Job Chapter 40

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 29

Job 40

1 Moreover the Lord answered Job, and said,

2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

6 Then answered the Lord unto Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

7 Gird up thy loins now like a man: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.

8 Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?

9 Hast thou an arm like God? or canst thou thunder with a voice like him?

10 Deck thyself now with majesty and excellency; and array thyself with glory and beauty.

11 Cast abroad the rage of thy wrath: and behold every one that is proud, and abase him.

12 Look on every one that is proud, and bring him low; and tread down the wicked in their place.

13 Hide them in the dust together; and bind their faces in secret.

14 Then will I also confess unto thee that thine own right hand can save thee.

15 Behold now behemoth, which I made with thee; he eateth grass as an ox.

16 Lo now, his strength is in his loins, and his force is in the navel of his belly.

17 He moveth his tail like a cedar: the sinews of his stones are wrapped together.

18 His bones are as strong pieces of brass; his bones are like bars of iron.

19 He is the chief of the ways of God: he that made him can make his sword to approach unto him.

20 Surely the mountains bring him forth food, where all the beasts of the field play.

21 He lieth under the shady trees, in the covert of the reed, and fens.

22 The shady trees cover him with their shadow; the willows of the brook compass him about.

23 Behold, he drinketh up a river, and hasteth not: he trusteth that he can draw up Jordan into his mouth.

24 He taketh it with his eyes: his nose pierceth through snares.

44 thoughts on “Job Chapter 40

  1. Thankyou for your Word.

    I thankyou Lord to see Job’s sorrow…it makes me think that im not the only one who has sorrow and depressed. I love the relationship that he has a good relationship w God.
    Just love it.

  2. “Job Answers God: I’m Ready to Shut Up and Listen” is the caption for verses 3-5 MSG as ” Job answered: “I’m speechless, in awe—words fail me. I should never have opened my mouth! I’ve talked too much, way too much. I’m ready to shut up and listen.” I think we can all say that we have been there, done that! Psalm 46:10 KJV says “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.”

    Proverbs 10:19 NLT says “Too much talk leads to sin. Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.” James 1:19 NLT says “Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.”

  3. 14 Then even I would praise you, for your own strength would save you. (NLT)

    Yet He continues to reign all on His own. There is still none other who’s mighty to save like our God; Jesus, You are the sovereign God!

  4. 19 He is the chief of the ways of God: he that made him can make his sword to approach unto him.
    Remember your place God will knock you down in a blink of an eye. Stay humble. God bless

  5. 15. Take a look at Behemoth, which I made, just as I made you. It eats grass like an ox.

    23. It is not disturbed by the raging river, not concerned when the swelling Jordan rushes around it. NLT

    God created us, and gives us the strength to stand and not be disturbed or swept away when the raging waters of this life rush around us.

  6. IS JESUS YOUR LORD

    2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    In seasons of trial, we often find ourselves with more questions than answers. From our own perspective and view we are tempted to offer the LORD our advice, suggestion or recommendation. However our view is simply a glimpse of who HE is and what HE is doing.

    We inflict ourselves with unnecessary pain when we contend with the Almighty. He alone can Thunder from the heavens, can calm the raging sea, can take the breath of beast or slay the dragon.

    We should no doubt allow GOD to be GOD even in our lives and situations.

    JESUS is LORD of ALL

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  7. Job 40:4-5 (KJV Strong’s)
    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee?
    I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.
    5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer:
    yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

    Proverbs 25:11 (KJV Strong’s)
    11 A word fitly spoken
    is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.

    Proverbs 18:21 (KJV Strong’s)
    21 Death and life are in the power of the tongue:
    and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.

    Jesus’ brother James warns us of the power of the tongue. It is a world of iniquity set in fire by hell. No man can tame the tongue. Only God can.

    Whatever we speak we will eat it’s fruit. We can speak life and eat golden apples, or we can speak death and feast on the rotting ones.

    Although Job said he would not answer, the truth is we will all be held accountable for our words.

