Job Chapter 38

  1. This chapter reveals how much we need God. He is the reason we’re able to do the things we do. We should daily give him praise for his goodness and what he has done. We must always remember that it’s because of God that we are blessed.

  2. 1. Out of the raging storm, the Eternal One answered Job.
    The Voice

    How did God answer out of the storm? Because when we are going through a storm, that’s where God is – right there with us.

    As for the rest of the chapter, it reminded me of this song by
    Nicole C. Mullen:

    Who taught the sun where to stand in the morning?
    And who told the ocean you can only come this far?
    And who showed the moon where to hide ’til evening?
    Whose words alone can catch a falling star?

    Well, I know my Redeemer lives
    I know my Redeemer lives
    All of creation testifies
    This life within me cries
    I know my Redeemer lives

  3. In the NKJV this chapter is captioned with “The Lord Reveals His Omnipotence to Job”. Omnipotence: unlimited authority. In this world of everyone wanting unlimited data, unlimited texting, etc.; we have the opportunity to know our God Almighty who has unlimited authority and is over all. This chapter reminds me of song that me and my daughter love to sing “My Redeemer Lives”:

    Who taught the sun where to stand in the morning?
    And who told the ocean you can only come this far?
    And who showed the moon where to hide till evening?
    Whose words alone can catch a falling star?

    Well I know my Redeemer lives
    I know my Redeemer lives
    All of creation testifies
    This life within me cries
    I know my Redeemer lives

    Ye-e-eah
    The very same God
    That spins things in orbit
    Runs to the weary, the worn and the weak
    And the same gentle hands that hold me when I’m broken
    They conquered death to bring me victory

    He lives
    To take away my shame
    And He lives
    Forever I’ll proclaim
    That the payment for my sins
    Was the precious life He gave
    But now He’s alive and
    There’s an empty
    Grave!

    *I know, That I know, that I know, that I know, that I know
    He lives
    *my redeemer lives*
    *Because He lives I can face tomorrow*
    He lives
    *I know, I know*
    He lives
    *I spoke with Him this morning!*
    He lives
    *The tomb is empty*
    He lives
    *He Lives! I’m GOing to tell everybody!!*

  4. ““Have you ever gotten to the true bottom of things, explored the labyrinthine caves of deep ocean? Do you know the first thing about death? Do you have one clue regarding death’s dark mysteries? And do you have any idea how large this earth is? Speak up if you have even the beginning of an answer.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭38:16-18‬ ‭MSG‬‬
    http://bible.com/97/job.38.16-18.msg

    I’m thankful to have a God that will put me in my place when I get unruly and step out of line. He has on so many occasions reminded us of who He is and His awesome power. Everything is within His realm of control.
    He’s got the whole world in His hands.
    This song filled me with wonder when I was a child. Now it fills me with peace, comfort and empowerment knowing what I know about who my God is because of Him putting me in my place so many times and revealing His might and majesty to me. I praise You, Jesus!!! Thank you, Jesus!!

  5. 34 Canst thou lift up thy voice to the clouds, that abundance of waters may cover thee?

    35 Canst thou send lightnings, that they may go and say unto thee, Here we are?

    36 Who hath put wisdom in the inward parts? or who hath given understanding to the heart?

    37 Who can number the clouds in wisdom? or who can stay the bottles of heaven,

    38 When the dust groweth into hardness, and the clods cleave fast together?

    39 Wilt thou hunt the prey for the lion? or fill the appetite of the young lions,

    La sabiduría de Dios en la creación del mundo Dios le hace saber a Job que no ay quien pueda hacer la maravillosas obras que El a hecho y el es quien da la sabiduría en el corazón del hombre Dios es el único y gran Dios si hermosura no tiene comparación

  6. Psalm 8:4 KJV
    What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?

    THANK YOU JESUS FOR YOUR GREAT MERCY AND LOVE!!!

  7. Job 38:33 (KJV Strong’s)
    33 Knowest thou the ordinances of heaven?
    canst thou set the dominion thereof in the earth?

