Psalm Chapter 3

JESUS today YOU will SAVE me.

Eat This Book

Read Proverbs Chapter 3

Psalm 3

1 Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me.

2 Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.

3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

57 thoughts on “Psalm Chapter 3

  1. Verses 3-4 MSG “But you, God, shield me on all sides; You ground my feet, you lift my head high; With all my might I shout up to God, His answers thunder from the holy mountain.” These verses reminded me of the song we sing that says “You are the Glory and the Lifter of my Head”. In the AMP this psalm is captioned “Morning Prayer of Trust in God” and it reminded me of always seeing my Dad at the kitchen table every morning reading his Bible. I now understand how important it was and still is to him to start his day in the word.

  2. 5. I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.
    6. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

    Ten thousand people around him that are against him and he lay down and slept – now that’s peace and confidence in God!

    I enjoy hearing Byron Cage’s musical version of this chapter:

    Lord how are they increased that trouble me
    Many are they that rise up against me
    Many there be that say of my soul
    There is no help for him in God.

    But thou, oh Lord, are a shield for me
    My glory, you lift my head
    But thou, oh Lord, are a shield for me
    You’re my glory, the lifter up of my head.

    Thank You for lifting my head

  3. Shield my mind, my heart, and my flesh Lord. I am not afraid for you are with me. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. Always. The sin and temptation is all around and God protects me. 1 Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me. 8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.
    Thank you Jesus for saving my soul..

  4. 1 Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me.
    2 Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.
    3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.
    5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.
    6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.
    7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.
    8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

    COUNT IT ALL JOY…….!!! HALELUJAH!!! GOD YOU ARE AWESOME!!! I LOVE YOU DADDY!!! THANK YOU JESUS!!!

  5. 8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

    I love the Selahs. “Let’s stop and meditate on this” is what the author is saying. Salvation belongeth to the LORD. Deliverance, rescue, safety, help…what ever aspect that means to you…. He can pull you out of a pit or dire situation or He can keep you from desolation. Depending on where you are and your needs, the LORD my God can provide. Salvation didn’t belong to God one time. He didn’t help you out and then say “too bad, kid, you’re on your own now”. It says belongETH so salvation is continuously His. No matter the troubles and strife He is and always will be a delivering, saving God. When I need rescue from the nightmare around me, MY GOD is already there ready to get me out. I love you, Jesus! Thank you for never turning Your back on me.

  6. Psalms 3:5-6 (AMP)
    5) I lay down and slept (safely); I awakened for the LORD sustains me.
    6) I will not be intimidated or afraid of the ten thousands who have set themselves against me all around.

    When our Faith, Confidence, and Trust is in God, the One who sustains (strengthens, supports, comforts, helps, encourages us), we don’t have to be intimidated (frightened or scared) of the enemies that come against us.

    Ps. 118:6, “The LORD is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?”

  7. 6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

    Who can stand against when our God is for us! This reminds me of when pastor talked about guarding your beans. We will bet be shaken for whatever stands up against us!

  8. Victory come from you, O LORD my you bless you people
    PSALMS 3:8 (NLT)

    This verse reminds me of the word of our pastor this past Wednesday night, when he said ” The LORD will not do everything for US. If we want the victory we need to GO and fight the bottle and he, (the LORD) will meet us there”.

  9. Psalms 3:2 (KJV Strong’s)
    2 Many there be which say of my soul,
    There is no help for him in God. Selah.

    Being raised in Church, and then leaving for around seven years, and having been back over ten years there are some things that are the same.

    For approximately 18 years I have been ridiculed, made fun of, insulted, and had people talked about me behind my back. I have been the subject of lies, and the object of emotional, and spiritual attack.

    Why? It’s not because of me, but because of Him in me.

    Jesus said in Luke 21:17 (KJV Strong’s)
    17 And ye shall be hated of all men for my name’s sake.

    And also in John 15:18 (KJV Strong’s)
    18 If the world hate you, ye know that it hated me before it hated you.

    This should not discourage us but encourage us. God is on our side, and he truly is our shield, and our defense. He will sustain us, and we do not have to be afraid of ten thousands of people!

    Let people talk. Pray for them, and then watch God turn their lives around.