    Matthew 12:36 (KJV Strong’s)
    36 But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment.

    We must be cautious, and careful with what we say, we type, text, or write.

  8. “Do you still want to argue with the Almighty? You are God’s critic, but do you have the answers?” Then Job replied to the Lord , “I am nothing—how could I ever find the answers? I will cover my mouth with my hand. I have said too much already. I have nothing more to say.” “Will you discredit my justice and condemn me just to prove you are right? Are you as strong as God? Can you thunder with a voice like his?
    Job 40:2‭-‬5‭, ‬8‭-‬9 NLT

    Never try to argue with God because you will fall thank you Jesus for show us this word that without we can’t. Even function without you

  9. 7 Gird up thy loins now like a man: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.

    Armor yourself everyday with the armor of God… He is my protection,Healer,Guider, and Deliver. God is the armor we need everyday.

  10. So you think you can teach God?

    2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    Wow. How many time have I tried to explain to God my situation? God is the one who created everything. So let God be the God in your situation and let him teach you.

  11. 3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    Sometimes it’s best to keep our mouth shut, do what we know to do and let God be God and take care of the rest. We find ourselves in trouble when we take matters into our own hands not understanding all the ins and outs or see the big picture.

    People criticize things they don’t understand. Lord help all of us to pray about those things instead of talk about them with others.

  12. iLove to Go Blog
    12Humiliate the proud with a glance;
    walk on the wicked where they stand.

    The proud and arrogant person is deceived into thinking they are unstoppable. Just as Saul was proudly and arrogantly going throughout the entire province persecuting folks, it only took one look from the Almighty humbled that once proud man.

  13. Job 40: 3,4(NIV)
    Then Job replied to the LORD,
    I am nothing- how could ever find the answers?
    I will cover my mouth with my hand.

  14. 2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

  15. Be observent, listen and think hard before opening your mouth. Your words can never be erased. God will guide you in everything you say and do, if you are always talking you cant hear direction.

  16. 4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    Even if we think it, GOD knows EVERYTHING!!! There is nothing hidden from GOD!!! My heart needs to be bowed before GOD, so that ONLY HIS will comes to mind and not mine own!!!

  17. Job 40:3-5 (NLT)
    3) Then Job replied to the LORD,
    4) I am nothing – how could I ever find the answers? I will cover my mouth with my hand.
    5) I have said to much already. I have nothing more to say.

    I have brought my needs to The Lord.
    I am nothing – I don’t have the answers, but I know who does.
    So it’s time for me to cover my mouth with my hand and say nothing, and let God be God. It’s time for me to “Be Still (not move or make a sound) and know (comprehend or understand) that He is God!

  18. God told Job once again to act like a man. Take a big look around at what was going on.
    I am nothing only by His Grace and Mercy shall I ever be what I should be.
    Guard my mouth Oh Lord.

  19. 9 Hast thou an arm like God? or canst thou thunder with a voice like him?

    10 Deck thyself now with majesty and excellency; and array thyself with glory and beauty.

    God spends this chapter showing Job and all of us how powerful God is and how helpless we are… it’s humbling to read this chapter but it also shows of the greatness of God. If God is control of the whole universe then why do we worry about all the small problems in life? We must rest assured in God that He will take care of our needs and make a way for us!

  20. Moreover the Lord answered Job, and said,

    2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

    6 Then answered the Lord unto Job out of the whirlwind, and said,

    7 Gird up thy loins now like a man: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.

    8 Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?

    Stop all the complain we don’t understand how God world sometimes, but it doesn’t mean we should try to rely on our own selfish decisions as if we should help God speed the process up. It call proceed for a reason Gods gotta take you thru your situation before he can bring you out of your situiation. God knows!

  21. 14 Then will I also confess unto thee that thine own right hand can save thee.

    When you can perform the things can in your own power, then by your own power can you be saved.

    We can’t save ourselves, it’s not by our power but the power through being impowered by the Holy Ghost.