    Jesus said to pray “thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”

    Other than the words printed about this wonderful realm there isn’t much we know. Eternity is forever, and the Bible says that he stretched the heavens.

    This requires relying on God. We cannot truly pray on earth as it is in heaven, and speak those things that are in heaven without God leading us, and speaking through us.

    Yes we know a lot but “eye has not seen, war has not heard, neither has it entered into the heart of man the things God has prepared for them that love him.”

    To truly see on earth as it is in heaven we must allow ourselves to be a conduit so he can speak heaven through us.

  8. (1)Then the Lord answered Job from the whirlwind
    (2) “Who is this that quiestion my wisdon with such ignorant words?
    Job 38:1,2

    Our God it’s mighty, omnipotent and nothing can’t compare of his greatness.

  9. 4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.

    This chapter shows awe and wonder of God and His creation while also declaring how humble we should be. When we recognize how great our God is and how great and mighty He is we cannot help but be humbled in His presence.

  10. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    Without God we are not .God Express throughout the chapter everything we do it’s because him when we question in God we are without knowledge and that what job did it because GOD we can do all these things. Breath ,walk, talk ,sing , dance, ex……..

  11. This chapter illustrates how dependent we are on God regardless if we realize it or not. We are absolutely nothing without Him. I owe Him everything and more.

    So here’s my heart.
    Here’s my mind
    I give you my soul
    Need you to take control
    Cause I’ve tried it
    Tried it on my own but
    what i found is
    I can’t make it

    I can’t walk without you
    I can’t talk without you
    I can’t sing without you
    I’m nothing without you
    I can’t live without you
    I can’t breath without you
    I can’t be without you
    There’s no me without you

    Tye Tribbett -What Can I Do

  12. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    God knows what Job is going through. He confronts him and tells him to stand up talll and face him like a man.

    There are going to be storms we go through and we think we are facing them alone when all the while God is with us testing our faith. We are not alone. God is in control he’s wanting Job to be strong in his faith and to trust him without a doubt. If he knew God wouldn’t leave him or forsake no matter what he’d be rejoicing instead of letting others put him down.

    Lord you know the plan you have in store for me. Lead me where your wanting me to go and restore the loss the enemy has taken from me.

  13. GOD SPEAKS

    4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.

    I can imagine in my mind our Gracious GOD speaking to Job and I can imagine Job sinking to a fetal position as GOD thunders the piercing questions to Job.

    We often want GOD to answer but seldomly accept HIS response. We should be careful to consider the ways of the LORD are not our ways and that HIS response will come. Heeding the wisdom of the apostle James.

    James 1:2 My brethren, count it all joy when ye fall into divers temptations;
    3 Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.

    When we do not hear an immediate response from the LORD, we should expect that GOD is strengthening our FAITH and developing our PATIENCE.

    HE has not forgotten us nor neglected us. HE is developing us.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  14. 3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    Be a man! Men we have got to stop letting this world decide what we are. We are men, we are leaders, we are providers. We are what God has created us to do.

  15. 1 From out of a storm, the Lord said to Job:
    2 Why do you talk so much when you know so little? (CEV)

    From the midst of the storm, God can and will speak. Verse two though, speaks so much. There’s so much of God that we’re ignorant to like Bro. Emery recently preached and I think Job, in this chapter, finally got that understanding.

  16. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,
    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?
    3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.
    4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.
    5 Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it?

    This is my favorite part of this book. Job was righteous and knew it but when he questioned God on why things happened, God stretched him perceptive. The message says God told Job to pull himself together. This is a great way to see it, we have NO argument against God. ONLY God decides what happens. Its humbling and uplifting at the same time. There is this country song I heard, and its this guy questioning God on why all the terrible things are going on in this world but he knows his place and admits he wasnt there when God filled the oceans or hung the stars and that God is in control.