  10. 2 Many are saying of me, “There is no help [no salvation] for him in God.” Selah. (AMP)

    8 Salvation belongs to the Lord; May Your blessing be upon Your people. Selah. (AMP)

    JESUS today YOU will SAVE me. Lord, salvation is in You and You alone, and this morning I pray for all those who have been marked as hopeless.

  11. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    thank God for his protection and his shield. it keeps us in times of danger thank God for his glory it helps us good encourages us and strengthens us. most of all thank God that when we are down and out when we are discouraged when we are hurting God comes to us and lift up our head with encouragement and strength.
    It reminds me of Scripture in the new testament. . ” I will not leave you comfortless I will come to you” and when God’s spirit comes it brings power with it.

  12. 5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me

    The world is full of circumstances that could keep you up at night in worry and stress, but David had trouble all around him and he said that he quit worrying and went to bed. God handles stress better than we do. David is telling us to give it to God. When God sustains you then no situation or circumstance can take your rest!

  13. I have spent many a hour stressing over things. It does nothing but make you feel bad. God says give me your stress and your burdens and I will work them for you. Stay close to God so you can hear him direct you on what your stress was from and for and how to deal with it.

  14. GO WITH JESUS

    3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.
    5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.
    6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

    David identifies with his present situation and relationships, however he does not bow to depression, defeat or despair. Continually confessing JESUS is a sure way to encourage ourself and those around us. Refuse to allow circumstances or situations to determine our value to GOD or his value to us.

    When we purpose to GO WITH JESUS into every trial, battle and victory. We will have peace, joy and victory.

    iRepent
    iPraise
    iPray
    iWork
    iGive
    iReap

  15. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

    When God is your defense, there is no better peace. When we cry out to him casting our cares to him he takes care of us. If God be for us, what can stand against us?

  16. “I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭3:4‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    This passage reminds me of a message I heard not too long ago…. GO CRY unto the Lord in your distress and he’ll bring you out of your wilderness.

    “The righteous cry, and the Lord heareth, and delivereth them out of all their troubles. The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the Lord delivereth him out of them all.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭34:17-19‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    “In my distress I called upon the Lord, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭18:6‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    “Sing, O barren, thou that didst not bear; break forth into singing, and cry aloud, thou that didst not travail with child: for more are the children of the desolate than the children of the married wife, saith the Lord. Enlarge the place of thy tent, and let them stretch forth the curtains of thine habitations: spare not, lengthen thy cords, and strengthen thy stakes;”
    ‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭54:1-2‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  17. But you, O  Lord , are a shield around me; you are my glory, the one who holds my head high. I lay down and slept, yet I woke up in safety, for the Lord was watching over me. Victory comes from you, O  Lord . May you bless your people. Interlude
    Psalms 3:3‭, ‬5‭-‬5‭, ‬8 NLT

    Thing may happened but it’s nice to know that our GOD watch over us and protect us he provides all on me and he fighting for us day and night
    No other GOD will do that

  18. I would predict that most if not all believers have prayed or at least thought about how sinners and unbelievers are more prosperous than God’s people. I have spent many hours thinking on the subject and many hours praying against these thoughts. First, if we are comparing ourselves to the unbeliever, it is already an unfair comparison. A follower and believer of Jesus have advantages that nonbelievers are unaware of.

    Imagine for a moment that you are alone in the fight against this world. The only support you are aware of is your personal relationships; mother, father, sister, brother, spouse, child, friend. While this is a great support group, it fails in comparison to God. Each one of these relationships will fail. Each one is subject to death, thus leaving an unbeliever alone and more vulnerable.

    What’s the very best life you could imagine for yourself?
    Marriage and children
    Houses
    A prestigious or meaningful career
    Beauty
    Fame
    Wealth

    Is knowing Jesus better than any of these? And by “better,” I mean this: Is knowing Jesus more pleasurable, more exciting, more satisfying, more meaningful, more purposeful, and more full than anything I have or hope to possess? Can I really say that?

    Simply – YES

    If your answer is anything other than yes, then you will continue to struggle. Jesus must have not been telling the truth when He promised life “to the full” (John 10:10), or that “rivers of living water will flow from within” (John 7:38). He must have been confused when He suggested that it would be foolish for me to “gain the whole world, yet forfeit [my] soul” (Mark 8:36). And Paul, proclaiming the truth of God, must have been out of his mind when he said in Philippians 3:7–8: But whatever were gains to me I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.