  22. 6 Then answered the Lord unto Job out of the whirlwind, and said,
    7 Gird up thy loins now like a man: I will demand of thee, and declare thou unto me.

    Even though Job is getting in trouble, he is still commanded to obey God and move. We too must get up and move, and be about our Father’s business.

  23. 2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    Sometimes I need to shut up and listen!

  24. 8 Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?

    9 Hast thou an arm like God? or canst thou thunder with a voice like him?

    How can we compare ourselves to God? How can the pot complain to the potter that he is doing a bad job? God’s plans are bigger than our plans

  25. 2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    I know that there are times I’m faced with a decision of how to handle myself; I have been known to try to give the Almighty my input or instruction. He doesn’t need me to tell Him how to help me live. Instead I should shut up and let God move in my life. I have literally put my hand over my mouth to not instruct God on my life or situation…..Thank you Jesus……Amen!!!!

  26. Then Job replied to the Lord , “I am nothing—how could I ever find the answers? I will cover my mouth with my hand.
    Job 40:3‭-‬4 NLT

    Sometimes we have to cover our mouths and be quite, and let God speak. We can’t hear what God’s saying if we are always complaining and crying. We have to recognize that we are nothing without Him.

  27. Job 40:3-5

    Job’s reply is one of humble submission in the face of an omnipotent God:
    Behold, Iam vile (v.4.) ;what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    42:6 Wherefore I abhor myself, and repent in dust and ashes.

    Ezra 9:6 And said, O my God, Iam ashamed and blush to lift up my face to thee, my God: for our iniquities are increased over our head, and our trespass is grown up unto the heavens.

    Submit to God’s will and authority

  28. 4“I am unworthy—how can I reply to you? I put my hand over my mouth.

    Job is now silent and we’ll aware of how small he really is. He has spoken and though he has not cursed God he did complain quite a bit. We can see Jobs godly sorrow as he repents of his behavior. He knows that he cannot correct God nor stand in His league. God wants to be answered by Job like a man but truly God knows he cannot answer. We cannot contend with God but only contend with the enemy on God’s behalf.

  29. What only he can do…

    We sometimes either bite off more than we can chew or take on things that are not our burden. If we try to heal someone we will be disappointed, but if we let God do what only he can do, he will do it through us.

  30. 1 Moreover the Lord answered Job, and said,

    2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    3 Then Job answered the Lord, and said,

    4 Behold, I am vile; what shall I answer thee? I will lay mine hand upon my mouth.

    5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

    Who can compare to His Holiness? He is far above and separate. In this chapter we see God still responding to Job and just leaving a clear distinction between God and the frail sin stained humanity. I was reminded of this scripture:

    But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.
    Isaiah 64:6 KJV

    We should know our place and keep humble at all times. All glory and honor belong to God.

  31. 14 Then will I also confess unto thee that thine own right hand can save thee.

    Jesus has the power to save Himself, were He in the position of Job. This subtly reminds us that He chose to lay down His life on the cross; nobody could take it from Him but He gave it freely. He could have saved Himself but He chose instead to save us.

  32. Wilt thou also disannul my judgment? wilt thou condemn me, that thou mayest be righteous?(Job 40:8 KJV)

    God is asking Job if he can be judged and corrected. The truth is God’s ways are perfect and righteousness comes from him.

  33. 5 Once have I spoken; but I will not answer: yea, twice; but I will proceed no further.

    God is speaking to Job he expects an answer back Job doesn’t do it he knows better. He knew when to keep quiet.

  34. Oh be careful little eyes what you see…

    24 He taketh it with his eyes: his nose pierceth through snares.

    While God is describing the majestic buffalo; I believe, what caught my attention is this verse. He taketh it with his eyes. How easily we sin with our eyes. We may only see an image for a moment and can redraw every detail of that image at will. Whether the image is our neighbors wife or our neighbors corvette/house/toys. Sometimes we may be presented with a business deal and we are “looking” for how we can turn this even deal into a favored deal for ourselves.