  17. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,
    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    God allowed Job’s friend to speak their minds many times and did not intervene until he knew it was the right time. Now God speaks and it’s time for each of them to listen and be humbled by the almighty God. At the end of our wisdom, knowledge and experience, is an all wise God.

  18. 3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    Whew – God finally was sick of the attitude and showed up to demand answers. Too many times people spew off and aren’t held accountable for what they say, or whom they effect.

    We must remember that our actions, attitude and everything we say effects others. It is wise to keep negative thoughts from flowing from our mouth and when we recognize the negative ask the Lord to help us be positive.

    I’m sure there have been times, God probably wanted to show up in the whirlwind in my life and question me just like He did to Job in this chapter. I repent for those times, and strive to do better everyday.

  19. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    Job stood between the hard place and the storm and God spoke. When God asks the questions it searches us to our core, strips us of opinion, and forces us to see who we are in comparison to God. When truth speaks, it already knows the answer. The questions aren’t for God but for us.

  20. iLove to Go Blog
    1Then the lord answered Job from the whirlwind:
    2“Who is this that questions my wisdom
    with such ignorant words?
    3Brace yourself like a man,
    because I have some questions for you,
    and you must answer them.

    So many times we think we know the wisdoms and knowledge of God. God has a way of bringing our lofty understanding down to reality. God is God and man is not. Wow, Lord continue to give your people true knowledge from the treasures of your wisdom.

  21. o Lord don’t punish me while your angrey your arrows have struck deep your blows are Crusion me because of your anger my body is sick my health is broken beneath my sin

  22. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.

    God Bringing a Ceheck-up

    Finally a word from God,but not what Job was waiting for.
    It was if God was giving him a check-up.
    Then He gives him the prescriptions:
    Gird up your loins ( prepare yourself again to stay in the heat of the battle)
    Act like a man: ( Quit your whining)
    Guard your words: think before you speak
    Acknowledge Who God really is.
    Almost a shaking like a momma or a daddy would do.
    ANY OTHER WORDS PULL YOURSELF TOGETHER
    GOD HAS IT ALL IN CONTROL

  23. I can’t help but notice that Job has nothing to say in this chapter. At times in our lives, we want to rant and throw a fit. Yet when the Almighty speaks everything else stops. No more complaining, no more whining, because who can stand in front of the one who is absolutely Perfect and explain how He isn’t doing what you want Him to do?

    Thank God for His Love and Mercy!

  24. 4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.

    So I truly believe in God’s power? So why in trying times Im doubting that he will do a mighty work again?

  25. Job had silenced, but had not convinced his friends. Elihu had silenced Job, but had not brought him to admit his guilt before God. It pleased the Lord . The Lord, humbles Job, and brings him to repent of his passionate expressions concerning God’s providential dealings with him ,For the humbling of Job, God here shows him his ignorance

    no matter what your going through do not provoke god has all knowledge of all things so humble your self in faith and obedience

  26. Now you did it!!

    1-2 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said, Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    I don’t believe Job’s friends intentionally irritated God or Job for that matter. I believe they had good intentions in trying to ease Job’s suffering and assist in helping determine the cause for Job’s test. I believe none of them; or us, are too familiar in God’s ways. Those of us who have children have run into this very same scenario. The unlearned must learn boundaries. We must learn when to stop talking, running, playing, etc.

    Let’s be careful not to presume we know God’s plan

  27. 3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    When I read this it made me think ..What if God responded to our complaining and accusations the same way he did Job? Who are we to ever question God? We weren’t there when He made everything in creation. He doesn’t have to answer to us, in fact he owes us nothing. We should approach God with a humble heart and a gentle plea. He knows what we have need of and hears every cry. If we act out it shows we don’t trust God and our faith is lacking.

  28. “Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorant words? Brace yourself like a man, because I have some questions for you, and you must answer them.
    Job 38:2‭-‬3 NLT
    http://bible.com/116/job.38.2-3.NLT

    How many times have we questioned God or the will of God? How many times have said ignorant things and not realize who we said it to and how it will affect them? We must realize that God is always listening and watching and one day we will be held accountable not only for our words but for our action.