    Knowing, having a true relationsip and enjoying Jesus is the point of the Christian life, and when I lose or forget this essential truth, I’m doomed to a life of forever chasing after the next dream. I will continually compare my life to that of others, imagining their happiness and their joy, while regretting my own situation.

  19. iLove to Go Blog
    My bible has a subtitle on this chapter that adds a little understanding to the true pain David is feeling here. This Psalm was written when David was on the run from Absalom his son. Because David was able to write this song while running from his son shows his utmost faith in God. To put it into perspective, when we are in our greatest trial how many of us write brand-new songs to God? Praising God is far from most of us, but David Gives us a great example of what we should do in our greatest need.

  20. With my voice I was crying to the LORD, And He answered me from His holy mountain. Selah. I lay down and slept [safely]; I awakened, for the LORD sustains me. (‭PSALM‬ ‭3‬:‭4-5‬ AMP)

    Wow…the LORD has sustained me in my darkest hours of my life. That he will even hear me crying out to Him. Even more of a reason to worship Him and sing ‘But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.’
    This is where my victory comes from!!!!!

  21. 3: But You, O Lord, are a shield for me,
    My glory [and my honor], and the One who lifts my head. (AMP)

    Can’t help but sing the song “you are the lifter of my head”

  22. 5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.
    6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

    It is so rewarding to serve GOD! In our moments of fear we can sleep because He will sustain us. Trouble may be around us but we can be at peace because the Lord is on our side.

    Lord, I thank you for my faith in You sustains me in the mist of my fears. You have never left me or let me down and I put all my hope and trust in You. On the mountain top and in the valley You sustain me. Thank you Jesus for you are the God of my salvation. So, in whom shall I fear? You cause my enemies to stumble at my feet that I may trample over them to get to my promised land. Thank You JESUS!

  23. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    4 What is man that You are mindful of him, And the son of man that You visit him?
    5 For You have made him a little lower than the angels,[a] And You have crowned him with glory and honor.
    6 You have made him to have dominion over the works of Your hands; You have put all things under his feet…

    God made us to praise Him and have communication with Him and He hears our faintest cry to Him (as the song says). He will work it out for our good in His timing. Wait upon the Lord, serve him.

  24. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    David is seeking God regardless of what he is going through. He feels the enemy against him. God protects his children the enemy knows he’s defeated when we seek God.

  25. 4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    God hears every word that is uttered out of our mouth, He may not answer at that exact time, but He hears. We must never allow the “I’m alone” attitude to creep into our hearts. Even though sometimes we don’t have an answer, we must find strength in knowing that God hears all and knows all, and He is aware of our downsizing and our uprisings. He who cares for the very sparrow that falls to the ground, also cares for us.

  26. 8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

    Acts 4:12

    12 Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

    King James Version (KJV)

    Thank you Jesus

    .

  27. 5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

    Usually when going through test and trails there are many sleepless nights, but we seve a God that gives rest to restless. In our time of trouble all we have to do is cry out to Him!

  28. Like other famolys we are going through a hard time i found vs -6-8 give me comfort.
    And now aithough ten thousand enemies surround me on ever side I am not afraid. I will cry to him Arise O Lord Save Me O My God. And he will slap them in the face insulting the and breaking off there teeth.
    For salvation comes from God what joy he gives to all his people.

  29. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

    When you are down, the Lord can lift you back up!

  30. “But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.”
    ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭3:3‬ ‭KJV‬‬

    Even when David’S own family was against him he glorified God. He knew he only reason he was doing well was God. God is always our protector, defender, glory, and encourager. All we have to do is listen and obey. We can read his promises to liftnus up every day!

  31. 2 So many are saying, “God will never rescue him!” 3 But you, O Lord, are a shield around me; you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.

    Don’t listen to the lies of this world! Be careful to the voices you listen to, make sure they lead you to victory in Jesus name instead of the darkness of this world. When the enemy says you aren’t worth it God said I’m going to die for you to be saved! He wraps you in his and protects you from this world all you have to do is lift your head up to God and let God be God!