    Consider these phrases:
    “eye-catching,”
    “eye-opener”
    “keep our eye on the ball,”
    “keep our eyes peeled”
    “have an eye for”
    “has an eye for color”

    When we understand a point that a teacher makes, we say, “Oh, I see now.” When we do not plan ahead, we are said to be “short-sighted,” or conversely when we do plan strategically, we are “far-sighted.” When we ignore an action, we “turn a blind eye” toward it, and when we disapprove of an action, we “take a dim view of” it. When we supervise a project, we take “oversight” of it.

    Ultimately, we choose which way our eyes will look, whether toward God or toward sin. If we choose sin, we follow darkness and allow ourselves to look on those things that we ought not to look at. Or, we can choose to turn our eyes from our sin towards God.

    Then, we can sing:
    Oh, I want to see Him, look upon His face,
    There to sing forever of His saving grace;
    On the streets of glory let me lift my voice,
    Cares all past, home at last, ever to rejoice.

  35. 2 Shall he that contendeth with the Almighty instruct him? he that reproveth God, let him answer it.

    Even Job who the Lord had confidence in prior to allowing this trial by satan, is corrected by God. When we go through the trials of life, we can sometimes complain and or question God as we must learn to count it all joy when the trial comes – it will build our faith.

  36. Will you rejoice more with a bigger blessing or the same with a smaller one? As Pastor preached last night, Gideon had to forge into battle with a small army. How big is your battle? When all was taken from Job he still rejoiced in the judgement. He used all he had in his battle. He kept his tongue under subjection when he had guile in his heart toward God’s judgment. But he understood the blessings that God was setting into motion for him. Rejoice in everything, no matter how great or small!

  37. 7 “Brace yourself like a man;
    I will question you,
    and you shall answer me.

    Amen…the Lord questions us why we do what we do if we are spiritually in line with Him. He has spoken to me so many times and I praise God for that!!! This chapter shows the power that God has!! We sometimes want to think we own everything it we must humble ourselves,submit, obey, and be sensitive to His spirit. He gives us EVERYTHING!!! THANK YOU JESUS!!!

  38. Job 29:2 “How I long for the months gone by, for the days when God watched over me,

    Reminisce – indulge in enjoyable recollection of past events.

    Did this ever sound more like reminisce than anything? There was a time in my past where my problems had captivated me. It sort of felt like a prison, and I would find myself reminiscing a lot. I think this is were Lot is, his problems and situation have put him in a place of captivity. And when you find yourself in his place you can always count on reminiscing. On trying to find some comfort in thinking about all the good things you used to have.

    This is a dangerous place, because many times we find so much comfort that we find misery comfortable. We run the risk of being comfortable in uncomfortable situation. And this is what is the definition of institutionalize is.

    People that go to prison for a long periods of time become institutionalized. When their current surroundings are so familiar to them that when they are free, they can not bear to be in the free world. So I pray to God that I never become numb in my pain or my struggle or through the bad times where I get so used to it and become comfortable being miserable.

  39. Job 40 -19 today’s English amp it saids (the hippopotamus) is the first ( in magnitude and power) of the works of God ( in animal life( only) he who made him with his( sword like tusks, or only God who made him can bring near his sword to master him. 40- 20. Surely the mountains bring him food, where all the wild animals play. Wow God used a hippopotamus too!

  40. ““Will you discredit my justice and condemn me just to prove you are right?”
    ‭‭Job‬ ‭40:8‬ ‭NLT‬‬

    How can someone discredit God? He is so powerful and mighty. He is sovereign and holy. His thoughts are above our thoughts. His ways are above our ways. We know in part. He knows in full. He is mighty. No one can prove him wrong

  41. 2“Do you still want to argue with the Almighty?
    You are God’s critic, but do you have the answers?”

    We all have a tendency to argue with or have a disagreement because we don’t get something to go our way. We don’t have answers but we continue to disagree. We need to listen and have patience and our answers will be given.

Leave a Reply