  29. 3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    4 Where wast thou when I laid the foundations of the earth? declare, if thou hast understanding.

  30. 3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.

    I love how God steps in and speaks and HIs words to him is pretty much.. “Cowboy up” and Job cant say anything. He is speechless!

    I’ve been in Jobs shoes where God showed up spoke to me and I could not speak I could barely breath. Yet, in the end His words drove me to be more and do more! Foe when God speaks somethings going to change and grow!

  31. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    Job wanted answers from God, so God spoke but did not give the answer Job wanted, He gave the answer Job needed to hear. And in all that God said, Job did not speak for the power and presence of God is so mighty that when He speaks all must listen!! Too many time we try to answer for God, and put the words that we want to hear in His mouth. But God is in control and He will speak. We must be ready to hear His message!!

  32. 5 Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it?
    6 Whereupon are the foundations thereof fastened? or who laid the corner stone thereof J. Soliz

  33. Job 38:3 (MSG)
    “Pull yourself together, Job! Up on your feet! Stand tall! I have some questions for you, and I want some straight answers.”

    There comes a time when we’ve gone through a trial long enough, and God says that it’s time to “Pull ourself together – Get Up on your feet and Stand tall” for He’s ready talk to us and He wants us to listen,

  34. Job 38 -37 today’s amp English Bible says , who can number the clouds by wisdom? 0r who can pour out the (water) bottles of the heavens. Verse 38-38 Say’s when (heat has caused) the dust to run into a mass and the clods to cleave fast together? Only our mighty god can do this .

  35. Find Clarity, Not Certainty

    Job 38:2-3 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said: “Who is this who darkens counsel by words without knowledge? Now prepare yourself like a man; I will question you and you shall answer Me.”

    In the Book of Job, God brings justice and perspective with Him. He rebukes Eliphaz,Bildad, and Zephar for projecting their opinions as though they represented the mind of God (a danger every spiritual leader faces.) Before God is finished, He poses His own question : Where were you when I created the world?
    Consider this: Individuals can live without certainty from a leader, but not without clarity. Leaders must be genuine with their peoole.

  36. If you were wondering Job, here’s your answer.

    Job was wondering where is God? He said a few times that God was bringing all this upon him but he God knew his heart. God knows when to speak and when to stay quiet. Job was maybe about to break and God said enough! No one can rebuke you quite like God.

  37. “Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me.”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭38:3‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Put On Your Big Boy Pants

    God is telling Job to straighten up. He has gone through the ringer and defended himself amongst his accusing friends. God is telling him, “That’s enough!” It’s time for Job to put on his big boy pants and and answer up.

  38. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    Who is like our God?… I can imagine the humbling experience Josb had to go through when God took time to speak and respond to him. Our ways are not His ways nor our thoughts His thoughts. There is no one like our God that can do this things.

  39. 3 Gird up now thy loins like a man; for I will demand of thee, and answer thou me

    Who are we to question God anything??? He knows each and every one of us because he created us. How can we even question our creator….he made us and choose us because hes trusting us with a small piece of His kingdom……we have to fight for what God has trusted us with.

  40. 2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge.
    Do we know all the God has made? Or do we know His power and might? He separates all things and puts up necessary borders to protect us all. Thank you Jesus for your protection.

  41. Who hath put wisdom in the inward parts? or who hath given understanding to the heart?(Job 38:36 KJV)

    God is the giver of wisdom. Without God their would be no knowledge or wisdom. We should thank God for this revelation.

  42. 1 Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

    Be careful who we listen to!!!!

  43. 2 Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorant words?

    As youngsters we all have questioned our parents about decisions they make for us. We always want to know ‘why not’. We as parents know what is best for our children. God knows what is best for you. Instead of questioning God, let’s be obedient to him.

  44. Job 38:21 Surely you know, for you were already born! You have lived so many years!

    Wow! What can I say? But she and in awe that I can possibly even deserve a response from God.

Leave a Reply