  32. 6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

    7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

    8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people

    The Lord is our salvation and we have nothing to fear. Regardless of what is against us we must keep in mind we have more on our side

  33. I lay down and slept [safely]; I awakened, for the Lord sustains me. I will not be intimidated or afraid of the ten thousands Who have set themselves against me all around.
    PSALM 3:5‭-‬6 AMP

    All of us have enemies and people that for some reason or another just don’t like us, it may be also some of our family members that we don’t not get along with. Which is why we can’t hold grudges and try to fight back, we must first learn to trust in God and recognize that it is He that fights our battles and He will take Care of it. We must remember that He sustains us through all our battles, trail and situations. No matter what our enemies do we will have peace and justice, if we put it in God’s hands.

  34. Arise Jesus, save us from all our enemies and be our shield! For you are our salvation, strike our enemies too, all of satan’s armies and make them depart from us in seven different directions in Jesus name Father I pray!………

    7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

    “Lord avenge us from all our enemies!” For it is written; “It is God who avenges me!”

  35. 6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about.

    7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

    8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

    Why should I be afraid of people and how they see me? It doesn’t matter what people think of me: God knows me and is my savior. The Lord has saved me from an unclean life. My praises are for the glory of God; not to be noticed by man. This is where I lacked before. I wanted to be noticed, instead of building a relationship with Jesus. My duty is to God first and to bring his children home. Not to be noticed by man in an form. Jesus guide me to your Kingdom; that I may help others seek you. I thank you for your word today!!!!!

  36. 4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    My prayer Closet:
    There are prayers that God doesn’t answer right away. But when we pray to God and we want His answer, we have to bring it to him as many time as we need to. Don’t just pray about it one time and expect God to answer you the next day. Make a prayer closet!!!Some prayers arw answer right away some take a long time and some they are answer in Gods time. Other take Fasting and prayer. But don’t be discouraged GOD ANSWER PRAYERS IN HIS TIME!!!

  37. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    Thank you for your covering and protecting me from ungodly people. I will hold my head high and march on in God’s Army.

  38. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    No weapon form against me shall prosper! God is our shield of protection always fighting for us, God is our strength, and our deliver what more do we need!

  39. 3 But you, Lord, are a shield around me,
    my glory, the One who lifts my head high.
    4 I call out to the Lord,
    and he answers me from his holy mountain.

    Amen! Amen!!! No matter who or what may try to bring me down you protect me and hear our my cry! Your here right by my side at all times!! Many times we struggle because we don’t cry out to you! We try to do things on our own when in reality we can’t!!! We have to do the natural so you can do the supernatural!!!

  40. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

    He promised to be with us even till the end of the earth. He will not leave you nor forsake you. He is our strong tower and our present help in time of trouble.

  41. 7 Arise, O Lord; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly.

    There is no reason to feel trapped or surrounded, for God is bigger, stronger and mightier than our enemy! Did I mention we also out number him!!!

  42. When the enemy comes in like a flood the Lord sets a standard against him. God gives us rest, and David, while in hiding from his son Absalom, is fully aware of the dangers around him. Yet his spirit is at rest and so full of confidence in God’s presence and protection that he can literally drift off to sleep even when his enemies are coming after him. In the middle of great distress we too can trust in God to deliver us.

  43. I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.(Psalms 3:4 KJV)

    David shouted unto the Lord with everything he had because the Lord would hear him cry out for mercy from the mountain Zion. He knew that his trust was in the Lord and he would protect him. While the enemy attacks God will answer us when we cry out for help.

  44. 8 Salvation belongeth unto the Lord: thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah.

    It’s only through HIM, we are saved. Only through HIM we are blessed. Through HIM we live, move and have our being….

  45. 3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.

    4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

  46. Psalm 3 verse 4 I reading today’s English amp Bible its saying,with my voice I cry to the Lord, and he hears and answers me out of his holy hill . selah ( pause, and calmly think of that)! David cry to god for help . our lord is the only one that hears us.

  47. 5 I lay down and slept, yet I woke up in safety, for the LORD was watching over me.

    The comfort we have that when we sleep, the Lord is watching over us. We have a peace of mind when we sleep, so we should thank God every morning for awakening us.

  48. 5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

    I love when I go to sleep with a song in my heart and Jesus on my mind.

  49. 7. Arise, O LORD; save me, O my God: for thou hast smitten all mine enemies upon the cheek bone; thou hast broken the teeth of the ungodly. 8. Salvation belongeth unto the LORD: thy blessing is upon thy people. Se’lah. Jesus your the best thing that ever happened to me !!

Leave a Reply

